View Full Version : What is the deal with Aaron Hickey?
Dr What If?
16-08-2020, 11:09 AM
Last season Hearts were rank (except against us of course) and post/pre season they have been something between the laughing stock and complete liability to Scottish football. I'm far from an expert on their players and but outside of all the bleating and crying from Edinburgh's self crowned 'big team' are all these stories about European super teams chasing this lad Hickey.
You could be forgiven for thinking they had uncovered the next Messi.....but again, last season they were rank, only four wins, relegated! It doesn't add up! I know you can have a good player in a pish team (FWIW I do really rate Naismith and if he wasn't injured as much I don't think they would have gone down) but if he was that good surely he would have turned a few games and kept them up?
So what are we talking about here? Should this kid be the first name on the Scotland sheet? According to Wiki he has just 3 U17 caps, why are the papers citing so many BIG name clubs chasing the signature of this kid?
16-08-2020, 11:16 AM
I guess at 18 it's more about the potential for what he could do rather than actually making a game winning difference from left back at that age.
I haven't seen him play apart from the 2 derbies last year so no idea how good he is at the moment. I think it was him who scored one against us though, big deflection but still decent positivity from an 18 year old to go for it.
Ideally he'd leave hearts on the cheap before developing into a good player for Scotland - what is it with us and left backs at the moment?
EI255
16-08-2020, 11:17 AM
Good agent obviously.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
He is an excellent player.
I'm not sure if there is any truth in the various visits to big teams or if it's just Hearts and his agent trying to drum up a bit interest but it wouldn't shock me at all to see him playing at the top level if he keeps developing. The best place to do that is as far away from Hearts as possible.
Last season Hearts were rank (except against us of course) and post/pre season they have been something between the laughing stock and complete liability to Scottish football. I'm far from an expert on their players and but outside of all the bleating and crying from Edinburgh's self crowned 'big team' are all these stories about European super teams chasing this lad Hickey.
You could be forgiven for thinking they had uncovered the next Messi.....but again, last season they were rank, only four wins, relegated! It doesn't add up! I know you can have a good player in a pish team (FWIW I do really rate Naismith and if he wasn't injured as much I don't think they would have gone down) but if he was that good surely he would have turned a few games and kept them up?
So what are we talking about here? Should this kid be the first name on the Scotland sheet? According to Wiki he has just 3 U17 caps, why are the papers citing so many BIG name clubs chasing the signature of this kid?
He was only 17 last season and one of there better players. He was never going to be good enough at that age to single handedly dictate/win games (Especially from left back) but he does look pretty decent for his age. If he goes to a massive flub then he’ll be signing as an investment to sell on, not because they’re planning on playing him.
16-08-2020, 11:18 AM
His contract is up next season I think so could be agent/Herts trying to get some cash in for him. Always seems to be the red tops linking him rather than any "football people".
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
16-08-2020, 11:19 AM
He is the greatest footballer ever produced by hearts in a long line of players they have sold for multi millions who have gone on to be global superstars. You know like Andrew Driver, Calum Elliot, hairy Cockring, etc. In the last 40 years the ott reporting of all things hearts has been beyond belief. He is a decent young player, nothing more. He may go on to great things but the way this is being spun its like he is the next Messi
16-08-2020, 11:23 AM
He apparently hates it at hearts and wanted to go back to Celtic as soon as he signed. That tells me he’s got the correct mentality.
16-08-2020, 11:25 AM
Top european clubs hoover up talents for 500k all the time. They end up being sold in a few years for a few million without every really doing anything.
Dan Sarf
16-08-2020, 11:25 AM
He was only 17 last season and one of there better players. He was never going to be good enough at that age to single handedly dictate/win games (Especially from left back) but he does look pretty decent for his age. If he goes to a massive flub then he’ll be signing as an investment to sell on, not because they’re planning on playing him.
He's at a massive flub already :agree:
16-08-2020, 11:26 AM
He is a very good player especially for his age.
16-08-2020, 11:27 AM
It’s good marketing. Decent player that would no doubt be of interest to the Championship (like Patterson) but the hype is unreal. They’ve ether got the Hearn’s doing bits for them or we’ve found out Ann Budge’s successful business was in PR and Marketing.
16-08-2020, 11:38 AM
It’s good marketing. Decent player that would no doubt be of interest to the Championship (like Patterson) but the hype is unreal. They’ve ether got the Hearn’s doing bits for them or we’ve found out Ann Budge’s successful business was in PR and Marketing.
That’s where I’m at. Massively overhyped. They did the same thing with Cockring and look how that’s turned out. Hickey is better than him but still unproven.
16-08-2020, 11:41 AM
Decent prospect in a team on a downward cycle, the root of the problem is they rarely have someone where there is real interest in them like we've had with our prospects.
They're desperate for attention/ recognition that goes with their perceived bigliness so with their media pals they ensure over promotion of the conveyor belt of guys like Cochrane, Nicholson, Templeton, Burns, Clare etc who ironically end up at Hearts (Championship) level or worse.
Hickeys going to walk for nothing if the agent doesn't manage to persuade someone to sign him this window.
At the end of the day he was part of an abysmal team that managed 4 wins and got relegated.
16-08-2020, 12:02 PM
Andy Robertson couldn't keep Hull up either a few years ago.
16-08-2020, 12:10 PM
Good player
16-08-2020, 12:11 PM
It’s just the usual PR spin from Hearts and his agent trying to make as much money as they can. I’ve lost count of the wonder kids that have came through their youth system in recent years and almost all of them have disappeared without trace.
Bronson
16-08-2020, 12:13 PM
This is a really weird thread. The kid’s a good player, very good for his age. That’s all there is to it.
16-08-2020, 12:14 PM
It’s just the usual PR spin from Hearts and his agent trying to make as much money as they can. I’ve lost count of the wonder kids that have came through their youth system in recent years and almost all of them have disappeared without trace.
Are Celtic not due a % of his transfer fee?
HendoDelivered
16-08-2020, 12:19 PM
Who actually cares?
16-08-2020, 12:20 PM
Are Celtic not due a % of his transfer fee?
30%
16-08-2020, 12:29 PM
Is he really that much better than what we have seen if Doig?
Think the rest of the team are so poor its made him look better than he actually is.
16-08-2020, 01:19 PM
He’s a good player.
16-08-2020, 03:02 PM
Top european clubs hoover up talents for 500k all the time. They end up being sold in a few years for a few million without every really doing anything.
Yup. An example of that would be Slivka. I highly doubt at any stage Slivka was ever expected to be a Juventus first team squad member. These guys are signed up for business reasons by these teams.
Dr What If?
16-08-2020, 04:21 PM
Never thought about this before but I guess this does make good business sense. A year or two at a Barcelona or PSG and the player carries a premier brand name that future clubs will be paying a premium for. Whats worth more, an 18 year old who played a year with the worst team in the SPL or a player who spent a year coming off the bench in the PSG reserves? Difference could be a £1m or two. A nice wee trick stolen from the retail industry no doubt :agree:
16-08-2020, 04:21 PM
He’s a good player.
He is
16-08-2020, 04:24 PM
Who actually cares?
Correct. I couldn't care less. They aren't even in our league but some folk are still obsessed about them.
16-08-2020, 04:30 PM
Correct. I couldn't care less. They aren't even in our league but some folk are still obsessed about them.
Is it that strange to discuss a Scottish player who is apparently being looked at by some of the biggest clubs in the world? I mean it’s hardly like it happens very often.
16-08-2020, 04:39 PM
Good player, great potential. Nothing against him. Just ashame he's a wee hearts c***
Dr What If?
16-08-2020, 04:41 PM
Its not an obsession with them, its a question about a Scottish kid who is apparently wanted by some of the biggest clubs in the world - doesn't matter if he plays for Hearts or any other club. We have been starved of true world class players for a generation....if PSG are interested I want him to be that good, I don't care if he's a Hearts player or not. He isn't someone I've noticed making headlines on the pitch though, very few U17 caps as well....was interested to hear the views of those who knew more about him than I did.
He is a good talent, particularly further up the pitch as his defending does need to improve, as someone said up the thread Doig is a good player too and he's looking like he could be a top level player if he works hard and keeps a level head.
If Andy Robertson has done something it's definitely to prove to these boys that being a dedicated pro can be worth it. SJM and Tierney as well.
16-08-2020, 05:39 PM
According to kickback, his dad is his agent and has already said he wont stay on at hearts.
They need to sell before his contract expires I’m assuming.
16-08-2020, 05:40 PM
All the moves he has been offered so far are obviously steps down. Perhaps waiting to see how the Barca clear out goes and then he will settle for a move sideways.
16-08-2020, 06:03 PM
He's ok and like most young defenders makes horrendous mistakes from time to time.He has a good attitude but isn't a player I'd pick out as the next Scottish megastar.
16-08-2020, 06:09 PM
Any time I watched him on tv he made mistake after mistake and looked a bit like a headless chicken in the Hearts defence. But, what the **** do I know.:confused:
16-08-2020, 06:12 PM
According to kickback, his dad is his agent and has already said he wont stay on at hearts.
They need to sell before his contract expires I’m assuming.
Last I heard Levein was trying to become his agent. Trying to keep himself relevant.
16-08-2020, 06:15 PM
who gives a **** he plays for hertz, we are all Hibs.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
16-08-2020, 06:43 PM
He completely ran the show when they beat us at ER. He was all over the park. Some engine on the laddie. I wished he played for Hibs tbh.
16-08-2020, 06:47 PM
The boy is a very good prospect. Good luck to him. Hope Hearts get a ***** deal.
16-08-2020, 07:15 PM
His contract is up next season I think so could be agent/Herts trying to get some cash in for him. Always seems to be the red tops linking him rather than any "football people".
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Hearts have been trying to sell him for at least a year. It’s pretty desperate.
Budge and co reckon they are going to get big bucks for the laddie.... however he’s in the last year of his contract and wont command a fee anywhere near what they think he’s worth.
I think he will head back to Celtic for less than a million quid minus the percentage which was due
NC1875
16-08-2020, 07:27 PM
I don’t get people saying he looks great. Don’t see it myself
and think all this talk is coming out of hearts tbh.
SuperAllyMcleod
16-08-2020, 07:31 PM
He may yet turn out to be a decent player and, from what I’ve seen, he’s pretty good going forward. However, he has made some horrendous defensive errors that don’t seem to get highlighted - presumably because of his age and that he’s Scottish.
If he makes similar mistakes in the Championship then his value will drop pretty quickly so I reckon they are trying to cash in ASAP but, as with their court case, they have greatly over estimated his worth. They will do well to get £500k.
16-08-2020, 09:31 PM
What prompted you to open, read and post on the thread Brooster? :dunno:
16-08-2020, 09:36 PM
🤣🤣🤣 OP on a fishing trip that’s leading to arguing.
16-08-2020, 09:45 PM
Good agent obviously.
His agent is Liam Odonnell, he was David Goodwillie lawyer at the time his rape case was first exposed.
16-08-2020, 09:47 PM
He is an excellent player.
I'm not sure if there is any truth in the various visits to big teams or if it's just Hearts and his agent trying to drum up a bit interest but it wouldn't shock me at all to see him playing at the top level if he keeps developing. The best place to do that is as far away from Hearts as possible.
All these teams have genuinely been looking & enquiring about him.
KingPat4
16-08-2020, 10:12 PM
Seriously, who gives a ****?
16-08-2020, 10:27 PM
He’s young and has potential, he’d cost buttons for a big club, so it’s more cost effective for them to buy up a bunch of kids like them and get 1 or 2 first team players out of it than let someone else do that and it ends up costing them tens of millions to buy in a first teamer.
If he goes to one of those giant clubs it’s not going to be to play, but I’d wish him luck anyway. Ultimately I’d prefer as many good Scottish kids as possible to be exposed to the sort of coaching and sporting culture that will exist at the Bayern’s of the world.
16-08-2020, 10:57 PM
Is he really that much better than what we have seen if Doig?
Nope, in fact I would say that Doig is a better defender than Hickey.
16-08-2020, 11:00 PM
Hearts have been trying to sell him for at least a year. It’s pretty desperate.
Budge and co reckon they are going to get big bucks for the laddie.... however he’s in the last year of his contract and wont command a fee anywhere near what they think he’s worth.
I think he will head back to Celtic for less than a million quid minus the percentage which was due
Levein said on Sportsound the other week that Hearts had turned down numerous offers from Celtic over the last year or so for Hickey.
Wonder what the bids were roughly:hmmm:
16-08-2020, 11:41 PM
Behave.
16-08-2020, 11:43 PM
Levein said on Sportsound the other week that Hearts had turned down numerous offers from Celtic over the last year or so for Hickey.
Like I said, Hickey and his dad wanted back to Celtic as soon as he joined hearts. Levein has tried to be his agent. Hickey hates it at hearts.
17-08-2020, 06:36 AM
Like I said, Hickey and his dad wanted back to Celtic as soon as he joined hearts. Levein has tried to be his agent. Hickey hates it at hearts.
According to football transfer market his agent is PLG.
www.plg-group.co.uk
The guy is technically good, seems to have more brain cells than the average footballer and energy which seems a must for any full back these days.
When Patterson moved down south I expected more as he was powerful . Hickey is still very slant and that may go against him. You need some muscle on you and even the smallest players are built.
Celtic have tried to get him several times - will be trying again still I’m sure. As every day passes though his value drops so it’s not doing Hearts any favours and probably a distraction / much needed cash required when he leaves.
17-08-2020, 07:05 AM
If Hearts get 2million for him with his contract running out I'd be astounded. They'll probably call it undisclosed
17-08-2020, 07:33 AM
Easy to forget that he has only just turned 18 - very good talent for his age. Has a long way to go and needs to be a billion miles away from Hearts if he wants to develop.
17-08-2020, 07:35 AM
Imaginary. The bids were imaginary.
17-08-2020, 07:46 AM
Probably started at a fiver and then went up by a fiver each time it was increased. :greengrin
Only partly joking.
17-08-2020, 09:31 AM
Far to many green tinted glasses on this thread! The lad is a good player and has great potential!
If he was ours, he would be the next Messi! He's not so he's a numpty!!!!
17-08-2020, 10:02 AM
Far to many green tinted glasses on this thread! The lad is a good player and has great potential!
If he was ours, he would be the next Messi! He's not so he's a numpty!!!!
No he wouldn't because we seem to talk down players who are performing for us and believe the hype about every other teams young players. Look at how quickly someone trying to big up Doig on this thread got shot down. I'm not having it. Plenty of players in that age group have great potential. Until that potential turns into standout performances in several big games then he's just another overhyped yam urchin with a good agent.
17-08-2020, 10:08 AM
No he wouldn't because we seem to talk down players who are performing for us and believe the hype about every other teams young players. Look at how quickly someone trying to big up Doig on this thread got shot down. I'm not having it. Plenty of players in that age group have great potential. Until that potential turns into standout performances in several big games then he's just another overhyped yam urchin with a good agent.
He had a great game in the cup final, played well against Hibs in both games at ER, played well in numerous other games.
I’ve no desire to big up a Hearts player, but he’s a good player.
17-08-2020, 10:21 AM
I guess at 18 it's more about the potential for what he could do rather than actually making a game winning difference from left back at that age.
I haven't seen him play apart from the 2 derbies last year so no idea how good he is at the moment. I think it was him who scored one against us though, big deflection but still decent positivity from an 18 year old to go for it.
Ideally he'd leave hearts on the cheap before developing into a good player for Scotland - what is it with us and left backs at the moment?
You could also say "Celtic and left backs" given they have all come via the Celtic youth development.
17-08-2020, 10:22 AM
Undoubtedly a good prospect.
Anytime I've seen him play I've always thought he'd be more effective in midfield.
dalkeith stu
17-08-2020, 10:23 AM
Personally dont see it. Good engine but is all arms when near an opponent which he seem to get away with. Must be learning alot from Berra!!
17-08-2020, 12:17 PM
Not seen enough of him to say whether good or not does seem a little bizarre the tour of Europe he seems to be doing as kind of suggests the teams aren't too bothered. Think 36 years old Burkey ripped him a new one last season. Seems a good athlete however from little I have seen technically limited.
17-08-2020, 01:13 PM
I would say that so is Doidge!
17-08-2020, 01:15 PM
Celtic have had a bid for him accepted apparently.
Stokesy's on fire
17-08-2020, 02:12 PM
He's one of those players that looks the part when nobody is close to him. but the minute an opposing player gets anywhere near him he turns to mush.
17-08-2020, 02:29 PM
How does that work with the 30% sell on? Hearts have to pay Celtic to take Hickey? Pleasing
17-08-2020, 02:35 PM
He's also just signed a five year contract with Bayern Munich.
Gonna be a busy lad.
17-08-2020, 04:56 PM
The Bayern signing story appears to be getting a bit of traction, but the only newspaper that appear to have 'confirmed' the move is *** ***, and I'm not giving them the benefit of any click!
Dr What If?
17-08-2020, 05:00 PM
Any word on the fee? BBC not reporting it yet. Hope he has better luck than Ryan Gauld, when he went to Porto the media had him hyped to the rafters.
17-08-2020, 05:04 PM
Any word on the fee? BBC not reporting it yet. Hope he has better luck than Ryan Gauld, when he went to Porto the media had him hyped to the rafters.
1.7 Million I seen reported somewhere. Was a German Twitter account though. So could be €. Or, alternatively, could be complete BS.
17-08-2020, 05:19 PM
Gonna be a busy lad.
No he’s not. He’s wanting Celtic.
17-08-2020, 05:19 PM
How does that work with the 30% sell on? Hearts have to pay Celtic to take Hickey? Pleasing
£1.5m to Celtic.
17-08-2020, 05:38 PM
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18657258.aaron-hickey-not-completed-bayern-munich-move-continues-weigh-options/
This is why *** *** could publish something telling me what day of the week it was and I'd still consult a calendar to check.
He'd be better off going to Bayern than along the M8 to sit on Celtc's bench - the chance to deputise and learn from Alphonso Davies could absolutely transform the young man's life.
17-08-2020, 08:04 PM
Brilliant young player, he was head and shoulders above anyone else in their team when they played us last season.
18-08-2020, 06:32 PM
The Bayern signing story appears to be getting a bit of traction, but the only newspaper that appear to have 'confirmed' the move is *** ***, and I'm not giving them the benefit of any click!
He was 100% at Bayern to look round the gaff, not to say they will be signing him.
19-08-2020, 12:22 AM
Didn't even play once for Porto...although that's probably because he signed for Sporting.
Byron Hutchison is a good follow for info on scots abroad, he seems to think the deal looks “likely“
https://twitter.com/ByronHutchison?s=21
virtualhibby
19-08-2020, 07:00 AM
Brilliant young player, he was head and shoulders above anyone else in their team when they played us last season.
ST holder at Tynecastle tells me other than the games against Hibs, he is rotten and that he will be glad to see him gone. I’ve always thought he looked OK, but interesting perspective from someone who sees him every game. Playing in a rank rotten side doesn’t help tho.
19-08-2020, 08:55 AM
ST holder at Tynecastle tells me other than the games against Hibs, he is rotten and that he will be glad to see him gone. I’ve always thought he looked OK, but interesting perspective from someone who sees him every game. Playing in a rank rotten side doesn’t help tho.
To be fair, we have players that some fans hate and some fans love!
If he's as bad as your friend says, why are Bayern even looking at him, or Celtic for that matter????
19-08-2020, 11:18 AM
Only confirms that Jambos know nothing about football and are champions of the petted lip when things go against them.
19-08-2020, 11:53 AM
Bayern have an extensive and global youth programme. They signed a young Kiwi from Wellington Phoenix last year (Sarpreet Singh) for over $1m NZD. Like Hickey he was a good prospect but hadn’t been in the team that long. He’s played a handful of games in and around the first team, mostly played for Bayern II and is now going on loan to Nuremberg.
In that context, this signing is not as weird as it sounds. I was thinking how crazy it was this time last year re: Singh!
virtualhibby
19-08-2020, 04:12 PM
To be fair, we have players that some fans hate and some fans love!
If he's as bad as your friend says, why are Bayern even looking at him, or Celtic for that matter????
They must see potential for sure, maybe like Hamburg saw potential in David Bates. 🤔
19-08-2020, 05:27 PM
Good going forward poor at the back imo.
Saturday Boy
19-08-2020, 06:46 PM
Good going forward poor at the back imo.
That sounds remarkably like my lockdown haircut.
19-08-2020, 06:46 PM
That sounds remarkably like my lockdown haircut.
😂😂
EI255
19-08-2020, 07:00 PM
Anyone else get the feeling he'll be back in Scotland (Hearts) before you know it? Just like all the other promising young guys.
19-08-2020, 07:27 PM
They must see potential for sure, maybe like Hamburg saw potential in David Bates. 🤔
Well they’ve fought off confirmed interest from ‘special relationship’ Liverpool and ‘everyone knows how close we are’ Man City so have no doubt paid at least £10m for him.
19-08-2020, 07:29 PM
He was useless at Rangers, no idea what Hamburg saw in him
24-08-2020, 10:51 PM
From Bologna to Lyon to Munich but is the most publicised Grand Tour for some time actually going to end rather drably in the east end of Glasgow?
25-08-2020, 05:53 AM
From Bologna to Lyon to Munich but is the most publicised Grand Tour for some time actually going to end rather drably in the east end of Glasgow?
It’s been like one of the hype tours that the big boxing fights do - I remember Mayweather v Hatton flying all over the place to square up to eachother and sell some PPV.
25-08-2020, 06:04 AM
Hearts fans were right all along about the famed Celtic clause. :greengrin
25-08-2020, 06:17 AM
What about Cochrane? Be must be nearing a Barcelona switch by now surely? Ideal replacement for Iniesta.
25-08-2020, 06:48 AM
As soon as Bolingoli was found out to be breaking rules, I thought they’d be back in the market for a left back
By the time Celtic get their 30% sell on clause, won’t be many maroon pounds heading Gorgie way
25-08-2020, 06:54 AM
What about Cochrane? Be must be nearing a Barcelona switch by now surely? Ideal replacement for Iniesta.
Cochrane is now 19 and in the final year of his contract, Hearts won't play him in the championship and he will end up leaving at the end of his contract. He will move to another club play well and the tears and snotters from the Jambos as they say will be pleasing
Cochrane is now 19 and in the final year of his contract, Hearts won't play him in the championship and he will end up leaving at the end of his contract. He will move to another club play well and the tears and snotters from the Jambos as they say will be pleasingBest known for the "tackle" on McGinn.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
25-08-2020, 07:20 AM
Cochrane is now 19 and in the final year of his contract, Hearts won't play him in the championship and he will end up leaving at the end of his contract. He will move to another club play well and the tears and snotters from the Jambos as they say will be pleasing
Was the laddie good at one point and it went to his head or did he just fall off their hype machine?
25-08-2020, 08:15 AM
Was the laddie good at one point and it went to his head or did he just fall off their hype machine?
Levein ridiculously overhyped him and then overplayed him resulting in regular injuries. Not sure if he as ever that good as would surely be playing for a poor Hearts team or absolutely knocking it out the park at Dunfermline where I think he has been on the bench a lot.
25-08-2020, 08:16 AM
I think he was decent just managed very badly, but that's not surprising.
MikeyS
25-08-2020, 08:18 AM
I'll be amazed if he ever plays for a bigger club than Hearts. Ridiculously over hyped cause he once booted John McGinn and was part of a winning side v Celtic.
25-08-2020, 08:25 AM
I'll be amazed if he ever plays for a bigger club than Hearts. Ridiculously over hyped cause he once booted John McGinn and was part of a winning side v Celtic.
He’s a young kid..got lots of time to develop..perhaps played too Many games too early. Needs to find his confidence and form again . I think he’s got a lot of talent - but still got a long way to go ...
MikeyS
25-08-2020, 08:31 AM
He’s a young kid..got lots of time to develop..perhaps played too Many games too early. Needs to find his confidence and form again . I think he’s got a lot of talent - but still got a long way to go ...
I've always thought the other lad that played beside him that day, McDonald maybe?, was the better prospect. Cochrane just got the headlines cos he was so young.
25-08-2020, 08:42 AM
No he’s not. He’s wanting Celtic.
A wee pal of mine in the NHS works beside a family member and apparently it’s a Celtic daft family so it would make sense.
EAZY-ME
25-08-2020, 08:49 AM
No offer from celtic but they are paying 3.5m for turbull from motherwell
25-08-2020, 08:51 AM
No offer from celtic but they are paying 3.5m for turbull from motherwell
And yet they offered 1.5m for McGinn. Tramps.
25-08-2020, 08:57 AM
Better than McGinn according to a couple of Hearts supporting mates after they beat us 2-1 a few seasons ago. Great shout that
Saint Hibee
28-08-2020, 05:26 PM
I hope he signs for Bologna and does welll. Liam Henderson has shown that even if you don’t make it to Serie A level, you can still have an amazing experience and get a tan. Surely beats sitting on the bench at Parkhead. Best of luck to the boy.
28-08-2020, 08:43 PM
I hope he signs for Bologna and does welll. Liam Henderson has shown that even if you don’t make it to Serie A level, you can still have an amazing experience and get a tan. Surely beats sitting on the bench at Parkhead. Best of luck to the boy.
Italy is bloody marvelous. No brainer.
EI255
29-08-2020, 09:32 PM
Heard Bray Wanderers are making a late move for him. Season long loan then a friendly and Hearts to keep all the match day proceeds.
29-08-2020, 09:47 PM
A wee pal of mine in the NHS works beside a family member and apparently it’s a Celtic daft family so it would make sense.
Didnae mention the other side of the family were all Bologna daft mind you.
29-08-2020, 10:24 PM
Yup. Now I’m not for one second calling Liam Henderson an average player, but he’d done next to nothing in Scotland’s top tier. He went off to Italy, lives a great life and plays a good level of football. If I was a footballer in Scotland I’d be getting my agent to offer me round clubs abroad ASAP, I’m not quite sure why others don’t.
30-08-2020, 09:25 AM
Yup. Now I’m not for one second calling Liam Henderson an average player, but he’d done next to nothing in Scotland’s top tier. He went off to Italy, lives a great life and plays a good level of football. If I was a footballer in Scotland I’d be getting my agent to offer me round clubs abroad ASAP, I’m not quite sure why others don’t.
They wid miss the bevvy and goin oot gettin ratarsed with their mates. Not really done in Italy.
30-08-2020, 10:58 AM
They wid miss the bevvy and goin oot gettin ratarsed with their mates. Not really done in Italy.
Moving abroad for any young player under 25 is a huge thing I would expect your average Scottish laddie to struggle abroad and that is nowt to do with bevvy 🍸.
30-08-2020, 11:03 AM
Moving abroad for any young player under 25 is a huge thing I would expect your average Scottish laddie to struggle abroad and that is nowt to do with bevvy 🍸.
Why should that he true for footballers? There are hundreds probably thousands of Scottish kids who go abroad for work each year on gap years etc. And they don't have the advantage of being a molly coddled highly paid footballer.
30-08-2020, 11:07 AM
Bolonga a wonderful city to.