View Full Version : Should we Adopt a German Team?

12-05-2020, 07:36 PM
With the Bundesliga all set to resume and coverage of it available should we adopt a German Team? Match day thread and the like?

Vote for your choice below. I've gone for Werder Bremem for obvious reasons.

12-05-2020, 07:43 PM
Been looking for the Dortmund score for years so easy for me......

12-05-2020, 07:44 PM
Werder Bremen for me also :agree:

12-05-2020, 07:45 PM
Kaiserslautern.

12-05-2020, 07:46 PM
Düsseldorf for me.

Great set up there and the Matty Jack link means it’s the ideal club for us to adopt.

When we were across there last February we watched The Dundee game in his bar and there were a few hibbies in there, think to call it a supporters club would be pushing it but there were a few.

12-05-2020, 07:47 PM
SC Paderborn purely because I know absolutely nothing about them

Doh Rae Me
12-05-2020, 07:47 PM
Werder Bremen for me also, purely due to a musical bottle opener, I was given that plays a nippy chant every time you crack open a new bottle.

12-05-2020, 07:48 PM
Werder Bremen. Rivals of Hamburg, who have a love-in with Rangers, and St Pauli, who have a love-in with Celtic. Perfect. :agree:

malcolm
12-05-2020, 07:49 PM
https://www.vfl-wolfsburg.de/en/news-detail/news-detail/detail/news/keeping-in-touch0/

Bit like hibs in colours and approach

12-05-2020, 07:50 PM
Who was the team who had a film about their
Cup win? There's a group on here that supports them?

Edit: Eintracht Frankfurt. Voted. 'Mon the Eagles.

Zambernardi1875
12-05-2020, 08:02 PM
werder bremen play 500 miles after every goal :greengrin easy choice to make :flag:

12-05-2020, 08:03 PM
Düsseldorf for me.

Great set up there and the Matty Jack link means it’s the ideal club for us to adopt.

When we were across there last February we watched The Dundee game in his bar and there were a few hibbies in there, think to call it a supporters club would be pushing it but there were a few.

Seconded. Was there almost exactly a year ago.

The Baldmans Comb
12-05-2020, 08:04 PM
Frankfurt definitely as a bunch of them are already Hibs sympathisers I think through friendships on Hibs Bounce and often visit Easter Road.

Pure mental guys in a nice way.

12-05-2020, 08:07 PM
I love that it looks like we're signing ourselves up for a relegation battle. :greengrin

12-05-2020, 08:11 PM
I love that it looks like we're signing ourselves up for a relegation battle. :greengrin

I've always thought they should reconstruct the German leagues anyway.

Zondervan
12-05-2020, 08:14 PM
Frankfurt definitely as a bunch of them are already Hibs sympathisers I think through friendships on Hibs Bounce and often visit Easter Road.

Pure mental guys in a nice way.

Naturlich, oder?

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200512/d71b3e0c69cf2989b40c101b5fc87eb8.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200512/bab8bad3ce63f37fd17a20a01860927c.jpg

12-05-2020, 08:16 PM
Frankfurt. Met a bunch of their fans over there and they also support Hibs.

12-05-2020, 08:17 PM
Are the rules not‘Anybody but Leipzig’ ?

12-05-2020, 08:18 PM
Are Koln still kicking around?

If so, that’s my choice.

12-05-2020, 08:27 PM
I've always thought they should reconstruct the German leagues anyway.

Our German team will go down with dignity. :aok:

12-05-2020, 08:32 PM
Hibs, Scotland, Werder Bremen and Blau Weiss Dahlewitz in that order. C'mon the Werder.

On a different note, it's amazing how you can take a dislike to posters on here that you previously respected just by reading one thread :greengrin🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

12-05-2020, 08:40 PM
No votes for Augsburg despite having Edinburgh boy Alfred Finnbogason in their ranks.

12-05-2020, 08:45 PM
Wolfsburg

12-05-2020, 08:47 PM
Düsseldorf for me.

Me to. Ex wife has penfriend and we visited often. Her kids were Fortuna fans and we twinned the teams

St Pauli Hibee
12-05-2020, 08:50 PM
St Pauli !!!

Renfrew_Hibby
12-05-2020, 08:52 PM
Don't know why but always liked Schalke 04!

12-05-2020, 09:09 PM
Relegation in the Bundesliga if its cancelled.

12-05-2020, 09:14 PM
For a whole number of reasons I shouldn't type this but it's Dresden for me. I saw them play Bremen II about 10 years ago in 2nd or 3rd division and their fans were brilliant, mental and slightly scary all at the same time. Crap colours, lots of baggage but...

Chorley Hibee
12-05-2020, 09:16 PM
Been to watch Mainz on numerous occasions now and made a few very good friends there who have adopted Hibs are their Scottish side.

A great small city to visit too.

12-05-2020, 09:19 PM
No way we should be adopting The The Rangers...oh you mean Bundesliga?

12-05-2020, 09:20 PM
https://www.vfl-wolfsburg.de/en/news-detail/news-detail/detail/news/keeping-in-touch0/

They’re the VW Factory team. Good luck to them but they don’t need our support.

I’ve got a soft spot for Dortmund because Klopp’s team was great, but happy to cheer on the green team.

eezyrider
12-05-2020, 09:32 PM
I've always looked out for the St Pauli results - unfortunately there's already a link with them and Celtic.

EZ

12-05-2020, 09:34 PM
Bayern?

Rot Weiss Essen for a wee team

hibby rae
I've liked Mönchengladbach for a while now. Went to see them play a few years back against Dortmund, if they lost they were pretty much relegated and if Dortmund won, they won the league. Gladbach won one nil and ended up staying up via the play-offs, since that season they've turned a corner and have more or less finished in the European slots since.

The atmosphere was tremendous and the supporters around us were great guys, they ended up taking us to the supporters club after the game and we drank with them till we had to run for a cab to catch the last train to Düsseldorf, one of them even gave me his scarf.

They also enjoyed us introducing them to some Scottish songs during the game, so they were all singing 'In your Dortmund Slums' and 'If I Had the Wings of an Eagle' :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

wpj
12-05-2020, 09:38 PM
Düsseldorf for me.

Düseldorf for me as well

12-05-2020, 10:05 PM
No votes for Augsburg despite having Edinburgh boy Alfred Finnbogason in their ranks.

Not true :greengrin

Bavarian and not FC Bayern. They'll do for me. :aok:

StevesFamau5
12-05-2020, 10:27 PM
Hertha BSC for me, 8 years ago I was at a game v Hoffenheim sat above the Ostkurve, was absolutely brilliant experience and the locals were brilliant with us.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

12-05-2020, 10:29 PM
Dortmund. I got a dortmund top back from Germany as a bairn and i like the way they operate and the way they play.

13-05-2020, 12:03 AM
Rot Weiss Essen for a wee teamBooooo, they cuffed us in the first European cup!

13-05-2020, 12:08 AM
St Pauli !!!me tae. great part of Hamburg. the auld skull and crossbones flag flying defiantly. some great wee bars despite some having a lot of celtic flags. c'mon the Pauli

13-05-2020, 12:13 AM

Visited a couple of times. Great Club.

13-05-2020, 12:14 AM
Booooo, they cuffed us in the first European cup!

No they didn't. We cuffed them.

13-05-2020, 12:34 AM
Werder Bremen for me ... When ITV4 started showing Bundesliga highlights a few years ago I adopted them coz of the colours ( obviously ) and the fact that for some reason I liked their name.

13-05-2020, 02:27 AM
I've been to a few different games in Germany but the first result I look for is F95 (Fortuna dusseldorf).

wpj
13-05-2020, 02:39 AM
I've been to a few different games in Germany but the first result I look for is F95 (Fortuna dusseldorf).

Posted this before but worth reposting

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2o5jww

13-05-2020, 02:59 AM
Rot Weiss Essen for a wee team

The league they play in isn't restarting, which is a shame as they were in the promotion mix.

No they didn't. We cuffed them.

And then we did it again in 2005 for good measure! :greengrin

13-05-2020, 06:06 AM
werder bremen play 500 miles after every goal :greengrin easy choice to make :flag:

Yepp, I was about to say the same. I bought a WB top in a sale a couple of years ago despite knowing nothing about them, looked them up and saw this.

Fate.

wpj
13-05-2020, 06:29 AM
Yepp, I was about to say the same. I bought a WB top in a sale a couple of years ago despite knowing nothing about them, looked them up and saw this.

Fate.

I have this Fortuna Düsseldorf top, I love it

https://images.app.goo.gl/P2zeQuujAopR2yAa6

Sorry, cant do links on my phone

13-05-2020, 06:34 AM
Bayern Munich, only because it would be nice to support a team that won most of the time. :greengrin

13-05-2020, 06:39 AM
Werder Bremen for me too. Their colours are more consistently Hibs-y than Wolfsburg and reading that post about them playing the Proclaimers after a goal has sealed it.

Mon die grün-weißen!

Dmas
13-05-2020, 06:47 AM
Eintracht Frankfurt for me got hooked on Bundesliga about 5 years ago now, absolutely love it, was in Munich same time they where playing Frankfurt didn’t manage to persuade the Mrs to goto the game but had a few beers with Frankfurt fans they where great guys so much so I adopted them even after a mightily impressive tour of the Allianz the next day.

Some really good teams to follow, can’t wait for Saturdays goal show and then dinner time kick off for Frankfurt...fans be a big miss though!

13-05-2020, 07:30 AM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDIzwTCmcwE

StPauli
13-05-2020, 07:31 AM
[QUOTE=St Pauli Hibee;6170852]St Pauli !!

My thoughts as well all day everyday Forza Sankt Pauli

13-05-2020, 07:31 AM

StPauli
13-05-2020, 07:37 AM
You might be surprised St Pauli for me please

13-05-2020, 07:42 AM

Eh?

13-05-2020, 07:47 AM
Eh?

Confusion with Reims I assume: play in red and white, begins with R, close enough…

13-05-2020, 07:51 AM
Confusion with Reims I assume: play in red and white, begins with R, close enough…

Probably should've taken the post time into account. 😉

vincipernoi
13-05-2020, 08:00 AM

If so, that’s my choice.

Their club song is to the tune of loch lomond

Lendo
13-05-2020, 08:05 AM
Got to be SC Freiburg for me. Frieburg is the greenest city in Germany so fits perfectly with the Greenest club in Scotland.

13-05-2020, 08:08 AM

HibbyDave
13-05-2020, 08:09 AM
Eintract Frankfurt

13-05-2020, 08:53 AM

If so, that’s my choice.
Aye, that’s who I voted for I love their song.
https://youtu.be/hlZOj_vyYl4

Willis1875
13-05-2020, 08:57 AM
Leverkusen for me, went to a game there around 2013 not the most impressive stadium or surroundings but enjoyable experience all the same

Clarence
13-05-2020, 09:06 AM
So I’m glad we are all in agreement. I have to say I like the fact that us Hibbies are a mixed bag and not like the Hamburg/St Pauli old firm clones.

13-05-2020, 09:21 AM
Fortuna Düsseldorf - Matty Jack was a coach there.

13-05-2020, 09:24 AM

Another one

They also have the best stadium in Germany. You should visit it some time, mate

13-05-2020, 09:27 AM
Hibs, Scotland, Werder Bremen and Blau Weiss Dahlewitz in that order. C'mon the Werder.

On a different note, it's amazing how you can take a dislike to posters on here that you previously respected just by reading one thread :greengrin🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Scheiss Dahlewitz!

GreenT
13-05-2020, 09:30 AM
With the Bundesliga all set to resume and coverage of it available should we adopt a German Team? Match day thread and the like?

Vote for your choice below. I've gone for Werder Bremem for obvious reasons.

Werder Bremen - they play in green and they play in the nearest to where my Mum came from. Like Dortmund too tho

zitelli62
13-05-2020, 09:46 AM
Hamburg cause we are the
Cant even say it.

Na forget that there as bad as sevco 2012 hope they get ***** every week.

13-05-2020, 10:32 AM
I wish all the folk who have posted for Dusseldorf would vote as well...or do we have a few sufferers of John Nelms Disease?:wink:

13-05-2020, 10:33 AM
I wish all the folk who have posted for Dusseldorf would vote as well...or do we have a few sufferers of John Nelms Disease?:wink:

Yeah, I was wondering about that as well.

Maybe their votes have been caught in the Firewall....

13-05-2020, 10:40 AM
If I had to pick one it would be Borussia Mönchengladbach. Only reason being I remember them from my top trump football cards when I was a laddie and quite liked their name!

13-05-2020, 11:27 AM
Scheiss Dahlewitz!

They've got a tidy firm, you're ****ing marked ya ****!!! :take that

13-05-2020, 11:45 AM
I voted for Mainz purely so they wont feel left out.

13-05-2020, 11:45 AM
They've got a tidy firm, you're ****ing marked ya ****!!! :take that

Aye, they look scary right enough

13-05-2020, 11:46 AM
I voted for Mainz purely so they wont feel left out.

Do you even know where it is?

13-05-2020, 11:54 AM
Yeah, I was wondering about that as well.

Maybe their votes have been caught in the Firewall....

I think they've been negotiating directly with the Werder voters. :cb

Gloucester Hibs
13-05-2020, 12:00 PM
Was going to say Hannover 96 as I have family that stay there and visited many times, however it appears they are no longer in the Bundesliga!

13-05-2020, 12:01 PM
Been to watch Mainz on numerous occasions now and made a few very good friends there who have adopted Hibs are their Scottish side.

A great small city to visit too.

:thumbsup: A beautiful wee city not far along from Frankfurt.

13-05-2020, 12:12 PM
Borussia Mochengladbach

EI255
13-05-2020, 12:40 PM
Love Sankt Pauli. Love their fans. Love their stadium and everything about them and what they stand for. An incredible institution.

Also fond of Union Berlin.

EI255
13-05-2020, 12:45 PM

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2o5jwwThat's common for most big German supports to away games. St Pauli have a disco carriage and a 'smoking' carriage on their trains.... The Union Berlin guys have similar.
Or should that read 'carnage'? [emoji16]

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

EI255
13-05-2020, 12:48 PM
Hamburg cause we are the
Cant even say it.

Na forget that there as bad as sevco 2012 hope they get ***** every week.Glad you said that! They have a tie-up with Glasgow's The Rangers.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

13-05-2020, 01:09 PM

Always reminds me of the old German prostitute joke.

Two prostitutes chatting in Mainz, one says to the other "Mainz ist ein Drecksloch" and the other answers "Meins auch".

13-05-2020, 01:14 PM
Why a German team?
Dont understand the St.Pauli love in.
If th3res goin tae be an adoption it should be a small team, imo. Every football supporter it seems has a semi for them, how aboot adopting a Scandi or Dutch team or some wee obscure team fae the highland league and plan the odd trip. Even a team fae Belgium

St Pauli Hibee
13-05-2020, 01:37 PM
If th3res goin tae be an adoption it should be a small team, imo. Everyone football supporter it seems has a semi for them, how aboot adopting a scandi or Dutch team.

St Pauli are by no means a "Big Club" per say, but do have a huge fanbase with fanclubs worldwide. The left wing politics are the reason behind the huge fanbase rather than the football as i have been to enough games now to know that avoiding relegation to the 3. Bundesliga is regarded as a good season due to the club having very little funds to spend on players.

On your Scandi Team that would be Hammarby in Sweden & Sparta Rotterdam in Holland

13-05-2020, 01:43 PM
Why a German team?
If th3res goin tae be an adoption it should be a small team, imo. Every football supporter it seems has a semi for them, how aboot adopting a Scandi or Dutch team or some wee obscure team fae the highland league and plan the odd trip. Even a team fae Belgium

Because the German league is restarting this weekend.

13-05-2020, 01:59 PM
Because the German league is restarting this weekend.

Thanks for replies, maybe an idea to follow small clubs like Sparta or smaller, all small clubs could use a bit of support just now and in the future, wasnt there a group of Danish guys that followed Stenhousemuir?

HiBremian
13-05-2020, 02:19 PM
What can I say? :greengrin:greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOamcDh80QA

13-05-2020, 02:19 PM

No, as I said they seemed a bit left out with no votes. Are they a particularly odious outfit or what?

13-05-2020, 02:26 PM
Is the bundesliga still dominated by former West German teams? I know Leipzig are from the old East, but are there any others. I think maybe Hertha were East, but I’m not counting them. :greengrin

Smaragd
13-05-2020, 02:55 PM
Germania Pappenburg. We played them in a pre-season friendly in 89 or 90

13-05-2020, 02:59 PM
Is the bundesliga still dominated by former West German teams? I know Leipzig are from the old East, but are there any others. I think maybe Hertha were East, but I’m not counting them. :greengrin

Hertha are from West Berlin, Union Berlin are from East Berlin.

Before Leipzig's rise and Union Berlin's recent promotion, for quite a while the only East German team in the Bundesliga was Energie Cottbus. They were relegated some years ago and I think they might now have fallen into the regional leagues.

hibby rae
13-05-2020, 04:41 PM

Very much so. If you have a spare 10 minutes this is a really interesting video which details why the DDR clubs fell away and the league is dominated by former West German teams:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0t5v_rPH14

Side note: I went to watch Dynamo Berlin play Chemie Leipzig a couple years back, I went into the away end with the Chemie fans as they wear green.

13-05-2020, 06:40 PM
Hertha are from West Berlin, Union Berlin are from East Berlin.

Before Leipzig's rise and Union Berlin's recent promotion, for quite a while the only East German team in the Bundesliga was Energie Cottbus. They were relegated some years ago and I think they might now have fallen into the regional leagues.

And Hansa Rostock, they had a couple of seasons in the Bundesliga. They've also got a ship on their badge.

Crazyhorse
13-05-2020, 06:52 PM
Are the rules not‘Anybody but Leipzig’ ?

Not for me. I have a mate from Leipzig and him and his kid have season tickets there so I would lend them my support.

13-05-2020, 06:59 PM
German football behind closed doors will be surreal. Their fans and atmosphere are superb.

13-05-2020, 07:02 PM
Another one

They also have the best stadium in Germany. You should visit it some time, mate

Sounds a good shout intact! I need a holiday after this 😁

13-05-2020, 07:03 PM
Always reminds me of the old German prostitute joke.

Two prostitutes chatting in Mainz, one says to the other "Mainz ist ein Drecksloch" and the other answers "Meins auch".

Tut tut!

Crazyhorse
13-05-2020, 07:06 PM
Why a German team?

For Belgium I have a fondness for Leuven because I studied there (and was back at the stadium for the Hibs pre-season tour years ago - great night!).
But my team in Belgium is KV Mechelen who I went to see play when I lived there (just a random chose a team to follow while living there for a year decision) and bizarrely they went and won the European Cup Winners Cup that season. I couldn’t get to the final but was at the stadium when they brought the cup home. That really was a crazy night!!
Sometimes football is magical.

14-05-2020, 08:00 AM
Thanks for replies, maybe an idea to follow small clubs like Sparta or smaller, all small clubs could use a bit of support just now and in the future, wasnt there a group of Danish guys that followed Stenhousemuir?

Sparta aren't a German team. :confused:

14-05-2020, 08:20 AM

Sadly, yes. RB Leipzig are only reasonably successful because of all the money being pumped into them and are basically just a corporate brand.

I actually had high hopes for a team called Sachsen Leipzig a few years back. They were kind of an offshoot from Chemie Lepzeig, played in green and white and were based at the Zentralstadion (where RB Leipzig now play).

Sadly they went to the wall and there's now a couple of small offshoot clubs playing in front of even smaller crowds.

THIS (https://www.thefalse9.com/2020/04/leipzig-east-germany-football-history.html) article is quite a good potted history of the East German clubs, Leipzig in particular.

Newry Hibs
15-05-2020, 08:12 AM
Handy BBC guide to which German team should be supported ….

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52632680

15-05-2020, 08:40 AM
Union Berlin for me

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

15-05-2020, 09:12 AM
No, as I said they seemed a bit left out with no votes. Are they a particularly odious outfit or what?

Where's Mainz?

Naw? Never mind.

15-05-2020, 09:15 AM
I wish all the folk who have posted for Dusseldorf would vote as well...or do we have a few sufferers of John Nelms Disease?:wink:Just waiting for the WhatsApp to give the go ahead. I imagine it'll be right after Hearts remember to do theirs[emoji6]

15-05-2020, 09:23 AM
Where's Mainz?

Naw? Never mind.

Germany I'm guessing

15-05-2020, 09:26 AM
Germany I'm guessing

Maybe it's only funny if you speak German.

Actually, maybe it's only funny in my head.

Yep, it's the second one. :wink:

Are they discussing the return of football in Greece yet?

15-05-2020, 09:47 AM
Sparta aren't a German team. :confused:

Never said they were, it was an answer to someone that mentioned other countries teams

15-05-2020, 09:52 AM
Never said they were, it was an answer to someone that mentioned other countries teams

Ah right. It just doesn't read like that on the thread.

15-05-2020, 09:54 AM
👍

15-05-2020, 10:21 AM
OK, for those that aren't yet convinced by many arguments as to why we should adopt Fortuna (used to be big in European football, best stadium, funny name).....

How about the fact they're actually named after the Greek Goddess of Good Fortune (e.g. you'll get lucky)?

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51ZHGtuh1nL._SL1170_.jpg

15-05-2020, 02:53 PM
Think he is still the interim second string coach !

15-05-2020, 02:57 PM
Where's Mainz?

Naw? Never mind.
Rhinelands

Victor
15-05-2020, 03:04 PM
Schalke, because they beat Hearts, they are due a title and their Ultras were entertaining.

15-05-2020, 03:15 PM
Handy BBC guide to which German team should be supported ….

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52632680

Why should you support Wolfsburg? ... you think it's brilliant they once had a manager called Wolfgang Wolf

StirlingHibee
15-05-2020, 03:22 PM
Werder Bremen - perfect choice given they are arch rivals to Hamburg (who cosy up to Rangers) and when we go to visit them (just to catch a game of football) then our club colours won't look out of place in the home end!!!!

15-05-2020, 03:26 PM
Dortmund. Took the wee man to one of there games and loved it. Everyone we met was so welcoming and we had a great couple of days.

darwenhibby
16-05-2020, 09:29 PM
Werder Bremen
My cousin who posts on here adopted them as his German team.
Plus his dad celebrated them winning the league in 93??
Actually looking forward to there game on Monday v Leverkusen who recently pumped the Huns

wpj
16-05-2020, 09:58 PM
Dortmund. Took the wee man to one of there games and loved it. Everyone we met was so welcoming and we had a great couple of days.

My ex is from Essen but her dad was from Dortmund so she follows them. She streams matches to me on her phone. Probably get a stream this weekend, hopefully Fortuna

scm70nyd1973
17-05-2020, 09:21 AM
It's always been Werder Bremen for fairly obvious reasons but having had a quick swatch at their Wiki page I have some concerns about a slight parallel with our poppy thieving chums 🤔- extract as follows :

In 1986, Werder hosted Bayern Munich (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Bayern_Munich) in the penultimate match of the season; Bremen needed a win to secure their second Bundesliga title. In the 88th minute, with the score of 0–0, they were awarded a penalty kick (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penalty_kick_(association_football)), which Michael Kutzop (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Kutzop) took. He missed, as he hit the right goalpost; the game ended 0–0. Bayern won their last match, but Werder lost 1–2 to VfB Stuttgart (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/VfB_Stuttgart), and Bayern took the title.

17-05-2020, 09:32 AM
Still at the bar, I could only carry 3

Did you remember the crisps?

Dan Sarf
17-05-2020, 09:55 AM
My God they're thorough, those Germans, are they not?

17-05-2020, 11:43 AM

17-05-2020, 02:50 PM

They're concerned about a repeat of the Ryan Christie/Alfredo Morales incident.

birdspotter
17-05-2020, 10:46 PM
Girlfriend and I took in last year's German cup game between Hertha v Bayern Munich in front of 74K. A brilliant atmosphere with Bayern winning 3-2 AET. Loved it so much we both planned to take in the derby between Hertha v Union Berlin. Flights, tickets and hotel sorted but then coronavirus reared its ugly head!
Now you would think I would be supporting Hertha, but no I have taken Borussia Munchengladbach.
The reason being I love the name, but also growing up as a kid at the time they where a powerhouse in German football. Ohhh and their colours are cool too, just check out their green top, a thing of beauty.

17-05-2020, 11:35 PM
The league they play in isn't restarting, which is a shame as they were in the promotion mix.

And then we did it again in 2005 for good measure! :greengrinah, this covid thing is affecting my memory

18-05-2020, 12:11 AM
Girlfriend and I took in last year's German cup game between Hertha v Bayern Munich in front of 74K. A brilliant atmosphere with Bayern winning 3-2 AET. Loved it so much we both planned to take in the derby between Hertha v Union Berlin. Flights, tickets and hotel sorted but then coronavirus reared its ugly head!
Now you would think I would be supporting Hertha, but no I have taken Borussia Munchengladbach.
The reason being I love the name, but also growing up as a kid at the time they where a powerhouse in German football. Ohhh and their colours are cool too, just check out their green top, a thing of beauty.

Also following ‘Die Fohlen’. A tidy win to kick off the comeback #gladtobebach

EI255
18-05-2020, 08:37 AM
Hard worked win for St. Pauli yesterday but a massive 3 points. Backed them too so decent day all round!

They seemed to have a fan inside the stadium too shouting out loud. Nice touch!

18-05-2020, 08:25 PM
Can we change it to somebody else now please

18-05-2020, 08:30 PM

I said Dortmund second post in and nae **** listened......... :greengrin

18-05-2020, 10:21 PM

I note the winking smiley.

I feel though that now is the time to apply some of our famous Hibernian perseverance.

We(rder) are sure to put up a better showing away to Freiburg.

If not then we must find the German for sack the board!

joebakerforever
19-05-2020, 12:46 AM

Did they not blast a foghorn when they scored a few years ago?

19-05-2020, 09:12 AM
I said Dortmund second post in and nae **** listened......... :greengrin

We’re Hibs fans, it would be far too easy to go for Dortmund ffs

19-05-2020, 09:25 AM
Once upon a time, there was a Donkey, a Dog, a Cat and a Cockerel.

And they played in a flat back four for Werder Bremen....

https://www.dltk-teach.com/rhymes/bremen/images/bremen-musicians.jpg

19-05-2020, 10:09 AM
Mainz done not too bad......just saying....

19-05-2020, 12:33 PM
I haven’t really watched German football before. From the games I watched at the weekend there seems to be a very high incidence of headed goals.

Is this usual for that league?

19-05-2020, 01:20 PM
I haven’t really watched German football before. From the games I watched at the weekend there seems to be a very high incidence of headed goals.

Is this usual for that league?

Apparently, it's the first time that Leverkusen have ever scored with three headers in a single game. So it's definitely unusual for them

19-05-2020, 01:33 PM
Werder's manager explaining that the new social distancing rules caused their defensive problems last night.

19-05-2020, 01:50 PM
Werder's manager explaining that the new social distancing rules caused their defensive problems last night.

Did nobody tell him you don't have to socially distance yourself from the ball?

19-05-2020, 02:23 PM
Did nobody tell him you don't have to socially distance yourself from the ball?
Hearts have always done that with the relentless shelling the ball upfield so it comes down with ice on it.......

29-05-2020, 08:17 PM
Werder Bremen
My cousin who posts on here adopted them as his German team.
Plus his dad celebrated them winning the league in 93??
Actually looking forward to there game on Monday v Leverkusen who recently pumped the Huns

I bump into him now and again, he's a right knob.

07-06-2020, 11:45 AM
Bremen in action currently. At home to Wolfsburg. 0-0 after 15 minutes.

07-06-2020, 01:13 PM
0-1 to Wolfsburg on the 82nd minute.

07-06-2020, 05:07 PM
0-1 to Wolfsburg on the 82nd minute.

Bremen looking good for the drop.

07-06-2020, 08:36 PM
Bremen vs Hibs friendly July 2021 please.

08-06-2020, 06:41 AM

Yes please

08-06-2020, 06:53 AM
Yes please

Daffy Duck gif.

08-06-2020, 07:00 AM

Nah, can't we play a decent German team?