View Full Version : (Covid-19) - What beer gardens/resturants are open for a pint?

07-07-2020, 09:48 AM
Anyone know what beer gardens/restaurants are open for a pint outside? Opening hours? Gazebo/parasol/covers over the table?

Can't see me doing much this week so thinking a pint or 3 and read a book or something.

07-07-2020, 09:57 AM
I know the corn exchange is, but not sure about anywhere else.

07-07-2020, 09:58 AM
The Outhouse
Cold Town House
Bar 50
The Raeburn

07-07-2020, 12:50 PM
Pear Tree has a large garden space so would assume that would be open. No idea if it is though.

07-07-2020, 01:01 PM
I think most of them you have to book ahead, and it's for a limited time only per booking.

07-07-2020, 01:14 PM
Teuchters Landing, no need to book.

SideBurns
07-07-2020, 04:44 PM

A wee trek doon the shore today, was it 😁?

SideBurns
07-07-2020, 04:46 PM
The Forth one website did a wee map of pubs open this week; not comprehensive obviously as relies on pubs giving info, but a few venues nevertheless.

07-07-2020, 05:07 PM
A wee trek doon the shore today, was it 😁?

Nah, just a wee look at their website, Corn Exchange tomorrow for me. The area outside The Beer House was like a massive beer garden about 1800 last night.

SideBurns
07-07-2020, 05:14 PM
Nah, just a wee look at their website, Corn Exchange tomorrow for me. The area outside The Beer House was like a massive beer garden about 1800 last night.

I'd be grateful for your report on the Corn Exchange as we've booked a couple of tables for Sunday.

07-07-2020, 05:17 PM
This one in Motherwell looks nice.

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/pub-trolled-online-having-worst-22312865

07-07-2020, 05:18 PM
Cold town house was very well done but it’s fully booked for weeks.

The raeburn was open and first come first served but not so well organised.

07-07-2020, 05:18 PM

That’s a cracker

07-07-2020, 05:35 PM

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/pub-trolled-online-having-worst-22312865Oh my word, I thought the Kingsknowe's beer concrete was pushing it but at least they HAVE concrete!

07-07-2020, 06:18 PM
I'd be grateful for your report on the Corn Exchange as we've booked a couple of tables for Sunday.

Seems to have been well received judging by what I've read so far.

https://m.facebook.com/edinburghcornexchange/posts/?ref=page_internal&mt_nav=0

murray26
07-07-2020, 07:02 PM

😂😂

07-07-2020, 07:51 PM
Portman Hotel in Kilmarnock has the best beer garden in the town.

08-07-2020, 08:59 AM
Anyone know what beer gardens/restaurants are open for a pint outside? Opening hours? Gazebo/parasol/covers over the table?

Can't see me doing much this week so thinking a pint or 3 and read a book or something.

BrewDog bars are if there are any near you, they've a pretty good set up to reduce risks both to punters and staff too.

08-07-2020, 11:08 AM

I just hope the rats are aware of the social distancing rules.

stuart-farquhar
08-07-2020, 11:47 AM

Took 30 mins to get in. Pints at 6 quid for some. Fish and chips good. Had a table under a gazebo right next to a new outdoor bar.

Pay by app and service rapid. No need to sign in as the app captures your info.

Cumberland bar has nice garden too. Only one cask but usual lager etc. No booking.

08-07-2020, 12:27 PM
Booked for the Devils Advocate on Friday after work. Hour and a half max stay and order and pay by app. They still have good availability.

Looking forward to it.

08-07-2020, 09:05 PM

Happily recommend it, easy to socially distance, even if some folk think the rules don't apply to them. Plastic glasses not so good, loads of ladies dressed for Royal Ascot slightly better! 👍

SideBurns
08-07-2020, 09:51 PM
Happily recommend it, easy to socially distance, even if some folk think the rules don't apply to them. Plastic glasses not so good, loads of ladies dressed for Royal Ascot slightly better! 👍

Thanks, much appreciated!👍

09-07-2020, 05:51 AM

What are the men wearing like ? :greengrin

09-07-2020, 07:38 AM
What are the men wearing like ? :greengrin

I wasn't really checking. 😊

09-07-2020, 07:49 AM
I wasn't really checking. 😊

He really just wants to know what you were wearing 😉

09-07-2020, 04:10 PM
The wife and I took the dog for a walk this afternoon and walked past The Original Rosslyn Inn.

Good timing. Managed to get a table for a 2 hour slot 2.30-.4.30. Three much needed pints in the sun. 🙂

SideBurns
10-07-2020, 06:46 PM
Booked for the Devils Advocate on Friday after work. Hour and a half max stay and order and pay by app. They still have good availability.

Looking forward to it.

In the interests of research (and the fact it is probably the nearest pub to my office which is open at the moment), how was the Devil's Advocate experience?

patch1875
10-07-2020, 08:17 PM
The wife and I took the dog for a walk this afternoon and walked past The Original Rosslyn Inn.

Good timing. Managed to get a table for a 2 hour slot 2.30-.4.30. Three much needed pints in the sun. 🙂

Passed there yesterday afternoon did look nice in the sunshine was well jealous!

10-07-2020, 09:35 PM
In the interests of research (and the fact it is probably the nearest pub to my office which is open at the moment), how was the Devil's Advocate experience?

Was fine. We had a table booked so got in no bother. For those who hadn't booked they were doing 'take away' pints to drink in the queue. Masks had to be worn when indoors, table service only and order & pay through the app. Atmosphere was good and service was spot on.

Had a really good night out actually. Ended up in Cask Smugglers on top of the Waverley after the DA and shared a table with a couple of Irish girls who should have been graduating today. Again table service only and a queue to get in, it was pretty relaxed and everyone was behaving well.

Stairway 2 7
10-07-2020, 09:57 PM
In Murrayfield sports bar earlier. Pretty minging place in jambo land, surprisingly big outside. no system in place come go as you want, huge groups, pay at the bar pretty wild, packed. Police came looked about then went away.

stuart-farquhar
11-07-2020, 03:13 PM
The Pear tree experience.

Briefly. Ordered when told last orders on the table app. This was 25 mins till table time expired. 15 mins later was informed order was processed one minute after the cut off period of 15 mins. Well ok. Money back in up to 10 days. I consider this to be poor and unacceptable. Manager called who apologised but said " your party must leave now no refund can be given other than stated.

Am I alone in feeling increasing unhappy with this new world order. Or perhaps I had my own way for too long and can't adapt!?

11-07-2020, 03:29 PM

Briefly. Ordered when told last orders on the table app. This was 25 mins till table time expired. 15 mins later was informed order was processed one minute after the cut off period of 15 mins. Well ok. Money back in up to 10 days. I consider this to be poor and unacceptable. Manager called who apologised but said " your party must leave now no refund can be given other than stated.

Am I alone in feeling increasing unhappy with this new world order. Or perhaps I had my own way for too long and can't adapt!?

No, I would be raging at that.

11-07-2020, 03:44 PM

I think you have every right to be pissed off but deep down I think we all need to be fairly forgiving of one another for a while.

They’re jumping through hoops, trying to comply with increasing and unfamiliar regulation. Their business may also be vulnerable after losing months worth of revenue, hence the slightly peculiar rules on things like refunds.

In the grand scheme of things they’re trying their best to get you a much missed pint and you’ll be short of a few quid for a few weeks.

11-07-2020, 04:15 PM

Na, I wouldn’t be happy about that.

I love the pub but this is the kind of story that puts me off heading back to the pub (certainly up the town) until things are a bit more like how they were.

If I venture back to the pub in the next few weeks it will be locally, where in most cases I don’t think things will be too different.

stuart-farquhar
11-07-2020, 04:35 PM
Na, I wouldn’t be happy about that.

I love the pub but this is the kind of story that puts me off heading back to the pub (certainly up the town) until things are a bit more like how they were.

If I venture back to the pub in the next few weeks it will be locally, where in most cases I don’t think things will be too different.

It was pretty annoying. Mainly the fact my 25 quid has disappeared for possibly ten days.

11-07-2020, 05:04 PM
Went to Brewdog Lothian Road today. Limited seating outside but they were still doing take away pints and people were just sitting around Festival Square drinking then reordering.

Really enjoyable afternoon. Was pretty busy and atmosphere was good. People having a good time whilst keeping their distance from other groups. Brewdog team collecting empties from around the square which was a nice touch. Police went past a few times but kept their distance as there was no reason for them to get involved.

Wouldn't fancy it in winter but it was pleasant enough today.

11-07-2020, 07:12 PM
Was out at a local pub today and certainly won't be going out again any time soon. People wandering all over the place unable to follow an arrow, queuing for the bar on place but not enforced by staff and generally an uncomfortable experience. Not helped by a cold July wind.

11-07-2020, 08:58 PM
Was out at a local pub today and certainly won't be going out again any time soon. People wandering all over the place unable to follow an arrow, queuing for the bar on place but not enforced by staff and generally an uncomfortable experience. Not helped by a cold July wind.

Just hope that The Iona or Robbies have a decent one way system in place by the time we get back to ER. 😉

12-07-2020, 07:13 AM
I was in the Boathouse, Portobello, during the week.

We phoned ahead and was told it was a queuing system however when we got there there were reserved signs on a couple of tables.

The tables were well spaced out and the staff made an effort to clean them regularly but not always between groups leaving and arriving.

Everyone seemed to be happy with sitting reasonably peacefully but aye there's always one [group] eh? About 10 of them occasionally sitting at 2 tables but mostly moving about like assholes. They were asked to leave but I got the impression that should have happened much earlier.

Table service petty good and contactless payment.

Definitely a different experience, I think for me the most annoying thing was they only have magners as a draft cider.

12-07-2020, 04:13 PM
Walked along St John’s Rd this afternoon, and the Torfin was going a roaring trade. Set up a Beer Garden/Food round the back of the Pub/Restaurant.
Not sure if this is a Car Park they are using

12-07-2020, 06:02 PM
Walked along St John’s Rd this afternoon, and the Torfin was going a roaring trade. Set up a Beer Garden/Food round the back of the Pub/Restaurant.
Not sure if this is a Car Park they are using

They have purpose built wooden booths made to compliment their already very successful takeaway operation from their window hatch.

12-07-2020, 08:07 PM
They have purpose built wooden booths made to compliment their already very successful takeaway operation from their window hatch.

And very popular as well, so looks like it’s paying off, while the weather is decent
Is the Torfin part of a chain

12-07-2020, 08:59 PM
And very popular as well, so looks like it’s paying off, while the weather is decent
Is the Torfin part of a chain

No it’s independent, the owner also has two bars in Spain, good to see him doing so well.

14-07-2020, 09:26 AM
I'm not sure if you have to book but the Holyrood Distillery at the back of St Leonards Police station has a beer garden set up in their courtyard, passed it on my way to work this morning.

Looks quite smart and they had a few tables.

14-07-2020, 09:56 AM
Walked past Teuchters Landing last night just after 8pm. Beer garden absolutely packed. Monday is the new Friday, clearly!

14-07-2020, 11:43 AM
Was at the Old Dr Bells beer garden on Saturday for food and drinks. We really enjoyed it. Only icky bit was when a large group rocked up and all tried to crowd round the one table but that was soon nipped in the bud.

Booked into Devil’s Advocate for post work on Friday, Dishoom for brunch on Sunday and Smith & Gertrude on the 30th.

We are doing one of the After Hours events at the zoo on the 31st so will try book somewhere in Corstorphine for after... Hopefully Fabio’s which is reopening (even though they are closing permanently at some point).

14-07-2020, 03:48 PM
I’ve been out doing the rounds in the Glasgow area pubs I look after today and all reported a good weekend with no issues around social distancing. General feedback is that customers are self policing anyone that steps out of line or forgets what they’re meant to be doing - everyone is worried that their local will be shut if they don’t, so it’s worked quite well!

Hopefully that will carry on into tomorrow when the inside areas open.

speedy_gonzales
14-07-2020, 03:50 PM
Just had a nice lunch and pints at Philly's in the middle of Edinburgh Park.
Perhaps not the first choice of establishment to visit post-lockdown but I was out for a walk with the better half, spied the beer garden and convinced her to stop for a bit.
Cracking pint in a real glass (it's the little things) and an OK Cajun chicken burger with fries (only £8 which I thought was reasonable).