View Full Version : Jambos Legal Challenge
09-07-2020, 10:05 PM
Having probably read too many different opinions I think that the mistake that I have made is mixing up what is a vote where there is a for/ against aspect and asking for support for a resolution.
The SPFL board put forward a written resolution to the clubs and asked if they supported it. There were 28 days to answer but an early reply was requested. Saying no had no impact.
If the only real complaint is that the Dundee vote should have counted then the case seems very weak.
Just an observation
09-07-2020, 10:12 PM
Remember when they were talking about restraint of trade?
Another made up argument that quickly got dropped.
The’ve got nothing.
Juice-Terry
09-07-2020, 10:12 PM
It is an extreme example of course because it is something you can’t help but yes it is the subtle difference between something that is against a law and something that is not expressly permitted by a law.
'Unlawful' is a rather unfortunate word then, isn't it? It carries connotations very close to 'illegal'. Why not introduce the word (if it hasn't been introduced for something else already) 'alegal' to cover all actions (etc.) that are neither legal nor illegal? Anyway, **** the Hertz!
09-07-2020, 10:13 PM
Yes and they were called The Low Country's
Netherlands literally means low countries.
09-07-2020, 10:30 PM
So they could also be called the Netheregions or would that just be a load of baws? [emoji12]
10-07-2020, 06:29 AM
I may be wrong but there does not have to be an agreement, if parties fail to reach agreement the panel decides and that decision is binding.
That is my understanding it is not negotiation you are asking experts to resolve the dispute.
10-07-2020, 07:23 AM
Hearts fans still hoping that several clubs go bust.
Not gonna happen Jambos.
I’ll bet that every club survives and that all Hearts’ squealing will be quickly forgotten as soon as the first ball of the season is kicked :cb
Forgotten in the sense that the season had finally started but many clubs will remember their behaviour.
10-07-2020, 07:35 AM
That is my understanding it is not negotiation you are asking experts to resolve the dispute.
That is the hard bit to understand - SPFL nothing else we could do relegation was they only option V Hearts everyone is out get us we must reinstated or given £8 million .
The only thing for certain is there is no middle ground.
10-07-2020, 07:41 AM
That is the hard bit to understand - SPFL nothing else we could do relegation was they only option V Hearts everyone is out get us we must reinstated or given £8 million .
The only thing for certain is there is no middle ground.
Surely the obvious middle ground would be something like "£8m is nonsense, but here's a modest amount of compensation"?
Hey, nonshinyfinish, I'm going to sue you for £8m. I have no basis for doing so, apart from me being a dick. Please let me know what middle ground you are prepared to settle for.
1p
10-07-2020, 07:54 AM
It would be really funny if in the remote chance that the Fartz got their £8m that the SPFL said, we will pay that off at a £5 per month
10-07-2020, 07:55 AM
Hey, nonshinyfinish, I'm going to sue you for £8m. I have no basis for doing so, apart from me being a dick. Please let me know what middle ground you are prepared to settle for.
I'm not saying it's right, just that there clearly is a middle ground.
10-07-2020, 07:55 AM
I thought it meant Holland.
10-07-2020, 07:56 AM
Hey, nonshinyfinish, I'm going to sue you for £8m. I have no basis for doing so, apart from me being a dick. Please let me know what middle ground you are prepared to settle for.I am nonshinyfinish's estate agent and I must inform you that you should hang on for at least £10m which you will receive when the vast majority of SPFL members vote to keep Hearts in the Premiership and call the leagues null and void.
You heard it here first.
10-07-2020, 08:02 AM
It would be really funny if in the remote chance that the Fartz got their £8m that the SPFL said, we will pay that off at a £5 per month
If they are awarded cash Hearts want 8% interest from date of award until it is paid in full.
10-07-2020, 08:05 AM
Let’s call it what it is. Hearts are trying to use a global pandemic to pay off their new stand and current debt using other people’s money. Chancing *******s, as usual.
I am nonshinyfinish's estate agent and I must inform you that you should hang on for at least £10m which you will receive when the vast majority of SPFL members vote to keep Hearts in the Premiership and call the leagues null and void.
You heard it here first.
If you're a estate agent then I have to believe that you know what you're talking about. That guy is finished. I'd go as far as to say he's matte finished.
10-07-2020, 08:08 AM
If you're a estate agent then I have to believe that you know what you're talking about. That guy is finished. I'd go as far as to say he's matte finished.Yep, he can't gloss over the facts anymore.
malcolm
10-07-2020, 08:24 AM
If they are awarded cash Hearts want 8% interest from date of award until it is paid in full.
8% is the standard rate of interest that is applied in the settlement of judgements in court cases and also financial ombudsman awards. Realistically with current interest rates it is now a penal rate and so you’d want that to be taken into account in any actual award...
...given that I wonder if this is where they got the 8 in the £8m, making an award of £8 or £80 would be symmetrically sound and arguably more than fair.:greengrin
10-07-2020, 08:24 AM
I thought it meant Holland.
There are two provinces in The Netherlands with the word Holland in the name, Noord- and Zuid-Holland. But there's actually twelve provinces in all.
Lots of people refer to The Netherlands as Holland, in the same way as lots of people refer to the UK as England.
Strangely, that doesn't seem to bother the other Dutch people nearly as much as it annoys the hell out of most Scots to be told they live in England.
Each to their own, I suppose.
McSwanky
10-07-2020, 08:47 AM
Let’s call it what it is. Hearts are trying to use a global pandemic to pay off their new stand and current debt using other people’s money. Chancing *******s, as usual.
10-07-2020, 08:48 AM
Agreed, they are a disgusting organisation from top to bottom. They are 100% trying to use the horrific global situation to their advantage but they continue to get the media to support them at every turn. I can't understand it, maybe it's because we are Hibs that we see it like that, green tinted specs and all that, but it really is baffling.
10-07-2020, 09:11 AM
Hearts statement number 70000
As a matter of urgency, we would like to clarify our position in relation to the role being played by Dundee United, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers in our case against the SPFL.
Those clubs were named in the Petition, along with Stranraer, because they are the clubs most likely to be impacted by a decision in our favour. We are not, and have never been, in direct dispute with them.
The SPFL is opposing our Petition and will do so at the forthcoming arbitration.* Dundee United, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers were not therefore required to litigate or arbitrate against us.* However, they chose to do so.*
For the avoidance of doubt, we accept that was a choice they were fully entitled to make, no doubt having been fully advised of the risks and costs.* We absolutely know and understand that was not a decision to be taken lightly.
This is not about two Clubs, Hearts and Partick Thistle, battling against other member Clubs. This is about these two Clubs battling against the organisation, which is meant to look after all of our interests, and holding them accountable for their prejudicial actions. We would contend that any Club in our position would be taking similar action.
However, encouraging clubs to fund anyone’s costs in this process could create further division. We consider such an approach to be at odds with the fundamental requirement of the SPFL rules that the SPFL and each Club shall behave towards each other with the utmost good faith.* We cannot therefore let that pass without comment
10-07-2020, 09:31 AM
As a matter of urgency, we would like to clarify our position in relation to the role being played by Dundee United, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers in our case against the SPFL.
Those clubs were named in the Petition, along with Stranraer, because they are the clubs most likely to be impacted by a decision in our favour. We are not, and have never been, in direct dispute with them.
The SPFL is opposing our Petition and will do so at the forthcoming arbitration.* Dundee United, Raith Rovers and Cove Rangers were not therefore required to litigate or arbitrate against us.* However, they chose to do so.*
For the avoidance of doubt, we accept that was a choice they were fully entitled to make, no doubt having been fully advised of the risks and costs.* We absolutely know and understand that was not a decision to be taken lightly.
This is not about two Clubs, Hearts and Partick Thistle, battling against other member Clubs. This is about these two Clubs battling against the organisation, which is meant to look after all of our interests, and holding them accountable for their prejudicial actions. We would contend that any Club in our position would be taking similar action.
However, encouraging clubs to fund anyone’s costs in this process could create further division. We consider such an approach to be at odds with the fundamental requirement of the SPFL rules that the SPFL and each Club shall behave towards each other with the utmost good faith.* We cannot therefore let that pass without comment
That last paragraph can't be real?!?
10-07-2020, 09:32 AM
they don’t do irony do they!?
10-07-2020, 09:45 AM
Pitifully pathetic.
10-07-2020, 09:46 AM
That’s them trying to blame everyone else for the situation they’ve created. MartyF’s been referring to it as them gaslighting everyone.
10-07-2020, 09:50 AM
So them challenging all the other clubs and the governing body is ok. Dundee United, Raith and Cove asking for help is against the articles of association with regards to treating everyone else fairly. ****ing deluded morons every last one of them, from Budge to Deans to saughton Jambo to kiwidug*****, **** them all
10-07-2020, 10:03 AM
I’m sure they’ll make no further comment on the matter.
10-07-2020, 10:04 AM
Pitifully pathetic.
Starting to **** out by the sounds of it. They are beginning for fear a reaction to the hysteria they’ve been stirring up with their victim playing.
And to be fair, they are probably correct to do so.
They’ve become a niggling whinging pain when everyone else just wants to get back to football. Any sympathy for their plight (and there never is much for those who self inflict wounds) has long gone.
10-07-2020, 10:16 AM
I see Hearts fans reckon that the fact Nisbet signed for us because he wants to play in the premier is further evidence of the restriction of trade 😂
They really don’t seem to understand that teams get relegated every year do they?
10-07-2020, 10:53 AM
That’s them trying to blame everyone else for the situation they’ve created. MartyF’s been referring to it as them gaslighting everyone.
I'm also not sure how raising litigation to deny a club promotion can be seen as anything other than being in direct dispute with them.
10-07-2020, 11:03 AM
I'm also not sure how raising litigation to deny a club promotion can be seen as anything other than being in direct dispute with them.
:agree: we don’t want you to be promoted and we don’t think you should defend yourselves either.
We will make no further comment on this. Until the next time.
10-07-2020, 11:31 AM
So, if they do win they would be happy for Dundee Utd to stay in the top league while the Fartz play in the Championship - aye, right!
EI255
10-07-2020, 11:36 AM
This odeous club are REALLY starting to annoy me now. I sincerely hope that all SPFL clubs now chip in for the cause. And let them and Thistle wallow in their anger and sheer bitterness for years to come, once they lose this battle.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
EI255
10-07-2020, 11:38 AM
:agree: we don’t want you to be promoted and we don’t think you should defend yourselves either.
We will make no further comment on this. Until the next time.Aye, their brazenness is is utterly galling.
This jobby will just not flush.
10-07-2020, 11:39 AM
This odeous club are REALLY starting to annoy me now. I sincerely hope that all SPFL clubs now chip in for the cause. And let them and Thistle wallow in their anger and sheer bitterness for years to come, once they lose this battle.
I feel for Partick in some extent. They could have found themselves at the end of the normal season out of last position as there were a lot of teams at the bottom of that league who were as bad as each other.
Hearts however were terrible through the whole season. Picked themselves up against Rangers and against us, but against Hamilton, St Mirren and anyone else they were defensively an absolute shambles and posed little threat up front. They were finishing last in that league every day of the week. The real question would have been if Hamilton, Ross County or St Mirren would have won the Premiership playoff.
EI255
10-07-2020, 11:41 AM
I feel for Partick in some extent. They could have found themselves at the end of the normal season out of last position as there were a lot of teams at the bottom of that league who were as bad as each other.
Hearts however were terrible through the whole season. Picked themselves up against Rangers and against us, but against Hamilton, St Mirren and anyone else they were defensively an absolute shambles and posed little threat up front. They were finishing last in that league every day of the week. The real question would have been if Hamilton, Ross County or St Mirren would have won the Premiership playoff.I didn't have any issue at all with Thistle before this, but I'm afraid these are joint statements coming out. Fly with the crows and die with the crows unfortunately.
10-07-2020, 11:43 AM
I didn't have any issue at all with Thistle before this, but I'm afraid these are joint a statements. Fly with the crows and die with the crows unfortunately.
Yep. I do feel that "fly with the crows" statement is true as there's a point where you have to say that the concensus has been reached and it's now the fair thing to do, but I almost feel that it feels like the Jam Farts have latched themselves onto the grievances of other clubs when they were by a long distance the least likely to stay up.
As soon as the majority of clubs voted to end the season and the vast majority of clubs said that they didn't want reconstruction, that should have been argument over.
But I do still have a modicum of empathy for Partick underneath this.
10-07-2020, 11:49 AM
Meanwhile their classy fans on Twitter are suggesting to the moronic element of the support that it would be a good idea to attack the United fans doing the sponsored walk from Tynecastle to Tannadice.
10-07-2020, 12:06 PM
So, if they do win they would be happy for Dundee Utd to stay in the top league while the Fartz play in the Championship - aye, right!
Let's be clear, this is less about reversing relegation and more about being given a large financial bail out, or as they call it £8m.
I have become convinced that Hearts made a decision as soon as the league was called that, in order to survive in the SPL, they needed to break at least one SPL club, in which number I include Dundee United, and they appreciated that a war of financial attrition would be their best chance to do it. Their entire strategy has been to refuse to acknowledge the bleeding obvious and continue to drag the whole thing out, which they will continue to do, mark my words, until someone breaks.
Their latest statement, I believe, exactly fits this agenda. They named Dundee United specifically in their petition because they have targeted them as their best chance as being the club most likely to break.
If anyone thinks I am wrong I would like to hear a counter narrative that meets the facts.
10-07-2020, 12:25 PM
I have become convinced that Hearts made a decision as soon as the league was called that, in order to survive in the SPL, they needed to break at least one SPL club, in which number I include Dundee United, and they appreciated that a war of financial attrition would be their best chance to do it. Their entire strategy has been to refuse to acknowledge the bleeding obvious and continue to drag the whole thing out, which they will continue to do, mark my words, until someone breaks.
Their latest statement, I believe, exactly fits this agenda. They named Dundee United specifically in their petition because they have targeted them as their best chance as being the club most likely to break.
If anyone thinks I am wrong I would like to hear a counter narrative that meets the facts.
The flaw in that argument is that they presumably have paid Dundee United compensation for Robbie the picked.
10-07-2020, 12:46 PM
Even in the current climate, the legal fees incurred by United wouldn't come close to bankrupting them.
10-07-2020, 12:50 PM
Meanwhile their classy fans on Twitter are suggesting to the moronic element of the support that it would be a good idea to attack the United fans doing the sponsored walk from Tynecastle to Tannadice.
What time do they arrive at Tynie tomorrow
10-07-2020, 12:54 PM
What time do they arrive at Tynie tomorrow
Judging by Gorgie, about thirty years in the past.
The flaw in that argument is that they presumably have paid Dundee United compensation for Robbie the picked.They will be due Utd money. When or if it gets paid? They have a track record of not coughing up.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
KingPat4
10-07-2020, 12:59 PM
Has there been any word of FIFA keeping an eye on this farce? Kicking them out is surely still an option?
I've heard it all now. Hearts and Partick are complaining about Dundee United, Raith and Cove asking others to help with finance for their legal case because it will cause further division.
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/12025531/hearts-and-partick-thistle-say-promoted-trio-risk-further-division-by-asking-clubs-to-help-with-legal-bills
https://www.heartsfc.co.uk/news/article/joint-club-statement-1-2-3
Hearts and Partick can gtf as far as I'm concerned, what little remaining sympathy there was for their situation has completely gone. The way they handled it and conducted themselves has been abysmal.
They've got the cheek to say Dundee United, Raith and Cove didn't have to get involved in the legal dispute. FFS, unbelievable.
10-07-2020, 01:26 PM
I've heard it all now. Hearts and Partick are complaining about Dundee United, Raith and Cove asking others to help with finance for their legal case because it will cause further division.
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/12025531/hearts-and-partick-thistle-say-promoted-trio-risk-further-division-by-asking-clubs-to-help-with-legal-bills
Hearts and Partick can gtf as far as I'm concerned, what little remaining sympathy there was for their situation has completely gone. The way they handled it and conducted themselves has been abysmal.
They've got the cheek to say Dundee United, Raith and Cove didn't have to get involved in the legal dispute. FFS, unbelievable.
its absolutely disgusting, Hearts and Partick have some rich mug funding their court cases but the three promoted teams don’t have this - they are having to pay these legal fees themselves because the SPFL ****ed up and Hearts won’t acceot they were the worst team in the league. These 3 teams should not be having to pay anything. Budge is a poisonous old bat.
10-07-2020, 01:27 PM
The whole of Scottish football is laughing at them. Their best statement yet.
10-07-2020, 01:29 PM
The whole of Scottish football is laughing at them. Their best statement yet.
I don’t think people are laughing anymore. The joke has long overstayed it’s welcome and people are angry.
hibeerealist
10-07-2020, 01:30 PM
its absolutely disgusting, Hearts and Partick have some rich mug funding their court cases but the three promoted teams don’t have this - they are having to pay these legal fees themselves because the SPFL ****ed up and Hearts won’t acceot they were the worst team in the league. These 3 teams should not be having to pay anything. Budge is a poisonous old bat.
Cant see where the SPFL ****ed up this will be proved in the Arbitration, Hertz are doon and will NOT receive anywhere near £1 million let alone £8 million!!!
10-07-2020, 01:34 PM
United are being helped with their legal fees by other clubs. Their owner has given the new manager funds to spend. They aren't close to breaking IMO.
10-07-2020, 01:38 PM
I don’t think people are laughing anymore. The joke has long overstayed it’s welcome and people are angry.
Yup. It’s stopped being funny a while ago...
This latest statement is almost indescribable. Do they have no self awareness at all?
Complaining that others have been forced to defend themselves against a legal process Hearts have caused to take place and then calling out those defensive actions as being divisive... you would say you couldn’t make it up, but clearly Budge just has!
10-07-2020, 01:43 PM
Has nobody at that club got even the slightest grasp of reality? That statement has surely been written by somebody who needs help.
Yup. It’s stopped being funny a while ago...
This latest statement is almost indescribable. Do they have no self awareness at all?
Complaining that others have been forced to defend themselves against a legal process Hearts have caused to take place and then calling out those defensive actions as being divisive... you would say you couldn’t make it up, but clearly Budge just has!
To top it off, they end their statement by accusing the other 3 clubs of not acting in good faith. Unbelievable hypocrisy. So presumably Budge thinks taking out a legal action to have their promotion cancelled is acting in good faith.
Is this some kind of tactic to try and get it back to the Court of Sessions?
percy veer
10-07-2020, 02:13 PM
To top it off, they end their statement by accusing the other 3 clubs of not acting in good faith. Unbelievable hypocrisy. So presumably Budge thinks taking out a legal action to have their promotion cancelled is acting in good faith.
Is this some kind of tactic to try and get it back to the Court of Sessions?
Every club that wishes to donate, do so via a mystery benefactor ,no questions asked .
10-07-2020, 02:20 PM
Hearts and their fans have had a wee bit of a reality check today. Two players have snubbed them for their city rivals who are a division above them. Once abitration tell them to suck it up there will be a massive phycological crash in Gorgie
huggie1875
10-07-2020, 02:21 PM
i would'nt fine them or deduct points the league should just act on the UEFA temp rule change
no promotion or relegation next season https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhDwAPALMNAAAAAACtKQC1KQC9KQDGKQD WMQDnMQznPTbsYlLve2/zjJT3rZz/tcD/wMb/1sD/wCH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQFDwANACwAAAAADwAPAAAEYbBJCWqduFXEz7kYkIwjchgFMIl JpYxVQahaolTLG88aYjMOxsskE2xsC0YuQSQYAb6W4sUEFCuHq KWCcmKznM6hGFABDJ50d2CkFN5wGbu8ItjvAgE9BMjnyzQZGls ZEQAAIfkEBQ8ADQAsBAADAAcACAAABBxQyZTQAWCphDHb2MJo1 SFtJUVZBoC8x3V1ABEBACH5BAUPAA0ALAQABAAHAAgAAAQecLG lEjrMsXoBoInnVSGQnNZhIOx1FMAhGzAsAkMEACH5BAUPAA0AL AQABAAHAAgAAAQeEIClkpSsysVoQociJt9BkqABIOxxAO8FEEV dE0MEADs=
10-07-2020, 02:22 PM
A Hearts statement warning other teams of causing "further division" :faf:
10-07-2020, 02:26 PM
As much as I enjoy going to Tynecastle for a Derby fixture, this latest statement about being divisive means they can ram the 2 x ticket money they get from me and the boy from now on.
10-07-2020, 02:43 PM
As much as I enjoy going to Tynecastle for a Derby fixture, this latest statement about being divisive means they can ram the 2 x ticket money they get from me and the boy from now on.
Unless we are relegated that isn’t happening any time soon.
They underestimate how poor their team is. They’ll be down for some time.
10-07-2020, 02:44 PM
Unless we are relegated that isn’t happening any time soon.
They underestimate how poor their team is. They’ll be down for some time.
Absolutely no way they dont win that league at the first attempt.
10-07-2020, 02:47 PM
They were only good enough for four wins this season. They have a bloated squad of has beens and never will be’s and mood around the dressing room can’t be good.
They won’t walk it by any stretch of the imagination.
10-07-2020, 02:49 PM
Based on available evidence, I'm not sure what your certainty is based on TBH.
NASAHIBS
10-07-2020, 02:54 PM
This went through my head last night when I heard the walk was starting from Tynecastle. Would not surprise me one bit with that lot, that they try and cause bother or at least verbally abuse the United fans trying to do some good for their club.
KingPat4
10-07-2020, 02:57 PM
This went through my head last night when I heard the walk was starting from Tynecastle. Would not surprise me one bit with that lot, that they try and cause bother or at least verbally abuse the United fans trying to do some good for their club.
Nah. Too cowardly.
They were only good enough for four wins this season. They have a bloated squad of has beens and never will be’s and mood around the dressing room can’t be good.
Not to mention that every other team will have plenty of added incentive to be just that little bit more physical than some of the Jambos will fancy. We'll see if they still have money to throw around after arbitration as well. It would be a hoot if they had to cut their player budget after trying to gazump our signings.
10-07-2020, 03:11 PM
Based on available evidence, I'm not sure what your certainty is based on TBH.
A much much better squad than any of the rest and have a manager now who has won the league twice. Are Dunfermline going to challenge them?
10-07-2020, 03:20 PM
I wonder if Raith are on a bit of money from the Nisbet sale to us, it would help them no end ?
10-07-2020, 03:24 PM
I wonder if Raith are on a bit of money from the Nisbet sale to us, it would help them no end ?
Nah they wanted rid regardless of him scoring 30 goals in a season. A mix of Gaz and Deek apparently. Keep up 😂😂😂😂
The flaw in that argument is that they presumably have paid Dundee United compensation for Robbie the picked.
Point taken, but I think I'm correct in saying that Dundee United recently asked other teams to financially help them continue their legal fight; one which they never asked to be involved in, so I don't imagine any compensation that Hearts may or may no pay will effectively alter their financial position. In fact, if one were to consider that Hearts might drag out any compensation claim then Dundee United might have, then United could have a wait on their hands that might not have occurred if any other team had poached their manager...and who would benefit from that? Who would be in control of that agenda?
10-07-2020, 03:36 PM
Hearts are a pathetic laughing stock of a club they really are. I will never step foot back in their midden of a stadium again after this sorry episode.
Even in the current climate, the legal fees incurred by United wouldn't come close to bankrupting them.
I think it would be a cumulative effect. Any strategy based on attrition is going to be slow; it's effectively death by a thousand cuts. I think I am correct in saying that Dundee United effectively ran at a loss in order to gamble on promotion, which paid off...until the pandemic. One could say that they were a safe bet to go up and therefore find some financial improvement but it gets a lot harder to sustain debt if that prize is in doubt and it only remains in doubt as long as Hearts continue to drag events out. I don't suppose it was the poppy fund money or the money that they didn't pay to their announcer that broke Hearts the last time but it all adds up. I think they learnt that themselves, which is another reason why I believe it occurred to them that this is a strategy that might work in their favour.
10-07-2020, 03:40 PM
They are ****ing mental. :confused:
10-07-2020, 03:49 PM
A much much better squad than any of the rest and have a manager now who has won the league twice. Are Dunfermline going to challenge them?
That league is a brutal standard. Only viewing through green tinted specs would anyone think they arent going to win that league.
United are being helped with their legal fees by other clubs. Their owner has given the new manager funds to spend. They aren't close to breaking IMO.
I am only suggesting it could be Dundee United. The strategy would work if it were Hamilton or St Mirren or anyone they thought might be vulnerable. We know that Hearts have threatened to stop the league from playing, they have yet to accept any outcome, they have indicated that the fight will go on. What does any of that mean if it isn't an attempt to break other clubs? Are they looking for justice? This is a team who are apparently one of the best financed in Scotland, who could afford to be relegated for a season and come back stronger and perhaps with half a million profit as they did the last time they were relegated. This is a team who were clear bottom of the league and who were the worst in the SPL for a year. Despite the media narrative the SPFL have handled the crisis about as well as anyone and Hearts did have people's sympathy but it wasn't based on any unfairness. Their refusal to acknowledge any of this is difficult to understand unless one considers that their statements and their strategy are deliberate; in which case, what is the outcome they seek? I strongly suggest that it is all about breaking an SPL team so that they can hold on to their place. I could go on but this does provide a clear win / win for them when it came to the reorganisation proposals, which they clearly made a hash of and took a lot of time doing it. Just saying.
10-07-2020, 03:51 PM
Interesting they make no mention of Partick Thistle back-tracking on not taking legal action, yet a day later after Hearts offering to pay for it, they jump on board (a plain sight ploy from Hearts to 'strengthen' their own case). :cb
Budge can certainly multi-task when it comes to contradictions.
They are ****ing mental. :confused:Hard to emphasise given all the noise around them.
Every move they are making at the moment is vindictive, geared towards oneupmanship and delusional.
You need to promote and create some kind of positivity in football and they are doing nothing of the sort from their weirdo, misguided owner all the way down to their most barking parochial fans.
At some point this must implode around them. Hope it's a slow burner they don't see coming.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
10-07-2020, 03:55 PM
Point taken, but I think I'm correct in saying that Dundee United recently asked other teams to financially help them continue their legal fight; one which they never asked to be involved in, so I don't imagine any compensation that Hearts may or may no pay will effectively alter their financial position. In fact, if one were to consider that Hearts might drag out any compensation claim then Dundee United might have, then United could have a wait on their hands that might not have occurred if any other team had poached their manager...and who would benefit from that? Who would be in control of that agenda?
Neilson would still be Dundee United manager if compensation had not been agreed, payment is a whole different matter of course. 🤔
10-07-2020, 03:58 PM
Never, ever have I had any time for herts, but I now absolutely hate them
10-07-2020, 04:09 PM
That league is a brutal standard. Only viewing through green tinted specs would anyone think they arent going to win that league.
I do still think they’ll win it, but they’re a really poor side. A poor start or one other team having a very good season and they could really struggle imo.
10-07-2020, 04:33 PM
Their pishness over the last 18 months has surprised everyone, let’s hope they can continue that dismal form in the championship.
10-07-2020, 04:35 PM
I am only suggesting it could be Dundee United. The strategy would work if it were Hamilton or St Mirren or anyone they thought might be vulnerable. We know that Hearts have threatened to stop the league from playing, they have yet to accept any outcome, they have indicated that the fight will go on. What does any of that mean if it isn't an attempt to break other clubs? Are they looking for justice? This is a team who are apparently one of the best financed in Scotland, who could afford to be relegated for a season and come back stronger and perhaps with half a million profit as they did the last time they were relegated. This is a team who were clear bottom of the league and who were the worst in the SPL for a year. Despite the media narrative the SPFL have handled the crisis about as well as anyone and Hearts did have people's sympathy but it wasn't based on any unfairness. Their refusal to acknowledge any of this is difficult to understand unless one considers that their statements and their strategy are deliberate; in which case, what is the outcome they seek? I strongly suggest that it is all about breaking an SPL team so that they can hold on to their place. I could go on but this does provide a clear win / win for them when it came to the reorganisation proposals, which they clearly made a hash of and took a lot of time doing it. Just saying.
The last time a club went bust the relegated club wasn’t saved, the second placed championship club were promoted.
Neilson would still be Dundee United manager if compensation had not been agreed, payment is a whole different matter of course. 🤔
Stendel became Hearts manager when they were in dispute with Barnsley over a payment, which I don't recall ever having been settled although it may have been although it did raise the amusing prospect that Hearts were still in the process of agreeing compensation to get a manager that they were negotiating a leaving package with.
10-07-2020, 04:56 PM
The last time a club went bust the relegated club wasn’t saved, the second placed championship club were promoted.
Oh dinny tell them that. They were all set to save the economy of Inverness.
10-07-2020, 04:57 PM
Which everyone, especially hearts, has ignored.
Point taken absolutely but I think that is where Hearts would really be flexing their financial and legal muscle to try and change that ruling. That is what I think is their real objective. If we ever get to that situation I am willing to bet that Hearts will have an argument lined up that thye should have the vacant place. However, let me say that I also believe that other clubs could consider that possible scenario and there is a very good counter argument i.e. historic precedent. What musn't happen,IMHO, is that the SPFL allow Hearts to dictate the agenda. If we come out of arbitration and they are still arguing and considering taking it further then I believe that the SPFL would have the support of the majority of clubs to go on the offensive.
Personally, If it came to that point, I would give Hearts what they always insisted they got...they never accepted relegation so I would give them expulsion.
10-07-2020, 05:06 PM
Point taken absolutely but I think that is where Hearts would really be flexing their financial and legal muscle to try and change that ruling. That is what I think is their real objective. If we ever get to that situation I am willing to bet that Hearts will have an argument lined up that thye should have the vacant place. However, let me say that I also believe that other clubs could consider that possible scenario and there is a very good counter argument i.e. historic precedent. What musn't happen,IMHO, is that the SPFL allow Hearts to dictate the agenda. If we come out of arbitration and they are still arguing and considering taking it further then I believe that the SPFL would have the support of the majority of clubs to go on the offensive.
Personally, If it came to that point, I would give Hearts what they always insisted they got...they never accepted relegation so I would give them expulsion.
Where could they take it after arbitration?
10-07-2020, 05:15 PM
Landfill
Their pishness over the last 18 months has surprised everyone, let’s hope they can continue that dismal form in the championship.
The 27 game season could be an interesting factor as well this year. We know Hearts don't do well in curtailed seasons...
10-07-2020, 05:22 PM
Landfill
Yeah, but where? Not Kirkcaldy or Dundee. Or Seafield.
Inverness is a helluva long way to cart all that baggage.
10-07-2020, 05:35 PM
Yeah, but where? Not Kirkcaldy or Dundee. Or Seafield.
Inverness is a helluva long way to cart all that baggage.
Down to Dunbar, it's where all of Edinburgh's rubbish goes
10-07-2020, 05:49 PM
Ha ha ha, I see now that Amiens have lost their case that it's no longer relevant to the Fartz case whereas the Belgium one is because it may be stopping a relegation. Absolute trumpets
10-07-2020, 06:46 PM
I've said all along that Hearts will not be able to get their relegation cancelled and stand by that. They wouldn't be allowed to start training unless they won the case, which would delay the start of the season until they are fit. That in turn is too damaging to Scottish football as a whole and particularly when there is another remedy available ie compensation.
I've also said all along that the £8m figure is bogus and all they can claim for are their losses due to actual relegation ie prize money, attendances (but only from when fans are allowed back), sponsorship etc.
I've also said that their relegation related losses will not be reimbursed in full because it was their own responsibility that they were bottom of the league.
Now we have the situation where Hearts have made an offer of £250k for a forward and offered that player a higher wage than a top flight club when they already have two forwards whose combined wage is probably higher than the entire wage bill for most of the second tier clubs. That is hardly the action of a club which genuinely expects to incur large losses as a result of relegation.
And how much are they paying Gordon?
KdyHby
10-07-2020, 06:48 PM
Raith Rovers legal fundraiser has started, donors include Ann Budge and Robbie the jobbie Neilson: https://www.gofundme.com/f/starks-park-to-tannadice-walk/donations
10-07-2020, 06:53 PM
​
Raith Rovers legal fundraiser has started, donors include Ann Budge and Robbie the jobbie Neilson: https://www.gofundme.com/f/starks-park-to-tannadice-walk/donations
A lot of anti-Budge names on the Dundee Utd one too and a certain Albert Kidd!!:wink:
10-07-2020, 07:01 PM
Cove's one is doing reasonably well too, just broke the £3k mark. https://www.gofundme.com/f/balmoral-to-tannadice-walk?utm_medium=copy_link&utm_source=customer&utm_campaign=p_lico+share-sheet
10-07-2020, 07:54 PM
Nah they wanted rid regardless of him scoring 30 goals in a season. A mix of Gaz and Deek apparently. Keep up 😂😂😂😂
Derek O'Conner or Garry O'Riordan?
malcolm
10-07-2020, 09:02 PM
I've said all along that Hearts will not be able to get their relegation cancelled and stand by that. They wouldn't be allowed to start training unless they won the case, which would delay the start of the season until they are fit. That in turn is too damaging to Scottish football as a whole and particularly when there is another remedy available ie compensation.
I've also said all along that the £8m figure is bogus and all they can claim for are their losses due to actual relegation ie prize money, attendances (but only from when fans are allowed back), sponsorship etc.
I've also said that their relegation related losses will not be reimbursed in full because it was their own responsibility that they were bottom of the league.
Now we have the situation where Hearts have made an offer of £250k for a forward and offered that player a higher wage than a top flight club when they already have two forwards whose combined wage is probably higher than the entire wage bill for most of the second tier clubs. That is hardly the action of a club which genuinely expects to incur large losses as a result of relegation.
And how much are they paying Gordon?
Ignoring that it is unlikely they would or could win in a way that reversed relegation, the idea that the season would have to pause until they achieved a level of fitness etc would be even more daft!
The figure of £8m indeed seems the result of wishfully thinking that damages awarded in court can be plucked out the air or calculated as a punishment. Even trying to work out losses based on the net result of income v expenditure of competing in each division, relies greatly on estimation. Add in the implications of the lock down and the figure is even more ludicrous. Any barely competent journalist should have covered this and all the other incongruities of budge’s case .. just shows than in sports reporting often basic level of analysis is rejected in favour of various agendas.
10-07-2020, 09:23 PM
Who is Andy Mill?
10-07-2020, 09:47 PM
Another Hearts statement...I think wee Budge has had a few late night tipples again.
Mocks other clubs for asking for money from other clubs yet thinks nothing of putting her club’s account number and sort code on a statement. 🤦🏼*♂️
majorhibs
10-07-2020, 10:44 PM
Bottom. Of. League.
Worst. Last. Season.
Down. Ye. Go.
Adios losers!
10-07-2020, 10:50 PM
A mix of Gaz and Deek they say? Christ that's some player we've signed
Listening to Brandon Malone on Sportsound recently, who was there as their expert on arbitration, he did suggest that there could be grounds for appeals although I would agree with what I think your question implies that these grounds were very specific and that he didn't think it was at all likely. However, none of us have seen the documents that Hearts and Partick wanted disclosed and if there were anything in that material that implied any kind of wrong doing then I do not think it would be beyond Hearts to be suggesting an appeal. Let me be completely cynical and suggest that the outcome of arbitration is of less importance to them than scouring for a smoking gun amongst the papers. Personally, I can't see arbitration giving them anything other than some kind of compensation as every other outcome would cause absolute chaos. Do we honestly think that Hearts are going through all of this to pick up a bit of token compensation? They will never get £8m in my opinion...perhaps there is a right of appeal over the amount. I don't know but I would imagine Hearts have considered that option.
My entire point is that Hearts actions actually form a strategy. I don't really want to be seen as suggesting anything to them but I would always fall back on the old adage; if it looks like it, and it smells like it, then it probably is s**t. All I am doing is putting forward what I think is a narrative that fits the facts. Drag it out until an SPL club breaks then argue to take their place.
11-07-2020, 07:27 AM
Listening to Brandon Malone on Sportsound recently, who was there as their expert on arbitration, he did suggest that there could be grounds for appeals although I would agree with what I think your question implies that these grounds were very specific and that he didn't think it was at all likely. However, none of us have seen the documents that Hearts and Partick wanted disclosed and if there were anything in that material that implied any kind of wrong doing then I do not think it would be beyond Hearts to be suggesting an appeal. Let me be completely cynical and suggest that the outcome of arbitration is of less importance to them than scouring for a smoking gun amongst the papers. Personally, I can't see arbitration giving them anything other than some kind of compensation as every other outcome would cause absolute chaos. Do we honestly think that Hearts are going through all of this to pick up a bit of token compensation? They will never get £8m in my opinion...perhaps there is a right of appeal over the amount. I don't know but I would imagine Hearts have considered that option.
My entire point is that Hearts actions actually form a strategy. I don't really want to be seen as suggesting anything to them but I would always fall back on the old adage; if it looks like it, and it smells like it, then it probably is s**t. All I am doing is putting forward what I think is a narrative that fits the facts. Drag it out until an SPL club breaks then argue to take their place.
Which all makes some kind of sense. Up until the point where you realise who is running this whole thing and you realise they haven't got a scooby, have consistently been on the losing side all the way through and Leslie Deans is head of their brains trust :-)
proud_and_green
11-07-2020, 07:40 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hearts-partick-thistle-blast-promoted-22333557
I cannot believe Budge's attitude in this, disingenuous does not begin to cover it - 'DU, Raith and Cove didn't need to litigate or arbitrate against us. However, they chose to do so'.
So they are going to stand and allow Hearts to take free hits at them and do nothing.
When you think they can't get lower!
Expel them. I wasn't for that before. I bloody am now.
Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk
Rumble de Thump
11-07-2020, 07:48 AM
Not only has Budge constantly been brining the game into disrepute for the past few months. But the amount of times she's defamed the SPFL board and board of directors at pretty much every other club is staggering.
11-07-2020, 07:51 AM
You're giving them too much credit. Hearts don't have a strategy. This is and always has been about Budge covering her own lardy, size 24 backside. If Hearts was any other type of company, they'd have gone bust long ago. They've burned through cash like no other team and relied on handouts to keep them alive. Budge's oversight has been a mess except for one thing - she's managed to get Hearts mugs to direct their anger at everyone and anyone else - St Mirren, Dundee, SPFL, Hibs, Doncaster, DUFC, Cove Rangers, Raith, SFA, the Media, the world.
Her unseemly rush to talk about legal action as soon as the matches were stopped in March was evidence of that. Any normal club would have kept its council and worked with the SPFL for the best outcome for all, but Budge knew fine well she was in trouble. So, she played the victim card which is like oxygen to Hearts mugs. Taking this to court and now to Arbitration is just her pandering to save her arse.
Handout Hearts are in trouble and she knows it.
Caversham Green
11-07-2020, 07:59 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hearts-partick-thistle-blast-promoted-22333557
I cannot believe Budge's attitude in this, disingenuous does not begin to cover it - 'DU, Raith and Cove didn't need to litigate or arbitrate against us. However, they chose to do so'.
So they are going to stand and allow Hearts to take free hits at them and do nothing.
She actually named them as respondents in the petition (despite Deans's claim to the contrary). That means they were expected to respond - the clue is in the word. The woman really is poisonous.
11-07-2020, 08:00 AM
We need to tell her to lick it and stick it re tickets for Tynie.
11-07-2020, 08:00 AM
They knew fine well back in March when they failed to beat Hamilton and St Mirren that they were going down.
Budge saw the pandemic as a way out, simple as that.
It’s mental that she’s been allowed to take things so far but thankfully most of the other clubs saw right through her BS.
A couple more weeks squealing then they’ll be forgotten about.
11-07-2020, 08:03 AM
I can't wait for the statement when football starts in October for them and someone scores a goal against them.
Given their current state of mind they'll probably take the opposition to court for infringement of Hearts rights to 3 points.
11-07-2020, 08:06 AM
I genuinely think it's time the SPFL or SFA told them to put a sock in it, or risk punishment.
They are way over the line when it comes to bringing the sport into disrepute.
11-07-2020, 08:13 AM
It’s because it’s always someone else’s fault. Hearts started this ball rolling way back at the beginning. Lying adrift at the bottom of the league but unable to accept the reality that her club was statistically the worst side in Scotland for over 18 months, Budge made her first declaration that she would consider legal action in March. Then she declared she would accept the decision of the clubs. Then, backed by the security no other club enjoys, from James Anderson, FoH and sundry anonymous donators, she caved in to pressure from their fans and took the plunge to go to court. None of that was of anyone else’s making but their own.
There was no need for hearts to name other clubs in their court papers but they chose to involve DU, RR and CR. To suggest that somehow this was not picking a fight with those clubs is, at best, disingenuous. These clubs were left with no option but to defend their position and that costs money. Budge didn’t care because, whether JA is directly funding the court case or not, his obscene wealth stands guarantee to Hearts survival regardless of the court outcome. In which case, the harm already being experienced by these other club, and potentially every other club in the country, to varying degree, as a consequence of hearts legal action, must also be shouldered by JA. I am not sure if he will want that. Perhaps he doesn’t care, in which case it is disgusting and Jimmy Saville-esque, along the lines of, nobody will notice the harm done because of the public acts of generosity.
I would argue he has to realise the blatant and deliberate acts of sabotage Hearts are trying to inflict on the SPFL and Scottish football. He is in a position of unique influence and in my opinion should be telling Budge to back off, have her club act with some dignity, or he cannot, in all conscience, continue to bankroll this malicious court action.
This farce has a long way to run.
proud_and_green
11-07-2020, 08:14 AM
She actually named them as respondents in the petition (despite Deans's claim to the contrary). That means they were expected to respond - the clue is in the word. The woman really is poisonous.Exactly, they have started something but it's everybody else's fault. Punch and whinge when you get punched back.
11-07-2020, 08:17 AM
I can't wait for the statement when football starts in October for them and someone scores a goal against them.
Given their current state of mind they'll probably take the opposition to court for infringement of Hearts rights to 3 points.
Surely awarding 3 points to the opposition, just because they scored more goals, would be a Restraint Of Trade.
proud_and_green
11-07-2020, 08:17 AM
I genuinely it's time the SPFL or SFA told them to put a sock in it, or risk punishment.
They are way over the line when it comes to bringing the sport into disrepute.Yep, the sniping and bit ching about every other club has gone too far!
Interesting though, if they had been saying the things they are about referees they would be hammered!
proud_and_green
11-07-2020, 08:19 AM
It’s because it’s always someone else’s fault. Hearts started this ball rolling way back at the beginning. Lying adrift at the bottom of the league but unable to accept the reality that her club was statistically the worst side in Scotland for over 18 months, Budge made her first declaration that she would consider legal action in March. Then she declared she would accept the decision of the clubs. Then, backed by the security no other club enjoys, from James Anderson, FoH and sundry anonymous donators, she caved in to pressure from their fans and took the plunge to go to court. None of that was of anyone else’s making but their own.
There was no need for hearts to name other clubs in their court papers but they chose to involve DU, RR and CR. To suggest that somehow this was not picking a fight with those clubs is, at best, disingenuous. These clubs were left with no option but to defend their position and that costs money. Budge didn’t care because, whether JA is directly funding the court case or not, his obscene wealth stands guarantee to Hearts survival regardless of the court outcome. In which case, the harm already being experienced by these other club, and potentially every other club in the country, to varying degree, as a consequence of hearts legal action, must also be shouldered by JA. I am not sure if he will want that. Perhaps he doesn’t care, in which case it is disgusting and Jimmy Saville-esque, along the lines of, nobody will notice the harm done because of the public acts of generosity.
I would argue he has to realise the blatant and deliberate acts of sabotage Hearts are trying to inflict on the SPFL and Scottish football. He is in a position of unique influence and in my opinion should be telling Budge to back off, have her club act with some dignity, or he cannot, in all conscience, continue to bankroll this malicious court action.
This farce has a long way to run.Correct.
11-07-2020, 08:34 AM
Surely awarding 3 points to the opposition, just because they scored more goals, would be a Restraint Of Trade.
Was just about to say that. If they don’t win the league this season coming then we’ll be back here next summer - they won’t be able to fathom that the league winner is the only team that gets automatically promoted. This will then of course be illegal and their fans and the press won’t be able to fathom how we can’t just automatically place Hearts back in the top tier.
Restriction of trade, expulsion, self interest will yet again be the buzz words of the summer.
11-07-2020, 08:39 AM
I see in the Daily Record article, Hearts are still saying this in every press release:
Any club in our [hearts] position would do the same
Well, no, that's not true is it?
Exhibit A, Hibernian FC.
The only club to drop a league place due to points-per-game being adopted (hearts were 12th, still 12th)
Hibs were the only club to lose out financially IN REALITY - losing a 6 figure sum by dropping 6th to 7th
We did not ask for compensation
We did not threaten legal action & yap yap yap like a small dog
We adopted a big dog attitude, took it on the chin for the good of the game, and moved on to the important things in sport....getting fans back in stadiums for 20/21.
Hearts have much to learn
11-07-2020, 08:58 AM
I see in the Daily Record article, Hearts are still saying this in every press release:
Apart from Stranraer.
11-07-2020, 08:58 AM
Well, no, that's not true is it?
Exhibit A, Hibernian FC.
The only club to drop a league place due to points-per-game being adopted (hearts were 12th, still 12th)
Hibs were the only club to lose out financially IN REALITY - losing a 6 figure sum by dropping 6th to 7th
We did not ask for compensation
We did not threaten legal action & yap yap yap like a small dog
We adopted a big dog attitude, took it on the chin for the good of the game, and moved on to the important things in sport....getting fans back in stadiums for 20/21.
Hearts have much to learn
Lol. Whilst your summary is true
Hibs would have been all over this had we been relegated without all the games being played ...
The main issue is why haven’t the SPFL, SFA and Hearts etc sat down and sorted it with compo before this became an embarrassing public legal battle ...
Budge knows they are going down and is simply manoeuvring for maximum soft landing ..we would have done the same
11-07-2020, 09:01 AM
Hibs would have been all over this had we been relegated without all the games being played ...
The main issue is why haven’t the SPFL, SFA and Hearts etc sat down and sorted it with compo before this became an embarrassing public legal battle ...
Budge knows they are going down and is simply manoeuvring for maximum soft landing ..we would have done the same
I expect we might’ve been all over it. Given the opportunity to lead a reconstruction proposal I think Dempster might have managed to piece one together and persuade other clubs to back her.
She’d probably have done it by doing more than saying “it’s not fair” and she’d have phoned other decision makers to get them on board - not conduct it all through Tom English and the papers.
hibeerealist
11-07-2020, 09:02 AM
You're giving them too much credit. Hearts don't have a strategy. This is and always has been about Budge covering her own lardy, size 24 backside. If Hearts was any other type of company, they'd have gone bust long ago. They've burned through cash like no other team and relied on handouts to keep them alive. Budge's oversight has been a mess except for one thing - she's managed to get Hearts mugs to direct their anger at everyone and anyone else - St Mirren, Dundee, SPFL, Hibs, Doncaster, DUFC, Cove Rangers, Raith, SFA, the Media, the world.
Her unseemly rush to talk about legal action as soon as the matches were stopped in March was evidence of that. Any normal club would have kept its council and worked with the SPFL for the best outcome for all, but Budge knew fine well she was in trouble. So, she played the victim card which is like oxygen to Hearts mugs. Taking this to court and now to Arbitration is just her pandering to save her arse.
Handout Hearts are in trouble and she knows it.
Spot on Onion, this is a very good summary of the Hertz/Budgie situation and she has got away with it ..........so far!
11-07-2020, 09:15 AM
I expect we might’ve been all over it. Given the opportunity to lead a reconstruction proposal I think Dempster might have managed to piece one together and persuade other clubs to back her.
She’d probably have done it by doing more than saying “it’s not fair” and she’d have phoned other decision makers to get them on board - not conduct it all through Tom English and the papers.
Think that's the fairest summary I've seen yet.
It just shows how stupid and hypocritical Budge is. Accusing the 3 others of exactly what she is doing, she didn't have to litigate or arbitrate but chose to (she's trying to get the place in the league she believes is rightfully her club's, which is exactly what the 3 others are doing).
She's got a ******ing cheek accusing others of causing division the way she's behaved throughout. It was her alliance with Rangers and Inverness in their plot for null and void that started off all the division.
11-07-2020, 09:38 AM
I genuinely think it's time the SPFL or SFA told them to put a sock in it, or risk punishment.
Wait until the arbitration is out of the way first.
Then apply the rules that Hearts and Partick signed up to.
11-07-2020, 09:51 AM
I dont think we would have embarrassed ourselves
We accepted our sporting related fate in 2014
We accepted points per game in 2020
I dont think Hamilton or county or saints would have acted as hearts have done
It's very much a hearts thing, this publicly embarrassing themselves
11-07-2020, 09:52 AM
Hearts behaviour is of course not in proportion to the position they found themselves in.
They are doing a lot of whining for being at a point where about 1 team every ten years or so manages to escape from.
They’d just also lost to the team closest to them and Hamilton were cheated from a position of giving them a doing at their own ground.
Stopping the league probably saved them from falling even further behind.
Or by taking a less confrontational approach without thinly veiled threats from the off as Budge has done. It's common knowledge that this approach has rubbed other clubs the wrong way.
I've no doubt we would take action, but I'd imagine there would be less entitlement and a bit more 'please' involved.
The way it's all planned out is 100% their fault.
In the unlikely event that hearts get back into the spfl will they then claim its unfair to start on 1 August as they haven’t been training and go to the courts to delay the start until they have caught up.
11-07-2020, 10:17 AM
Does anyone know if the arbitration panel has been appointed and started work yet?
Just curious. I know the judge wanted it done and dusted within 28 days, so that's 8 days gone by now.
Rumble de Thump
11-07-2020, 10:24 AM
Hearts weren't due any compensation. They still aren't.
11-07-2020, 11:10 AM
Hibs did mump a bit when they were relegated in the late 1990s and did call for the SPL to be expanded to 12. However that had already been agreed in principle when the SPL broke away from the SFL and it came in a couple of years later.
Taking legal action against the League is almost unprecedented. Hearts (and Partick) will remain as pariahs within Scottish football for many years.
11-07-2020, 11:15 AM
That’s not strictly true is it - and is clearly up for debate . Due to the pandemic the league was ended prematurely. Tbh I think it would be fair to provide some compo to those relegated as an impact of this decision
11-07-2020, 11:21 AM
Interesting that the article in the 'newspaper' says that Hearts are 'setting the record straight'.
The Record is straight with very few things, and suggesting that Budge is factually correcting Dundee United et al is simply another example of this.
It's her view, not 'setting anything straight' at all.
Eaststand
11-07-2020, 11:33 AM
Does anyone know if the arbitration panel has been appointed and started work yet?
Just curious. I know the judge wanted it done and dusted within 28 days, so that's 8 days gone by now.
I heard they were ready to appoint the panel but then received a late application from a chap named Dessie Leans, who claims to be the best legal mind of his generation, better connected than John Gotti and widely respected by all.
The trouble he might have being accepted onto the panel is that his application was written in crayon by a close friend of his 🤔
11-07-2020, 11:40 AM
That’s not strictly true is it - and is clearly up for debate . Due to the pandemic the league was ended prematurely. Tbh I think it would be fair to provide some compo to those relegated as an impact of this decision
The only compensation Hearts are entitled to is the standard parachute payment paid to every club that is relegated as a consequence of being bottom when the league finishes.
A more diplomatic approach by Hearts would have enabled them to successfully ask for additional compensation due to the unavoidable* early finish to the season but their scorched earth approach has ruined their chances.
*Consider the alternatives -
Voiding the season meant large repayments to TV companies and sponsors, so nothing left for prize money which would bankrupt clubs.
Playing the remaining games was impossible because many clubs had too many players out of contract at the end of May, and games only resumed in mid-June in England.
11-07-2020, 11:45 AM
No it is strictly true. Show us anything anywhere that says Hearts are due compensation above what has already been provided for the relegated team.
You might believe it fair to provide additional compo and it may have been a point to be sensibly debated between adults but they are not due it and their behaviour from the off has resulted in a situation that such sensible discussions have been impossible.
11-07-2020, 11:54 AM
No it is strictly true. Show us anything anywhere that says Hearts are due compensation above what has already been provided for the relegated team.
You might believe it fair to provide additional compo and it may have been a point to be sensibly debated between adults but they are not due it and their behaviour from the off has resulted in a situation that such sensible discussions have been impossible.
Yes. I am suggesting that it is fair to expect some compensation in these unique circumstances...the “not due compo” is certainly up for debate ..as far as I’m aware - there are no fixed rules or precedents for what happens when the league does not conclude .
I’ve rarely seen any football club , including our own, act sensibly in extreme circumstances. They always act in their own best interests. I don’t think they are handling it well - yet neither do I think the spfl are either ..both sides should have sought to avoid this embarrassment of a situation.
11-07-2020, 11:54 AM
Think the panel has been appointed and the hearing will start on Monday. Expected to take 2 weeks. Think all be kept hush to avoid pressure on the panel and stopping the media circus. Sure Hearts will do some leaking to stir things up.
As has been pointed out here many times, Hearts were not relegated as a result of the decision to end the league early; they were relegated because they were bottom of the league when the decision was taken.
Again, as has been pointed out many times, the argument that Hearts should be compensated for what they might have achieved in the last eight games would be to give them special treatment, unless every other club were to be compensated similarly. So, Rangers should get prize money equivalent to them having won the league and a sum to make up for them not getting the prime Champions' League place; Hibs should get 3rd place prize money and compensation for not being awarded a Europa Cup spot and so on and so on... Quite where this money would be magicked up from I don't know.
1 8 7 5
11-07-2020, 11:57 AM
Correct.
11-07-2020, 11:58 AM
Yes. I am suggesting that it is fair to expect some compensation in these unique circumstances...the “not due compo” is certainly up for debate ..as far as I’m aware - there are no fixed rules or precedents for what happens when the league does not conclude .
I’ve rarely seen any football club , including our own, act sensibly in extreme circumstances. They always act in their own best interests. I don’t think they are handling it well - yet neither do I think the spfl are either ..both sides should have sought to avoid this embarrassment of a situation.
The league did conclude though, in accordance with the rules. It concluded earlier than expected, but concluded it did.
If we are saying that Hearts as the relegated team are due compensation, then it must also stand to reason that each club is due compensation equivalent to the highest payment they could have achieved has they won all of their remaining games? Rangers could argue that they should be compensated the difference better a second place finish and winning the league, and the income that they’d have got from Champions League qualifiers as a minimum.
strummbo
11-07-2020, 11:59 AM
bleating moaning faced cockwombles basically
as my mate just pointed out, even with all their cheating and cash [romanov, budge anderson foh etc] and cash injections plus, they have never had an attractive playing side since the 80's and even that team won nothing [arise sir albert] and the a couple of cup wins but nothing earth shattering yet they still seem to think they are something "special"
a serious inflated sense of their own importance that no one else "gets". yet all of scottish football is to balme apart from them. 7 mins was all they had to do stop st mirren, yet failed again , the worst of the worst.
22 million this season in terms of financing. if you add up seasons, foh and benny... wtf , this is a serially underperforming business thats is incapable if governing their own finances unless they get bailed out.
i hope they sink slowly and suffer a tortuous demise. and budge monies run lot...
11-07-2020, 12:00 PM
This, this, this
11-07-2020, 12:01 PM
The league did conclude though, in accordance with the rules. It concluded earlier than expected, but concluded it did.
If we are saying that Hearts as the relegated team are due compensation, then it must also stand to reason that each club is due compensation equivalent to the highest payment they could have achieved has they won all of their remaining games? Rangers could argue that they should be compensated the difference better a second place finish and winning the league, and the income that they’d have got from Champions League qualifiers as a minimum.
Lol. A bit dogmatic that view matty.. those relegated have been more materially affected . Impact could last for more than one season ...I think some exceptional compensation to those with a disproportionate impact is reasonable ...
11-07-2020, 12:04 PM
Lol. A bit dogmatic that view matty.. those relegated have been more materially affected . Impact could last for more than one season ...I think some exceptional compensation to those with a disproportionate impact is reasonable ...
Millions of pounds have been lost to clubs who may have improved their league position, of that there is no doubt.
Compensation to one club is wrong, compensate every club, and i'd agree that the gimps should get more than they are currently entitled to.
11-07-2020, 12:07 PM
Millions of pounds have been lost to clubs who may have improved their league position, of that there is no doubt.
Compensation to one club is wrong, compensate every club, and i'd agree that the gimps should get more than they are currently entitled to.
We’d be looking for compensation if we had been relegated as a result ..
I can see a case for handling those relegated differently from other clubs - due to the uniqueness of the situation .
Few will agree on here , I recognise that .
Rumble de Thump
11-07-2020, 12:09 PM
It is strictly true and it's not debatable. The season ended. Whether the expected number of games were played or not is irrelvant. No more games could be played so the season ended. The team bottom of the league at that point gets relegated. Those are the rules. All teams suffered from not being able to play more games. The idea that compensation should be paid to the relgated team is an idea that the rules should be disregarded just because someone decides they don't like them.
11-07-2020, 12:10 PM
I don’t think it is, Rangers would make more a Champions League run and a title win than Hearts will lose going down, and the impact of Celtic having that money rather than Rangers means that Celtic will be able to pull further ahead the season after and so on.
We could have made it into Europe, we certainly could have been top 6 but we finished 7th, so are only entitled to the pay out that the 7th place team gets. Hearts are only entitled to what the bottom team gets.
11-07-2020, 12:11 PM
If you want to talk about hypotheticals like Hearts not being relegated, then you have to look at all hypotheticals and not cherry pick.
As an extreme example, Sevco could have won the league and then won next season's Champions League which would have a material effect on them as it would make them solvent.
11-07-2020, 12:13 PM
It is strictly true and it's not debatable. The season ended. Whether the expected number of games were played or not is irrelvant. No more games could be played so the season ended. The team bottom of the league at that point gets relegated. Those are the rules. All teams suffered from not being able to play more games. The idea that compensation should be paid to the relgated team is an idea that the rules should be disregarded just because someone decides they don't like them.
There were no rules for these circumstances. They have been retrofitted to this scenario.
Would that be your position if it was us ?
Anyway, I won’t repeat myself . Have made my views clear . Don’t expect them to be supported much.
Hope it’s resolved soon, so we can focus on football and let them get on with their “adventure” in the championship..
11-07-2020, 12:16 PM
If Hearts were paid any additional payment then it would have had to come out of the prize money pot. This would have resulted in all clubs being penalised for the benefit of the club with the poorest league performance. Hardly fair, especially on Hibs who have already suffered the penalty of dropping a league place.
The only way to resolve it would have been to have asked the club that gained the most, due to the early conclusion of the league, to voluntarily give up some of their prize money. I am sure that Celtic would have been sympathetic.
11-07-2020, 12:17 PM
I don’t think it is, Rangers would make more a Champions League run and a title win than Hearts will lose going down, and the impact of Celtic having that money rather than Rangers means that Celtic will be able to pull further ahead the season after and so on.
We could have made it into Europe, we certainly could have been top 6 but we finished 7th, so are only entitled to the pay out that the 7th place team gets. Hearts are only entitled to what the bottom team gets.
I think because it’s Hearts it gets a less rationale response here . Do you honestly not feel Partick Thistle deserve some support when a global pandemic led the league to be stoped early and for themto be relegated with a game in hand and games to go ? That’s a harsh position in my view . I feel they deserve some soft landing ..
I really don't think you should be accusing people here of being irrational simply because they disagree with your opinion.
Hearts might be getting a bit more of a sympathetic hearing if they hadn't acted like spoiled, entitled @rseholes since day one. Thistle might have got a more sympathetic hearing if they'd entered into a sensible dialogue. As it is, teaming up with Hearts to attack the rest of the SPFL has made them pariahs, so screw them.
11-07-2020, 12:37 PM
I think every club could have a clear claim for compensation due to lost income as a result of the short season.
11-07-2020, 12:48 PM
I think every club could have a clear claim for compensation due to lost income as a result of the short season.
I agree, but i don’t think any club is entitled to compensation and I’d be surprised if they were awarded any due to there being no breach of rules and nothing in the articles to suggest that the SPFL would be liable to compensate any team of the league finished early.
11-07-2020, 12:48 PM
I really don't think you should be accusing people here of being irrational simply because they disagree with your opinion.
Hearts might be getting a bit more of a sympathetic hearing if they hadn't acted like spoiled, entitled @rseholes since day one. Thistle might have got a more sympathetic hearing if they'd entered into a sensible dialogue. As it is, teaming up with Hearts to attack the rest of the SPFL has made them pariahs, so screw them.
Lol. I’m glad you’ve proven there is no emotion driving your opinions [emoji2][emoji106]
11-07-2020, 12:52 PM
Another team had a game in hand, and they benefited by finishing one place higher up due to the method used, should there be compensation for the team that lost out as a result?
Lol. I’m glad you’ve proven there is no emotion driving your opinions [emoji2][emoji106]
Do try not to be silly. My opinion about Hearts' case for compensation is quite separate from how I feel about their appalling behaviour.
Please make a rational case for why Hearts should receive preferential treatment over every other club that could have improved their league position.
11-07-2020, 01:25 PM
Do try not to be silly. My opinion about Hearts' case for compensation is quite separate from how I feel about their appalling behaviour.
Please make a rational case for why Hearts should receive preferential treatment over every other club that could have improved their league position.
I’ve said all I want to say about this in other posts . Mal ..I understand people will have different views. That’s fine too ..
11-07-2020, 01:36 PM
Another team had a game in hand, and they benefited by finishing one place higher up due to the method used, should there be compensation for the team that lost out as a result?
Yeah MY. There’s a lot of complexity I agree . there’s been a decent back and fro on it . I guess in summary, My view is that, because of the uniqueness of the events and the impact, I can see a case for those relegated getting compo...I can understand why people may argue against that too ...
11-07-2020, 01:48 PM
Yeah MY. There’s a lot of complexity I agree . there’s been a decent back and fro on it . I guess in summary, My view is that, because of the uniqueness of the events and the impact, I can see a case for those relegated getting compo...I can understand why people may argue against that too ...
IMO it has to be compensation for all or not at all. And if it is for all then the SPFL are bankrupt, OR every club is rewarded for where they finished up using the most fair method that did not discriminate against any club, whic is how it transpired.
Hearts and in particular Partick may feel hard done by, but on the balance of probability the clubs finished where they would have done if the season had played out, and that is what seems to be forgotten by Budge.
proud_and_green
11-07-2020, 01:50 PM
Compensation to one club is wrong, compensate every club, and i'd agree that the gimps should get more than they are currently entitled to.It's an interesting thought. I agree that every team had the potential to do better because there were games left after the season was called. Therefore, if that is applied to Hearts it must be applied at the same time to every other club.
However, it is an impossibility that every team would in fact get maximum points from the remaining games because for one to get max for a game would require another to get none in that same game.
But, even if they could, that would mean that there would be no change to any of the positions and the league positions at the point of it being called would be the same. .
If all games were declared draws, it has the same effect - no change to league standings.
Using this logic, we were the only club in the top flight to be actually disadvantaged against potential by the average points calculation.
GonzoReturns
11-07-2020, 02:00 PM
It's an interesting thought. I agree that every team had the potential to do better because there were games left after the season was called. Therefore, if that is applied to Hearts it must be applied at the same time to every other club.
However, it is an impossibility that every team would in fact get maximum points from the remaining games because for one to get max for a game would require another to get none in that same game.
But, even if they could, that would mean that there would be no change to any of the positions and the league positions at the point of it being called would be the same. .
If all games were declared draws, it has the same effect - no change to league standings.
Using this logic, we were the only club in the top flight to be actually disadvantaged against potential by the average points calculation.
👍👍 which is conveniently forgotten by Chucky Budges bitch English and some of his chums!!!!
Wakeyhibee
11-07-2020, 02:01 PM
I’ve said all I want to say about this in other posts . Mal ..I understand people will have different views. That’s fine too ..
FWIW I thought an extra payment could have been offered as a nod to the fact they had lost the chance to get out of their situation by the circumstances. Partick had the biggest shout and Stranrser the least if any.
It would have been nowhere near their claim. Also teams where places were traded maybe should have had an equal share of the places traded.
After their shenanigans I really dont think they deserve anything.
11-07-2020, 02:02 PM
FWIW I thought an extra payment could have been offered as a nod to the fact they had lost the chance to get out of their situation by the circumstances. Partick had the biggest shout and Stranrser the least if any.
It would have been nowhere near their claim. Also teams where places were traded maybe should have had an equal share of the places traded.
I also suspect the outcome will be as you suggest - because of their aggressive approach on it
I heard they were ready to appoint the panel but then received a late application from a chap named Dessie Leans, who claims to be the best legal mind of his generation, better connected than John Gotti and widely respected by all.
The trouble he might have being accepted onto the panel is that his application was written in crayon by a close friend of his 🤔
But he's just a cucking fonveyancer.
proud_and_green
11-07-2020, 02:11 PM
After their shenanigans I really dont think they deserve anything.But by doing so SPFL could technically make themselves liable to pay compensation to every club in the land. Because every club, with the exception of the leaders of each league, had the opportunity to get themselves out of the situation they were in.
11-07-2020, 02:12 PM
Think the other issue with saying compensation is due is that it implies a wrong-doing or that someone is liable/at fault for the situation.
The SPFL applied the most relevant rules, involved all the clubs in the decision making, and came to the least unfair outcome (save, perhaps, for using a weighted points per game system to calculate standings).
11-07-2020, 02:19 PM
We’d be looking for compensation if we had been relegated as a result ..
I can see a case for handling those relegated differently from other clubs - due to the uniqueness of the situation .
Few will agree on here , I recognise that .
Should Hibs receive compensation for being knocked down a place due to the average points per game system? If not why not. Exactly the same scenario as the tarts being relegated. Just not as serious thankfully
That is a debatable point and I agree to a degree...those most impacted, like relegation, could have put forward a reasoned argument for special compo.
That however is a very different argument to the one you put forward previously in that, as things stand, they are DUE additional compensation. Quite simply, and very clearly, they are not. There is no debate to be had on that point.
And as we have all seen Hearts have been anything but reasonable in this matter so it’s little wonder that most fans and the SPFL have zero time or inclination to listen to them or their ‘plight’ any more.
malcolm
But by doing so SPFL could technically make themselves liable to pay compensation to every club in the land. Because every club, with the exception of the leaders of each league, had the opportunity to get themselves out of the situation they were in.
And technically as the spfl is the clubs they’d owe it to themselves..... the hearts case could be simplified as they are used to that kind of scenario and they could just owe themselves £8m - job done!
11-07-2020, 02:25 PM
That is a debatable point and I agree to a degree...those most impacted, like relegation, could have put forward a reasoned argument for special compo.
That however is a very different argument to the one you put forward previously in that, as things stand, they are DUE additional compensation. Quite simply, and very clearly, they are not. There is no debate to be had on that point.
And as we have all seen Hearts have been anything but reasonable in this matter so it’s little wonder that most fans and the SPFL have zero time or inclination to listen to them or their ‘plight’ any more.
Its a complex one is all I’ve been trying to say RS... don’t think I ever said they are definitely due compo. I did say that it wasn’t strictly true that they weren’t due compo (as I think it is new territory) and that I could see an argument why it would be fair for them and those relegated to get some. It’s not definitely they will get any and as I summarise in the post above ..it’s been a decent debate and I can also see the merits of the other opinions.
11-07-2020, 02:32 PM
All clubs are suffering. The relegated clubs don’t need any additional al support or they would be getting a better deal than anyone else.
Getting relegated comes with consequences every year.
Wakeyhibee
11-07-2020, 02:34 PM
Think the other issue with saying compensation is due is that it implies a wrong-doing or that someone is liable/at fault for the situation.
The SPFL applied the most relevant rules, involved all the clubs in the decision making, and came to the least unfair outcome (save, perhaps, for using a weighted points per game system to calculate standings).
Agree by and large it was the only viable and least unfair option. if it wasnt for Partick's unfortunate close call maybe I wouldn't have thought that way.
It's also why I said a nod to, rather than compensation. This would not be an admission of wrong doing, but to recognize that some would be affected more than others.
If I'm honest and think if that was Hibs, I would be thinking it fairer whilst cursing our own situation (deservedly so if in Hearts position). By that I mean, I would be aggrieved at losing the chance to get out of it but not at the position at that point in time.
I've never been a fan of ND but he has done the best he can in this situation with so many interests at stake.
Just my opinion. It's done now so hopefully this is brought to a swift conclusion and we can look forward to August 1st.
Caversham Green
11-07-2020, 03:19 PM
HoMFC's compensation claim assumes that they would definitely have gained at least four points on Hamilton in the last eight games but no bottom placed club has gained that many points on second from bottom for at least ten years and there was absolutely nothing in HoMFC's record during the season to suggest they would achieve it. There is also no rational formula that could be applied that would see them saved. In short, they were going down anyway and their only losses are due entirely to the pandemic. They simply do not have any reasonable case for compensation.
Thistle are slightly different in that they had a game in hand and would have been off the bottom if they had won it. However that game was against the second top team in their league and the likelihood is that they would have lost it even though they had won the two previous meetings. If they are entitled to any compensation for not being able to rescue themselves it should be moderated by the fact that they were still more likely than not to be relegated.
A small amount to Thistle and nothing to HoMFC would be my proposal on that basis.
11-07-2020, 03:32 PM
HoMFC's compensation claim assumes that they would definitely have gained at least four points on Hamilton in the last eight games but no bottom placed club has gained that many points on second from bottom for at least ten years and there was absolutely nothing in HoMFC's record during the season to suggest they would achieve it. There is also no rational formula that could be applied that would see them saved. In short, they were going down anyway and their only losses are due entirely to the pandemic. They simply do not have any reasonable case for compensation.
Thistle are slightly different in that they had a game in hand and would have been off the bottom if they had won it. However that game was against the second top team in their league and the likelihood is that they would have lost it even though they had won the two previous meetings. If they are entitled to any compensation for not being able to rescue themselves it should be moderated by the fact that they were still more likely than not to be relegated.
A small amount to Thistle and nothing to HoMFC would be my proposal on that basis.
On the games in hand situation, st Johnstone moved up to 6th on the basis that they had a game in hand. What do you think that the chances are that they would have got a win or even a draw in that game?
Just wondering 🤔😉
Caversham Green
11-07-2020, 03:39 PM
On the games in hand situation, st Johnstone moved up to 6th on the basis that they had a game in hand. What do you think that the chances are that they would have got a win or even a draw in that game?
Just wondering 🤔😉
Their game in hand was against Sevco at Ibrox and then they had Hibs at ER as their next scheduled game so it seems unlikely to me that they would have moved above Hibs before the split as they hadn't beaten us in the two previous meetings. In some respects Hibs are more hard done by than Hearts or Thistle due to the calling of the season.
11-07-2020, 03:44 PM
Their game in hand was against Sevco at Ibrox and then they had Hibs at ER as their next scheduled game so it seems unlikely to me that they would have moved above Hibs before the split as they hadn't beaten us in the two previous meetings. In some respects Hibs are more hard done by than Hearts or Thistle due to the calling of the season.
Correct but that’s why you just have to accept there had to be a method of doing this.
We do remain the one club with something to actually complain about. The rest were getting what was coming anyway.
ACLeith
11-07-2020, 04:07 PM
Just wondering 🤔😉
And Saints had to pay a higher end of season bonus to the players for moving up the league. Maybe it came to more than the extra SPFL payment? Maybe we benefitted financially by dropping a place ?
Let’s say for a moment that the arbitration gets all the documentation asked for, and there is no ‘smoking gun’ documents, and ultimately hearts case is dismissed.
Given their behaviour over the last several months, does anyone think that hearts/budge will simply accept the outcome, or will the shriek from the rooftops about missing documents and corruption and unfair, and act in vindictive manner?
AB’s behaviour is becoming more and more trump-esque
Its all been about hearts trying to get away with a horrific season using covid as a get out of jail free card. They’ve failed as they should have.
11-07-2020, 09:12 PM
Its all been about hearts trying to get away with a horrific season using covid as a get out of jail free card. They’ve failed as they should have.
Sums it up perfectly!
Greenfly
11-07-2020, 09:53 PM
Let’s say for a moment that the arbitration gets all the documentation asked for, and there is no ‘smoking gun’ documents, and ultimately hearts case is dismissed.
Given their behaviour over the last several months, does anyone think that hearts/budge will simply accept the outcome, or will the shriek from the rooftops about missing documents and corruption and unfair, and act in vindictive manner?
AB’s behaviour is becoming more and more trump-esque
Tom English will do the shrieking for them.
12-07-2020, 08:08 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/terry-christie-hearts-should-stop-throwing-their-toys-out-pram-2911001
Keep your toys in the pram.
AB is playing the proverbial blinder.
She has presided over some shambolic decisions to the point where her stock was dwindling with a section of the Hearts support but that has all been swept aside as her proclamations of anti Hearts skulduggery takes off the pressure.
Quite shrewd really.
A free pass into next season, where ever that may be.
Absolutely spot on. The fans will thank her for doing everything she could and Neilson is already talking about the motivation going into this season in the championship. The Hearts fans have already forgotten about how pathetic they were last season but will soon be reminded when the same unfit average players rock up in October unless Neilson gets to overhaul the squad AGAIN. Meanwhile Budge has pissed away the FOH money who are no closer to securing ownership and still has a stand to fix and a massive financial hole.
I reckon the penny will drop on a cold windy night away to Arbroath in November watching Halkett, Uche and Sean Clare very average skills hold out for a 0-0.
12-07-2020, 08:35 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/terry-christie-hearts-should-stop-throwing-their-toys-out-pram-2911001
So true....
"When the proposed 14-10-10-10 failed to muster enough votes and, with relegation seeming inevitable, Hearts felt justifiably angry.
They should have stamped their feet, jumped up and down, sat in a darkened room for a while and then accepted the decision.
But no, the toys went out the pram and the lawyers were called in."
12-07-2020, 08:46 AM
That's pretty much where I am as well.
I actually did have a lot of sympathy for the relegated teams, including Hearts (I know, sorry), and felt for a long time that they could possibly be given compensation, given the unusual circumstances.
Hearts behaviour since the vote to end the season... including lashing out at other teams, their stupid statments and their ridiculous £8M compo claim... have kind of 'cured' me of that.
12-07-2020, 09:31 AM
The clubs had choices, null and void the leagues, points per game to settle leagues, restructuring of the leagues. The clubs voted to reject everything bar points per game to settle the leagues. Even if you remove the undemocratic voting system the majority won the argument in all cases.
We need to be clear finishing the leagues was not an option, the Scottish Government only confirmed this week that the big league can start on the 1st August. How could clubs outside the premiership made their training facilities bio-secure? Where was the money coming from for the testing of part time players? Where was the money coming from to pay players to train in advance of the 1st August start up? The sad fact is Scottish football has very little money. The only reason reason the big five leagues got completed was TV money, six if you include the English championship. The SPLF has wasted money defending the club’s democratic decision because Hearts and Thistle can’t accept the method for calling the league. This sordid affair has been allowed to drag on for far too long. The bitterness caused by this is not going away. The clubs effected will carry the scars for a long time. United and Hearts will become a new rivalry, if they ever end up in the same league again.
As Hibs fans we’ve probably taken more of an interest in this than fans of the majority of the premiership simply by the fact we want Hearts relegated partly because of the club’s decisions but 100% because of Mercer, Pieman, MadVlad, Budge, their financial doping and the ridiculous behaviour of their “famous” support.
It’s time they were put down once and for all
ACLeith
12-07-2020, 09:34 AM
The clubs had choices, null and void the leagues, points per game to settle leagues, restructuring of the leagues. The clubs voted to reject everything bar points per game to settle the leagues. Even if you remove the undemocratic voting system the majority won the argument in all cases.
We need to be clear finishing the leagues was not an option, the Scottish Government only confirmed this week that the big league can start on the 1st August. How could clubs outside the premiership made their training facilities bio-secure? Where was the money coming from for the testing of part time players? Where was the money coming from to pay players to train in advance of the 1st August start up? The sad fact is Scottish football has very little money. The only reason reason the big five leagues got completed was TV money, six if you include the English championship. The SPLF has wasted money defending the club’s democratic decision because Hearts and Thistle can’t accept the method for calling the league. This sordid affair has been allowed to drag on for far too long. The bitterness caused by this is not going away. The clubs effected will carry the scars for a long time. United and Hearts will become a new rivalry, if they ever end up in the same league again.
As Hibs fans we’ve probably taken more of an interest in this than fans of the majority of the premiership simply by the fact we want Hearts relegated partly because of the club’s decisions but 100% because of Mercer, Pieman, MadVlad, Budge, their financial doping and the ridiculous behaviour of their “famous” support.
Are you available to go in Sportsound?
12-07-2020, 09:37 AM
I don't know if historic hate will stand up in arbitration????
EI255
12-07-2020, 09:39 AM
Does anyone have the link to the Dundee United fans' fundraiser walk page from Edinburgh to Tannadice next weekend? I'm gonna gladly donate.
BBC News - Dundee United fans' sponsored walk raises funds for club's legal bill
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53375589
EI255
12-07-2020, 09:41 AM
So true....
"When the proposed 14-10-10-10 failed to muster enough votes and, with relegation seeming inevitable, Hearts felt justifiably angry.
They should have stamped their feet, jumped up and down, sat in a darkened room for a while and then accepted the decision.
But no, the toys went out the pram and the lawyers were called in."Wonder what Hearts final legal bill will be?
Brummie_Hibs
12-07-2020, 09:44 AM
Does anyone have the link to the Dundee United fans' fundraiser walk page from Edinburgh to Tannadice next weekend? I'm gonna gladly donate.
BBC News - Dundee United fans' sponsored walk raises funds for club's legal bill
https://www.gofundme.com/f/Tynecastle-to-Tannadice--walk?viewupdates=1&rcid=r01-159436230245-0a4fd2599a394582&utm_medium=email&utm_source=customer&utm_campaign=p_email%2B1137-update-supporters-v5b
EI255
12-07-2020, 09:46 AM
[QUOTE=EI255;6233755]Does anyone have the link to the Dundee United fans' fundraiser walk page from Edinburgh to Tannadice next weekend? I'm gonna gladly donate.
https://www.gofundme.com/f/Tynecastle-to-Tannadice--walk?viewupdates=1&rcid=r01-159436230245-0a4fd2599a394582&utm_medium=email&utm_source=customer&utm_campaign=p_email%2B1137-update-supporters-v5bExcellent, thanks for that!
I see a few Hibbies have already been helping them out. Good stuff boys [emoji16][emoji106]
12-07-2020, 09:47 AM
They do rattle on,don't they?
Hertz possible shirt sponsor
Toys R Us
12-07-2020, 09:57 AM
They do rattle on,don't they?
Hertz possible shirt sponsor
Toys R Us
Toys R Us went bust a few years back. Perfect match. :greengrin
12-07-2020, 10:01 AM
I don't know if historic hate will stand up in arbitration????
It’s more valid than any of the nonsense Hearts have come up with, surely?
12-07-2020, 10:10 AM
Toys R Us went bust a few years back. Perfect match. :greengrin
So they did
I need to keep up !!
I could have said Mothercare ... but !
12-07-2020, 10:45 AM
Wonder what Hearts final legal bill will be?
Not nearly as big as the collateral damage to their status and image, caused by arrogance, petulance, sense of entitlement, venom and over-dependence on their sugar daddy.
Victor
12-07-2020, 10:52 AM
Just send this to the arbitration panel and let them base their decision on your summations. Minus the last sentence of course. Unlike Sportsound we don’t want to appear bias!
12-07-2020, 10:54 AM
Not nearly as big as the collateral damage to their status and image, caused by arrogance, petulance, sense of entitlement, venom and over-dependence on their sugar daddy.
Not a nice thing to say but if anything were to happen to the sugar daddy they’d be in a whole lot of bother. I keep hearing there could be more involved but don’t know how their level of commitment and scale of wealth compares to Anderson’s.
12-07-2020, 12:08 PM
I like your thinking but we'll just have to settle for their relegation being confirmed and them having to pay the SPFL and clubs' legal fees instead.
12-07-2020, 12:15 PM
Not a nice thing to say but if anything were to happen to the sugar daddy they’d be in a whole lot of bother. I keep hearing there could be more involved but don’t know how their level of commitment and scale of wealth compares to Anderson’s.
Think they are also BG Partners. If stock markets fall,the money will dry up.
12-07-2020, 12:19 PM
Incorrect.
Clarence
12-07-2020, 12:19 PM
So they did
I need to keep up !!
I could have said Mothercare ... but !
Hearts sponsor should be Calpol as these babies need to stop crying and take their medicine.
12-07-2020, 12:30 PM
Incorrect.
Do we know what their backgrounds are? Are they part of a club that supports worthy causes?
12-07-2020, 12:36 PM
Do we know what day this arbitration is taking place and is it a one day job or will it take a while?
12-07-2020, 12:41 PM
Do we know what day this arbitration is taking place and is it a one day job or will it take a while?
Hearts will no doubt leak their slanted view of proceedings if it isn’t going their way.
12-07-2020, 12:47 PM
I think James Anderson and any Baillie Gifford partners should dis- associate themselves from our moron chums before this lot starts playing out in the Lithuanian courts.
https://footballtaxhavens.wordpress.com/2019/03/13/ukio-bankas-was-the-beating-heart-of-6-billion-troika-laundromat-money-laundering-scheme-it-all-happened-while-vlad-romanov-was-running-ukio-was-funding-hearts/
Virgin Isles Companies seem to remember one on the creditors list. :cb
EI255
12-07-2020, 05:32 PM
Hearts will no doubt leak their slanted view of proceedings if it isn’t going their way.No doubt their fans will be angry at us Hibbies contributing to the Dundee United fans walk from Edinburgh to Tannadice on Saturday in aid of financial support towards the Dundee Hibs.
12-07-2020, 05:34 PM
👏👏👏👏👏
12-07-2020, 05:52 PM
I don't know how it works. Do hearts get to see the sensitive documents they have asked for or is it only the panel get to see them. If hearts get to view them i wouldn't put it past them to start throwing sensitive information out to the media, hopefully that'll get them in deep dooda with the judges and SFA.
12-07-2020, 05:53 PM
I still don't get how Hearts can use a relegation clause to punt their manager then go to court to try and get out of relegation. Comical
Hibby Gav
12-07-2020, 07:12 PM
[QUOTE=Brummie_Hibs;6233766]Excellent, thanks for that!
I see a few Hibbies have already been helping them out. Good stuff boys [emoji16][emoji106]
✅ Done
12-07-2020, 07:22 PM
I don't know how it works. Do hearts get to see the sensitive documents they have asked for or is it only the panel get to see them. If hearts get to view them i wouldn't put it past them to start throwing sensitive information out to the media, hopefully that'll get them in deep dooda with the judges and SFA.
One of the conditions of the arbitration is the strict confidentiality attatched to it, from who is on the panel to the evidence presented. Any breach could well see the leaker lose and or face serious sporting and legal sanctions.
12-07-2020, 08:10 PM
One of the conditions of the arbitration is the strict confidentiality attatched to it, from who is on the panel to the evidence presented. Any breach could well see the leaker lose and or face serious sporting and legal sanctions.
That's where i was kind of going with it. You get the feeling Budge thinks she's above these sort of things and it wouldn't surprise me in the least if she breached any confidentiality.
Fanforlife
12-07-2020, 09:48 PM
Unsure if this would be relevant however i find it strange that when Hearts installed Stendal as manager, with nearly half the season to go why did they insert a relegation clause in his contract,this to me looks like they had a good idea of what lay instore regarding relegation.
12-07-2020, 10:31 PM
So when arbitration is finished and the decision is made public will there be any reasoning given for arriving at that decision or does everything bar the outcome remain confidential?
Greenworld
13-07-2020, 09:21 AM
One of the conditions of the arbitration is the strict confidentiality attatched to it, from who is on the panel to the evidence presented. Any breach could well see the leaker lose and or face serious sporting and legal sanctions.I guess that means that the process could well have already started and nearing completion.
You would not imagine it being a long process of more than 3 or 4 days given all the documentation already given to the court?
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
13-07-2020, 09:30 AM
I guess that means that the process could well have already started and nearing completion.
You would not imagine it being a long process of more than 3 or 4 days given all the documentation already given to the court?
They will go over all that again and more, they won't assume the panel know the details. I don't think this will be done before Friday.
13-07-2020, 09:34 AM
They will go over all that again and more, they won't assume the panel know the details. I don't think this will be done before Friday.
Not even starting until Wednesday according to the daily record.
Juice-Terry
13-07-2020, 09:37 AM
Are the cameras still rolling at Tinycastle? They're gonna have to retire the Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature after this one. :thumbsup:
13-07-2020, 09:40 AM
Not even starting until Wednesday according to the daily record.
Definitely next week at the earliest then.
Unsure if this would be relevant however i find it strange that when Hearts installed Stendal as manager, with nearly half the season to go why did they insert a relegation clause in his contract,this to me looks like they had a good idea of what lay instore regarding relegation.
Do we know it was at Hearts' request, or did Stendel demand it, so he wouldn't be stuck with them if they got relegated?
… "if" being the question when he took over, rather than now
Greenworld
13-07-2020, 10:19 AM
Not even starting until Wednesday according to the daily record.Never read anything on that anywhere Del Boy if true then early next week should give closure
Fanforlife
13-07-2020, 10:48 AM
Do we know it was at Hearts' request, or did Stendel demand it, so he wouldn't be stuck with them if they got relegated?
… "if" being the question when he took over, rather than nowperhaps a mutual agreement m8? Either way to me it shows that at that time relegation must have been in their thoughts, even back in December.
13-07-2020, 10:54 AM
I guess that means that the process could well have already started and nearing completion.
I believe the appointments were made last week with the actyal proxess due to start today...don't tell them on JKB or they'll be demanding the Zoom code and password so they can give a running commentary.
13-07-2020, 11:09 AM
The New Saints (TNS) have lost their court case against the Football Association of Wales to overturn the curtailment of the Cymru Premier League.
High Court deemed FAW decision to be undertaken fairly.
@fcbusiness
13-07-2020, 11:30 AM
The New Saints (TNS) have lost their court case against the Football Association of Wales to overturn the curtailment of the Cymru Premier League.
@fcbusiness
Is it likely that sort of decision will be used in Hearts case?
I never really thought what was going on elsewhere was that relevant to Hearts as different countries have different laws, surely precedents are only relevant in the same country?
@fcbusiness
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53182025
Interesting to see it was the 2nd placed club and not the 2 relegated clubs that went to court. Have either of those 2 done any squealing. Didn't find any but only did a quick Google.
The judge's comments are particularly interesting.
After Monday's verdict by Judge Mr Justice Marcus Smith, the FAW's statement added: "There were no easy solutions for the board of directors in these exceptional circumstances and their decisions were made in good faith and not based on the interests of any particular club, but the wider interests of the football community.
sean04
13-07-2020, 11:33 AM
I never really thought what was going on elsewhere was that relevant to Hearts as different countries have different laws, surely precedents are only relevant in the same country?
Que the we’re not a British court we’re a Scottish court 😂😂
"There were no easy solutions for the board of directors in these exceptional circumstances and their decisions were made in good faith and not based on the interests of any particular club, but the wider interests of the football community.
To Jambo/Sportsound ears "wider interests" just sounds like "self-interest, punishing teams who don't deserve it and expulsion."
The was reference a few times in the Court of Session hearing to an English case re Fulham, IIRC Lord Clark referred to English cases as a good reference point rather than necessarily being precedents so with English laws also covering Wales I'd imagine it would be relevant to the arbitration. This Welsh outcome seems like bad timing from Hearts' point of view.
13-07-2020, 11:36 AM
The judge in the court case recently specifically quoted English cases and commented that our laws are very similar so he used them as an example
13-07-2020, 11:40 AM
The judge in the court case recently specifically quoted English cases and commented that our laws are very similar so he used them as an example
I think this undoubtedly strengthens the SPFL’s case (providing a similar process was followed). If a judge has decided that the process was fair and unprejudiced it will definitely set precedent, at least as a starting point.
13-07-2020, 11:51 AM
I think this undoubtedly strengthens the SPFL’s case (providing a similar process was followed). If a judge has decided that the process was fair and unprejudiced it will definitely set precedent, at least as a starting point.
Wonder if we might see an out of court settlement this week then?
13-07-2020, 11:58 AM
Cue English and Welsh courts being described as tinpot
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
13-07-2020, 11:59 AM
Probably, but only because it’s not going to court so by definition any settlement will fit that. :greengrin
I don’t think it’s in the SPFL’s interests to settle, though - especially with a stronger case and chance of winning.
If anything, it might see Hearts and Partick decide that their chances aren’t diminished sufficiently to drop the case.
13-07-2020, 12:03 PM
I do not see any reason why the SPFL would agree to any financial settlement as it will impact on all of the other clubs in Scotland, most of which do not have the financial resources of Hearts. If the Arbitration Panel find in favour of Hearts then the SPFL will take it to CAS.
13-07-2020, 12:05 PM
Only if the SPFL think they've done something wrong which they don't and haven't imo
13-07-2020, 12:07 PM
If anything, it might see Hearts and Partick decide that their chances aren’t diminished sufficiently to drop the case.
No chance. They’re in to far and they’ve said too much.
A mixture of her ego and playing to the deluded gallery means there is no danger they will drop anything IMO.
13-07-2020, 12:10 PM
There was talk of it taking up to two weeks. Budge & Co have to draw it out to look as if they are making a fight of it. Plus there are lawyers involved.
13-07-2020, 12:16 PM
There was talk of it taking up to two weeks. Budge & Co have to draw it out to look as if they are making a fight of it. Plus there are lawyers involved.
If it’s starting on Wednesday and going to take two weeks then the decision will be made 3 days before the season starts! In the event of Hearts winning are they just going to accept only a 3 day pre season? Budge will have us all starting in October!!
13-07-2020, 12:23 PM
I think it's in Budge's interest for there to be a settlement of some kind, as it would be confidential. That means, regardless of how little any agreement benefits them, they can spin it as a victory of sorts.