View Full Version : Virtual Season Tickets

02-06-2020, 10:03 PM
Sounds like a deal is close to being agreed to allow virtual season tickets.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/spfl-close-revolutionary-sky-sports-22128901

02-06-2020, 10:29 PM
So anyone without sky would need to subscribe ?
So having paid fir a Season Ticket you then need to pay monthly subscription to Sky ?
Haven’t yet renewed my Season Ticket so will hang off further till this is sorted

02-06-2020, 10:42 PM
So anyone that has a ST will be given a virtual one with no extra cost unless they don’t already have SKY? Sounds good for me but no so much for people without SKY I guess.

Isn't the virtual ticket to allow clubs to stream via their own club TV platform, don't think you require a sky package? I'd assume if it's a sky game the club couldn't stream that game?

I'm probably not reading it correctly though as it's late

02-06-2020, 10:47 PM
So having paid fir a Season Ticket you then need to pay monthly subscription to Sky ?
Haven’t yet renewed my Season Ticket so will hang off further till this is sorted

So anyone that has a ST will be given a virtual one with no extra cost unless they don’t already have SKY? Sounds good for me but no so much for people without SKY I guess.

I don't see it saying you have to subscribe to Sky. My take on it is that Sky have exclusive rights to the matches and Neil Doncaster is negotiating with them permission to allow clubs to sell a virtual season ticket to the fans, meaning live streaming which at the moment Hibs TV can only do for overseas fans.

02-06-2020, 10:48 PM
Isn't the virtual ticket to allow clubs to stream via their own club TV platform, don't think you require a sky package? I'd assume if it's a sky game the club couldn't stream that game?

Just as I read that SKY were involved, you could be right which is even better.

02-06-2020, 10:48 PM
I don't see it saying you have to subscribe to Sky. My take on it is that Sky have exclusive rights to the matches and Neil Doncaster is negotiating with them permission to allow clubs to sell a virtual season ticket to the fans, meaning live streaming which at the moment Hibs TV can only do for overseas fans.

Yeah fair enough my mistake.

02-06-2020, 11:08 PM

That's what it says in the article aye

02-06-2020, 11:15 PM

You’ve mentioned quite a few times now that you haven’t renewed your ST - yet. What is it you’re waiting for exactly and why would this Sky virtual ST thing have any bearing on whether or not you continue to back Hibs?

02-06-2020, 11:45 PM
You’ve mentioned quite a few times now that you haven’t renewed your ST - yet. What is it you’re waiting for exactly and why would this Sky virtual ST thing have any bearing on whether or not you continue to back Hibs?

I don’t have sky so wouldn’t be buying a Season Ticket and doing that but looks like I don’t need to
I want to hold off for as long as I can as lots of outlays just now for stuff have bought and like to pay my season ticket in one payment so can do that in July better
Also wanted to know if possible what the League set up was for certain and will know that by July
So you won’t here me mentioning am holding off buying a Season Ticket Again

03-06-2020, 12:00 AM
It’s fairly simple.

Sky have paid for exclusive rights for top league. This will result in say c50 games a season. We will be live on sky for say c 8 games out of normal 38 game season.

As they have exclusive rights it stops the live broadcasting in the UK of other games. The SFA/SPFL also have an additional rule about Saturday 3pm live broadcasts not possible But this has been waived.

Therefore the virtual season ticket would be the c30 games (say 15 at home) in a full season that would be broadcasted live. For away games similar set up but hosted by away club. How the clubs come to arrangement on commercial aspects for this but I don’t know but given no spectators then all Hibs games will be accessible until things go back to normality with fans in stadiums.

Given a normal live game streamed is c£7.99 - you could argue Hibs will sell packages of games. For season ticket holder (the 8k) will this compensate for missing games? Probably not so it will need some work as each home game as part of season ticket is worth about £22. Totally different experience. We might also get a lot more UK subscribers than regular stadium fans but balanced out that not everyone will want to each football on tv in empty stadium.

A package that includes both home and away games comes closer to season ticket value but again not sure how mechanics would work.

03-06-2020, 04:19 AM
Tricky situation this as the 8,000 season ticket holders should get these games for free, but for the supporters like myself who can only get to at least 1 game a month I think it's only fair we pay the same sort of price but would people pay say half the price of a season ticket to watch games streamed until we can get fans back in the stadium?

Maybe a poll is needed lol

03-06-2020, 06:54 AM
I am currently in lockdown with 5 in the house 4 of whom have purchased season tickets for next season. This would mean I could buy a virtual S T to which another 3 S T holders would not require to do so and one who hasn't bought one could get games for free.

03-06-2020, 07:05 AM
A package that includes both home and away games comes closer to season ticket value but again not sure how mechanics would work.

I would be happy if I got home and away games in exchange for my season ticket. I suppose that all clubs would have to come to the same agreement for this to work however.

03-06-2020, 08:24 AM
Out of interest, what are the numbers usually for a livr Hibs TV game if anyone knows?

Just imagine the buffering issues with potentially over 8000 folk trying to stream!

03-06-2020, 08:29 AM
If its on sky you don't need to pay anyway, hundreds of easy to find streams out there.

03-06-2020, 11:40 AM
Just noticed Sky Sports have said this will be happening for the SPFL Premiership for 20/21.

03-06-2020, 11:41 AM
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/11999602/scottish-premiership-set-for-august-return-with-new-sky-sports-deal

03-06-2020, 11:43 AM
Deal agreed.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/spfl-agree-virtual-season-ticket-22131825

03-06-2020, 11:43 AM
Will season ticket holders get the game for free or will they have to pay extra?

Will none season ticket holders be able to purchase the games?

Gloucester Hibs
03-06-2020, 11:48 AM
Will season ticket holders get the game for free or will they have to pay extra?

Will none season ticket holders be able to purchase the games?

The Sky Sports article does make it sound like current ST holders will still have to pay extra. Doesn’t mention non-ST holders

03-06-2020, 11:52 AM
Any chance of merging this with the other thread admins 😁

liongard82
03-06-2020, 11:53 AM
My questions would be 1) Do we Season Ticket holders have to pay extra? 2) How would it affect any discounts for this season’s Season Tickets? 3) What will happen with current Hibs TV subscribers?

James Stephen
03-06-2020, 11:54 AM
Personally i wouldnt pay more given what ive already shelled out, but appreciate many will already have a sky sub.

03-06-2020, 11:59 AM
If the games are being streamed via Hibs TV will I only be able to watch on my phone or laptop? Can you link up to the TV somehow? Thanks in advance 😏

03-06-2020, 12:01 PM
Who pays for Sky nowadays anyway :wink:

03-06-2020, 12:05 PM
Who pays for Sky nowadays anyway :wink:

Me as I'm totally clueless when it comes to fire sticks or whatever 😕

03-06-2020, 12:05 PM
I’ve been asking some of the above questions over on the ST thread.
Suppose to be fair, the club will announce what they intend to do, but it would be a bit cheeky to ask those who have purchased a ST in good faith, to pay a wee bit more to watch games online or on TV whilst crowd restriction/mass gatherings are in place when you can’t attend matches in person.

03-06-2020, 12:07 PM
Has anybody threatened to return their season ticket in protest yet?

chippy
03-06-2020, 12:09 PM
Suppose to be fair, the club will announce what they intend to do, but it would be a bit cheeky to ask those who have purchased a ST in good faith, to pay a wee bit more to watch games online or on TV whilst crowd restriction/mass gatherings are in place when you can’t attend matches in person.

Get your point but say the package included Hibs away games too would that tempt you to pay a bit more? It would me and I’ve never had Sky , only Setanta when I lived in England

mcohibs
03-06-2020, 12:10 PM
It’s fairly simple.

Sky have paid for exclusive rights for top league. This will result in say c50 games a season. We will be live on sky for say c 8 games out of normal 38 game season.

As they have exclusive rights it stops the live broadcasting in the UK of other games. The SFA/SPFL also have an additional rule about Saturday 3pm live broadcasts not possible But this has been waived.

Therefore the virtual season ticket would be the c30 games (say 15 at home) in a full season that would be broadcasted live. For away games similar set up but hosted by away club. How the clubs come to arrangement on commercial aspects for this but I don’t know but given no spectators then all Hibs games will be accessible until things go back to normality with fans in stadiums.

Given a normal live game streamed is c£7.99 - you could argue Hibs will sell packages of games. For season ticket holder (the 8k) will this compensate for missing games? Probably not so it will need some work as each home game as part of season ticket is worth about £22. Totally different experience. We might also get a lot more UK subscribers than regular stadium fans but balanced out that not everyone will want to each football on tv in empty stadium.

For something you describe as 'fairly simple', you've listed a fair amount of things in your post that you don't know how would work 😂

03-06-2020, 12:12 PM
I seriously doubt that anyone with a season ticket will have to pay for games on hibs tv, the club have already given them free access to the service.

03-06-2020, 12:21 PM
For something you describe as 'fairly simple', you've listed a fair amount of things in your post that you don't know how would work 😂

It’s was the detail that needs to be ironed out. The original questions were more about it being a sky product, club product, replacement for season ticket etc.

03-06-2020, 12:24 PM
Has anybody threatened to return their season ticket in protest yet?

I’m working on that, just waiting on someone who bought after me to be allowed in before me and I will kick off.

03-06-2020, 12:27 PM
Hibs TV wouldn't be able to handle the huge surge in people logging in to view the games. It struggles sometimes as it is.

03-06-2020, 12:29 PM
I don’t have sky so wouldn’t be buying a Season Ticket and doing that but looks like I don’t need to
I want to hold off for as long as I can as lots of outlays just now for stuff have bought and like to pay my season ticket in one payment so can do that in July better
Also wanted to know if possible what the League set up was for certain and will know that by July
So you won’t here me mentioning am holding off buying a Season Ticket Again

No worries Ronnie. I just wasn’t sure as I think you’d said previously that you had the means to buy it there and then but were holding off. And I wasn’t sure where the Sky bit fitted in. Cheers.

03-06-2020, 12:31 PM
Hibs TV wouldn't be able to handle the huge surge in people logging in to view the games. It struggles sometimes as it is.

It's been fine.

They'd just have to buy more bandwidth - nothing insurmountable.

03-06-2020, 12:33 PM
It's been fine.

I said 'sometimes'

H18S NX
03-06-2020, 12:38 PM
I am ok as i have broadband,but what about st holders who do not? What happens there then?

03-06-2020, 12:41 PM
I am ok as i have broadband,but what about st holders who do not? What happens there then?

Any idea how many people we’re talking about here?

03-06-2020, 12:44 PM
Any idea how many people we’re talking about here?

I found the first ever person to tell me they don't have broadband at home the other day. Not a Hibs fan.

Even my Nanna at 95 has it.

03-06-2020, 12:45 PM
Also, if it’s a Sky thing, can we use their platforms? Red button on Sky Sports.

Can non season ticket holders buy a “virtual season ticket”?

03-06-2020, 12:46 PM
Can non season ticket holders buy a “virtual season ticket”?

I hope so.

03-06-2020, 12:47 PM
I like the idea. Bit of "outside the box" thinking by the SPFL and SKY

03-06-2020, 12:48 PM
I hope so.

I can see some ST holders saying I’ve paid £22 per game then you England based fans will have to pay £23 per game. Which would make it non viable. I have no intention of buying a physical ST (as I live in Chippenham). I will retain the right to go bananas over Cup Final tickets.

Radge70
03-06-2020, 12:51 PM
It's been fine.

I think this is definitely something they will need to get right first time else all hell will break loose. When the likes of Amazon went into exclusive streaming of the US Open tennis it was a complete disaster and I think there were similar issues with the Rugby World Cup last year when exclusive rights were given to a streaming channel. I think that Hibs TV currently streams to around 200-400 overseas subscribers right now and I'd be imagining this will increase to over 10,000 a game (probably more than who were trying to use Amazon during the night when they took over the US Open). It's a bit weird how vauge the press releases have been over how this is going to be delivered but "more bandwidth" on the existing Hibs TV platform worries me a bit. I'm sure the technical detail will still be getting thrashed out though.....

03-06-2020, 12:51 PM
Get your point but say the package included Hibs away games too would that tempt you to pay a bit more? It would me and I’ve never had Sky , only Setanta when I lived in England

Yeah. I’d consider maybe paying for away games depending on what the offer is.
As I said earlier, I’d expect not to pay for home games as an absolute minimum. After all, that’s what my ST is bought for. However, given the difference in the ‘per game’ price, I would hope the club see their way to providing away games on Hibs TV as well. Especially given I’ve no intention of seeking a refund for this seasons ‘non games’.

I appreciate we all love and support the club but we can’t surely be expected to throw endless amounts of cash at the club for a product (live football with a crowd at ER) that isn’t being provided.

Unless of course we are all to become known as Anonymous Hibs Benny Factors!! :greengrin:wink:

03-06-2020, 12:52 PM
Suppose there’s going to be two sides of the coin here.

The club now offers virtual ST’s with current non ST holders buying them at what would be a reduced price from a physical ST

Current physical ST holders for 20/21 would get the streaming service as part of their ST but would be paying a lot more money for the experience than someone who only has a virtual ST

A tricky situation for clubs

Daniel 1875
03-06-2020, 12:53 PM
It would be great if all 12 clubs could agree to give season ticket holders (traditional and ‘virtual’) reciprocal access to away games as well.

If Hibs were able to offer fans who have paid for a season ticket access to watch all games home and away then there would be much less needed in terms of cash refunds or access to cup games etc to make up for the difference between the streaming fee and the circa £22 a game paid for missed home matches with a season ticket.

It would also be useful to give clubs a rough idea of how long they need to expect to go without fans as putting together a ‘virtual season ticket’ package will depend on when we’re likely to be back at Easter Road.

Plenty more discussion needed between SPFL and clubs and then communication from clubs to fans but a positive step today nonetheless.

03-06-2020, 12:57 PM

LOL You do realise you’re preaching to the converted? Anyone posting on here has internet acces in some shape or form. Those who don’t, strangely(:greengrin), never have a word to say on the .Net forum.:wink::agree:

Radge70
03-06-2020, 12:58 PM
I can see some ST holders saying I’ve paid £22 per game then you England based fans will have to pay £23 per game. Which would make it non viable. I have no intention of buying a physical ST (as I live in Chippenham). I will retain the right to go bananas over Cup Final tickets.

I think it needs to be priced responsibly so as to minimise the scenario of lots of people gathering in the same household to watch the game.

03-06-2020, 12:58 PM
**** it. I’m not ever getting out my bed again. On with the virtual headset and take it from there. Work rest and play

Just_Jimmy
03-06-2020, 12:59 PM
Does this mean someone who doesn't have a ST would be able to purchase one for all hibs home games?

I'd do that in a hibsbeat. I can't get up to games - I just do not have the time or finance to do it from Manchester every game but I'd love to have the games and happy to pay for it.

It's beyond a joke that it's not already available tbh.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

03-06-2020, 01:00 PM
I think it needs to be priced responsibly so as to minimise the scenario of lots of people gathering in the same household to watch the game.

Never thought of that.

Also, if you, your wife and three kids all have physical season tickets, that could mean 5 Hibs.TV logins.

These could be shared with 4 other friends of the family to watch Hibs.

03-06-2020, 01:03 PM
Does this mean someone who doesn't have a ST would be able to purchase one for all hibs home games?

I'd do that in a hibsbeat. I can't get up to games - I just do not have the time or finance to do it from Manchester every game but I'd love to have the games and happy to pay for it.

It's beyond a joke that it's not already available tbh.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

TBH, I hope the ban on live streaming and 1500 KOs not being on TV goes with all the COVID. There is an appetite for people to go to live games and there’s an appetite to watch on telly.

I get to a few games a season, but would definitely pay good money to watch all Hibs games on a Sky Q platform.

That wouldn’t distract from me going to a game in person in the slightest.

03-06-2020, 01:03 PM
I don't like the idea of having to pay Sky to watch a home game I already have a season ticket for, and so have paid to see. When they screen Hibs v Celtc, will they expect me to pay extra?

Radge70
03-06-2020, 01:06 PM
Never thought of that.

Also, if you, your wife and three kids all have physical season tickets, that could mean 5 Hibs.TV logins.

That's the Sky multiscreen package!!!

03-06-2020, 01:13 PM
I don't like the idea of having to pay Sky to watch a home game I already have a season ticket for, and so have paid to see. When they screen Hibs v Celtc, will they expect me to pay extra?

I think the gist is Hibs.TV will broadcast it, with the blessing of Sky (who own exclusive rights to Scottish football for next season).

I’m just saying it would be good if Sky could offer me a Hibs Season ticket that I didn’t have to watch on an iPad and could pause and come back to it like regular sky games. Also would be good to watch games at 1500 and to watch all Hibs away games also.

H18S NX
03-06-2020, 01:50 PM
LOL You do realise you’re preaching to the converted? Anyone posting on here has internet acces in some shape or form. Those who don’t, strangely(:greengrin), never have a word to say on the .Net forum.:wink::agree:.....Yes,i realised that before posting,I know at least 6 guys i drink with including 2 of my neighbours that have st,s,but don,t have broadband.

03-06-2020, 01:53 PM
Aberdeen statement
Partial crowds nov/Dec?
Full stadium 2021

Aberdeen FC
ABERDEEN FC

NEWSTICKETSREDTVSHOP
Home News
MESSAGE TO THE RED ARMY
JUNE 3, 2020 12:54 PM AUTHOR: ABERDEEN FC MEDIA TEAMMessage to the Red Army

AFC welcomes the Sky deal brokered by the SPFL. Given the current circumstances we find ourselves in, it is an excellent deal and we really appreciate Sky’s constructive, partnership approach.

From the outset our commitment to supporters has been to deliver full value for our season ticket holders. Under this deal, AFC will be able to offer virtual access to season ticket holders for all closed-door home games and will continue to work with our colleagues at fellow Premiership clubs to explore potential arrangements to show away games.

There will be costs involved for us in implementing this broadcast deal but, allied with the suggested timetable for getting back to football, it gives us more certainty to develop a virtual package that will offer our season ticket holders and seasonal corporate clients the exclusive opportunity to watch the team in action once again.

Over 6,400 fans have supported the Club by purchasing a season ticket for which we thank you. While we finalise the details for a full-value package, my plea is that you continue to place your trust in me and the Club by buying season tickets because, for those who can, your support is still very much needed. Our guarantee is that we will make sure your season ticket is money well spent.

We’re really excited about getting back to training later this month with a view to closed door games kicking off at the start of August and, whilst we appreciate we are operating under ever-changing circumstances, we’re preparing, and hoping, to return to Pittodrie with partial crowds from November or December and full crowds in January 2021.

We fully appreciate the difficulties many supporters and the wider community are facing and that is why we are undertaking these three things:

1. Further supporting the community by extending the matched donation to the AFCCT #StillStandingFree campaign to the value of £200k. Over £150k has already been raised as a matched donation on the 6,400+ season tickets sold so far.

2. Continuing to pay the interest fees on the 6-month finance option for season tickets until the extended renewal deadline of 10th July

3. For supporters who have not been able to commit to a renewal or a new purchase in the early bird window, will receive the difference between full pricing and early bird pricing back as a credit to use on future season tickets or match purchases. Full details can be found below.

It’s going to be a long road back to Pittodrie but we’re committed to getting through this together and over the next few weeks we are going to take the fans on a journey to demonstrate what they can expect when we return.

From the Red Shed to Fan Zones, it will be truly memorable. We are all working hard behind the scenes to put these things in place to proactively deliver and do the right thing for our fans and our community.

STAND FREE!
Dave Cormack

__________________________________________________ _____________________

Season Ticker banner

2020/21 season tickets are available online 24/7 via afc.co.uk/eTickets or by calling 01224 63 1903 Monday-Friday 10am-5pm.

Become an AberDNA member and get up to 50% off your season ticket! AberDNA memberships are available online 24/7 via afc.co.uk/eTickets or by calling 01224 63 1903 Monday-Friday 10am-5pm. More information.

TicketCash Top-up

Supporters who have not been able to commit to a renewal or a new purchase in the early bird window, will receive the difference between full pricing and early bird pricing back as a credit to use on future season tickets or match purchases if signed-up by the extended renewal deadline of Friday 10th July.

For example:

Early Bird Red Shed price – £330

Standard Red Shed price- £350

TicketCash top-up – £20

Spread the Cost – Deadline Extension

We are continuing to work with V12 Season Ticket Finance to help supporters spread the cost of their season ticket. To help make things easier we have extended the deadline of the 6 month payment option from 1st June to 10th July and are also covering the interest costs for supporters.

Sign up before 5.30pm on 10th July and you will have the option to spread the cost over 6 months. No extra fees as interest costs covered by AFC.

Season Ticket Benefits

As a season ticket holder you will enjoy access to Ladbrokes Premiership matches along with the following benefits:
• 40 Priority Points
• Seat reserved for home cup matches
• Discount on official AFC supporters buses to away matches
• 10% discount in the AFC Club Shop

Season Ticket Seat Exchange

Due to popular demand our season ticket exchange scheme will be reintroduced for season 20/21 and will give supporters the chance to gain cashback for any matches they cannot attend.

Supporters who have taken advantage of the scheme can receive 25% cashback to be used against the value of their 20/21 season ticket. *T&C’s apply. Details to be announced in full before the season begins.

Click here for our season ticket FAQs.

Purchase your season ticket now online via afc.co.uk/eTickets or by calling 01224 63 1903.

Club News
PREV ARTICLE
Voting now open for our 2019-20 Awards

RELATED NEWS RED TV
MOTHERWELL v ABERDEEN & ALL OTHER FIXTURES POSTPONED
MOTHERWELL V ABERDEEN & ALL OTHER FIXTURES POSTPONED
Match Preview | Motherwell v Aberdeen
MATCH PREVIEW | MOTHERWELL V ABERDEEN
Red Army Info | Motherwell v Aberdeen
RED ARMY INFO | MOTHERWELL V ABERDEEN
Pittodrie Latest | The Manager Pre Match
PITTODRIE LATEST | THE MANAGER PRE MATCH
Dean Campbell | Motherwell Preview
DEAN CAMPBELL | MOTHERWELL PREVIEW
Joe Lewis | Motherwell Preview
JOE LEWIS | MOTHERWELL PREVIEW
TABLE
POS TEAM PL W PTS
CELTIC
30 26 80
RANGERS
29 21 67
MOTHERWELL
30 14 46
ABERDEEN
30 12 45
LIVINGSTON
30 10 39
ST JOHNSTONE
29 8 36
HIBS
30 9 37
KILMARNOCK
30 9 33
ST MIRREN
30 7 29
ROSS CTY
30 7 29
HAMILTON A
30 6 27
HEARTS
30 4 23
MORE NEWS

Official Club Sponsor

Saltire Energy
SPONSORS
HOME
NEWS
TEAMS
MATCHES
TICKETS
COMMERCIAL
CLUB
ABERDNA
BOA
SITE MAP

BUY TICKETS
TICKET HOTLINE - (01224) 63 1903
© 2020 Aberdeen FC, Statistical Data © Opta

Privacy & Cookies Terms & Conditions

Delivered byDelivered by Sotic: Digital Sports Agency

03-06-2020, 02:00 PM
So, going by the Aberdeen statement they're going to be charging current season ticket holders for the virtual season ticket. Not entirely sure how I feel about this.

If Aberdeen are going to be doing it, no doubt Hibs will be too. Pricing will be key here.

03-06-2020, 02:03 PM
So, going by the Aberdeen statement they're going to be charging current season ticket holders for the virtual season ticket. Not entirely sure how I feel about this.

If Aberdeen are going to be doing it, no doubt Hibs will be too. Pricing will be key here.

I can’t see them saying that?

In fact I think they’ve said the opposite. The virtual ST will be offered to current ST holders and they will work with other premiership clubs to ensure they can provide coverage of both home and away matches to try and match the value supporters will be paying for their ST

03-06-2020, 02:04 PM
Taken from Twitter
Important SPFL streaming footnote: numbers will be capped at the level of season ticket holders clubs had in 2019/20.

03-06-2020, 02:05 PM

"There will be costs involved for us in implementing this broadcast deal but, allied with the suggested timetable for getting back to football, it gives us more certainty to develop a virtual package that will offer our season ticket holders and seasonal corporate clients the exclusive opportunity to watch the team in action once again."

Is whats worrying me.

03-06-2020, 02:05 PM

Me neither.

03-06-2020, 02:06 PM
Taken from Twitter
Important SPFL streaming footnote: numbers will be capped at the level of season ticket holders clubs had in 2019/20.

Which is fine as many ST holders live in the same house.

03-06-2020, 02:07 PM
"There will be costs involved for us in implementing this broadcast deal but, allied with the suggested timetable for getting back to football, it gives us more certainty to develop a virtual package that will offer our season ticket holders and seasonal corporate clients the exclusive opportunity to watch the team in action once again."

Is whats worrying me.

They’re just saying they’ll be able to provide current ST holders an opportunity to watch the team in action. They’ve not said they’ll be charging them for this on top of their ST amount

03-06-2020, 02:09 PM
They’re just saying they’ll be able to provide current ST holders an opportunity to watch the team in action. They’ve not said they’ll be charging them for this on top of their ST amount

Why would you need to 'develop a virtual package' for that though? A package to me is something they'll be looking for you to pay for. Obviously hope I'm wrong!

03-06-2020, 02:12 PM

I’m not sure they are, they’ve said there will be a cost to their club and they’re working on a package. That leaves it unclear about who will be paying imo.

03-06-2020, 02:14 PM
Why would you need to 'develop a virtual package' for that though? A package to me is something they'll be looking for you to pay for. Obviously hope I'm wrong!

They’ll have to develop a virtual package to offer ST holders a service that reflects the amount of money they’re paying? That’s what I took from it, could be wrong but I wouldn’t expect them to be asking ST holders for more money on top of this

03-06-2020, 02:27 PM
Ross County statement

Ross County Football Club
RCFC on Facebook RCFC on Twitter RCFC on InstagramToggle navigation
CLUB NEWS
Club News - 03 Jun 20
Club News
SPFL & Sky Sports Announcement

Following the earlier released joint statement by the SPFL and Sky Sports, we are delighted to announce that we are beginning to take steps in delivering a 'Virtual Season Ticket' for fans ahead of season 2020/21. Given the strong backing Sky Sports has given the Scottish Game over their new contract it now gives all clubs the opportunity to plan how we can deliver our matches to the eyes of fans as social distancing measures continue and with closed-door fixtures.

We, as a club, have already committed to developing Ross County TV and will be launching this for the upcoming campaign. We will now work with the SPFL and other Premiership clubs in creating and bringing to life our 'Virtual Season Ticket', something never previously done in the club’s history. The 'Virtual Season Ticket' will comprise of both virtual match streaming and physical match attendance- however this will be in accordance with government advice and instruction.

Ross County FC thank Sky Sports for their partnership and for working with the SPFL to find the best possible solutions for clubs and fans. We will release further information on this as and when information is available.

More News
Club News
Player Update II
Club - 28 May 20
Vote
Player of the Season 2019/20
Club - 27 May 20
Club News
Player Update
Club - 25 May 20
QUIZ
Opening Day XI's
Club - 24 May 20
Ross County YouTube

MATCH TICKETS
HOSPITALITY
CLUB SHOP
STAGGIE LOTTO
Fixtures
FIXTURES
Match Tickets
MATCH TICKETS
Latest News
LATEST NEWS
Lottery
LOTTERY
League Table
LEAGUE TABLE
Squad Info
SQUAD INFO
Shop
SHOP
Stadium Guide
STADIUM GUIDE
McEwan Fraser Legal
BT_Sport
Sky_sports
Ladbrokes
Macron

Ross County Football Club - Global Energy Stadium, Victoria Park Stadium, Jubilee Road, Dingwall, IV15 9QZ

03-06-2020, 02:28 PM
There's no way Hibs will be charging season ticket holders extra to watch games on the TV.

That would be ridiculous.

03-06-2020, 02:32 PM
They’ll have to develop a virtual package to offer ST holders a service that reflects the amount of money they’re paying? That’s what I took from it, could be wrong but I wouldn’t expect them to be asking ST holders for more money on top of this

Going by Ross County stating it will 'comprise of both virtual match streaming and physical match attendance' so, I think you may well be right and no one will charge their current ST holders anything extra. Really hope that's the case anyway.

1875Sean
03-06-2020, 02:33 PM
Looks like Aberdeen are not charging extra for season ticket holders, just went onto their twitter and they said to a fan “the virtual access will be included for 20/21 season ticket holders.”

coldingham hibs
03-06-2020, 02:53 PM
So, currently I have paid £1200 for 3 season tickets for 1 household. Another household could Just buy 1 season ticket for £400 yet their household of 3 can watch the same game 🤔

03-06-2020, 03:03 PM
So, currently I have paid £1200 for 3 season tickets for 1 household. Another household could Just buy 1 season ticket for £400 yet their household of 3 can watch the same game 🤔

I'm in the same boat paid for 4 season tickets but I knew we may not get to Easter Road and I'm hoping all who want to watch Hibs on TV get to as long as they have contributed something

03-06-2020, 03:05 PM
I`ve paid £950 for two ST`s. I`m in the lucky position to be able to afford it. I don`t care if a household of 3/4/5/6 can watch games for a fraction of the price I have paid - given the current climate, I`m kinda glad Hibs have my money

I also see on Brokeback that the muppets are saying it`s another string to their bow in claiming restraint of trade because Hearts aren`t included in the deal - er, isn`t that because they are in a different (lower) league?

03-06-2020, 03:25 PM
Have Hearts released a statement yet? It doesn't have to be about this.

03-06-2020, 03:33 PM
And for non physical season ticket holders.

I’d be keen to buy a virtual season ticket. Don’t however want to pay for the price of a physical Season Ticket.

The difficulty is at the moment they are essentially the same product.

However if we go back to physically going to games I could understand that the physical season ticket will get you into the games, but the virtual would not.

03-06-2020, 03:35 PM

Yip, that’s just the way it is.

I’ll give you £50 for a login. 😚

hibee
03-06-2020, 03:46 PM
Good to see the league doing something quite modern for a change that will benefit everyone.

Will be interesting to see how this works when further details are available. I’ve not renewed my 3 tickets yet but as has been mentioned above I could just renew my sons ticket as it’s the cheapest and get to watch all the games, doesn’t seem fair on someone who’s already renewed multiple tickets.

Silversand
03-06-2020, 03:53 PM
What's the quality of Hibs.tv, compared to eg Sky HD?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

03-06-2020, 04:02 PM
Good to see the league doing something quite modern for a change that will benefit everyone.

Will be interesting to see how this works when further details are available. I’ve not renewed my 3 tickets yet but as has been mentioned above I could just renew my sons ticket as it’s the cheapest and get to watch all the games, doesn’t seem fair on someone who’s already renewed multiple tickets.

Not sure you can buy a child’s without an Adult ticket attached. But in theory, yes.

03-06-2020, 05:31 PM
https://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2020/06/03/free-live-streaming-available-for-season-ticket-holders/

Motherwell, no extra costs for season ticket holders.

03-06-2020, 05:42 PM

Matches usually a minute or two behind real time. And not sure how the server will manage with a lot more people watching on the system

03-06-2020, 05:44 PM
Motherwell offering 18 (I think) home games out with any games played behind closed doors

I hope hibs do something similar

03-06-2020, 05:45 PM

Even on highest HD settings I always find it to be poorer quality than any other streaming service. Strangely playback of video content is the same, but through YouTube is much better.

03-06-2020, 05:56 PM
I'd have no real issue paying for away games. That's not part of the ST deal and is an additional cost in 'normal' times. The home games should absolutely be at no additional cost to ST holders.

03-06-2020, 06:03 PM

Why don’t you all move to different houses to get maximum value out of it?

03-06-2020, 06:24 PM
I'd have no real issue paying for away games. That's not part of the ST deal and is an additional cost in 'normal' times. The home games should absolutely be at no additional cost to ST holders.

Maybe a one off cost of say 20 quid to raise more money fir the Club Just a thought

03-06-2020, 06:28 PM
Maybe a one off cost of say 20 quid to raise more money fir the Club Just a thought

For home games? If so no chance.

Steven79
03-06-2020, 06:31 PM
For home games? If so no chance.If Hibs were doing the same deal as Motherwell and confirming that we would get 19 home games in person like Motherwell out of the season ticket then I would have no problem paying a token fee.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

03-06-2020, 06:33 PM
Presumably we'll do the online Happy Hibee tickets like for the cup final rerun. Could do them for virtual away matches too.

03-06-2020, 06:38 PM
If Hibs were doing the same deal as Motherwell and confirming that we would get 19 home games in person like Motherwell out of the season ticket then I would have no problem paying a token fee.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Nah I've already paid for a season ticket (which is significantly more expensive than last season's) that I probably won't get to use very much for its intended purpose i.e. sitting at the football.

I don't think it would be right to expect people to pay anything extra to watch the home games on the TV. No problem with doing a virtual "pay at the gate" option for away games but charging people for home games after they have already stumped up considerable amounts of money would be testing the limits on loyalty.

Fortunately I don't think it's something Hibs will do.

03-06-2020, 06:42 PM
Presumably we'll do the online Happy Hibee tickets like for the cup final rerun. Could do them for virtual away matches too.

And probably sell lots more, because it’s easy to buy them

03-06-2020, 07:10 PM
And for non physical season ticket holders.

I’d be keen to buy a virtual season ticket. Don’t however want to pay for the price of a physical Season Ticket.

The difficulty is at the moment they are essentially the same product.

However if we go back to physically going to games I could understand that the physical season ticket will get you into the games, but the virtual would not.

That would be something I would be interested in as I struggle physically to make games but have a Hibs TV subscription. A virtual season ticket would be great...

03-06-2020, 08:14 PM
Do I get a whiff of Ron Gordon innovation here?

LD jumps ship from the holed below the waterline SS Budge paddleless steamer to concentrate on doing what is necessary to getthe seadon up and running and suddenly from keft field a US TV model our owner made millions in suddenly lands in our laps.

Co-incidence or what?

03-06-2020, 10:41 PM
Nah I've already paid for a season ticket (which is significantly more expensive than last season's) that I probably won't get to use very much for its intended purpose i.e. sitting at the football.

I don't think it would be right to expect people to pay anything extra to watch the home games on the TV. No problem with doing a virtual "pay at the gate" option for away games but charging people for home games after they have already stumped up considerable amounts of money would be testing the limits on loyalty.

Fortunately I don't think it's something Hibs will do.

Plus it will cost these clubs a fortune. Hibs have been brutally honest in saying the season ticket is basically being purchased blind in regards to how games will pan out. These clubs like Motherwell and hearts are basically selling 2 year season tickets, resulting in a massive loss of revenue next season as all current season tickets will still be valid.

I paid my money, knowing fine well it was a bonus if I got anywhere near 10 games this season. The virtual season tickets is another bonus, looking forward to any other benefits that come out of it.

03-06-2020, 10:49 PM
Plus it will cost these clubs a fortune. Hibs have been brutally honest in saying the season ticket is basically being purchased blind in regards to how games will pan out. These clubs like Motherwell and hearts are basically selling 2 year season tickets, resulting in a massive loss of revenue next season as all current season tickets will still be valid.

I paid my money, knowing fine well it was a bonus if I got anywhere near 10 games this season. The virtual season tickets is another bonus, looking forward to any other benefits that come out of it.

I'm not sure if you're agreeing with me or not? :greengrin

03-06-2020, 11:02 PM
I'm not sure if you're agreeing with me or not? :greengrin

Full agreement about not paying extra. Or guaranteeing a set number of games. We are well on our way to 10k season tickets which would be exceptional in current climate. Everyone knew the risks when purchasing. While we will have people buying two season tickets for two seasons, hearts and Motherwell will only have 1 for 2 seasons due to their guarantee, which is a massive loss of revenue.

Us and Aberdeen with the Yanks involved sound like we are looking into more innovative ways to raise cash, which could potentially set us clear of the pack if we use it wisely, that is the big challenge for the next 2/3 years.

03-06-2020, 11:11 PM
Full agreement about not paying extra. Or guaranteeing a set number of games. We are well on our way to 10k season tickets which would be exceptional in current climate. Everyone knew the risks when purchasing. While we will have people buying two season tickets for two seasons, hearts and Motherwell will only have 1 for 2 seasons due to their guarantee, which is a massive loss of revenue.

Us and Aberdeen with the Yanks involved sound like we are looking into more innovative ways to raise cash, which could potentially set us clear of the pack if we use it wisely, that is the big challenge for the next 2/3 years.

Thanks that's what I thought but wasn't sure since it's late. :greengrin

I also think though that there is a fine balance to be struck between being innovative in raising cash and being fair to your supporters.

03-06-2020, 11:28 PM
Thanks that's what I thought but wasn't sure since it's late. :greengrin

I also think though that there is a fine balance to be struck between being innovative in raising cash and being fair to your supporters.

Absolutely. By innovative I was meaning more around ‘extras’ that don’t come at any additional cost, to make the real season ticket seem more valuable, and less likely to grumble, and more likely to purchase again in 21/22 season. Our ideas around kiosks when we are back in the stadium and Aberdeen’s membership schemes are all new ways of bringing more money into clubs. I’ve also no doubt that Ron and Dave Cormack would have been heavily involved in this scheme.

04-06-2020, 02:10 AM
Dunno how this will affect overseas Hibs TV subscribers who, like me, have been subscribers for a number of years.

If there is a price rise too great that it can’t be absorbed on my meagre pension, , then it will probably mean I have more Sunday mornings where I will be in bed at 2am, instead of bleary eyed in front of my pc.

04-06-2020, 06:43 AM
Paying for away games is fair enough, giving them free as a thank you for those who didn't claim the refund would be a nice gesture too. I think Hibs said they were looking for gestures/things to do to acknowledge the support there.

I can't see how they could charge extra on top of the 20/21 ST for the home games unless they did go down the line of saying that ST got you 19 games in person (a few cup ties and the 21/22 league cup group stages + friendlies could boost the numbers after missing the first few months - less glamorous games but wouldn't eat into the 21/22 ST money).

It'll be interesting to see if any short term solutions due to the virus end up being long term ones.

04-06-2020, 07:08 AM
The way this is being discussed suggests the SPFL have abandoned the notion of having “Hub Stadiums” where all matches would be played. Is that the case?

Having hub stadia at two, or perhaps three, locations in the country would only require those stadia to be kitted out with the necessary broadcasting equipment and medical testing requirements. Surely that would be much more cost effective all round.
I would like to think the receipts for virtual attendance at “home games” would be received by the “home” club but having a hub stadium with the right broadcasting equipment would offer an almost unlimited “attendance”. Even if “home” support was limited to normal ST numbers there would be a significant uplift in “away” support. For example Motherwell might attract 5k to a home game v Hibs but surely our “attendance” could be as much as 10k.
Done well this could create a significant income stream for all clubs but especially those that traditionally do not have significant ST sales.

C’mon the Hub Stadia 👍🏻

04-06-2020, 05:12 PM
Dundee Utd announcement

Copyright Dundee United Football Club
Website by mtc.

DUNDEE UNITED SEASON TICKET HOLDERS TO SEE ALL HOME LEAGUE GAMES
connolly celebrating
Published: 4th June 2020

Dundee United are delighted to confirm that online Club TV access to DUFC home matches will now be available as part of its 2020/21 season ticket package, as a free add-on.

Yesterday it was announced that the SPFL and Sky had agreed a deal to allow clubs to sell season tickets that include a virtual element while social distancing rules apply. We appreciate Sky’s constructive and helpful approach to securing this excellent deal which comes at a time when we are redeveloping our Club TV platform to facilitate high quality streaming of both VOD and live action.

The agreement means that buying a season ticket is the only guaranteed way to see all home games from Tannadice as the Terrors return to the Premiership and includes the ability to view live games at the same time as they are broadcast on Sky for those who don’t have a Sky subscription.

Home games played behind closed doors will be available to adult season ticket holders as part of the season ticket package, including those who have already renewed for the season ahead.

Significantly, buying your season ticket will also ensure that you are prioritised for attending every home league game where restrictions are placed on spectator numbers due to social distancing regulations.

We appreciate the difficulties supporters and the wider community are currently experiencing and we want to reassure our fans who have reservations about committing to a season ticket during such uncertainty. Therefore, Dundee United pledge that if three or more home games are held behind closed doors during Season 2020/21, those who purchase a season ticket they will receive a credit equivalent to 1/19th of their season ticket price for each match missed from the third match that can then be put towards either the overall cost of a season ticket or match tickets for the 2021/22 season.

Further to this, fans can renew or buy their season ticket using our six-month payment plan option that allows you to spread the cost over six payments.

More details of the virtual element of the season ticket will emerge in due course as the discussions with Sky develop but buying a season ticket ensures you see every minute of league action from Tannadice this season as well as helping support the strengthing of the squad as we look forward to Premiership football for the first time since 2016.

Our early bird deadline runs until Sunday, June 14 and you can buy a season ticket online 24/7, either by card or by payment plan, here.

Back To News
Share This Story
DUFC Newsletter

Enter email address
#DUFC
News
ArabZONE
Matches
Tickets
Hospitality
Teams
The Club
Fans
Copyright Dundee United Football Club 2020 -
All rights reserved.
Terms & Conditions | Cookies | Privacy
Responsive website design, Development & Hosting proudly made in Dundee by mtc.

04-06-2020, 05:32 PM
Aye but they won’t be able to attend in person when crowds are allowed back in. Guess its down to how much you can afford to or want to support the club.

04-06-2020, 05:36 PM
How will clubs block illegal streaming of their games
Rangers balloon on Clyde just now, saying he won’t pay for an away virtual game, but will try and get it illegally

04-06-2020, 05:39 PM
How will clubs block illegal streaming of their games
Rangers balloon on Clyde just now, saying he won’t pay for an away virtual game, but will try and get it illegally

They probably won't be able to, if people want to steal from their club they will.

04-06-2020, 05:43 PM
They probably won't be able to, if people want to steal from their club they will.

It’s Rangers fans etc stealing from Hibs, is my concern
That’s if Hibs offer their home games to away teams

04-06-2020, 05:46 PM

Even if we don't offer it Billy, we all know if there is a live stream normally it can be watched illegally. Hopefully Hibs are all over this.

04-06-2020, 05:50 PM
https://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2020/06/03/free-live-streaming-available-for-season-ticket-holders/

Motherwell, no extra costs for season ticket holders.

Surely that's as it should be.

If you've splashed out hundreds of pounds for a Season Ticket, it would be some nerve to be asked to then pay even more money to watch the game on TV because the game is behind closed doors.

04-06-2020, 05:52 PM
I’ve sourced illegal streams for Hibs games I’ve been unable to attend on a few occasions over in Ireland. If I had the option to purchase a virtual ticket to stream game from club I would have done so no questions asked.
Happy to pay for away match streaming along with (hopefully) complementary access for home matches with Season Ticket.

scotia44
04-06-2020, 06:12 PM
I’ve sourced illegal streams for Hibs games I’ve been unable to attend on a few occasions over in Ireland. If I had the option to purchase a virtual ticket to stream game from club I would have done so no questions asked.
Happy to pay for away match streaming along with (hopefully) complementary access for home matches with Season Ticket.

Well said we can't take the moral high ground when I guess most of us have watched or searched for a stream when we play the rangers or Aberdeen
If I could have watched via hibs TV and made a payment I would have, but the rules forbid me as I am in the UK
I am not savvy enough for foreign ip address stuff.
So if its streamed you can bet someone will see it without paying. Way of the internet world unfortunately

04-06-2020, 06:25 PM
Don't know if it's been mentioned before, but the virtual season ticket could be 1st step of introducing (or re-introducing) a large group of Hibs fans to start to watch their team at Easter Road once restrictions are lifted. It'll need to be marketed well, which I'm sure our guys are already thinking up ways of doing this.

04-06-2020, 06:39 PM
Don't know if it's been mentioned before, but the virtual season ticket could be 1st step of introducing (or re-introducing) a large group of Hibs fans to start to watch their team at Easter Road once restrictions are lifted. It'll need to be marketed well, which I'm sure our guys are already thinking up ways of doing this.

Sorry do you mean fans will join it, and then go to the games live?
Thought we had to cap these virtual season tickets numbers?

greenlad
04-06-2020, 06:41 PM

Hibs Vs Rangers an absolute certainty to be live on Sky TV anyway under the normal TV arrangements. So if there's any illegal stream it's as likely to come from the more prevalent Sky TV than Hibs TV.

04-06-2020, 06:47 PM
Even if we don't offer it Billy, we all know if there is a live stream normally it can be watched illegally. Hopefully Hibs are all over this.

Hibs need to make an offering to non season ticket holders.

What should I do, pay say a fiver for a home game streamed in glorious HD. Or search twitter for a stream.

I’d like to do the former, but if I can’t, I’ll have to look for the latter.

04-06-2020, 06:52 PM

What should I do, pay say a fiver for a home game streamed in glorious HD. Or search twitter for a stream.

I would imagine they will make an offering to those who currently haven't or won't be buying a season ticket

04-06-2020, 06:52 PM
Hibs Vs Rangers an absolute certainty to be live on Sky TV anyway under the normal TV arrangements. So if there's any illegal stream it's as likely to come from the more prevalent Sky TV than Hibs TV.

Good point

Kaff
04-06-2020, 06:53 PM
Taken from Twitter

Nobody seems to have picked up on this info, clever marketing and explains how they're going to predict bandwidth usage.
In effect there's 11,000(?) Hibs logins available so if you don't have a ST you may miss out, obviously there will be logins available from those with multiple ST's in a house but otherwise no ST and we hit 11k then there will be none to sell.
Good ploy and ST holders do get a tangible benefit ahead of the walk up same as actual game day, can see us hitting 10k+ as there will be plenty distant fans able to lay out £400 to boost the numbers.
Can see many complaints but I think it's a great piece of marketing but probably more importantly it allows whoever is broadcasting to have the correct bandwidth available to show the game in a high quality standard

Edit. One obvious disadvantage may be no away fans, unless they're allowing those figures in the bandwidth calculation. ie Ross County v Hibs would allow 2k RC and 10k Hibs as total viewers.
Would make ST reasonable value if you got home and away roughly £10/£12 a game?

04-06-2020, 06:53 PM
Pubs will be all over this, one subscription and lots of viewers, house parties every saturday too.

Social distancing will be difficult, if not impossible especially if we score a late winning goal.

Will the clubs be that bothered, they have the season ticket money?

Kaff
04-06-2020, 07:02 PM
Pubs will be all over this, one subscription and lots of viewers, house parties every saturday too.

Social distancing will be difficult, if not impossible especially if we score a late winning goal.

SSSHHHHUSH!!

This will be Budges next move after the court case collapses.
Sir Sir, they're not social distancing can you make them stop??!!

04-06-2020, 07:04 PM

Don’t take this as argumentative because it’s not in that tone.

Pubs will have strict guidance re numbers and social distancing, having watched news reports on German bars open for the live games it worked well.

Re house parties every Saturday in the appropriate phase are allowed with distancing as per the guidelines.

Re last minute goals, if you feel you can’t be guided by the distancing advice, watch it at home alone. Meet up with your friends after the match.

Clubs don’t need to concern themselves with how viewers behave watching the games, it’s completely uncontrollable for them what happens inside someone’s house or pub etc.

04-06-2020, 07:37 PM

Social distancing seems to be already a thing of the past in many places around the world going by TV pictures the last few days. Might tell us a bit about whether there is any impact.

04-06-2020, 07:46 PM
Surely that's as it should be.

If you've splashed out hundreds of pounds for a Season Ticket, it would be some nerve to be asked to then pay even more money to watch the game on TV because the game is behind closed doors.

Yup.

Motherwell seem to look after their fans in most things they do. I'm sure Hibs will do likewise.

04-06-2020, 07:59 PM
Don’t take this as argumentative because it’s not in that tone.

No worries. :aok:

Pubs will have strict guidance re numbers and social distancing, having watched news reports on German bars open for the live games it worked well.

Yes i think we all know this, but one pub could possibly let in 50-100, just a guess. How many pubs are there who'd want to put these games on?

Re house parties every Saturday in the appropriate phase are allowed with distancing as per the guidelines.

Football fans are not the best at adhering to rules at the best of times, nevermind when they are drinking.

Re last minute goals, if you feel you can’t be guided by the distancing advice, watch it at home alone. Meet up with your friends after the match.

See above.

Clubs don’t need to concern themselves with how viewers behave watching the games, it’s completely uncontrollable for them what happens inside someone’s house or pub etc.

Kaff
04-06-2020, 09:13 PM
The Scottish Premiership clubs will create a ‘virtual season ticket’ for the 2020/21 season, providing an alternative source of matchday income while social distancing measures prevent fans from attending matches. During the 2020/21 season, each Premiership club will be able to sell a package to season ticket holders to watch all home games

There's an important paragraph from the SPFL site, they've negotiated with SKY for a package to accommodate season ticket holders.
I can see this causing angst among many but it is returning value for an ST and from SKYs point of view they are allowing people to watch who have committed to a match ticket anyway.
Good marketing ploy as I've said earlier but importantly looking after season ticket holders and encouraging more to get us to the 10/11k mark again.

Edit.
I can see clubs that can't accommodate all ST holders for the first games with restricted numbers rotating those allowed access and having this as back up that no one actually misses the live action albeit you may only be allowed to attend every 2nd home fixture?

1875Sean
05-06-2020, 10:58 AM
I’ve seen some chat online that clubs are capped at selling the virtual tickets, this can’t exceed the season ticket numbers, does that mean non season ticket holders won’t be able to purchase a view a one off game? Sounds a strange one if so

05-06-2020, 02:00 PM
I see a lot of other clubs are now coming out with more details about this. I’m hoping hibs will be doing the same soon & what advantages people will be getting being full ST holders

05-06-2020, 02:07 PM
I’ve seen some chat online that clubs are capped at selling the virtual tickets, this can’t exceed the season ticket numbers, does that mean non season ticket holders won’t be able to purchase a view a one off game? Sounds a strange one if so

Unlikely any Hibs fan who wants one is going to be unable to get a virtual season ticket. Any household with multiple season ticket holders will only require one virtual season ticket. Therefore the number of virtual season tickets sold to existing season ticket holders will be significantly less than physical season tickets sold.

*disclaimer: not sure whether existing season ticket holders will need to purchase a virtual season ticket

05-06-2020, 02:16 PM
I see a lot of other clubs are now coming out with more details about this. I’m hoping hibs will be doing the same soon & what advantages people will be getting being full ST holders

Any chance you can summarise what they’re saying? The jist of it?

05-06-2020, 02:17 PM
Unlikely any Hibs fan who wants one is going to be unable to get a virtual season ticket. Any household with multiple season ticket holders will only require one virtual season ticket. Therefore the number of virtual season tickets sold to existing season ticket holders will be significantly less than physical season tickets sold.

*disclaimer: not sure whether existing season ticket holders will need to purchase a virtual season ticket

Think there’s been a few clubs come out now saying ST holders will get the virtual ST for free

Would be PR suicide for hibs to come out and charge ST holders for it. Imo there’s no chance they will ask ST holders to pay

05-06-2020, 02:19 PM
Any chance you can summarise what they’re saying? The jist of it?

Think Motherwells was guaranteed 18/19 home games for when fans can return to football & free access to watch any home game behind closed doors, so fans are still getting their ST’s worth of games.

Dundee Utd are offering fans 1/19th of their ST back for every game missed because of closed doors & access to watch games behind closed doors

05-06-2020, 02:39 PM
Think Motherwells was guaranteed 18/19 home games for when fans can return to football & free access to watch any home game behind closed doors, so fans are still getting their ST’s worth of games.

Dundee Utd are offering fans 1/19th of their ST back for every game missed because of closed doors & access to watch games behind closed doors

Dundee United are offering 1/19th on any games missed over three. (No refund for the first three.)

05-06-2020, 02:48 PM
St Mirren statement re virtual season tickets

TICKETS/SOCIAL/SEARCH/CONTACT

St.Mirren Football Club Official Website

FREE LIVE STREAMING WILL BE AVAILABLE FOR SEASON TICKET HOLDERS
SMFC Webteam
Saints News
05 June 2020
St Mirren season ticket holders will be able to watch all home games online at no extra cost if the season starts behind closed doors or in a socially distanced stadium, following an agreement with Sky and the SPFL.

Wednesday’s announcement means that clubs, for the first time, will be able to show home matches live via their own websites to supporters living in the UK and Ireland.

The agreement means that the only way to guarantee you see every minute of action at St Mirren Park next season is by purchasing a season ticket.

We will have full details of how this will work in the coming weeks.

St Mirren Chief Executive Tony Fitzpatrick said: "First and foremost, I would like to thank everyone who has purchased a season ticket at this time – over 1500 have been sold so far. While I understand many fans are facing financial uncertainty at this time, I would encourage those who can afford it to Be In That Number and consider doing the same.

"We are still hopeful that we will be able to have supporters safely back at St Mirren Park before too long, but it is important for us meantime to have the option of making matches available to our season ticket holders to watch live while social distancing measures are in place."

Season tickets for 2020/21 are available now at smfctickets.co.uk. You can also call us on 0141-840-6120 between 9:30am-4:00pm, Monday to Friday.

Walker Laird
FVL
Ultimate Home Solutions
Big Front Door
Ladbrokes
BT Sport
Sky Sports
Ladbrokes SPFL Premiership
All content © 2020 St.Mirren Football Club Ltd.
Company Number SC005773
Reg Office: The Simple Digital Arena, St Mirren Park, Greenhill Road, Paisley, Renfrewshire. PA3 1RU

Enquiries // email: [email protected] // tel: 0141 889 2558
Tickets // email: [email protected] // tel: 0141 840 6130

Designed & Hosted by Big Front Door
Match GFX by KP Kreative

Read our Cookie & Privacy Policy

HOME
NEWS
TEAMS
MATCH
FANS
COMMUNITY
COMMERCIAL
CLUB
SHOP
TICKET OFFICE
01/06/2020 09:30 to 16:00
02/06/2020 09:30 to 16:00
03/06/2020 09:30 to 16:00
04/06/2020 09:30 to 16:00
05/06/2020 09:30 to 16:00
06/06/2020 10:00 to 16:00
07/06/2020 CLOSED

Call 0141 840 6120
Email [email protected]

05-06-2020, 02:58 PM
I hope there’s a perk on top of access to watch streamed matches tbh.

05-06-2020, 04:04 PM

I got sent a link to huddersfield site. None season ticket holders can purchase home and away games at £10.00 each.

05-06-2020, 04:55 PM
Here it is from Hibs

SEASON TICKET UPDATE
By: HIBERNIAN MEDIA on 05 Jun, 2020 17:53

Hibernian FC welcome the announcement of a framework agreed between the SPFL and Sky which should see the top-flight of Scottish football resume in August.

With football facing a “behind closed doors” start to the season, the new proposals mean those who have already purchased season tickets for season 2020/21 now know they are guaranteed to see all home matches live until entry to games returns.

While social distancing prevents access to stadiums in the initial stages of the season, clubs can now create bespoke digital platforms to show the games live to those who have bought their season ticket.

Hibernian will announce the details of their package in the near future, designed to give our season ticket holders the best possible value and a unique, exciting and enjoyable Hibernian matchday experience.

The club remains deeply grateful to the 8,000+ fans who have already demonstrated their desire to support the club through purchasing season tickets. We also realise these are challenging times, and not every fan is able to commit right now. For that reason, the club has announced an extension of the Seat Release date until July 3rd and an eight-month finance option, on which the club will pay the interest. These offers will close at 5pm, 3 July.

Leeann Dempster, Chief Executive, said: “While we all want to see football return in all its excitement with fans in the stadiums, that is simply not possible at the moment and this offers an excellent way forward in getting our game back.

“We are grateful for the hard work done by the SPFL and for the support shown by Sky. We’re now working up an offering that we believe supporters will get behind, knowing that their backing has never been more needed or more appreciated.

"This is a challenging time for everyone, and we know that times are uncertain for a lot of fans. If you can commit, please do. Most important, please make sure you and your families stay safe and healthy.”

MOST READ
STAY UP TO DATE AND DON’T MISS OUT!STAY UP TO DATE AND DON’T MISS OUT!WIN THE VERY FIRST 2020/21 REPLICA SHIRTS!WIN THE VERY FIRST 2020/21 REPLICA SHIRTS!SEAT RELEASE AND EARLY BIRD DEADLINE EXTENDEDSEAT RELEASE AND EARLY BIRD DEADLINE EXTENDEDPLAYER UPDATEPLAYER UPDATEHANDS OFF HIBS - 30 YEARS ONHANDS OFF HIBS - 30 YEARS ON
ALL NEWS
MEN'S FIRST TEAM
TICKETS NEWS
MATCH REPORTS
SHARE ISSUE
UNDER 20'S
WOMEN'S FIRST TEAM
COMMERCIAL NEWS
COMMUNITY NEWS

HOME
NEWS
HIBS TV
HOSPITALITY
CLUBSTORE
RSS
TEAMS
FIXTURES & TICKETS
HIBS TV

05-06-2020, 04:57 PM
I got sent a link to huddersfield site. None season ticket holders can purchase home and away games at £10.00 each.

Wow compared to how many live matches you get for your money on SKY and BT that’s steep per game.

05-06-2020, 05:02 PM
See hibs have came out and said that ST holders will get the service with no extra charge

Currently working on a full package to offer to ST holders.

05-06-2020, 05:43 PM
Wow compared to how many live matches you get for your money on SKY and BT that’s steep per game.

Based on the communications in Scotland, I think only season ticket holders will see the games and there won't be a way to buy individual games. Hope I am wrong.

Kaff
05-06-2020, 05:54 PM
Based on the communications in Scotland, I think only season ticket holders will see the games and there won't be a way to buy individual games. Hope I am wrong.

That's my interpretation as well, I think it's a way of giving value to the STs in the hope there's no refunds, if you get the away game as well then it isn't a bad return when you see Huddersfield charging £10 a game.
There was an article I read, can't remember where, and I'm sure it said that you'll have TV access to all the games this season. That may be meant as you'll get coverage for any game you can't access but it wasn't written like that.
I'm a distant fan and couldn't renew last season but I'm tempted if all the games will be available on the tv

Edit. It's in the piece I quoted at the top of page, which is off SPFL website
'each Premiership club will be able to sell a package to season ticket holders to watch all home games'

05-06-2020, 06:02 PM
"While social distancing prevents access to stadiums in the initial stages of the season, clubs can now create bespoke digital platforms to show the games live to those who have bought their season ticket."

So from that sentence it's pretty much confirming we won't be watching Hibs live at ER or elsewhere anytime soon?
Will this years ST roll over to next season ? :confused:

05-06-2020, 06:04 PM
"While social distancing prevents access to stadiums in the initial stages of the season, clubs can now create bespoke digital platforms to show the games live to those who have bought their season ticket."

So from that sentence it's pretty much confirming we won't be watching Hibs live at ER or elsewhere anytime soon?

They’re currently coming up with a full package to offer to ST holders. That could mean your ST is for games we can actually attend, noones knows at this point

Power
05-06-2020, 06:17 PM

There is rights to sell games individually (not Sky chosen games though (viewing through ST on these games is protected)) but this will need further discussions between clubs to come to a near agreement on approach and how it will work in practice.

Very early days yet - being honest the start of the season looks like starting behind closed doors - club is looking at all of this, the right to stream games and more - The club will ensure there is value to having a season ticket this year, no concerns there.

They’ll update supporters ASAP on the finer details soon.

05-06-2020, 06:21 PM
BT and SKY sports both stopping their pause in payments which is fair enough.

05-06-2020, 06:53 PM
BT and SKY sports both stopping their pause in payments which is fair enough.

I’ll be continuing to pause both until Scottish football restarts

06-06-2020, 07:07 AM

I get it. So I could buy a virtual season ticket. Where as Hibs might chuck the virtual season ticket in Free with the physical season ticket.

That makes sense and if true will be what I will be doing.

Edit - just read the Hibs statement. No mention of virtual season tickets only. Seems daft if it’s the case.

06-06-2020, 08:14 AM
Pity there doesn’t seem to a “virtual walk up and pay at the gate option” unless I’ve missed it?

06-06-2020, 08:26 AM
I get it. So I could buy a virtual season ticket. Where as Hibs might chuck the virtual season ticket in Free with the physical season ticket.

That makes sense and if true will be what I will be doing.

Edit - just read the Hibs statement. No mention of virtual season tickets only. Seems daft if it’s the case.

Might be wrong but would imagine that’s down to Sky. If folk could just buy virtual season tickets to watch their own clubs then it would probably be a risk to their subscriptions.

06-06-2020, 08:28 AM
Pity there doesn’t seem to a “virtual walk up and pay at the gate option” unless I’ve missed it?

Think that is still being discussed. Obviously ties in with watching away games.

Duke of Currie
06-06-2020, 08:29 AM
Appreciate the laws have changed as a result of the lockdown , but would there be any reason not to continue this afterwards ? like many , live sport is more attractive than watching on the TV , but would there be arguments to maintain the situation and continue with virtual season tickets

06-06-2020, 08:41 AM
I know this link to Sky Sports is about the EFL games to complete the 19/20 season but it gives a possible insight into what we might expect for our games being broadcast for the start of SPFL 20/21 season.

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/12000470/sky-sports-to-show-30-games-as-championship-restarts-on-june-20

06-06-2020, 11:54 AM
See hibs have came out and said that ST holders will get the service with no extra charge

Currently working on a full package to offer to ST holders.

That's fantastic news.

TBH, I would have been a bit annoyed if they'd done it any differently, but they seem to be doing all the right things recently.

06-06-2020, 12:50 PM
Celtic putting a professional package together

New Balance LogoDafabet LogoMagners Logo
Season Ticket Launch
Exciting news for club's season ticket holders
By: Newsroom Staff on 06 Jun, 2020 10:01

CELTIC Football Club is delighted to announce that it will be engaging with highly-rated production company Sunset+Vine as we look ahead to matches being broadcast as part of the Club’s season ticket.

Producers of BT Sport’s Europa League and SPFL coverage for a number of years, Sunset and Vine have an established track record of high quality, first-class sports coverage.

Led by broadcasting experts who have worked on The FIFA World Cup, UEFA European Championships and the Olympics, we are confident that this partnership will provide excellent results and prove extremely popular with our supporters.

For matches delivered virtually as part of the season ticket, a host of high quality contributors across punditry, commentary, analysis and production will be engaged to enhance and work with our existing team – and we have some well-known faces lined up!

Celtic’s priority is to do everything we can to get our fans back to Paradise as soon as possible. However, for the matches affected, Celtic wants to provide high quality access to its supporters through its virtual services offering in the season ticket, our online pass to Paradise.

We miss our fans and we know our fans are missing Celtic Park. However, we are doing all we can to keep you as close to the action as possible.

It will be one of the most exciting seasons ever ahead and we want you to join us as we go for 10!

A spokesperson for Celtic said: “Clearly, current circumstances are totally outwith our control, and while getting our supporters back to Celtic Park is our absolute priority, until this is the case, through our season ticket, we aim to give our fans the best access we can to SPFL matches at Celtic Park.

“We will be making a significant investment in this project, partnering with one of the best production companies around and will deliver an experience, with top expertise and contributors, which will put our fans at the heart of the action from Celtic Park.

“We are joining forces with an organisation renowned for delivering high quality coverage and we look forward to making this available our season ticket holders.”

Grant Philips, Executive Producer of Sunset +Vine added: "We are delighted to partner with Celtic Football Club and look forward to bringing our unrivalled production expertise to the live matchday programming."

ad

Most Read
Celtic Football Club statementCeltic Football Club statement
Thanks to Jozo and Jonny for all you've done for CelticThanks to Jozo and Jonny for all you've done for Celtic
Celtic welcomes return to action for season ticket holdersCeltic welcomes return to action for season ticket holders
The Story Of… The Line of Duty: Vicky McClure’s Celtic Park PromiseThe Story Of… The Line of Duty: Vicky McClure’s Celtic Park Promise
Here we go, free in a row – choose your free game with Celtic TVHere we go, free in a row – choose your free game with Celtic TV
Partners
Home
Team
News
Tickets
Club
Fans
Cookies on the Celtic FC Website
We use cookies to improve and personalise your experience and for advertising purposes. You can change your cookies settings at any time. By clicking continue, you accept the use of Cookies on our site.
ContinueLearn more
x

06-06-2020, 01:03 PM
Appreciate the laws have changed as a result of the lockdown , but would there be any reason not to continue this afterwards ? like many , live sport is more attractive than watching on the TV , but would there be arguments to maintain the situation and continue with virtual season tickets

Yes. The 3pm blackout is a brilliant thing. Hibs would hugely suffer if every game was available online.

Up The Bracket
13-06-2020, 10:29 AM
Hopefully hear something soon on this, if we follow what Motherwell have done we could be onto a winner and I’ll definitely renew.

For anyone unaware they’ve basically said a season ticket is access to 19 games (ie if we get to 14 then they’d get 5 games discount on next seasons ticket or a refund for those 5 at the end of the season) plus access to watch all games they’re unable to attend.

13-06-2020, 11:35 AM
Hopefully hear something soon on this, if we follow what Motherwell have done we could be onto a winner and I’ll definitely renew.

For anyone unaware they’ve basically said a season ticket is access to 19 games (ie if we get to 14 then they’d get 5 games discount on next seasons ticket or a refund for those 5 at the end of the season) plus access to watch all games they’re unable to attend.

I can’t see Hibs doing anything similar. Where you can’t attend a game they’ll make sure you can see it for free but that’ll be it IMO.

It’s good from a fans perspective what Motherwell are doing, but their season ticket revenue next year could end up being down massively as a result.

13-06-2020, 11:52 AM

It would be financially disastrous for us to have our season tickets run over in to the next season. The playing squad would be cut savagely.

13-06-2020, 01:39 PM

I'm happy with what Hibs are doing.

Only thing I'd like clarified is whether those who are shielding will still be able to watch live home games once other fans are allowed back.

13-06-2020, 02:29 PM

Only thing I'd like clarified is whether those who are shielding will still be able to watch live home games once other fans are allowed back.

I know it could obviously get extended but as things stand, the restrictions on the shielding group are due to be relaxed from the end of July, which is before any football's due to take place so that might not even be an issue.

liongard82
13-06-2020, 03:13 PM
I’m in the Capital Club. Surly they have to give a sort of refund, minus the value of the Hibs TV footage?

Up The Bracket
13-06-2020, 04:13 PM
It would be financially disastrous for us to have our season tickets run over in to the next season. The playing squad would be cut savagely.

Disagree, an extra couple of thousand season ticket sales would absolutely offset the loss

13-06-2020, 05:25 PM
Disagree, an extra couple of thousand season ticket sales would absolutely offset the loss

Where are the extra couple of thousand coming from? I’m not so sure any club outside of the Old Firm could afford to write ofF the revenue from 2000 season tickets in advance.

Juniper Greens
13-06-2020, 10:50 PM

A couple of thousand is far too high a guess, and it wouldn't even offset the loss. Probably going to miss 5 or 6 of our 19 games. So at least a quarter of the games. Whereas the "extra sales" wouldn't make up a quarter of the total sales

Badabing
14-06-2020, 06:41 AM

I agree that people who are more vulnerable should have the option to watch online. However it might need to go further than that. As we come out of lockdown there will be a greater element of risk and it will be up to the individual how much risk they want to take. Speaking as a male of a certain vintage I won’t be back at Easter Road until I am certain it’s safe for me to do so, which I doubt will be this season. So Hopefully my season ticket will allow me to continue to watch from home.