View Full Version : The Clash

Berwickhibby
28-08-2020, 05:29 PM
Moving on from the N word thread I thought I would start this post dedicated to my favourite band of all time The Clash, I first saw the in 77 at the Playhouse on their White Riot Tour. Introduced me to Reggae with their cover of Police and Thieves. Best track for me Complete Control :greengrin

28-08-2020, 06:39 PM
Moving on from the N word thread I thought I would start this post dedicated to my favourite band of all time The Clash, I first saw the in 77 at the Playhouse on their White Riot Tour. Introduced me to Reggae with their cover of Police and Thieves. Best track for me Complete Control :greengrin

I was at that gig and I saw them two more times, but I can't remember where exactly.

One time Mick Jones was wearing red bondage types trousers. I desperately wanted a pair but never got them.

-Jonesy-
28-08-2020, 06:40 PM
Good band, great basslines

Berwickhibby
28-08-2020, 06:46 PM
I was at that gig and I saw them two more times, but I can't remember where exactly.

One time Mick Jones was wearing red bondage types trousers. I desperately wanted a pair but never got them.

They played The Odeon a couple of times and the Dunfermline Kinema

28-08-2020, 07:22 PM

I was at them all and one of the Odeon gigs on a miserable November night (78?) was probably one of my favourite gigs ever, not that I remember much about it.

EAZY-ME
28-08-2020, 07:30 PM
Could have called it the c word thread

28-08-2020, 08:49 PM
Elastica with fatigues.

28-08-2020, 09:24 PM
Moving on from the N word thread I thought I would start this post dedicated to my favourite band of all time The Clash, I first saw the in 77 at the Playhouse on their White Riot Tour. Introduced me to Reggae with their cover of Police and Thieves. Best track for me Complete Control :greengrinThey started off with a bang, first album is an absolute classic but the albums seemed to get progressively less good as they went along, with a real dip with sandinista.

Outwith the clash, give em enough rope and london calling I rarely listen to them these days.

I always preferred the damned though

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

Berwickhibby
28-08-2020, 09:29 PM
They started off with a bang, first album is an absolute classic but the albums seemed to get progressively less good as they went along, with a real dip with sandinista.

Outwith the clash, give em enough rope and london calling I rarely listen to them these days.

I saw the Damned last year at the liquid rooms, well sensible and Vanian. One of their best gigs was in Clouds when Gary Holten stepped in as singer ....called the Doomed....still a great night

28-08-2020, 10:07 PM
"The only band that matters".

29-08-2020, 07:08 AM
I saw the Damned last year at the liquid rooms, well sensible and Vanian. One of their best gigs was in Clouds when Gary Holten stepped in as singer ....called the Doomed....still a great nightGreat live band, depending on how pissed the captain is :greengrin

There's a really good documentary film about them on sky called "don't you wish that we were dead"

29-08-2020, 07:22 AM
... I thought I would start this post dedicated to my favourite band of all time The ClashSadly never saw the Clash, but I did get to see Joe Strummer and the Mescaleros in Glasgow. Very loud gig!

I saw the Damned last year at the liquid rooms, well sensible and Vanian. When I think about The Damned, I always remember my complete surprise at a gig by Donovan at the Queens Hall, when I realised that the drummer in his band was none other than Rat Scabies.

Berwickhibby
29-08-2020, 07:26 AM
Great live band, depending on how pissed the captain is :greengrin

There's a really good documentary film about them on sky called "don't you wish that we were dead"

Yes I saw that ...it's cool, I am still in contact with Chris (Rat Scabies) who is still a wee bit bitter, he has picked up the sticks again.

29-08-2020, 07:47 AM
Sadly never saw the Clash, but I did get to see Joe Strummer and the Mescaleros in Glasgow. Very loud gig!

When I think about The Damned, I always remember my complete surprise at a gig by Donovan at the Queens Hall, when I realised that the drummer in his band was none other than Rat Scabies.Never saw the either, sadly.

The only time I saw Joe Strummer live was with the Pogues back around '88 when he came on and did a few clash numbers with them.

29-08-2020, 09:35 AM
Yes I saw that ...it's cool, I am still in contact with Chris (Rat Scabies) who is still a wee bit bitter, he has picked up the sticks again.The drummer who was with them up till recently, Pinch (English Dogs), is a really good drummer.
Have a listen to the Grave disorder album and there is some fantastic drumming.

29-08-2020, 09:45 AM
They started off with a bang, first album is an absolute classic but the albums seemed to get progressively less good as they went along, with a real dip with sandinista.

As has often been said there were enough good tracks on Sandinista to have made a fine single album. Somebody Got Murdered is a great Clash song. I remember Mick Jones saying he thought the triple album format would suit folk who worked on oil rigs who couldn't get to their record shop for long spells!

29-08-2020, 09:48 AM

Youtube footage available of them playing White Riot at the Kinema (taken from the Rude Boy movie IIRC). Why was it called the Kinema? Something I always wondered.

29-08-2020, 09:53 AM
Youtube footage available of them playing White Riot at the Kinema (taken from the Rude Boy movie IIRC). Why was it called the Kinema? Something I always wondered.

Fifers.

That is all.

-Jonesy-
29-08-2020, 09:55 AM
Worth mentioning to any music nerds, especially punk ones, a real good music podcast called “No Dogs in Space”

It’s a really well researched and presented in depth look at bands that defined a genre. The first series is exclusively about punk and there is a good few hours on each band spread across a few episodes each covering their members formation and rise and fall in the industry. So far they’ve done The stooges, Sucicide, the ramones, the damned, misfits, the slits and just started on my personal fav Dead Kennedys.

It’s funny and informative and full of tracks from a huge range of other artists that might just turn a few of you on to some bands you haven’t heard of yet.

29-08-2020, 10:35 AM
Fifers.

That is all.

This is so so true.

Berwickhibby
29-08-2020, 10:41 AM
Worth mentioning to any music nerds, especially punk ones, a real good music podcast called “No Dogs in Space”

It’s a really well researched and presented in depth look at bands that defined a genre. The first series is exclusively about punk and there is a good few hours on each band spread across a few episodes each covering their members formation and rise and fall in the industry. So far they’ve done The stooges, Sucicide, the ramones, the damned, misfits, the slits and just started on my personal fav Dead Kennedys.

It’s funny and informative and full of tracks from a huge range of other artists that might just turn a few of you on to some bands you haven’t heard of yet.

Suicide supported the Clash in Dunfermline... I thought they were pish

-Jonesy-
29-08-2020, 10:50 AM
Suicide supported the Clash in Dunfermline... I thought they were pish

As did almost every crowd they played in front of.
That podcast tells the story that on the very same tour opening for the clash in Glasgow the crowd were not into it and eventually someone threw a literal axe at Alan Vega missing his head by inches

29-08-2020, 10:53 AM
As did almost every crowd they played in front of.
That podcast tells the story that on the very same tour opening for the clash in Glasgow the crowd were not into it and eventually someone threw a literal axe at Alan Vega missing his head by inches

"A literal axe".

That sounds like a description of some Elvis Costello song. 😁

29-08-2020, 12:32 PM

That law of diminishing returns was the same with many Punk bands, once the white heat of 76-77 started to cool so did the product.

I tend to wait til I'm compelled to listen to old stuff from my teens and The Clash haven't struck me as yet, no compulsion at all to drag them out. "White Man In Hammersmith Palais" is a corker of a single though. Pity Joe turned out to be just another hippy pushing Far Left delusions, ruined Punk Rock with that agenda. Give me the Pistols anytime.

29-08-2020, 03:59 PM
That law of diminishing returns was the same with many Punk bands, once the white heat of 76-77 started to cool so did the product.

I tend to wait til I'm compelled to listen to old stuff from my teens and The Clash haven't struck me as yet, no compulsion at all to drag them out. "White Man In Hammersmith Palais" is a corker of a single though. Pity Joe turned out to be just another hippy pushing Far Left delusions, ruined Punk Rock with that agenda. Give me the Pistols anytime.

No question the Pistols blazed like a comet and there's still something thrilling about hearing them on the radio to this day. However, while I know they toured again several times in later years, it's a lot easier to leave a kind of untouchable legacy when you've only got a handful of classic anthems to your name. The only band from that era which by and large remained defiantly (and gloriously) unchanged for a lenghty career was the Ramones.

The Clash set themselves impossible goals. In hindsight the leap from their first album to London Calling in just three years was remarkable and they probably tried to take on too much too quickly. At their peak, though, they were simply a bloody great band. Paul Simonon said Strummer was always a hippy at heart, but having caught a few of his late career Mescaleros shows I'd say that heart (congentially weak as it sadly proved to be) was still in the right place when it came to setting the pulse racing among those who kept faith in him, warts and all.

Must admit, though, that like you it's been a long time since I listened to lot of the stuff that used to energise my younger self.

Logie Green
29-08-2020, 08:53 PM
I saw the Damned last year at the liquid rooms, well sensible and Vanian. One of their best gigs was in Clouds when Gary Holten stepped in as singer ....called the Doomed....still a great night

I saw The Damned at The Odeon in Clerk Street. The support was Duran Duran; they got a tremendous welcome. All you could heard was pinging sounds as coins bounced off the picture screen behind them. 🤡

29-08-2020, 09:58 PM
I saw The Damned at The Odeon in Clerk Street. The support was Duran Duran; they got a tremendous welcome. All you could heard was pinging sounds as coins bounced off the picture screen behind them. 🤡

Not doubting you at all but I can't remember this. Saw The Damned at the Odeon probably in 1980 - I can't recall much about the the support but it definitely wasn't Duran Duran. Unless they were on before the official support maybe.

The only other Damned gig I can find at the Odeon was in 81 with the Anti-Nowhere League supporting.

29-08-2020, 10:16 PM
Caught the Clash a couple of times in the early 80's and Big Audio Dynamite 86

29-08-2020, 10:25 PM
I think I remember seeing the Clash at Clouds, if it was called that by then. That was the Mick Jones red breeks gig, iirc.

I'm sure I saw the Dammed there too, but my memory isn't what it should be.

29-08-2020, 10:36 PM
Just a wee bit too young for the clash.
I'm aware of all their most famous tunes.
E=MC2 is Mick Jones best tune imo.
Big Audio Dynamite, love it.

29-08-2020, 10:42 PM
The Clash and The Damned were both so much more than punk bands.

29-08-2020, 10:50 PM

Both the Damned and Duran Duran played the Odeon but not on the same bill. As far as I'm aware the Damned were supported by The Straps (1980) and the Anti Nowhere League (1981) while Duran Duran were supporting Hazel O'Connor.

At one of the Damned Odeon gigs there was a power cut and the punters started chucking coins at Captain Sensible which is maybe the gig you were at?

30-08-2020, 08:39 AM
Love The Clash. Favourite track Train in Vain; I bought London Calling on vinyl with my pocket money and for months I didnt hear Train in Vain because it was a hidden track at the end of Side B! It wasn’t on the sleeve notes so I assumed it was called Stand by Me, the choral lyric. It almost has a Motown funk feel to it, Strummers love of upbeat Black soul of the 60s very evident in that track. Obviously it’s a well known and loved song now, on the radio regularly, back in the day it wasnt so.

30-08-2020, 10:00 AM

Just been played on 6Music. Bloomin' masterpiece.

31-08-2020, 03:36 PM

Not often used but Kinema is just a variant of cinema.

Logie Green
31-08-2020, 06:12 PM
Both the Damned and Duran Duran played the Odeon but not on the same bill. As far as I'm aware the Damned were supported by The Straps (1980) and the Anti Nowhere League (1981) while Duran Duran were supporting Hazel O'Connor.

At one of the Damned Odeon gigs there was a power cut and the punters started chucking coins at Captain Sensible which is maybe the gig you were at?

You’re probably correct as I was also at the Hazel O’Connor concert so I’m possibly getting them mixed up. It was 40 years ago. 🤡

02-09-2020, 01:30 PM
You’re probably correct as I was also at the Hazel O’Connor concert so I’m possibly getting them mixed up. It was 40 years ago. 🤡

Harder to imagine Hazel O'Connor fans coining Duran Duran but then you never know. Going to gigs back then could be a much 'earthier' experience.

02-09-2020, 01:32 PM
Not often used but Kinema is just a variant of cinema.

Thanks. I wasn't aware of that.

Some debate on the two spellings here:

https://www.nitrateville.com/viewtopic.php?t=10108

02-09-2020, 02:53 PM

I would describe myself as a casual "fan" of the clash, without being nearly knowledgeable enough to compare albums, nor know what the band members political agendas etc were. However, that song is a strong contender for my outright fav by them.

Not huge on the old punk music, and never got into the sex pistols at all. But always enjoyed the clash, and think the Ramones were brilliant.

Green Reaper
05-09-2020, 05:20 PM
Saw The Clash at the Odeon in Clerk St in 1980.London Calling tour. Still have my ticket (signed by the band in a record shop that was abouts the 'Mile'. Still the best gig I ever went to, SLF at same venue being my 2nd favourite.

05-09-2020, 06:12 PM
Saw The Clash at the Odeon in Clerk St in 1980.London Calling tour. Still have my ticket (signed by the band in a record shop that was abouts the 'Mile'. Still the best gig I ever went to, SLF at same venue being my 2nd favourite.

SLF at their peak certainly ran them close.

Berwickhibby
05-09-2020, 06:27 PM
SLF at their peak certainly ran them close.

IMHO the best SLF gig in Edinburgh was the Rock Against Racism at Clouds.

Green Reaper
05-09-2020, 07:00 PM
Craziest gig I went to back then was Crass at Astoria(?) place on Abbey Mount. I was only 15 and everyone there were a lot older and hard core punks and so packed. Got so hot I soaked my shirt in the toilet sink to cool down then nearly froze to death waiting on the no.1 bus after to get home 😬

Berwickhibby
05-09-2020, 07:08 PM
Craziest gig I went to back then was Crass at Astoria(?) place on Abbey Mount. I was only 15 and everyone there were a lot older and hard core punks and so packed. Got so hot I soaked my shirt in the toilet sink to cool down then nearly froze to death waiting on the no.1 bus after to get home 😬

Was a great venue, I remember seeing the Valves, Generation X and The Adverts there.

05-09-2020, 07:13 PM
Was a great venue, I remember seeing the Valves, Generation X and The Adverts there.

I vaguely remember TV Smith shouting at the crowd "stop f***** gobbing!!".

05-09-2020, 08:39 PM
IMHO the best SLF gig in Edinburgh was the Rock Against Racism at Clouds.Didnt that stretch to two nights? Mekons as support.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Berwickhibby
05-09-2020, 08:56 PM
Didnt that stretch to two nights? Mekons as support.

Mekons definitely the support...they were also great.. do not recall if it was 2 nights

1875godsgift
06-09-2020, 01:40 AM

Just round the corner from where I grew up!
Most mental gig I saw there was Cockney Rejects - Concert for the Kids. Saturday gig, they played two sets (iirc), one daytime and one at night, same day as Hibs v. The team formerly known as rangers.
Absolute mayhem as the few hundred West Ham skinheads drinking in the Regent attacked the huns going back to their buses, and pulling the police off their motorbikes when they arrived.

10-12-2020, 09:53 PM

Something for you to kick off the weekend with tomorrow evening?

https://www.theclash.com/news/the-magnificent-seven-new-video

allmodcons
10-12-2020, 10:22 PM

There is some quality tunes on Sandinista. Something About England being a stand out. Combat Rock has some stand out tunes too in particular Straight to Hell

10-12-2020, 10:47 PM
Something for you to kick off the weekend with tomorrow evening?

https://www.theclash.com/news/the-magnificent-seven-new-video

Ooof, that's tickled the tastebuds...

11-12-2020, 12:27 AM
Their albums revealed them to be not such a punk band but composers of melodies with memorable lyrics.
A reggae band if anything. Certainly a distinctive sound.

11-12-2020, 06:28 AM
There is some quality tunes on Sandinista. Something About England being a stand out. Combat Rock has some stand out tunes too in particular Straight to Hell

Think I said it earlier on the thread but it's often been said what a great single album Sandinista would have made rather than a triple. The band stood by it though and Mick Jones said he thought it would be good for fans who worked on oil rigs and 'couldn't get to the record shop very often' :greengrin

11-12-2020, 06:30 AM
Their albums revealed them to be not such a punk band but composers of melodies with memorable lyrics.
A reggae band if anything. Certainly a distinctive sound.

First album was pure 70s UK punk, a real sound of the times, but the later albums were really diverse and it was maybe no surprise that when Joe Strummer made a late 90s comeback it was with a brand of what you'd probably term world music.

Berwickhibby
11-12-2020, 07:13 AM
First album was pure 70s UK punk, a real sound of the times, but the later albums were really diverse and it was maybe no surprise that when Joe Strummer made a late 90s comeback it was with a brand of what you'd probably term world music.

Like most of the great punk bands of the late 70s, they grew to more than just 3 chords, opened minds, punk was music for that era. Although personally their first album was the best, I enjoyed the total mix and creativity of London Calling

11-12-2020, 09:11 AM
Think I said it earlier on the thread but it's often been said what a great single album Sandinista would have made rather than a triple. The band stood by it though and Mick Jones said he thought it would be good for fans who worked on oil rigs and 'couldn't get to the record shop very often' :greengrin

Single? I'd argue it would have made a great double album. :greengrin

11-12-2020, 01:35 PM
Single? I'd argue it would have made a great double album. :greengrin

You're probably right. Haven't listened to it in years but I'm sure there's enough quality on there for a London Calling-style double.

11-12-2020, 11:23 PM
Pretty cool times. Remember the Rock Against Racism gigs The Clash were all over them. The "black and white unite and fight banners" etc and of course the musical cross-over into black music. All those gigs were run by Trotskyists and Marxists who mostly didn't care about the music and saw it as a convenient vehicle but the basic message was bang on and the results in the bands, scenes and cultures was immense and hugely entertaining. The conversations about racism back then were maybe simpler but that's maybe that's better.

People forget how diverse the sounds were. New Order/The Human League etc were a direct gateway into electronica and that cusp where disco and hip-hop were spilling over into everything. By 1979-80 we used to go JJ's above Valentino's. Upstairs was new wave, old James Brown records, 12" mixes of the punk bands, Kraftwerk and modern, poppy electronic stuff. Downstairs, Valentino's itself was full-on, up to the minute disco records. If you had all those records in one room that's the play-list for Larry Levan's Paradise Garage club and Frankie Knuckles' Warehouse, although we didn't know that at the time. By the late '80's there was a marked difference going to a Fall gig anywhere in the UK, where the audience would be 80% male and 100% white and one of them raves where there was all sorts - and it didn't really matter.

Following punk through into House Music the conversations are reversed, white people/heterosexual people are the outsiders. There's a place for you as a "step-child" so it's an accepting scene but "the conversation" isn't yours to have. I can't imagine stepping into a club in Chicago or New Jersey and explaining to people what racism is and isn't and what language is acceptable to one person or another, or not. Saying that it's not really a hot topic, if you follow House Music or those old Punk bands you should know just going over the threshold that intolerance is just plain weird.

12-12-2020, 11:44 AM

Thought they had one or two decent tunes, but as a band and concept they meant nothing to me - the whole hype surrounding them was a wee bit too OTT for me... first song I heard of theirs was "Police and Thieves" - I loved the base line and "feel" and wanted it in our band's list of songs, but most of us then were still heavily into Yes, ELP, and Genesis so it was a no-no ... :greengrin

Berwickhibby
12-12-2020, 01:13 PM
Thought they had one or two decent tunes, but as a band and concept they meant nothing to me - the whole hype surrounding them was a wee bit too OTT for me... first song I heard of theirs was "Police and Thieves" - I loved the base line and "feel" and wanted it in our band's list of songs, but most of us then were still heavily into Yes, ELP, and Genesis so it was a no-no ... :greengrin

Music is personal and subjective and The Clash and Sex Pistols filled a void at that time with a vibrant different sound.... on a personal note Yes, ELP and Genesis are over indulgent prog rock and pish...but everyone to their own

12-12-2020, 01:37 PM
Music is personal and subjective and The Clash and Sex Pistols filled a void at that time with a vibrant different sound.... on a personal note Yes, ELP and Genesis are over indulgent prog rock and pish...but everyone to their own

... your "well-balanced" view reminds me of my 6th form days ... too old for that now though :greengrin

12-12-2020, 01:50 PM
... your "well-balanced" view reminds me of my 6th form days ... too old for that now though :greengrin

I've mellowed a little bit over the years, and I can now appreciate some of Phil Collins' and Peter Gabriel's stuff, but otherwise Berwick's views seem very well balanced to me! 😁

12-12-2020, 02:55 PM
Music is personal and subjective and The Clash and Sex Pistols filled a void at that time with a vibrant different sound.... on a personal note Yes, ELP and Genesis are over indulgent prog rock and pish...but everyone to their ownPeople wanted to see and dance to bands they could relate to in small venues. Prog wasn't providing that. As you say music isn't an objective pursuit. Never saw the attraction of prog rock myself but dont mind a few bits and pieces in small doses these days but am never compelled to play that type of music.

stu in nottingham
12-12-2020, 08:03 PM
I very keenly watched the inception of punk in around 1976, mainly through reading the music press avidly, the NME, Melody Maker and then Sounds to a degree.

The Pistols exploded of course but there was a really noticable undercurrent befor they were recognised widely. For me and maybe many others, The Clash and The Damned gained early prominence.

I eagerly bought 'The Clash' pracitically on the day it was released and loved it. As has been said on this thread, music, for all the great virtuosity around, had become tired and bloated. I'd jettisoned the likes of Yes and Genesis a while ago but then I was always much more interested into harder rock and roll, especially The Faces and The Who.

For all of those bands that emerged in that tremendous era The Jam and Buzzcocks were the ones that excited me and their music shown longevity. They'd be the ones I'd still play now too. What's noticable about this thread is that there are a few people here who, like me, loved The Clash but didn't really stay with them after a while and don't play them now. I'm like that too, I seldom play their stuff now. An exception might be some of their reggae stuff, in particular Junior Murvin's 'Police and Thieves'.

That brings me to what I felt they did better than anyone else too - by a long way. For want of a better expression, they were best white band at playing authentic reggae. Junir Murvin's song is a classic and yet The Clash's version is the equal of it, high praise. When you think back to some of the other white bands's attempts they're mainly poor to ludicrous. The Clash were the real deal though.

12-12-2020, 10:59 PM
Currently enjoying Viv Albertine’s autobiography. Highly recommended and has some excellent Clash content in there.

13-12-2020, 09:36 PM
Ooof, that's tickled the tastebuds...

Did you check out the new video? Some great footage in there:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WD5N0rTsulQ&mi_u=a0O61000001fNTDEA2&utm_campaign=NL_TheClash_2020_12_10&utm_medium=email&utm_source=newsletter

14-12-2020, 06:45 PM
Saw the Clash a few times even that rubbish version with just Joe and Paul and some hangers-on lol

Saw the Damned a few times too, in various versions, DV being the only one there all the time

But the best band I ever saw was the Ramones (and on more than one occasion). Once saw them three nights in a row and it was mental, two nights in Dublin, one in Belfast. Actually met the band before the Dublin gig and had a chat with Joey for about 5 mins. Dee Dee was out of it and Johnny was, well, Johnny. Richie stopped for a chat too, he arrived about ten minutes later with a bunch of records under his arm! Even at that stage of their career, a Ramones gig was like being pummelled in the face with a jack hammer

I also recall a gig in the Playhouse (possibly 86?) which has to be one of the oddest places for a gig given the band in question

Hey ho.....

02-03-2022, 06:03 PM
https://i.ibb.co/jT6hzxN/20220302-182749.jpg

Earliest known photy of The Clash.

Keith Levene in there as are several pairs of FLARED TROUSERS!!

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

He's here!
08-03-2022, 10:05 PM
https://i.ibb.co/jT6hzxN/20220302-182749.jpg

Earliest known photy of The Clash.

Keith Levene in there as are several pairs of FLARED TROUSERS!!

Jones in particular still had a lot of work to do on his punk look...although he let the hair grow back to ridiculous lengths circa 78. Strummer would have sorted those flares out sharpish...'like trousers like brain'...though he was a closet old hippy himself.

08-03-2022, 10:17 PM
Jones in particular still had a lot of work to do on his punk look...although he let the hair grow back to ridiculous lengths circa 78. Strummer would have sorted those flares out sharpish...'like trousers like brain'...though he was a closet old hippy himself.It's a great snapshot. Strummer at this point was still calling himself 'Woody' and rocking his Dylan look.

08-03-2022, 10:47 PM
Similar Pistols snaps, all from 1975..

https://i.ibb.co/xY4X1sW/20220308-232629.jpg

https://i.ibb.co/qJrQSgH/20220308-232727.jpg

https://i.ibb.co/cCsvvRb/20220308-232711.jpg

08-03-2022, 10:59 PM
Paul Weller 1975

https://i.ibb.co/QQBqQLJ/20220308-235354.jpg

08-03-2022, 11:07 PM
Strummer. Not so much Bob Dylan, more Harold Steptoe.

https://i.ibb.co/zHx4RvJ/Screenshot-20220309-000456-Samsung-Internet.jpg

He's here!
09-03-2022, 06:22 AM
The Pistols pics are interesting. I was under the impression Maclaren and Westwood pretty much kitted them out with the punk look from the off. Mind you, Steve Jones's hair was always a bit rubbish.

09-03-2022, 07:24 AM
The Pistols development was far more organic than McLaren's myths suggest. Jones's book "Lonely Boy" is very honest (and a harrowing read). Jones, Cook were playing together as early as 74, Matlock came in 75 then Westwood took an interest then finally McLaren. Westwood and Jamie Reid were their biggest influences. Weirdly, people forget that Bernie Rhodes handpicked members of The Clash and that Topper was a session musician.

He's here!
09-03-2022, 08:46 PM
Paul Weller 1975

https://i.ibb.co/QQBqQLJ/20220308-235354.jpg

Jeez, a long way from the Burton suits...

09-03-2022, 09:44 PM
Jeez, a long way from the Burton suits...Great pic though, reminds me of secondary school.

The Damned - looks like mid 76 rather than 75 though.

https://i.ibb.co/TcbcnTx/20220308-235400.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

If you think of the less silly glam rock, a bit Bowie, Roxy Music's "weimar" stylings, add in Bowie's Reed and Iggy connections Punk was pretty much an obvious, organic thing that was always going to happen. No one invented anything it just blasted out the underground and the only people who were "shocked" were the ones not paying attention. As Paul Cook said recently they were all switched on, they all knew their street culture.

He's here!
04-04-2022, 07:10 PM
https://www.nme.com/news/music/punk-legend-jordan-aka-pamela-rooke-has-died-3197799

One of the faces of that early UK punk era.

Johnny Clash
18-04-2022, 09:13 PM

That Doomed gig at Clouds (Dec 1978) was crazy. I remember a huge crush at the front so I ended up sat on the stage besides the monitors . Then Captain Sensible decided to have a pish on stage. I saw this steaming puddle of Captain pish getting closer and closer then there was huge surge behind me and I ended pushed forward and soaked. The crowd then invaded stage and as I was getting up a skinhead was doing a Richard Jobson type dance and booted me in eye. Literally saw stars flashing after that. Af end of gig there was the usual debris on floor plus a dead rat. Got home in some state - turns out some radge was squirting tomato sauce. Anyway, I had just turned 15 and totally loved all these punk/ new wave gigs. The Clash at the Odeon the previous month (the day’ Give ‘em enough rope’ was released) being my all time favourite I reckon!

19-04-2022, 06:01 AM
That Doomed gig at Clouds (Dec 1978) was crazy. I remember a huge crush at the front so I ended up sat on the stage besides the monitors . Then Captain Sensible decided to have a pish on stage. I saw this steaming puddle of Captain pish getting closer and closer then there was huge surge behind me and I ended pushed forward and soaked. The crowd then invaded stage and as I was getting up a skinhead was doing a Richard Jobson type dance and booted me in eye. Literally saw stars flashing after that. Af end of gig there was the usual debris on floor plus a dead rat. Got home in some state - turns out some radge was squirting tomato sauce. Anyway, I had just turned 15 and totally loved all these punk/ new wave gigs. The Clash at the Odeon the previous month (the day’ Give ‘em enough rope’ was released) being my all time favourite I reckon!

Aye mine too. Some younger readers might wonder how it was possible for a Clash gig to be so great in a cinema with seats but it certainly was.

He's here!
19-04-2022, 10:06 AM

Think this wee snippet is from the Odeon, though it says 1980 (which would make sense as Revolution Rock wouldn't have been part of the setlist in 78):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UD9yM3MnaNM

green leaves
21-04-2022, 09:54 PM
Most overrated band ever.
And NOT a punk band

21-04-2022, 11:17 PM
And NOT a punk bandControversial.

22-04-2022, 12:43 AM
And NOT a punk band

"The only band that ever mattered."

Berwickhibby
22-04-2022, 07:32 AM
And NOT a punk band

Most important and influential band EVER!!!IMHO obviously you did not see them in the Playhouse on the White Riot Tour or you would not make such a ridiculous comment about them not being a punk band.

He's here!
22-04-2022, 08:33 AM
And NOT a punk band

First album's a punk classic, arguably the greatest of the genre. Sure, they evolved at breakneck speed but with creatives like Strummer and Jones at the helm they were never going to follow the Ramones blueprint.

They were also about so much more than the music for many. While quintessentially British, they attempted to bring a brilliant global perspective to the table, overstretching themselves regularly but admirable for it. They also shaped the sartorial style of many a young man for a lifetime.

22-04-2022, 02:07 PM
And NOT a punk bandCome on, green leaves. You have to expand on this a bit. For what it's worth I'm sort of in-between your views and others on this thread.

22-04-2022, 02:12 PM
Who decides what a punk band were? It wasn't a closely fitting criteria and depended on who was asking or writing. The Clash were part of a new wave of music. Rough, ready and speaking to young people directly about them and their lives. I was one of those young people in 1977 and they, along with others, seemed like the real deal.

Johnny Clash
26-04-2022, 08:31 AM
And NOT a punk band
When Punk broke a lot of bands rode that wave. We were that desperate to see bands that we’d go and watch the Boomtown Rats, Eddie and the hot Rods , Radio Stars, Elvis Costello, Devo, Ian Dury and loads more who on reflection didn’t come close to being ‘punk’ in the sense of 1-2-3-4 anarchic, raw. fast energetic music to pogo and gob to. Even good bands like the BUzzcocks and Blondie were more power pop than punk but it really didn’t seem like that at the time. It’s a bit weird looking back now to be honest.

Anyway, given the way the music scene was in 1976 I think the clash certainly fitted the original punk vibe but they kept evolving - not really a bad thing and I regret not seeing them in 1979 coz I thought they had ‘sold out’ but I was only 15 and we all make mistakes. I’m just glad it happened and we wee soon going to see Joy Division, the Bunneymen and talented bands inspired by what we called punk. It gave us confidence to make music without going to music school and being professionally trained which I think is the best thing of al!!

norhfc
26-04-2022, 09:49 AM
Brilliant live band, saw them at the Odeon in January 1980 (Im in that Nationwide video interviewing punks at the back of the Odeon). Once more at the Playhouse, 3rd time I was thrown out after an altercation with the bouncers in the foyer of the Playhouse before they even came on. Good times back then :)

green leaves
26-04-2022, 05:12 PM
Come on, green leaves. You have to expand on this a bit. For what it's worth I'm sort of in-between your views and others on this thread.

Pub rock band who jumped on the punk bandwagon.
As the above comments show they were the musical equivalent of the emperors new clothes.

ehf
26-04-2022, 09:28 PM
Pub rock band who jumped on the punk bandwagon.
As the above comments show they were the musical equivalent of the emperors new clothes.

Pish; Strummer may have had some pub-rock history but Jones, Simonon and Chimes were pure, original punks (ie not bandwagon jumpers or pantomime punks with mohicans and safety pins).

26-04-2022, 09:42 PM
[QUOTE=green leaves;6939137]Pub rock band who jumped on the punk bandwagon.
As the above comments show they were the musical equivalent of the emperors new clothes.[/

Best ignored.

26-04-2022, 10:05 PM
Pish; Strummer may have had some pub-rock history but Jones, Simonon and Chimes were pure, original punks (ie not bandwagon jumpers or pantomime punks with mohicans and safety pins).Strummer definitely had a pub rock, Woody Guthrie Hippyish vibe going on prior to the Sex Pistols playing with the 101rs.

The politics he introduced to Punk, a wooly global far left, were as Hippy as it comes. Punk got very po-faced when all that became part of it and was far more fun when the political aspect was undefined.

His lines in Garageband....

"My bummin' slummin' friends have all got new boots
An' someone just asked me if the group would wear suits"

...always seemed a bit weird given his own DM's would still have been pinching his heels at the time and that they were all too willing to act as mannequins for Bernie Rhodes.

It's always struck me as odd that the accusations thrown at the Pistols re being manufactured fit The Clash way more. Bernie fell out with McLaren/Westwood so found a way to sell his own, way inferior, kegs to the masses.

Steve Jones' Pistols and Brian James version of The Damned had it nailed

Ollie Reed
04-05-2022, 03:29 PM

Great stuff!! :)

Fine thread with very good personal stories and opinions. Whenever I think of The Clash, always reminds me of the late Ali Tait who many of you will have known. Just does.

JimmyGreen
07-05-2022, 07:40 PM
It’s 45 years ago tonight since The Clash played at the Playhouse on the White Riot tour, supported by the Slits, Subway Sect, Buzzcocks and The Jam. Still have the poster and ticket (Stalls...£2.20)
On the night of the concert they were giving away Jam badges, just recently found a couple of them.

Johnny Clash
08-05-2022, 09:32 PM
It’s 45 years ago tonight since The Clash played at the Playhouse on the White Riot tour, supported by the Slits, Subway Sect, Buzzcocks and The Jam. Still have the poster and ticket (Stalls...£2.20)
On the night of the concert they were giving away Jam badges, just recently found a couple of them.
Brilliant. Must have been some gig. These 45 years have flown by!

Berwickhibby
08-05-2022, 09:33 PM

My first punk gig, changed my view on music forever

JimmyGreen
08-05-2022, 10:51 PM

There’s a recording of The Clash playing that night available on YouTube, obviously sound quality not brilliant, but definitely worth a listen.

Johnny Clash
09-05-2022, 10:28 AM
There’s a recording of The Clash playing that night available on YouTube, obviously sound quality not brilliant, but definitely worth a listen.
I’ll definitely check that out. I have been searching for a recording of the 1978 Odeon gig but there’s nothing out there. My brother used to smuggle in a phillips cassette recorder wrapped in his jacket and placed under his seat. He had some decent 45 minute recordings of gigs (Blondie 1978 in particular!) . Sadly he never recorded the Clash at the Odeon. We were in the second row which was trashed so the chaos at stage front would have probably pulverised his machine.

22-05-2022, 10:15 PM
Don Letts celebrating the 40th anniversary of Combat Rock tonight by playing 2 hours of covers and remixes of Clash songs.

Some crackers, some weirdness.

22-05-2022, 11:19 PM
Don Letts celebrating the 40th anniversary of Combat Rock tonight by playing 2 hours of covers and remixes of Clash songs.

Some crackers, some weirdness.Where is that on cwg?

23-05-2022, 07:20 AM
Where is that on cwg?

6 Music. So you'll get it on BBC Sounds

norhfc
23-05-2022, 09:45 AM

Mine was also at Astoria, Cockney Rejects and Exploited. Must have been around 1981 but not sure. The rejects had their own skinhead bouncers with them who turned out to be West Ham hooligans, needless to say that didnt go down well with the locals. I stayed in Livi at the time and travelled through with a crowd from there. Ended up a huge fight and the gig ended a bit earlier than advertised.

23-05-2022, 12:14 PM
6 Music. So you'll get it on BBC SoundsTa

He's here!
24-05-2022, 11:53 AM
6 Music. So you'll get it on BBC Sounds

Helped me pass a couple of hours while stuck in the bedroom with Covid, thanks. As you say a real mixed bag. Don Letts is always easy listening tho.

31-05-2022, 11:51 AM
https://twitter.com/quantick/status/1531551070954131458?t=l6jFTrRuo2B6ZGybG_BLMg&s=19

02-06-2022, 12:05 AM
https://i.ibb.co/K6TNmxv/20220601-231849.jpg

Berwickhibby
02-06-2022, 06:01 AM
The Damned are playing George Street Assembly rooms on 15th June, unusual venue for a punk band…but hopefully a good night …

02-06-2022, 06:10 AM
The Damned are playing George Street Assembly rooms on 15th June, unusual venue for a punk band…but hopefully a good night …It's the original line up from the first two albums on this tour. Rat Scabies back, Sensible on bass and Brian James on guitar.

https://www.officialdamned.com/

02-06-2022, 09:35 AM
It's the original line up from the first two albums on this tour. Rat Scabies back, Sensible on bass and Brian James on guitar.

https://www.officialdamned.com/That would be good. The only line-up from the time that could rival the Pistols IMHO.

Am on hols so will miss. Other end of the musical spectrum sees Dionne Warwick play the Usher Hall the same week. Would have went to both those.

Berwickhibby
08-06-2022, 08:03 AM
It's the original line up from the first two albums on this tour. Rat Scabies back, Sensible on bass and Brian James on guitar.

Bit confusing this one, as you correctly point out the website is showing the original line up, but the poster for next week has Paul Gray and Oxymoron on it. Whatever the line up …I have my ticket and should be a great night .

08-06-2022, 11:34 AM
Bit confusing this one, as you correctly point out the website is showing the original line up, but the poster for next week has Paul Gray and Oxymoron on it. Whatever the line up …I have my ticket and should be a great night .It is a bit confusing. Originally it was only Glasgow that they were doing as with Brian James and rat. The tickets were ridiculously priced as well, 70 odd from memory. They rescheduled and added Edinburgh which is more normal pricing so I wasn't sure if it was the current line up.

Would be good to see the original line up as I was too young to have caught them first time round though actually I prefer the machine gun etiquette iteration of the damned so newer line up would be more to my taste musically.

Berwickhibby
08-06-2022, 12:06 PM
It is a bit confusing. Originally it was only Glasgow that they were doing as with Brian James and rat. The tickets were ridiculously priced as well, 70 odd from memory. They rescheduled and added Edinburgh which is more normal pricing so I wasn't sure if it was the current line up.

Would be good to see the original line up as I was too young to have caught them first time round though actually I prefer the machine gun etiquette iteration of the damned so newer line up would be more to my taste musically.

Damned Damned Damned is still my favourite album…raw and powerful

08-06-2022, 12:49 PM
Damned Damned Damned is still my favourite album…raw and powerfulVery good album, no doubting that. I had it on this morning as I had a few damned albums on. Grave Disorder and Strawberries got a spin as well.

08-06-2022, 05:51 PM
It is a bit confusing. Originally it was only Glasgow that they were doing as with Brian James and rat. The tickets were ridiculously priced as well, 70 odd from memory. They rescheduled and added Edinburgh which is more normal pricing so I wasn't sure if it was the current line up.

I have tickets for Glasgow and paid the big price to see that classic line up. The current touring line up are still good to watch and Paul Gray has brought back a bit of professionalism to the band IMO. Captain is a bit self indulgent on stage in the new line up so I am looking forward to seeing a four piece band rather than Dave and Raymond plus three

08-06-2022, 06:09 PM
I have tickets for Glasgow and paid the big price to see that classic line up. The current touring line up are still good to watch and Paul Gray has brought back a bit of professionalism to the band IMO. Captain is a bit self indulgent on stage in the new line up so I am looking forward to seeing a four piece band rather than Dave and Raymond plus threeI think how drunk he is dictates how self indulgent the captain is. I've seen them be absolutely brilliant and I've also seen them with him pished rolling about the stage naked doing huge solos that bore the arse of me.

Berwickhibby
15-06-2022, 08:55 AM
The Damned tonight…still no idea of the line up…. But catching up with some old mates and hopefully enjoying some old but fantastic tunes.

Berwickhibby
16-06-2022, 07:39 AM

Was not the original line up last night… to be honest they were pretty poor last night, the sound was awful and the set list was meh. No real connection with the audience …Captain was very subdued. But still enjoyed myself and enjoyed Spizz Energi

16-06-2022, 12:46 PM
Was not the original line up last night… to be honest they were pretty poor last night, the sound was awful and the set list was meh. No real connection with the audience …Captain was very subdued. But still enjoyed myself and enjoyed Spizz EnergiIt's Oct/Nov for the gigs with rat and Brian James. The website is not very clear.

Shame they weren't so good. They can be hit and miss, sometimes exceptional and others pretty average.

He's here!
25-06-2022, 05:11 PM
The cafe I sat in this morning while waiting to pick up one of my kids from a club was playing an album I hadn't listened to in many years, No 10 Upping St by Big Audio Dynamite. Think Strummer produced it - and he certainly co-wrote a few of the songs having buried the hatchet with Mick Jones. Couple of songs on there, Beyond the Pale and V Thirteen, are great and smack of what the Clash might have gone on to turn out had they held things together.

09-10-2022, 02:59 PM
https://youtu.be/le7kyFfgRWc

Thaihibs
09-10-2022, 06:37 PM
https://youtu.be/JpTsz32x0HI

Pretty sure I seen them later on that night in some nightclub off Lothian rd...long time ago now

09-10-2022, 08:01 PM

Pretty sure I seen them later on that night in some nightclub off Lothian rd...long time ago nowAmazing that exists.

09-10-2022, 08:15 PM

Pretty sure I seen them later on that night in some nightclub off Lothian rd...long time ago now

Brilliant. Thank you 😊

09-10-2022, 09:32 PM

I would have been there

Clouds? Or was it the Cavendish by then?

Berwickhibby
09-10-2022, 09:50 PM
The Clash played Clouds in 1977, I don’t recall them playing there again. The next gigs were the Kinema Dunfermline and a couple in the Odeon

09-10-2022, 10:01 PM
The Clash played Clouds in 1977, I don’t recall them playing there again. The next gigs were the Kinema Dunfermline and a couple in the Odeon
They played teh Playhouse early 80s Straight to Hell Tour. Strummer went missing and the original gig was cancelled at least once. One of my favourite Gigs and teh opening act was a snake charmer.

Berwickhibby
09-10-2022, 10:10 PM
They played teh Playhouse early 80s Straight to Hell Tour. Strummer went missing and the original gig was cancelled at least once. One of my favourite Gigs and teh opening act was a snake charmer.

Yeah, I was no longer living in Edinburgh then, he disappeared on advice of Bernie Rhodes as ticket sales were not going well. If memory serves correct he was in Paris and was tracked down by Kosmo Vinyl.

He's here!
09-10-2022, 10:54 PM

Now that is footage of extraordinary rarity. First time I've ever seen it. I saw them at Coasters one evening during that busking tour. That's probably the gig you're thinking of tho think they played La Sorbonne too.

There were the makings of some half decent songs around that time before they got mangled on the abomination of an album called Cut the Crap.

10-10-2022, 05:00 AM
Now that is footage of extraordinary rarity. First time I've ever seen it. I saw them at Coasters one evening during that busking tour. That's probably the gig you're thinking of tho think they played La Sorbonne too.

There were the makings of some half decent songs around that time before they got mangled on the abomination of an album called Cut the Crap.

Coasters was previously Clouds, right?

He's here!
10-10-2022, 07:31 AM
Coasters was previously Clouds, right?

Yep:

http://edinburghgigarchive.com/clouds-cavendish-coasters/

Thaihibs
10-10-2022, 08:40 AM
Coasters .that's it.i was only 15 at the time and got smuggled in by older mates ....next time I seen any member of the clash was Joe strummer singing for the pougues at the playhouse and then a good few years later I seen Joe strummer again opening for the who .

He's here!
10-10-2022, 11:20 AM
Any idea where the busking footage was filmed? I'm hazarding a guess at Abbeyhill where I know they visited Jimmy Boyle's Gateway Exchange.

Berwickhibby
10-10-2022, 12:06 PM

Agreed, this line up and the songs on ‘Cut the Crap’ were very poor, Micks guitar and vocals plus Topper’s drumming were the spine of the Clash imho

18-10-2022, 02:01 PM
https://youtu.be/PUPCp0aVUxQ

18-10-2022, 04:07 PM
https://youtu.be/PUPCp0aVUxQ

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkThat works surprisingly well. :hilarious

How about some Bobby Ramone

https://youtu.be/S0rUS_MasaQ

He's here!
18-10-2022, 04:24 PM
Anyone join the late 70s Mod revival?

https://youtu.be/KyuDsFf46aI

Here's a bit about Edinburgh's input:

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/history/amazing-edinburgh-photos-captures-capitals-25196196

18-10-2022, 04:59 PM
That works surprisingly well. :hilarious

How about some Bobby Ramone

https://youtu.be/S0rUS_MasaQNice Ramones/Marley.

There are another couple of Pistols efforts.

https://youtu.be/MqXlgddjaPw

https://youtu.be/wrjSlTeTpNc

02-11-2022, 04:32 PM
https://youtu.be/o2CxZxN12HQ

02-11-2022, 06:12 PM

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkIt was the £74 a ticket that put me off getting a ticket for Glasgow. I love the damned but a bigger fan of the machine gun etiquette iteration of them than damned x3 and music for pleasure one.

He's here!
03-11-2022, 10:54 PM

Vanian still looks in particularly spry fettle. Sensible and Scabies also seem in relatively good shape. Brian James not so much.

04-11-2022, 02:13 PM

Sent from my SM-A528B using TapatalkDecent review of that video and the gig in Manchester in louder than war

https://louderthanwar.com/the-damned-10-takeaway-thoughts-on-the-classic-punk-bands-tour/

He's here!
04-11-2022, 02:34 PM
Decent review of that video and the gig in Manchester in louder than war

https://louderthanwar.com/the-damned-10-takeaway-thoughts-on-the-classic-punk-bands-tour/

Good review. Shows a lot more grasp of the band than the Telegraph review it mentions.

04-11-2022, 02:57 PM
Good review. Shows a lot more grasp of the band than the Telegraph review it mentions.John Robb is a pretty knowledgeable and respected guy in the music industry. Louder than war is a good site for reviews and info on New releases. His own bands weren't particularly good though - The membranes and latterly goldblade.

He seems to concur with your view about Brian James not looking great.

If you haven't seen it there is an excellent documentary about the damned that's well worth a watch.

https://youtu.be/GVI8SOt3OvI

He's here!
04-11-2022, 04:45 PM
John Robb is a pretty knowledgeable and respected guy in the music industry. Louder than war is a good site for reviews and info on New releases. His own bands weren't particularly good though - The membranes and latterly goldblade.

He seems to concur with your view about Brian James not looking great.

If you haven't seen it there is an excellent documentary about the damned that's well worth a watch.

https://youtu.be/GVI8SOt3OvI

Cheers. Think I saw that when it first came out. Might well revisit it.

Yes Robb has the credentials to back up his largely excellent writing. I think the Membranes did garner some critical acclaim? Never knew much about Goldblade.

04-11-2022, 05:38 PM
Cheers. Think I saw that when it first came out. Might well revisit it.

Yes Robb has the credentials to back up his largely excellent writing. I think the Membranes did garner some critical acclaim? Never knew much about Goldblade.The membranes did release quite a few albums and were quite popular, I just didn't particularly like them.
Goldblade were around the mid 90s onwards and were a bit more punk but I could just never take to them. Saw them a few times at Blackpool and Morecambe at the rebellion festivals, or holidays in the sun as it was called then.

He's here!
13-11-2022, 08:45 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-63611757.amp

13-11-2022, 08:54 PM
I noticed that Fulham FC play London Calling at their matches. Or they did at half time today.

hibby rae
13-11-2022, 09:07 PM
I noticed that Fulham FC play London Calling at their matches. Or they did at half time today.

Hearts let themselves down by not taking the opportunity to play Rudi Can't Fail.

No taste.

13-11-2022, 10:10 PM

That's because they live by the river.

13-11-2022, 10:11 PM
That's because they live by the river.

Indeed.

14-11-2022, 11:14 AM
Sad to hear that Keith Levene died at the weekend.

He's here!
08-12-2022, 04:50 PM
Jet Black, Stranglers drummer (who I think was pretty old even in their early days) has died.

08-12-2022, 05:05 PM
Jet Black, Stranglers drummer (who I think was pretty old even in their early days) has died.Always a cool customer. RIP

He's here!
11-01-2023, 02:44 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/music/2023/jan/09/john-lydons-public-image-ltd-compete-to-represent-ireland-at-eurovision

25-01-2023, 05:08 PM
https://youtu.be/i7sO3B9JGpg

Controversial.

25-01-2023, 05:36 PM
https://youtu.be/i7sO3B9JGpg

Controversial.

Spedding did not play on NMTB, this myth was trashed years ago. Spedding has said several times he was surprised how proficient Jones was and that even if he had wanted to he couldn’t have bettered what Jones himself produced.

Berwickhibby
23-08-2024, 08:52 AM
Not the Clash but Sex Pistols, just got tickets to see them in Glasgow 22nd September, with Frank Carter fronting them, doing the whole NMTB …a few good videos on YouTube

23-08-2024, 11:03 AM
Saw The Clash at The Playhouse circa 1982 was quality

I fought the law and the law won

26-08-2024, 01:52 PM
Not the Clash but Sex Pistols, just got tickets to see them in Glasgow 22nd September, with Frank Carter fronting them, doing the whole NMTB …a few good videos on YouTubeLooks a laugh. It'll piss Johnny Trump off to no end too.

Berwickhibby
26-08-2024, 04:00 PM
Looks a laugh. It'll piss Johnny Trump off to no end too.

Bollocks to him, he has become a stupid Trump supporting idiot, he was the son of Irish immigrants, he now lives in the states criticising immigrants. The young Johnny Rotten would spit in his eye!

26-08-2024, 06:45 PM
Bollocks to him, he has become a stupid Trump supporting idiot, he was the son of Irish immigrants, he now lives in the states criticising immigrants. The young Johnny Rotten would spit in his eye!

He's the Alf Garnet of Punk nowadays.

26-08-2024, 09:20 PM
He's the Alf Garnet of Punk nowadays.That's way over the top bud and hugely everyone knows alf was a hammer and john was a gooner.

Which reminds me of Captain Sensible's quote on hearing "anarchy" on its release. The Damned already had a single out and were keen/worried to hear their competitors. CS, "we all burst out laughing, it was a **** version of Bad Company with ol' man steptoe moaning over it."

I've met up with some music biz, gooner pals over the last couple of months (Southport Weekender, Suncebeat Lisbon). Old men househeads who know Lydon's peeps. They are nonplussed at what he is coming out with and didn't discount him being knobbled, as in kompro. Which is what occurred to me. Or, he just wants to piss all of the people off, at some time or other. Stopped liking his stuff around '83, when he appeared with the Vegas showband. Which was a laugh and also ****. If you go back on the youtubes it's weak ass. I bet the other three pistols are having a ball.

Berwickhibby
22-09-2024, 10:53 PM
Pistols tonight were fantastic… played the whole NMTB album….Frank Carter is an amazing front man

23-09-2024, 08:12 AM
Pistols tonight were fantastic… played the who

Seems an odd choice

Berwickhibby
23-09-2024, 08:27 AM
Seems an odd choice

lol 😂 should have read whole …amended my post

23-09-2024, 08:55 AM
From the off described as a "rough and ready version of The Who". They did do "Substitute".