View Full Version : The daily hibs lockdown quiz
green.oracle
04-07-2020, 10:07 AM
242. Who was the last HIBS player to score a hat-trick?
243. What HIBS defender played just under 250 competitive games for the club and was never booked or sent off ?
244. Who is HIBS’ youngest scorer in the Scottish Cup?
245. What two players signed by HIBS after being provisionally at Hearts in the early sixties would go on to be HIBS legends?
246. Who was Hibs’ first Scandinavian player?
247 What player made his debut for HIBS in a Cup Final and never played for HIBS again?
248. Who was the first HIBS player to be capped by Scotland?
249. What Liverpool player scored the decisive goal in two European Cup Finals?
Good luck guys!
242) Marc McNulty
04-07-2020, 10:07 AM
242) Marc McNulty
👍🏿
04-07-2020, 10:09 AM
244. Joe Baker
04-07-2020, 10:21 AM
244. Joe Baker
Sorry no
04-07-2020, 10:28 AM
243. Joe Davis
green.oracle
04-07-2020, 10:29 AM
242. Who was the last HIBS player to score a hat-trick?
green.oracle: Marc McNulty
243. What HIBS defender played just under 250 competitive games for the club and was never booked or sent off ?
244. Who is HIBS’ youngest scorer in the Scottish Cup?
245. What two players signed by HIBS after being provisionally at Hearts in the early sixties would go on to be HIBS legends?
green.oracle: Cormack and Stevenson
246. Who was Hibs’ first Scandinavian player?
green.oracle: John Madsen
247 What player made his debut for HIBS in a Cup Final and never played for HIBS again?
248. Who was the first HIBS player to be capped by Scotland?
249. What Liverpool player scored the decisive goal in two European Cup Finals?
green.oracle: Alan Kennedy
Good luck guys!
247) Jimmy Bradley 1950/51 league cup final
248) James McGhee and James Lundie
04-07-2020, 10:31 AM
243. Joe Davis
👍🏿
04-07-2020, 10:34 AM
247) Jimmy Bradley 1950/51 league cup final
248) James McGhee and James Lundie
👍🏿
Jimmy O for 244? I remember him scoring at Aberdeen when we got stuffed in 60s.
04-07-2020, 03:59 PM
Jimmy O for 244? I remember him scoring at Aberdeen when we got stuffed in 60s.
👍🏿
Jimmy Jimmy ORourke
05-07-2020, 10:11 AM
250. What subject does Jack Ross hold a degree in?
0762: Economics
251. Who was the first HIBS player to score 100 league goals?
0762: Jimmy McColl
252. Who is the clubs highest goal scorer in all competitions ?
green.oracle: Gordon Smith
253. How many times did Scott Bain sit on the bench for HIBS?
0762: Two
254. HIBS played in the 1955-56 European Cup but who were the reigning Scottish Champions at that time?
green.oracle: Aberdeen
255 Name five European opponents we have played where the ties have been all square after 180 minutes?
Tom Hart RIP: Leeds, Liege, AEK, Roma, Valencia and Brondby
256. Who am I?
An ex jambo I would sign for HIBS after a chance meeting with the then Manger in Waverley Station
A tricky winger I could play on either flank. I would only play 5 games for HIBS undefeated all at Easter Road
My son would play for Rangers
Brog: Malky Robertson RIP
Good luck guys!
254. HIBS played in the 1955-56 European Cup but who were the reigning Scottish Champions at that time?
255 Name five European opponents we have played where the ties have been all square after 180 minutes?
256. Who am I?
An ex jambo I would sign for HIBS after a chance meeting with the then Manger in Waverley Station
A tricky winger I could play on either flank. I would only play 5 games for HIBS undefeated all at Easter Road
Good luck guys!
The last one is Malky Robertson, a classic signing!!
green.oracle
05-07-2020, 10:20 AM
256. Who am I?
Good luck guys!
250) sports science
251) Gordon Smith
252) Gordon Smith
253) 4
254) Aberdeen
255) Valencia, Roma, Hamburg, FC Liege, Anderlecht, Odense and Brondby
256) Maljy Robertson
05-07-2020, 10:22 AM
The last one is Malky Robertson, a classic signing!!
05-07-2020, 10:28 AM
250) sports science
251) Gordon Smith
252) Gordon Smith
253) 4
254) Aberdeen
255) Valencia, Roma, Hamburg, FC Liege, Anderlecht, Odense and Brondby
256) Maljy Robertson
No
No
Yes
No
Yes
No ( Away goals rule counts as a defeat)
Yes
Tom Hart RIP
05-07-2020, 11:01 AM
251 jimmy Dunn
Tom Hart RIP
05-07-2020, 11:04 AM
255 plus Leeds 2nd time
green.oracle
05-07-2020, 11:05 AM
No
No
Yes
No
Yes
No ( Away goals rule counts as a defeat)
Yes
255) Roma, Valencia, Leeds United (how did I forget them!!), FC Liege and Brondby
05-07-2020, 11:17 AM
251 jimmy Dunn
Sorry no
05-07-2020, 11:17 AM
255 plus Leeds 2nd time
250 - Master's Degree in Economics
05-07-2020, 01:22 PM
250 - Master's Degree in Economics
👍
05-07-2020, 01:22 PM
251 - Jimmy McColl
👍
253 - 2 sub appearances (1 league / 1 Scottish cup)
05-07-2020, 01:33 PM
253 - 2 sub appearances (1 league / 1 Scottish cup)
👍🏿
05-07-2020, 01:41 PM
Well played guys
Thanks to all who took part
More tomorrow
Stay safe
06-07-2020, 09:21 AM
257. Who scored the five HIBS goals in the recent 5-2 Scottish Cup Quarter Final win over ICT and who missed a penalty?
green.oracle: Jackson Allan Docherty Omeonga and Gullan
Paul Hanlon missed the pen
258 Who was the last HIBS player to score a hat-trick versus Celtic at Parkhead?
green.oracle: Neil Martin
259 HIBS arranged an impromptu bounce game against Celtic on the undersoil heating back in 1985
What was the score and which HIBS hero scored a hat-trick?
MartinfaePorty: 6-3 Ally Brazil
260 HIBS played Bristol City in the semi-final of the Anglo-Scottish Cup at Easter Road. Who missed a penalty and what two players saw red that night?
ancient hibee: Ally MacLeod Peter Cormack and Norman ‘ bites yer legs’ Hunter
261. What change did HIBS make to their jerseys at the start of 1977/78
0762: Bukta
262 Between the wars Edinburgh boasted five senior clubs HIBS, Hearts and what three other teams ?
green.oracle: Leith Athletic St Bernards and Edinburgh City
263. Who is HIBS’ highest scorer in the League Cup?
0762: Willie Ormond
264. What team is the latest addition to the MLS?
0762: Sacramento 2022 currently...Inter Miami
Good luck guys?
261 - Added a Shirt Sponsor
MartinfaePorty
06-07-2020, 09:36 AM
259: 6-3 to Hibs and Ally Brazil. Not sure why I missed the game, as I was a regular in those days, but my brother and dad went. Must have been playing football somewhere!
green.oracle
06-07-2020, 09:43 AM
257. Who scored the five HIBS goals in the recent 5-2 Scottish Cup Quarter Final win over ICT and who missed a penalty?
258 Who was the last HIBS player to score a hat-trick versus Celtic at Parkhead?
259 HIBS arranged an impromptu bounce game against Celtic on the undersoil heating back in 1985
What was the score and which HIBS hero scored a hat-trick?
260 HIBS played Bristol City in the semi-final of the Anglo-Scottish Cup at Easter Road. Who missed a penalty and what two players saw red that night?
261. What change did HIBS make to their jerseys at the start of 1977/78?
262 Between the wars Edinburgh boasted five senior clubs HIBS, Hearts and what three other teams ?
263. Who is HIBS’ highest scorer in the League Cup?
264. What team is the latest addition to the MLS?
Good luck guys?
257) Jackson, Allan, Docherty, Omeonga and Gullan. Hanlon missed the penalty.
258) Neil Martin March 1965
259) 6-3 Hibs and Benny Brazil
261) added a sponsors name
262) Leith Athletic, St Bernards and Edinburgh City
06-07-2020, 10:03 AM
264 - Sacramento
Yes will give you it but not until 2022
Do you know the latest addition currently playing ?
06-07-2020, 10:04 AM
261 - Added a Shirt Sponsor
06-07-2020, 10:05 AM
259: 6-3 to Hibs and Ally Brazil. Not sure why I missed the game, as I was a regular in those days, but my brother and dad went. Must have been playing football somewhere!
06-07-2020, 10:05 AM
263 - Willie Ormond
06-07-2020, 10:06 AM
257) Jackson, Allan, Docherty, Omeonga and Gullan. Hanlon missed the penalty.
258) Neil Martin March 1965
259) 6-3 Hibs and Benny Brazil
261) added a sponsors name
262) Leith Athletic, St Bernards and Edinburgh City
Nailed it once again
Well done!
Yes will give you it but not until 2022
Do you know the latest addition currently playing ?
Thinks 2 went in this Season. Nashville and Miami.
06-07-2020, 10:57 AM
Thinks 2 went in this Season. Nashville and Miami.
Was looking for Inter Miami according to my Quiz Guru :greengrin
Argylehibby
06-07-2020, 12:00 PM
260 was Peter Cormack one of them?
06-07-2020, 12:52 PM
260 was Peter Cormack one of them?
Boo!
06-07-2020, 08:32 PM
260 Was the other player sent off Norman Hunter
06-07-2020, 08:35 PM
260 Was the other player sent off Norman Hunter
Yip!
Still need the penalty taker who missed
06-07-2020, 09:29 PM
Cormack and Hunter sent off.Ally McLeod missed the penalty.
06-07-2020, 09:40 PM
Cormack and Hunter sent off.Ally McLeod missed the penalty.
Yaaaaaassssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
07-07-2020, 08:05 AM
265. Name the four players sent off under Paul Heckingbottom?
0762: Slivka Porteous Mackie and McGregor
266. Name two HIBS players sold to Nottingham Forest?
jingler1954: Peter Cormack Brian Rice
267. What club did Jackie MacNamara score his first goal for the club against?
ancient hibee: Leicester City away the first in a 2-0 win
268. Who was Captain of HIBS the night we beat Real Madrid 2-0?
ancient hibee: John Fraser
269. What player scored HIBS’ 5000th League goal?
Clue: He is still at the club
Hiber-nation: Eddie May v Clydebank 4/1/1986
270. What is the name of the HIBS mascot?
jingler1954 :Sunshine
271. Questions were raised in the UK Parliament over the signings of which two HIBS players?
Weecountyhibby: Isaak Refvik and Sven Mathieson
272. What word does Cristiano Ronaldo shout every time he scores a goal?
0762: Si!
Good luck guys!
jingler1954
07-07-2020, 08:18 AM
269 Lewis Stevenson
jingler1954
07-07-2020, 08:21 AM
270 Sunshine
07-07-2020, 08:24 AM
269 Lewis Stevenson
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 08:25 AM
270 Sunshine
jingler1954
07-07-2020, 08:27 AM
266 Peter Cormack and Brian Rice
07-07-2020, 08:33 AM
266 Peter Cormack and Brian Rice
👍🏿
07-07-2020, 08:36 AM
271 Isaac refvik and Sven Mathieson
07-07-2020, 08:40 AM
272 Hhhhhhhhhiiiiiiiiiiiiiiibbbbbbbbbsssssss??
07-07-2020, 08:41 AM
Good luck guys!
Are you sure ? I thought that was years ago ...Willie Irvine , Stevie Cowan , Gordon durie era.
Is it top league goal ??
07-07-2020, 08:45 AM
268. John Parke?
07-07-2020, 08:47 AM
271 Isaac refvik and Sven Mathieson
👍🏿
07-07-2020, 08:48 AM
Are you sure ? I thought that was years ago ...Willie Irvine , Stevie Cowan , Gordon durie era.
Is it top league goal ??
Yes and Yes 😃
07-07-2020, 08:48 AM
272 Hhhhhhhhhiiiiiiiiiiiiiiibbbbbbbbbsssssss??
Close but no
07-07-2020, 08:49 AM
Is it top league goal ??
Willie Irvine definitely scored Hibs' 5,000th goal but that must have been the old SPL.
Answer to 269 I think is Martin Boyle away to QOS.
07-07-2020, 08:49 AM
268. John Parke?
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 08:51 AM
Willie Irvine definitely scored Hibs' 5,000th goal but that must have been the old SPL.
Answer to 269 I think is Martin Boyle away to QOS.
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 08:58 AM
Sorry no
Sorry I'm talking pish!
268 John McNamee?
07-07-2020, 09:18 AM
268. John Fraser
265 - Porteous, Mackie, McGregor, Slivka
MartinfaePorty
07-07-2020, 10:12 AM
267 - Killie?
07-07-2020, 10:22 AM
Sorry I'm talking pish!
268 John McNamee?
Sorry no
268. John Fraser
272. - Siiiiii
07-07-2020, 10:23 AM
265 - Porteous, Mackie, McGregor, Slivka
07-07-2020, 10:23 AM
267 - Killie?
Sorry no
MartinfaePorty
07-07-2020, 10:25 AM
Sorry no
267 Hearts?
07-07-2020, 10:30 AM
267 Hearts?
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 10:35 AM
265. Name the four players sent off under Paul Heckingbottom?
0762: Slivka Porteous Mackie and McGregor
266. Name two HIBS players sold to Nottingham Forest?
jingler1954: Peter Cormack Brian Rice
267. What club did Jackie MacNamara score his first goal for the club against?
268. Who was Captain of HIBS the night we beat Real Madrid 2-0?
ancient hibee: John Fraser
270. What is the name of the HIBS mascot?
jingler1954 :Sunshine
271. Questions were raised in the UK Parliament over the signings of which two HIBS players?
Weecountyhibby: Isaak Refvik and Sven Mathieson
272. What word does Cristiano Ronaldo shout every time he scores a goal?
0762: Si!
Good luck guys!
Only two unanswered questions remaining today guys
07-07-2020, 10:37 AM
267 Celtic?
07-07-2020, 10:40 AM
267 Celtic?
Sorry no
Tom Hart RIP
07-07-2020, 10:57 AM
267 Rangers? I remember him scoring at Ibrox in the cup but not sure if that was his first? I know he didn’t get many
07-07-2020, 11:00 AM
267. Partick Thistle
269 Darren McGregor
07-07-2020, 11:01 AM
267 Rangers? I remember him scoring at Ibrox in the cup but not sure if that was his first? I know he didn’t get many
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 11:01 AM
267. Partick Thistle
269 Darren McGregor
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 11:04 AM
267 Kilmarnock?
07-07-2020, 11:05 AM
267 Kilmarnock?
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 11:07 AM
Sorry no
Complete guess but it's the only game I remember him scoring in in the 8-1 win at ER
07-07-2020, 11:09 AM
Complete guess but it's the only game I remember him scoring in in the 8-1 win at ER
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 11:10 AM
Sorry no
Yeah, sorry I was just explaining my wrong answer and was hoping I'd get marks for showing my workings!!😀
07-07-2020, 11:11 AM
Yeah, sorry I was just explaining my wrong answer and was hoping I'd get marks for showing my workings!!😀
07-07-2020, 11:12 AM
267 must be a friendly because he definitely scored his first goal in a Scottish Cup tie against the huns.
07-07-2020, 11:13 AM
269 I'll guess Paul Hanlon but I've no idea what game
07-07-2020, 11:14 AM
267 must be a friendly because he definitely scored his first goal in a Scottish Cup tie against the huns.
On the right track
07-07-2020, 11:14 AM
269 I'll guess Paul Hanlon but I've no idea what game
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 11:30 AM
267. Manchester City
07-07-2020, 11:37 AM
267. Manchester City
Sorry no
Argylehibby
07-07-2020, 01:05 PM
267 Morton
07-07-2020, 01:11 PM
267 Morton
Sorry no
07-07-2020, 01:54 PM
I remember somebody saying at the time of his testimonial that his first goal had been in a friendly against Leicester and he’d hardly scored any since.
267. So I guess Leicester although I’ve no idea if it was true:greengrin
07-07-2020, 02:02 PM
I remember somebody saying at the time of his testimonial that his first goal had been in a friendly against Leicester and he’d hardly scored any since.
267. So I guess Leicester although I’ve no idea if it was true:greengrin
Scored the first goal Leicester City away 15/1/1980 in a 0-2 win Tony Higgins got the second George Best played that night
We also won the first leg of this Friendly Challenge Match arranged between ET and his new best pal Jock Wallace at Easter Road 3-2 thanks to an Ally MacLeod hat-trick a few weeks earlier
Jackie’s first competitive goal would come against the Hun in the Scottish Cup a few months later
Well done!
Tom Hart RIP
07-07-2020, 03:06 PM
Scored the first goal Leicester City away 15/1/1980 in a 0-2 win Tony Higgins got the second George Best played that night
We also won the first leg of this Friendly Challenge Match arranged between ET and his new best pal Jock Wallace at Easter Road 3-2 thanks to an Ally MacLeod hat-trick a few weeks earlier
Jackie’s first competitive goal would come against the Hun in the Scottish Cup a few months later
Well done!
A young Gary Lineker played for Leicester in both games.
07-07-2020, 03:09 PM
A young Gary Lineker played for Leicester in both games.
👍🏿
269. Not sure about still at the Club but from an old post by Big-Mo on .net a few years ago......
"Willie Irvine scored Hibs 5,000th league goal in a 2-0 win at Boghead against Dumbarton"
07-07-2020, 05:27 PM
269. Not sure about still at the Club but from an old post by Big-Mo on .net a few years ago......
"Willie Irvine scored Hibs 5,000th league goal in a 2-0 win at Boghead against Dumbarton"
Sorry not what I have and from a very good source :greengrin
07-07-2020, 05:31 PM
Eddie May? It was widely reported that it was Willie Irvine but I haven't checked.
07-07-2020, 05:44 PM
Eddie May? It was widely reported that it was Willie Irvine but I haven't checked.
Goal 1000 Bobby Reid v Aberdeen 21/3/1914
Goal 2000 Jimmy Dobson v Kings Park 21/11/1931
Goal 3000 Bobby Combe v Raith Rovers 10/1/1953
Goal 4000 Jim Scott v Kilmarnock 4/2/1967
Goal 5000 Eddie May v Clydebank 4/1/1986
Source: In Colours Green and White by jonnyboy
I was at the Willie Irvine game v Dumbarton away IIRC we were in deep relegation trouble and any goal would do we were desperate :greengrin
Well done!
So glad I credited Big-Mo :faf: Sorry mate!
07-07-2020, 05:54 PM
So glad I credited Big-Mo :faf: Sorry mate!
07-07-2020, 05:57 PM
Goal 1000 Bobby Reid v Aberdeen 21/3/1914
Goal 2000 Jimmy Dobson v Kings Park 21/11/1931
Goal 3000 Bobby Combe v Raith Rovers 10/1/1953
Goal 4000 Jim Scott v Kilmarnock 4/2/1967
Goal 5000 Eddie May v Clydebank 4/1/1986
Source: In Colours Green and White by jonnyboy
I was at the Willie Irvine game v Dumbarton away IIRC we were in deep relegation trouble and any goal would do we were desperate :greengrin
Well done!
I travelled on the Edin West bus back in the day..... a boy on it said he would name his soon to be born son after the 5000th goalscorer...and lo young Eddie was born....he'll be 34 now, jeezo I feel old.
07-07-2020, 06:02 PM
I travelled on the Edin West bus back in the day..... a boy on it said he would name his soon to be born son after the 5000th goalscorer...and lo young Eddie was born....he'll be 34 now, jeezo I feel old.
Funnily enough when Eddie May scored that diving header against Celtic in the Scottish Cup Quarter Final at Easter Road to win the game 4-3 after coming on as a sub this random old guy jumped on me in the East and declared
“ Eddie May a star is born!”
08-07-2020, 11:00 AM
273. Who was the last player to score a hat-trick for Scotland?
Green Man : SJM
274. How many draws did HIBS have in the 2016/17 Championship winning season ?
0762: 14
275. Out of the current Scottish Premiership sides who was first team to win the Scottish Cup?
Green Man: Hibernian
276. What teams took part in the 1979/80 Skol Festival Trophy and what were the names of the Managers of HIBS and Hearts at the time?
0762: HIBS Hearts Man City Coventry City Eddie Turnbull and Willie Ormond
277. What HIBS Manager famously said “ Rangers are rubbish “?
MartinfaePorty: Dave Ewing
278 Name four HIBS players sold to Arsenal?
green.oracle: Harper MacLeod Marinello and Cropley
279. What outfield player once played in goals for almost the whole of the ninety minutes of a Scottish Cup Final?
MartinfaePorty: Robbie Winters
280. Who am I?
I played for Hibs, Dundee and Hearts. I have a Scottish League Cup winners medal a runners up medal and two Scotland caps?
green.oracle: Thomson Allan
Good luck guys!
Green Man
08-07-2020, 11:02 AM
273. Super John McGinn
08-07-2020, 11:04 AM
273. Super John McGinn
👍🏿
Green Man
08-07-2020, 11:18 AM
Ah, 275 is Hibs of course!
08-07-2020, 11:22 AM
Ah, 275 is Hibs of course!
👍🏿
MartinfaePorty
08-07-2020, 11:39 AM
279 Robbie Winters for Aberdeen
Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
MartinfaePorty
08-07-2020, 11:40 AM
277 Dave Ewing
274. How many draws did HIBS have in the 2016/17 Championship winning season ? - 14
276. What teams took part in the 1979/80 Skol Festival Trophy and what were the names of the Managers of HIBS and Hearts at the time? - Man City, Coventry, Hibs (Turnbull) , Hearts (Ormond)
08-07-2020, 11:43 AM
Marinello, Cropley, Johnny Macleod.....struggling re the 4th name
08-07-2020, 11:44 AM
279 Robbie Winters for Aberdeen
08-07-2020, 11:45 AM
277 Dave Ewing
08-07-2020, 11:45 AM
274. How many draws did HIBS have in the 2016/17 Championship winning season ? - 14
276. What teams took part in the 1979/80 Skol Festival Trophy and what were the names of the Managers of HIBS and Hearts at the time? - Man City, Coventry, Hibs (Turnbull) , Hearts (Ormond)
08-07-2020, 11:46 AM
Marinello, Cropley, Johnny Macleod.....struggling re the 4th name
Yip!
Need all four the last one a wee bit further back but weel kent! :greengrin
green.oracle
08-07-2020, 11:52 AM
275. Out of the current Scottish Premiership sides who was first team to win the Scottish Cup?
276. What teams took part in the 1979/80 Skol Festival Trophy and what were the names of the Managers of HIBS and Hearts at the time?
279. What outfield player once played in goals for almost the whole of the ninety minutes of a Scottish Cup Final?
280. Who am I?
I played for Hibs, Dundee and Hearts. I have a Scottish League Cup winners medal a runners up medal and two Scotland caps?
Good luck guys!
278) Marinello, cropley, Johnny McLeod and Willie Harper
280) Thomson Allan
08-07-2020, 11:54 AM
278) Marinello, cropley, Johnny McLeod and Willie Harper
280) Thomson Allan
08-07-2020, 11:59 AM
0762: 14
0762: HIBS Hearts Man City Coventry City Eddie Turnbull and Willie Ormond
green.oracle: Harper MacLeod Marinello and Cropley
280. Who am I?
green.oracle: Thomson Allan
Good luck guys!
Thanks for taking part guys
More tomorrow
Stay safe
09-07-2020, 12:24 PM
281. Why is the South Stand known as the Dunbar End?
PatHead: Juice Factory
282. What two brothers were recently training with the team?
ancient hibee: Paul and Stephen McGinn
283. What ex Southampton team mate did Ally Macleod eventually hook up with at HIBS ?
Tom Hart RIP: Gerry O’Brien
284. What player played in a European Cup tie for HIBS and never played for HIBS again?
ancient hibee: Willie Adams
285. Who did Liam Craig play his first game for HIBS against?
0762: Dumbarton
286 Who did Sir Kenny Dalglish make his unofficial HIBS debut against ? What was the score and who scored the goals for HIBS?
Tom Hart RIP: Aston Villa 4-2 Keith Wright 4
287. Who was the first former HIBS player to win the FA Cup?
ancient hibee: Willie Groves WBA 1892
288. HIBS were the second second tier club to win the Scottish Cup. Who were the first?
PatHead: East Fife
Good luck guys!
09-07-2020, 12:26 PM
283. What ex Southampton team mate did Ally Macleod eventually hook up with at HIBS ?
284. What player played in a European Cup tie for HIBS and never played for HIBS again?
286 Who did Sir Kenny Dalglish make his unofficial HIBS debut against ? What was the score and who scored the goals for HIBS?
288. HIBS were the second second tier club to win the Scottish Cup. Who were the first?
Good luck guys!
281 The Dunbar juice factory was at the end.
288 East Fife
Tom Hart RIP
09-07-2020, 12:43 PM
286 Alan Sneddons testimonial. Hibs beat Aston Villa 4-2. Keith Wright scored all four
09-07-2020, 12:44 PM
281 The Dunbar juice factory was at the end.
288 East Fife
09-07-2020, 12:45 PM
286 Alan Sneddons testimonial. Hibs beat Aston Villa 4-2. Keith Wright scored all four
Keith! Keith! Keith! Keith!
Tom Hart RIP
09-07-2020, 12:46 PM
283 Gerry O’Brien?
Tom Hart RIP
09-07-2020, 12:48 PM
287 George Farm?
09-07-2020, 12:49 PM
283 Gerry O’Brien?
09-07-2020, 12:50 PM
287 George Farm?
Sorry no
09-07-2020, 12:52 PM
282. Paul and Stephen McGinn
Green Man
09-07-2020, 12:53 PM
282. Andy and Jamie Murray?
Tom Hart RIP
09-07-2020, 01:06 PM
287 Jimmy Dunn?
09-07-2020, 01:09 PM
282. Paul and Stephen McGinn
282. Andy and Jamie Murray?
287 Jimmy Dunn?
Sorry no
09-07-2020, 01:14 PM
284. Willie Adams. goalie,Younger stuck in Germany.
09-07-2020, 01:25 PM
288 Queen's Park
Sorry no
09-07-2020, 01:26 PM
287. Willie Groves though I don’t remember it personally.
09-07-2020, 01:27 PM
287. Willie Groves though I don’t remember it personally.
👍🏿
Darling Willie Groves
09-07-2020, 02:12 PM
East Fife
Yip!
285. Who did Liam Craig play his first game for HIBS against? - Was it Malmo in Europa League?
If it's competitive - Malmo.
If it's friendly - Dumbarton.
09-07-2020, 03:43 PM
If it's competitive - Malmo.
If it's friendly - Dumbarton.
Dumbarton along with Iwan “ legs gone when I signed “ Tudur-Jones
The Malmo game disnae count :greengrin
Well done!
09-07-2020, 03:46 PM
PatHead: Juice Factory
ancient hibee: Paul and Stephen McGinn
Tom Hart RIP: Gerry O’Brien
ancient hibee: Willie Adams
0762: Dumbarton
Tom Hart RIP: Aston Villa 4-2 Keith Wright 4
ancient hibee: Willie Groves WBA 1892
PatHead: East Fife
Good luck guys!
Thanks for taking part guys!
More tomorrow
Stay safe
10-07-2020, 10:03 AM
289 How many goals did Kevin Nisbet score for Dunfermline from 32 appearances last year?
0762: 23
290. Who was the highest goal scorer during the Alex Miller years?
MartinfaePorty : Keith Wright
291. What Football first did HIBS achieve in 1886?
Tom Hart RIP: Champions of the World
292. What two ex Hibees were recently added to the Scottish Football Hall of Fame?
0762: Joe Harper and Colin Stein
293. Who scored the only goal of the match away to Lokomotiv Leipzig in the Fairs Cities Cup?
0762: Colin Grant
294. Complete this sequence John Smith, Jimmy Quinn, Dixie Deans and ......
Tom Hart RIP: Gordon Juke Box Durie Scottish Cup Final Hat-tricks
295.What is HIBS’ highest home result in Europe and who were the opposition?
oneone73: Rosenborg 9–1
296. Who am I?
A striker known as ‘The Flea ‘ I played for HIBS and I am the all time record international goalscorer for my country?
0762: Earl Jean
289. 23 goals
296. Earl Jean
10-07-2020, 10:24 AM
289. 23 goals
296. Earl Jean
👍🏿
292. Joe Harper & Colin Stein
10-07-2020, 10:26 AM
295 9-1 Rosenberg
10-07-2020, 10:28 AM
292. Joe Harper & Colin Stein
👍🏿
10-07-2020, 10:29 AM
295 9-1 Rosenberg
👍🏿
MartinfaePorty
10-07-2020, 10:37 AM
290 - Keith Wright?
10-07-2020, 10:38 AM
293. Colin Grant
👍🏿
10-07-2020, 10:38 AM
290 - Keith Wright?
Sorry no
10-07-2020, 10:39 AM
290 Pat McGinlay?
green.oracle
10-07-2020, 10:40 AM
289 How many goals did Kevin Nisbet score for Dunfermline from 32 appearances last year?
292. What two ex Hibees were recently added to the Scottish Football Hall of Fame?
293. Who scored the only goal of the match away to Lokomotiv Leipzig in the Fairs Cities Cup?
296. Who am I?
A striker known as ‘The Flea ‘ I played for HIBS and I am the all time record international goalscorer for my country?
294) Joe Harper. Hattricks in a league cup final.
10-07-2020, 10:42 AM
294) Joe Harper. Hattricks in a league cup final.
Sorry no
10-07-2020, 10:42 AM
290 Pat McGinlay?
👍🏿
MartinfaePorty
10-07-2020, 10:51 AM
290 Pat McGinlay?
Well done. That was my next guess! :greengrin
10-07-2020, 10:53 AM
10-07-2020, 10:58 AM
😁
Tom Hart RIP
10-07-2020, 11:22 AM
294 'Jukebox' Durie. hat tricks in Scottish Cup finals?
Tom Hart RIP
10-07-2020, 11:28 AM
291 - First 'world champions' after beating Preston North End?
10-07-2020, 11:30 AM
294 'Jukebox' Durie. hat tricks in Scottish Cup finals?
👍🏿
10-07-2020, 11:31 AM
291 - First 'world champions' after beating Preston North End?
👍🏿
10-07-2020, 11:52 AM
oneone73: Pat McGinlay
296. Who am I?
Thanks guys
More tomorrow
Stay safe
Tomsk
10-07-2020, 12:06 PM
290 Pat McGinlay?
👍🏿
Are you sure about this. Miller left in 1997, but McGinlay was still at the club for a few years after. Keith Wright scored 76 goals for Hibs while McGinlay scored 79. I am going guess he scored more than three goals in his last few seasons.
10-07-2020, 12:21 PM
Are you sure about this. Miller left in 1997, but McGinlay was still at the club for a few years after. Keith Wright scored 76 goals for Hibs while McGinlay scored 79. I am going guess he scored more than three goals in his last few seasons.
Thought the same myself but remember Lexo was here from late 1986 to 1997
Took it from the HIBS website
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/8749
10-07-2020, 01:19 PM
Did the math myself:
MartinfaePorty gets the point
Pat McGinlay 47 goals during Millers period
Keith Wright 72 goals
Apologies to oneone73 duff gen on website
:cb
10-07-2020, 01:20 PM
MartinfaePorty : Keith Wright
296. Who am I?
10-07-2020, 01:21 PM
Did the math myself:
MartinfaePorty gets the point
Pat McGinlay 47 goals during Millers period
Keith Wright 72 goals
Apologies to oneone73 duff gen on website
:cb
Grrr
😁
10-07-2020, 01:25 PM
Grrr
😁
Sorry mate!
:duck:
MartinfaePorty
10-07-2020, 01:29 PM
God bless VAR :greengrin:flag:
10-07-2020, 01:35 PM
No fair, Keef Keef Keef would have been my first guess. 😡
😏
11-07-2020, 11:00 AM
297 Who scored the last Scottish senior goal of the 20th century?
oneone73: Kenny Miller
298 What change did HIBS make to their strips Bristol City away in the Anglo Scottish Cup?
Tomsk: Black shorts
299 Name three HIBS players to be sent off in their final games for the club?
Tom Hart RIP: Hunter Brebner and Houchen
300 What ex hibee scored in consecutive FA Cup finals ?
berwickhibee: Bobby Johnstone
301 What was the score when George Best brought The Earthquakes into town and who scored the goals?
Tom Hart RIP : 3-1 Rodier 2 + Shades
302 What have the names Jackson Wright Hartley and Brown got in common?
( Apart from having played for HIBS)
303. What Falkirk player was involved in the tackle at Brockville when Alex Cropley broke his leg?
bigwheel: Sir Alex Ferguson
304. Who are Kilnockie FC ?
bigwheel: Shot At Glory
Good luck guys!
11-07-2020, 11:02 AM
303. Fergie...
11-07-2020, 11:03 AM
303. Fergie...
👍🏿
Boo!
11-07-2020, 11:05 AM
304. Team from shot at glory?? (think that’s what it was called)
11-07-2020, 11:07 AM
304. Team from shot at glory?? (think that’s what it was called)
👍🏿
11-07-2020, 11:09 AM
The others are trickier [emoji2]
berwickhibee
11-07-2020, 11:20 AM
300- wee bobby johnstone-nicker
11-07-2020, 11:25 AM
300- wee bobby johnstone-nicker
👍🏿
berwickhibee
11-07-2020, 11:27 AM
298- did they tape over the sponsors logo?
11-07-2020, 11:32 AM
Sorry no!
11-07-2020, 11:41 AM
#298 - first time we played in purple?
303. Fergie...
And Shades kicked the dressing room door in to get at Fergie!
11-07-2020, 11:49 AM
Sorry no!
Think that was Sporting away
Tom Hart RIP
11-07-2020, 11:50 AM
301 - Hibs 3 San Jose Earthquakes 1
They scored first and George setup the scorer with a great pass.
Shades equalised and Derek Rodier scored the other 2
Billy Bingham the NI manager was watching George with a view to picking him for the World Cup squad.
11-07-2020, 11:51 AM
301 - Hibs 3 San Jose Earthquakes 1
They scored first and George setup the scorer with a great pass.
Shades equalised and Derek Rodier scored the other 2
Billy Bingham the NI manager was watching George with a view to picking him for the World Cup squad.
👍🏿
Tom Hart RIP
11-07-2020, 12:05 PM
299 - Gordon Hunter, Grant Brebner and Keith Houchen
11-07-2020, 12:16 PM
👍🏿
11-07-2020, 12:18 PM
[emoji1531]
Did Bobby Thomson play again for Hibs after his long suspension ?
Tom Hart RIP
11-07-2020, 12:35 PM
Did Bobby Thomson play again for Hibs after his long suspension ?
He definitely did. I was there the day he hit linesman and got the six month ban. I had a great view and turns out the linesman’s decision was correct 😂
Tomsk
11-07-2020, 12:35 PM
Black shorts against Bristol.
Does Whitty not count then? 😁
11-07-2020, 12:55 PM
Black shorts against Bristol.
👍🏿
Tom Hart RIP
11-07-2020, 01:00 PM
298. We couldn’t wear Bukta top so the company made us a one off yellow top with green trim especially for that game.
11-07-2020, 01:01 PM
Does Whitty not count then? 😁
Next year it will be 5 Whitty and Dermot McCaffrey. :greengrin
11-07-2020, 01:03 PM
298. We couldn’t wear Bukta top so the company made us a one off yellow top with green trim especially for that game.
Black shorts apparently there was a clash
11-07-2020, 01:05 PM
297 Kenny Miller?
11-07-2020, 01:08 PM
297 Kenny Miller?
27/12/1999 Hibernian 2 v 2 Kilmarnock
Mixu
Kenny Miller
11-07-2020, 01:13 PM
27/12/1999 Hibernian 2 v 2 Kilmarnock
Mixu
Kenny Miller
Lucky guess then... I thought it was for the last goal in the Millennium Derby 😁
11-07-2020, 01:14 PM
Lucky guess then... I thought it was for the last goal in the Millennium Derby 😁
That’s us quits then 😜
11-07-2020, 01:17 PM
That’s us quits then 😜
👍
11-07-2020, 01:23 PM
He definitely did. I was there the day he hit linesman and got the six month ban. I had a great view and turns out the linesman’s decision was correct [emoji23]
[emoji1787][emoji106]
12-07-2020, 10:46 AM
302. What have the names Jackson Wright Hartley and Brown got in common?
( apart from having played for HIBS)
Clue: Think Scottish Cup
MartinfaePorty: All players who have left us and scored against us to knock us out of the Scottish Cup Paul Wright Paul Hartley Chris Jackson and Scott Brown
305 Who provided the pass to enable Jamie MAC to complete his hat-trick in the 5-5 game versus The Rangers ?
green.oracle: Brandon Barker
306. Who has scored the most goals for the club in the Scottish Cup?
ancient hibee: James McGhee 26
307. Where was the 1955 European Cup Quarter-Final first leg away tie versus Swedish club Djurgarden held?
green.oracle: Firhill
308. Why did HIBS put in a protest with UEFA after Leeds United eliminated us from the competition on penalty kicks in 1973?
green.oracle: Don Revie standing at half-way line during penalties
309. What club knocked Leeds United out of the competition in the next round ( see above) ?
Brog: Victoria Setúbal
310. What HIBS legend scored a hat-trick versus Hearts to open their floodlights at Tiny back in 1957?
green.oracle: Tommy Preston 3 + Joe Baker in 4-2 win
311 What former HIBS goalie was once understudy to Peter Shilton?
green.oracle: Mike McDonald
312. Who am I?
A prolific goalscorer in the lower leagues my time at Hibernian was marred by injury I scored a late goal to put HIBS into a national Cup Final when I managed to deflect a cross into the box in off my stookie. My son would help HIBS to a cup win and I would be inducted into the Scottish Football Hall Of Fame in 2017?
green.oracle: Alan McGraw
Good luck guys!
green.oracle
12-07-2020, 10:55 AM
305 Who provided the pass to enable Jamie MAC to complete his hat-trick in the 5-5 game versus The Rangers ?
307. Where was the 1955 European Cup Quarter-Final first leg away tie versus Swedish club Djurgarden held?
308. Why did HIBS put in a protest with UEFA after Leeds United eliminated us from the competition on penalty kicks in 1973?
309. What club knocked Leeds United out of the competition in the next round ( see above) ?
310. What HIBS legend scored a hat-trick versus Hearts to open their floodlights at Tiny back in 1957?
312. Who am I?
A prolific goalscorer in the lower leagues my time at Hibernian was marred by injury I scored a late goal to put HIBS into a national Cup Final when I managed to deflect a cross into the box in off my stookie. My son would be a Cup winner with HIBS and I would be inducted into the Scottish Football Hall Of Fame in 2017?
Good luck guys!
305) Brandon Barker
306) Gordon Smith
307) Firrhill
308) Don Revie was on the pitch in centre circle
309) Vitoria Arrival (Portugal)
310) Tommy Preston
311) Mike McDonald
312) Alan McGraw
305) Brandon Barker
306) Gordon Smith
307) Firrhill
310) Tommy Preston
311) Mike McDonald
312) Alan McGraw
309 is Vitoria Setubal. Setubal is on other side of Tagus river from Lisbon. Thanks for leaving us one! :greengrin
12-07-2020, 11:09 AM
309 is Vitoria Setubal. Setubal is on other side of Tagus river from Lisbon. Thanks for leaving us one! :greengrin
12-07-2020, 11:11 AM
305) Brandon Barker
306) Gordon Smith
307) Firrhill
310) Tommy Preston
311) Mike McDonald
312) Alan McGraw
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Well done!
green.oracle
12-07-2020, 11:17 AM
Damn predictive text!! Didn't notice it went with arrival, I typed setubal honest!!
Re thanks, your welcome.
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
Well done!
For 306, Joe's 9 against Peebles & his 4 at Tiny must make him hard to beat!!
12-07-2020, 11:26 AM
For 306, Joe's 9 against Peebles & his 4 at Tiny must make him hard to beat!!
Still 4 short of my guy though :greengrin
12-07-2020, 12:00 PM
306. Jim McGhee
Damn predictive text!! Didn't notice it went with arrival, I typed setubal honest!!
Re thanks, your welcome.
I guessed that was case but had to take advantage of a defensive slip. By coincidence I met the Setubal team last season. They were having a pre game meal at Penina before playing Portimonense.
12-07-2020, 01:14 PM
306. Jim McGhee
26 goals
Did question 302 ever get answered? A clue may be needed!
12-07-2020, 02:29 PM
Did question 302 ever get answered? A clue may be needed!
Scottish Cup :rolleyes:
12-07-2020, 02:30 PM
green.oracle: Brandon Barker
ancient hibee: James McGhee
green.oracle: Firrhill
green.oracle: Don Revie standing at half-way line during penalties
Brog: Victoria Setúbal
green.oracle: Tommy Preston 3 + Joe Baker in 4-2 win
green.oracle: Mike McDonald
312. Who am I?
A prolific goalscorer in the lower leagues my time at Hibernian was marred by injury I scored a late goal to put HIBS into a national Cup Final when I managed to deflect a cross into the box in off my stookie. My son would help HIBS to a cup win and I would be inducted into the Scottish Football Hall Of Fame in 2017?
green.oracle: Alan McGraw
Good luck guys!
MartinfaePorty
12-07-2020, 04:54 PM
If 302 hasn't been answered are they all players who have played for Hibs and scored against us in the Scottish cup for other teams?
MartinfaePorty
12-07-2020, 04:56 PM
Paul Wright - Killie; Darren Jackson - Dundee Utd; Paul Hartley - Hearts; Scott Brown - Celtic
12-07-2020, 04:58 PM
If 302 hasn't been answered are they all players who have played for Hibs and scored against us in the Scottish cup for other teams?
👍🏿
Simples
Chris Jackson, Paul Wright, Paul Hartley and Scott Brown
Well done
12-07-2020, 05:06 PM
Paul Wright - Killie; Darren Jackson - Dundee Utd; Paul Hartley - Hearts; Scott Brown - Celtic
Darren Jackson was before he signed for us playing for United a sore one the sort of player you love to hate if he is not on your team I was thinking Chris Jackson Stirling Albion after he left us but you had the general idea
12-07-2020, 09:14 PM
308. From memory there were also Leeds players off the pitch they were sitting on the wall of the enclosure. They were blockinqg the view of the penalty shootout. My father got a policeman to move them. These players should have been in the centre circle. One of their players also turned around and told us to F*** off. Horrible football club.
12-07-2020, 09:27 PM
I remember Alan Gordon scoring a perfectly good goal the Referee gave it but the linesman saw something no one else in ground could see and stood with his flag raised above his head
13-07-2020, 09:21 AM
313. What HIBS player missed his penalty in the shoot out versus Stirling Albion a year ago today?
Hiber-nation:Scott Allan
314. What was the name of the ex Leeds United Scottish goalkeeper that saved a penalty in a semi-final at Easter Road?
0762: John Shaw HIBS 1 v 1 Bristol City saved late penalty from Ally Macleod
315. HIBS had a record away win 11-1 at Airdrieonians. What team did hibs beat 10-2 away in the same season?
ancient hibee: Partick Thistle
316. What team did ‘Deeks’ score his only professional competitive hat-trick against?
90+2: Kilmarnock home Jan 2005
317.Hibs were the last second tier club to win the Scottish Cup. Who were the last second tier side to win the FA Cup?
ancient hibee: West Ham
318. Who am I?
A Scottish International I left HIBS and won an FA Cup, a runners up medal and a First Division runners up medal. As a Manager I won a Scottish Cup and got to the semi-final of a UEFA Cup losing by the odd goal to the eventual winners of the competition who beat Barcelona?
oneone73: George Farm
319. HIBS scored three hat-tricks in their 1973 European Cup Winners Cup run Jimmy O’Rourke scored two who scored the other one ?
ancient hibee: Alan Gordon
320. HIBS took on Captain Franck Sauzee’s ex club Olympique Marseilles in the South of France in a friendly on Bastille Day.
What was the score and who scored the goals ??
green.oracle: Marseilles 1 v 2 Hibernian Alen Orman and Garry O’Connor
Good luck guys!
13-07-2020, 09:27 AM
315 Partick Thistle
13-07-2020, 09:30 AM
319. Alan Gordon
13-07-2020, 09:35 AM
317. West Ham
13-07-2020, 09:51 AM
317. West Ham
All three correct
Well done!
Garibaldis
13-07-2020, 09:54 AM
313. Doidge?
13-07-2020, 09:56 AM
318 George Farm?
13-07-2020, 09:56 AM
316 Killie home in December/January.
13-07-2020, 09:57 AM
313. Doidge?
Sorry no
13-07-2020, 09:58 AM
316 Killie home in December/January.
Correct do you know the year?
318 George Farm?
314 David Harvey
Leith's finest
13-07-2020, 09:59 AM
314 goalie, David Harvey
13-07-2020, 10:02 AM
313 Scott Allan
314 David Harvey
Sorry no
314 goalie, David Harvey
Sorry no
13-07-2020, 10:03 AM
313 Scott Allan
13-07-2020, 10:05 AM
Correct do you know the year?
My favourite season following the Hibs 2004/2005? Mowbrays first year in charge.