View Full Version : Two nil down at Tynie
20-08-2020, 05:55 PM
On sky sports football the now.
20-08-2020, 06:23 PM
That'll be our chances of winning the Cup gone for another year then.
20-08-2020, 06:23 PM
Never tire of watching that. Just disappointed they didn’t show the “money spinner” interview afterwards 🤗
20-08-2020, 06:29 PM
Considering how much attendances picked up after the cup win, I do wonder where we'd be as a club just now if Hanlon's sliding shot on goal was blocked on the line or indeed if SDG's header cannoned back off the crossbar for Rangers to pick up a jammy sucker punch of a win.
Stubbs is, without a doubt, in my top three favourite Hibs managers of all time. Not just that cup win, not just two nil down at Tynie, but for building us a team of young, exciting and talented players that we'll talk about for years to come.
Gloucester Hibs
20-08-2020, 06:29 PM
That'll be our chances of winning the Cup gone for another year then.
Was it Peter Martin that tweeted as much at half time? How did that work out Peter? 😂😂
20-08-2020, 06:36 PM
One of the wildest goal celebrations I’ve enjoyed - proper scenes and while to the neutral observer they may have looked over the top for an injury time equaliser, there was a sense within the crowd that we had just witnessed something important.
Match stats from the afternoon pointed quite clearly to who deserved to win the tie, and justice was done at ER.
https://i.postimg.cc/bvF6GzK3/4885996-B-FD9-D-4481-A8-C1-BCF3-F1570-B33.jpg (https://postimg.cc/t1WdwHRx)
For many this was THE game that (started the) change everything.
Left the pub at half time and got home for last 10 mins.
For many this was THE game that (started the) change everything.
Left the pub at half time and got home for last 10 mins.Agreed. I knew something was on once they had that shot deflected onto the bar and Thompson cleared off the line in the last few seconds of the game. How many other times would that ball have gone into the net over the years?..
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
One of the wildest goal celebrations I’ve enjoyed - proper scenes and while to the neutral observer they may have looked over the top for an injury time equaliser, there was a sense within the crowd that we had just witnessed something important.
Match stats from the afternoon pointed quite clearly to who deserved to win the tie, and justice was done at ER.
https://i.postimg.cc/bvF6GzK3/4885996-B-FD9-D-4481-A8-C1-BCF3-F1570-B33.jpg (https://postimg.cc/t1WdwHRx)
Never seen those stats before. Interesting, thanks.
20-08-2020, 09:01 PM
Watched the game in the house, terrified the kids with my over exuberance when the equaliser went in🙈🤣
20-08-2020, 09:12 PM
Up there with the most mental celebrations I have been in.
What I remember from the day was even at 2-0 down the fans, certainly wound me, never got on the teams back. Everyone knew we didn't deserve to be behind and that we were still in the game. I remember saying to the guy next to me with about 15 minutes to go that if we got 1, we would get 2.
I remember saying that I just didn't want to lose to them and the league was far more important than the cup that season and longer term promotion was a bigger deal. I was so, so wrong.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e13KjAdArvc&feature=emb_logo
Cummings goal at 4.10, when he turns to take a peek to see if his looping header is dropping in. Great goal, alangordonesque. They will be incandescent at themselves about this game forever.
20-08-2020, 09:13 PM
It was infuriating to see them go 2 up to begin with, we were the better team from start to finish, maybe bar a dip when mcgeouch got subbed off
20-08-2020, 09:41 PM
Was in Singapore working and watched on Hibs TV. It was Chinese New Year's eve and just come from my first date with a woman who would later become my wife - she did not understand why I had to go home early.
At two nil down I changed into my pyjamas. There was a time delay on the TV transmission and I got a text from a friend when the equaliser went in. Clothes back on and into the corner bar where I got blind drunk and sang Hibs songs to see the New Year in, much to the amusement of the locals
Weir07
20-08-2020, 09:49 PM
Although since the mid eighties Tynecastle has not really been a happy hunting ground for Hibs, twice before this game I've seen Hibs 2-0 down at Tynie and come back to draw. Joe McBride scored two in the last 10 minutes around '85 and Andy Walker scored two second half goals on New Year's Day, in Duffy's relagation season. Said as much to my mate at this game, just before Jason scored, happily Hanlon made it three games!
20-08-2020, 10:09 PM
[QUOTE=Northernhibee;6275345]Considering how much attendances picked up after the cup win, I do wonder where we'd be as a club just now if Hanlon's sliding shot on goal was blocked on the line or indeed if SDG's header cannoned back off the crossbar for Rangers to pick up a jammy sucker punch of a win.
Unclean thoughts that are best kept to yourself or the confessional my son.
20-08-2020, 10:13 PM
Although since the mid eighties Tynecastle has not really been a happy hunting ground for Hibs, twice before this game I've seen Hibs 2-0 down at Tynie and come back to draw. Joe McBride scored two in the last 10 minutes around '85 and Andy Walker scored two second half goals on New Year's Day, in Duffy's relagation season. Said as much to my mate at this game, just before Jason scored, happily Hanlon made it three games!
Before this , maybe 80/81, a supposedly meaningless EOS Sheild final (first teams in these days) also ended in euphoria one end and kicking in heads at the other.
20-08-2020, 11:07 PM
I never thought we’d come back from 0-2.
it had all the makings of a typical Edinburgh derby. So many times in the 22 in a row we’d play quite well, miss all our chances and they’d scuff a draw or victory.
im am eternal pessimist, especially against them and even after the ecstatic Hanlon celebrations wore off I remember thinking we’d still lose the replay at ER.
hibbydog
21-08-2020, 02:07 AM
Considering how much attendances picked up after the cup win, I do wonder where we'd be as a club just now if Hanlon's sliding shot on goal was blocked on the line or indeed if SDG's header cannoned back off the crossbar for Rangers to pick up a jammy sucker punch of a win.
Stubbs is, without a doubt, in my top three favourite Hibs managers of all time. Not just that cup win, not just two nil down at Tynie, but for building us a team of young, exciting and talented players that we'll talk about for years to come.
Only top 3?!🤪
Such is my glee at winning the cup, I’d have to say that Stubbs is by far my favourite Hibs manager of all time. The same goes for Sir David Gray and Saint Anthony of Stokes - not the best ever Hibs players, but hell, they’re by far and away my favourite!
Hakim Sar
21-08-2020, 07:39 AM
If Gunnarsson stuck that almost OG into the top corner of our own net it would have been labelled as the most Hibs thing to do ever.
Anyways, for probably the first time ever I KNEW we would win the replay. You could feel it in the waters of leith.
It was also the first time really I heard our humble, self-deprecating and respectful neighbours admit they had no chance in the replay. They were fearful of a right pumping.
G15 Hibs
21-08-2020, 08:37 AM
Andy Walker scored two second half goals on New Year's Day, in Duffy's relagation season
I can't hold back the pedant in me who's dying to point out that Walker got the first but Pat McGinlay scored the equaliser.
Weir07
21-08-2020, 09:00 AM
I can't hold back the pedant in me who's dying to point out that Walker got the first but Pat McGinlay scored the equaliser.
Fair play to you mate, your memory is better than mine! Interestingly (or maybe not!) all six goals Hibs scored in those three games were at the school end (unless my memory has failed me again)
21-08-2020, 09:09 AM
Fair play to you mate, your memory is better than mine! Interestingly (or maybe not!) all six goals Hibs scored in those three games were at the school end (unless my memory has failed me again)
100% correct in that all six were scored at school end.
The two McBride goals however were scored at the Hearts end as we were in the Gorgie Road end at that time.
21-08-2020, 09:26 AM
Ally Mcleod scored at the Gorgie Road end and a guy ran on from the enclosure and assaulted him.
21-08-2020, 09:26 AM
We should never have been 2 down at half time anyway we bossed them. I was at the game, my dad watching at home and I mind speaking to him on the phone at half time and we were both in the same mind that we’d come back into it. Just had a feeling. I’d go as far to say that’s probably my favourite game at Tynecastle including times I’ve seen us win there. Absolute bedlam when Hanlon equalised
Ally Mcleod scored at the Gorgie Road end and a guy ran on from the enclosure and assaulted him.
So did Deeks and a ghost assaulted a Jambo who had ran on to assault Deeks.
Favourite goal at the school end has to be Paddy Stanton's injury time equaliser. Loads of assaults outside after that one, they were happy at all.
Saying that Hanlon's goal was so important and the players' celebrations showed what a good group they were.
21-08-2020, 09:33 AM
Only top 3?!🤪
Such is my glee at winning the cup, I’d have to say that Stubbs is by far my favourite Hibs manager of all time. The same goes for Sir David Gray and Saint Anthony of Stokes - not the best ever Hibs players, but hell, they’re by far and away my favourite!
Jock Stein was Hibs best manager and if he had stayed we would have won everything.
But he left for his personal favourites.
Sweet Left Peg
21-08-2020, 09:42 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e13KjAdArvc&feature=emb_logo
Cummings goal at 4.10, when he turns to take a peek to see if his looping header is dropping in. Great goal, alangordonesque. They will be incandescent at themselves about this game forever.
His eyes go straight to where the ball is which tells me the ball goes where he intended. He meant to send that header to the back post, no doubt about it.
Of course. Any striker worth his salt knows that path to goal, very canny.
21-08-2020, 09:45 AM
I was due to catch the Aberdeen train after the game. At 2-0 kept looking at my watch thinking if i leave now i can get an earlier train that intended and be in hotel at a sencile time. Boy am i glad i kept saying i'll give it 5 more minutes. GGTTH
AltheHibby
21-08-2020, 10:02 AM
That fouls start is telling.
Sergio sledge
21-08-2020, 10:50 AM
I'd forgotten that Sam Nicolson was such a creep grabbing his dong in celebration in front of our fans. We got the last laugh there!
McSwanky
21-08-2020, 11:12 AM
I'd forgotten that Sam Nicolson was such a creep grabbing his dong in celebration in front of our fans. We got the last laugh there!
Forgot all about that guy. What a strange wee fellow he was.
21-08-2020, 11:19 AM
No he never. Never got close to Ally at all. It was the ref he went to. Probably about 10mins injury time! The scrapping outside was possibly the height of all Edinburgh Derby warfare. I was 15 and absolutely ****ting it I don’t mind admitting. Eamonn Bannon I think owned our midfield that day. Or at least until about 5 to 5 :flag:
21-08-2020, 02:47 PM
No he never. Never got close to Ally at all. It was the ref he went to. Probably about 10mins injury time! The scrapping outside was possibly the height of all Edinburgh Derby warfare. I was 15 and absolutely ****ting it I don’t mind admitting. Eamonn Bannon I think owned our midfield that day. Or at least until about 5 to 5 :flag:
Aye it was brutal after that game along Dalry Road, we had to take refuge in a tenement block to avoid it. Then a sprint all the way to a safe boozer at Haymarket. Even worse than the East of Scotland shield game at ER when Gerry O'Brien scored the winner... mayhem.
Newry Hibs
21-08-2020, 02:53 PM
For the cup game - I was watching at home with my son. Just made it 2-1 and my in-laws trundled up the drive for a visit. Had to press record and we both agreed to not find the score out until we watched it 'live'. It was killing me trying to be civil - but so glad the way it worked out.
21-08-2020, 04:00 PM
Pat Stantons late equaliser in the 2-2 game was a bit tasty too.
fiolex1
21-08-2020, 04:43 PM
Was watching my son play for Currie RFC against Livingston RFC away. Ran down to clubhouse after the final whistle only to see we were 2-0 down. Currie RFC dads were all mostly mambos so took great delight at the comeback. To be fair I was the only one really watching the game.
Saint Hibee
21-08-2020, 05:07 PM
What was all that crotch grabbing about? Was there a specific reason? Or is it just a Jambo thing?
21-08-2020, 05:11 PM
Pat Stantons late equaliser in the 2-2 game was a bit tasty too.
1 all it was, half my mates had left but I stayed, scenes!
21-08-2020, 05:12 PM
What was all that crotch grabbing about? Was there a specific reason? Or is it just a Jambo thing?
Just a typical wee ned yam, plain and simple
21-08-2020, 05:22 PM
John O’Neil at our end was bedlam too.
speedy_gonzales
21-08-2020, 05:23 PM
Was it not around the time there was a saucy picture/video of his then girlfriend doing the rounds,,,, think the laddie took it a bit tight and this was him giving a big GIRFUY!
21-08-2020, 08:37 PM
Was it not around the time there was a saucy picture/video of his then girlfriend doing the rounds,,,, think the laddie took it a bit tight and this was him giving a big GIRFUY!
Sure he was getting it tight from us singing some little ditty about his girlfriend. He should have been booked though.
Decided not to watch the game and went to IKEA shopping. While going round, checked the score 2-0.....same old hibs. Checked phone on way home 2-1. Ach I'll chuck on the last few minutes, running about the house like a madman when we equalised. Only 1 team was ever going to win the replay.
21-08-2020, 08:55 PM
Sure he was getting it tight from us singing some little ditty about his girlfriend. He should have been booked though.
It was something to do with Instagram
Sam away from the pitch is a good lad, think he was just reacting to the online abuse he was getting
He turned down the famous to sign for Bristol Rovers
21-08-2020, 09:39 PM
Sam away from the pitch is a good lad, think he was just reacting to the online abuse he was getting
Think she meant to send him a photo but accidentally sent it to the world instead.
‘Sammy Nicholson, your birds on my phone’ was the song being sung prior to him scoring.
21-08-2020, 10:47 PM
The equaliser in this game and the one at Parkhead in the League Cup Final remain as the standouts for the wildest celebrations I've ever been in. The cup final @2-2 and 3-2 are on a slightly different scale.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
21-08-2020, 10:51 PM
That’s now him and Soutar. You”re too close to this lot, get distancing. Nicolson’s clearly a hole.
21-08-2020, 10:53 PM
John O’Neil at our end was bedlam too.
Sauzee remained unbeaten.
21-08-2020, 10:54 PM
Aye it was brutal after that game along Dalry Road, we had to take refuge in a tenement block to avoid it. Then a sprint all the way to a safe boozer at Haymarket. Even worse than the East of Scotland shield game at ER when Gerry O'Brien scored the winner... mayhem.
I got a boot in the shins as far away as York Place on the walk back!
In my time watching Hibs, the replay is comfortably the worst I have ever felt at a game.
90 minutes felt like 90 hours. Just desperate to beat them.
22-08-2020, 06:42 AM
In my time watching Hibs, the replay is comfortably the worst I have ever felt at a game.
90 minutes felt like 90 hours. Just desperate to beat them.
That was the game their big striker scored about 7 and was offside every time eh? What a player.
eezyrider
22-08-2020, 08:17 AM
Was that the game where, as the game was coming to a close, half the Hearts end seemed to disappear only to reappear in the old shed end, leading to fights and mini pitch invasion?
EZ
22-08-2020, 08:18 AM
That’s now him and Soutar. You”re too close to this lot, get distancing. Nicolson’s clearly a hole.
Was before Covid 19😄
22-08-2020, 09:02 AM
Was that the game where, as the game was coming to a close, half the Hearts end seemed to disappear only to reappear in the old shed end, leading to fights and mini pitch invasion?
EZ
Aye it was. I'm not sure why there was so much bedlam at that game to be honest.
22-08-2020, 09:14 AM
Aye it was. I'm not sure why there was so much bedlam at that game to be honest.
Not that many police about. Was it normal in those days for the police not to have barriers on Albion Road? I always went the opposite way.
22-08-2020, 11:08 AM
Nasty atmosphere on and off the pitch that day, Busby sent off for snapping Arthur Duncan. Not many derbies at the time either due to them, then us, suffering relegation. EOSS was all we had for a few seasons.
22-08-2020, 11:37 AM
Nasty atmosphere on and off the pitch that day, Busby sent off for snapping Arthur Duncan. Not many derbies at the time either due to them, then us, suffering relegation. EOSS was all we had for a few seasons.
Aye of course, Busby, how could I forget. I was right beside the tunnel when he went through Bobby Smith and Arthur in quick succession. 2 of the worst tackles you'll ever see, vicious, over the ball, probably 2 footed as well. The sound of the snap was horrific but luckily it was just Arthur's shinpad although he was stretchered off in agony.
22-08-2020, 11:47 AM
I think most fans thought it was game over at half time but Stubbs and the players thought otherwise.
22-08-2020, 11:57 AM
I think most fans thought it was game over at half time but Stubbs and the players thought otherwise.
Not so sure about that. We felt that if we got the next goal we were right back in it. The support was fantastic, never let up and got right behind the team for the whole match.
InchHibby
22-08-2020, 12:10 PM
The first thing I noticed was the way they came out in the second half, I just knew that they had been told to play it tight and hold onto the lead. If they had come at us again the scoreline may have been different. The thing was though, we were up for the fight, with nothing to lose we went for it, had them on the ropes and they knew it. I think after the first goal went in they actually panicked more and as we all know, it went into a money spinning replay. What a day that was and to beat them on the way to winning it made it all the more sweeter for us and most likely cost Robbie his job.
CL0762
22-08-2020, 12:20 PM
I disagree. Certainly where I was, we felt it was never a 2-0 game. We had them just couldn’t get the breakthrough.
Absolute utter bedlam when Hanlon’s goal went in, only time celebrating I’ve somehow ended up a row behind rather than 5/6 in front.
The Pointer
22-08-2020, 05:35 PM
Favourite goal at the school end has to be Paddy Stanton's injury time equaliser. Loads of assaults outside after that one, they were happy at all.
I was 'asked to leave the ground' and told "do not attempt to re-enter" but managed to get back in a minute before Pat scored. Brilliant timing!