View Full Version : Announcement Hibs.net Back Bremen

HNA4
15-05-2020, 01:18 PM
With the return of Bundesliga football imminent, many fans from across the globe are currently selecting a German team to support for the remainder of the season. Hibs fans are no different - following days of suggestions, discussion and debate, the members of Hibs.net have voted for SV Werder Bremen as our newly adopted team.

Founded in 1899, SV Werder Bremen don a striking combination of green and white in their club colours, making them the natural choice for the members Hibs.net. As if this wasn't enough reason to back Die Grün-Weißen (The Green-Whites) for the remainder of their league campaign, the familiar sound of The Proclaimers can be heard blaring out of the tannoys at Weserstadion following a goal for the home side. What's not to love?

Werder Bremen are back in action on Monday night (19:30) with a home fixture vs Bayer 04 Leverkusen. The game is being shown live on BT Sport, with a match thread available on Hibs.net to follow alongside.

We're excited to be supporting Werder in their battle to remain in the top flight.

15-05-2020, 02:49 PM
They only got 24% of the vote therefore 76% voted for other clubs.I can feel a dossier coming on and nice Mr English is preparing an article exposing this absurd situation.

15-05-2020, 02:59 PM
No idea what's happened to them this season with them sitting 17th, but I'll enthusiastically support our struggling German brothers nonetheless. 🇳🇬

15-05-2020, 03:11 PM
Looking forward to a match day thread again. I'm going to do some swotting up on their players.

15-05-2020, 03:12 PM
They only got 24% of the vote therefore 76% voted for other clubs.I can feel a dossier coming on and nice Mr English is preparing an article exposing this absurd situation.

Good stuff!

Der Sevco will be issuing a statement imminently and calling for an independent inquiry

St Pauli Hibee
15-05-2020, 03:13 PM
Looking forward to a match day thread again. I'm going to do some swotting up on their players.

Milot Rashica is the man to look out for in the Bremen team

15-05-2020, 03:14 PM
Sick of the werder fuds on this forum tbh. Mon the eintracht

15-05-2020, 03:16 PM

Here you go: https://twitter.com/CrapFballFacts/status/171350036565856256

15-05-2020, 03:22 PM
Josh Sargent fulfilling the ginger haired striker quota. ✅

15-05-2020, 03:23 PM
Ill be supporting Dortmund and lording it over every diddy team supporter we beat on here.

murray26
15-05-2020, 03:32 PM
Ok I’m in.. when we playing 💚💚

15-05-2020, 03:46 PM
Werder Bremen ya bass!

Now what team do we hate the most?

Not really bothered why they are all Huns

St Pauli Hibee
15-05-2020, 03:50 PM
Werder Bremen ya bass!

You hate Hamburg & dislike Schalke (But nobody likes Schalke)

15-05-2020, 03:50 PM
Werder Bremen ya bass!

Bayern

ChrissyG1875
15-05-2020, 04:10 PM
Got this coming in the post, reckon I should get some loyalty pointshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200515/ca7a41598133b5c70c5191e687d4fb39.jpg

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

MGmick
15-05-2020, 04:28 PM
I feel I must exclude myself from this Werder fan group.

Immer Weider VFL :flag:

https://youtu.be/8_lB-goYtFI

Also

ABB

Anyone but Bayern. :cheers::cheers:

15-05-2020, 04:29 PM
Hope they get pumped. Borussia Mönchengladbach all the way.

15-05-2020, 04:29 PM
ltdf

15-05-2020, 04:32 PM

Right. I'm away to find the Hamburg equivalent of Sickbag, set up an undercover account and start fomenting internal unrest about Kevin Keegan.

15-05-2020, 04:34 PM

Are Bayern generally the most disliked club in Germany?

15-05-2020, 04:41 PM
Right. I'm away to find the Hamburg equivalent of Sickbag, set up an undercover account and start fomenting internal unrest about Kevin Keegan.

While you're at it, tell them Uwe Seeler was a baldy wee nyaff.

(His away goal put us out of the Fairs Cup in 1969...... not that I'm bearing a grudge....)

15-05-2020, 04:45 PM
Are Bayern generally the most disliked club in Germany?I would guess Leipzig.

My German team is Union Berlin

15-05-2020, 04:46 PM

Yeah, most clubs have a local rivalry that's the most important, but Bayern are kind of like 1990s Man United – they're rich, successful, tend to gobble up other clubs' best players, are seen as arrogant and generally everyone hates them.

The other generally disliked teams are Leipzig and Hoffenheim because they've been boosted up the leagues by massive injections of cash.

15-05-2020, 04:46 PM
Kinda a kick in the stones to the frankfurt fans that follow us.

MGmick
15-05-2020, 04:49 PM

I think so, but they are definitely the most disliked German club in my hoose :aok:

15-05-2020, 04:55 PM

Fans of a lot of clubs hate RB Leipzig and Hoffenheim, because they have very rich owners, but Bayern are the club that a lot of people just latch onto because of their success.... despite most of those people never having seen them in the flesh and having no connection with Munich.

They've also had a habit in recent times of buying up the best players of any club that looks like being able to compete with them. The best example of this is that Dortmund were the last team other than Bayern to win the Bundesliga but Bayern have taken quite a few of their best players since then.

They're generally also a totally arrogant bunch of tossers.

15-05-2020, 05:00 PM

We look down our noses at Hamburg, Hamburg is only the parking space on the outskirts of Bremen after all.

We hate Bayern.

15-05-2020, 05:05 PM
booooo

EI255
15-05-2020, 05:06 PM
Fair enough. But Sankt Pauli always for me!

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

15-05-2020, 05:07 PM
Fair enough. But Sankt Pauli always for me!

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

Launch the Celtc F......

15-05-2020, 05:15 PM

Hear hear. 'Mon our Eagle friends!

NRW_Hibbie
15-05-2020, 05:41 PM
Got this coming in the post, reckon I should get some loyalty pointshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200515/ca7a41598133b5c70c5191e687d4fb39.jpg

I wore that shirt to a friendly somewhere in the Netherlands, years ago. It earned a double take from Yogi.

15-05-2020, 05:50 PM
Delighted. Big fan of the city of Hamburg but can't support either of its teams due to allegiances with Celtic and Rangers, so Werder Bremen it is.

Zondervan
15-05-2020, 05:53 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200515/bd5236bf91c9f3ce08a681ad7cae71be.jpg

One of the finest German football chants [emoji1739]

15-05-2020, 05:53 PM

We look down our noses at Hamburg, Hamburg is only the parking space on the outskirts of Bremen after all.

We hate Bayern.

15-05-2020, 05:55 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200515/bd5236bf91c9f3ce08a681ad7cae71be.jpg

One of the finest German football chants [emoji1739]

Same could apply to Hibs and our proximity to the sea.

meeks0-7
15-05-2020, 05:58 PM
:flag:23371

15-05-2020, 06:05 PM
Went to Bremen a few years ago, went to the toilet in a pub add there was a big Hibs sticker over the door there.
Went to see Werder and it was a cracking day/evening out. Would definitely go back.

16-05-2020, 08:57 AM
Are there direct flights from Edinburgh to Bremen?
Would be easier to adopt a club you can get to, no?

16-05-2020, 09:04 AM
Are there direct flights from Edinburgh to Bremen?
Would be easier to adopt a club you can get to, no?

It's only a hour on the train from Hamburg.

16-05-2020, 09:20 AM
We are Werder Bremen, we are good
We have Celtc on the run

To the tune of ‘Seasons in the Sun’ obvs

16-05-2020, 09:21 AM

Following hibs is one big kick in the stones quite a lot of the time. They're as well getting used to it.

Stairway 2 7
16-05-2020, 09:26 AM
Has to be frankfurt, link already there

16-05-2020, 09:32 AM
As long as we can agree to hate Hamburg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BHfzF2HCcAAiQ48.jpg

....and St Pauli....

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/c3/0a/cc/c30accfd052bd6fe2a7e7d1f80700c70.jpg

16-05-2020, 09:33 AM
Oh, I see a breakaway rebel group here

16-05-2020, 09:40 AM
Oh, I see a breakaway rebel group here

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vnrJRtT94Rk

JammyDoidger
16-05-2020, 10:12 AM
Went to Bremen a few years ago, went to the toilet in a pub add there was a big Hibs sticker over the door there.
Went to see Werder and it was a cracking day/evening out. Would definitely go back.

pub called paddy's pit? Cracking wee boozer!

16-05-2020, 10:21 AM
Florian Kohfeldt out
Butcher in

16-05-2020, 10:51 AM
The Hibs Twitter account has now interacted with Werder Bremen's account. Scenes.

16-05-2020, 10:59 AM
Still Union Berlin for me. They treated us brilliantly when we were there for the friendly in 2012.

16-05-2020, 11:15 AM
Does anyone know if the returning German league is being opened up to televised on regular tv or is it still the case that fans need to pay Sky/BT/equivalent for these services?

Interested as that is one of the things you hear mentioned when down south returns for instance

andyf5
16-05-2020, 11:40 AM
Does anyone know if the returning German league is being opened up to televised on regular tv or is it still the case that fans need to pay Sky/BT/equivalent for these services?

Interested as that is one of the things you hear mentioned when down south returns for instance

I just phoned Virginmedia and they added bt sports for free as long as I signed up for 12 months (my previous deal had finished).

16-05-2020, 11:58 AM
Werder Bremen

https://youtu.be/VJLSWS_gt78

16-05-2020, 12:17 PM
pub called paddy's pit? Cracking wee boozer!

Might have been!! Was one of the pubs we went to later in the evening so by that point my attention to detail has slipped a bit for some reason.

16-05-2020, 12:21 PM
Still Union Berlin for me. They treated us brilliantly when we were there for the friendly in 2012.I love going to see Union. A few of us have adopted them as our 2nd club

16-05-2020, 12:22 PM
https://twitter.com/fcunion_en/status/1261602415276589056?s=09

16-05-2020, 12:23 PM
The Hibs Twitter account has now interacted with Werder Bremen's account. Scenes.

Got a link?

16-05-2020, 12:24 PM
Get St Pauli tae ****, they’ve got a sickening Celtic love in, half n half scarves an all.

16-05-2020, 12:24 PM
If anyone doesn’t have BT sports you can watch the games on the Ladbrokes website. I’m not sure if you have to put a bet on, but I would imagine lots of people will be having a wee flutter anyway.

16-05-2020, 12:33 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EYIfth0XQAAfKmS?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

16-05-2020, 12:48 PM
Give me more of this content

Zondervan
16-05-2020, 12:49 PM
Got a link?

https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1261601957665439744?s=21

Now seeing sense and backing Frankfurt!

16-05-2020, 01:04 PM
We are Werder Bremen, we are good
We have Celtc on the run

To the tune of ‘Seasons in the Sun’ obvs

Hamburg on the run surely? Or even 'on a bun'.

16-05-2020, 01:07 PM
As long as we can agree to hate Hamburg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BHfzF2HCcAAiQ48.jpg

....and St Pauli....

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/c3/0a/cc/c30accfd052bd6fe2a7e7d1f80700c70.jpg

Die hasslichen schwestern

hibee
16-05-2020, 02:04 PM
I’ve switched the tv off already, the Dortmund game just proves that football is nothing without the fans, so boring!

16-05-2020, 03:16 PM
I’ve switched the tv off already, the Dortmund game just proves that football is nothing without the fans, so boring!

It’s all about money

supermcginn
16-05-2020, 03:18 PM

Boring 😂😂😂 they are absolute quality.

16-05-2020, 03:28 PM
Freiburg last minute goal ruled out by VAR, I noticed in the middle of the new forearm bumping celebrations that the players were also wiping their noses on pretty much the same part of their arm. Lovely stuff.

16-05-2020, 03:41 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EYIfth0XQAAfKmS?format=jpg&name=4096x4096

That gave me a laugh. Where did it come from?

16-05-2020, 04:31 PM

Agree, it brought a smile to my face.

I followed the questions and still arrived at Fortuna Duesseldorf. It was very close to being Werder Bremen, but their past glories were much too recent for a Hibs Fan.

Fanforlife
16-05-2020, 04:49 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1261601957665439744?s=21

Now seeing sense and backing Frankfurt!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCan see big Woody in pics m8 🤣😁

16-05-2020, 04:56 PM

Agree, it brought a smile to my face.@jonworth on Twitter

https://twitter.com/jonworth

16-05-2020, 05:26 PM
Werder Bremen it is. Ja wohl! :flag:

darwenhibby
16-05-2020, 05:52 PM
Looking at these games
I thought it was a Man City home game 🤷*♂️

16-05-2020, 09:14 PM
Went to Bremen a few years back. Unfortunately the weekend we were there Werder Bremen were away, but we did go to see their under 23 colts team play Dynamo Dresden, whos fans were a bit mental.

For Dresden it was a proper game and they brought a fair support with them. I think it was the regional 3rd division they were playing in at the time.

17-05-2020, 08:15 AM
Okay, it's Verder Bremen for me. I don't have a German team until now.

😁👍🏻