View Full Version : Werder Bremen game tonight

andyf5
16-06-2020, 08:10 PM
Anyone watching? Bayern down to 10 men 11 mins to go Bremen need a goal for a point. Lots of crowd noise which improves viewing.

16-06-2020, 08:33 PM
I think Werder tactically got it right. 1-0 down but hung in there then Bayern reduced to 10 men for the last 15 minutes or so and gave it a bit of ago. Congratulations to Bayern yet another championship, head and shoulders above anyone else in the Bundesliga and have been for quite some time.

16-06-2020, 08:37 PM
I think Werder tactically got it right. 1-0 down but hung in there then Bayern reduced to 10 men for the last 15 minutes or so and gave it a bit of ago. Congratulations to Bayern yet another championship, head and shoulders above anyone else in the Bundesliga and have been for quite some time.

Eight in row PSG must be about the same Juve too ?

Money is killing the game.

16-06-2020, 08:42 PM

Getting a bit boring now, eight in a row.

It's nearly as bad as Scotland

16-06-2020, 08:43 PM
Huge game on Saturday. Don’t win that and it’s over.

16-06-2020, 08:46 PM

Most top leagues in Europe, Juve/ PSG/ Porto or Benfica/ Ajax/ Bayern/ Anderlecht or Brugges/Olympiakos/ etc etc almost makes the EPL competitive. Football has been money centric for decades lets not pretend otherwise.

16-06-2020, 08:58 PM

In my lifetime I think 4 maybe 5 teams have won the bundesliga.

It's 2 in Scotland.

16-06-2020, 09:00 PM

It's 2 in Scotland.

TBF Germany is 12 times the size of Scotland it should be more competitive. In my lifetime 5 or six teams have won the league in Scotland.

beensaidbefore
16-06-2020, 10:34 PM

It's 2 in Scotland.

Bayern have won the league 23 times in my lifetime. I'm 39!

16-06-2020, 10:54 PM
Eight in row PSG must be about the same Juve too ?

Money is killing the game.

Monaco won the French league 3 years ago.

G15 Hibs
17-06-2020, 07:59 AM
Monaco won the French league 3 years ago.

PSG have won 7 of the last 8.

Going back to the topic, Bremen probably did the right thing last night, knowing that the important games are still to come, especially this weekend, and the likelihood of taking anything from last night's game. Kept in the game but never overstretched themselves and risked injury or suspension. Wins for Dortmund and Leipzig tonight a must, as is 3 points against Mainz on Saturday. Still a chance for them.

17-06-2020, 09:43 AM

Going back to the topic, Bremen probably did the right thing last night, knowing that the important games are still to come, especially this weekend, and the likelihood of taking anything from last night's game. Kept in the game but never overstretched themselves and risked injury or suspension. Wins for Dortmund and Leipzig tonight a must, as is 3 points against Mainz on Saturday. Still a chance for them.

I think they will beat Mainz they looked terrible the other night

G15 Hibs
17-06-2020, 09:54 AM
I think they will beat Mainz they looked terrible the other night

They looked utterly bereft against a poor Augsburg team on Sunday, aye.

17-06-2020, 10:22 AM
TBF Germany is 12 times the size of Scotland it should be more competitive. In my lifetime 5 or six teams have won the league in Scotland.

It's actually fifteen times the population of Scotland (5.4 million to 83 million), but your point still stands.

Either way, it doesn't change the point that both leagues are now getting boringly predictable.

17-06-2020, 03:22 PM
Huge game on Saturday. Don’t win that and it’s over.

I think the result against Bayern was positive for Werder. This could possibly go down to goal difference and with 5 goals at the weekend for Werder and only losing by 1 against Bayern, things could get pretty tight before the last game. With Mainz away to Dortmund and Düsseldorf away in Leipzig tonight it could possibly see Bremen leapfrog Düsseldorf despite having lost yesterday.

17-06-2020, 03:36 PM

Yes. Lyon won 7 in a row last decade though, no one said a word.

These teams have taken a big step forward and left others in the dust. There is no reason Bayern are so far ahead other than being better run and making better decisions. Dortmund have had all the chances.

17-06-2020, 08:23 PM
Dortmund 0 Mainz 2
Leipzig 2 Dusseldorf 2

Not good results for Werder Bremen.

27-06-2020, 02:46 PM
Last game of regular season today.

Bremen up 3-0 and Dusseldorf losing so as it stands Bremen will be in the playoffs.

35mins to go though.

27-06-2020, 02:50 PM
Last game of regular season today.

Bremen up 3-0 and Dusseldorf losing so as it stands Bremen will be in the playoffs.

35mins to go though.

Bremen 5-0 up and Dusseldorf 2-0 down. 29 mins left.

BegbieHSC
27-06-2020, 03:27 PM
YAAAAASSS. #wearestayingup

27-06-2020, 03:35 PM
YAAAAASSS. #wearestayingup

Playoffs to go.

wpj
27-06-2020, 04:48 PM
Fortuna Düsseldorf,the ultimate yoyo club. When I lived there they beat Bayern and Dortmund but still got relegated

28-06-2020, 09:35 AM
That was some day yesterday. My boy's team had their end of season party at the ground and the clubhouse was showing the games on a couple of large screen TV'S. Although the area I live in is 50/50 Union/Hertha, by the end of the game everyone was rooting for Werder. Oh ma heid, all set now for another Wunder on the Weser. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

28-06-2020, 04:32 PM
Hamburg had the chance today to set up a Nordderby playoff with Werder, but instead Sandhausen killed them as a club: https://www.whoscored.com/Matches/1388708/Live/Germany-Bundesliga-II-2019-2020-Hamburger-SV-Sandhausen

Werder's playoff will be against Heidenheim.

28-06-2020, 04:38 PM
Hamburg had the chance today to set up a Nordderby playoff with Werder, but instead Sandhausen killed them as a club: https://www.whoscored.com/Matches/1388708/Live/Germany-Bundesliga-II-2019-2020-Hamburger-SV-Sandhausen

Heidenheim are decent but I prefer their camp site rivals, Heidenho.

andyf5
28-06-2020, 04:51 PM

I'm looking forward to the play-offs. The second leg on Monday 6th will be when pubs open their outdoor areas.... wonder if anyone will be showing it?

28-06-2020, 04:56 PM
I'm looking forward to the play-offs. The second leg on Monday 6th will be when pubs open their outdoor areas.... wonder if anyone will be showing it?

BT Sport show a fair number of Bundesliga games, not sure if they usually show the playoffs.

28-06-2020, 04:56 PM

Shocking today by one of German football's traditional "giants". I don't follow German football in depth but anyone got a wee breakdown of why Hamburg have fallen so much in the last 4 seasons or so. They've lost out to clubs like Paderborn, Union Berlin, Armenia, Heidenheim in the promotion stakes - all due respect - clubs nowhere as big.

I would imagine they have massive potential, surely?

andrew70
28-06-2020, 04:58 PM
BT Sport show a fair number of Bundesliga games, not sure if they usually show the playoffs.

Yeah they are both on BT

28-06-2020, 04:58 PM

Scheduled to show 1st leg Thursday. I presume 2nd Sunday. Saturday is Pokal final.

28-06-2020, 05:01 PM
Shocking today by one of German football's traditional "giants". I don't follow German football in depth but anyone got a wee breakdown of why Hamburg have fallen so much in the last 4 seasons or so. They've lost out to clubs like Paderborn, Union Berlin, Armenia, Heidenheim in the promotion stakes - all due respect - clubs nowhere as big.

I would imagine they have massive potential, surely?

When they went down last season, it was their first ever relegation from the Bundesliga. I haven't followed how they've done this year but I'd guess the club is still a bit of a mess.

I'll be honest, my sympathy is limited:

http://nfs.stvfiles.com/imagebase/73/623x349/73230-celtic-greeted-with-no-surrender-banner-in-hamburg.jpg

28-06-2020, 05:06 PM
When they went down last season, it was their first ever relegation from the Bundesliga. I haven't followed how they've done this year but I'd guess the club is still a bit of a mess.

http://nfs.stvfiles.com/imagebase/73/623x349/73230-celtic-greeted-with-no-surrender-banner-in-hamburg.jpg

Mine too - but there must be something why a massive club like Hamburg has missed out for three seasons on promotion back to the Bundesliga. Stuttgart went down and got back quickly, as did Cologne.

28-06-2020, 05:07 PM

Yep, anybody that sides with The Rangers will get little sympathy from me as well.

28-06-2020, 05:07 PM

They've been down 3 seasons, haven't they?

28-06-2020, 05:10 PM
They've been down 3 seasons, haven't they?

Two seasons, but yes, longer than I thought.

28-06-2020, 05:53 PM

Footlights just off Bread Street shows loads of German foitba, think they have a Dortmund fan club. I don't think they have an outdoor area though, worth knowing for future reference though.

28-06-2020, 06:20 PM

This, and the below, are why I support Werder Bremen despite liking Hamburg as a city:

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/c3/0a/cc/c30accfd052bd6fe2a7e7d1f80700c70.jpg

28-06-2020, 06:30 PM
Heidenheim are decent but I prefer their camp site rivals, Heidenho.
This hasn’t got the credit it deserves.:thumbsup:

29-06-2020, 11:28 AM
This hasn’t got the credit it deserves.:thumbsup:

I only just got it.

Brain working slower than usual :-)

29-06-2020, 09:49 PM
Footlights just off Bread Street shows loads of German foitba, think they have a Dortmund fan club. I don't think they have an outdoor area though, worth knowing for future reference though.

Can I assume they serve German bier?

Saturday Boy
29-06-2020, 10:09 PM
Can I assume they serve German bier?

Last time I was there, it was Veltins Pils.

Oh the irony .

30-06-2020, 09:03 AM
Last time I was there, it was Veltins Pils.

Oh the irony .

Veltins - Schalke - Clemens Tönnies - Gütersloh - Covid-19

Oh dear.

02-07-2020, 10:16 PM
Drew 0-0 at home to Heidenheim today. Away leg on the 6th.

03-07-2020, 03:15 AM

26 shots. 2 on target.

03-07-2020, 07:25 AM

For those not familiar with the German language, Heidenheim is German for Hamilton.

:duck:

06-07-2020, 06:47 PM
Weirder 0-1 up in the away leg. 18mins in.

06-07-2020, 07:19 PM
Half time. 0-1 to the good guys.

06-07-2020, 07:47 PM
Cracking OG for the goal too.

Should be level after a good start to the 2nd half from Hamilton but now pretty even and both teams look capable of losing goals.

06-07-2020, 07:49 PM
Had about 3 cleared of the line should be 2 up at least

06-07-2020, 07:51 PM
Bremen should have scored again but poor finishing / good saves keep it at 1.

06-07-2020, 08:17 PM
1-1.

06-07-2020, 08:21 PM
Sakes

06-07-2020, 08:25 PM
Cruel goal to lose but deserved to win on the night

06-07-2020, 08:27 PM
Yaaaaaass!

06-07-2020, 08:28 PM
Unbelievable Geoff!

06-07-2020, 08:28 PM
Thank **** for that.

06-07-2020, 08:29 PM
How did it end 2-2?

Rocky
06-07-2020, 08:33 PM
How did it end 2-2?

Aye Bremen scored 90+3 then Heidenheim got a penalty 90+6

06-07-2020, 08:33 PM
Aye Bremen scored 90+3 then Heidenheim got a penalty 90+6

Ffs had Werder win 😥

G15 Hibs
06-07-2020, 08:34 PM
That was definitely like watching Hibs

06-07-2020, 08:48 PM
That was definitely like watching Hibs

Except Werder stayed up!!

07-07-2020, 09:56 AM
Fortuna are apparently going to take the German FA to court after being relegated.

They said that it's totally unfair, as they'd spent €80M trying to stay up... and anyway, their owner is a really good businesswoman.

If they are 'expelled' from the top league, they want €100M in compensation, plus whoever is now the Head Coach at Dundee Utd.

Jumbo
07-07-2020, 11:24 AM
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Fortuna are apparently going to take the German FA to court after being relegated.

They said that it's totally unfair, as they'd spent €80M trying to stay up... and anyway, their owner is a really good businesswoman.

If they are 'expelled' from the top league, they want €100M in compensation, plus whoever is now the Head Coach at Dundee Utd.

07-07-2020, 01:56 PM

13-05-2021, 10:35 AM
Supporters of WB may be interested in below:

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?352085-Secret-Shirt-Purchase-Werder-Bremen-3rd-Kit&p=6561882#post6561882