View Full Version : Auld fitba highlights

06-06-2020, 05:28 AM
Missing the Saturday afternoon buzz already?

Came across this online from 2006

Might be a long time until our next derby

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

Riordan
Benji

https://youtu.be/in6gU-YlC_A

johnsparky2

Juice-Terry
06-06-2020, 06:02 AM
Braw. Remember it well. GGTTH!

SideBurns
06-06-2020, 06:21 AM

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

Riordan
Benji

johnsparky2

First derby after the disastrous semi-final, and the last derby of the season. I was in Waterford for the weekend with the wife, had a very anxious afternoon as the texts came in with match updates; when I got the result through at full-time, my consumption of Guinness accelerated quite considerably! Great night in the Emerald Isle, but would've been an even better one in Leith I'm sure.

06-06-2020, 07:09 AM

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

Riordan
Benji

johnsparky2

Cracking. Loved the post match interview. Injuries and suspension cost us the semi.

06-06-2020, 07:13 AM
Benji’s goal celebration was brilliant 💚

06-06-2020, 07:22 AM
Remember it well. Hearts' goal was typical of goals we'd concede regularly then. How zibi remained at the club in that period I'll never know. He wa even given a contract extension?!

Murphy was some player. Stephen glass was an underrated player for me, thought he was consistently excellent for us. That starting lineup was missing a few regulars, it was definitely a talented squad and a lot of injuries around the semi final made it very difficult against a strong hearts team.

Just affirms my opinion that Archie MacPherson was undoubtedly the worst football commentator of all time.

06-06-2020, 07:41 AM
Not heard “ All the Hibees are gay” for years 😃

How old are they and so un PC

Will miss the derbies 😃

06-06-2020, 07:50 AM
Another classic from Zibi/our defence in a Derby. Loved Jay Shields steaming in to win the ball from Hartley for the first goal. Benji was class on his day. Great times.

06-06-2020, 07:54 AM
Another classic from Zibi/our defence in a Derby. Loved Jay Shields steaming in to win the ball from Hartley for the first goal. Benji was class on his day. Great times.

If only Zibi put as much effort in to keeping the ball out of the net against Hearts as he did keeping Benji out of the Hearts end.

06-06-2020, 07:54 AM
You know you are getting Auld when the match referred to seems ‘not that Auld’ to you...

06-06-2020, 08:07 AM
Benji was quality. Wish we signed more completely unknown genius players.

06-06-2020, 08:19 AM
Derek Riordan was such a quality player. What a finish for the first, and he’s scored much better derby goals too.

08-06-2020, 07:02 AM
23/9/1967 Scottish League Division One old

Dundee United 2 v 2 Hibernian

Stein
Davis (pen)

Rare footage from the Saturday after we had beat Porto 3-0 at Easter Road

Shame they miss the “lucky” HIBS first goal!

Petrie! :grr:

Hibs : Thomson Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen McGraw Quinn Grant Stein Cormack and Stevenson

Sub ORourke

Att 7716

First Half

https://youtu.be/fsfe-fJvJ4A

Second Half

https://youtu.be/AGHc3qOq0ZA

29/10/1994 Scottish League Premier Division

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

Jackson
ONeil

Hibs : Leighton Miller Love Beaumont Tweed Tortolano Weir Hamilton Findlay Jackson and ONeil

Subs: Evans Harper

Att: 13606

https://youtu.be/yniQSjgltMc

johnsparky2

www.fitbastats.com

Gloucester Hibs
08-06-2020, 07:25 AM
The pac-a-Mac’s game! You wait ages for an Edinburgh derby win then 2 come along at once 😊

08-06-2020, 01:35 PM
Another excellent assist from Sproule - the accusations that he was a headless chicken that just dined off his hattrick at Ibrox were ridiculous.

Another howler from Zibby (aided by some pish poor defending).

Zibby's howlers cost us SIX goals across different games against Hearts - some worse than others, but all terrible goalkeeping. What is very strange is that he didn't make any howlers against any other teams :hmmm:. It's almost as if he was deliberately making those mistakes against Hearts. Were there any corrupt figures in the Hearts boardroom with a penchant for splashing the cash at the time I wonder?

08-06-2020, 01:51 PM
Another excellent assist from Sproule - the accusations that he was a headless chicken that just dined off his hattrick at Ibrox were ridiculous.

Zibby's howlers cost us SIX goals across different games against Hearts - some worse than others, but all terrible goalkeeping. What is very strange is that he didn't make any howlers against any other teams :hmmm:. It's almost as if he was deliberately making those mistakes against Hearts. Were there any corrupt figures in the Hearts boardroom with a penchant for splashing the cash at the time I wonder?

That point on Sproule is spot on.

I was watching a lot of old highlights on Hibs TV. The likes of O’Connor got some amount of tap ins, around that time, from Sproule getting to the byline and cutting the baw back. He could finish as well.

08-06-2020, 04:09 PM

Certainly coincidental the number of shockers zibi had v Hearts.

08-06-2020, 05:05 PM

I was watching a lot of old highlights on Hibs TV. The likes of O’Connor got some amount of tap ins, around that time, from Sproule getting to the byline and cutting the baw back. He could finish as well.

08-06-2020, 05:06 PM
Certainly coincidental the number of shockers zibi had v Hearts.

The number and also the fact they were so ridiculous!

08-06-2020, 05:07 PM

Pretty sure he got most assists in the league one season. He was a brilliant winger.

09-06-2020, 05:58 AM
13/2/1971 Scottish Cup Round 4

Hearts 1 v 2 Hibernian

Hazel
Duncan

https://youtu.be/lSp0QyDrbrA

Hibs: Marshall Brownlie Duncan Blackley Black Stanton Duncan ORourke Baker Hazel and Davidson

Sub Cropley for Davidson

Att: 30450

8/8/1999 Scottish League SPL

Dundee 3 v 4 Hibernian

Lehmann
Sauzee 2
Miller

Mon dieu! It’s a classic

https://youtu.be/KXKBHONTWx4

Hibs: Gottskalksson Lovering Renwick Dennis Jack Sauzee Henry Latapy McGinlay Paatelainen and Lehmann

Subs: Miller Hartley

Att: 6050

www.fitbastats.com (http://www.fitbastats.com)

10-06-2020, 08:17 AM
16/10/1961 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 2 v 0 Torino

Fraser
Baxter

Rare footage from the friendly match arranged as part of Joe Baker’s transfer to Torino featuring Denis Law

https://youtu.be/16iqho3xBBU

1/1/1996 Scottish League SPL

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

ONeill
Harper

https://youtu.be/KAomC_W1gwA

Hibs: Leighton Millen Tortolano McGinlay Tweed Hunter McAllister Harper Wright Jackson and ONeill

Sub: Evans

Att 14872

Hibernian: A Grand Old Team (9 mins)

https://youtu.be/nUeCu1QQfJE

johnsparky2

SideBurns
10-06-2020, 08:21 AM
16/10/1961 Friendly Challenge Match

Hibernian 2 v 0 Torino

Fraser
Baxter

Rare footage from the friendly match arranged as part of Joe Baker’s transfer to Torino featuring Denis Law

https://youtu.be/16qho3xBBU

1/1/1996 Scottish League SPL

Hibernian 2 v 1 Hearts

ONeill
Harper

https://youtu.be/KAomC_W1gwA

Hibs: Leighton Millen Tortolano McGinlay Tweed Hunter McAllister Harper Wright Jackson and ONeill

Sub: Evans

Att 14872

Hibernian: A Grand Old Team

https://youtu.be/nUeCu1QQfJE

johnsparky2

www.fitbastats.com

Are you managing to watch the Torino highlights? It is "unavailable" when I try.

Thanks again anyway - this stuff is magic.

10-06-2020, 08:21 AM
Are you managing to watch the Torino highlights? It is "unavailable" when I try.

Thanks again anyway - this stuff is magic.

Sorted apologies

SideBurns
10-06-2020, 08:29 AM
Sorted apologies

Thanks, hadn't seen that before (don't think I knew the game had ever taken place, to be honest!).

10-06-2020, 08:31 AM
Thanks, hadn't seen that before (don't think I knew the game had ever taken place, to be honest!).
Ahm no the best at IT ....born in the fifties :greengrin

10-06-2020, 08:46 AM
Billy
I hope you don't mind
The following link is not game highlights ,but a wee bit of historical memorabilia you and others may find of interest
I copied it from the wonderful "EdinPhotos" website by Peter Stubbs

Note the Harp and the location of our club listed as

Easter Road Park
Leith

http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_d/0_documents_hibs_fixture_card_1921-22.htm

10-06-2020, 08:56 AM
Billy
I hope you don't mind
The following link is not game highlights ,but a wee bit of historical memorabilia you and others may find of interest
I copied it from the wonderful "EdinPhotos" website by Peter Stubbs

Note the Harp and the location of our club listed as

Easter Road Park
Leith

http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_d/0_documents_hibs_fixture_card_1921-22.htm

Brilliant!

All links to all auld fitba and memoriabilia welcome

Expect to see Raith Rovers v Famous Five “ ice rink match “ 1952 coming to a thread near you sometime soon

11-06-2020, 08:46 AM
10/2 (tel:10/21951)/1951 Scottish Cup Round 2

Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian

Smith
Turnbull
Johnstone

https://youtu.be/Cdtm5w3LDNU

Hibs: Younger Govan Ogilvie Buchanan Paterson Gallacher Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att: 102342

14/3/1953 Scottish Cup Round 4

Hibernian 1 v 1 Aberdeen

Buchanan

https://youtu.be/Ddj-Xh9JipE

Hibs would lose the replay 0-2

Hibs: Younger Clark Howie Buchanan Paterson and Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att 47585

SideBurns
11-06-2020, 09:05 AM
10/21951 Scottish Cup Round 2

Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian

Smith
Turnbull
Johnstone

Hibs: Younger Govan Ogilvie Buchanan Paterson Gallacher Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

14/3/1953 Scottish Cup Round 4

Hibernian 1 v 1 Aberdeen

Buchanan

https://youtu.be/Ddj-Xh9JipE

Hibs would lose the replay 0-2

Hibs: Younger Clark Howie Buchanan Paterson and Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Att 47585

www.fitbastats.com

Fantastic. That crowd at Ibrox... wonder how many Hibbies would have travelled through for the gemme?

11-06-2020, 09:36 AM
Fantastic. That crowd at Ibrox... wonder how many Hibbies would have travelled through for the gemme?
No a bad crowd at Easter Road as well

Seems be a lot of sheep fans must have taken them days to get here :greengrin

12-06-2020, 11:00 AM
9/4/1949 British Championship

England 1 v 3 Scotland

Mason
Steel
Reilly

https://youtu.be/6JvMT7fC8Fo

Scotland Cowan Young Cox Evans Woodburn Aitken Waddell Mason Houliston Steel and Reilly

Scottish Cup semi- finals 1951

Hibernian 2 v 3 Motherwell

Reilly 2

https://youtu.be/Yrr1fV5V-dk

Hibs Younger Govan Ogilvie Buchanan Paterson and Combe Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Ormond

Motherwell were 1-0 up when John Ogilvie broke his leg in a tackle with Motherwell’s Jimmy Watson
Gordon Smith scored a late equaliser for HIBS but the ref ruled it out for offside

Att 46000

4/11/1953 World Cup Qualifiers

Scotland 3 v 3 Wales

Brown
Johnstone
Reilly

https://youtu.be/vmpcEa7guM0

Scotland: Farm Young Cox Evans Telfer Cowie Mackenzie Johnstone Reilly Brown and Liddell

Att 71413

Hibernian 1948

https://youtu.be/WajDWPKGZu8

13-06-2020, 08:19 AM
No a bad crowd at Easter Road as well

Seems be a lot of sheep fans must have taken them days to get here :greengrin

Fun Fact:

That was Hibs highest ever domestic attendance for a game not against Rangers, Celtc or Hearts (i.e. didn't have a massive away support inflating the attendance).

Disclaimer: My dad told me that, so don't blame me if it's wrong :-P

13-06-2020, 11:31 AM
27/3/1948 Scottish Cup Semi-Final

Hibernian 0 v 1 Rangers

https://youtu.be/DSU3bLufNQw

Hibs : Farm Govan Shaw Kean Howie Buchanan Smith Combe Linwood Cuthbertson and Ormond

Att 142070

2/2/1957 Scottish Cup Round 5

Hibernian 3 v 4 Aberdeen

Smith
Nicol
Reilly

https://youtu.be/sPxMYxA48xw

Hibs Wren Grant Paterson Nicol Plenderleith Hughes Smith Turnbull Reilly Combe and Ormond

Att 27294

9/4/1958 Scottish Cup Semi-Final Replay

Hibernian 2 v 1 Rangers

Turnbull pen
Fraser

https://youtu.be/ZJJT9eyM8Ps

Hibs : Leslie Grant McClelland Turnbull Paterson Baxter Fraser Aitken Baker Preston and Ormond

Att 74895

27/3/1965 Scottish Cup SemiFinal

Hibernian 0 v 2 Dunfermline Athletic

https://youtu.be/9aJHoERmFwk

Hibs Wilson Fraser Davis Stanton McNamee Baxter Martin Quinn Cormack Hamilton and Stevenson

Att 33305

Willie Hamilton’s goal versus Hearts some Celtic content

https://youtu.be/l3Z0Qa7sjDg

SideBurns
13-06-2020, 12:18 PM
27/3/1948 Scottish Cup Semi-Final

Hibernian 0 v 1 Rangers

https://youtu.be/DSU3bLufNQw

Hibs : Farm Govan Shaw Kean Howie Buchanan Smith Combe Linwood Cuthbertson and Ormond

Att 142070

2/2/1957 Scottish Cup Round 5

Hibernian 3 v 4 Aberdeen

Smith
Nicol
Reilly

https://youtu.be/sPxMYxA48xw

Hibs Wren Grant Paterson Nicol Plenderleith Hughes Smith Turnbull Reilly Combe and Ormond

Att 27294

9/4/1958 Scottish Cup Semi-Final Replay

Hibernian 2 v 1 Rangers

Turnbull pen
Fraser

https://youtu.be/ZJJT9eyM8Ps

Hibs : Leslie Grant McClelland Turnbull Paterson Baxter Fraser Aitken Baker Preston and Ormond

Att 74895

27/3/1965 Scottish Cup SemiFinal

Hibernian 0 v 2 Dunfermline Athletic

https://youtu.be/9aJHoERmFwk

Hibs Wilson Fraser Davis Stanton McNamee Baxter Martin Quinn Cormack Hamilton and Stevenson

Att 33305

Willie Hamilton’s goal versus Hearts some Celtic content

https://youtu.be/l3Z0Qa7sjDg

I wonder if anyone kens the radge who ran on the park to join the players celebrating Willie Hamilton's goal? 😂

13-06-2020, 12:29 PM
I wonder if anyone kens the radge who ran on the park to join the players celebrating Willie Hamilton's goal? 😂

It was a cracker!

13-06-2020, 01:42 PM
Some really good memories there, Billy
Oh For a Willie Hamilton today!
Good job Son :aok:

13-06-2020, 01:53 PM
I wonder if anyone kens the radge who ran on the park to join the players celebrating Willie Hamilton's goal? ��

I was at that game

I remember an old pal o mine and some older ones here may remember him too
Peter McCue who frequented Mathers and the old Osbourne pub in Shandwick Place (opposite The Grosvenor)
Peter ran on the park from the old north enclosure against oldco, resplendent in a nifty camel coat and his sunday shoes
You couldnae miss him He was a big guy
A goal had not been scored ,but something rattled him
I think it was the ref (nothing new there then)
Anyway the polis marched him out.
He got back in and later in the game he invaded the pitch again.

Some guy was Peter
Exuberance !!
During the Tornado era,that was.

SideBurns
13-06-2020, 02:14 PM
I was at that game

I remember an old pal o mine and some older ones here may remember him too
Peter McCue who frequented Mathers and the old Osbourne pub in Shandwick Place (opposite The Grosvenor)
Peter ran on the park from the old north enclosure against oldco, resplendent in a nifty camel coat and his sunday shoes
You couldnae miss him He was a big guy
A goal had not been scored ,but something rattled him
I think it was the ref (nothing new there then)
Anyway the polis marched him out.
He got back in and later in the game he invaded the pitch again.

Some guy was Peter
Exuberance !!
During the Tornado era,that was.

Peter McCue was a pal of my dad & uncle, both of whom drank in Mathers & The Osborne (you'll know/ have known both of them, Mick). I met Peter a few times in Mathers when I was younger, and heard some stories about him. Some guy as you say!

Did he not also run on the park when Brownlie broke his leg v East Fife to try to attack the ref? Or am I getting mixed up? My dad told me so many stories about these auld characters I'm probably prone to getting confused!!

13-06-2020, 02:46 PM
Peter McCue was a pal of my dad & uncle, both of whom drank in Mathers & The Osborne (you'll know/ have known both of them, Mick). I met Peter a few times in Mathers when I was younger, and heard some stories about him. Some guy as you say!

Did he not also run on the park when Brownlie broke his leg v East Fife to try to attack the ref? Or am I getting mixed up? My dad told me so many stories about these auld characters I'm probably prone to getting confused!!
Memories not that good
But i think yer correct
Peter had a liking for the Green Grass :greengrin

I do recall Mather's running a bus to the 79 Cup Final.
We all know violence that took place after that game (and the replays)
Well Mathers bus got attacked.
Big mistake by the huns.
The bus was full of guys well capable.
They battered the hun.
And guess what?
PC Plod decided to appear ,lifted a couple of our boys
Bus went to the polis station and they got them out/bail.
Couple of guys on the bus knew the legal stuff

Am sure there is a chapter about this incident in an old Hibs book.
Guys like Ian Watson, The Imries The Burns brothers ,Billy Walls and other assorted useful guys on that bus.
Hun picked the wrong bus that time
Without a doubt!

SideBurns
13-06-2020, 02:55 PM
Memories not that good But i think yer correct Peter had a liking for the Green Grass
I do recall Mather's running a bus to the 79 Cup Final
We all know violence that took place after that game (and the replays)
Well Mathers bus got attacked
Big mistake by the huns
The bus was full of guys well capable
They battered the hun
And guess what? PC Plod decided to appear ,lifted a couple of our boys
Bus went to the polis station and got them out
Am sure there is a chapter about this incident in an old Hibs book
Guys like Ian Watson, The Imries The Burns brothers ,Billy Walls and other assorted useful guys on that bus
Hun picked the wrong bus that time

Yes, heard that one about the 79 final right enough (but not until many years after the event 😁)! The Burns brothers - that's ma auld man & uncle. The other names you mention all very familiar to me...

The Huns started it as you say, as apparently they did with most of the Hibs buses that day, but The Silver Fox bus fae Mathers emerged unscathed - which was more than can be said for the foolhardy Huns who fancied their chances.

At least one of the Imries had to make a return journey to Glesgae Sheriff Court later in the year, if I recall the tale correctly.

13-06-2020, 03:01 PM
Yes, heard that one about the 79 final right enough (but not until many years after the event ��)! The Burns brothers - that's ma auld man & uncle. The other names you mention all very familiar to me...

The Huns started it as you say, as apparently they did with most of the Hibs buses that day, but The Silver Fox bus fae Mathers emerged unscathed - which was more than can be said for the foolhardy Huns who fancied their chances.

At least one of the Imries had to make a return journey to Glesgae Sheriff Court later in the year, if I recall the tale correctly.

Donnie Imrie
Aye
i had some great times were with Billy Burns (drinking sessions )
A few years since last met him in the Grapes after a hospital visit

This wisnae wee laddies we are talking about
And not men known for looking for bother
But if it came !!

SideBurns
13-06-2020, 03:17 PM
Donnie Imrie
Aye
i had some great times were with Billy Burns (drinking sessions )
A few years since last met him in the Grapes after a hospital visit

This wisnae wee laddies we are talking about
And not men known for looking for bother
But if it came !!

Billy's still doing fine, hope to catch him furra pint once the pubs reopen (my dad, Hughie, is away now as you might know). As you say, by all accounts not a group of men who actively looked for bother, but could handle it when it came their way. Certainly good enough to take care of the Huns that day in '79 😄!

13-06-2020, 03:23 PM
Hughie was a gentleman
I mind he also drank in the Beechwood bowling club
I used to go there some Sundays and before hertz games
All the Best to Billy when you see him

SideBurns
13-06-2020, 03:35 PM
Hughie was a gentleman
I mind he also drank in the Beechwood bowling club
I used to go there some Sundays and before hertz games
All the Best to Billy when you see him

Thanks Mick, nice of you to say. Yes, he was often found in the Beechwood (liked a pint of beer, that's for sure).

I'll pass on your regards to Billy.

GGTTH.

13-06-2020, 06:26 PM
26/4/1958 Scottish Cup Final

Hibernian 0 v 1 Clyde

https://youtu.be/VMzuq-Rde10

Hibs: Leslie Grant McClelland Turnbull Plenderleith Baxter Fraser Aitken Baker Preston and Ormond

Att: 95123

bringbackbenny
13-06-2020, 07:20 PM
10/2 (tel:10/21951)/1951 Scottish Cup Round 2

Rangers 2 v 3 Hibernian

Smith
Turnbull
Johnstone

[/URL]

Nice one, sent this to my dad (aged 90) and he clearly remembers going to this game on a bus from Morrisons and Gibbs at Canonmills. They got through and it was pandemonium, he and the younger guys jumped off and got in just before the gates closed, the rest of the bus couldn't get in and had to wait for my dad and his mates coming back after the game. Says it's one of the best Hibs games he ever attended, massive crowd and result :flag:

13-06-2020, 08:32 PM
https://twitter.com/robertmdaws/status/1271875602392416257?s=21

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 09:02 PM
26/4/1958 Scottish Cup Final

Hibernian 0 v 1 Clyde

https://youtu.be/VMzuq-Rde10

Hibs: Leslie Grant McClelland Turnbull Plenderleith Baxter Fraser Aitken Baker Preston and Ormond

Att: 95123

Better not send this link to my Dad who is 91.

He was a regular at the time and was at this game, I’m sure he always told me that Clyde clogged one of the Hibs players early doors (can’t remember who) and while he stayed on the pitch, Hibs effectively played almost the whole game with 10 men.

Another one that got away....

13-06-2020, 09:25 PM

He was a regular at the time and was at this game, I’m sure he always told me that Clyde clogged one of the Hibs players early doors (can’t remember who) and while he stayed on the pitch, Hibs effectively played almost the whole game with 10 men.

Another one that got away....
Andy Aitken IIRC

Topographic Hibby
13-06-2020, 09:29 PM

Another one that got away....Confirms what my late grandfather told me about that game. He told me who the Hibs player was ('fraid I can't recall) and that they hobbled about the whole game barking instructions to his teammates, acting as an onfield coach. Couldn't contribute much to the game as a player and our final was essentially over.

Another SCF that we should have won, according to the old fella. Its OK grandad, I was there for you on the slopes of Hampden in 2016 :greengrin

13-06-2020, 09:30 PM
https://twitter.com/robertmdaws/status/1271875602392416257?s=21

Good image Calum

Liked the clip with Gordon Strachan talking about SJM

Top guy deserves everything that comes his way gave 100% to the HIBS cause right to the very end even although he knew he was leaving

wallpaperman
13-06-2020, 09:42 PM
Andy Aitken IIRC

Thank you Billy.

13-06-2020, 10:03 PM
Thank you Billy.

Just read a match report and apparently it was a terrible game we lost Aitken after 15 minutes and there was another injury to an unnamed player after 40 minutes with a twisted knee

Coyle’s goal took an unlucky deflection off Baxter’s toe and Baker missed a chance first half that was bread and butter for Reilly. It was a strange one for Reilly to retire a few days before a cup final

Clyde played the better football in spells and deserved their win but Reilly might have been a game changer and what a final hurrah

A typical trip to Glasgow bottles getting thrown after the game

Another year of pain

04-01-2022, 06:43 AM
Spotted this on YouTube

A young Joe Baker scoring a brace at Tiny back in ‘59

#7 for the yams looks like Gordon Smith ?

Attendance 40000

Commentary from the legendary Bob Crampsey

https://www.londonhearts.com/scores/games/195909051.html

https://youtu.be/rBJvuMnxWd8

linlithgowhibbie
04-01-2022, 01:37 PM
Hadn't seen that one before Billy, ta for that!:thumbsup:

05-01-2022, 04:30 AM
26/1/1952 Scottish Cup Round 1

Raith Rovers 0 v 0 Hibernian

https://youtu.be/mbtVLF8MsY8

Hibs Younger Govan Howie Buchanan Paterson Gallacher Smith Johnstone Reilly Turnbull and Combe

Att 30200

Hibs would draw the replay 0-0 and lose the play off at Tiny 1-4

Hibs would win the Scottish First Division in this season

05-01-2022, 07:51 AM
Just read a match report and apparently it was a terrible game we lost Aitken after 15 minutes and there was another injury to an unnamed player after 40 minutes with a twisted knee

Coyle’s goal took an unlucky deflection off Baxter’s toe and Baker missed a chance first half that was bread and butter for Reilly. It was a strange one for Reilly to retire a few days before a cup final

Clyde played the better football in spells and deserved their win but Reilly might have been a game changer and what a final hurrah

A typical trip to Glasgow bottles getting thrown after the game

Another year of pain

Reilly was injured in what proved to be his last game for Hibs, v the Hun, a few weeks before the final. Out of the game aged only 29.

The no subs rule lasted until the early 60’s. How ridiculous was that.

05-01-2022, 08:09 AM
Reilly was injured in what proved to be his last game for Hibs, v the Hun, a few weeks before the final. Out of the game aged only 29.

The no subs rule lasted until the early 60’s. How ridiculous was that.

Reilly left the field to a guard of honour after scoring in a 3-1 win over Rangers

Reilly had made the decision to retire at the end of the season because his troublesome knee meant that he could no longer move as freely as he would have liked and would not settle for second best

Reilly was available for selection for the final but caught tonsillitis at the last minute giving Hugh Shaw an easy decision to make

‘The life and times of last minute Reilly’

05-01-2022, 01:37 PM
Reilly left the field to a guard of honour after scoring in a 3-1 win over Rangers

Reilly had made the decision to retire at the end of the season because his troublesome knee meant that he could no longer move as freely as he would have liked and would not settle for second best

Reilly was available for selection for the final but caught tonsillitis at the last minute giving Hugh Shaw an easy decision to make

‘The life and times of last minute Reilly’

At the time it a lot of us thought it was maybe “diplomatic tonsillitis “. I asked him many years later and he just smiled.

05-01-2022, 01:48 PM
At the time it a lot of us thought it was maybe “diplomatic tonsillitis “. I asked him many years later and he just smiled.
Yip he goes on to mention in his book that he felt John Fraser and Andy Aitken deserved their shot at glory as they had played in every round all the way through to the final

One of them probably would have to drop out to accommodate him

He said he ended up listening to the game at home on the radio

TheGreyLantern
05-01-2022, 07:04 PM
Has anybody ever seen video highlights of the 1997 relegation playoff second leg at Airdrie?

I distinctly remember there was a technical error on the 6 o clock news the next night which meant they couldn’t show the footage. I have never seen anything from the game.

06-01-2022, 09:45 AM
23/9/1967 Scottish League Division One

Davis pen
Stein

Another interesting watch HIBS had just defeated Porto 3-0 and faced Dundee United at Tannadice

First half

Second half

Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen McGraw Quinn Grant Stein Cormack and Stevenson

Sub O’Rourke

Att 7716

06-01-2022, 11:24 AM
Has anybody ever seen video highlights of the 1997 relegation playoff second leg at Airdrie?

I distinctly remember there was a technical error on the 6 o clock news the next night which meant they couldn’t show the footage. I have never seen anything from the game.

That's one of those on my random wishlist.

Hearts in the 1979 Scottish Cup and Morton, first games of the 1998/99 first division, being the others.

pollution
06-01-2022, 11:30 AM

Davis pen
Stein

Another interesting watch HIBS had just defeated Porto 3-0 and faced Dundee United at Tannadice

First half

Second half

Hibs Allan Duncan Davis Stanton Madsen McGraw Quinn Grant Stein Cormack and Stevenson

Sub O’Rourke

Att 7716

Great quality this. Where did you find it ?

06-01-2022, 01:00 PM
Great quality this. Where did you find it ?

Surfing YouTube

Shame they don’t show the Hibs goals

Petrie !

06-01-2022, 01:04 PM

Never seen highlights of this match

A big big game for the club

I looked behind me before kick off and Pat Stanton Joe Baker and Lawrie Reilly were all sitting together

Outstanding performances from Darren Jackson and Jim Leighton IIRC

Do or die

06-01-2022, 06:51 PM
Never seen highlights of this match

A big big game for the club

I looked behind me before kick off and Pat Stanton Joe Baker and Lawrie Reilly were all sitting together

Outstanding performances from Darren Jackson and Jim Leighton IIRC

Do or die

I have a vague memory of singing "Can't Help Falling In Love" as we left that game.

linlithgowhibbie
06-01-2022, 09:45 PM
I have a vague memory of singing "Can't Help Falling In Love" as we left that game.

Correct, possibly the only time we did!

greenlad
07-01-2022, 06:32 AM
That's one of those on my random wishlist.

Hearts in the 1979 Scottish Cup and Morton, first games of the 1998/99 first division, being the others.

You won't see any Hibs league games from early in the 98-99 season. After the new SPL breakaway with a separate TV deal nothing was agreed for the remaining SFL until late Autumn that year. Eventually some brief First Division highlights were added on to the end of STV's Scotsport, with a separate Football First show starting in 1999 after Hibs had been promoted.

The only Hibs footage from that time is the League Cup games Vs Aberdeen 1-0 and St Johnstone 0-4.

When Scotsport did start showing First Division goals around October/December 1998 Hibs were nearly always on every week, and when the SPL took its first ever winter break in January 1999 Hibs were the main highlights on Scotsport when they played St Mirren away, a rare goal from Paul Hartley.

07-01-2022, 06:47 AM
Classic match

Scottish Premier League 1978

Hibernian 4 v 1 Celtic

https://youtu.be/PcZ0yrTT45c

Celtic fans try their usual trick of trying to get the game abandoned by invading the pitch when they are getting a doing

Kudos to the late Jock Stein

07-01-2022, 08:59 AM

Davis pen
Stein

First half

Second half

Sub O’Rourke

Att 7716

this was just a year or so before United ditched the white in favour of the now famous tangerine.

interesting Hibs shirt too, with the green encroaching slightly down the top of the white sleeves.

07-01-2022, 12:15 PM
Classic match

Scottish Premier League 1978

Hibernian 4 v 1 Celtic

https://youtu.be/PcZ0yrTT45c

Celtic fans try their usual trick of trying to get the game abandoned by invading the pitch when they are getting a doing

Kudos to the late Jock Stein
Was at that game and seen that video loads of times. Just how good was Ally McLeod? My hero as a young boy

07-01-2022, 12:46 PM
this was just a year or so before United ditched the white in favour of the now famous tangerine.

interesting Hibs shirt too, with the green encroaching slightly down the top of the white sleeves.

Just watched that. The standard isn't wonderful. Loads of basic errors with passing and control. Modern fans would be gaun radge with some of the poor play. The best players on view were Utd's Jimmy Millar and Davie Wilson, both at the veteran stage of their careers. Nice to see the auld Tannadice, a compact wee ground with those odd high walled corners to the terracing.

07-01-2022, 04:56 PM
Was at that game and seen that video loads of times. Just how good was Ally McLeod? My hero as a young boy

Quality intelligent player

Wouldnae waste energy chasing lost causes

He was deceptive he was slower than he looked

Another from the archives

Hibernian 1 v 0 Celtic 1981

Macleod pen

https://youtu.be/CYfA4Y7pwAk

07-01-2022, 05:02 PM

Macleod pen

I was there that day as well. No idea how but me and my uncle were in the old South wing of the main stand surrounded by celtic fans. Great day that

SideBurns
07-01-2022, 05:05 PM

Macleod pen

My dad took me to the Dunbar End with his mate, who was a Celtic fan. Couldnae celebrate the goal or McArthur's penalty save but brilliant day anyway! 😁

linlithgowhibbie
07-01-2022, 05:21 PM
1981 strip, my favourite ever, had it for years till my late wife (jambo) accidently left a hot iron on it!!!

07-01-2022, 06:21 PM
Correct, possibly the only time we did!

Cheers! I can now upgrade that to a clear recollection of singing it.

Conj
07-01-2022, 08:43 PM
1981 strip, my favourite ever, had it for years till my late wife (jambo) accidently left a hot iron on it!!!

My first ever Hibs strip, loved it

Crunchie
07-01-2022, 09:32 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUCP_pffNQs

Super Ally and co take on the mighty George Best, great watch :flag:

07-01-2022, 10:55 PM

He’d be chased for not delivering in these times. He definitely took a couple of seasons to settle after signing and by the time he was a first pick he had Ally Scott as his strike partner.

He was good though, just a pity that he came into his prime in a side in decline.

The other pity is that he reached 99 competitive goals and was then freed.

08-01-2022, 08:52 AM

Bertie Auld post match

https://youtu.be/q2tcvU9Gi_Q

Cecil Graham post match

https://youtu.be/PNaL6SineLc

Joxer1875

Hillsidehibby
08-01-2022, 09:48 AM

Really enjoyed that.

Crunchie
08-01-2022, 11:39 AM

Bertie Auld post match

https://youtu.be/q2tcvU9Gi_Q

Cecil Graham post match

https://youtu.be/PNaL6SineLc

Joxer1875

Bertie was a character, I always liked him.

Crunchie
08-01-2022, 11:41 AM
Really enjoyed that.

Me too mate, big Gordon Rae was another big favourite of mine. I

08-01-2022, 12:01 PM
Bertie was a character, I always liked him.

Really liked Bertie but not everyone’s cup of tea

Loved Big Gogs Rae as well

Who can forget his goal against the Hearts in ‘79 ?

Crunchie
08-01-2022, 12:59 PM
Really liked Bertie but not everyone’s cup of tea

Loved Big Gogs Rae as well

Who can forget his goal against the Hearts in ‘79 ?
Can't think of it off hand mate was it a volley? I remember a volley from outside the box against Rangers.

08-01-2022, 01:05 PM
Can't think of it off hand mate was it a volley? I remember a volley from outside the box against Rangers.

That was a belter and Jim Bett scored a similar one for them in the same game.

08-01-2022, 01:24 PM
Was a volley similar to this

Wee diving bassa

https://youtu.be/glHjPwhAPdI

Crunchie
08-01-2022, 01:59 PM
Was a volley similar to this

Wee diving bassa

https://youtu.be/glHjPwhAPdI
Aye, a remember it now :aok: and that game, Macdonald was a renowned diver at the time, I'm sure that was the game Tom Hart spoke out about it. Clear dive as you say mate.

08-01-2022, 02:17 PM
Highlights of that 79 cup game against the tarts would be good to see. Was the first Derby I was allowed to go to. 10 at the time and my overriding memory of the game is the hearts fans all fighting amongst themselves.

10-01-2022, 06:00 AM
HIBS 2 v 2 Rangers 1984

Callachan
Irvine

https://youtu.be/V3dnjVnxaLI

Typical League clash against Rangers at the time played like a Cup tie

Offside goal for Rangers blatant hand ball in the box for HIBS denied

The surreal sight of HIBS ball boys at the away end wearing Rangers trackie tops to stop them being pelted by objects

Crunchie
10-01-2022, 07:47 AM
HIBS 2 v 2 Rangers 1984

Callachan
Irvine

https://youtu.be/V3dnjVnxaLI

Typical League clash against Rangers at the time played like a Cup tie

Offside goal for Rangers blatant hand ball in the box for HIBS denied

The surreal sight of HIBS ball boys at the away end wearing Rangers trackie tops to stop them being pelted by objects

What a great player Tommy Craig was, another great video, Billy :aok: I remember that game very well.

10-01-2022, 07:52 AM
What a great player Tommy Craig was, another great video, Billy :aok: I remember that game very well.

Yip remember a thread not too long ago when some said he was gash in his short spell with us tho probs past his best but an experienced player and auld wise heid for the young yin’s nonetheless

ozwoody
10-01-2022, 08:01 AM

I drove away from game with Windows down, tape ( ask your parents) playing full blast " the boys are back in town" by thin lizzy ( ask your parent's)

15-01-2022, 06:09 AM
HIBS 1 v 0 Rangers 2000

David Zitelli rifles in the perfect shot to keep second placed HIBS above big spending Rangers in the League

https://youtu.be/T6eCfT7cGEw

Joxer1875