View Full Version : Predict... how long will it take HMFC to get back to the Premiership?

hibsfan
14-05-2020, 12:11 PM
I am going for three years back in the championship - reckon they’ll lose a few players (probably necessary financially) and the hit will really limit who they can bring in.

14-05-2020, 12:12 PM
1st season - who realistically will win that league?

Lunatic
14-05-2020, 12:16 PM
Unfortunately, I think they'll be straight back up.
This crisis will hit everyone's funds and the deluded Hearts fans will throw more than enough money at their ***** team, to win the Championship at the first time of asking (which may not be next year).

I also think they'll punt/lose/whatever their precious Stendal and replace him with an experienced Scottish manager who knows how to play in the Championship. It's going to be eye bleeding stuff.
Actually, they may already have the man for the job on their books.....

14-05-2020, 12:16 PM
1st season - who realistically will win that league?I agree, especially if Inverness continue with their steadfast loyalty.

14-05-2020, 12:17 PM
Straight back.They’ll be streets ahead of the rest of the league.

14-05-2020, 12:21 PM
They would need to implode to fail to get promoted. They will get their act together I’d imagine.

The key will be getting off to a good start, if they stutter the natives will become beyond restless.

14-05-2020, 12:22 PM
I think they will struggle, not good enough to beat Hamilton or St.Midden.
3yrs
Oh add in that they will hopefully go into admin soon with a points deduction, cross fingers

14-05-2020, 12:25 PM
I hope that they only manage to get into the play offs. Then lose to a last minute goal in Paisley.

14-05-2020, 12:26 PM
I think they will struggle, not good enough to beat Hamilton or St.Midden.
3yrs
Oh add in that they will hopefully go into admin soon with a points deduction, cross fingers

Admin? They’ve no bank debt?

Topographic Hibby
14-05-2020, 12:52 PM
Don't see anyone in that League giving them a game, TBH. One season and they'll be back.

When next season starts and when it ends, might be the more entertaining and drawn-out question....:agree:

14-05-2020, 12:58 PM
Depends what players they have. The last time they went down they had a full season beforehand to breed the youngsters at the top level, avoiding a total wipe out that summer like we had. This time they have a squad full of duds who care more about the money in their pocket than the club they play for. Dundee will probably be the team to challenge them.

14-05-2020, 01:04 PM
Can't see Dundee or ICT pushing them to hard so it will be 1 season only.

Unless celtic give Dundee some quality loan players 😁

14-05-2020, 01:09 PM
Straight back up unless the season has to be curtailed and the clubs vote for no relegation/promotion.

14-05-2020, 01:12 PM
Straight back up unless the season has to be curtailed and the clubs vote for no relegation/promotion.

If stendal is there it may be a wee while. The gegenpress just aint championship strategy and he has nowt elsein his locker....

14-05-2020, 01:13 PM
Straight back up, especially if they keep Stendel. He’s the relegation, promotion yo-yo specialist

14-05-2020, 01:15 PM
Straight back up. Thats fine by me as long as they had to spend a season down there.

14-05-2020, 01:15 PM
Is it official they are down then ?

14-05-2020, 01:19 PM
2022/23 season.

14-05-2020, 01:20 PM
Straight back up, especially if they keep Stendel. He’s the relegation, promotion yo-yo specialist

They aren’t streetwise enough as it stands. I think we will be pleasantly surprised this time.

14-05-2020, 01:22 PM
Easily first season. Hoofing works in that league.

14-05-2020, 01:35 PM
IMO depends how long the Covid problem hangs around. No Championship club has anything like the overheads of Hearts and it will not be cheap for them to restructure their bloated squad. Can see them falling into Admin and taking 2 or 3 years to recover from this.

14-05-2020, 01:46 PM
Straight back up. It'll be the weakest championship in years. Would love to see Dundee rile them again though

14-05-2020, 02:05 PM
If they're ever finally relegated, then one season.

They'll have a massive budget compared to the other clubs, despite all their recent overspending.

14-05-2020, 02:07 PM
If they're ever finally relegated, then one season.

They'll have a massive budget compared to the other clubs, despite all their recent overspending.

They had a massive budget compared to about half of the other clubs in the premier league.

14-05-2020, 02:07 PM

Thought I missed something too. I still doubt they'll be relegated in the first place.

14-05-2020, 02:10 PM

14-05-2020, 02:17 PM
Straight back up, I'm afraid!
Last time they were there they did it with mostly kids and a few journey men!
Can't bring myself to say who else was in the league that year, but when they think they have been done, they come out fighting like in our derby games!!!

14-05-2020, 02:18 PM
Dunfermline could be a surprise. They’ve improved bit by bit for some time.

EI255
14-05-2020, 02:36 PM
It's a shockingly poor league. If they don't make it back up first time of asking then they'll need to wheel Potter back in to the helm [emoji848]

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

EI255
14-05-2020, 02:37 PM
Dunfermline could be a surprise. They’ve improved bit by bit for some time.How many seasons are we told this? They always flatter to deceive.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

14-05-2020, 02:40 PM
The interesting thing will be if football can't be played at that level.

Hearts have huge ongoing costs and they would be impacted to a huge degree if lower league football was to be mothballed. They wouldn't last very long.

14-05-2020, 02:49 PM
It will take them a single season so with Covid19 we should see them again sometime around August 2024?

14-05-2020, 04:10 PM
Probably do it in one season. But that will all depend on who is still there. If as suggested they are looking to bin a whole heap of players and after forcing them to take wage cuts will they have a decent team? Will they have a squad of unmotivated work shy players? Will their hoof chase scratch kick bite style just be the same as the rest of that league.
Anyhoo hopefully it is an extended stay

14-05-2020, 04:13 PM
If they don’t get promoted 1st season things could get very interesting.

You would except with huge wages for players like Boyce they will come straight back up.

Boyce will probably be top scorer in that league too if I was a betting person.

The thing is though we know that league can be tricky if you don’t come top. Playoffs such a gamble.

They will be the team everyone raises their levels against next season and with possibly a new manager and reshaped team if they don’t get a good start the pressure will mount on Budgie even further. I except her to leave if they do come back up though so even then that will bring some interesting times as ownership changes.

14-05-2020, 04:14 PM
Probably first time. Although I’m still not convinced that they’ll definitely be relegated.

14-05-2020, 04:18 PM
If Hearts are not relegated then Celtic will not win the league-so they will be relegated.

Callyballybe
14-05-2020, 04:21 PM
No doubt in my mind they'll come straight back up (unfortunately.) They battered their way through the championship last time they went down and I imagine it'll be much of the same. Even if it means running to the fans to give them yet more money.

Still not convinced they'll definitely go down either. Will believe it when I see it officially.

14-05-2020, 04:23 PM
If you HAD to be relegated this would be the season to do it.

Shortened season next year, ****ty games behind closed doors, opposition teams with finances stretched to breaking point and the prospect of further disruption if this virus resurfaces widely in the winter.

Hearts will be back up before the league is operating as we recognise it just now. For this reason if they were wise they should have just swallowed the bitter pill and looked the bigger people for accepting their fate instead of squealing like pigs.

14-05-2020, 04:27 PM
one season.... backers will ensure they have a decent squad.

blaikie
14-05-2020, 04:28 PM
Hope they do a Sunderland and go down even further!

Back to back relegations would be fantastic entertainment.

14-05-2020, 04:28 PM
If Hearts are not relegated then Celtic will not win the league-so they will be relegated.

Plus Dundee Utd need to be promoted so someone has to get RELEGATED!

Reconstruction isn’t happening.

RELEGATION is happening 100% before in next 10 days.

14-05-2020, 04:30 PM
Probably first time. Although I’m still not convinced that they’ll definitely be relegated.

They finished in the relegation position. What ya on about?

14-05-2020, 04:35 PM
They had a massive budget compared to about half of the other clubs in the premier league.And their autocratic leader does have a habit of diverting their donations away from their original intention.

I'm guessing this time, having totally arsed up the million pound pitch she might well be persuaded to go for another vanity project, why bother about finishing off the megastand now? Or sticking a roof over the media area?

gillythehibby
14-05-2020, 04:48 PM
I hope that they only manage to get into the play offs. Then lose to a last minute goal in Paisley.

Naw, Dundee :greengrin

gillythehibby
14-05-2020, 04:51 PM
Hope they do a Sunderland and go down even further!

Back to back relegations would be fantastic entertainment.

aye this :thumbsup:

14-05-2020, 04:58 PM
I can’t see other than Dundee, any of the other championship teams being stronger than this season
I’m sure Budge and Co, will retain a healthy budget, to make sure they get up at the 1st attempt

14-05-2020, 05:03 PM
The championship might be a good place to send players on loan this season.

SingaporeHibs
14-05-2020, 05:26 PM
The current squad would be back in one season but there will be very few of them remaining I would imagine. Won’t be easy to build a team from scratch with all this going on. Players will be less keen on moving up and down the country for a while.
Will be a difficult start and then it remains to be seen,

14-05-2020, 06:28 PM
I'm a pessimist.

I look at the Hearts squad and the financial pressure that particular club is under, then compare them to the other second tier clubs and come to the conclusion that they will be down there for only one season.

14-05-2020, 09:00 PM
I think they’ll be down for only the one season. As someone else pointed out they’ll have the money to win that league.

However, they had the budget this season to be in the top 4 and we all know how that went for them.

14-05-2020, 09:11 PM
The championship might be a good place to send players on loan this season.

I wonder if Christian Doidge fancies a few months in Dundee next season? :greengrin

14-05-2020, 09:15 PM
I wonder if Christian Doidge fancies a few months in Dundee next season? :greengrinScott Allan too?We'd end up playing them in the play offs lol.

14-05-2020, 10:25 PM
If they're doing a 2nd series of Fudland 'Til I Die then they'll lose in the playoff final.