View Full Version : Match Updates St Johnstone 0 - 1 Hibernian (Mallan)
23-08-2020, 05:14 PM
I've no idea what Hibs are doing in training, but it's not passing.
I dont want to slate the mangaer so early but he has to take some of the blame for this **** we have been watxhin the last weeks Aye we had a good start but fn eye bleedin stuff.
-2 games in a row that our performance levels have been really poor
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
We stole a win against Dundee Utd also tbh. The football has been pretty rough with the exception of the Livingston game. Good points haul but it's going to be a long slog with these types of performances.
23-08-2020, 05:15 PM
Our league is shocking - no wonder Sky don’t pay much for it.
WillowbraeHibby
This is absolutely brutal. That's about the sum of my input.
And we’ve got Mbappé and Lewandowski to put it all into perspective later.
If we have money to spend on a player then maybe we should buy one of them for a week
23-08-2020, 05:16 PM
Compared to the EPL? I'd agree
Ahhh close
Cmon!!
I wonder if having fans in the ground would motivate the players a bit more.
Vicious circle. No money in the league, no quality on the park.
gogsy23
Totally agree. Walker spouts tripe and beaton is so inconsistent its unreal. Someone buy graham chambers a pint the next time they see him 😁👌
I'm not sure which is worse. Beaton's refereeing or Walker's commentary.
I dont want to slate the mangaer so early but he has to take some of the blame for this **** we have been watxhin the last weeks Aye we had a good start but fn eye bleedin stuff.
Seemingly the Sunderland fans didn't like the way his teams played, I was expecting much more than this.
tonyrougier123
Best spell of the game
Yes
OtleyHibs
Penalty hibs
Penalty!
Penalty!
Omg penalty hibs
That should have been a goal
tonyrougier123
23-08-2020, 05:17 PM
Yass
vahibbie
Bruutaaaaal.
I can honestly say I can wait till fans are allowed back. Hibs are mind numbingly boring and just no very good.
Penalty hibs
OtleyHibs
Big Gogic unlucky from that corner. Big chance to steal this here!
Boom! Mallan!
1-0 Hibs. :thumbsup:
Holy ****. Easy...
Mallan scores
1-0
OtleyHibs
Yaaaaasssssss
Yasssss
Oooh wee Stevie mallan
penaltyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
We're gonna win the league
Mallan, MOTM
McHibby
Yes!!!
Stevie Mallan!!!!
Hahahaha :flag::thumbsup:
boom, what a team
23-08-2020, 05:18 PM
I'll take it.
That is the way to take a penalty
Face masks or eye masks?
I don't believe it.
:faint:
Ha ha just as well we have plenty masks for the journey home. Proper Dick Turpin job. Superb.
Yaaaaaassssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!
Mr Grieves
Yaaas! There's been a robbery
HendoDelivered
Talk about smash and grab! I’ll take it.
yesssssssssssssssssssssssss
Yaaaaaaaas
Yasssssssssss we are footballing giants, **** performances. JUST KEEP WINNING.
Yes! Jammy buggers 😂
Amazing
Thought it was soft in real time but both hands have his shirt and he’s pushing into him.
Good refereeing.
Yaaaas
tonyrougier123
Pure class from hibs!😆
23-08-2020, 05:19 PM
Get in there. Winning ugly gets the same amount of points as silky soccer. Definite pen
Another win ground out. Next....
I've no idea what Hibs are doing in training, but it's not passing.
Practicing penalties ;)
To be fair defence has been pretty solid.
Get a midfielder in and we will be so much better.
I'll take that, didnae deserve it, but I'll take it :greengrin
Mon the Cabbage :flag:
i've always said yer sometimes better being lucky than good :cb
Think that's what you call a smash and grab. :greengrin
Fully deserved win, magnificent performance and think we’ll go on to win the league in September 😂😂😂 I’ll take it though. 👍
Great referee is Beaton. Always said it.
Get it right up you, you hammer throwers >>>>>>> Good guys get their reward
Clum Davidsons face is a picture
23-08-2020, 05:20 PM
****housing our way to one in a row.
Absolute scenes
Craig sent off.
Full time
Craig given a 2nd yellow after full time
Well **** me I didn't see that coming, was it deserved probably not but I'll take it.
Great referee is Beaton. Always said it.
😂😂😂😂😂
Liam Craig an angry little man
norwayhibs
That will do Hibs :flag:
GET ****ED ANDY WALKER
Well done Hibs. Kept going. Have to improve but its much better to do that with a solid base of points to work from.
Defence excellent again.
No lap of honour for Tommy Wright today?
7 points from the last 3 performances is unbelievable
Get in there! Huge 3 points that.
Craig sent off ahaha
we stole it
We’re gonna win the league.
Nae luck Liam Craig :faf:
23-08-2020, 05:21 PM
Beautiful YASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Liam craig 2nd yellow card after game finished
Sign of champions :greengrin
Yaaaasssss
Everything about this game has been terrible: both teams, the officials, everything. Depressing stuff.
Brilliant game of football. I enjoyed every minute :greengrin:flag:
Laughing my head off - we were awful but great penalty and delighted for Mallan after being out for so long.
Positive is another clean sheet but we need a midfield.
Liam Craig an angry little man
Angry Wangry
Absolutely sheeped it.
Our problems are evident but we don't lose goals so we always have a chance. I'd rather be lucky than good sometimes.
craig gets a red card
MASSIVE 3 points. Total smash and grab but we remain joint top.
JammyDoidger
That was the game plan. Be solid and get a last minute penalty. Jack ross kens what he's doing. Gon the cabbage!!!!!! Yes!!:flag::thumbsup:
St Johnstone must be wondering how they didn't get a point there. Goal wrongly chopped off and held us to what, one or two shots in the 2nd half?
Didn't deserve it but will take it. Performances need to improve. GGTTH.
Terrible performance - but 3 points very welcome ...
Wasn't pretty but still unbeaten and another 3 points [emoji172][emoji172][emoji172]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Welcome back Mallan. Set piece master. :wink:
Absolutely sheeped it.
Very good description, PB.
23-08-2020, 05:22 PM
Can’t believe we got three points, only managed to see the second half and that was bad enough. Still three points will do.
NC1875
Never in doubt 😂
tonyrougier123
Look hard fought win,we were poor but better in the last 8 minutes.the battling displays are good but we need a wee magician in there or Allan and Boyle need to find some form again.
Lendo
Get Out if Jail Free card played so early in the season
Sexy football. Top of the League.:greengrin
When you don’t lose goals from open play you give yourself a chance of winning games.
We’ve some players coming back in and maybe one or two to be signed.
Happy to take it given a few weeks ago everyone was pretty much accepting that with Covid we had to just go with what we had and see what happens.
23-08-2020, 05:23 PM
Lady Luck is indeed a hibby
If you are the St Johnstone boss right now you would be spewing.
We score when we want.
No crowds is definitely affecting the players but that’s another 3pts and back to joint top . Are you watching jambo lower league nobody’s 😃
Defence has been superb this season. We moaned last season about them, they’ve tightened up and if you don’t concede you have a chance.
Loved the fist pump from JR. HIBEES HIBEES HIBEES
Told you Steven Mallan was leathal. :greengrin:greengrin
Joint top.... only 3 goals behind!! who would have thought that after that performance
I'll take it though
23-08-2020, 05:24 PM
Christian Doidge was absolutely outstanding today.
League table doesn’t lie..
I can feel the Jambo tears..as they sit at home and wish they were watching their team play! Hahaha.
Again.
Yaaaaassssss.
Massive improvement needed but
Yaaaaaasssssss.
HibeeSince85
I have to admit that this morning on my way to work I looked at the table and felt the chance of creating that 5 point gap between us and County would be lost, we’d draw the game and vital points would be lost.
Well I’ll take a 90th minute penalty to pick up another 3 points on the road. Well done boys, might not have been pretty but a win is a win
one day maybe...
Got away with one there
I got really lucky and was able to watch that. Stevie Mallan must have cahojnes the size of melons to be that calm with a penalty of that importance.
Delighted for my team.
23-08-2020, 05:25 PM
If you are the St Johnstone boss right now you would be spewing.
Liam Craig must hate us too :faf: That’s for taking us down as captain, Liam :aok:
Good 3 points. Dire performance once again which is still a big concern. Not sure where I stand, points total couldn’t be much better but it’s mainly been a chore watching us this season IMO.
We are officially the new Aberdeen. Grinding out results and clean sheets with pretty brutal performances but I'll happily take it for the moment :thumbsup:
Coach Jon
Totally, won everything on a day when most struggled.
We have done tonight what Aberdeen have been doing for several years. I’ll take it.
Defence has been superb this season. We moaned last season about them, they’ve tightened up and if you don’t concede you have a chance.
This is true and a positive.
Just sort the middle and we will be so much better.
Considering we aren’t playing well and winning I will take it - confidence so important plus 3 away wins now..3 in a row !!
23-08-2020, 05:26 PM
3 clean sheets out of 5 games and Do feel we are much solid at the back but still lack some energy in the midfield with Gogic.
Thought Wright played well when he came on, wasn't afraid to get stuck in.
Little disappointing attacking wise again though I think we can all agree, he didn't have the worse game but i think Boyle has been poor so far this season. If he is going to play like that all season then let's cash in lol
We didn't deserve to win that game; a draw would have been the right result, but the three points are gratefully accepted from a terrible match.
i'm away to pick up my £27.50 from bet365
#soexcited. :)
That’s the kind of **** that Aberdeen have doing for the last 5 years.
Liam Craig must hate us too :faf: That’s for taking us down as captain, Liam :aok:
His reaction after the game away at Dingwall still boils my blood. I took a sickie from work and made a round trip of over 200 miles to see our club captain basically give up. I wish the man nothing but bad fortune in football.
Told you Steven Mallan was leathal. :greengrin:greengrin
Personally I've always thought he was a good player, took a lot of stick which I didn't think he deserved.
23-08-2020, 05:27 PM
Haha or maybe for the missed penalty at tynie...
23-08-2020, 05:28 PM
I got really lucky and was able to watch that. Stevie Mallan must have cahojnes the size of melons to be that calm with a penalty of that importance.
Delighted for my team.
I got really unlucky & was able to watch that. Another shocking performance, another 3 points. What's happening?
So good to see Mallan back.
23-08-2020, 05:28 PM
Only 17 points and we are safe from relegation !
23-08-2020, 05:29 PM
We have done tonight what Aberdeen have been doing for several years. I’ll take it.
Nail.on.the.head.
Before Ross we would have lost this game. 13 points from 15 and joint 1st. I will ****ing take it!:thumbsup:
Much, much room for improvement.
23-08-2020, 05:29 PM
Did we get someone sent off too?
23-08-2020, 05:31 PM
His reaction after the game away at Dingwall still boils my blood. I took a sickie from work and made a round trip of over 200 miles to see our club captain basically give up. I wish the man nothing but bad fortune in football.
Agree stopped trying in that season. I know Butcher was a twat but Craig's attitude was a big part of us going down.
No
No the graphic's wrong.
The Captain....
Not particularly bothered how we got there..3 points away from home.
Appreciate its not pretty but at a time like this every win is gold dust.
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
JXM73
23-08-2020, 05:32 PM
Jack ross really needs to take a look at himself, top of the table..hope you're choking moaning *******s....
23-08-2020, 05:33 PM
Imagine what could happen when we actually start to click. We've been pretty poor the last 3 games yet took 7 from 9 and 3 clean sheets in a row
23-08-2020, 05:34 PM
Big positive, player wise, today was Drey Wright who was very strong and made a very positive impact when he came on.
Should probably give young Doig a rest next week and get Wright in.
Saints only 1 shot on target. Hibs 3.
We are definitely harder to score against so rest can come.
Green Badger
Well done Hibs. 3 points won. On to the next game.
Take the points. So many times Hibs have lost points we didn't deserve to so it feels good to redress the balance just a little
That was a robbery. Nae luck Liam Craig.
Tomsk
23-08-2020, 05:35 PM
Jack ross really needs to take a look at himself, top of the table..hope you're choking moaning *******s....
That's the spirit!
BlackSheep
That was a robbery. Nae luck Liam Craig.
Sky have the red card under the hibs token.... lol... Liam left us a while ago Sky... keep up!! 😂😂😂
We are definitely harder to score against so rest can come.
Funnily enough, every one of those shots ended up in the net.
jakedance
23-08-2020, 05:36 PM
Obviously couldn’t be happier to be getting these results but hoping the entertainment will improve when the fans are there to cheer them on. Great start to the season.
tonyrougier123
👍
Zambernardi1875
Easy money.. we’re here to stop the 10
one day maybe...
54% possession for Hibs
As always, had to pop over to SickBag for a wee look at . They are spewing, but apparently they are gong to take us apart in the Semi. It's hilarious.
Oh we are on 13 points from 5 games.......... How many points did they get in 30??
St Johnstone manager accusing Hanlon of making it an easy decision for the ref to give a penalty.
Absolute bollocks. Clear as day.
23-08-2020, 05:37 PM
We are solid at the back, decent up front, but need better quality in midfield.
Hopefully JR will bring that in sooner rather than later.
23-08-2020, 05:38 PM
good possibility of winning the league by september
23-08-2020, 05:38 PM
Brian McLaughlin is such a negative journalist, trying to goad Callum Davidson into criticising the referee but he isn't having any of it
No goals conceded from open play thus far [emoji736]
Three away wins on the trot [emoji736]
Only in August but won as many games as the Jambos did the whole of last season [emoji736]
Joint top of the table [emoji736]
Winning games while playing poorly [emoji736]
But some people still want to moan and moan [emoji85] I seriously think some people were desperate for us to drop points & would rather we were in Livis position.
How many times have Hibs played well over the years and got nothing out of games?
Onwards and upwards [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
23-08-2020, 05:40 PM
Get ****ing in there.
I was raging until we scored. Still not sure what to make of JR with this style of football. I do remember Colin Calderwood winning 5 in a row...
23-08-2020, 05:41 PM
Big positive, player wise, today was Drey Wright who was very strong and made a very positive impact when he came on.
Should probably give young Doig a rest next week and get Wright in.
Agree looked lively and the only man capable of beating an opponent and making space. Appeared trimmer and fitter than on his debut.
No goals conceded from open play thus far [emoji736]
Three away wins on the trot [emoji736]
Only in August but won as many games as the Jambos did the whole of last season [emoji736]
Joint top of the table [emoji736]
Winning games while playing poorly [emoji736]
But some people still want to moan and moan [emoji85] I seriously think some people were desperate for us to drop points & would rather we were in Livis position.
How many times have Hibs played well over the years and got nothing out of games?
Onwards and upwards [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
The thing is, playing poorly and winning is great for 1 game every now and then. It is not a reliable stratagy. We must improve our general play.
Orchard_Hibs
F*** you Neil McCann, why the bbc let him comment on hibs games.
23-08-2020, 05:42 PM
The thing is, playing poorly and winning is great for 1 game every now and then. It is not a reliable stratagy. We must improve our general play.
This is true. I think we badly need someone else beside Gogic in midfield.
23-08-2020, 05:42 PM
St Johnstone manager accusing Hanlon of making it an easy decision for the ref to give a penalty.
So what if he did? If he gets pushed then he definitely should be making sure the ref sees it.
Feed McGraw
23-08-2020, 05:43 PM
When Craig was sent off after FT, I went straight to the BBC website because I just knew the headline would be something about Hibs beating 10 men - and sure enough, there it was 10 men blah blah blah.....
MileHighBees
23-08-2020, 05:45 PM
Already been said in some other posts, but worth highlighting again :-
What a fantastic penalty kick that was from Mallan - he just smashed it into the net :top marks
Even more impressive given he's not played for so long AND it was 0-0 in injury time :cb
Well done, sir :not worth
23-08-2020, 05:45 PM
I went straight to the BBC website...
That was your mistake right there.
23-08-2020, 05:46 PM
When I worked in sales he came into my work once. He was - and I don't say this with a hint of hyperbole - a right fanny. If he was chocolate he'd eat himself.
23-08-2020, 05:47 PM
So what if he did? If he gets pushed then he definitely should be making sure the ref sees it.
Considering we were due a penalty in the first half too I don't think he can complain that much. They should have had a goal but they could have conceded another penalty and also been down to ten men for that lunge on Allan.
23-08-2020, 05:47 PM
Well done Mallan
23-08-2020, 05:48 PM
that serves st.johnstone right for nickin our 6th spot last season :cb
23-08-2020, 05:48 PM
Interesting to hear Callum Davidson saying that he thought we were excellent first half. I wouldn’t go that far but I thought we were all right and in a good position to kick on from there. Thought the second half, right from the off, was terrible.
We need to be better. Delighted with 13 points but need to be better to keep winning.
23-08-2020, 05:50 PM
Not particularly bothered how we got there..3 points away from home.
Appreciate its not pretty but at a time like this every win is gold dust.
Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
Exactly. I’ll take winning ugly away from home against any team in the league.
Clean sheet. 3 points. Thank you.
inglisavhibs
23-08-2020, 05:51 PM
Agree looked lively and the only man capable of beating an opponent and making space. Appeared trimmer and fitter than on his debut.
Also thought Gullan did well, him and Wright have some running in them which made a difference and got us on the front foot.
23-08-2020, 05:51 PM
We are definitely harder to score against so rest can come.And 54% possession for Hibs.
I'll take that sort of crapness any day against a team that finished above us last season.
Although we weren't brilliant today, we weren't that bad either. I honestly wonder how much the lack of crowds/noise is changing how people judge matches.
23-08-2020, 05:52 PM
Can’t argue with a win. Mon the Hibs.
Feed McGraw
23-08-2020, 05:53 PM
That was your mistake right there. I know !!! :greengrin
sean04
Interesting to hear Callum Davidson saying that he thought we were excellent first half. I wouldn’t go that far but I thought we were all right and in a good position to kick on from there. Thought the second half, right from the off, was terrible.
We need to be better. Delighted with 13 points but need to be better to keep winning.
I thought for an away performance we were good in the 1st half.
People need to take a step back and see how Scottish football is at the moment. Celtic and rangers aren’t getting it all there own way away from home so anybody expecting us to are in a dream world. If 1-0 away from home is good enough for the ugly sisters then it’s good enough for us
Kaiser _Sauzee
We now have as many wins as a certain team managed all last season.:thumbsup:
23-08-2020, 05:54 PM
I thought for an away performance we were good in the 1st half.
People need to take a step back and see how Scottish football is at the moment. Celtic and rangers aren’t getting it all there own way away from home so anybody expecting us to are in a dream world. If 1-0 away from home is good enough for the ugly sisters then it’s good enough for usExactly.
23-08-2020, 05:55 PM
And 54% possession for Hibs.
I'll take that sort of crapness any day against a team that finished above us last season.
Although we weren't brilliant today, we weren't that bad either. I honestly wonder how much the lack of crowds/noise is changing how people judge matches.Dunno like, didn't we only have 1 shot on target the 2nd half and that was in the 91st minute.
Take that win every day of the week though!
23-08-2020, 05:56 PM
Also thought Gullan did well, him and Wright have some running in them which made a difference and got us on the front foot.
I thought the pair of them dragged us up a level.
We were better for the last 5-10 minutes and had a bit more urgency.
I liked the look of Wright tbh.
Good penalty from Mallan, even if he was quiet during the game.
Good day for the subbies.
That midfield though. Another 90 minutes of evidence that we just don’t have that part of the team sorted at all. Shame, because the defence was solid (again) and Doidge had a decent shift up front.
23-08-2020, 05:57 PM
Dunno like, didn't we only have 1 shot on target the 2nd half and that was in the 91st minute.
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkAt the end of the season there will be only one statistic from today that matters.
23-08-2020, 06:01 PM
To be honest as brutal a watch as that was if we win every game 1-0 with a last minute penalty I'll take it.
Solid at the back, too many players just too inconsistent never knowing what you're getting from them ( Newell, Horgan, Allan etc ) We need 2 midfielders, 1 to hold onto the ball and the other to drive forward with pace and energy.
23-08-2020, 06:01 PM
I thought Calum Davidson was refreshingly honest inhis post match comments. He also did less moaning about the disallowed goal than Walker and Co.
23-08-2020, 06:08 PM
Same number of wins by late August as Hearts managed all last season
CyberSauzee
23-08-2020, 06:09 PM
Poor that the analysis at HT and FT just highlighted the goal that SJ should have had, especially if we had VAR. If we had VAR they would have picked up on the hand used by a SJ defender in the first half that stopped a goal bound shot; that Andy Walker described in commentary as a harsh decision if it was a penalty. Can't blame officials for missing it but VAR would have given us a penalty and a Saints goal first half.
23-08-2020, 06:13 PM
I thought Calum Davidson was refreshingly honest inhis post match comments. He also did less moaning about the disallowed goal than Walker and Co.
Totally agree, he was totally professional, gave Hibs credit, criticised his defence for not getting to the ball first and showed his annoyance at Craig getting sent off. He didn’t say anything about the goal that was wrongly chopped off and wasn’t keen on VAR.
If VAR was available in that game, they would have also had a man sent off earlier and a penalty against them. The countless blatant fouls they made and the unbelievable moment when Bolyle was wiped out without punishment didn’t help the game flow but that’s what they tried to do against us. We came through in the end with all 3 points GGTTH
23-08-2020, 06:13 PM
Re Wright appearing fitter than debut, I thought that as well. I thought Gullan looked good as well today.
Ross is very pragmatic in both the players he signs and the way his team plays which will frustrate Hibs supporters at times but his way will win far more matches than the supporters way would.
P.S. I watched McCrorie playing for Aberdeen today and he is a typical Ross type player. All cake and no icing. I reckon Ross will be gutted at not getting him in and will be looking for a similar alternative. Hope he doesn't get tempted by a Vela :wink:.
23-08-2020, 06:19 PM
It is 100% bollocks. Hanlon has nothing to do with it. It was Porteous who was flattened.
23-08-2020, 06:19 PM
Will take wins at this stage of season 10 players out three in
A few injuries to contend with and Mallan needing game time to get match fit
Some crucial games coming up so points in the bag now are crucial Once again we have to play old firm back to back
23-08-2020, 06:22 PM
Sick of all this winning pish
23-08-2020, 06:22 PM
I think we must give Jack Ross huge credit for the last four games. He changed a winning team to the counteract a Livi team who normally play well on their plastic pitch. Then in the last three games he tried to changed the flow of the game and it worked in two of the games, albeit fortuitously.
As has been stated before, he's also picked up more points apart from Celtic & The Rangers since he joined us.
23-08-2020, 06:31 PM
Highlights just started on Sportscene...
MacGruber
23-08-2020, 06:39 PM
Well that was pretty poor again following the performance v Motherwell, however, 3 point, clean sheet & top of the league so delighted.
We were poor but special mention for the impact of all the subs today, thought they all did well. Gullan looks bright, him and Wright combined well and got us back on the front foot at the end. Halberg probably won't get much of a memtion but he came on and did well. Mallan can be frustrating at times but is cleary a talented footballer and penalty never in doubt.
13 out of 15 - superb start
23-08-2020, 06:43 PM
What was important to me was that we were up there in the 90th minute trying to win it.
Ronster117
23-08-2020, 06:53 PM
Not a great game to watch but credit the team for not giving up. GGTTH
23-08-2020, 07:17 PM
Brian McLaughlin is such a negative journalist, trying to goad Callum Davidson into criticising the referee but he isn't having any of it
Never caught the game as I was working but listened to radio Scotland on the way home. Neil McCann was absolutely boaking and the entire thrust of the broadcast was about how Callum Davidson should be raging. Then McGlaughlin interviewing Davidson and Ross only interested in trying to ramp up any controversey.
Ok, we got lucky but Rangers and Celtic do tha kind of thing all the time and don’t get that overbearing negativity about daring to win a game ugly.
BBC is really **** these days.
23-08-2020, 07:43 PM
Newell is a squad player only. So need someone who can take control in the middle.
23-08-2020, 07:54 PM
What was important to me was that we were up there in the 90th minute trying to win it.
Marco G
23-08-2020, 07:56 PM
What was important to me was that we were up there in the 90th minute trying to win it.Yep, don't get the moaning about being poor, we won and that's all that matters.
Sent from my SM-T713 using Tapatalk
23-08-2020, 10:08 PM
Totally agree, he was totally professional, gave Hibs credit, criticised his defence for not getting to the ball first and showed his annoyance at Craig getting sent off. He didn’t say anything about the goal that was wrongly chopped off and wasn’t keen on VAR.
If VAR was available in that game, they would have also had a man sent off earlier and a penalty against them. The countless blatant fouls they made and the unbelievable moment when Bolyle was wiped out without punishment didn’t help the game flow but that’s what they tried to do against us. We came through in the end with all 3 points GGTTH
Spot on [emoji122] great post
23-08-2020, 10:51 PM
Newell is a squad player only. So need someone who can take control in the middle.
We are going to need a squad more than ever this season and his quality will certainly play his part
Coach Jon
24-08-2020, 02:00 AM
I thought the pair of them dragged us up a level.
We were better for the last 5-10 minutes and had a bit more urgency.
I liked the look of Wright tbh.
Good penalty from Mallan, even if he was quiet during the game.
Good day for the subbies.
That midfield though. Another 90 minutes of evidence that we just don’t have that part of the team sorted at all. Shame, because the defence was solid (again) and Doidge had a decent shift up front.
Defence wasnt solid at all, we were getting ripped open down our left side, fortunately for us they didnt have a striker.
Delighted to get a win but we dont look like a good team, agree Doidge was excellent.
houstonhibbee
24-08-2020, 03:58 AM
[QUOTE=Spike Mandela;6278747]Never caught the game as I was working but listened to radio Scotland on the way home. Neil McCann was absolutely boaking and the entire thrust of the broadcast was about how Callum Davidson should be raging. Then McGlaughlin interviewing Davidson and Ross only interested in trying to ramp up any controversey.
Ok, we got lucky but Rangers and Celtic do tha kind of thing all the time and don’t get that overbearing negativity about daring to win a game ugly.
BBC is really **** these days.[/QUO
Ti be fair there weren’t many talking points
24-08-2020, 06:20 AM
Never caught the game as I was working but listened to radio Scotland on the way home. Neil McCann was absolutely boaking and the entire thrust of the broadcast was about how Callum Davidson should be raging. Then McGlaughlin interviewing Davidson and Ross only interested in trying to ramp up any controversey.
BBC is really **** these days.
McLaughlin is torture trying at every attempt to get a manager to say something controversial. Jack Ross must be doing his head in have to listen to his self important tortuous questions at his press conferences.
24-08-2020, 08:06 AM
Arrived into work this morning, our win was the first topic of discussion, both the Ayr Utd and the Kilmarnock fan waxing lyrical about a "fantastic" away performance. Solid at the back, dangerous on the counter and took the chance at the end.
I was a bit like, I thought we could have played a bit better which led to more discussion about how it was a solid, solid, away performance.