View Full Version : If there was ever a season to push the old firm hard, this is it.
11-08-2020, 07:11 PM
Let me preface this by saying the odds of us winning the title are very slim. Less than very slim really.
The thing is, if there was ever a season to really push them, make them win it, make it hard for them, this is it. Celtic in shambles, games are going to pile up for them very quickly with Europe and the postponements. Rangers inconsistent, losing their best player, Barasic also linked with a move away, squad of bottle merchants like Tavernier.
Ugly performance at times tonight but never really under any pressure, Rocky very little to do again.
Another 3 points on Saturday please Hibs
sean04
11-08-2020, 07:13 PM
We can only beat what is in front of us every week. Not going to challenge the old firm but would be nice to be comfortable in 3rd
11-08-2020, 07:13 PM
Its 3 games. Next one is Motherwell on Saturday
11-08-2020, 07:14 PM
This has to be the attitude. One at a time, enjoy the wins as they come.
HendoDelivered
11-08-2020, 07:15 PM
This has to be the attitude. One at a time, enjoy the wins as they come.
Yup, no point getting carried away.
11-08-2020, 07:17 PM
Kickback will love this thread 🧵😂
11-08-2020, 07:17 PM
Indeed, no one said otherwise.
11-08-2020, 07:18 PM
Not if they actually read it. The part at the top saying ''Let me preface this by saying the odds of us winning the title are very slim. Less than very slim really'' kinda gives away that I don't think we'll win it. I doubt anyone actually thinks that.
11-08-2020, 07:34 PM
One game at a time is a great attitude for the players and managers to have.
For fans it doesn't really make any difference if we get carried away. The beauty of being a football fan is it's totally irrational. We have just secured our best start to a top flight season in the best part of half a century. Damn sure I'm going to dream that we can push those 2 all the way.
11-08-2020, 07:35 PM
Let’s just get 3 points on the board again on Saturday, there’s going to be some bumps along the way
11-08-2020, 07:35 PM
Main thing is putting distance between the likes of Aberdeen, Motherwell and Kilmarnock.
11-08-2020, 07:36 PM
Are you saying this league is winnable?
11-08-2020, 07:36 PM
A win on Saturday would put us 8 (EIGHT) points clear of Celtic :greengrin And 12 of Aberdeen.
sean04
11-08-2020, 07:37 PM
Had a wee look on kickback. Hilarious. Hibs are shocking, Dundee Utd are worse. Can’t wait to see them at hampden. The Coronavirus has worked wonders for there confidence and there players ability. We beat Motherwell and we equal there win total for last season
11-08-2020, 07:38 PM
Don’t care. To those looking in, enjoy the championship🖕
I would never say that. But if Celtic get way ahead the cream buns they may well implode making second a possibility.
Still as above - one game at a time.
hibee316
11-08-2020, 07:41 PM
I think this Hibs team will do well to take even a point of the OF this year.
But I still think if we avoid injury we can get 3rd.
mayo hibee
11-08-2020, 07:42 PM
Had a wee look on kickback. Hilarious. Hibs are shocking, Dundee Utd are worse. Can’t wait to see them at hampden. The Coronavirus has worked wonders for there confidence and there players ability. We beat Motherwell and we equal there win total for last season
Understandable really, it's been so long since they've seen their own team play, they've forgotten how bad they are.
11-08-2020, 07:42 PM
For us the first target is to avoid relegation, then try to get into the top six and then into europe. Once these are accomplished then I'll think about winning the league. Tonight it is very pleasant to look back at the chasing pack. Sign of a good team, playing poorly, still winning and keeping a clean sheet.
11-08-2020, 07:43 PM
I'm not sure if Motherwell are going to be our competition this year. They have won 1 match in their last 12 competitive games.
Aberdeen will be around as usual I'm sure. Other than that I don't see a standout amongst the rest of the league (outwith the Ugly Sisters of course).
11-08-2020, 07:43 PM
I would never say that. But if Celtic get way ahead the cream buns they may well implode making second a possibility.
Still as above - one game at a time.
By the time Celtic next play a league game they could be 11 points behind Rangers.
A lot of pressure on them already.
CloudSquall
11-08-2020, 07:47 PM
...aaaaaand that's a 0-3 drubbing at the hands of Motherwell secured:greengrin
jakedance
11-08-2020, 07:47 PM
We are miles off the old firm, but maybe, potentially, the best of the rest.
I’m not excited by this Hibs team but we do look pretty solid with a manager that looks like he knows what he’s doing. Aberdeen have shown that can go a long way in this league. Given everything going on I’d be delighted with grinding out wins to a 3rd place. We have to win the semi though.
Absolute beamer of a thread tbh
11-08-2020, 07:48 PM
Steady! :greengrin
11-08-2020, 07:49 PM
Jesus Christ.
Very promising start winning 3/3 and not conceding from open play. However we still have a long way to go and are short of 2/3 players still imo.
Once Allan was on I was looking at the bench and found it very underwhelming. Yes we still have Mallan and Wright to come back but we will always have the odd injury.
I’ll take top 4 and be delighted, however 3rd is well within our capabilities.
11-08-2020, 07:50 PM
One game at a time
KDY Hibs
11-08-2020, 07:53 PM
For fans it doesn't really make any difference if we get carried away. The beauty of being a football fan is it's totally irrational. We have just secured our best start to a top flight season in the best part of half a century. Damn sure I'm going to dream that we can push those 2 all the way.
11-08-2020, 07:55 PM
Yes and why not? At the very least, Celtc and Aberdeen will be playing catch up for a few weeks, which brings a little added pressure.
Let’s keep the run going and enjoy it. Fans are allowed to dream.
11-08-2020, 07:59 PM
We rarely get the chance to get carried away so sod being all cautious with the one game at a time chat.
I’m loving it just now and if we can maintain our title challenge into September I’ll be delighted.
12/12
11-08-2020, 08:02 PM
Highly unlikely but Leicester winning the league may have been just as unlikely. We have won ugly, won well and played some good stuff. We also have a bench with some decent options. I'd imagine the vast majority of us would be delighted with a top 4 place but this season is very different to others. Team spirit may play a massive part in results and the best way to get that spirit is to win games. For all it is hugely unlikely it would be very Hibs to win something when us long suffering fans don't get to enjoy the journey in person. I'm going to keep dreaming until it is impossible
11-08-2020, 08:03 PM
By the time Celtic next play a league game they could be 11 points behind Rangers.
A lot of pressure on them already.
Rangers will certainly be hoping for that along with the earliest finish to a season ever known.
I might back them in that, we could get the 2nd Champs League spot :greengrin
Steady! Help we have no Old Firm games until next month and a couple of those opening games could easily have finished draws with a wrong bounce of the ball. But racking up the points early doors will put us in good stead for the rest of the season. The team will suffer blips, no doubt about it, but we look solid so far and have the opportunity to build on a flawless start 🙂
11-08-2020, 08:11 PM
There is no chance we will win this league. However it would certainly be very, very funny if Celtc were stopped from winning 10 in a row but The Rangers weren't the team to stop them.
11-08-2020, 08:13 PM
I’d go further, I’d say it’s virtually in the bag :agree:
One less Champions League qualifying round next year as well.
11-08-2020, 08:16 PM
I’d go further, I’d say it’s virtually in the bag :agree:
One less Champions League qualifying round next year as well.
Since there'll be 2 Scottish cups, it's our year for the QUADRUPLE. :greengrin
11-08-2020, 08:22 PM
Aside from the obvious gulf in quality of the starting eleven of both Glasgow teams compared to ours, the biggest barrier to us maintaining a challenge at the top is the lack of strength in depth across the squad.
At the moment though, we have a defence that aren’t giving away chances cheaply, a midfield that is reasonably well balanced, and two match winners up front (and one on the wing, when he’s at his best).
That’s a good starting point for any team. The fact that this is the first time since Turnbull that we’ve won our first three games of the season is a good indicator of how difficult it is to keep a run like this going, and so it’s quite likely that we’ll come back down to Earth with a bump on Saturday evening (does anyone know the last time we won our first four games?).
That said, if the team can put these three games behind them and approach Motherwell as a one off game, which they should, then the game is definitely winnable.
I felt we had potentially kind opening fixtures - avoiding the Glasgow sides and Aberdeen is definitely helpful.
Aberdeen and Celtic’s indiscretions will help as well, as our players gain match sharpness so we should be a bit ahead of them in terms of fumes by the time we play them.
11-08-2020, 08:30 PM
Aside from the obvious gulf in quality of the starting eleven of both Glasgow teams compared to ours, the biggest barrier to us maintaining a challenge at the top is the lack of strength in depth across the squad.
At the moment though, we have a defence that aren’t giving away chances cheaply, a midfield that is reasonably well balanced, and two match winners up front (and one on the wing, when he’s at his best).
That’s a good starting point for any team. The fact that this is the first time since Turnbull that we’ve won our first three games of the season is a good indicator of how difficult it is to keep a run like this going, and so it’s quite likely that we’ll come back down to Earth with a bump on Saturday evening (does anyone know the last time we won our first four games?).
That said, if the team can put these three games behind them and approach Motherwell as a one off game, which they should, then the game is definitely winnable.
I felt we had potentially kind opening fixtures - avoiding the Glasgow sides and Aberdeen is definitely helpful.
Aberdeen and Celtic’s indiscretions will help as well, as our players gain match sharpness so we should be a bit ahead of them in terms of fumes by the time we play them.
Because I’m sad, I just checked :greengrin
We won our first five games in the 61/62 season, that was the last time we won 4+.
11-08-2020, 08:31 PM
We won our first five games in the 61/62 season, that was the last time we won 4+.
Thank you for checking :greengrin
11-08-2020, 08:33 PM
...aaaaaand that's a 0-3 drubbing at the hands of Motherwell secured:greengrin
What he said
11-08-2020, 08:34 PM
:yawn:
11-08-2020, 08:38 PM
Thank you for checking :greengrin
Same season we were beating Barca and taking Inter to a playoff in a European quarterfinal so not surprising really. What a team that must have been!
11-08-2020, 08:40 PM
Since there'll be 2 Scottish cups, it's our year for the QUADRUPLE. :greengrin
Without the Petrofac it’s all meaningless.
Tommy75
11-08-2020, 08:41 PM
Highly unlikely but Leicester winning the league may have been just as unlikely. We have won ugly, won well and played some good stuff. We also have a bench with some decent options. I'd imagine the vast majority of us would be delighted with a top 4 place but this season is very different to others. Team spirit may play a massive part in results and the best way to get that spirit is to win games. For all it is hugely unlikely it would be very Hibs to win something when us long suffering fans don't get to enjoy the journey in person. I'm going to keep dreaming until it is impossible
Your last sentence is what being a football fan is all about!
11-08-2020, 08:46 PM
Same season we were beating Barca and taking Inter to a playoff in a European quarterfinal so not surprising really. What a team that must have been!
61/62 we played Belenenses and Red Star Belgrade in Europe. I have a few bits and bobs from those games because my Grandad played in them. Barcelona was season 60/61, which my Grandad also played in.
11-08-2020, 09:08 PM
61/62 we played Belenenses and Red Star Belgrade in Europe. I have a few bits and bobs from those games because my Grandad played in them. Barcelona was season 60/61, which my Grandad also played in.
I defer to you PB :agree: A legendary era to be playing in.
11-08-2020, 10:33 PM
We won our first five games in the 61/62 season, that was the last time we won 4+.Who was our manager then?
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
Juniper Greens
11-08-2020, 10:43 PM
We won 4 in 74-75. St Johnstone beat us in the 5th game (our opponents this time too and Celtic were going for 10iar).
11-08-2020, 11:12 PM
We won 4 in 74-75. St Johnstone beat us in the 5th game (our opponents this time too and Celtic were going for 10iar).
The last time PRIOR to 74-75 then. Where’s Johnnyboy when you need him? :faf:
12-08-2020, 12:43 AM
They really are strange beings. We were lucky Livi underperformed. That’ll be the Livi that thrashed them 5 nil and only lost twice at home last season. The jambos have just erased how shocking they were last season and who have just signed a winger who only played 13 games for Inverness. I actually am starting to think they need help as they seem to be incapable of any rational thoughts.
12-08-2020, 07:47 AM
Hibs have not been overly pleasing on the eye so far this season and in 3 games our opponents have had more possession but we’ve won all 3 with relative ease. Our defence looks solid and Gogic has added something to the middle of the park. But if we finish within 20 points of the Old Firm we will have had a good season. There is no change in hell we will win anything..... but we live in hope
12-08-2020, 07:57 AM
I think this Hibs team will do well to take even a point of the OF this year.
But I still think if we avoid injury we can get 3rd.
I'm pretty sure we'll take points of Rangers this season. They're not that good.
12-08-2020, 10:09 AM
Hibs have not been overly pleasing on the eye so far this season and in 3 games our opponents have had more possession but we’ve won all 3 with relative ease. Our defence looks solid and Gogic has added something to the middle of the park. But if we finish within 20 points of the Old Firm we will have had a good season. There is no change in hell we will win anything..... but we live in hope
I agree with that for the Killie and Utd games but I thought we looked quite good against Livi.
If we can keep playing to this standard, we'll definitely be in with a chance of finishing in the top five... maybe even clinch a Europa League spot
12-08-2020, 01:32 PM
I agree with that for the Killie and Utd games but I thought we looked quite good against Livi.
If we can keep playing to this standard, we'll definitely be in with a chance of finishing in the top five... maybe even clinch a Europa League spot
Ive got no interest in the possession statistic personally. It used to reflect which team was more pleasing on the eye, but the way the sport has evolved with counterattack means it’s just as likely to show the team that has resorted to passing it around themselves because they’ve run out of ideas. Unless Peps your manager obviously.
12-08-2020, 01:50 PM
There is no chance we will win this league. However it would certainly be very, very funny if Celtc were stopped from winning 10 in a row but The Rangers weren't the team to stop them.
It would be amazing.
12-08-2020, 01:52 PM
I’m a bit worried about the challenge from Hearts this season. How many places behind us are they anyway?
12-08-2020, 01:54 PM
It would be amazing.
The old firm will spend crazy money in the winter window if they were lagging in the league.
12-08-2020, 02:48 PM
Ive got no interest in the possession statistic personally. It used to reflect which team was more pleasing on the eye, but the way the sport has evolved with counterattack means it’s just as likely to show the team that has resorted to passing it around themselves because they’ve run out of ideas. Unless Peps your manager obviously.
I could be totally making this up but I'm sure the season Leicester won the league they were in the bottom 3 for possession of the ball and their overall possession was something daft like 42%.
Clarence
12-08-2020, 02:54 PM
Exactly. I find it a wee bit sad when folk are so serious about it. The whole premise of thousands of folk cheering 11 men in shorts kick a ball about is irrational, why should we be rational about it at all? I don’t care if hearts fans look at this and say “aye ye won three games and thought you’d won the league” that’s part of being a fan. Same way that I had a jambo cabby take me to the airport back when they had won the league in September 2018 and I thought fair enough, he’s enjoying it while it lasts. I knew they weren’t going to win the league and I know we won’t win the league but it’s good to give your mind a treat now and then.
12-08-2020, 03:41 PM
My only dream is that we can win the next game, if we do that my next dream will be similar. Once we lose a game and have a bad performance, I won’t panic.
13-08-2020, 06:55 PM
Exactly. We were tearing strips of them when Burley was in charge,they had a 9-10 game streak at the start of the season.
13-08-2020, 08:17 PM
Just take one game at a time. Don't care if we win ugly.Just need to pick up a few points against the ugly sisters.
13-08-2020, 10:21 PM
Could this season follow a similar pattern to 2005-6.
Hearts made a blistering start to the season (until they came a cropper at Easter Road) only for Vlad to sack George Burley and distabilise the team.
Hearts still managed to finish second and qualify for the Champions League and win the Cup. Maybe they could do the same this season (oops forgot!)?
13-08-2020, 10:22 PM
We push for third. Anything higher is nonsense.
13-08-2020, 10:26 PM
We push for third. Anything higher is nonsense.
3rd would be an absolutely brilliant season for us.
Think people forget how little we finish 3rd or even top 4.
13-08-2020, 10:57 PM
We push for third. Anything higher is nonsense.Our form under Jack Ross suggests this is acheivable and likely.
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
14-08-2020, 04:36 AM
I have been watching HIBS for almost 60 years and without wanting to put a negative spin on things I agree entirely with the OPs first sentence We lack the finances, strength and depth of squad and consistency of performance. All I ask is that every time we play the two cheeks of the same arse we get in their faces make a fist of it and let them know they have been in a game more often than not we will get a result but history tells us we then go out and drop points to the Motherwell’s, Kilmarnock’s and St Johnstone’s of our world
14-08-2020, 08:38 AM
I mentioned in another thread that every single football team's ultimate aim at the start of every season will be to win the league. It doesn't matter if it's Hibs, Hearts, Albion Rovers, or some 4th or 5th tier German team nobody has ever heard of. Every team everywhere on the planet will have their ultimate aim at the start of every season as win the league. 3rd and Europe for us along with a good cup run, a final perhaps, would be a phenomenal season for us, given the circumstances (finances, talent, squad depth, opposition etc). However, it doesn't matter who you are, Hearts will be thinking the same every year, if you get off to a good start and the club is in a good place on all levels, a squad identity quickly forms, all the players are pulling in the same direction, playing the same way, trust each other and ultimately have a great day-to-day morale, then anything is possible (see Leicester).
I'l echo what I said on the other thread, if your football team isn't aiming to win your domestic league then you're supporting the wrong club and frankly there's no point turning up. We all laughed at Hearts a couple of seasons ago when they got off to an absolute flyer and there was talk of a league challenge, but every team in that position should be trying to stoke it up and build an expectation and pressure throughout the club that this is the year. Hilariously for that lot though they mucked it up :greengrin
14-08-2020, 08:46 AM
I am happy to get carried away until it makes sense not to get carried away. If we lose a couple of games then its back to normal, re-focus and hope we can finish 3rd or 4th, but as long as we keep winning lets ride the wave and enjoy it. Maybe it ends on Saturday, but maybe it doesnt.
We would need a mircale season really, where no key players get injured or suspended and we play a full strength team every week. It's happened before when some teams over achieve, but one or two injuries and suspensions and we are much weaker.
14-08-2020, 01:24 PM
There's probably only two ways we can win the league: a billionaire takeover or the Old Firm both fall to pieces at the same time. Either scenario is very unlikely, and that goes for all other clubs. Celtic spent five million on a forward yesterday; it's a different reality. Like any team, we can beat the Old Firm on a given day, but we don't have the squad to challenge over a season. They are two huge clubs that will always have much more money to spend. The best opportunity for another team to challenge for the title was when Rangers went bust and Celtic had Ronnie Deila, yet no other club could get close. Realistically, we are trying to be the best of the rest, meaning a good league position and a cup here and there.
We've made a terrific start this season; let's enjoy the wins as they come and see what we can do.
[QUOTE=hibsbollah;6265096]Because I’m sad, I just checked :greengrin
We won our first five games in the 61/62 season, that was the last time we won 4+.[/QUOTEFrom memory Hugh Shaw and Walter Galbraith were managers in the early to mid 60s .and we had half decent teams
14-08-2020, 05:58 PM
I mentioned in another thread that every single football team's ultimate aim at the start of every season will be to win the league. It doesn't matter if it's Hibs, Hearts, Albion Rovers, or some 4th or 5th tier German team nobody has ever heard of. Every team everywhere on the planet will have their ultimate aim at the start of every season as win the league. 3rd and Europe for us along with a good cup run, a final perhaps, would be a phenomenal season for us, given the circumstances (finances, talent, squad depth, opposition etc). However, it doesn't matter who you are, Hearts will be thinking the same every year, if you get off to a good start and the club is in a good place on all levels, a squad identity quickly forms, all the players are pulling in the same direction, playing the same way, trust each other and ultimately have a great day-to-day morale, then anything is possible (see Leicester).
I'l echo what I said on the other thread, if your football team isn't aiming to win your domestic league then you're supporting the wrong club and frankly there's no point turning up. We all laughed at Hearts a couple of seasons ago when they got off to an absolute flyer and there was talk of a league challenge, but every team in that position should be trying to stoke it up and build an expectation and pressure throughout the club that this is the year. Hilariously for that lot though they mucked it up :greengrin
I'd disagree.
If Ross told the players that our goal this season was to win the league then it would affect his credibility with the players because they know that is unrealistic.
If Ross tells them that our goal is third then they will buy into that as a legitimate target, and if we've a chance of the title with half a dozen games to go then that is the time to talk to them about winning the league.
14-08-2020, 07:03 PM
I am happy to get carried away until it makes sense not to get carried away. If we lose a couple of games then its back to normal, re-focus and hope we can finish 3rd or 4th, but as long as we keep winning lets ride the wave and enjoy it. Maybe it ends on Saturday, but maybe it doesnt.
We would need a mircale season really, where no key players get injured or suspended and we play a full strength team every week. It's happened before when some teams over achieve, but one or two injuries and suspensions and we are much weaker.
The Arabs under Jim McLean I believe only used 14 players when they won the league. We would have to have that kind of luck and injuries to key bigot bros players. Reality says third is the best we can do.
15-08-2020, 09:16 AM
Somebody at Hibs has been reading this thread.
From the E-Mail I received about today's game on Hibspass..
"For Jack Ross and his players it's 'one game at a time', but the rest of us are allowed to get excited..."
So there we have it. We're allowed to get excited if we want
15-08-2020, 10:17 AM
Could this season follow a similar pattern to 2005-6.
Hearts made a blistering start to the season (until they came a cropper at Easter Road) only for Vlad to sack George Burley and distabilise the team.
Hearts still managed to finish second and qualify for the Champions League and win the Cup. Maybe they could do the same this season (oops forgot!)?
Vlad sacked Burley before the Derby . That’s the unbeatable derby or so the Hearts fans sang but left with their tails between their legs after our 2-0 win .
If we qualify for Europe this season will be a success. But a cheeky cup win would be tremendous:)