View Full Version : Andy Halliday - A Sad Day For All Hibbies Everywhere

20-05-2020, 08:55 AM
I am sad to have to announce that one of our biggest heroes, Andy Halliday, is to leave The Rangers (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52728944).

I'm sure all my fellow Hibbies would like to join me in thanking Andy for all he has done for us.

Let's pour ourselves a wee drink and raise a toast to the guy

:cheers:

20-05-2020, 09:00 AM
I am sad to have to announce that one of our biggest heroes, Andy Halliday, is to leave The Rangers (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52728944).

I'm sure all my fellow Hibbies would like to join me in thanking Andy for all he has done for us.

Let's pour ourselves a wee drink and raise a toast to the guy

:cheers:

Should we think about collecting for a plaque at ER? Think a statue might be too much.

Clarence
20-05-2020, 09:01 AM
We all knew this day would come but I’m still not prepared for the emotion of the occasion.

20-05-2020, 09:15 AM
Should we think about collecting for a plaque at ER? Think a statue might be too much.

I personally don't think a statue would be overkill, but maybe a wee plaque to start with.

Something about 40 feet high on the back of the Main Stand should suffice.

20-05-2020, 09:16 AM
Get him signed Jack he knows how to win cups, you know it makes sense :duck:

Fergos
20-05-2020, 09:19 AM
Andy “calm down I’ve got this under control” cup final hero Halliday?.....legend.

Cheers bud.

20-05-2020, 09:19 AM
https://media.rangers.co.uk/uploads/2016/05/210516_scottish_cup_final_gray_goal_players_deject ed_03.jpg

EDIT: Obviously this was before all eleven players received life changing injuries.....

20-05-2020, 09:20 AM
https://media.rangers.co.uk/uploads/2016/05/210516_scottish_cup_final_gray_goal_players_deject ed_03.jpg

Just the name of the file does it for me! :thumbsup:

media.rangers.co.uk/uploads/2016/05/210516_scottish_cup_ final_gray_goal_play ers_dejected_03.jpg

20-05-2020, 09:32 AM
I actually think he's a pretty decent player.

20-05-2020, 09:34 AM
I actually think he's a pretty decent player.

Should we offer him a contract?

20-05-2020, 09:40 AM

If we sign him, the full statue option's out for me. Current players shouldn't be recognised that way. Famous Five, Pat Stanton, yes, but Andy Halliday, no, not yet anyway.

20-05-2020, 09:42 AM

EDIT: Obviously this was before all eleven players received life changing injuries.....

I love that photo.

Every ranger player in a different pose, utterly dejected. Then the stark contrast of the background - thousands of Hibs fans going absolutely nuts.

It's beautiful.

20-05-2020, 09:45 AM

Look at the ****ing scenes man, amazing.

20-05-2020, 09:46 AM
I'd take him. Decent player.

Stokesy's on fire
20-05-2020, 09:56 AM
I'd take him. Decent player.

Na rubbish partly the reason Rangers struggled in the championship and the league. Players like him and tavernier have been a waste of a jersey to them.

20-05-2020, 10:39 AM
Watching the added time at the end of the 2016 Cup Final, I get the impression Halliday was the man supposed to mark David Gray. Happy days.

20-05-2020, 10:44 AM
He'll be at Arbroath next season (or whenever the lower leagues get going again).

And Dunfermline, and Raith Rovers, and Morton, and Ayr, and Inverness, and Alloa, and Dundee, and QoS.......... :wink:

20-05-2020, 11:27 AM
He'll be at Arbroath next season (or whenever the lower leagues get going again).

And Dunfermline, and Raith Rovers, and Morton, and Ayr, and Inverness, and Alloa, and Dundee, and QoS.......... :wink:

So he's signing for The Yams, then

20-05-2020, 11:34 AM
Na rubbish partly the reason Rangers struggled in the championship and the league. Players like him and tavernier have been a waste of a jersey to them.

Behave he’s a good player.

20-05-2020, 11:40 AM
Goodnight, sweet prince

20-05-2020, 11:43 AM
Calm doon, we’ve got this, they’ve ‘hibsed it’.

Easy :faf:

20-05-2020, 12:13 PM
Will probably go somewhere like Killie and do really well.

20-05-2020, 12:17 PM
Fun slightly related fact: rangers still haven’t updated their website with the result from that game.

20-05-2020, 12:33 PM
Fun slightly related fact: rangers still haven’t updated their website with the result from that game.

I think we assaulted the website guy after the game as well.

20-05-2020, 12:49 PM
You tell me, should we?

He’s still a decent player

20-05-2020, 12:57 PM
You tell me, should we?

He’s still a decent player

RU a bit touchy today, Mr Lago?

20-05-2020, 01:04 PM
RU a bit touchy today, Mr Lago?

No not really, nice day, sitting in the sunshine, thinking of my dear wife who I lost to breast cancer a few weeks before Christmas, after that you find very little is so important as to upset you.

I was merely expressing the opinion that he was a decent player.

20-05-2020, 01:10 PM
No not really, nice day, sitting in the sunshine, thinking of my dear wife who I lost to breast cancer a few weeks before Christmas, after that you find very little is so important as to upset you.

Fairy Nuff

KdyHby
20-05-2020, 01:14 PM

Sorry for your loss. Have to agree that the death of loved ones do put eg football into perspective.

Am also enjoying the sun in my Kirkcaldy garden, planning on heading to the beach now.

Keyser Sauzee
20-05-2020, 01:45 PM
Will probably go somewhere like Killie and do really well.

I was thinking Killie or Motherwell but see him being very average at either of them.

20-05-2020, 01:52 PM
Sorry for your loss. Have to agree that the death of loved ones do put eg football into perspective.

Am also enjoying the sun in my Kirkcaldy garden, planning on heading to the beach now.

That'll be for essential work, shopping or some such? :na na:

20-05-2020, 01:59 PM
Look at the ****ing scenes man, amazing.

Photo is a thing of beauty. :flag:

20-05-2020, 02:36 PM

Thank you, I was fortunately able to have a proper funeral for her just before restrictions came into effect.

Personally I enjoy a run down to Dysart Harbour enjoy a wee wonder around there.
Enjoy the beach, cracking day for it. 👍

Roxyhibee
20-05-2020, 02:42 PM
Never seen that before. It’s a quite incredible photo. Even if you’re not even a Hibs or fitba fan.

20-05-2020, 02:49 PM
Never seen that before. It’s a quite incredible photo. Even if you’re not even a Hibs or fitba fan.

It’s ben my desktop on works computers for years now. The beauty is that on the communal P.C’s it sometimes comes up as other guys log in. Most colleagues are Rangers fans:greengrin:aok:

20-05-2020, 02:52 PM

Well that's going straight onto my desktop as part of tomorrow's celebrations :thumbsup:

20-05-2020, 02:54 PM

And not a Hibs player in sight, where were they all😄

20-05-2020, 02:56 PM
And not a Hibs player in sight, where were they all😄

Here's a clue...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8jGzK04DEw

Roxyhibee
20-05-2020, 02:59 PM
It’s ben my desktop on works computers for years now. The beauty is that on the communal P.C’s it sometimes comes up as other guys log in. Most colleagues are Rangers fans:greengrin:aok:

Hahaha. Brilliant 👍

linlithgowhibbie
20-05-2020, 03:24 PM
Could we change the words of his song to

All the Huns that day,

Thought they'd won the cup

But they mucked it up,

All the Huns that day.

:greengrin:greengrin

KdyHby
20-05-2020, 03:32 PM
That'll be for essential work, shopping or some such? :na na:

:na na: exercise, running fat-Baywatch style. :na na:

20-05-2020, 05:22 PM
Could we change the words of his song to

All the Huns that day,

Thought they'd won the cup

But they mucked it up,

All the Huns that day.

:greengrin:greengrin

Nah don't change the original.

Andy Halliday

Andy Halliday.

Thought he won the cup

But he £uc€3d it up

Andy Halliday

20-05-2020, 06:50 PM
Good buddies with Scott Allan maybe worth a punt , if it brings Scott on I’m all from it

20-05-2020, 06:56 PM
Good buddies with Scott Allan maybe worth a punt , if it brings Scott on I’m all from it

Only 28 as well. Didn't realise that. Genuinely thought he was older.

20-05-2020, 07:13 PM
Only 28 as well. Didn't realise that. Genuinely thought he was older.

Hit rate from ex rangers players ain’t too bad , Docherty , McGregor obv Glenn Middleton didn’t set the Heather alight but I’d offer him a deal not breaking the bank of course

20-05-2020, 07:24 PM
Hit rate from ex rangers players ain’t too bad , Docherty , McGregor obv Glenn Middleton didn’t set the Heather alight but I’d offer him a deal not breaking the bank of course

I'd actually agree with that.

He gets stick, and it is funny. But genuinely don't think he's a bad player at all. Good cover on the left which is needed as well.

But agree! Not breaking the bank to do so

TelaStella
20-05-2020, 08:25 PM
I’m surprised Jordan Rossiter’s name hasn’t been thrown about more, being another leaving as a free agent. Very highly thought of down south and by Gerrard from what I heard so I’m surprised they’ve given up like that. Terrible luck with injuries granted but the boys still only 23 and plenty time left to change that round.

tonyrougier123
20-05-2020, 08:45 PM
We should sign him no joke!😐
It would be nice to serenade him in a hibs strip,plus him and allan could be a decent link up in midfield.good pro as well,if we can eliminate the sevco in him😂

20-05-2020, 09:20 PM
We should sign him no joke!😐
It would be nice to serenade him in a hibs strip,plus him and allan could be a decent link up in midfield.good pro as well,if we can eliminate the sevco in him😂

Do we even know if his extensive wounds have properly healed up yet?

20-05-2020, 10:02 PM
I’m surprised Jordan Rossiter’s name hasn’t been thrown about more, being another leaving as a free agent. Very highly thought of down south and by Gerrard from what I heard so I’m surprised they’ve given up like that. Terrible luck with injuries granted but the boys still only 23 and plenty time left to change that round.

He has played 38 games in his entire career. He is very unlikely to turn it around.

20-05-2020, 10:14 PM
Halliday is one of those players who would probably have never been anywhere near Rangers had it not been for their reduced circumstances in recent years.

In saying that he's not a bad player at all. Not a player I'd be ecstatic to see at Hibs but, solely based on football, I could think of worse we could sign.

Topographic Hibby
20-05-2020, 10:23 PM
Worth pointing out that he scored a pretty decent goal that day. Poor Polar Bear left floundering - the 4th best goal that day.:greengrin

Oh, and that pic "Dejected Rangers Players" is a thing of pure beauty. Not a Hibs player in sight, while absolute chaos in the background. Perfect framing from the photographer (please tell me that he/she was from Rangers TV or similar....!!)

20-05-2020, 10:48 PM
I think we assaulted the website guy after the game as well.

There's not a The Rangers man, woman, child, dog, cat, budgie, horse, sheep, penguin, monkey, giraffe, squirrel or other The Rangers related living or dead creature or inanimate object that wasn't assualted that day. In the fullness of time I expect images to emerge of Hibernian supporters driving assault tanks and piloting ground-attack fighter jets in wave after wave of blitzkreig warfare against the innocent West of Scotland fans. The world will never know how close we came to a nuclear conflagration.

20-05-2020, 10:51 PM
Here's a clue...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8jGzK04DEw

Absolutely fu**ing gorgeous. Literally sexual.

21-05-2020, 07:43 AM
Absolutely fu**ing gorgeous. Literally sexual.

Le pervert!

21-05-2020, 08:00 AM
He’s a decent player but unfortunately for him he’d never be accepted by the vast majority of the Hibs support.

21-05-2020, 08:30 AM
He’s a decent player but unfortunately for him he’d never be accepted by the vast majority of the Hibs support.

Some things just don’t seem like a good idea. Hibs signing Andy Halliday is one of those.

Never mind Hibs fans - could he fully accept and embrace wearing a green n white shirt?

Maybe our maroon neighbours will view him as a marquee signing? He was pretty good in the Championship after all.

Tomsk
21-05-2020, 09:57 AM

And nor should he. He's a hun. Makes no secret of it.

He's also very ordinary. Hence why Rangers are punting him. I doubt he would get a game for Hibs at the moment, and we are hardly awash with quality midfielders.

21-05-2020, 10:20 AM
Here's a clue...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8jGzK04DEwI watched it on the day with that commentary.

HFC93
21-05-2020, 10:26 AM
Andy Halliday joining us would annoy a significant element our support as well as the Huns. The Halliday threads would be chaos.

Hope Ross signs him for the banter.

21-05-2020, 10:37 AM
Can you imagine if he signs for us and we end up lifting the delayed 2020 Scottish Cup?

"Andy Halliday, Andy Halliday, could have won the cup, and he won the cup, Andy Halliday..."

21-05-2020, 11:27 AM
Can you imagine if he signs for us and we end up lifting the delayed 2020 Scottish Cup?

"Andy Halliday, Andy Halliday, could have won the cup, and he won the cup, Andy Halliday..."

InchHibby
21-05-2020, 12:51 PM
I love that photo.

Every ranger player in a different pose, utterly dejected. Then the stark contrast of the background - thousands of Hibs fans going absolutely nuts.

It's beautiful.
Definitely my favourite photo, the utter dejection to the utter jubilation at the back. 👍👍

EI255
21-05-2020, 02:00 PM
Not quite up there with Sir Albert, but an individual who helped Hibernian FC [emoji106]

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

21-05-2020, 04:52 PM
Scott Allan would be delighted if we signed him, and since we need a defensive mid, I wouldn't be upset either.

21-05-2020, 05:40 PM
If we sign him, would that make us the first club to have two players who had each scored the winning goal in the same cup final?

21-05-2020, 06:07 PM
If we sign him, would that make us the first club to have two players who had each scored the winning goal in the same cup final?

Incorrect. Andy Halliday would be the only player with us to have scored a winning goal after his decisive and match-settling strike in 2016. It is painful but true.

TelaStella
22-05-2020, 11:14 AM
He has played 38 games in his entire career. He is very unlikely to turn it around.

He’s 23. McGeouch had played fewer games at near enough the same age prior to coming to us and Scott Allan even less? Just examples.

22-05-2020, 11:51 AM
The more I think of it the more I would sign him.

This next comment might draw ridicule but I could see him become a ‘well sung’ player. We’d surely sing a version of the Andy halliday song in some kind of mixed up taking the piss and backing the player combo?

22-05-2020, 12:02 PM