View Full Version : Hibs.Net Golf Day

brythehibby
18-09-2020, 11:44 AM
Hi All,

There has been some chat about organising a Hibs.Net golf day and I've taken on the task of trying to sort something for Sunday the 25th of October. It would likely be around 11-12 @ Musselburgh golf club. Cost will be between £25 - £40 a head depending on whether food is taken (or offered with all the restrictions just now). Looking to get around 10-20 to make it worthwhile or will put on the backburner for next year. Anyone interested get in touch.

18-09-2020, 11:50 AM
The Royal or Monktonhall?

Dumfrieshibs
18-09-2020, 11:53 AM
Count me in if there is enough interest to make it happen....

18-09-2020, 12:41 PM
Make it this course and I'll provide free beer for everyone all day :)

https://riverplantationgolfclub.com/

18-09-2020, 12:48 PM
Count me in!

scottish_sleepy
18-09-2020, 01:24 PM
Count me in

Cheshire Hibby
18-09-2020, 01:53 PM
I would be up for this - please keep me informed.

18-09-2020, 01:55 PM
Sounds great.

Count me in.

18-09-2020, 02:08 PM
I may be up for this.

18-09-2020, 08:13 PM
Interested and hopefully covid 19 will not come into play.

18-09-2020, 08:21 PM
Interested and hopefully covid 19 will not come into play.
Not sure about Covid 19 but hole 19 might :)

brythehibby
18-09-2020, 08:31 PM
Just to clarify it’s Musselburgh (Monktonhall). I’ll put everyone’s names down and get in touch shortly. All depends on any new restrictions too. Fingers crossed though.

18-09-2020, 09:39 PM
I'd be interested but will more than likely bring the standard of golf down :greengrin

19-09-2020, 05:25 AM
I’d be interested not played a full round in years but up for it.

19-09-2020, 07:51 AM
I'd be interested aswell with a +1 who is also .net i believe but rarely posts

19-09-2020, 08:23 AM
I don't have a handicap but shoot mid to late 80s so would be keen.

19-09-2020, 08:35 AM
I don't have a handicap but shoot mid to late 80s so would be keen.

Bandit alert!!!! :greengrin

19-09-2020, 08:50 AM
Bandit alert!!!! :greengrin

I play Edinburgh Leisure with the riff raff so yes 🤣

19-09-2020, 09:02 AM
I’d be interested

the tornadoe
19-09-2020, 11:44 AM
Put me and one other down... please

brythehibby
19-09-2020, 08:25 PM
17 names for this guys so it’s got potential. I’ll be in touch shortly with everyone. Anyone else interested let me know before Monday. Cheers

brythehibby
21-09-2020, 07:20 AM
Bump. Last call for anyone before I make a reservation today.

brythehibby
23-09-2020, 03:10 PM
Hi Folks. 9 confirmed for this and awaiting replies form about half a dozen. Looks like it’s on 🏌🏻*♂️

Can the guys I PM’d get in touch please. Anyone else wishing to join in get in touch.

23-09-2020, 06:33 PM
Hi Folks. 9 confirmed for this and awaiting replies form about half a dozen. Looks like it’s on 🏌🏻*♂️

Can the guys I PM’d get in touch please. Anyone else wishing to join in get in touch.
PM sent. 2 confirmed 👍

23-09-2020, 07:32 PM

I've missed this thread, clearly!

Interested if there's still space, but understand I'm rather late to the party!

brythehibby
23-09-2020, 08:56 PM
I've missed this thread, clearly!

Interested if there's still space, but understand I'm rather late to the party!

Plenty time to add your name Sylar. I’ll be in touch.

brythehibby
28-09-2020, 07:43 AM
Right folks - this is taking shape now. We've got 13 confirmed and 2 no responses. I've got it arranged with the club and all booked in for 11.15 on the 25th of October. I'll get in touch with everyone regarding payments today.

If anyone has missed this and really wants to play we've got enough space for 18 so feel free to get in touch.

Edit: I'm Cabbaged & Tynie 01011973 can you reply to PM please. Thanks

28-09-2020, 07:59 AM
Right folks - this is taking shape now. We've got 13 confirmed and 2 no responses. I've got it arranged with the club and all booked in for 11.15 on the 28th of October. I'll get in touch with everyone regarding payments today.

If anyone has missed this and really wants to play we've got enough space for 18 so feel free to get in touch.

28th? I thought it was the 25th?

brythehibby
28-09-2020, 08:07 AM
28th? I thought it was the 25th?

It is mate - I don't know why I keep putting the 28th! Edited now.

28-09-2020, 08:33 AM
It is mate - I don't know why I keep putting the 28th! Edited now.

Phew!😌

28-09-2020, 11:28 AM
Right folks - this is taking shape now. We've got 13 confirmed and 2 no responses. I've got it arranged with the club and all booked in for 11.15 on the 25th of October. I'll get in touch with everyone regarding payments today.

What’s the standard? May be interested but a higher handicapper of 19.

Dumfrieshibs
28-09-2020, 11:36 AM

Chuck I`m going and I`m playing off 16....

28-09-2020, 12:06 PM

I’m 19.

Get yer name doon.

brythehibby
28-09-2020, 12:23 PM

Open to everyone. Standard is irrelevant. I'm off 13 and I'm sure there will be a couple higher than me. PM me if your interested :aok:

sauzee=legend
28-09-2020, 05:52 PM
Any spaces left?

brythehibby
28-09-2020, 06:34 PM
Any spaces left?

Sent you a PM 👍🏻

28-09-2020, 06:38 PM
My handicap is my swing. It used to be good, but since daughter dearest arrived, I've managed maybe 6 games in the past 3 years. Granted, my last outing was Dumbarnie and I went around in 80 (which I was delighted with, as it's a challenge!).

Be nice to see some old faces and meet some new ones from here.

28-09-2020, 06:41 PM
Sent you a PM 👍🏻

Ill transfer £80 tomorrow for 2 of us

FifeHibs
28-09-2020, 06:46 PM
My handicap is my swing. It used to be good, but since daughter dearest arrived, I've managed maybe 6 games in the past 3 years. Granted, my last outing was Dumbarnie and I went around in 80 (which I was delighted with, as it's a challenge!).

Be nice to see some old faces and meet some new ones from here.

What did you think of Dumbarnie?

28-09-2020, 06:48 PM
What did you think of Dumbarnie?

It needs a wee bit of time to blend in to the surrounding landscape (few areas of scarred land etc or incomplete rough etc) but it will be exceptional when it's a bit more mature. I really enjoyed it - felt very private, it's a good test and it's not all about length.

28-09-2020, 07:11 PM
It needs a wee bit of time to blend in to the surrounding landscape (few areas of scarred land etc or incomplete rough etc) but it will be exceptional when it's a bit more mature. I really enjoyed it - felt very private, it's a good test and it's not all about length.
Cheers for that. Playing it on Saturday

28-09-2020, 09:03 PM

Highly recommend their freshly grilled square sausage rolls before you head out :greengrin

29-09-2020, 07:52 AM

Playing there on Saturday as well. Back of 10am.

29-09-2020, 08:14 AM
Playing there on Saturday as well. Back of 10am.

Just after 1 for us. Then crail on sunday.staying in leven on Saturday night

29-09-2020, 08:18 AM
Just after 1 for us. Then crail on sunday.staying in leven on Saturday night

Balcomie? Lovely course though haven't played there for a few years.

29-09-2020, 08:20 AM
Balcomie? Lovely course though haven't played there for a few years.

Yes.never played it but the reviews are superb unlike the weekend forecast 😳

29-09-2020, 04:36 PM

This is probably the most “critical” review of Dumbarnie I’ve read :big grin:

Everyone seems to rave about it and those who have played seem desperate to go back and play again. Hoping to play soon and there are a couple of my golfing friends yet to play who are keen to arrange an outing before winter sets in. As you say, when it really beds in it looks like being a fantastic addition and hopefully the green fees will continue to remain at reasonable value.

29-09-2020, 05:37 PM
Ill transfer £80 tomorrow for 2 of us

Money sent earlier today

brythehibby
29-09-2020, 07:39 PM
Money sent earlier today

Got it - top man 👍🏻

01-10-2020, 02:05 PM

Forecast is horrific. I’m at Scotscraig on Saturday and Panmure on Sunday.🥺🥺

01-10-2020, 03:58 PM
Forecast is horrific. I’m at Scotscraig on Saturday and Panmure on Sunday.🥺🥺

Played Scotscraig & St Andrews New last weekend....weather was great. Gorsetastic at Scotscraig and the greens were like lightning. Scramble at Kilspindie on Sat....& aye weather looks murder.

01-10-2020, 10:52 PM
I’m 19.

Get yer name doon.

I didn’t get a handicap :/

Dumfrieshibs
03-10-2020, 05:44 PM
https://www.eastlothiancourier.com/news/18765407.several-greens-musselburgh-golf-club-deliberately-burned/

Not good news . There used to be a fair bit of damage done years ago when a traveller community used to camp in the field to the side of the 11th hole .

03-10-2020, 06:36 PM

Hope you got finished. It was getting very wet by the time my party got in and you would have had a long way to go.

brythehibby
03-10-2020, 06:58 PM
https://www.eastlothiancourier.com/news/18765407.several-greens-musselburgh-golf-club-deliberately-burned/

Not good news . There used to be a fair bit of damage done years ago when a traveller community used to camp in the field to the side of the 11th hole .

Idiots made some mess of a couple of greens. The 13th in particular. Green staff have done a brilliant job in trying to repair them. The rain today will help.

Dumfrieshibs
03-10-2020, 08:20 PM
Idiots made some mess of a couple of greens. The 13th in particular. Green staff have done a brilliant job in trying to repair them. The rain today will help.

I've no doubt Tam will get it sorted Brian

03-10-2020, 08:24 PM
I feel for anyone who was on a golf course today. Family and I went picking pumpkins for about half an hour and I was absolutely soaked head to (broken) toe by the end of it.

jingler1954
03-10-2020, 08:44 PM
This is probably the most “critical” review of Dumbarnie I’ve read :big grin:

Everyone seems to rave about it and those who have played seem desperate to go back and play again. Hoping to play soon and there are a couple of my golfing friends yet to play who are keen to arrange an outing before winter sets in. As you say, when it really beds in it looks like being a fantastic addition and hopefully the green fees will continue to remain at reasonable value.

I played it on Tuesday it is fantastic. The weather was perfect. We are going back this month they have dropped the price to £75.00 for October and then it is shut for the winter. The actual course is in perfect condition, I think the negative comments are about some of the man made dunes [of which there are many] are still a bit scruffy. This does not affect the course in any way. I would definitely say a must play course for any level of golfer. There are 4 sets of tees to suit all.

03-10-2020, 08:46 PM
I feel for anyone who was on a golf course today. Family and I went picking pumpkins for about half an hour and I was absolutely soaked head to (broken) toe by the end of it.

So do I. Tried to play golf today and went in after 12. Met some other net members who were only on the second. Hope they made it back and didn't drown!

FifeHibs
03-10-2020, 08:59 PM
I played it on Tuesday it is fantastic. The weather was perfect. We are going back this month they have dropped the price to £75.00 for October and then it is shut for the winter. The actual course is in perfect condition, I think the negative comments are about some of the man made dunes [of which there are many] are still a bit scruffy. This does not affect the course in any way. I would definitely say a must play course for any level of golfer. There are 4 sets of tees to suit all.

Leven Links and Lundin Links are both decent tracks just next to Dumbarnie.

04-10-2020, 05:51 AM

I didn’t bother even travelling to Scotscraig yesterday.

04-10-2020, 06:35 AM
Panmure cancelled today due to flooding.☔️☔️☔️Gutted

04-10-2020, 08:59 AM
So do I. Tried to play golf today and went in after 12. Met some other net members who were only on the second. Hope they made it back and didn't drown!
We did make it back just( 7 from 8)
Undoubtedly the worst conditions ive ever played in but Dumbarnie is the nicest track ive played in many years with not one drop of water visible on any green. Ive just about dried out and sobered up so we are off to balcomie.
Play Dumbarnie if you get a chance

brythehibby
04-10-2020, 05:42 PM
Evening all. Currently down to 11 with a couple of call offs. 4 guys still to pay. If you can please do this ASAP so I can pay the club. Cheers.

04-10-2020, 06:13 PM
We were booked for Swanston bit it was closed today, waterlogged. The Braids was pretty good, very little surface water anywhere. First round in nearly a decade, shot a 91, lol. Have to say, the putting was utterly diabolical. A fantastic view of the city up there, unbeatable.

Dumfrieshibs
04-10-2020, 06:17 PM
Is there anyone travelling a distance and looking to stay on the Saturday or Sunday night and fancies a few beers ?

brythehibby
15-10-2020, 02:53 PM
*********UPDATE*******

Due to the new restrictions, the golf day is still going ahead however there will be no meal afterwards sadly. The cost is now £25 a head for the golf. All the guys that confirmed have paid. We have 11 bodies but space for more if anyone has any interest. Sunday 25th of October, 11.15am onwards. Get in touch.

To all the guys already signed up - see you next Sunday :thumbsup:

15-10-2020, 03:30 PM
We were booked for Swanston bit it was closed today, waterlogged. The Braids was pretty good, very little surface water anywhere. First round in nearly a decade, shot a 91, lol. Have to say, the putting was utterly diabolical. A fantastic view of the city up there, unbeatable.

The Braids is underrated as a golf course imo. It has great turf and any time I've been there, the greens were in great nick.

15-10-2020, 03:32 PM
Panmure cancelled today due to flooding.☔️☔️☔️Gutted

You played it before A? Great course.

15-10-2020, 05:09 PM
You played it before A? Great course.
Naw. Was looking forward to it. Some of the pictures that morning between there and Carnoustie were quite incredible. The Barry burn was just part of the Tay.

Dumfrieshibs
16-10-2020, 10:43 AM
*********UPDATE*******

Due to the new restrictions, the golf day is still going ahead however there will be no meal afterwards sadly. The cost is now £25 a head for the golf. All the guys that confirmed have paid. We have 11 bodies but space for more if anyone has any interest. Sunday 25th of October, 11.15am onwards. Get in touch.

To all the guys already signed up - see you next Sunday :thumbsup:

Looking forward to this . Disappointing about the clubhouse situation but im sure we will make the best of it .
Big thanks for making this happen Bry

16-10-2020, 06:14 PM
The Braids is underrated as a golf course imo. It has great turf and any time I've been there, the greens were in great nick.
Agree. Fairways can get a bit soft in places when it has been wet but overall it must be one of the best municipal courses in the country and tremendous VFM. Even if you can putt well the greens are trickier than tricky and can be lightning fast, especially 16. Many a de-greened putt down that slope.

24-10-2020, 09:30 AM
Thankfully not playing this today, forecast is better for tomorrow 👍

brythehibby
24-10-2020, 10:03 AM
Thankfully not playing this today, forecast is better for tomorrow 👍

Yeah good planning by the host 😁

24-10-2020, 10:12 AM
Yeah good planning by the host 😁

It's all about the prep👍 Do you still have 11 confirmed?

brythehibby
24-10-2020, 12:33 PM
It's all about the prep👍 Do you still have 11 confirmed?

11 confirmed. If you can let me know if you and your mate are in for the extra tenor for prizes so I know what I’m due you back 👍🏻. See you tomorrow

24-10-2020, 12:37 PM
11 confirmed. If you can let me know if you and your mate are in for the extra tenor for prizes so I know what I’m due you back 👍🏻. See you tomorrow

Yes put us in for the £10👍

Whataball
25-10-2020, 10:00 AM
Yes put us in for the £10👍

Hi Bryan, Gus and I have broke down at Dreghorn junction. Waiting on AA. Looks like we're not going to make it. What is the last tee off. AA will be 20 mins.

Sorry mate.

brythehibby
25-10-2020, 10:21 AM
Hi Bryan, Gus and I have broke down at Dreghorn junction. Waiting on AA. Looks like we're not going to make it. What is the last tee off. AA will be 20 mins.

Sorry mate.

Guys are on the tee now last time is 11.30. If you don’t make it I’ll give you a bell later to sort refunds etc. All the best

the tornadoe
25-10-2020, 03:16 PM
Just back from the Golf Day and would like to thank Brian for organising and the rest of the guys. Course was in great nick for the time of year and recent weather we have had. Pity the social side was curtailed a bit but I'm sure next time we will be able to have a pint and a bleather. Thanks again Brian !!

25-10-2020, 03:35 PM
Just back from the Golf Day and would like to thank Brian for organising and the rest of the guys. Course was in great nick for the time of year and recent weather we have had. Pity the social side was curtailed a bit but I'm sure next time we will be able to have a pint and a bleather. Thanks again Brian !!

Yes just like to echo my thanks too. Great idea and massive thanks to Brian for organising. Thoroughly enjoyable days golf and would have loved to had a natter over a pint. I Look forward to the next one.

Dumfrieshibs
25-10-2020, 05:29 PM
Not much more to be added to the last couple of posts .
Great day all round . Thanks for putting it all together Brian

scottish_sleepy
25-10-2020, 06:29 PM
Agree with all the guys so far. Cracking course and good to meet some of the guys in person rather than on here.

brythehibby
25-10-2020, 06:39 PM
Firstly can I say thanks to all the guys that took part today. Great company and good chat about Hibs, golf and much more. Commiserations to Gmack7 and Whataball who got stranded at dreghorn and didn't make it sadly!

The weather was kind and the feedback on the course was great to hear. Top 3 were as follows

1st. Some Bandit Brythehibby
2nd. The Tornadoe
3rd. Dumfrieshibs & Scottish Sleepy

We were all in agreement that this should be the starter for some form of .net golf group so anyone interested in future outings get in touch. Plenty golfers on here and what better way to spend an afternoon than with fellow Hibs fans. I look forward to the next one gents - it was a pleasure.

Bry

Whataball
25-10-2020, 06:54 PM
Firstly can I say thanks to all the guys that took part today. Great company and good chat about Hibs, golf and much more. Commiserations to Gmack7 and Whataball who got stranded at dreghorn and didn't make it sadly!

The weather was kind and the feedback on the course was great to hear. Top 3 were as follows

2nd. The Tornadoe

We were all in agreement that this should be the starter for some form of .net golf group so anyone interested in future outings get in touch. Plenty golfers on here and what better way to spend an afternoon than with fellow Hibs fans. I look forward to the next one gents - it was a pleasure.

Bry

Glad it went well guys and definitely interested in future events. On the plus side I now know more about particle filters.

25-10-2020, 07:10 PM
Glad it went well guys and definitely interested in future events. On the plus side I now know more about particle filters.

1st time I've ever broken down so you're a jinx, well done Brian and I'd be interested in any future outings

25-10-2020, 07:25 PM

2nd. The Tornadoe

Bry

Definitely up for the next one, just fire a PM or something :aok:

25-10-2020, 10:44 PM
Cracking day, be good to get a few beers after in a future competition.

Thanks for organising Bry