View Full Version : Wee stinker hibs lockdown quiz

13-05-2020, 03:12 PM
Another wee lockdown quiz just to keep the grey matter going guys

Just a bit of fun might need a wee bit of research

Answers on thread fine

1. Which ex-HIBS player scored the winning goal against HIBS in a Scottish Cup Final at Hampden?

Stanley Williams 1947 Hibernian 1 v 2 Aberdeen Brog

2. Name three HIBS players to get sent off on their debuts?

Bamba CWG

Dermot McCaffrey Richie White

James McPake Hibee Mackenzie

3. What TV Presenter would score on his debut for HIBS against Hearts at Tynecastle and would later go on to play for Hearts?

Brian Marjoribanks CWG

4. Name three players to score hat-tricks on their debuts for HIBS?

Gordon Smith Martinfaeporty

James Brogan Iggy Pope

Willie Groves Iggy Pope

5 How many penalties did Eddie Turnbull score for HIBS ?

53 Brog

6.Complete this sequence Morris Stevenson Joe McBride Gordon Chisholm and ......?

Stewart Beedie debut goals versus Rangers Peevemore/Brog

7 How many goals did Willie Hamilton score when he won Man of the Match in the famous silver salver incident on the 1965 Tour of America?

7; Greenoracle

8 Complete the sequence Michael Hart and Edwin De Graaf and X and Y?

Tudor Jones and Rowan Vine double European debuts Brog

9 Complete this sequence Jimmy ORourke Willie Toner Alex Scott and...........?

Kenny Davidson all made their debuts in Europe Brog

10 What is HIBS’ record score and who were the opposition?

1881 Black Watch 22-1 Barney McGrew

Good luck guys!

13-05-2020, 03:16 PM
2. Bamba is one of them (courtesy of an earlier quiz :greengrin)

3. Brian Marjoribanks

1. Nijinsky :)

13-05-2020, 03:22 PM

3. Brian Marjoribanks

Ha Ha!

3 Correct

1 Correct but I meant as an attacker for the opposition who used to play for us. :greengrin

13-05-2020, 03:25 PM
10. 15-1. Peebles Rovers

13-05-2020, 03:28 PM
10. 15-1. Peebles Rovers

Sorry no I meant highest score ever recorded

13-05-2020, 03:29 PM
10. 22-1 against Black Watch Highlanders

13-05-2020, 03:30 PM
Sorry no I meant highest score ever recorded

22-1 (I think) vs Black Watch Highlanders

13-05-2020, 03:30 PM

Booooooooooooooooo!

13-05-2020, 03:31 PM
22-1 (I think) vs Black Watch Highlanders
Correct 1881

13-05-2020, 03:35 PM

13-05-2020, 03:37 PM
9 is I think Kenny Davidson. I think they all made their debuts in Europe.

13-05-2020, 03:39 PM

3. Brian Marjoribanks

Affirmative Bamba is one of them

13-05-2020, 03:40 PM
9 is I think Kenny Davidson. I think they all made their debuts in Europe.
Correct

13-05-2020, 03:42 PM
3. Dermot McCafferey

13-05-2020, 03:42 PM
3. Dermot McCafferey
Correct

HibeeMackenzie
13-05-2020, 03:43 PM
James mcpake sent off at ibrox on his debut

13-05-2020, 03:44 PM
James mcpake sent off at ibrox on his debut
Spot on!

13-05-2020, 03:46 PM
I think Willie H scored 9 goals in Canada.

13-05-2020, 03:49 PM
I think 6 is debut goals against rangers - I can't think who though

13-05-2020, 03:50 PM
I think Willie H scored 9 goals in Canada.
Sorry no

13-05-2020, 03:51 PM

Very very warm and there ain’t been many

13-05-2020, 04:01 PM

Think Peeve is correct & its Stuart Beedie in the Souness game!

13-05-2020, 04:02 PM
Sorry no

My 1st thought was 8, I know it was something outrageous!

13-05-2020, 04:04 PM

Looks like it

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6311

Correct

Sorry still no

Argylehibby
13-05-2020, 04:05 PM
Very very warm and there ain’t been many

Stuart Beedie in the game Souness got sent off?

13-05-2020, 04:06 PM
Stuart Beedie in the game Souness got sent off?

13-05-2020, 04:07 PM
I think you asked Turnbull question before & I'm sure it's 50+ including 3 in one game vs Celtc. Can you imagine getting 3 pens in 1 game vs them!!

13-05-2020, 04:08 PM
Another wee lockdown quiz just to keep the grey matter going guys

Just a bit of fun might need a wee bit of research

Answers on thread fine

1. Which ex-HIBS player scored the winning goal against HIBS in a Scottish Cup Final at Hampden?

2. Name three HIBS players to get sent off on their debuts?

Bamba CWG

Dermot McCaffrey Richie White

James McPake Hibee Mackenzie

3. What TV Presenter would score on his debut for HIBS against Hearts at Tynecastle and would later go on to play for Hearts?

Brian Marjoribanks CWG

4. Name three players to score hat-tricks on their debuts for HIBS?

5 How many penalties did Eddie Turnbull score for HIBS ?

6.Complete this sequence Morris Stevenson Joe McBride Gordon Chisholm and ......?

7 How many goals did Willie Hamilton score when he won Man of the Match in the famous silver salver incident on the 1965 Tour of America?

8 Complete the sequence Michael Hart and Edwin Ge Graaf and X and Y?

9 Complete this sequence Jimmy ORourke Willie Toner Alex Scott and...........?

Kenny Davidson all made their debuts in Europe Brog

10 What is HIBS’ record score and who were the opposition?

1881 Black Watch 22-1 Barney McGrew

Good luck guys!

Did Stokes score a hat trick on his first game back after signing a deal with Lennon? Summer’s night in the league cup if I remember correctly.. we won 5-0 I think, and he got at least two.

I appreciate that was far from his original ‘debut’

13-05-2020, 04:08 PM
I think you asked Turnbull question before & I'm sure it's 50+ including 3 in one game vs Celtc. Can you imagine getting 3 pens in 1 game vs them!!
Final answer? :greengrin

13-05-2020, 04:12 PM
Did Stokes score a hat trick on his first game back after signing a deal with Lennon? Summer’s night in the league cup if I remember correctly.. we won 5-0 I think, and he got at least two.

I appreciate that was far from his original ‘debut’

Scored two his second game back for Lenny but question based on original debut,,,,sorry

13-05-2020, 04:18 PM

53?

13-05-2020, 04:19 PM
53?

Correct

Well done

13-05-2020, 04:23 PM

53?

13-05-2020, 05:39 PM
8. Is it David Stephens and Francis Dickoh?

green.oracle
13-05-2020, 05:43 PM

7 goals for Willie Hamilton in the one game.

13-05-2020, 05:44 PM
8. Is it David Stephens and Francis Dickoh?
Sorry no

13-05-2020, 05:47 PM
7 goals for Willie Hamilton in the one game.
Correct

Well done

They told him to take the day off but when he found out there was a silver salver up for grabs he said he would like to play HIBS won 15-1 and when he went up to collect his trophy it would not fit into his hold-all so he folded it in two over his knee. Allegedly :greengrin

13-05-2020, 05:52 PM
I think #1 is a guy called Williams who played for us during the war & scored for Aberdeen in 47 cup final.

13-05-2020, 05:54 PM
Correct

Well done

They told him to take the day off but when he found out there was a silver salver up for grabs he said he would like to play HIBS won 15-1 and when he went up to collect his trophy it would not fit into his hold-all so he folded it in two over his knee. Allegedly :greengrin

He had no idea about the salver but he definitely bent it in 2 to make it fit into his bag.

13-05-2020, 05:55 PM
I think #1 is a guy called Williams who played for us during the war & scored for Aberdeen in 47 cup final.

Correct

Stanley Williams played for us approx 25 times scored the winner at 1-1 from a tight angle think he came from South Africa

MartinfaePorty
13-05-2020, 05:59 PM
1 of those for no.4 must be Gordon Smith

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

13-05-2020, 06:00 PM
1 of those for no.4 must be Gordon Smith

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk
Correct his debut versus Hearts at Tiny in a 5-3 win

13-05-2020, 06:17 PM
He had no idea about the salver but he definitely bent it in 2 to make it fit into his bag.

According to the “HIBS Quiz Book” by Tom Wright P 186 He was given the day off but asked to play when he found about the salver and scored seven consecutive goals :confused:

berwickhibee
13-05-2020, 06:28 PM
Number 4- Stephen dobbie??

13-05-2020, 06:28 PM
According to the “HIBS Quiz Book” by Tom Wright P 186 He was given the day off but asked to play when he found about the salver and scored seven consecutive goals :confused:

Tommy's a slaver, sorry mate! 😁 It' s a great story but it's grown legs over the years. The 2nd part is however 100% correct, I was told it by Jim O, King Pat & Willie's wife!

13-05-2020, 06:29 PM
Tommy's a slaver, sorry mate! 😁 It' s a great story but it's grown legs over the years. The 2nd part is however 100% correct, I was told it by Jim O, King Pat & Willie's wife!

13-05-2020, 06:31 PM
4 Arthur Milne

13-05-2020, 06:35 PM
4 Arthur Milne

Sorry no scored in a 1-1 draw versus Queens Park at Hampden

13-05-2020, 06:38 PM
#8, Rowan Vine & Tudor Jones. I felt queasy writing that. 1st 2 made debuts vs Maribor, 2nd 2 vs Malmo.

13-05-2020, 06:38 PM
Number 4- Stephen dobbie??
Sorry no scored a hatrick versus Montrose on his seventh appearance

13-05-2020, 06:46 PM
#8, Rowan Vine & Tudor Jones. I felt queasy writing that. 1st 2 made debuts vs Maribor, 2nd 2 vs Malmo.

Correct

Well done

Now for a bonus 10 points give me the next two in the link? :greengrin

13-05-2020, 07:36 PM

I seen that very salver at his widows house and bent in two it definitely had been.

13-05-2020, 07:39 PM

A wee walk round the stadium tour with TW convinces me he often forgets what he thinks he’s read somewhere.

13-05-2020, 07:43 PM
4. James McGhee and Hamilton Handling.

13-05-2020, 07:47 PM
A wee walk round the stadium tour with TW convinces me he often forgets what he thinks he’s read somewhere.
Aye he kicked me oot because I was shouting oot all the answers :greengrin

13-05-2020, 07:48 PM
4. James McGhee and Hamilton Handling.
No but close :greengrin

13-05-2020, 08:02 PM
4.Willie Donnelly and James Brogan.

13-05-2020, 08:06 PM
Correct

James Brogan

13-05-2020, 08:09 PM
Correct

James Brogan

And Willie Donnelly? 3 v Dunfermline on his debut?

13-05-2020, 08:13 PM
And Willie Donnelly? 3 v Dunfermline on his debut?

Nope only scored one HIBS won 5-2

13-05-2020, 08:14 PM
Paddy Smith. That Willie Donnelly couldnae kick *****.

13-05-2020, 08:17 PM
Paddy Smith. That Willie Donnelly couldnae kick *****.

Scored a hatrick versus The Pars in his third appearance a Scottish Cup replay

13-05-2020, 08:22 PM
One of several AN Unknown’s then as iHibs isn’t showing its hand.

13-05-2020, 08:23 PM
Willie Groves.

13-05-2020, 08:26 PM
Willie Groves.

Correct !!!!!

Well done

The only other more recent up to date one is Tommy Bogan

13-05-2020, 08:31 PM
Well done guys

Well played a lot of hard work there

If anyone can come back to me with the last remaining pair of European Debutants there will be a prize up for grabs

Please don’t bend it

13-05-2020, 09:09 PM
Well done guys

If anyone can come back to me with the last remaining pair of European Debutants there will be a prize up for grabs

Please don’t bend it

Stevie Mallan & Adam Bogdan!!!

13-05-2020, 09:11 PM
Stevie Mallan & Adam Bogdan!!!

Correct!

Well done

PM me your address in London Brian will pop it in the post tomorrow

13-05-2020, 09:12 PM
I seen that very salver at his widows house and bent in two it definitely had been.

I never saw Mrs H after they moved to Canada. Was a lovely girl. Thanks for confirmation.

13-05-2020, 09:13 PM
Correct!

Well done

PM me your address in London Brian will pop it in the post tomorrow

Billy, save it until our next Windsor meet. I'll have something for you mate. Thx for all the great work. GGTTH!

13-05-2020, 09:16 PM
Billy, save it until our next Windsor meet. I'll have something for you mate. Thx for all the great work. GGTTH!

OK will set it aside until next time you are up

13-05-2020, 09:53 PM
Well done guys

Please don’t bend it

I was going down the European debutants route next, but was put off by the fact that you asked for 2 players and I'm sure Liam Craig made his debut at the same time as Vine and Tudor-Jones against Malmo?

13-05-2020, 10:01 PM
I was going down the European debutants route next, but was put off by the fact that you asked for 2 players and I'm sure Liam Craig made his debut at the same time as Vine and Tudor-Jones against Malmo?

He did !

My answer was Mallin and Bogdan but technically that answer was also correct Vine, Tudor Jones and Liam Craig as debutants so had to give it

In fairness I had Vine and Tudor Jones scribbled down but not Liam Craig

Apologies

I did open it up to the House towards the end of the thread so anyone looking for double European debutants would have found it