View Full Version : Match Updates Dundee Utd 0 - 1 Hibs (Doidge)

Pages : [1] 2 3

11-08-2020, 03:40 PM
Team news imminent?

11-08-2020, 03:45 PM
Same team as Saturday?

Same team as Saturday

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EfI2MNyXYAc9oGf?format=jpg&name=medium

11-08-2020, 03:46 PM
Same team as Saturday

Looks same squad as well

Marciano, McGinn, Porteous, Hanlon, Doig, Boyle, Gogic, Newell, Horgan, Doidge, Nisbet.

Subs: Dabrowski, Gray, McGregor, Stevenson, Stirling, Hallberg, F. Murray, Allan, Gullan.

11-08-2020, 03:47 PM
No surprises tbh

Hopefully be able to add Mallan, Jackson and Wright to that squad soon

11-08-2020, 03:48 PM
No surprises tbh

Is Jackson injured?

11-08-2020, 03:48 PM
Happy with same team. 🙂

11-08-2020, 03:51 PM
Is Jackson injured?

Yes

badabing67
11-08-2020, 03:56 PM
If I'm right Sportsound should have coverage starting at 5pm

11-08-2020, 03:56 PM
Good that Porto fit after speculation about ankle/knee. Hanlon too after the whack from Marv. In fact everyone after 90mins on that pitch.

11-08-2020, 03:57 PM
Can't argue with that. Mon the boys.

HendoDelivered
11-08-2020, 04:00 PM
Cmon Hibs!!

11-08-2020, 04:01 PM
Jackson away to Lincoln.

11-08-2020, 04:02 PM
Is Jackson injured?

Yes

same jackson thats just joined Lincoln?

badabing67
11-08-2020, 04:03 PM
Jackson away to Lincoln.

Is that confirmed

11-08-2020, 04:03 PM
Yes

Lol

11-08-2020, 04:04 PM
Is that confirmed

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/10701

11-08-2020, 04:04 PM
Is Jackson injured?
Makes no difference - isnae a Hibs player noo....... :greengrin

11-08-2020, 04:11 PM
No surprises tbh

Jackson is off to Lincoln

11-08-2020, 04:12 PM
No Shankland for Dundee Utd.

11-08-2020, 04:12 PM
Shankland not in the Utd squad at all

11-08-2020, 04:13 PM
Hibs unchanged from the weekend.

11-08-2020, 04:17 PM
No Shankland for Dundee Utd.

He’s wanted by Gerrard apparently!

11-08-2020, 04:18 PM
Jackson is off to Lincoln

Yip seen that come through, hopefully be able to add Mallan, Wright, and Docherty and Mcrorie to that squad soon 😁

11-08-2020, 04:21 PM
First league meeting for 6 years apparently.

11-08-2020, 04:23 PM
First league meeting for 6 years apparently.

In the top flight

11-08-2020, 04:26 PM
In the top flight

We didn't play them in the championship? So 6 years in any league?

11-08-2020, 04:27 PM
We didn't play them in the championship? So 6 years in any league?

Promotion season

11-08-2020, 04:28 PM
Promotion season

Yeah they finished 3rd the year we went up.

11-08-2020, 04:31 PM
Promotion season
Can't even mind playing them in the championship 😅

Edit.. Infact did John McGinn score a great goal from a short corner

11-08-2020, 04:34 PM
Can't even mind playing them in the championship 😅

Lost 1-0 at Tannadice, Boyle missed a pen. Hibs handed out green and white santa hats.

Won 1-0 on our second visit, Jason Cummings great finish.

zitelli62
11-08-2020, 04:37 PM
Onwards and upwards c'mon the hibees.

11-08-2020, 04:38 PM
Lost 1-0 at Tannadice, Boyle missed a pen. Hibs handed out green and white santa hats.

I seem to recall Chris Humphrey being outstanding in the game at ER and not seeing much of him again?

11-08-2020, 04:40 PM
I seem to recall Chris Humphrey being outstanding in the game at ER and not seeing much of him again?

Made an assist for the goal that night and thought he was the real deal , Done bugger all after that

I vividly recall an overweight Paul Cairney for Ayr ? Beating him in a 20 yard sprint and made up my mind he was garbage

11-08-2020, 04:46 PM
It's a good fixture. Dundee United are a big club in Scotland and should be in the top division. An unchanged side a chance to make it three wins from three. I think it might be close; I'm going Hibs 2-1.

11-08-2020, 04:52 PM
Didn't he get injured though? I seem to recall he out for a while.....

11-08-2020, 04:57 PM
There appears to be a new player at the game. No idea who he is.... prob a CB.

11-08-2020, 04:57 PM
I’d always assumed Mellon was English, clearly not the case listening to him. Obviously has been a decent manager down south.

11-08-2020, 04:58 PM
There appears to be a new player at the game. No idea who he is.... prob a CB.

Leigh? :hyper

11-08-2020, 04:59 PM
mon the cabbage :flag::flag:

11-08-2020, 05:00 PM
Leigh? :hyper

Its Stephen McGinn! Stand down. :greengrin

11-08-2020, 05:03 PM
Mon Hibs

11-08-2020, 05:04 PM

Jason also getting himself sent off in the following game with the worlds most obvious handball. It looked like a Superman impression.

11-08-2020, 05:05 PM
Sitting in The Bush Bar in Dundee, moan Hibs!

11-08-2020, 05:07 PM
pitch looks great, a bowling green

11-08-2020, 05:07 PM
Not the quickest of starts from Hibs.

11-08-2020, 05:08 PM
McGinn's taken a nasty one.

That was completely out of order!

Very bad clash of heads there between McGinn and Robson

11-08-2020, 05:09 PM
Thats a horror

That's a horrible clash.

Was a shocking ball to give someone that.

McGinn's moving at least

Robson looks like he's come of the worst

11-08-2020, 05:10 PM
Robson going off, McGinn looks fine.

11-08-2020, 05:11 PM
Robson going off, McGinn looks fine.

Hopefully, hate to say it but no longer have faith in Gray...

Robson rightly booked for the challenge as well

Crazy challenge.

not saw a replay yet but it looked like robsons fault ?

thought so, yellow card for robson

not saw a replay yet but it looked like robsons fault ?

He's been booked.

Their pitch looks amazing.

11-08-2020, 05:12 PM
Must have been close to a red that challenge?

Sending off surely?

How is that not a red??!!!

11-08-2020, 05:13 PM
He's been booked.

delayed transmission for iptv viewers. :)

11-08-2020, 05:14 PM
Must have been close to a red that challenge?

I've just rewound it, it's definitely a borderline red card.

Robson flies towards McGinn who is jumping from a static position and takes him out head first.

11-08-2020, 05:14 PM
Boyle down now holding his knee

11-08-2020, 05:15 PM
Boyle struggling.

We could do without Boyle being out.

I've just rewound it, it's definitely a borderline red card.

Robson flies towards McGinn who is jumping from a static position and takes him out head first.

I rewound it too. Defo red card for me.

Boyle injured now.

Boyle ok now.

boyle tripped over himself

11-08-2020, 05:16 PM
Boyle back on

Boyle down now holding his knee

took a tackle, a step and then goes down holding his knee, that is NOT GOOD, though he is up and moving

The one in the Seagate, opposite the old cinema?

I lived on the top floor above there about 25 years ago.

11-08-2020, 05:17 PM
forgot diving git pawlett was with them

11-08-2020, 05:20 PM
Mikey Stewart saying the middle of our team, specifically Gogic and Newell, is our ‘weak’ area?Seems the opposite on evidence so far this season...

11-08-2020, 05:20 PM

Whit ye daen up there?

hibbymark
11-08-2020, 05:21 PM
I take it the super dooper sky deal isn’t for HD ? Tv picture was better online stream for the Livingston and Kilmarnock game

11-08-2020, 05:21 PM
Really, really like the look of Doig. Poor shot, but his confidence in striding forward is encouraging.

Zambernardi1875
11-08-2020, 05:22 PM
The one in the Seagate, opposite the old cinema?

I lived on the top floor above there about 25 years ago.

Pizza de Roma was brilliant

Crowd noise is weird. It's like the game is being watched by people who are completely disinterested in the action.

This is a lively affair. Both teams look sprightly. Good to see.

Mikey Stewart saying the middle of our team, specifically Gogic and Newell, is our ‘weak’ area?Seems the opposite on evidence so far this season...

Well he would know a bang average midfielder as he sees one in the mirror every day...gogic and newell are not those on the evidence of this season so far though!

skyhibs
Poor poor start.... we should be on top of these players instead of letting them dictate

Newell booked

11-08-2020, 05:23 PM
Horgan's defensive work has improved massively this season so far

11-08-2020, 05:24 PM
Poor poor start.... we should be on top of these players instead of letting them dictate

From what I've seen it's been pretty even so far, neither team really on top though we've had more chances

From what I've seen it's been pretty even so far, neither hteam really on top though we've had more chances

Theyve dominanted possession

one day maybe...
Not going to get any rhythm going in this game.. Utd working hard and making it difficult. Passing needs to be crisper

11-08-2020, 05:25 PM
Doig looks like a star in the making IMO.

Theyve dominanted possession

Aye, United on top so far. Early days though.

skyhibs
From what I've seen it's been pretty even so far, neither team really on top though we've had more chances

55% possession for united

11-08-2020, 05:27 PM
Gogic booked now too

11-08-2020, 05:29 PM
Be surprised if we don't get a guy sent off here

We've started slowly

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Gogic booked now too

Silly tackle; an hour late.

HendoDelivered
Defo a sending off happening in this game.

Dan Sarf
11-08-2020, 05:30 PM
Crowd noise is weird. It's like the game is being watched by people who are completely disinterested in the action.

Good description.

Ha Ha! Gogic is a desperate looking punter. No mercy!

Not watching but sounds like we are losing the midfield again?

Poor from Hibs so far. United waltzing past our midfield so we're having to foul them.

11-08-2020, 05:32 PM
This has been brutal so far.

How is that not a booking?

Hows that no a booking for Reynolds ?!!!!

Yes, United the better team so far.

Reynolds got off lightly there

Why are we getting yellows and they’re getting warnings!

yerauldda
How’s that not a booking?!

11-08-2020, 05:33 PM
Gogic and newell booked for a 1st foul and reynolds wipes him out from behind and nothing? Aye right then.

OtleyHibs

Exactly what I was thinking

I switched it off, I think I prefer hearing just the natural noises in the ground.

Cause referees see what they want to see

11-08-2020, 05:34 PM
Very sloppy performance so far.

11-08-2020, 05:34 PM
Ha Ha! Gogic is a desperate looking punter. No mercy!

Roy Keane post buzzcut

11-08-2020, 05:35 PM

Yup.

Horgan getting about much and trying but other than that it's very sloppy stuff.

11-08-2020, 05:36 PM
McGinn did really well there, just a shame that the space closed in on Boyle.

Good work by McGinn spoiled by poor control.

sean04
Horgan and Boyle not involved enough, no supply to front players

Is there anything worse than listening to Andy Walker ... he irritates me

HendoDelivered
Superb from McGinn going forward there.

11-08-2020, 05:37 PM
Not sure the formation is doing is any favours today. Need to think about strengthening the midfield

Hibs controlling the game but they’re defending well. Not quite time to pish yourself in misery yet

Newell has been awful.

11-08-2020, 05:38 PM
Not getting enough from Martin Boyle yet tonight

Doidge has been a menace again.

Newell’s having a mare.

Superb from McGinn going forward there.

👍🏿

Newell has been awful.

I like Newell but he's so far off it today.

Newell poor so far...

yerauldda
Need to go to a 3 in the middle, especially with the two
CMs now booked.

Newell’s having a mare.

Yep, not like him recently.

Some abysmal passing here

11-08-2020, 05:40 PM
Some abysmal passing here

On the bright side Rocky hasn’t had that much to do either...

skyhibs
Hibs controlling the game but they’re defending well. Not quite time to pish yourself in misery yet
What game are you watching

Well based on this we are still several players short

I pushed back a restaurant booking for this...!

Thought we started slowly but have been in charge for the last ten minutes or so.

Hibs need to waken up quick here. Only one team playing football and it ain't us.

yerauldda
11-08-2020, 05:41 PM
Big fan of Paul McGinn

Horgan and Doig looking lively so far. Really like the look of Doig - will make a huge difference having an attacking LB.

Midfield and attack posted missing so far though. Scott Allan the key for this game IMO.

1875Sean
Gogic has been a bit sloppy

McGinn has been Hibs best player so far.

Need to create more going forward.

where has saturdays hibees gone :(

11-08-2020, 05:42 PM
What game are you watching

Not sure we’ve been as bad as this pantwetters megathread suggests is all I’m saying.

McGinn is having a blinder. Famous last words.

pretty poor fare so far.......

skyhibs
11-08-2020, 05:43 PM
W
Thought we started slowly but have been in charge for the last ten minutes or so.
Marty get them green glasses off.... one team in it and it’s not hibs

Another foul by Newell who's on a booking.

Get Newell off

Refs giving them everything.

skyhibs
W

you too matty

11-08-2020, 05:44 PM
Get Newell off

Be sent of shortly.

W

lol

W

Would hardly say there's one team in it. We've been poor but thankfully so have they

We’ve been poor this half. Created nout

Need another body in the middle of the park here.

This is poor. We need to step it up. Created nothing

We were well out of sorts in the early part of the game but we had a decent spell up until the last couple of minutes. Nothing particularly threatening but knocking it about OK and probing around their box.

One mistake or piece of magic is winning this one as there is almost no flow to the game at all.

Maybe need a change in formation second half. We are struggling to get hold of the midfield.

Glad this game isn’t PPV, it’s been dire.

The defence have been fairly solid with McGinn seeing a lot of action and doing really well. Horgan here there and everywhere but unable to spread it about much. Doig doing ok as well. Everyone else is struggling to get in to the game and Newell and Gogic are way off the pace.

That said Dundee Utd aren't exactly troubling us.

11-08-2020, 05:45 PM

Back to being slow again. Pretty poor so far.

Allan for Newall ASAP before he gets sent off

Newell for Allan at half time please.

-Jonesy-
We’ve been poor but we’re hardly getting played off the park, Utd have barely created any chances never mind anything significant.

Need to take a chance and bring a baller into the midfield to make something happen. Both centre mids on a booking as well.

Scotty for Newell at HT i’d think with Newell on the card and the mid crying out for SA

11-08-2020, 05:46 PM
This must be what it’s like watching Hertz every week

Nicky Clark is garbage. Just like his cup final performance:greengrin

Dundee Utd has everything off the ref so far. No surprise our first two fouls were bookings straight away

11-08-2020, 05:47 PM
*******. Good work by Nisbet.

Megnuts

Lovely from Nisbet, first real impact today honestly.

-Jonesy-
11-08-2020, 05:48 PM
Nisbet making something out of nothing there and getting the big lump
A booking, should be both their CBs

11-08-2020, 05:48 PM
What has happened to Newell's set pieces?

11-08-2020, 05:49 PM
What has happened to Newell's set pieces?

Not his day today, will be hooked early second half if he doesn't pick it up

11-08-2020, 05:50 PM
"last chance in this opening stanza"? FFS Cliff!

AZhibee
Glad this game isn’t PPV, it’s been dire.

Unless they are paying us to watch

No lack of effort on display. Perhaps it needs someone experienced to put a foot on the ball and play the telling pass.

11-08-2020, 05:51 PM
Ending this half much stronger than we've played throughout it.

HendoDelivered
Get Scotty on at HT i think. Change the shape.

Is the ref trying his hardest to get in the way?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

cjward2
11-08-2020, 05:52 PM
Could a Scotty Allan wonder pass open up a goal for us? Get him on for Newell.

A couple of time we have had acres of space down the left and just not moved it quickly enough.

A bit sharper in possession and this is here for the taking.

I’m no sure that would be a great sub. We need players to compete in the midfield. He doesn’t get stuck in enough

Thank God for that HT whistle as it couldn’t have come soon enough!

Not great.

The crowd noise went "ohhh" when Horgan hit that shot so you knew it'd miss. Sort it Sky.

AZhibee

Yes

Could a Scotty Allan wonder pass open up a goal for us? Get him on for Newell.

Already outnumbered in midfield? Allan for Horgan maybe?

11-08-2020, 05:53 PM
Piss poor this.

Keep it down Horgan! Rule number one.

thank goodness for HT. :)

11-08-2020, 05:54 PM
We've not been great at all

But they are truly dreadful. If we improve we'll win easily.

49 minutes of my life I won't get back although there were signs at the end of the half that we might be getting better.

sean04
Can’t swap newell for Allan. Would lose the battle in there. Allan on but need to keep the midfield 2

I think we were second best half; it wasn't great to watch, but surely we can only improve. It's still 0-0 and we have every chance.

11-08-2020, 05:55 PM
Is it just me? I think we're doing OK. Since when did we expect to control every match away from home?

11-08-2020, 05:55 PM
Been poor by our recent standards.

Still room for much improvement second half. Need to get Nisbet and Doidge into this more.

sean04
11-08-2020, 05:56 PM
Wasn’t great to watch but 0-0 away from home. Not in any trouble. Can see us going thru the gears in the 2nd half and winning

That’s not what I was expecting from Hibs in the 45 mins I’ve just watched
Thought we’ve looked tired tonight.
Both central midfielders only a bad challenge away for a red card too. Need to keep their cool in the 2nd half

hibIBZ
I think we are doing ok, for me looked more likely to create something than them. The volume of fouls is really breaking up the game and a few bodies look a bit sluggish after Saturday. Still think we should have enough to win this game

sean04
11-08-2020, 05:57 PM
Is it just me? I think we're doing OK. Since when did we expect to control every match away from home?

Away from home, Rocky hasnt made a save. Look pretty solid

I have us still the better team here. Liking the way Horgan is playing.
Worried about a red for Newell or Gogic so swap Newell for Scotty A is the natural thing to do at ht.

Crap game but they are there for the taking if we can get going.

Utd probably thinking the same though.

Let’s at least go for it, hope it doesn’t just fizzle out as a 0-0.

It’s fair to point out the Arabs have created nothing either. No shots on target by either side.

We’ve been the better side but there’s not much in it. No clear sight of goal.

11-08-2020, 05:58 PM

Didnt realise it was too much to expect a shot on target.

11-08-2020, 05:58 PM
Let’s see if we can get a reaction from what is sure to be a difficult half time team talk.

11-08-2020, 05:59 PM
If there's a positive to gain from that half its that we look solid at the back and they don't look like creating anything from open play.

Negative is we are the same, this is where Jack Ross earns his wage. Player change needed and maybe shape too, but I don't really know what is required if I'm honest...

Maybe something to get our wide players on the ball in the right areas, they seem to be picking it up too deep.

McGinn and Horgan decent, the rest very average. The game is crying out for a player who can create. Allan for Newell is the obvious change.

Green Reaper
This could be one of these games that could be won
by whoever make the best tactical substitutions

11-08-2020, 06:00 PM
Didnt realise it was too much to expect a shot on target.

We're getting plenty balls into their box. We're passing the ball and keeping possession pretty well.

I don't agree with those saying that it's "piss poor".

Is that OK with you?

11-08-2020, 06:00 PM
Had to pick up the wife from work and only listened on the radio, didn't sound too exciting but a few tasty challenges, how's the 442 showing tonight, Mickey Stewart seems to think we're a bit outnumbered in the middle.

11-08-2020, 06:01 PM
Very poor 1st half from both sides, Newell and Boyle in particular have been really poor for us. Surely we can only improve 2nd half

McGinn and Horgan decent, the rest very average. The game is crying out for a player who can create. Allen for Newell is the obvious change.

Can't have Allan as a 2 in the middle, has to be a 3.

Maybe need a formation tweak to get us on the ball in midfield. Newell hasn't been involved at all, might just be a case of him getting the finger out.

11-08-2020, 06:02 PM
Had to pick up the wife from work and only listened on the radio, didn't sound too exciting but a few tasty challenges, how's the 442 showing tonight, Mickey Stewart seems to think we're a bit outnumbered in the middle.

We are light in the middle of the park, need an extra bod in, wonder who Jack will sacrifice

11-08-2020, 06:02 PM
We're getting plenty balls into their box. We're passing the ball and keeping possession pretty well.

Is that OK with you?

Settle yourself.

11-08-2020, 06:03 PM
We are light in the middle of the park, need an extra bod in, wonder who Jack will sacrifice

One of the strikers, who looks like scoring most?

11-08-2020, 06:03 PM

Is that OK with you?
They dominanted possession until the last five minutes

11-08-2020, 06:04 PM
Like a late 80s Lexo Hibs vs Arabs first half.

There 23 looks half decent but that’s about it

11-08-2020, 06:05 PM
They're pressing us well in the middle but they'll tire

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

11-08-2020, 06:05 PM
Settle yourself.

https://media1.tenor.com/images/d6a0e630ef3bf6729d41153d776cf5a8/tenor.gif?itemid=13430812

11-08-2020, 06:06 PM
Poor stuff not a great advert for Scottish football.

How Solid is Paul McGinn? Having a really good.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

H18S NX
I'd like to see Boyle come into the game a bit mair.

AugustaHibs
Dabrowski coming on? Warming up in full kit

Still top of the league chaps.

11-08-2020, 06:07 PM
Poor first half

11-08-2020, 06:07 PM
Could’ve been a pen, might’ve been soft but they’ve been given.

Edit: in the first half

11-08-2020, 06:08 PM
Not a classic so far. Pass marks to the defence and Horgan looks like our only creative outlet. Let’s hope for a better second half and getting Scotty Allan on! Come on HIBEES!!

United are well organised, press us well and are making it difficult for us, their passing game is decent too - we were pretty insipid most of the half, individual moments, no real team cohesion, too many unforced errors and stupid fouls - no creative spark anywhere to be seen - Ross needs to change things urgently if we are to take all 3 points ... young lad Doig playing really well

Much better needed. Come on the cabbage.

I take it Shankland is injured and why he’s not playing today?

11-08-2020, 06:09 PM
I take it Shankland is injured and why he’s not playing today?

Yep.

badabing67
11-08-2020, 06:09 PM
Prefer Horgan in the channels should swap him for Scottie

11-08-2020, 06:11 PM
argh just hit it.

11-08-2020, 06:12 PM
Thought Doidge should have skelped that there

11-08-2020, 06:13 PM
Prefer Horgan in the channels should swap him for Scottie

Horgan been pretty most creative player this evening. Worked back very well too

Pretty slack going forward we are not quite at it but looking solid at the back.

Thought Doidge should have skelped that there

Yup. Not a great pass for Nesbit either.

PH91
Looks like a change to 352 with horgan behind the strikers. He will get 10 mins then i think we will see allan if no change in scoreline.

11-08-2020, 06:14 PM
Could do with 3 or 4 goals here.

Step it up please.

BlackSheep
11-08-2020, 06:14 PM
We’ll get nothing from Robertson tonight... he is even making his best attempts to get in our way too... Gogic and Newell’s yellows are a joke too!

11-08-2020, 06:16 PM
Need to step this up like.

If it was me, the way it's gone I'd be tempted to take a striker off and go with another in midfield to win that battle first

we've not been practising our shys

again

11-08-2020, 06:17 PM
Allan on for Horgan imminently.