PDA

View Full Version : Does Scottish Football need a radical re-shape?

theonlywayisup
13-05-2020, 07:27 PM
Now that the fighting has hopefully stopped, the question has to be asked does Scottish Football need a radical re-shape?

Everything that's been discussed to date has been a reaction to events imposed on us by Covid-19. However, that doesn't diminish the fact that Scottish Football has stagnated for years. We've had many strategic reviews and false dawns. Yet, we never seem to get it right!

Six years ago, Barry Hearn gave an address at Hampden. "I'm not an expert on Scottish football," he told his audience of club chairmen, chief executives and managing directors, "and listening to your [financial] figures it doesn't seem like you are either."

Hearn told them "I'm selling out darts arenas for a sport that's not visible to the naked eye. I'm saying to the world, 'You need to be involved in this'. I can sell live fishing. Live fishing! I'm good and you're not good enough."

Six years ago, he said "The fact that you've got a Scottish Premiership without a sponsor [that is now the situation again], do you know how long you'd work for Barry Hearn if that was the case? You wouldn't have time to take your coat off. You'd be in the car park."

How do we change this?

Do we need a "Barry Hearn" type person to help move Scottish Football forward? The current infighting can only be bad for Scottish Football, which probably highlights that many put self interest ahead of the greater good. So, how do we break this selfish view?

Waxy
13-05-2020, 07:35 PM
Now that the fighting has hopefully stopped, the question has to be asked does Scottish Football need a radical re-shape?

Everything that's been discussed to date has been a reaction to events imposed on us by Covid-19. However, that doesn't diminish the fact that Scottish Football has stagnated for years. We've had many strategic reviews and false dawns. Yet, we never seem to get it right!