View Full Version : Match Updates St Johnstone 0 - 1 Hibernian (Mallan)

Pages : [1] 2 3

23-08-2020, 02:25 PM
Team news, Allan replaces the injured Nisbett

Marciano, McGinn, Porteous, Hanlon, Doig, Boyle, Gogic, Newell, Horgan, Allan, Doidge.

Subs: Dabrowski, Gray, McGregor, Stevenson, Hallberg, Mallan, F. Murray, Wright, Gullan.

23-08-2020, 02:29 PM
I’d like to see Mallan get some time on the pitch today, he’ll benefit from playing in front of Gogic and he’s leathal with his free kicks.

23-08-2020, 02:33 PM
Remember, those driving up, don't follow the football traffic signs and come off the A9 at the Crieff junction.

23-08-2020, 02:33 PM
I do like that JR likes to put out a consistent team each week (normally something you associate with good sides) but by the same token after last week would like to have seen things freshened up a bit maybe with Horgan/ Newell, but when you look at the bench we aren't blessed with too many options.

Hope Scotty can light up the game. Let's get some goals come on Hibs :flag:

23-08-2020, 02:34 PM
I’d like to see Mallan get some time on the pitch today, he’ll benefit from playing in front of Gogic and he’s leathal with his free kicks.Guys not scored a free kick in forever, was Kili the last one?

I think he might get a run out once Allan tires later on.

Paul1642
23-08-2020, 02:35 PM
Hoping the fact we have had a bit of a break where’s St Johnstone had a recent tight game against Aberdeen helps us today

Guys not scored a free kick in forever, was Kili the last one?

I think he might get a run out once Allan tires later on.
He hasn’t played much.

Shame about Kevin hopefully nothing serious. Time for Scott to step up.

Greenio
23-08-2020, 02:36 PM
I'm fine with that.

Changing the team radically wasn't what was needed. We just need our best 11 to play better than they did.

Scott Allan should be right up for this. Chance for him to get back into the starting lineup.

23-08-2020, 02:38 PM
I’d like to see Mallan get some time on the pitch today, he’ll benefit from playing in front of Gogic and he’s leathal with his free kicks.

23 months, 62 games, since Mallan last scored a free kick for Hibs. Would be good to see him get some minutes, though. Needs fitness to show he has something to contribute this season.

23-08-2020, 02:39 PM
23 months, 62 games, since Mallan last scored a free kick for Hibs. Would be good to see him get some minutes, though. Needs fitness to show he has something to contribute this season.

Don't think he's played since Boxing day

23-08-2020, 02:41 PM
Don't think he's played since Boxing day

62 appearences for him since. Not Hibs.

23-08-2020, 02:42 PM
The order the twitter photo announces the team tends to be how we set up, so a 4231 type formation by the looks of it. He will have watched Aberdeen playing 3 and then 4 at the back against them mid week so hopefully learned something.

We can still move to a 352 though and put Horgan up top like against Celtic

23-08-2020, 02:42 PM
I hope Jamie Gullan gets a run out today. He could have a decent career but needs first team game time. Maybe bring him on for Horgan second half.

23-08-2020, 02:44 PM
62 appearences for him since. Not Hibs.
He’s not even played 62 games for hibs.

23-08-2020, 02:44 PM
He’s not even played 62 games for hibs.

Yes, he has. He has played 74 games for Hibs. 57 in the league, 3 in the Scottish cup, 8 in league cup, 6 in Europe

23-08-2020, 02:45 PM
With Nisbet being out I’d have hoped it was an opportunity to play Gullan (preferably in a 3-5-2). Been disappointed in how little he has featured so far, hope it’s not going to end up a season wasted in terms of Gullans progression.

hibbie02
23-08-2020, 02:46 PM
What’s up with Nisbet?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

23-08-2020, 02:48 PM
That’s pretty much our strongest team, as I see it.

Back 4 is sensible with their wide players. Doidge can play up front on his own, numbers in midfield so we don’t get overrun, Scott Allan in there to do his thing and a couple of wide players who can threaten when on their game.

I get why he might not want to go 352 today and agree with the decision. Even if Nisbet was fit, this team wouldn’t have been a bad shout.

Big day for Newell - we need to start getting more from him. He’s hot and cold and starting to look like the weak link in this team. Same as Horgan, I suppose.

I’d also be interested to see what Mallan might do in this team, and hope he gets on for Allan in this formation.

23-08-2020, 02:49 PM
Nisbet likely to miss Aberdeen game too apparently according to Mark Atkinson on Twitter

23-08-2020, 02:50 PM
Yes, he has. He has played 74 games for Hibs. 57 in the league, 3 in the Scottish cup, 8 in league cup, 6 in Europe
Damn Wikipedia only shows league games :greengrin

He hasn’t played much.Correct he hasn't. If he really was lethal with free kicks then maybe he would have played more, but he's not...

Souter96Mac
Good that both Mallan and Wright are on the bench. The initial lineup graphic that Hibs put on twitter didn't have Mallan, and I was concerned he had had another setback.

Decent team, considering Nisbet is out. I imagine it'll be 4231
Rocky
McGinn Porto Hanlon Doig
Gogic Newell
Boyle Allan Horgan
Doidge

JammyDoidger
Might not be the 4-3-3 everyone is expecting. Could easily be a diamond midfield with Boyle and doidge up top. Similar to the tynie wins. Good that the opposition will struggle to predict what we will do. 2-0 the cabbage.

Nisbet likely to miss Aberdeen game too apparently according to Mark Atkinson on Twitter

With what?

23-08-2020, 02:52 PM
Is Mallan on the bench? Evening news and Hibs original tweet had Stirling on the bench instead.

Stevie May back on St.Johnstone's bench.

23-08-2020, 02:52 PM
That’s pretty much our strongest team, as I see it.

Back 4 is sensible with their wide players. Doidge can play up front on his own, numbers in midfield so we don’t get overrun, Scott Allan in there to do his thing and a couple of wide players who can threaten when on their game.

I get why he might not want to go 352 today and agree with the decision. Even if Nisbet was fit, this team wouldn’t have been a bad shout.

Big day for Newell - we need to start getting more from him. He’s hot and cold and starting to look like the weak link in this team. Same as Horgan, I suppose.

I’d also be interested to see what Mallan might do in this team, and hope he gets on for Allan in this formation.Agreed, if we can find a way to pin them back a little and the wide players can force their way up the pitch more then I think Doidge as one up to could still work.

Trouble for me is when we play a 433 variation like this it usually ends up isolating the striker too much as we are not composed enough in the middle to pin teams back and get wide men up the park.

23-08-2020, 02:53 PM
Correct he hasn't. If he really was lethal with free kicks then maybe he would have played more, but he's not...
He’s been injured.

23-08-2020, 02:53 PM
With what?

He didn't say

23-08-2020, 02:55 PM
With Nisbet being out I’d have hoped it was an opportunity to play Gullan (preferably in a 3-5-2). Been disappointed in how little he has featured so far, hope it’s not going to end up a season wasted in terms of Gullans progression.

I too would like to see Gullan get more time. There's plenty of time with lots of games to be played across the board for him to get a run. Can't expect JR to break up a good start outside of injuries to accommodate Jamie at this stage age though, appearances from the bench meanwhile?

He’s been injured.Like another poster has already said, he's played a significant number of games since he last scored a free kick.

Yes he's missed some recent games through injury but that's being very selective.

Damn Wikipedia only shows league games :greengrin

Naw it doesny. Scroll down. :greengrin

23-08-2020, 02:56 PM
Think both Allan & Horgan will tire late in the game, so hope to see Gullan & Mallan get some game time.

23-08-2020, 02:59 PM
Agreed, if we can find a way to pin them back a little and the wide players can force their way up the pitch more then I think Doidge as one up to could still work.

Trouble for me is when we play a 433 variation like this it usually ends up isolating the striker too much as we are not composed enough in the middle to pin teams back and get wide men up the park.

Yep.

I think when we’ve struggled with it in the past we’ve not had an out and out defensive midfielder - with Gogic, the fullbacks have license to get right up the park, and Newell and Allan can push on, as well as Boyle and Horgan hopefully getting close to Doidge.

I don’t think I’ve ever really seen Hibs comfortable with 1 up front (or 3, before the usual suspects pop up and say it’s not a defensive formation). It’s not a formation I dislike, it’s just one I’ve never seen Hibs master. Other clubs play it to great effect.

23-08-2020, 02:59 PM
Saints
Parish, Kerr, Gordon, McCart, McNamara, Tanser, Craig, McCann, Conway, O’Halloran, Hendry.

Subs: Sinclair, Booth, Duffy, Rooney, May, Wotherspoon, Olaofe, Robertson, Ballantyne.

23-08-2020, 03:02 PM

I’m with you LB . Was hoping Jack was going to throw him on against Motherwell. He can score goals from distance and his free kicks are lethal.

23-08-2020, 03:02 PM
Is Mallan on the bench? Evening news and Hibs original tweet had Stirling on the bench instead.

Stevie May back on St.Johnstone's bench.

Mallan is on the bench, expect to see him feature, as Jack seems keen to get him back

Edit, just seen Mallan isn’t on the bench

23-08-2020, 03:05 PM
Hi folks,
Am I correct in saying the audio only coverage on Hibs TV starts at 1620hrs? Thanks.

23-08-2020, 03:06 PM
With what?

Hamstring injury.

With what?

Hamstring according to sky

Hi folks,
Am I correct in saying the audio only coverage on Hibs TV starts at 1620hrs? Thanks.

23-08-2020, 03:07 PM

Thanks muchly.:greengrin

23-08-2020, 03:08 PM
Hamstring injury.

Depending on what it is a hamstring could be 3 or 4 weeks.

Unless it’s just a tweak, hopefully.

BlackSheep
23-08-2020, 03:08 PM
433 on Sky, but the coverage doesn’t always reflect how we set up.

Shame about Nisbet... are we beginning to turn into the Arsenal of the SPFL when it comes to injuries.... always someone out... the past few season it’s been rife!!!

23-08-2020, 03:10 PM

I guess if it's more than a tweak we would have heard by now.:confused:

23-08-2020, 03:12 PM
Game is availible for £9.99 on nowtv with a day sports pass. Easily set up.

Got the international break after the Dons game

There’s not been room for that discussion, we’ve been battened down analysing the situation with Souttar at the plums.

HendoDelivered
23-08-2020, 03:13 PM
Would’ve liked to have seen Jamie Gullan taking Nisbets place.

23-08-2020, 03:13 PM

I’m sure he’ll get a chance today at some stage

23-08-2020, 03:15 PM
Newell lucky to start today IMO after two very quiet games.

23-08-2020, 03:20 PM

JR just said on Sky its nothing too serious and he should be back soon

SJNB Hibby
23-08-2020, 03:21 PM
Thanks muchly.:greengrin

Anybody getting anything yet???

23-08-2020, 03:22 PM
Looks like 4231/433/451 very flexible to either attack or defend, we definitely needed more in the middle.

23-08-2020, 03:24 PM
There’s not been room for that discussion, we’ve been battened down analysing the situation with Souttar at the plums.

Soapy Souters Soor Plooms :agree:

23-08-2020, 03:26 PM
Newell lucky to start today IMO after two very quiet games.

Agreed but Boyle is lucky to start after 3 and a half quiet ones. Quality is permanent.

23-08-2020, 03:27 PM
Someone needs to ruffle Scott Allan’s heid. His hair looks way too good. (Not jealous or anything.)

23-08-2020, 03:28 PM
I hope Jamie Gullan gets a run out today. He could have a decent career but needs first team game time. Maybe bring him on for Horgan second half.

Said last week if he is to be our third striker be needs game time even if just off the bench

23-08-2020, 03:28 PM
Mon the Hibees 😄

Dmas
23-08-2020, 03:29 PM

I’m the same don’t understand the need to change the shape because one player is injured, we’ve already found out doidge works better in a pair don’t get it at all but I’m sitting on the couch here’s hoping JR has it spot on

23-08-2020, 03:31 PM
Right Hibs let's do this.

23-08-2020, 03:32 PM
Hi Hibs. Win please. Thanks.

23-08-2020, 03:34 PM
Bright start. Good to see.

23-08-2020, 03:34 PM
Hi Hibs. Win please. Thanks.

Is this how it works? No one told me.
Me too, I vote for Hibs win please :agree:

23-08-2020, 03:35 PM
good save keeper from boyle

SJNB Hibby
Great TV gone again

cjward2
Verizon screen of doom is showing again.

23-08-2020, 03:36 PM
Really glad the Hibs TV price has gone up, almost every game now its dropped out.

HFC_NYC
That's Hibs TV down after a couple of minutes.

Not saying it's an omen but was walking through the park earlier to head to the shops and some kids were playing football. One of them blootered it out of play and I put a worldie of a cross into the back post.

Defo 4-0 Hibs today, three for Doidge and I'll get a call from Jack Ross at HT, come on and finish it off with a thirty yard screamer.

Bright start for us outside of my little bubble in real life :greengrin

AZhibee
Great TV gone again

Really hate that Verizon screen

3 minutes in and stream has gone ... great start

Clear penalty not given for us. Shot on goal blocked by arm.

How was that different from the penalty awarded against us at Rugby Park a couple of seasons ago?

23-08-2020, 03:37 PM

100% a penalty

That’s 2 this season denied to us

BlackSheep

Beaton is a terrible ref.

23-08-2020, 03:38 PM
That’s 2 this season denied to us

Its 3. Killie hand ball and just before the 3rd goal at Livi. Fortunate neither have affected results.

23-08-2020, 03:38 PM
Anyone else watching on Sky got a crap picture?

franck sauzee
23-08-2020, 03:39 PM
Really glad the Hibs TV price has gone up, almost every game now its dropped out.

It's annoying but guess it's not Hibs TV's fault. Home games have been fine, Dundee United was fine for me. Livi and St Johnstone been brutal though

23-08-2020, 03:39 PM
beaton at his best

23-08-2020, 03:40 PM
It's annoying but guess it's not Hibs TV's fault. Home games have been fine, Dundee United was fine for me. Livi and St Johnstone been brutal though

I am paying them for a service and not getting it, so it is their fault. I get what you are saying but the price has almost doubled in the last year and what we get in return is barely worth it.

We've looked sharp here early doors.

Hopefully a bit of composure in the middle of the park today sees us create a few openings.

Its 3. Killie hand ball and just before the 3rd goal at Livi. Fortunate neither have affected results.

Couldn’t make it up 😂

23-08-2020, 03:41 PM
Watch the midfield carefully and have we got the balance right ?

Defensively there are massive gaps at times.

On the ball who shows for the ball ?

Do they dictate play ?

Do they make enough tackles / turnovers / interceptions ?

23-08-2020, 03:41 PM
Couldn’t make it up 😂

Dont worry, they will even themselves out :faf:

23-08-2020, 03:42 PM
I am paying them for a service and not getting it, so it is their fault. I get what you are saying but the price has almost doubled in the last year and what we get in return is barely worth it.

I'm their staunchest defender when folk are moaning but I'm with you. The price increase has to be justified by a stable service and we're not getting that. It's up to Hibs to get it sorted out with their service provider.

I'm not chuffed at all!

23-08-2020, 03:42 PM

I think the problem comes back to the constant changes to the handball rule - unnatural position of the arm etc. It's now like offside, in that it's becoming more subjective, and I'm not sure the referees are clear on it.

HFC_NYC
23-08-2020, 03:43 PM
Hibs TV back on

23-08-2020, 03:43 PM
That could’ve been a red card

23-08-2020, 03:44 PM
Anyone else watching on Sky got a crap picture?

Ours is fine, mate, fingers crossed.

Keeper top and saints strip quite similar.

Thing is if we are going to cross the ball we need more than Doidge attacking it.

Nailed on red card there, off the ground 2 feet.

Red card for me. Do we never get decisions

That’s a red card surely

23-08-2020, 03:45 PM

Allan jumping helped him out there.

I'm their staunchest defender when folk are moaning but I'm with you. The price increase has to be justified by a stable service and we're not getting that. It's up to Hibs to get it sorted out with their service provider.

I'm not chuffed at all!
Surely the stream is coming from St. Johnstone

Both feet off the ground and studs up. Stonewaller.

23-08-2020, 03:46 PM
Let's be serious we'd be raging if a hibs player got sent off for that, never a red

Surely the stream is coming from St. Johnstone

It will be but the money's still being paid to Hibs.

not a bad game

If Allan never jumped out the way that was a red. Of course if Allan never jumped out the way he could have been badly injured when someone flies in recklessly like that.

23-08-2020, 03:47 PM
Let's be serious we'd be raging if a hibs player got sent off for that, never a red

Yes, I'd be raging at the Hibs player for a 2 footed tackle on the halfway line.

23-08-2020, 03:47 PM
Ours is fine, mate, fingers crossed.

Fine here when there's no movement, amything moving e.g. the ball is blurry, watching via NOW TV, same on 2 devices. Making me feel nauseous.

23-08-2020, 03:48 PM
It will be but the money's still being paid to Hibs.
For home games. Away games are a bonus.

23-08-2020, 03:48 PM
Porteous has made a very good start. Distribution has been top notch.

23-08-2020, 03:49 PM
Fine here when there's no movement, amything moving e.g. the ball is blurry, watching via NOW TV, same on 2 devices. Making me feel nauseous.

Have you paid for the HD from NowTV?

SJNB Hibby
23-08-2020, 03:49 PM
Porteous has made a very good start. Distribution has been top notch.

He has indeed

23-08-2020, 03:50 PM
Try disconnecting phones and other devices from the WiFi, that’s worked for me

23-08-2020, 03:50 PM
We really do need to keep the ball better - give it away so cheaply at times.

Stop these crosses also which are expecting a lot from Doidge.

23-08-2020, 03:51 PM
Hanlon booked

23-08-2020, 03:51 PM
Expecting a bit more from Gogic on the ball today than he's shown so far. Given up possession too easily.

23-08-2020, 03:53 PM
Hanlon booked after 20 mins

23-08-2020, 03:53 PM
Watching on Bet365, decent quality stream.

23-08-2020, 03:54 PM
Expecting a bit more from Gogic on the ball today than he's shown so far. Given up possession too easily.
We really need someone to come short when he wins the ball, he’s not the best in possession.

23-08-2020, 03:55 PM
For home games. Away games are a bonus.

But the monthly subscription is still being paid to Hibs.

I agree that they won't have control over the quality of the feed for away games but if it's consistently a problem, they shouldn't be charging as much.

Anyone who has Hibs TV has their contract with Hibs, not the home club.

Shocking pass by Porto

Well this has become very scrappy very quickly.

23-08-2020, 03:56 PM
The quality of passing from both teams is really ****ing terrible at times. Its worse than usual for Scottish football this year. The fans somehow do improve things

Dmas
23-08-2020, 03:56 PM
Much better spell there knocking it about was like pinball last 10mins

23-08-2020, 03:57 PM
Half chance for Boyle but off target

23-08-2020, 03:57 PM
Disjointed performance, unable to play simple passes, no composure, not great so far.

23-08-2020, 03:58 PM
We're at least trying to keep possession and remain calm on the ball so far. Quiet in front of both goals, but it's nicer on the eye.

23-08-2020, 03:59 PM
The quality of passing from both teams is really ****ing terrible at times. Its worse than usual for Scottish football this year. The fans somehow do improve things

The fans have nothing to do with it - just pretty average players in an average league.

Gogic - watch him running off the ball - does a lot of work and breaks up play.

But he isn’t a Dylan type who dictates the tempo and teams know that. Hence why we need another player alongside him - Newell does well at times but not enough.

23-08-2020, 04:00 PM
Certainly a brighter start by Hibs compared to last week.

High pressure, they don't like that.

HendoDelivered

23-08-2020, 04:01 PM
good pressing by hibs

The Captain....
23-08-2020, 04:02 PM
No tempo careless passing. Disappointing first 25 mins.

Hopefully start to get a grip of things as game goes on.

Lucky to get away wi that..should have been a goal.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Got away with that.

St J goal ruled out for offside. Lucky for Marciano as he made a complete mess of coming for it

Lucky break, was that supposed to be offside?

Marciano extremely lucky there. Absolutely honking goalkeeping

Marciano lucky there

Marciano 😱

Never offside - ahh well we didn’t get our penalty and that goal kick which was given as a corner .

Never offside very lucky.

Mr Grieves
Lucky escape

Dmas
St J goal ruled out for offside. Lucky for Marciano as he made a complete mess of coming for it

Was on as well got away with that

Lucky bass, nowhere near that.

HendoDelivered
Very lucky there wtf was rocky doing?

Never offside lucky escape.

Marciano will be breathing a big sigh of relief there.

We got away with that one. Maybe things have evened themselves out in this one.

A yard onside there

That was miles onside, we’ve got away with one there.

Rocky gives me the fear

Did I just say that out loud?

23-08-2020, 04:03 PM
It wasn’t a corner in the first place before that offside goal.

Bangkok Hibby
Rocky WTF!!!

harsh on saints there

wallpaperman
Nothing wrong with that goal, man was level, got a break there.

That’s abysmal goalkeeping from Rocky and we should be 1 down - never offside.

Other than that we’ve looked quite solid at the back, and we’ve been ok going forward in a pretty scrappy game.

That should have been a booking for Gordon.

JXM73
Why no booking, as cynical as Hanlons...

Thats 2 for 1 in the big decisions so far IMO. Ref got everything wrong. Both teams suffering now. ****ing dreadful standard and no improvement is ever shown.

rocky lucky that was called for offside

SJNB Hibby
Dont worry, they will even themselves out :faf:

Ahem

Was Liam Gordon not booked for that?!

We got away with that there. Lucky break

Another goal ruled out

Doidge handball

23-08-2020, 04:04 PM
Why was that not a booking

How is that not a booking? Deliberate body check after Boyle is past him?

Ahaha just the 3 disallowed goals so far.

Are goals not allowed anymore?

HendoDelivered
Doidge is class in the air.

This assistant has no idea.

Offside for goal.
Corner which was a goal kick.
Puts flat up and not given.

23-08-2020, 04:05 PM
How is that not a booking? Deliberate body check after Boyle is past him?

No attempt to play the ball :agree:

This league desperately needs VAR. Absolutely shambolic. Looked like Doidges shoulder there.

This assistant has no idea.

Offside for goal.
Corner which was a goal kick.
Puts flat up and not given.

I know him, great guy! :greengrin

Ridiculous- officials having a nightmare for both teams

Where do the SFA get these absolute clowns?

Dmas

Incredible boy just came across and cleaned him out no attempt at the ball

Walker hates Hibs.

Ridiculous- officials having a nightmare for both teams

No consistency at all.

23-08-2020, 04:06 PM
Blatant handball from Doidge after getting mowed down

Walker hates Hibs.

Walkers a ****ing roaster

The fans have nothing to do with it - just pretty average players in an average league.

Gogic - watch him running off the ball - does a lot of work and breaks up play.

But he isn’t a Dylan type who dictates the tempo and teams know that. Hence why we need another player alongside him - Newell does well at times but not enough.

Perhaps. Seems worse than usual this year for me. Especially in the games at ER.

We really need Boyle to be more involved - such a key player when he plays well. Been rarely involved last 2 games but when he is we look dangerous.

If that’s a handball by Doidge why didn’t we get a penalty, both were unintentional.

23-08-2020, 04:07 PM
Where do the SFA get these absolute clowns?

Problem is there aren’t enough refs in Scotland. So even average ones get fast tracked.

It’s not like there is a waiting list.

23-08-2020, 04:08 PM
This is further evidence of why Ross wants another midfielder in. Still a complete lack of willingness to be brave and take the ball in tight situations and use it. Gogic is often the only man showing at all and he's 15 yards away from the defence. Every ball to Allan is travelling 30 or 40 yards and giving them time to set up and pressure both the ball and the options.

Greenfly
Walker hates Hibs.

It's kindo mutual.

If that’s a handball by Doidge why didn’t we get a penalty

Same reason they didn't get a goal.

23-08-2020, 04:09 PM
I think Allan has looked a bit sharper today. Not spectacular, but he's kept the ball far more often and his touch has been closer. Hopefully he can make something happen.

Only a matter of time before Doidge sclafs one in from 30 yards

Brutal

The Captain....
23-08-2020, 04:10 PM
This is boring as ****..terrible football from both sides. Seen better games in the local park.

Still won't be bothered if we nick it 1 nil.

23-08-2020, 04:10 PM
Have you paid for the HD from NowTV?

Just the standard I think, £25 a month for next 2 months, unwatchable on TV.
Have got it on tablet now, and much better.

23-08-2020, 04:11 PM
This is boring as ****..terrible football from both sides. Seen better games in the local park.

Still won't be bothered if we nick it 1 nil.

Carbon copy of St Johnstones game midweek

23-08-2020, 04:12 PM
Allan has been poor

23-08-2020, 04:12 PM
Walker, dry yer eyes ya wee fat prick.

23-08-2020, 04:13 PM
I think Allan has looked a bit sharper today. Not spectacular, but he's kept the ball far more often and his touch has been closer. Hopefully he can make something happen.

Not for me. Not a starter anymore.

Too easy to glide past him in midfield at the moment and it’s happened three times so far. Also his usual lapse in concentration where he attempted a clearance that never left the 18 yard box.

A valuable player to have in the squad but not enough to be a starter.

Allan has been poor

Most of the forward players have been. Just a poor game

Brutal

I've had this feeling the last few games that we're gradually morphing into the Hearts side from about two seasons ago.

They'd won the league by the end of August as well.

Not for me. Not a starter anymore.

Too easy to glide past him in midfield at the moment and it’s happened three times so far. Also his usual lapse in concentration where he attempted a clearance that never left the 18 yard box.

A valuable player to have in the squad but not enough to be a starter.

Except today of course.

23-08-2020, 04:14 PM

Agree. Newell is a bigger issue in there IMO. Don’t really see what he’s offering that gets people so excited.

Dmas
Allan has been poor

He’s been involved and trying to make things happen which is more than Newell so far

Think I’m going to watch the second half on mute so I don’t need to listen to that ****ing ******** walker

Pish poor stuff. Again.

We just aren’t playing well.

It’s ok but for me we need to be doing better.

Keep the ball - switch it. Get Boyle and Horgan 1v1. Don’t hoof it to Doidge against 3 defenders.

Find a midfielder who can help Gogic.

Gullan needs to be given a chance - but who do you take off ? We just don’t have the balance.

It’s been far more open than that game.

Good play from Allan there, shame it didn't fall nicely for McGinn.

23-08-2020, 04:15 PM
I'd say Allan has been the least of our worries in midfield today.

That could well be construed as damned with faint praise of course.

We never seem to catch our opponents out of position. Whenever we win possession we pass around at the back for a bit allowing Saints to get everyone back and in position before starting our attacks.

I'd say Allan has been the least of our worries in midfield today.

That could well be construed as damned with faint praise of course.

Newell non existent. Gogic have the ball away too much. Allan trying to actually do something.

Nevi_SOL
23-08-2020, 04:16 PM
Foul after foul after foul by the saints

Absolute murder to watch.... Again!

There seems to be a pattern, every game I’ve watched in the SPFL this season has been absolutely rank.

Allan has been poor

Think he's the likeliest of our players to create something

They are absolutely full of cynical fouls.

Except today of course.

Is he not in for Nisbet who is injured?

There must be space somewhere as they are doubling up on Boyle to stop him running at the full back

Foul after foul after foul by the saints

When we have got moving they just chop us down

23-08-2020, 04:17 PM
Jeez we are so boring to watch.

Think he's the likeliest of our players to create something

He’s also the likeliest to let somebody run by him.

sean04
I’m I the only person that thinks we have been good? Controlled large parts of the game and created a few chances. Fancy us to win this

Nothing wrong with that goal, man was level, got a break there.

The one thing seeing the VAR measurements regularly is that you often can’t tell on the TV, even looking at the lines on the pitch. Unless you have a camera dead in line then it can be very misleading.

Anyway, didn’t see much wrong with the Doidge goal either.

They are absolutely full of cynical fouls.

Have any of their players been booked yet?

villahibs
Newell has been our best player here. Probably get slaughtered again but Doig is completely lost on the left... no doubt he’ll be a decent player but he’s a million miles away.

if we had VAR we would be a goal down

He’s been involved and trying to make things happen which is more than Newell so far
:agree: He’s been the best player on the pitch so far.

Is he not in for Nisbet who is injured?

Yes. He is starting todays match.

Wee Effen Bee
23-08-2020, 04:18 PM
StJs getting away with numerous fouls.

I’m I the only person that thinks we have been good? Controlled large parts of the game and created a few chances. Fancy us to win this

No, you're not the only one.

JammyDoidger
With Boyle Horgan and allan I'm failing to understand why we are creating the square root of nothing!

Well that was quite encouraging for about 5 minutes. Since then not so much. We need much better in midfield.

Sky must be tearing their hair out with the fare being offered thus far in the TV games.

Commentator keeps going back to the disallowed St Johnstone goal but not the blatant red card or penalty we should have had. Tiresome.

23-08-2020, 04:19 PM
Allan has been poor

And what about the rest? He has been no poorer than anyone else and certainly better than the rest of the midfield.

We need so much more from Newell & Gogic - Nothing new here but this is a real area for improvement for us.

Hardly seen Boyle on the ball and Scotty hadn't had much joy picking it up for us. A wee bit change of shape here could help us.

Walker, dry yer eyes ya wee fat prick.

Dog with a bone. Saying Calum Davidson should be straight into the ref’s room at half time ...... should put pressure on him.

Newell has been our best player here. Probably get slaughtered again but Doig is completely lost on the left... no doubt he’ll be a decent player but he’s a million miles away.
It’s weird how people see things differently, I think Newell has been anonymous.

Allan trying but not much coming off for him. Boyle looking every bit as average as he's done since scoring 2 in the opening game. Newell not doing much either. Horgan again getting involved and seeing a fair bit of the ball but he's not able to do much with it. It's easy to see why we're still looking for another midfielder to bring it all together.

I really don't think we've been as poor as some are suggesting. We certainly need more creativity in the final third and I'd like to see us press much higher, but we've had some decent spells of passing.

Yes.:greengrin
We've been shocking so far, poor ball retention, terrible passing, so slow & pedestrian & we should be a goal down.
Apart from that I entirely agree with you.

Thought that was awful. Not much different from last weeks game or the Dundee Utd game. We just can’t seem to create anything clear cut at all.

Went from scoring 4 at livi to not looking like we have a goal in us

The amount of times our passing lets us down is worrying.

AL-Qaholik
Mind-numbing football again.

Can't figure out if that's just Jack Ross' style or if we're just short of creative players.
Bit of both, maybe?

23-08-2020, 04:20 PM
With Boyle Horgan and allan I'm failing to understand why we are creating the square root of nothing!

Because we don't have the link man to get the ball to them where they can do damage. It's either too slow and St Johnstone have regrouped or a long contested ball.

Ross knows it as well or he wouldn't be trying to sign midfielders.

wallpaperman

You must be watching a different game to me, Newell has barely been involved last 20 minutes. Scott Allan has been best for me, always looking for the next pass.

Horgan has had one of those games where he runs into trouble at every opportunity.

Wouldn't say good but we've been absolutely fine without creating much, it's an improvement on last week for me so far

Dunno how some people can't see that Allan looks like the only one who will create something, oh aye he doesn't run about or chase people enough for some.

Yup - except Aberdeen sat back and rarely attacked most of the game then scored a deflected goal.

We aren’t awful but someone needs to step up and produce some quality. Allan; Boyle, Horgan or Newell. Doidge effort with header was off the line. But lucky escape with the offside goal.

23-08-2020, 04:21 PM
We started off better the first 15 to 20 but have now descended in to the turgid stuff from last weekend not helped by St J kicking anything that moves

Still not playing too well. Lucky not to be a goal down as well. I feel like we are far to slow in our build up at times, we have 2 good players that can run with the ball and we never seem to use that to our advantage.

Rumble de Thump
We should have been at least 1-0 up from a penalty and playing against 10 men well before they got a chance to greet about a goal being disallowed.

Wouldn't say good but we've been absolutely fine without creating much, it's an improvement on last week for me so far

Dunno how some people can't see that Allan looks like the only one who will create something, oh aye he doesn't run about or chase people enough for some.

Been absolutely fine apart from St J getting a perfectly good goal chopped off?

Well that was quite encouraging for about 5 minutes. Since then not so much. We need much better in midfield.

Sky must be tearing their hair out with the fare being offered thus far in the TV games.
Hardly seen a goal. In fairness the EPL was similar when the closed door games started up but dire stuff so far in the main.

allan has played very well

Same reason you don't play 8 strikers when you need to score. Someone needs to give the the ball consistenly. Folk keep saying we need energy and tackles. Its a quality footballer we are missing, to take it from Hanlon and move it forward, getting those guys involved often.

23-08-2020, 04:22 PM
Have any of their players been booked yet?

Just McNamara, which could have been a red.

I really don't think we've been as poor as some are suggesting. We certainly need more creativity in the final third and I'd like to see us press much higher, but we've had some decent spells of passing.

Neither do I. We need to do a bit more in the final third but for the first time, we’re actually in control of the game possession wise.

We need to go and win this game.

Because we’re not really managing to find those players in space.

They’re being closed down and occasionally brought down. Saints have snuffed them out well so far.

villahibs
You must be watching a different game to me, Newell has barely been involved last 20 minutes. Scott Allan has been best for me, always looking for the next pass.

Horgan has had one of those games where he runs into trouble at every opportunity.

Must be! Allan has done pretty much nothing 🤷*♂️