View Full Version : What's the chances of fans going back in September?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

15-08-2020, 10:22 PM
We can technically go back by the time of the Rangers game, but do we actually expect that to be in place? Will closed doors continue to be enforced for another month or more, especially considering what's happened?

I just don't see how it would be workable.

smithy_hibees
15-08-2020, 10:24 PM
Scotland’s game was down as a test event but unfortunately not going happen, I say November/December time if we are lucky

15-08-2020, 10:29 PM
No fans will be back until next year. Even then maybe March/April depending what happens when second wave really hits.

15-08-2020, 10:32 PM
I’m certainly not getting my hopes up for being in a stadium to see Hibs any time this year. Hope for the best, expect the worst. Might actually be a half decent thing when those freezing cold midweek games against Hamilton roll around in winter!

0 chance in September. If players can't be trusted to distance I don't see how letting even a thousand fans mingle at a game is going to happen in the short term.

I personally can't see it being allowed.

SweetDreams
15-08-2020, 10:38 PM
With Bars/Restaurants being unable to play any background music or live commentary, I can't see football fans being allowed back any time soon.

15-08-2020, 10:51 PM
Nae chance this year imo

supermcginn
15-08-2020, 10:55 PM
No fans will be back until next year. Even then maybe March/April depending what happens when second wave really hits.

Nonsense

15-08-2020, 11:03 PM
Nonsense

I wouldn’t say so.

Once we start to get into winter, cold and flu season kicks in, which obviously in terms of symptoms are pretty indistinguishable from Covid, leading to lots more people having to self isolate, either directly or indirectly, as well as the increased pressure on the NHS.

That’s not to say back into full on lockdown, but certainly no further lifting of social distancing till we’re out the other side. Maybe not as far off as Easter, sure, but I’d be stunned if fans are back even in the New Year.

15-08-2020, 11:14 PM
Nonsense

I don't think it's nonsense at all. I think it's highly possible.

The Tubs
15-08-2020, 11:56 PM
Once winter kicks in, there will be a real second wave. I can’t see anything changing. I think we’ll be lucky if football continues.

16-08-2020, 12:28 AM
I wouldn’t say so.

Once we start to get into winter, cold and flu season kicks in, which obviously in terms of symptoms are pretty indistinguishable from Covid, leading to lots more people having to self isolate, either directly or indirectly, as well as the increased pressure on the NHS.

That’s not to say back into full on lockdown, but certainly no further lifting of social distancing till we’re out the other side. Maybe not as far off as Easter, sure, but I’d be stunned if fans are back even in the New Year.

Why would people self isolate if they had a cold?

Anyone who thinks they have Covid can have a test to check.

Badabing
16-08-2020, 06:06 AM
Nonsense

Can you explain why you think this?

16-08-2020, 06:13 AM
Nothing will be happening until there’s a vaccine imo

Fergos
16-08-2020, 06:32 AM
Nonsense

How is someone’s opinion nonsense?

16-08-2020, 06:34 AM
Once winter kicks in, there will be a real second wave. I can’t see anything changing. I think we’ll be lucky if football continues.

Melbourne were reporting only single digit cases only a few weeks ago, relaxed some restrictions, then got hit with a second wave and numbers increased exponentially.

Full lock down in place again.

This virus only needs a tiny opening, so I think it would be unwise to plan for supporters returning at the moment.

I have a fear that you might experience the Melbourne syndrome before That happens.

16-08-2020, 06:38 AM

Coughs and sneezes spread diseases!

The virus seems to like the cold...hence the number of meat works that are identified as clusters.

16-08-2020, 09:21 AM

So you'd be happy if the fan sitting next to you coughed throughout the game as long as they claimed that they'd tested negative a few days ago and "it's just a cold"?

How many people would agree with you?

16-08-2020, 10:05 AM
Ian Maxwell said on Sportsound that the Celtic/Dons situation "hasn't put the kibosh on trial crowds in September completely" but I got the impression we're looking at later in the year or even the new year before we see any significant change. A lot will likely depend on how the infection rate stacks up after everyone's back from holiday and also after the schools have been back for a few weeks. In terms of importance getting fans into stadiums probably doesn't rate that highly at present.

16-08-2020, 10:09 AM
It's too serious to rush. I miss ER but I'm happy to pay for my season and watch on TV over going back too soon, risking further outbreaks and extending this horrible virus.

16-08-2020, 11:39 AM
There was fans in at the snooker down in Sheffield yesterday so they’re trialling it down there. I suppose a lot will depend on how it goes down there.

16-08-2020, 11:40 AM
I think all the focus will be getting through the winter and the flu season unscathed. I'm not saying I agree with that, just what I think will happen.

March.

Fuzzywuzzy
16-08-2020, 11:44 AM
I don't think we'll be back this year. Lucky if back this season.

I was lucky that I can go back into the office a couple of days a week but we've been told that its likely to be the end of the March before folk can get back in.

16-08-2020, 11:47 AM
So you'd be happy if the fan sitting next to you coughed throughout the game as long as they claimed that they'd tested negative a few days ago and "it's just a cold"?

How many people would agree with you?
That's not the point i was making. I was responding to someone saying people would be self isolating because cold symptoms are similar to Covid.

Unclear how you extrapolate that into someone sitting next to me coughing........

16-08-2020, 11:51 AM
The main disappointment for me is this means the semi final and possible final will go ahead with no fans.

It would be just our luck to finally beat Hearts at Hampden but not actually be there to rub it in their faces.

16-08-2020, 11:56 AM
Nonsense

Says Global Pandemic specialist Emeritus Professor of Epidemiology supermcginn.

mcohibs
16-08-2020, 12:10 PM
Nonsense

Realistic

16-08-2020, 12:20 PM

I agree and have said this all along, no doubt this will be another quote for Paul Smith to use if I am wrong.

16-08-2020, 12:31 PM
Will clubs be too worried? The cost of opening grounds to restricted crowds could be the last financial straw.

16-08-2020, 12:33 PM

You’re not related to Prof Jason Leitch are you?

16-08-2020, 12:35 PM
There was fans in at the snooker down in Sheffield yesterday so they’re trialling it down there. I suppose a lot will depend on how it goes down there.

I know that you know this but it's a different government that's setting the rules on the snooker.

I highly doubt fans would be at the snooker this weekend if it had been held in Edinburgh.

16-08-2020, 01:20 PM
Says Global Pandemic specialist Emeritus Professor of Epidemiology supermcginn.

To be fair, you could say the same about everyone voicing their opinion on here. Bottom line is, nobody has the foggiest how things will pan out over the next months.

16-08-2020, 01:24 PM
I don't think the SG has this as a high priority, so the chances of having fans back in grounds looks less as every week passes.

16-08-2020, 01:27 PM
The main disappointment for me is this means the semi final and possible final will go ahead with no fans.

It would be just our luck to finally beat Hearts at Hampden but not actually be there to rub it in their faces.

Would you take winning the Cup again but the catch was we could only do it with no fans.

I certainly would take that.

16-08-2020, 01:28 PM
Would you take winning the Cup again but the catch was we could only do it with no fans.

I certainly would take that.

Of course!

16-08-2020, 02:37 PM
What second wave?

16-08-2020, 02:42 PM
Road test it at hampden for the cup semi
Hearts wont want any tickets on point of principle, as we know, so we could get 16,000 Hibs fans in there and still comply with social distancing

16-08-2020, 02:59 PM
What second wave?

Global numbers of new infections have hit a record high today. Arguable whether this can be described as a second wave or just a continuation of the first one. Either way it's a virus that shows little sign of abating.

16-08-2020, 03:04 PM
I don't think the SG has this as a high priority, so the chances of having fans back in grounds looks less as every week passes.

It’s not going to happen. It’s not just the attendance at games, the government won’t want to see mass travel to games or people trying to pack in to pubs pre-match. Since we came out of lockdown too many people think we are getting back to normal. We are in the eye of the storm just now, things are going to get worse again before they get better .

16-08-2020, 03:35 PM
Sorry if already mentioned but Uefa have now banned crowds at September's Nations League games.

16-08-2020, 03:51 PM

Theyve opened up too much down there and its showing in their figures tbh mate

Greenfly
16-08-2020, 04:02 PM
Zero chance of fans going back in Sept.

The dalmeny
16-08-2020, 04:55 PM
To be fair, you could say the same about everyone voicing their opinion on here. Bottom line is, nobody has the foggiest how things will pan out over the next months.

think that’s it mate, NZ hooked fans at one of their rugby games and cancelled the other with a relatively small outbreak. We just need to see how it goes and folk need to screw the nut. My major concern is folk will have symptoms and just go ‘I’ll be fine for the match’ and go and spread

16-08-2020, 05:03 PM

Posts like this annoy me, no offence intended.

You might end up being right but the fact is nobody knows just now but you’re taking one of the worst case scenarios and presenting it as a fact.

Time will tell if people get back into stadiums soon or not, imo we have a chance of getting them in before the end of the year but it’ll depend on a lot of factors going our way.

16-08-2020, 05:18 PM
There will be a second wave of the virus I think. Don't see it happening this season sadly. Hope to god I'm wrong.

16-08-2020, 05:20 PM
Posts like this annoy me, no offence intended.

You might end up being right but the fact is nobody knows just now but you’re taking one of the worst case scenarios and presenting it as a fact.

Time will tell if people get back into stadiums soon or not, imo we have a chance of getting them in before the end of the year but it’ll depend on a lot of factors going our way.
How is 90+2 presenting it as fact? He's just giving his opinion, it is a forum.

16-08-2020, 05:27 PM
How is 90+2 presenting it as fact? He's just giving his opinion, it is a forum.

“No fans will be back until next year”

That’s not giving an opinion, it’s telling us what’s happening, or not happening in this case.

16-08-2020, 05:28 PM

That’s not giving an opinion, it’s telling us what’s happening, or not happening in this case.

Depends how one words it.

IMO he's just giving an opinion, considering there wasn't any links attached to back it up as fact.

But each to their own.

16-08-2020, 05:28 PM

It’s an opinion. The delivery might not be the best but that’s all it is .

16-08-2020, 05:41 PM

Sounds like an opinion to me. Like has been said, nobody “knows”.

16-08-2020, 05:46 PM
Victoria Bar in Leith shut due to a customer testing positive for Covid19. No danger we’ll be back at ER soon sadly.

16-08-2020, 05:47 PM
I know that you know this but it's a different government that's setting the rules on the snooker.

I highly doubt fans would be at the snooker this weekend if it had been held in Edinburgh.
I agree but if fans are back in stadiums in England without any outbreaks from it then it will show it can be done safely. The government in Scotland were talking about allowing fans in as a test event for the Scotland game so I’m not sure where people are getting the next year stuff from.

16-08-2020, 05:51 PM

It's a pet peeve of mine too, I see where you're coming from.

However, we all know that no-one on here knows so it's not like anyone should take anything anyone says at face value.

16-08-2020, 05:54 PM
It’s an opinion. The delivery might not be the best but that’s all it is .

Yes, I suppose that’s essentially what I mean.

I don’t mind people thinking crowds wont be back until whenever, they may well be right. I just get annoyed at people presenting the worst case scenario as if it’s the only thing that could happen.

I just find posts like that so draining, cheer up man, nobody knows what’s ahead why assume the worst?!

16-08-2020, 05:57 PM
I agree but if fans are back in stadiums in England without any outbreaks from it then it will show it can be done safely. The government in Scotland were talking about allowing fans in as a test event for the Scotland game so I’m not sure where people are getting the next year stuff from.

UEFA has said no fans at September internationals.

16-08-2020, 06:02 PM
UEFA has said no fans at September internationals.
Yes I know, but the government were talking about allowing fans in before UEFA made that decision. If the government were prepared to allow fans into that game I would assume they’ll pick another event to test the water. My guess is they’ll pick a rugby game now as it would be an unfair advantage to any football team to have fans in. I’m just not understanding why people are saying next year when plans are in place for next month.

16-08-2020, 06:07 PM
Yes I know, but the government were talking about allowing fans in before UEFA made that decision. If the government were prepared to allow fans into that game I would assume they’ll pick another event to test the water. My guess is they’ll pick a rugby game now as it would be an unfair advantage to any football team to have fans in. I’m just not understanding why people are saying next year when plans are in place for next month.

I've no doubt everyone is working on different plans for every eventuality but as gatherings seem to be the trigger for infection the SG will obviously err on the side of caution(cliche alert).

16-08-2020, 06:08 PM
I've no doubt everyone is working on different plans for every eventuality but as gatherings seem to be the trigger for infection the SG will obviously err on the side of caution(cliche alert).
They might, but as I said they’re planning on having test events.

Kaff
16-08-2020, 06:09 PM
Could well be that proper winter in Feb onwards we see more hospital cases and unfortunately more fatalities but I'm looking at the current figures more favourably than some.
Yes cases are steady or rising but hospital admissions are low as are deaths, it has to be true that with the increased testing that more people are being found to have the virus but are either mildly ill or asymptomatic. Particularly true that there's many young adults being found with positive tests.
I think older or more vulnerable people are being careful and not exposing themselves to risky situations with potential for heavy intake of droplets while fit young adults are perhaps acting with a more carefree attitude?
I don't think the SG are wanting big crowds at any events yet but I can see some things happening in October with current levels continuing.
Although England is having spikes here and there it's still surprising there's no real huge upturn from the riots, beach crowds and even illegal raves where the numbers of people in uncontrolled large crowds would dwarf many lower league games and be on a par with half the Premier league games on many weekends. Obviously those situations would have primarily been fit young adults.
Hopefully we're not going to see those over 50 banned from the games!

I will say again, proper winter weather and the ill health that comes at that time of year might change the direction of the infections. Fingers crossed for current status to prevail

16-08-2020, 06:10 PM
Nobody really knows why get upset over what someone else thinks may or not happen, all irrelevant.
Stay safe everyone.

16-08-2020, 06:10 PM
While I also hate the doom and gloom posts, I do wonder about the wisdom of finishing the Scottish Cup.

Imagine (just for a minute) that Hibs got to the final and won. Never mind fans in stadiums, what about 150,000 people going radge in Leith boozers / house parties etc etc?

Government would be going off their collective heids !

16-08-2020, 06:34 PM
While I also hate the doom and gloom posts, I do wonder about the wisdom of finishing the Scottish Cup.

Imagine (just for a minute) that Hibs got to the final and won. Never mind fans in stadiums, what about 150,000 people going radge in Leith boozers / house parties etc etc?

Would it be worse than Liverpool? I don't remember that causing any spike etc. :dunno:

That's not me playing down the virus or encouraging people to go radge on the streets in Leith though!

The dalmeny
16-08-2020, 07:10 PM

Murrayfield could have games the next 2 maybe 3 weekends. Too soon for anything to be arranged. I went to the SRU shop yesterday, you needed to sign in at the gate house, and completed a specific COVID questionnaire and they would then phone the shop to tell them you were on your way.

16-08-2020, 07:18 PM

I remain very surprised by the decision to try and finish last season's tournament (as well as the European competitions). It just seemed to over-complicate an already challenging fixture list and I doubt there would really have been too many complaints if they'd decided not finish it. Of course if we do get hit by another shutdown it may yet get scrapped I guess.

16-08-2020, 07:19 PM
A bit of perspective for attending a sport’s event. Admittedly, no spectators, however, if I can give you a break down of the Covid protocols I had to go through, just to attend, itmight give you an idea what may be required for fans to start attending matches again.

I’ve been marshalling (stray ball spotting if truth be told) at the Ladies Scottish Open Golf at Renaissance Club, North Berwick for the past 4 days. The following is what I had to do, as well as the 160 or so others volunteering at the event:-

- Complete an online Covid symptoms questionnaire daily for the past 10 days
- Temperature check every day when entering the course.
- Face mask had to be worn at all times - even outdoors.
- Personal hand sanitiser liquid bottles supplied every day
- Designated loos for use of folk depending on which “bubble” you were in.
- Players, caddies, etc in a less restrictive “bubble” but Joe Public like myself more strictly ‘controlled’.
- No catering, so possibly no half time pie (That might be a bonus at ER!!)

Now, can you imagine some or all of these rules being applied to football fans and them all being adhered to 100%? I’m not so sure.

Yes, they may be OTT and possibly not required but I’m sure some of these would be insisted on if fans are to be allowed in stadiums again.

As I say just a thought on what might happen. Are you all prepared and willing to go along with it, to begin with at any rate? It certainly won’t just be a case of - everyone back to ER as we were up to early March 2020.

17-08-2020, 09:50 AM
Not sure how much of an indication this gives for football but the Premier League darts event in Glasgow, originally scheduled in May and then rescheduled to September will now be a closed doors event in Milton Keynes and Glasgow's now due to host the 2021 event in May next year.

17-08-2020, 10:20 AM
My opinion is that for the Scottish government and their scientists allowing fans into grounds, in any numbers, will be pretty low down on their list of priorities. Even if the levels of infection in Scotland remain as they are, I don't think they will jeapordise the possibility of that increasing by allowing fans of any sports to attend events.

In the big scheme of things there's far more important things in society than football. I'm guessing football will be behind closed doors for at least the winter. I'm just happy to have Hibs back.

17-08-2020, 10:26 AM
I remain very surprised by the decision to try and finish last season's tournament (as well as the European competitions). It just seemed to over-complicate an already challenging fixture list and I doubt there would really have been too many complaints if they'd decided not finish it. Of course if we do get hit by another shutdown it may yet get scrapped I guess.

You can be almost certain that one of the 4 semi finalists would have complained about it being unfair on them not to be allowed to win the cup they have a special relationship with. 😉

17-08-2020, 10:42 AM
I think it's time we had a mass 'eye test' at Easter Road.

If you can see the game for 90 minutes, it means you're OK to see the next one.

The dalmeny
17-08-2020, 11:20 AM
Murrayfield could have games the next 2 maybe 3 weekends. Too soon for anything to be arranged. I went to the SRU shop yesterday, you needed to sign in at the gate house, and completed a specific COVID questionnaire and they would then phone the shop to tell them you were on your way.

I’ll take that back, apparently something in discussion for a week on Saturday

17-08-2020, 02:49 PM
That’s promising.

Steven79
17-08-2020, 03:07 PM

Edinburgh Rugby?

The dalmeny
17-08-2020, 04:14 PM
Edinburgh Rugby?

yes

https://www.edinburghrugby.org/the-clubhouse/derby-fixtures-switched-as-1872-cup-format-continues

possibility of some fans probably ST. If they can top the group would allow For a home semi the next week maybe the same again?

17-08-2020, 04:26 PM
yes

https://www.edinburghrugby.org/the-clubhouse/derby-fixtures-switched-as-1872-cup-format-continues

possibility of some fans probably ST. If they can top the group would allow For a home semi the next week maybe the same again?

That’s promising.

The dalmeny
17-08-2020, 04:27 PM
That’s promising.

got to start somewhere, don’t care where, the sooner the better

17-08-2020, 04:28 PM
My opinion is that for the Scottish government and their scientists allowing fans into grounds, in any numbers, will be pretty low down on their list of priorities. Even if the levels of infection in Scotland remain as they are, I don't think they will jeapordise the possibility of that increasing by allowing fans of any sports to attend events.

In the big scheme of things there's far more important things in society than football. I'm guessing football will be behind closed doors for at least the winter. I'm just happy to have Hibs back.

Agree!

Also think it's going to be unmanageable at the toilets. Imagine those who pee in the sink at Tiny because they can't be bothered queuing, won't think twice about social distancing when they are dying for a pee at Easter Road. Not saying that they'll pee in the sink, but won't bother too much when they go shoulder to shoulder in the toilets.

17-08-2020, 04:40 PM
That’s promising.

It is promising although there's a big difference between a rugby crowd and a football crowd.

I'd say it's easier to keep a rugby crowd controlled.

17-08-2020, 04:43 PM
Nonsense

A truly pointless comment, this one.

heid the baw
17-08-2020, 05:53 PM
It’s not going to happen. It’s not just the attendance at games, the government won’t want to see mass travel to games or people trying to pack in to pubs pre-match. Since we came out of lockdown too many people think we are getting back to normal. We are in the eye of the storm just now, things are going to get worse again before they get better .

This is exactly how I see it. People travelling to a fairly mass event from various locations all over Scotland and then mingling in close proximity before, during and after the game . It is not trackable. Then you factor droplet spread through singing and roaring at incompetent refereeing decisions. Just not going to happen any time soon unless there is a vaccine

17-08-2020, 05:58 PM
I wonder if Hearts have prepared a statement already for when the time comes when Premiership teams are allowed fans before the non-elite clubs are.

17-08-2020, 05:59 PM
This is exactly how I see it. People travelling to a fairly mass event from various locations all over Scotland and then mingling in close proximity before, during and after the game . It is not trackable. Then you factor droplet spread through singing and roaring at incompetent refereeing decisions. Just not going to happen any time soon unless there is a vaccine
Why are they bothering with test events then?

heid the baw
17-08-2020, 06:09 PM
Why are they bothering with test events then?

I have no idea. It is a complete waste of time testing it because you cannot track and trace. Live music and theatre, singing in churches all still ruled out. New rules governing bars. There is no way you can make an argument for returning crowds.

17-08-2020, 06:11 PM

Overkill IMHO. Unless they are testing some system to do with getting fans back at games.

17-08-2020, 06:16 PM
I have no idea. It is a complete waste of time testing it because you cannot track and trace. Live music and theatre, singing in churches all still ruled out. New rules governing bars. There is no way you can make an argument for returning crowds.

How can’t you track and trace? Thought that’d be relatively easy given you know who you’ve sold a ticket to and where they’ve been sitting.

17-08-2020, 06:21 PM
How can’t you track and trace? Thought that’d be relatively easy given you know who you’ve sold a ticket to and where they’ve been sitting.

ID upon entry matching the ticket. In one fell swoop killed touts in an instant.

17-08-2020, 06:31 PM

Surely there are not 150,000 people that would do that I agree a lot would but think the numbers would be under 10,000 maybe way lower.

I can't see crowds at games anytime soon, SG want to be seen as the safe pair of hands they are not going to jeopardise that position soon.

17-08-2020, 06:36 PM
Any return of fans to an outdoor sporting event in Scotland, has to be a positive

heid the baw
17-08-2020, 07:15 PM
How can’t you track and trace? Thought tat’d be relatively easy given you know who you’ve sold a ticket to and where they’ve been sitting.

OK so someone tests positive. Say that person got a train fi Kirkcaldy, went for a beer before the game in a rammed pub, went to a different rammed pub after, taxi to Waverley and train home..Suddenly you have a huge logistic nightmare. The seat number is the easy bit.

17-08-2020, 07:25 PM
OK so someone tests positive. Say that person got a train fi Kirkcaldy, went for a beer before the game in a rammed pub, went to a different rammed pub after, taxi to Waverley and train home..Suddenly you have a huge logistic nightmare. The seat number is the easy bit.

But if that person isn’t going to the football they’ll be doing something else instead, where they are likely coming into contact with people. It throws up the same issues for track and trace. There will be more people getting the train in to Edinburgh to go to the shops, a bite to eat and few pints on a Saturday than there would be for a game at Easter Road in front of a restricted crowd.

17-08-2020, 07:26 PM

An app might be quite handy for such events.

Northern Ireland, without a functioning government for much of the last 3 years, has had one since July.....

19-08-2020, 03:50 PM
SFA confirms no fans at the Nations League next month.

19-08-2020, 04:26 PM
SFA confirms no fans at the Nations League next month.
That had already been confirmed I thought, UEFA had already made the decision.

19-08-2020, 04:31 PM

I don't think it had been confirmed for the whole of September. Crowds definitely ruled out for the whole month now:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53840367

19-08-2020, 04:40 PM
The last I heard, the trial match with a crowd at Murrayfield was put back to a week on Saturday, 29th August.

Is that still going ahead with fans or is that also now behind closed doors?

The dalmeny
19-08-2020, 04:44 PM
The last I heard, the trial match with a crowd at Murrayfield was put back to a week on Saturday, 29th September.

Is that still going ahead with fans or is that also now behind closed doors?

Still under negotiation I believe. Not sure where you've got September from as it may be a week Friday

19-08-2020, 04:51 PM
I don't think it had been confirmed for the whole of September. Crowds definitely ruled out for the whole month now:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53840367
Ah ok I hadn’t realised that. If we beat Israel is the second game the following week?

19-08-2020, 04:52 PM
Still under negotiation I believe. Not sure where you've got September from as it may be a week Friday

Oops, i meant to write August.

19-08-2020, 05:05 PM

Not sure the SFA only announced it this afternoon.

The dalmeny
19-08-2020, 05:18 PM
Oops, i meant to write August.

Confused me, not difficult like.

19-08-2020, 05:42 PM
Not sure how much of an indication this gives for football but the Premier League darts event in Glasgow, originally scheduled in May and then rescheduled to September will now be a closed doors event in Milton Keynes and Glasgow's now due to host the 2021 event in May next year.

I don’t think thats anything to do with SG rules. The Masters darts thats always held in Blackpool was also moved to MK. The arena is “Covid Secure” and the PDC are utilising it for closed door events.

19-08-2020, 06:18 PM
I don’t think thats anything to do with SG rules. The Masters darts thats always held in Blackpool was also moved to MK. The arena is “Covid Secure” and the PDC are utilising it for closed door events.

The PDC had previously scheduled six Premier League nights to be played behind closed doors in Milton Keynes but the other remaining night had been left in place, which actually started with the Glasgow event on 17th September.

Following the decision to also shift these additional dates to Milton Keynes without a crowd, the PDC CEO certainly suggests here that they had hoped to have a crowd in but it wasn't possible as they couldn't get guarantees.

"We have continued to work with all relevant parties in recent weeks in a bid to stage these four Unibet Premier League nights with a crowd," said PDC Chief Executive Matt Porter.

"As we are still not able to guarantee this and bearing in mind the need to provide clarity for fans with tickets to these events, we will now be staging a further four nights behind closed doors in Milton Keynes."

St Pauli Hibee
20-08-2020, 11:33 AM
Sturgeon just announced that 14th September "could" be the day where fans are allowed back into stadiums in Scotland albeit with limited attendance. I really hope this comes through

20-08-2020, 11:38 AM
Sturgeon just announced that 14th September "could" be the day where fans are allowed back into stadiums in Scotland albeit with limited attendance. I really hope this comes through

Fingers crossed although we've just recorded the highest daily rise in cases since 22nd May.

Steven79
20-08-2020, 11:44 AM
Sturgeon just announced that 14th September "could" be the day where fans are allowed back into stadiums in Scotland albeit with limited attendance. I really hope this comes throughSadly the next home game is against Rangers on the 19th of September so I'm not 100% how many will be allowed into that.

The next home game is on the 2nd of October so that has potential.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

20-08-2020, 11:49 AM
Fingers crossed although we've just recorded the highest daily rise in cases since 22nd May.

As more things open up you would expect cases to rise.

I’m curious to see how this affects the Lowland league - did I hear her say you can coach 30 people outdoors ? But Scottish FA still got a ban on training below Premier league ?

Be curious to see what they do for allowing smaller number fans into stadiums.

20-08-2020, 11:56 AM
Fingers crossed. I can’t see many being allowed in at first, but it will be a start.

20-08-2020, 11:58 AM
Fingers crossed. I can’t see many being allowed in at first, but it will be a start.

I wonder how hibs will decide who’s allowed in and who’s not. That’ll be a laugh.

20-08-2020, 11:59 AM
I wonder how hibs will decide who’s allowed in and who’s not. That’ll be a laugh.

AST holders first :greengrin

20-08-2020, 12:04 PM

Don’t think we’ll be doing many Away games for a bit, but a good try😄

Highest priced seats in the East would be my choice 🤣

Seriously did NS give any indication of what % could get in?

20-08-2020, 12:11 PM
A ballot probably.

20-08-2020, 12:13 PM

1%

:duck:

davhibby
20-08-2020, 12:14 PM
Sadly the next home game is against Rangers on the 19th of September so I'm not 100% how many will be allowed into that.

The next home game is on the 2nd of October so that has potential.

I’m not sure why the game being against rangers would change anything? We’ll be looking at having a capacity of around 5k to start off I’d imagine so probably a ballot of ST’s for something like 4.5k tickets

davhibby
20-08-2020, 12:15 PM

It’ll have to be a ballot then that’s you out until every ST has been to a game then it’ll reset. That’s the only way to do it

Steven79
20-08-2020, 12:16 PM
A ballot probably.I'm not sure how that would work.

What if the kids get entry in the ballot but the adults don't?

20-08-2020, 12:18 PM
It’ll have to be a ballot then that’s you out until every ST has been to a game then it’ll reset. That’s the only way to do it

Assuming families wouldn't be split and still be abke to attend as a family? I'm sure Hibs will have spent time considering many outcomes

davhibby
20-08-2020, 12:20 PM
A simple way of dealing with that is for people wanting to go as a family to tell hibs and then they’d be entered in the ballot as a single group and not individually

mcohibs
20-08-2020, 12:29 PM

Loyalty points

20-08-2020, 12:33 PM

Eeny, meeny, miny, mo.

Or

One potato, two potato 🤔

20-08-2020, 12:38 PM
I think it would make sense for ST holders to apply that they wish to go to each game and what their "bubble" is if applicable. Then a ballot.

Probably would want to then have a mark against those who went to a game to give preference to others for the next.

20-08-2020, 12:45 PM

No there was no figure given.

20-08-2020, 12:50 PM

I assume there will be no away fans....so 11000 STs into a 20k stadium. Assuming a large percentage of people go in groups it should be doable.

20-08-2020, 12:52 PM
The groups will be the big thing. If there’s a lot of groups of 3 or 4 from the same household then that would allow more people in I’d think? Or do we reckon they’ll just cap attendances at a percentage of capacity?

20-08-2020, 12:53 PM
I’m not sure why the game being against rangers would change anything? We’ll be looking at having a capacity of around 5k to start off I’d imagine so probably a ballot of ST’s for something like 4.5k tickets
Can’t see anywhere near 25% being allowed in. Perhaps 10% of the East and FF stands and nobody in the other two stands because of the teams using them.

20-08-2020, 12:55 PM

I'd be surprised if it's as high as that to begin with.

20-08-2020, 12:55 PM
The groups will be the big thing. If there’s a lot of groups of 3 or 4 from the same household then that would allow more people in I’d think? Or do we reckon they’ll just cap attendances at a percentage of capacity?

Groups and distancing requirements. I'm not sure what they are at the moment to be honest, but if it's 1M (or less) then that will be much better than 2M.

20-08-2020, 12:59 PM

Not until the posh sarnies and beers season ticket holders get in. Then the singing section.

Away season ticket can wait until the away sides they subsidise have room at their grounds😉😉😉

Steven79
20-08-2020, 01:09 PM
I'd be surprised if it's as high as that to begin with.

Aberdeen have sold their season tickets on the basis that the first 7500 season ticket holders to buy one will get access to home games (poor sods) when we are allowed entry into grounds.

https://www.theticketingbusiness.com/2020/07/03/aberdeen-planning-7500-capacity-early-new-season/

Scottish Premiership club Aberdeen is pushing season ticket sales by prioritising the first 7,500 customers in what it predicts will be its restricted capacity when fans are able to return to matches during the 2020-21 season.
The new season is scheduled to start on August 1, and the Dons believe that “positive progress” on the fight against COVID‐19 means there may now only be a few home games behind closed doors, and partial crowds could attend earlier than anticipated.

Aberdeen said it will be guided by Government and the footballing authorities, but predicting a one-metre social distancing rule it said it expects a reduced capacity of 7,500 will be in place at its 20,000-capacity Pittodrie stadium.
It will therefore prioritise the first 7,500 buyers when the stadium reopens, with a ‘first come, first served’ system in place when capacity is raised.
“With 6,700 season tickets already sold, there are only 800 remaining to make sure you can attend games with partial crowds,” the Dons said.
“Should capacity end up being below 7,500 then priority points will be used as the fairest way to determine who gets access.

20-08-2020, 01:15 PM
Loyalty points

😱🤯

20-08-2020, 01:17 PM
Aberdeen have sold their season tickets on the basis that the first 7500 season ticket holders to buy one will get access to home games (poor sods) when we are allowed entry into grounds.

https://www.theticketingbusiness.com/2020/07/03/aberdeen-planning-7500-capacity-early-new-season/

Scottish Premiership club Aberdeen is pushing season ticket sales by prioritising the first 7,500 customers in what it predicts will be its restricted capacity when fans are able to return to matches during the 2020-21 season.
The new season is scheduled to start on August 1, and the Dons believe that “positive progress” on the fight against COVID‐19 means there may now only be a few home games behind closed doors, and partial crowds could attend earlier than anticipated.

Aberdeen said it will be guided by Government and the footballing authorities, but predicting a one-metre social distancing rule it said it expects a reduced capacity of 7,500 will be in place at its 20,000-capacity Pittodrie stadium.
It will therefore prioritise the first 7,500 buyers when the stadium reopens, with a ‘first come, first served’ system in place when capacity is raised.
“With 6,700 season tickets already sold, there are only 800 remaining to make sure you can attend games with partial crowds,” the Dons said.
“Should capacity end up being below 7,500 then priority points will be used as the fairest way to determine who gets access.

Third biggest team in Scotland, right enough.

20-08-2020, 01:18 PM

Depends on the other criteria.

If we only use every second row, then allowing household groups to sit together would increase attendance. If every row is used, but with two/three empty seats either side of each person/group, then it wouldn't... because the seats directly in front of someone would have to be kept empty.

I think it won't matter too much initially anyway, as they'll probably only allow a very small percentage, say about 5% of capacity.

20-08-2020, 01:25 PM
If non essential offices aren't being allowed to open for the foreseeable, I don't imagine we will be allowing 11k season ticket holders. I'm sure it will be very limited nunbers

Steven79
20-08-2020, 01:25 PM
Depends on the other criteria.

If we only use every second row, then allowing household groups to sit together would increase attendance. If every row is used, but with two/three empty seats either side of each person/group, then it wouldn't... because the seats directly in front of someone would have to be kept empty.

I think it won't matter too much initially anyway, as they'll probably only allow a very small percentage, say about 5% of capacity.

We will let more than 500-600 people in...

20-08-2020, 01:28 PM
I think it would make sense for ST holders to apply that they wish to go to each game and what their "bubble" is if applicable. Then a ballot.

Probably would want to then have a mark against those who went to a game to give preference to others for the next.

That seems fair :agree:

20-08-2020, 02:23 PM
SRU hoping for a test event with around 700 fans rattling around Murrayfield for the second Edinburgh v Glasgow match at the end of this month.
See how that goes and fingers crossed for no more urban spikes and players behaving themselves.

TheGog
20-08-2020, 02:33 PM
Why don't we just use murrayfield? 67k seater stadium 11k ST holders jobs a good un every paying customer can get there product

20-08-2020, 02:38 PM
Why don't we just use murrayfield? 67k seater stadium 11k ST holders jobs a good un every paying customer can get there product

It’ll cost a lot to hire Murrayfield

TheGog
20-08-2020, 02:42 PM

Can't see it being that bad if hearts managed to use it while the super stand got built, also it would be the government enforcing this and I'd think BT Murrayfield would like the media attention they'd get having there name beamed over sky nearly every 2nd week

20-08-2020, 02:43 PM

Fair enough maybe they are privy to information on that then.

I would have thought the numbers would have been much smaller than that to begin with.

20-08-2020, 02:44 PM
Fair enough maybe they are privy to information on that then.

I would have thought the numbers would have been much smaller than that to begin with.

Cormack is a slaver that much we know is true

20-08-2020, 02:54 PM
Can't see it being that bad if hearts managed to use it while the super stand got built, also it would be the government enforcing this and I'd think BT Murrayfield would like the media attention they'd get having there name beamed over sky nearly every 2nd week

But they were able to sell more tickets to pay for it, Hibs won’t
Think the trial at Murrayfield at the end of the month is 700 spectators into a 67,000 capacity stadium

TheGog
20-08-2020, 03:01 PM
But they were able to sell more tickets to pay for it, Hibs won’t
Think the trial at Murrayfield at the end of the month is 700 spectators into a 67,000 capacity stadium

Going by what the English FA posted yesterday and the capacity of Murrayfield we could get 17k fans in, theres 6k more seats we have to sell could take a dent out the price to rent?

Steven79
20-08-2020, 03:05 PM
Going by what the English FA posted yesterday and the capacity of Murrayfield we could get 17k fans in, theres 6k more seats we have to sell could take a dent out the price to rent?We would probably spend all the patg money on renting the ground and give up home advantage so I'm not sure if it would be worth it.

TheGog
20-08-2020, 03:15 PM
We would probably spend all the patg money on renting the ground and give up home advantage so I'm not sure if it would be worth it.

I'd rather that than a raffle nearly every other week and what happens if you get selected the week you are working?

17k is roughly what we get at ER each week give or take. We would have the largest support in side a stadium going by what the capacity % is

davhibby
20-08-2020, 03:20 PM
Aberdeen said that as a marketing ploy to boost sales. 5k is the absolute max we(or Aberdeen) will be allowed in for a good while

20-08-2020, 03:23 PM
Aberdeen said that as a marketing ploy to boost sales. 5k is the absolute max we(or Aberdeen) will be allowed in for a good while

I’ve never noticed any absolute max figures coming from the JRG, Holyrood etc. You sound very sure, is this confirmed anywhere?

20-08-2020, 03:30 PM

I could handle getting to every 2nd home game, for the rest of 2020, if this was the plan

20-08-2020, 03:36 PM
I could handle getting to every 2nd home game, for the rest of 2020, if this was the plan

I agree. There would need to be a fair share of category games though i.e. if you don’t get one for Celtc, you get one for the Rangers and so on.

The dalmeny
20-08-2020, 03:37 PM
Eeny, meeny, miny, mo.

Or

One potato, two potato 🤔

nice I’m 6ft 7

20-08-2020, 03:50 PM

Hibs have already said it would not be cost effective.

20-08-2020, 03:55 PM
Hibs have already said it would not be cost effective.

I think they gave a number for it to be cost effective, i don't think the door was ever closed on the idea

Wakeyhibee
20-08-2020, 04:00 PM
Just seen the announcement and whilst itll be a long road back for the bigger clubs, it's hopefully great news for the smaller clubs who could get their normal home gate and easily stay socially distanced.

They may even get a boost in crowds as folk will watch live football regardless if its their team.

20-08-2020, 04:10 PM
I think they gave a number for it to be cost effective, i don't think the door was ever closed on the idea

Yes you’re right, would need15000-20000 for it to be considered as financially viable

20-08-2020, 04:16 PM
So football will return with fans THIS year ?

:cb

20-08-2020, 04:20 PM

Never in doubt. Mind there was suggestions it might not be 2021/22/23 etc on here. This news has made me so happy today, spring in my step all afternoon.

20-08-2020, 04:21 PM
Never in doubt. Mind there was suggestions it might not be 2021/22/23 etc on here. This news has made me so happy today, spring in my step all afternoon.

Oh a few on here doubted it , I never :thumbsup:

20-08-2020, 04:46 PM

Hopefully, yes. It's still not a confirmed date.

AltheHibby
20-08-2020, 05:01 PM
For the benefit of any Hearts fans looking in, how many are allowed in Tinycastle in September?:confused:

20-08-2020, 05:02 PM

With a tiny/small proportion of fans. Something even approaching the full match experience remains miles off.

20-08-2020, 05:06 PM
Where are you hearing that about? I’ve not seen any figures quoted yet.

20-08-2020, 05:14 PM
Where are you hearing that about? I’ve not seen any figures quoted yet.

https://www.afc.co.uk/2020/06/10/20-21-season-ticket-faqs/

No figure mentioned on here, however Cormack does go off on one now and again

20-08-2020, 06:12 PM
Oh a few on here doubted it , I never :thumbsup:

I still have my doubts we’ll have crowds back anytime soon.

20-08-2020, 06:15 PM
Let's fill the ground. 😁🇳🇬

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-53853961

20-08-2020, 06:55 PM
Would season ticket holders be happy with having to wear a mask and having hand sanitizer stations outside each stand before you enter just to get every season ticket holder in?

To me 700 fans at murryfield for a test run is not getting Hope's up of fans back soon maybe 7,000 would of.

20-08-2020, 07:02 PM
With a tiny/small proportion of fans. Something even approaching the full match experience remains miles off.

I 100% agree

But fans will be back THIS year

20-08-2020, 07:20 PM
Would season ticket holders be happy with having to wear a mask and having hand sanitizer stations outside each stand before you enter just to get every season ticket holder in?

To me 700 fans at murryfield for a test run is not getting Hope's up of fans back soon maybe 7,000 would of.

I’d personally drink the stuff in order to get in.

20-08-2020, 07:50 PM
I’d personally drink the stuff in order to get in.

Would you inject it into your lungs?

20-08-2020, 07:56 PM
My old local team Bishop Auckland are playing in front of 150 fans.

20-08-2020, 07:58 PM
Would you inject it into your lungs?

Would it guarantee 3rd and then europa proper?

Steven79
20-08-2020, 08:22 PM
Would it guarantee 3rd and then europa proper?And hammering the wee team at Hampden?

Sign me up!

20-08-2020, 08:40 PM
And hammering the wee team at Hampden?

Sign me up!

I’m in!

20-08-2020, 08:41 PM

Why would anyone object to that?

20-08-2020, 09:02 PM
Wonder if this gives us a good chance of being at the cup semi? Surely could fit season ticket holders from both teams into Hampden and nobody else if required? Especially with all the Hearts fans boycotting.. could be looking at 15k or so in a 52k seater.

20-08-2020, 09:40 PM
Localised flare ups have already happened across England and in Aberdeen, leading to localised lock downs. Other countries have seen sudden surges infections, even places like New Zealand. We will be heading into autumn in a month or so and the UK government is incompetent.

My gut tells me that we are a long way from returning to normal. Plenty of people in the live events industry are just writing off 2020 now.

20-08-2020, 09:53 PM
Celtic wanting permission to use their game against Motherwell, next Sunday, as a test event.

20-08-2020, 09:55 PM
Localised flare ups have already happened across England and in Aberdeen, leading to localised lock downs. Other countries have seen sudden surges infections, even places like New Zealand. We will be heading into autumn in a month or so and the UK government is incompetent.

My gut tells me that we are a long way from returning to normal. Plenty of people in the live events industry are just writing off 2020 now.

Spain, France, Germany and Italy all seeing case numbers at their highest level for 3 or 4 months as well.

I'd say after the planned changes that are due to come in from 14th September, we will have reached our limits on how much we can open back up again and any further easing beyond that will be dependent upon a vaccine being found.

We may even have to go backwards if things deteriorate during the winter. Hopefully not though.

20-08-2020, 10:21 PM
Celtic wanting permission to use their game against Motherwell, next Sunday, as a test event.

They will hopefully be roundly advised to **** right off. Unless it’s a spelling tets of course.

21-08-2020, 07:15 AM
Would it guarantee 3rd and then europa proper?

The Donald said it would, yes.

G15 Hibs
21-08-2020, 08:43 AM
Spain, France, Germany and Italy all seeing case numbers at their highest level for 3 or 4 months as well.

I'd say after the planned changes that are due to come in from 14th September, we will have reached our limits on how much we can open back up again and any further easing beyond that will be dependent upon a vaccine being found.

We may even have to go backwards if things deteriorate during the winter. Hopefully not though.

Have to agree with this. Feels like we've reached a bit of a plateau in terms of easing of restrictions.

21-08-2020, 09:00 AM
Wonder if this gives us a good chance of being at the cup semi? Surely could fit season ticket holders from both teams into Hampden and nobody else if required? Especially with all the Hearts fans boycotting.. could be looking at 15k or so in a 52k seater.

Having that many fans travel from Edinburgh to Glasgow with the increased risk that brings seems unlikely.

21-08-2020, 09:08 AM
Having that many fans travel from Edinburgh to Glasgow with the increased risk that brings seems unlikely.

Not to mention a Scottish cup semi final, against Hearts, at Hampden and a day on the lash plus whatever else these days and social distancing/common sense is likely to go out the window for alot of people.

People shouldn't get overly excited. To start with i'd imagine it will be the directors, few away team directors/sfa/spfl officials, some sponsors and maybe the posh season ticket holders. Surely no-one thinks we'll get 11000 people into the holy ground in a few weeks time!?

AugustaHibs
21-08-2020, 09:13 AM

There is no point looking at case numbers, testing is massively up and it is more precise testing. Much better to look at hospitalisations and deaths which are consistently going down.

21-08-2020, 09:18 AM
Papers this morning reporting Liverpool to ask for special dispensation not to quarantine on returning home, as they are at summer camp in Austria and are to play 2 friendlies against local opposition?
If they get permission to not quarantine, it just makes everyone else look like fools for obeying the laws of Covid!!!

21-08-2020, 09:25 AM

Thing is, if/when it gets to the point where Celtic and Rangers are allowed that type of number in to Parkhead and Ibrox, they’ll be turning up from all over the country.

If fans are allowed in by the time the semi final comes round, the SFA would surely have to consider Murrayfield if folk travelling to Glasgow was considered to be a blocker.

21-08-2020, 09:41 AM
Papers this morning reporting Liverpool to ask for special dispensation not to quarantine on returning home, as they are at summer camp in Austria and are to play 2 friendlies against local opposition?
If they get permission to not quarantine, it just makes everyone else look like fools for obeying the laws of Covid!!!

There will be more Cummings and goings if that happens. :wink:

SideBurns
21-08-2020, 10:04 AM

In my opinion, a Hibs v Hearts semi-final should be played at Murrayfield if at all possible, even in ordinary times. I know many don't share that view, and like the idea of a 'day out' but I can generally enjoy myself perfectly well in Edinburgh. In the present situation, if we are at the stage of allowing a crowd it'd seem crazy to have thousands travelling to Glasgow and back.

21-08-2020, 10:11 AM

We already have special quarantine dispensation in Scotland for elite sports, they are probably looking for something similar.

21-08-2020, 10:13 AM
https://www.afc.co.uk/2020/06/10/20-21-season-ticket-faqs/

No figure mentioned on here, however Cormack does go off on one now and again

Cormack is a plum who clearly loves the sound of his own voice.

21-08-2020, 10:21 AM
Why would anyone object to that?

Not saying anyone would, was just asking really as that's what it would take imo to get every season ticket holder back in asap.

21-08-2020, 10:59 AM
Not saying anyone would, was just asking really as that's what it would take imo to get every season ticket holder back in asap.

Got you. :aok:

I'm sure the vast majority would be only too happy to wear a mask and sanitise their hands if it allows them access to games again.

21-08-2020, 11:00 AM
There is no point looking at case numbers, testing is massively up and it is more precise testing. Much better to look at hospitalisations and deaths which are consistently going down.

It is up but it's been up for a while.

The main reason we're seeing less deaths and hospitalisations is down to younger people getting infected.

21-08-2020, 11:06 AM

Elite sports have a different set of rules, think they will be fine.

21-08-2020, 11:39 AM

If that's the criteria, then you can count me in.

21-08-2020, 02:54 PM

They need to return to Liverpool, I'd say that's enough punishment. :greengrin

21-08-2020, 03:33 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53864837

21-08-2020, 03:50 PM
Wonder what the rules will be for the league cup with premier league players playing against part time teams with players with other jobs.

The dalmeny
21-08-2020, 04:10 PM
Murrayfield rugby with limited crowd defo on for next Friday

21-08-2020, 04:22 PM
Murrayfield rugby with limited crowd defo on for next Friday

Still 700

21-08-2020, 04:29 PM
Still 700

In a 70k capacity stadium that certainly leaves plenty room for social distancing!

The dalmeny
21-08-2020, 04:29 PM
Still 700

Sru article didnt quote figure

21-08-2020, 04:44 PM

Can’t be that much of a vibrant stadium hire market at the moment. The SRU should be lucky it’s not being requisitioned for “Essential moral boosting Premier Edinburgh football”.

21-08-2020, 04:47 PM

Except we aren’t tested every day and live in a “player bubble”, but apart from that, Bob on.

21-08-2020, 04:48 PM
Still 700

About Edinburgh’s average gate, no?

21-08-2020, 04:56 PM
Celtic asking the Scottish government to try having fans the day or so after
Wonder if we’ve asked

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53864837

21-08-2020, 04:57 PM
Would like to think if Celtic are putting their hat in the ring for next week, then Hibs would be doing likewise. I’m just not sure how around 1000 fans can be considered a ‘test event’ when the real thing would be multiple thousands. Surely it’ll just be a gradual build up, step by step - starting low and gradually getting more and more in reducing the gaps.

21-08-2020, 05:01 PM
Would like to think if Celtic are putting their hat in the ring for next week, then Hibs would be doing likewise. I’m just not sure how around 1000 fans can be considered a ‘test event’ when the real thing would be multiple thousands. Surely it’ll just be a gradual build up, step by step - starting low and gradually getting more and more in reducing the gaps.

I can't see it being much more than that to begin with to be honest.

hibee
21-08-2020, 06:54 PM
Knockhill were given permission today to have fans at the British Touring cars next week but were told to limit them to 200!

As there’s no fair way to decide who gets in from the season ticket and regular ticket holders they’ve decided to run it without fans again.

Not looking good for football getting a decent number of fans in soon.

21-08-2020, 06:59 PM
Can’t be that much of a vibrant stadium hire market at the moment. The SRU should be lucky it’s not being requisitioned for “Essential morale boosting Premier Edinburgh football”.

21-08-2020, 07:25 PM
Knockhill were given permission today to have fans at the British Touring cars next week but were told to limit them to 200!

As there’s no fair way to decide who gets in from the season ticket and regular ticket holders they’ve decided to run it without fans again.

I've never been to Knockhill, how easy would it be for 200 people to attend whilst remaining socially distanced?

I'm assuming their regular ticket holders are their equivalent of our walk up fans? If so I'm not sure why they wouldn't favour their season ticket holders.

In terms of football, I certainly don't expect huge numbers to begin with, probably about 1000 or so.

21-08-2020, 07:36 PM
I've never been to Knockhill, how easy would it be for 200 people to attend whilst remaining socially distanced?

I'm assuming their regular ticket holders are their equivalent of our walk up fans? If so I'm not sure why they wouldn't favour their season ticket holders.

In terms of football, I certainly don't expect huge numbers to begin with, probably about 1000 or so.

Compared to a football stadium it’s a huge area. There will be no problem with 200 people in there.

21-08-2020, 07:42 PM

Should Hibs now be outlining how they intend to get ST holders back into the game.

I was railing against the SPFL not having processes in place. Hibs should be well on the way to defining how a limited amount of supporters will be allocated.

Obviously availability needs to be considered, then fairness of number of games.

I am also assuming no away fans for the time being. This should be clear to all fans.

21-08-2020, 07:44 PM
Should Hibs now be outlining how they intend to get ST holders back into the game.

I was railing against the SPFL not having processes in place. Hibs should be well on the way to defining how a limited amount of supporters will be allocated.

Obviously availability needs to be considered, then fairness of number of games.

I am also assuming no away fans for the time being. This should be clear to all fans.

Probably waiting to find out how limited that limited is. Not sure if there is anything they can comment on quite yet?

21-08-2020, 08:07 PM
Probably waiting to find out how limited that limited is. Not sure if there is anything they can comment on quite yet?

Wouldn’t expect any comment but would hope they are well down the route of planning for different levels of attendance.

The first thing they will need to do, IMO, is have something in place to find out who actually wants to attend when we only have room for X amount of season ticket holders. There will be a fair amount who don’t want to so it would be good if they were ahead of the game in understanding that type of thing.

21-08-2020, 08:08 PM

Probably best keeping quiet in case Aberdeen try and sign our season ticket holders.

21-08-2020, 08:26 PM
I’m an out of town fan (20 miles away) and get the feeling it will be residents of Edinburgh who are back in the stadium first.

21-08-2020, 08:44 PM
There will be a crowd level that would allow Hibs to break even once all the additional arrangements are counted in. I've no idea what that attendance would be, but I wouldn't want Hibs to open the doors unless they're allowed to let at least that number in.

21-08-2020, 09:36 PM
Compared to a football stadium it’s a huge area. There will be no problem with 200 people in there.

Thanks that's interesting that it's been limited to just 200 people then.

21-08-2020, 09:39 PM
I’m an out of town fan (20 miles away) and get the feeling it will be residents of Edinburgh who are back in the stadium first.

So am I and I have a similar fear.

I'm thinking that the first part of your postcode might need to be the same as the stadium that you are attending i.e. EH for Easter Road and the Tony Macaroni Arena, G for Ibrox and Parkhead etc.

Hopefully not though.

21-08-2020, 09:54 PM
I’m an out of town fan (20 miles away) and get the feeling it will be residents of Edinburgh who are back in the stadium first.I'm 28 miles [emoji22]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

21-08-2020, 10:10 PM

I'm happy to wait if all STs can go to the semi.

21-08-2020, 10:48 PM
There will be a crowd level that would allow Hibs to break even once all the additional arrangements are counted in. I've no idea what that attendance would be, but I wouldn't want Hibs to open the doors unless they're allowed to let at least that number in.

Having permission is one thing, doing it in a way that doesn’t lose the club money is another.

22-08-2020, 06:51 AM

Having permission is one thing, doing it in a way that doesn’t lose the club money is another.

The club are already losing a **** tonne of money. Season ticket holders have paid up, and it’s up to the club to get them back in as soon as is safe to do so. If we’re waiting for walk ups then we’ll be waiting a very long time IMO. What we going to do, watch every other club let STH’s in and then say to our fans ‘sorry but we’re not having that as it would lose us a few bob’. We certainly won’t be breaking even this season regardless, but I expect the club to do all they can to get fans through the door.

22-08-2020, 07:00 AM
I see they are looking at 20-30% attendance in England from October 3rd with no away fans. If we do similar then 50% of ST holders will be able to attend each home game.

22-08-2020, 07:24 AM
The club are already losing a **** tonne of money. Season ticket holders have paid up, and it’s up to the club to get them back in as soon as is safe to do so. If we’re waiting for walk ups then we’ll be waiting a very long time IMO. What we going to do, watch every other club let STH’s in and then say to our fans ‘sorry but we’re not having that as it would lose us a few bob’. We certainly won’t be breaking even this season regardless, but I expect the club to do all they can to get fans through the door.
Just allow 5000 walk ups=tidy profit

22-08-2020, 07:28 AM
So how do you choose who gets in and who doesn’t when folk have paid the same money for season tickets?

Unless we can use Murrayfield and accommodate all our season ticket holders it’s not fair to pick and choose imo.

22-08-2020, 07:30 AM
So how do you choose who gets in and who doesn’t when folk have paid the same money for season tickets?

Unless we can use Murrayfield and accommodate all our season ticket holders it’s not fair to pick and choose imo.

Ballot and rotate.

It's better than no-one, surely?

22-08-2020, 07:31 AM

Would be a ballot. Quite simple. Just because everyone can’t get in, it would be daft if the club to stop everyone from attending.

22-08-2020, 07:33 AM

Some ideas seem to be around postcodes nearest the ground
Stops fans from travelling far

22-08-2020, 07:39 AM
What is the point of a test event with 700 people in a 70,000 stadium?

What exactly are they testing anyway?

22-08-2020, 07:39 AM

Bugger that, I'm not only going to McDairmid Park. 😉

22-08-2020, 07:41 AM
Bugger that, I'm not only going to McDairmid Park. 😉

As an aside, we played a bounce game at Perth a few weeks ago, a few fans watched the game between the Ormond and Main Stand, is this your chance😄

22-08-2020, 07:42 AM
What is the point of a test event with 700 people in a 70,000 stadium?

What exactly are they testing anyway?

It will check the logistics before increasing the number attending. Less about the social distance more about the mechanics of getting people in and out.

Just my thoughts.

22-08-2020, 07:43 AM
As an aside, we played a bounce game at Perth a few weeks ago, a few fans watched the game between the Ormond and Main Stand, is this your chance😄

🤔😵

22-08-2020, 07:54 AM
I got a bus yesterday for the first time since lockdown and apart from the required face mask i couldn't see any restriction on numbers. not the same i know but apart from common sense there was nothing to stop you sitting infront behind or next to someone else. There may be more allowed in than we expect

22-08-2020, 07:59 AM
Would be a ballot. Quite simple. Just because everyone can’t get in, it would be daft if the club to stop everyone from attending.

Would you get to have a ballot with the rest of your household? If you get chosen for one game would you be ineligible for the next game? Do games v Rangers and Celtic get spread out evenly?

Quite a few things to consider.

22-08-2020, 08:00 AM

That's what I suspect might happen but I hope not. Living in an FK postcode area I would probably be excluded even although I'd be coming from an area that's had less than 30 cases in the past 6 weeks.

Gloucester Hibs
22-08-2020, 08:01 AM
Not sure a ballot would be the fairest of ways. Say 5000 fans are allowed back....Based on 10k ST holders I would just allow 5000 fans to attend one week and the other 5000 the next week, keep alternating week-on-week until things change again. That way everyone gets a chance to attend. Obviously depending on which week it was it would mean some fans get the “plum” fixtures but I can’t think of a fairer way to do it 🤔 🤷*♂️

22-08-2020, 08:03 AM

Establish who doesn’t want to go. Establish who doesn’t need to distance from each other to maximise space.

Ballot for the first game. Those unsuccessful for the first game are priority for the second game and so on.

We won’t accommodate everyone to start with but whether it’s 1k, 5k or 10k we need to be good to go with however many are allowed, as soon as they’re allowed.

22-08-2020, 08:04 AM
Would you get to have a ballot with the rest of your household? If you get chosen for one game would you be ineligible for the next game? Do games v Rangers and Celtic get spread out evenly?

Quite a few things to consider.

Yes and yes would be the answer to your first two questions if I was making the decisions, not even household though. Could just be your bubble, I go to the games with my son and father in law, who I see regularly. The three of us going together would make sense and would ease the strain of trying to put separation between everyone. Would literally be pointless if me and my father in law were both drawn to go to the game and had to sit apart from each other.

You’re right though, it is things to be considered, that doesn’t mean they’re insurmountable problems though.

22-08-2020, 08:05 AM
That's what I suspect might happen but I hope not. Living in an FK postcode area I would probably be excluded even although I'd be coming from an area that's had less than 30 cases in the past 6 weeks.

Glory hunter 😉

22-08-2020, 08:13 AM
Yes and yes would be the answer to your first two questions if I was making the decisions, not even household though. Could just be your bubble, I go to the games with my son and father in law, who I see regularly. The three of us going together would make sense and would ease the strain of trying to put separation between everyone. Would literally be pointless if me and my father in law were both drawn to go to the game and had to sit apart from each other.

You’re right though, it is things to be considered, that doesn’t mean they’re insurmountable problems though.

Depends on how strictly the club have been told to enforce things and whether or not your father in law is asked to prove that he lives alone and therefore eligible to form an extended household/bubble before he would be allowed to attend with you. They might not go as far as that and just stick to actual household groups going together.

I agree they're not insurmountable but I was just querying these points with the poster who described as being "quite simple" to arrange.

22-08-2020, 08:14 AM
Glory hunter 😉

I'm sure I'm doing this glory hunting thing wrong somehow, just can't figure out how though! :greengrin

James Stephen
22-08-2020, 08:15 AM
Personally, im happy not to attend just now - just doesnt seem worth the risk to me, and other people who are keen should get any limited availability.

22-08-2020, 08:19 AM
I see they are looking at 20-30% attendance in England from October 3rd with no away fans. If we do similar then 50% of ST holders will be able to attend each home game.

22-08-2020, 08:21 AM

All leagues in England?

22-08-2020, 08:23 AM
If the club were making a loss on games to allow a few thousand fans in then it’s got to be a no. Ballot like most of you have said is fair enough I suppose.

22-08-2020, 08:28 AM
All leagues in England?

Including the EPL, here's a read on how many fans could get in to each ground potentially

https://talksport.com/football/747453/how-many-fans-every-premier-league-club-stadiums-one-metre-social-distancing-measures/

The dalmeny
22-08-2020, 08:37 AM
If the club were making a loss on games to allow a few thousand fans in then it’s got to be a no. Ballot like most of you have said is fair enough I suppose.

So where do you start? Clubs may need to have test events to show they can handle any restrictions.

I think the Knockhill decision as laid out here is poor, they’re depriving 200 folk attending and the chance to prep for a greater number at future events too under the ‘can’t find a fair way to choose the 200. I wonder if there’s a financial aspect as you’ve mentioned above.

fans need to screw the nut too. I get an underlying feeling there’s an element of ‘if I can’t go no one else should’ (a bit of this from Warriors fans for next Friday). If Folk can get in now great,fill your boots and enjoy, I’ll get my turn when it’s my time.

the only thing I would say is, with 4 times the infection last week, I don’t want a thousand fans coming from Glasgow to Edinburgh next week.

22-08-2020, 08:45 AM
Including the EPL, here's a read on how many fans could get in to each ground potentially

https://talksport.com/football/747453/how-many-fans-every-premier-league-club-stadiums-one-metre-social-distancing-measures/
Ta found it
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/talksport.com/football/747453/how-many-fans-premier-league-club-stadiums-one-metre-social-distancing-coronavirus/amp/

This bit
Capacity will be limited and those attending will have to adhere to new codes of behaviour which may mean no singing or shouting so as to respect social distancing measures.

22-08-2020, 08:54 AM

It’s going to cost them money to get people in. But people have have also spent a lot of money to attend games at Easter Road. The club have a responsibility to make that happen, for however many people are allowed to attend, as soon as they can.