View Full Version : Players names you can't remember

27-08-2020, 09:51 PM
On the back of my home team, Coleraine putting Maribor out of Europe tonight, a friend posted the report of that game and there was quite a few I don't even recall playing for Hibs. - here's the report - http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/8864977.stm?fbclid=IwAR2RTgmehN8rMlFiiaAU6Hhln_tF4 WqvNJJlI7M0Uqadvef7Q01SyGN_Jw0

However, the thing that is really bugging me is, who was the player who replaced Ivan Sproule. Was supposed to be faster and better than Ivan but was absolute horse dung - I only remember his first name started with an A and he possibly came from Newcastle - wasn't that Phil Airey bloke either

27-08-2020, 09:53 PM
On the back of my home team, Coleraine putting Maribor out of Europe tonight, a friend posted the report of that game and there was quite a few I don't even recall playing for Hibs. - here's the report - http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/8864977.stm?fbclid=IwAR2RTgmehN8rMlFiiaAU6Hhln_tF4 WqvNJJlI7M0Uqadvef7Q01SyGN_Jw0

However, the thing that is really bugging me is, who was the player who replaced Ivan Sproule. Was supposed to be faster and better than Ivan but was absolute horse dung - I only remember his first name started with an A and he possibly came from Newcastle - wasn't that Phil Airey bloke either

Alan Obrien

27-08-2020, 09:53 PM

Alan O'Brien. Paid a decent fee for him too iirc

27-08-2020, 09:55 PM
Alan Obrien

Thank you - it was doing my head in!!

Full Irish International player too

27-08-2020, 10:05 PM
He looked fantastic in a pre season game away at Stirling Albion. Really thought we'd signed a potential star - sadly that turned out to be his best ever Hibs performance!

27-08-2020, 10:06 PM
Gordon Petric **** the hearts

1875godsgift
27-08-2020, 10:11 PM
Alan O'Brien. Paid a decent fee for him too iirc

Like Ivan Sproule on a motorbike.

Unfortunately, like a motorbike, he couldn't tackle, pass, cross or score, but he was fast.

27-08-2020, 10:20 PM
I remember O'Brien had an assist against Celtic in the squiggler game and it was a glimpse of what might have been.

He was pretty fast tbf, the problem was he couldn't run and control the ball at the same time.

27-08-2020, 10:26 PM
**** me, Stokes and Riordan on the bench with Nish up top on his own, still haunts me that!

27-08-2020, 10:42 PM
Anyone else remember the rain in Maribor after the game. :greengrin

27-08-2020, 11:01 PM

Yep.

MagicSwirlingShip
27-08-2020, 11:10 PM

Riordan and Stokes on the bench. Big Nishy on his own up front. Baffling

CloudSquall
27-08-2020, 11:13 PM
I remember Alan O'Brien having a few good pre season performances after a sub standard first season and everyone ripping the tap aff it about how he could be counted as a new signing, cringetastic.

27-08-2020, 11:19 PM
I remember Alan O'Brien having a few good pre season performances after a sub standard first season and everyone ripping the tap aff it about how he could be counted as a new signing, cringetastic.

I remember talking my other half into coming to one of those friendlies up at Broadwood - and enthusing that at last he looked like the player we thought we were going to sign.

27-08-2020, 11:38 PM
There are quite a few ex-players of Hibs whose names I wish I could forget :greengrin

27-08-2020, 11:39 PM
**** me, Stokes and Riordan on the bench with Nish up top on his own, still haunts me that!

Was there. Roasting hot.

27-08-2020, 11:40 PM

Aye. Was roasting though. Worst weather for a hangover ever.

SideBurns
28-08-2020, 12:42 AM
I remember O'Brien had an assist against Celtic in the squiggler game and it was a glimpse of what might have been.

He was pretty fast tbf, the problem was he couldn't run and control the ball at the same time.

O'Brien actually set up Fletcher's goal in a 1-0 derby win at ER too.

Otherwise... he just looked terrified most of the time. I recall a great chance he had at Tynie in the first game of the season when Lewis played him in and he just seemed to panic and totally fluffed the shot. Luckily it didn't matter as we won through Brian Kerr's goal, but even that early in his Hibs career I remember alarm bells ringing.

28-08-2020, 01:12 AM
I think we all had high hopes for Alan O’Brien. I recall seeing him in one of his early games, and being struck by his pace, maybe against one of the OF. He was genuinely quick, no doubting that.

Over the course of his time with us we didn’t get all he may have had to offer, no doubting that. Whether that was him or the coaching I do not know. I think that his time with us was one of middling results- we probably won, drew and lost in equal measure. Funny to think we were infuriated by scraping top-half and then we would be relegated but come back up and win the Cup. The joy of being a Hibee.........

28-08-2020, 07:26 AM

that’s my memory of him too.

they really needed two tv cameras when he was in possession... one for him and one for the ball he was ‘controlling’

28-08-2020, 07:36 AM
There are quite a few ex-players of Hibs whose names I wish I could forget :greengrinMy psychiatrist hypnotized me to help me forget all about Ally Scott.

Aw crap, it's worn off.

28-08-2020, 08:16 AM
I think we all had high hopes for Alan O’Brien. I recall seeing him in one of his early games, and being struck by his pace, maybe against one of the OF. He was genuinely quick, no doubting that.

Over the course of his time with us we didn’t get all he may have had to offer, no doubting that. Whether that was him or the coaching I do not know. I think that his time with us was one of middling results- we probably won, drew and lost in equal measure. Funny to think we were infuriated by scraping top-half and then we would be relegated but come back up and win the Cup. The joy of being a Hibee.........

According to Wiki - he only played 192 games in 14 years - seems to be a common thread of contracts being cancelled. His stint with us was the second longest in his career (47 games), he only played more games for Hungerford Town (73).

Maybe he should have been a sprinter as there was no doubt he was exceedingly fast

28-08-2020, 08:41 AM
O'Brien actually set up Fletcher's goal in a 1-0 derby win at ER too.

Otherwise... he just looked terrified most of the time. I recall a great chance he had at Tynie in the first game of the season when Lewis played him in and he just seemed to panic and totally fluffed the shot. Luckily it didn't matter as we won through Brian Kerr's goal, but even that early in his Hibs career I remember alarm bells ringing.

AOB was decent In that derby tbf. It was the only game for us he got pass marks from what I can remember.

28-08-2020, 08:42 AM

There was one game - can't recall who against now - let's just call it the Alan O'Brien game - where was unplayable. He set up about 6 chances for strikers who were continually missing them.

I had high hopes for him and probably backed him a bit longer than was merited. His career has certainly been disappointing from being at Newcastle and in Ireland squads.

28-08-2020, 08:46 AM
AOB was decent In that derby tbf. It was the only game for us he got pass marks from what I can remember.

His performance in a later derby at Tynecastle which didn't have such a happy ending was amongst the most mouse hearted I've ever witnessed. He just didn't fancy it at all

28-08-2020, 08:47 AM
There was one game - can't recall who against now - let's just call it the Alan O'Brien game - where was unplayable. He set up about 6 chances for strikers who were continually missing them.

I had high hopes for him and probably backed him a bit longer than was merited. His career has certainly been disappointing from being at Newcastle and in Ireland squads.

A home game against Falkirk saw him subbed with about five minutes to go, he got a standing ovation when he came off. That might be the game you are thinking about.

28-08-2020, 08:50 AM
My psychiatrist hypnotized me to help me forget all about Ally Scott.

Aw crap, it's worn off.

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkAs long as I remember Max Wall I'll never forget Ally Scott.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

28-08-2020, 08:54 AM
As long as I remember Max Wall I'll never forget Ally Scott.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk[emoji106][emoji16]

We used to compare him with Max at the time. I seem to recall him knocking one in with his knee.

G15 Hibs
28-08-2020, 08:54 AM
A home game against Falkirk saw him subbed with about five minutes to go, he got a standing ovation when he came off. That might be the game you are thinking about.

This rings a bell. Would it maybe have been around the start of his second season with us? I think I can remember having conversations along the lines of "that's O'Brien turned the corner" after an early season game, like he'd be a new player for us. Shows how wrong you can be.

I mind that Guardiola picked him out as being decent after the Murrayfield game, but it felt likely he was just taking pity and picked a name at random. Most of the time he didn't seem to have a clue what to do once he'd run with the ball a bit.

28-08-2020, 08:57 AM

That must be it, can't have been two of them!

28-08-2020, 08:58 AM

That's the one I was thinking of, he went on a hell of a run up the East Terrace side and set up Rankin who missed a sitter.

Always thought if he'd had a few assists early on he'd have kicked on, but never happened for him. Came with a better pedigree than Ivan, but no point having pace if you're utterly timid with it.

28-08-2020, 10:50 AM
There are quite a few ex-players of Hibs whose names I wish I could forget :greengrin

Every so often a name comes up and I get some kind of PTSD. You think the alcohol therapy has worked but back to square 1.

Prof. Shaggy
28-08-2020, 11:20 AM
Wasn't there a suggestion he tried to win a penalty for Celtic at ER? They needed a win to have a chance of winning the league but couldn't break us down. Ended 0-0.

28-08-2020, 11:36 AM
Every so often a name comes up and I get some kind of PTSD. You think the alcohol therapy has worked but back to square 1.

And that's just for goalkeepers. Some names of outfield players require prescription medication to ease the symptoms :agree:

Roxyhibee
28-08-2020, 12:38 PM
As long as I remember Max Wall I'll never forget Ally Scott.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Read this a few minutes ago and still chuckling. That’s good man..

The Green Sea
28-08-2020, 12:56 PM

Jarko Wiss (?) being one

28-08-2020, 01:14 PM
Can remember asking a Newcastle season ticket holder what they thought of OBrien and headless chicken was the reply. Pretty much spot on.

28-08-2020, 01:43 PM
He looked fantastic in a pre season game away at Stirling Albion. Really thought we'd signed a potential star - sadly that turned out to be his best ever Hibs performance!

The Newcastle fans didn’t help either . They were gutted he had left and wanted Damian Duff to go to us instead.

28-08-2020, 01:49 PM
Any one of the about 20 right backs that Lenny signed only never to see the light of day? :confused:

28-08-2020, 01:56 PM
Any one of the about 20 right backs that Lenny signed only never to see the light of day? :confused:

Shout. :aok: Freddie Daquin for me. I didn't even know he played for Dunfermline and Dundee. :greengrin

28-08-2020, 02:04 PM
Shout. :aok: Freddie Daquin for me. I didn't even know he played for Dunfermline and Dundee. :greengrin
Yeah who was the guy that used to play for Hearts that played like a jambo wearing a HIBS strip and was slower than a week in the jail and I lost count of the guys who had played in the Champions League with Feyenoord or was it Ajax?

Looked like the Agents were having a field day with Lenny!

Dearie me!

28-08-2020, 04:10 PM
Yeah who was the guy that used to play for Hearts that played like a jambo wearing a HIBS strip and was slower than a week in the jail and I lost count of the guys who had played in the Champions League with Feyenoord or was it Ajax?

Looked like the Agents were having a field day with Lenny!

Dearie me!

Daquin was a forward. You're thinking of Faycal Rherras.

28-08-2020, 05:15 PM
The Newcastle fans didn’t help either . They were gutted he had left and wanted Damian Duff to go to us instead.

Not this Newcastle fan, I'd said at the time he was a poor player. Agree with the sentiments about Duff. He ended up getting us relegated and then jumped ship!

28-08-2020, 05:19 PM
Daquin was a forward. You're thinking of Faycal Rherras.
I know it

I never said Freddie Daquin it was another poster :confused:

Pretty sure we had other unused fullbacks apart from Rherras whose names I have forgot

Green Man
28-08-2020, 06:39 PM
I know it

Pretty sure we had other unused fullbacks apart from Rherras whose names I have forgot

Did Nelom ever make an appearance?

28-08-2020, 06:41 PM
I know it

Mavrias, Eckersley & Eardley are 3 random signings who spring to mind

28-08-2020, 06:49 PM
Eureka!

Nelom Mavrias and.......the American guy that played for Man U....’?

w pilton hibby
28-08-2020, 07:58 PM
Eureka!

Nelom Mavrias and.......the American guy that played for Man U....’?

Jonathan Spector

28-08-2020, 08:00 PM
Jonathan Spector
Aye him tae

28-08-2020, 08:02 PM
Came on in the win at Tynie.

jakedance
28-08-2020, 08:12 PM
I can’t remember a player having as much good will as Alan O’Brien. He must have been great in training because there can’t be any other explanation for how many games he played. I remember a game where he sprinted back and made a tackle and he got a great cheer. Shan footballer.

28-08-2020, 08:38 PM
O'Brien retired from football 2 years ago at the age of 33.
Played 3 seasons in the 3rd tier of English football after leaving Hibs in the summer of 2009 before dropping into the English non league scene were he remained until knocking it on the heid due to injuries in July 2018.

28-08-2020, 09:14 PM
I know it

Sorry, misread your post.

G15 Hibs
28-08-2020, 09:27 PM
Did Nelom ever make an appearance?

He definitely played in that 3-0 defeat away to Killie when we started with about seven defenders on the pitch.

28-08-2020, 09:40 PM
Who was the ex Motherwell winger we had for one game before he got crocked? Having a mental block.

Edit: just came to me: Chris Humphrey

NYHibby
28-08-2020, 11:55 PM
Jonathan Spector

Jonathan Spector played for us? When? I remember complaining about him playing for the USMNT back when I lived in the US, and I’ve been over here for more than a decade

franck sauzee
29-08-2020, 01:12 AM
Who was the ex Motherwell winger we had for one game before he got crocked? Having a mental block.

Edit: just came to me: Chris Humphrey

That was against Hearts I'm sure. Ran riot and then had to get taken off

29-08-2020, 03:11 AM
I've completely forgotten what I was about to say. Who made up our midfield when we won the Skol Cup in 91?

I only remember Murdo because in a bizarre bit of kids TV on CBeebies where he was looking after, playing football with his grandkids, he showed photographs of him with the Skol Cup and his Hibs kit. Would've thought his Celtic career would have been more successful?

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

hibbydog
29-08-2020, 05:33 AM
Alan O Brien.

Blessed with the pace of a leopard but the heart of a chicken.

Barely had the confidence to leave the dressing room, and when he did he rarely looked above his feet.

That was the summer transfer window that Collins signed about 10 players, all of them stinking.

Thierry Gatheussi
Patrick Nouboussie
Felipe Morais
Yyves Makalamby
Alan O Brien
Brian Kerr

Awful stuff.

Any more for any more?

29-08-2020, 06:52 AM
I've completely forgotten what I was about to say. Who made up our midfield when we won the Skol Cup in 91?

I only remember Murdo because in a bizarre bit of kids TV on CBeebies where he was looking after, playing football with his grandkids, he showed photographs of him with the Skol Cup and his Hibs kit. Would've thought his Celtic career would have been more successful?

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

Weir, Hamilton and McGinlay

29-08-2020, 06:58 AM
That was against Hearts I'm sure. Ran riot and then had to get taken off

Didn’t he have an outstanding game against Dundee United? Then got injured in the first few minutes with his first touch against hearts? Maybe just made that up but sure that’s what happened, great first touch, left the wing back, crossed in, injures.

29-08-2020, 07:54 AM
Didn’t he have an outstanding game against Dundee United? Then got injured in the first few minutes with his first touch against hearts? Maybe just made that up but sure that’s what happened, great first touch, left the wing back, crossed in, injures.

Worked out well in that game for us though the injury, because his replacement was Shinnie who had his finest game for Hibs: tremendous assist for Cummings goal and then his thunderbolt goal through lurpack Jack's hands:aok:

G15 Hibs
29-08-2020, 08:12 AM
Jonathan Spector played for us? When? I remember complaining about him playing for the USMNT back when I lived in the US, and I’ve been over here for more than a decade

He signed towards the end of the 2018-19 season. Was on the bench a few times, but only came on once for the last 15 minutes or so when we won 2-1 at Tynecastle.

29-08-2020, 08:19 AM
He was briefly mentioned earlier in this thread but one guy I can't recall at Hibs at all was Freddie Daquin. I have absolutely no memory of him at all, a look at Wiki suggests he signed for us twice as well.

Fabrice Henry is another guy I had completely forgotten about who just popped into my head. I had it in my head he was a youngster but it seems we were actually his last club before retirement.

29-08-2020, 09:47 AM
I can’t remember a player having as much good will as Alan O’Brien. He must have been great in training because there can’t be any other explanation for how many games he played. I remember a game where he sprinted back and made a tackle and he got a great cheer. Shan footballer.

The famous track back and tackle Gretna game, nearly changed my mind about him being crap after that. :wink:

29-08-2020, 10:41 AM

Worked out well in that game for us though the injury, because his replacement was Shinnie who had his finest game for Hibs: tremendous assist for Cummings goal and then his thunderbolt goal through lurpack Jack's hands:aok:

The Dundee United game was one of my favourite for a number of years other than the obvious. A huge game in the championship against our title rivals, think we had been faltering a bit up until then after losing to United and drawing a few games. We were frightening that night.

Hibs1969
29-08-2020, 10:45 AM
Just wait till you get to a certain age then there’s loads of names and faces you can’t remember #oldage

29-08-2020, 11:13 AM

Another Yogi master-stroke. That was the beginning of the end for him as far as I was concerned. Crazy selection.

29-08-2020, 11:59 AM
Alan O Brien.

Blessed with the pace of a leopard but the heart of a chicken.

Barely had the confidence to leave the dressing room, and when he did he rarely looked above his feet.

That was the summer transfer window that Collins signed about 10 players, all of them stinking.

Thierry Gatheussi
Patrick Nouboussie
Felipe Morais
Yyves Makalamby
Alan O Brien
Brian Kerr

Awful stuff.

Any more for any more?

I don't remember Gatheussi being that bad.

Noubissie was one I completely forgot about. Surprised he played as many times as he did.

heidtheba
29-08-2020, 03:06 PM

I often wondered if that ever impacted negatively on potential future signings. Petrie splashed the cash big time to get these two...only for Hughes to bench them for a really important game. 150K (fact) for Griffiths just for some manager to bench him might have played on the mind of the 'Tache...

heidtheba
29-08-2020, 03:07 PM
I don't remember Gatheussi being that bad.

Noubissie was one I completely forgot about. Surprised he played as many times as he did.

HKT!!! Took me ages to pluck up the courage on here to ask what HKT stood for!

29-08-2020, 03:28 PM
The Dundee United game was one of my favourite for a number of years other than the obvious. A huge game in the championship against our title rivals, think we had been faltering a bit up until then after losing to United and drawing a few games. We were frightening that night.

Aye was a massive game as we'd lost to utd just before xmas, Friday night, 18k crowd , had a great night out after it too. :greengrin

29-08-2020, 03:37 PM
Mavrias, Eckersley & Eardley are 3 random signings who spring to mind

Keith Watson too.

Also did we not sign some 6ft5 Lithuanian striker in our first season back in the top flight? His name I could never spell nor remember.

29-08-2020, 03:44 PM
Keith Watson too.

Also did we not sign some 6ft5 Lithuanian striker in our first season back in the top flight? His name I could never spell nor remember.

Deivydas Matulevieius aka Big Dave?

29-08-2020, 04:10 PM
He definitely played in that 3-0 defeat away to Killie when we started with about seven defenders on the pitch.

Thanks for reminding me, I had managed to erase that game from my memory

That was during the spell where (born winner) Lennon was picking the first eleven using a Tombola.

29-08-2020, 04:33 PM
He was briefly mentioned earlier in this thread but one guy I can't recall at Hibs at all was Freddie Daquin. I have absolutely no memory of him at all, a look at Wiki suggests he signed for us twice as well.

Fabrice Henry is another guy I had completely forgotten about who just popped into my head. I had it in my head he was a youngster but it seems we were actually his last club before retirement.

That’s why I mentioned him 🤣

I only remember him because he sat in front of us in the away end at Celtic park. Sauzee highly recommended him.

G15 Hibs
29-08-2020, 05:05 PM
Deivydas Matulevieius aka Big Dave?

There was another non-scoring Lithuanian striker around 2010/2011ish wasn't there? Can't remember his name, me and my mate used to call him the Lithuanian Colin Nish (which was possibly a bit harsh on Colin Nish).

That was during the spell where (born winner) Lennon was picking the first eleven using a Tombola.

I mind sitting in the pub before that game when the team line ups came out. First seeds of doubt were sewn that afternoon for me.

29-08-2020, 05:22 PM
There was another non-scoring Lithuanian striker around 2010/2011ish wasn't there? Can't remember his name, me and my mate used to call him the Lithuanian Colin Nish (which was possibly a bit harsh on Colin Nish).

I mind sitting in the pub before that game when the team line ups came out. First seeds of doubt were sewn that afternoon for me.

Valdas Trakys signed from Panserraikos sold to Kaunas

2010/11 Played 10 scored 0

29-08-2020, 05:23 PM
Valdas Trakys signed from Panserraikos sold to Kaunas

2010/11 Played 10 scored 0

Had a couple of really good games for us though.

29-08-2020, 05:31 PM
Only 4 starts TBF

Not me that is calling him the Lithuanian Colin Nish ? :greengrin

G15 Hibs
29-08-2020, 05:32 PM

Played well at Ibrox. Don't remember him doing much else.

29-08-2020, 05:44 PM
Lilian Martin - played one game. Sauzee signed him and he looked pretty decent - left back if I remember. Sauzee got sacked a few weeks later and Williamson dumped he as he couldn't speak English - Martin that is

29-08-2020, 05:52 PM
Anyone remember the name of Latapy’s wee pal we signed from Joe Public?

29-08-2020, 05:55 PM
Anyone remember the name of Latapy’s wee pal we signed from Joe Public?

Lyndon Andrews ?

heidtheba
29-08-2020, 05:55 PM
Sean o'Hanlon
Jamie McQuilken
Some Polish (?) keeper Szumultovski or something like it
A midfielder who seemed class and who had played for Dundee United and was a short term loan/signing for us. Some nickname about him being 'the Monk' or suchlike?

29-08-2020, 05:56 PM
Lyndon Andrews ?

Had a couple of decent games IIRC

29-08-2020, 05:58 PM
A midfielder who seemed class and who had played for Dundee United and was a short term loan/signing for us. Some nickname about him being 'the Monk' or suchlike?
Think he was a goalkeeper.

29-08-2020, 05:58 PM

Had a couple of decent games IIRC

Yes. One against Hearts and Celtic ? Iirc. Tidy player. Kept Possession well, good work ethic

A lot of these guys in McLeish times played when we were Paying big money and had a big squad...a number of them would be decent quality additions if they were around just now ..

29-08-2020, 06:01 PM
Who was the other Caribbean player we had around about the time of Latapy and Andrews?

Small guy, think he was a winger or striker. My only memory of him is him coming off the bench in an evening game away at McDiarmid Park on a freezing midweek night, I'm sure we lost 1-0.

29-08-2020, 06:03 PM
Sean o'Hanlon
Jamie McQuilken

Szamatoulski is the keeper who was at United. He was the mad monk.

The midfielder you are thinking of may have been Denes Rosa who was signed around the same time. He was also bald. He was a very good player.

heidtheba
29-08-2020, 06:04 PM
Who was the other Caribbean player we had around about the time of Latapy and Andrews?

Small guy, think he was a winger or striker. My only memory of him is him coming off the bench in an evening game away at McDiarmid Park on a freezing midweek night, I'm sure we lost 1-0.

You don't mean Tony Rougier?

29-08-2020, 06:05 PM
You don't mean Tony Rougier?

Na I remember Rougier. When he fancied it he was class.

This was a wee guy, only player 2 or 3 games I think.

Hibbie_Cameron
29-08-2020, 06:06 PM

Earl Jean?

heidtheba
29-08-2020, 06:07 PM
Szamatoulski is the keeper who was at United. He was the mad monk.

The midfielder you are thinking of may have been Denes Rosa who was signed around the same time. He was also bald. He was a very good player.

Thank you! Them's the ones. I knew the midfielder had a bit of a reputation and was out of our price range.

heidtheba
29-08-2020, 06:07 PM

One of my favourite threads on here was where a guy with that name seemed to act as if he 'was' TR.

29-08-2020, 06:08 PM
Earl Jean?

That's the one. Thank you, would have annoyed me all night.

29-08-2020, 06:09 PM
One of my favourite threads on here was where a guy with that name seemed to act as if he 'was' TR.

I remember that.

Up there with the guy pretending to be Dean Shields.

29-08-2020, 08:48 PM
There's an ad on Facebook from Hibs, trailing the fact that Rob Jones will be on the show tomorrow. The ad features his goal against Hearts in the CIS Cup. Now, how can I remember that we had 81% of possession that day but can't remember who the player Martis was? Haven't a clue what his first name was

OK, just did a quick google search but I won't give the game away ;)

SideBurns
29-08-2020, 08:51 PM
There's an ad on Facebook from Hibs, trailing the fact that Rob Jones will be on the show tomorrow. The ad features his goal against Hearts in the CIS Cup. Now, how can I remember that we had 81% of possession that day but can't remember who the player Martis was? Haven't a clue what his first name was

Shelton. Centre half who was comfortable on the ball, but had a big mistake in him every now and then!

29-08-2020, 08:52 PM
I was having a bit of bother with Jason Doig earlier this w.......ach ****.

29-08-2020, 08:56 PM
Earl Jean?

I never grasped the pronunciation, how would you have said it?
Jean like Jean Jacques-Burnel or Jean like yer Auntie Jean?

29-08-2020, 08:57 PM
Shelton. Centre half who was comfortable on the ball, but had a big mistake in him every now and then!

Yip, came on in the final against Killie too - there must be a book in this, Forgotten Hibernian Players (or ones you wish you could forget!)

Green Man
29-08-2020, 09:02 PM
IIRC, Shelton Martis was the only player Tony Mowbray signed from Hibs after he moved to West Brom. When you think of the players we had then, he’d have been one of the last I expected to go there.

29-08-2020, 09:20 PM
I never grasped the pronunciation, how would you have said it?
Jean like Jean Jacques-Burnel or Jean like yer Auntie Jean?

Just call him ‘The Flea’

Top all time record goalscorer for his country 😃

29-08-2020, 09:30 PM
None the wiser.

Earl Jean :

Career played 250 scored 122

St Lucia played 23 scored 20

HIBS played 5 scored 0

🤔

steelendhibs
29-08-2020, 09:32 PM
Klaus Dietrich
Peter Guggi
Paul Holsgrove
Barry Prenderville
Thorsten Schmugge

29-08-2020, 09:46 PM
I remember him and seen him play as many as you. I only asked how to pronounce his surname not his I-stats.
None the wiser.:aok:

He likes to be called The Flea!

Saves you worrying about Jean, Genie, Jeannie, Juan or whatever?

Check his Wiki 😃

29-08-2020, 09:52 PM
Christ’s sake I wish I’d never asked.

Cool!

29-08-2020, 09:55 PM
I’ll just keep calling him Jean.

Carry on

30-08-2020, 06:53 AM
Remember Humphrey Rudge? Seemed a great Mowbray fit at centre half, played very well in a derby win and then just sort of disappeared.

Barman Stanton
30-08-2020, 07:49 AM
No one has looked more out of place on a pitch than Hakim Sar. Looked like an Ali Dia type scam.

Newhaven
30-08-2020, 09:08 AM
Remember Humphrey Rudge? Seemed a great Mowbray fit at centre half, played very well in a derby win and then just sort of disappeared.

Loved Humphrey.

Gave a towering performance in a rare away victory at Aberdeen. Then disappeared in a cloud of smoke