View Full Version : Doidge

vercol36
11-08-2020, 06:48 PM
I know it's been said many times before, but...what a find. A player who can just sclaff them in from around the goal mouth...exactly what we have been looking for, for years!

-Jonesy-
11-08-2020, 06:49 PM
Don’t think it was a sclaff like..

vercol36
11-08-2020, 06:51 PM
Don’t think it was a sclaff like..

Ah. Well, I am watching via BBC text...but they're usually sclaffs 😂

11-08-2020, 06:54 PM
That was a tremendous goal.

11-08-2020, 06:58 PM
Best striker we’ve had since Griffiths.

11-08-2020, 06:59 PM
Love the big man. Even when he wasn't scoring last year he took a load of unnecessary abuse as he was still working his arse off for the team.

11-08-2020, 07:01 PM
Absolutely excellent tonight. Held it up, drew foul after foul and his his chance. Top, top player.

Pilrig_Sauzee
11-08-2020, 07:02 PM
Not hard to like a player that scores goals, but really pleased for him that it’s worked out. Clearly a hard worker and seems a decent guy. And has the best right shin in the country.

11-08-2020, 07:03 PM
Absolutely excellent tonight. Held it up, drew foul after foul and his his chance. Top, top player.

And won header after header after header....

11-08-2020, 07:03 PM
Absolute gem of a player. All round game was excellent today, some of his chest control was wonderful. What a bloody strike and all.

Match winner, time and time again.

11-08-2020, 07:04 PM
Also best striker in the country outside the OF.

He’s just a bloody gorgeous goal scoring genius 😂

11-08-2020, 07:06 PM
The Big Huddy does it again.

11-08-2020, 07:06 PM
Here is his excellent goal - https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1293254334747226114

11-08-2020, 07:07 PM
The best thing is if he keeps scoring, he should come to the attention of the Welsh FA since there is no English footy just yet

The guy scores goals but he offers far more than that.

The lazy pundits need to forget his 1st few games and get with the programme. He's a talent.

The best thing is if he keeps scoring, he should come to the attention of the Welsh FA since there is no English footy just yet

Hibs twitter are doing their absolute best to get him noticed by the Welsh FA :greengrin

Best striker we’ve had since Griffiths.

Absolutely. Great signing.

11-08-2020, 07:09 PM
Already said it but Im going to say it again, ****ing love him!!!!

HendoDelivered
11-08-2020, 07:12 PM
****ing baller.

11-08-2020, 07:14 PM
Tommy Tap-In :faf:

Aye, nae bother Jambos :greengrin

JammyDoidger
11-08-2020, 07:32 PM
What a man.

HendoDelivered
11-08-2020, 07:38 PM
Longer term deal please

11-08-2020, 07:41 PM
After an admittedly slow start to his Hibs career, it looks like we have the striker we all hoped for. Very accomplished and looking better and better. Well done big man. I see a Wales start soon!

gorgie greens
11-08-2020, 07:53 PM
One of my mates down here is a family friend and drinks with his auld man , last season under Hecky i was questioning his ability , he told me i will eat my words as he is a total grafter and will keep going and make things happen , he also said that he needs to be playing up front with another striker and that hardly happened under Hecky.
not sure how long we will have him for as he has had a few clubs so far but i was told he loves it up here

11-08-2020, 08:00 PM
The guy scores goals but he offers far more than that.

The lazy pundits need to forget his 1st few games and get with the programme. He's a talent.

TBF to Boyd he said Doidge had made him eat his words as he had slagged him off when he arrived said he would not make it up here.

11-08-2020, 08:04 PM
A goals a goal, dont give a monkeys how they go in and the big man just has a knack for scoring, long may it continue.

TheGreenMan
11-08-2020, 08:05 PM
20 goals in 41. Link up and buying fouls, brilliant number 9!

GRA
11-08-2020, 08:05 PM
Great to see him proving people wrong. Myself included. I was raging after the Aberdeen game last year when he missed those 3 one-on-ones. Thought that was the end of him. Realised now he just needed that first goal for his confidence. Great all round striker now 😁

EAZY-ME
11-08-2020, 08:10 PM
To think he got slated on here when he first came ..... what a striker we have. Hopefully we can get him on a longer contract

11-08-2020, 08:16 PM
TBF to Boyd he said Doidge had made him eat his words as he had slagged him off when he arrived said he would not make it up here.

I didn't hear Boyd post match but if any pundit should rate Doidge it should be him. He made a damn good career out of being in the right place and getting the ball over the line in any way possible.

11-08-2020, 08:31 PM
Absolutely love the big guy, he seems such a likeable guy too.

His defensive work during set pieces for a striker is absolutely unreal as well. Proper class number 9 and we wouldn't be nearly as good without him.

New deal for this guy is absolutely critical this season, otherwise we will lose him for nothing.

11-08-2020, 08:38 PM
That first touch and finish today was absolute filth. The keeper is still looking for the ball and wondering why he’s being linked to pornhub.

11-08-2020, 08:42 PM
His finish today was top drawer. Gave the keeper very little chance, even if he was to have gotten fingertips to it it would have flown in.

When you think about some of the top goalscorers that this league has had; Nish, Boyd, they've got the habit of getting the ball in the net by any means necessary and Doidge not only has that attribute but he's unselfish, has a great brain for football in his head and has good movement.

I really can't speak highly enough of our Tommy Tap In. If he was to earn a big move down south I wouldn't put it past him succeeding for a large Championship club down south as well, he's just got that positive attitude.

11-08-2020, 08:48 PM
His hold up play, one touch lay-offs, winning of headers and conversion rate is an unbelievable upgrade on Kamberi in every department.

Enjoy watching him.

EI255
11-08-2020, 08:49 PM
He really is fast becoming a brilliant striker. Strong, athletic and a nose for goal. He'll almost certainly be called up by Wales now. Just hope we can keep hold of him.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Mr Grieves
11-08-2020, 08:49 PM
Great to see him proving people wrong. Myself included. I was raging after the Aberdeen game last year when he missed those 3 one-on-ones. Thought that was the end of him. Realised now he just needed that first goal for his confidence. Great all round striker now 😁

I was raging at Pittodrie cos I've never seen someone miss so many many chances. He's been immense ever since though, and that finish tonight proves he's a better player than many give him credit for.

11-08-2020, 08:52 PM
His finish today was top drawer. Gave the keeper very little chance, even if he was to have gotten fingertips to it it would have flown in.

When you think about some of the top goalscorers that this league has had; Nish, Boyd, they've got the habit of getting the ball in the net by any means necessary and Doidge not only has that attribute but he's unselfish, has a great brain for football in his head and has good movement.

I really can't speak highly enough of our Tommy Tap In. If he was to earn a big move down south I wouldn't put it past him succeeding for a large Championship club down south as well, he's just got that positive attitude.

Nish and Boyd in same sentence 🙈😁😂👀

11-08-2020, 08:56 PM
Brilliant player. Deceptively intelligent footballer who is always in the right place. Busts a gut when he is elsewhere on the park. Also seems like a really nice guy and well liked in the dressing room. All-in, he's been an unbelievable signing.

Think Nisbet will prove similarly effective - a deadly duo. Could genuinely be two 20+ goals a season strikers.

11-08-2020, 09:11 PM
This time last year I was arguing the toss with a couple of regular gangsters on here who reckoned he had been “raped” by the Alloa defence. That ignore button has its uses.

11-08-2020, 09:14 PM
One of my mates down here is a family friend and drinks with his auld man , last season under Hecky i was questioning his ability , he told me i will eat my words as he is a total grafter and will keep going and make things happen , he also said that he needs to be playing up front with another striker and that hardly happened under Hecky.
not sure how long we will have him for as he has had a few clubs so far but i was told he loves it up here

Hecky got the boot and CD scored a hatrick in the very next game and hasn't looked back since. Prior to that it was all about why we should have signed Shankland. Just goes to show what playing to someone's strength's is all about.

11-08-2020, 09:15 PM
I was raging at Pittodrie cos I've never seen someone miss so many many chances. He's been immense ever since though, and that finish tonight proves he's a better player than many give him credit for.

Possibly only 1 of them was an actual serious chance. There were some right dafties on here saying how gash he was, but tbf there were a few who saw the bigger picture and kept the faith:na na:

In all seriousness, what a good finish it was from Doidge, great goal.

11-08-2020, 09:19 PM
Hecky got the boot and CD scored a hatrick in the very next game and hasn't looked back since. Prior to that it was all about why we should have signed Shankland. Just goes to show what playing to someone's strength's is all about.

I'd have both Doidge and Nisbet over the quite frankly over-rated Shankland. Shankland gets a lot of goals because Dundee United have few other attacking threats, both Doidge and Nisbet score goals from their hard work.

11-08-2020, 09:21 PM
I'd have both Doidge and Nisbet over the quite frankly over-rated Shankland. Shankland gets a lot of goals because Dundee United have few other attacking threats, both Doidge and Nisbet score goals from their hard work.

When United go down we'll have all 3

11-08-2020, 09:40 PM
18 goals in last 26 games.

12-08-2020, 02:03 PM
18 goals in last 26 games.

So 18 since Hecky left..that's a great record and will be starting to get noticed down sarf

12-08-2020, 02:13 PM
Fair doos to Kris Boyd, held his hands up yesterday and said he got it wrong about Doidge

12-08-2020, 02:15 PM
£300k seems like an absolute steal now - guys first class

12-08-2020, 02:16 PM
Not a bad "sclaff" last night 😉

Sheffhibee
12-08-2020, 02:29 PM
Transfermkt value of £900k presently and they tend to seriously undervalue players in our league