View Full Version : Single parent family?
09-05-2020, 10:50 AM
We were sitting out yesterday when a teacher arrived to give some books etc for the 2 girls in family at bottom. When talking to the Mum the teacher asked about her husband she said he does not live there.
As I don't have kids what would she say that for as the husband does live there.
09-05-2020, 10:55 AM
We were sitting out yesterday when a teacher arrived to give some books etc for the 2 girls in family at bottom. When talking to the Mum the teacher asked about her husband she said he does not live there.
As I don't have kids what would she say that for as the husband does live there.
Housing benefits?
09-05-2020, 11:38 AM
Housing benefits?
Do you get more if single? I am just curious to it as I guessed it was along tbose lines.
09-05-2020, 11:40 AM
Benefit fraud, no doubt about it.
09-05-2020, 11:40 AM
Is it her husband that's living with her?
09-05-2020, 11:55 AM
Is it her husband that's living with her?
4 kids wife and husband, it is a tight area my balcony is only 10 feet or so above their garden. No choice in hearing stuff. The teacher asked the kids and they just didn't know what to say wife chimed in saying he visits sometimes.
It's bullcrap he lives there. That has pissed me off on top of the complete lack of doing any of the lockdown rules.
09-05-2020, 12:00 PM
Do you get more if single? I am just curious to it as I guessed it was along tbose lines.
He'll be registered as living somewhere else and she'll be getting her benefits as a single parent. He'll probably be working and living rent free.
09-05-2020, 12:18 PM
He'll be registered as living somewhere else and she'll be getting her benefits as a single parent. He'll probably be working and living rent free.
Nae working in their lol.
09-05-2020, 12:25 PM
Loads of people are at it. Worst ones are those that guy buys and owns a place and then moves his single Mrs in with the kids who claims a rent check and gets his mortgage paid for while he lives there. Ridiculous you can getaway with that in this day in age.
09-05-2020, 12:26 PM
Nae working in their lol.
He'll be getting his benefits at another address, maybe even going halfers on the rent check with an unscrupulous landlord.
09-05-2020, 12:30 PM
When I think about it, scary how many people I know who are screwing the system.
Just_Jimmy
09-05-2020, 12:38 PM
4 kids wife and husband, it is a tight area my balcony is only 10 feet or so above their garden. No choice in hearing stuff. The teacher asked the kids and they just didn't know what to say wife chimed in saying he visits sometimes.
It's bullcrap he lives there. That has pissed me off on top of the complete lack of doing any of the lockdown rules.Report it then? It can be done so you are anonymous. If it's benefit fraud they should be shopped.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
09-05-2020, 12:49 PM
Report it then? It can be done so you are anonymous. If it's benefit fraud they should be shopped.
Why bother doing that when it’s easier just to whine about it on a Hibs message board?
09-05-2020, 02:23 PM
Why bother doing that when it’s easier just to whine about it on a Hibs message board?
Indeed it is easier to do it very much like whining about the goverment on other threads.
09-05-2020, 03:33 PM
Indeed it is easier to do it very much like whining about the goverment on other threads.
Is there a number you can call to shop the government? That line must be busy.
09-05-2020, 04:10 PM
Is there a number you can call to shop the government? That line must be busy.
So only post if you can't do something about an issue? So because I can call up and shop them don't post about it? So your actual point is what?
09-05-2020, 04:14 PM
Pet peeves thread? Why bother when you just post on that thread about stuff? You made same comments on that thread? Or is it just folk you disagree with on other stuff that matters but whining is OK if they agree with you on other stuff you find important?
09-05-2020, 04:52 PM
So only post if you can't do something about an issue? So because I can call up and shop them don't post about it? So your actual point is what?
My actual point is that your analogy doesn't work.
09-05-2020, 05:14 PM
My actual point is that your analogy doesn't work.
It does don't vote for them.
09-05-2020, 05:26 PM
It does don't vote for them.
Now it works, so long as you assume that it takes five years to make a phone call.
09-05-2020, 05:32 PM
Now it works, so long as you assume that it takes five years to make a phone call.
Why you focused on my response to a post that was giving FA to the subject? That sort of pish OK for you then I assume?
pollution
09-05-2020, 05:40 PM
A colleague at work did this for several years. Bare faced cheek even when called in by the DSS for an interview.
She and her partner lived with their two children on a combined income £45k per year company car included.
When I asked her why she said it was to pay the nursery fees of £600 per month.
09-05-2020, 06:17 PM
A colleague at work did this for several years. Bare faced cheek even when called in by the DSS for an interview.
She and her partner lived with their two children on a combined income £45k per year company car included.
When I asked her why she said it was to pay the nursery fees of £600 per month.
Bottom line is there are 4 kids in house and its not their fault so it's not as easy IMO on shopping them.
09-05-2020, 07:04 PM
Bottom line is there are 4 kids in house and its not their fault so it's not as easy IMO on shopping them.
My brother in law has been with his Mrs for over 10 years. In that time they have had four kids. He earns £24k a year while she doesn't work so gets all her benefits and the rent and council tax paid (he lives there). Think its mental how they've managed to get away with it for so long. Not the only ones either, know loads of people screwing the system. Grass them in? No chance, family and friends so what can you do.
09-05-2020, 07:10 PM
My brother in law has been with his Mrs for over 10 years. In that time they have had four kids. He earns £24k a year while she doesn't work so gets all her benefits and the rent and council tax paid (he lives there). Think its mental how they've managed to get away with it for so long. Not the only ones either, know loads of people screwing the system. Grass them in? No chance, family and friends so what can you do.
Your brother in law, so his missus is your sister?
09-05-2020, 07:14 PM
Don’t grass him then, but don't moan about tax rates, public spending cuts etc. because like it or not you're part of the problem.
09-05-2020, 07:31 PM
Don’t grass him then, but don't moan about tax rates, public spending cuts etc. because like it or not you're part of the problem.
No there not, the people doing it are the problem. So just saying then you had a child doing it and said I will never speak to you again if you grassed them, you still grass on them? Of course you can answer this anyway you like as can't prove otherwise.
speedy_gonzales
09-05-2020, 09:08 PM
Like a few others here, I know people close to me playing the system like a fiddle, I've tried to reason with them but they think they're playing the hand that was dealt.
As has been posted on this board over the years, they bite back that more tax money has been lost through multi-nationals off-shore accounts than individuals claiming a wee bit rent back.
I would take little comfort from "grassing up", that and the fact there a real chance that people I know and care for could become financially destitute should the whole scam be exposed!
09-05-2020, 09:34 PM
I hate the whole demonisation of people claiming benefits. I think a lot of it stems from the 'poverty porn' boom. Channel 5 in particular seem to love to churn out utter garbage depicting whole communities as layabouts who are playing the system to the detriment of everyone else. There seems a school of thought that those who are out of work or in need of a bit of help should live joyless existences in a state of penance for their 'sins'. A single penny spent on what we might see as a luxury or a form of enjoyment is a penny too much.
In reality it is a small minority who are playing the system. The whole benefits system is a bureaucratic nightmare intended to be disuasive. A lot of people are entirely unaware of any entitlements they may have and many are going without help because of red tape or feelings of guilt.
The minority who are 'at it' cause their greatest damage by creating an environment in which the line between the genuine and the chancers becomes blurred. They allow a climate of suspiscion to remain in place and those who need help to be unfairly lumped into an 'underclass'. Whilst I'd struggle to grass them up I have only disdain for the cheats. Their actions are directly responsible for the vilification of those in genuine need; they play their part in ensuring the climate is right for continued Tory rule and in turn harm their neighbours.
murray26
09-05-2020, 09:35 PM
Just leave it FFS.. If your happy within your own life then who cares..
09-05-2020, 11:17 PM
Just leave it FFS.. If your happy within your own life then who cares..
Plenty of people care about benefit fraud and rightly so.
Frankhfc
09-05-2020, 11:42 PM
Report it then? It can be done so you are anonymous. If it's benefit fraud they should be shopped.
Yeah right. Lets be hard on the most hard pressed in society yet allow the richest to rape us all. Nice one Cyril.
murray26
10-05-2020, 12:10 AM
Plenty of people care about benefit fraud and rightly so.
The biggest fraudsters are at the so called high end off society.. life’s not fair but what’s the point of fixating on what other people are doing.. just be happy that your doing the right thing yourself and help others less fortunate if you can.. life’s to short to be bitter..
10-05-2020, 04:45 AM
Yeah right. Lets be hard on the most hard pressed in society yet allow the richest to rape us all. Nice one Cyril.
Totally agree, benefit fraud amounts to a tiny proportion of the money that rich people cost this country in tax avoidance. If you play the benefits system you’re classed as ****, if you play the tax system you’re classed as clever. I don’t really agree with either, but there’s a huge amount of hypocrisy at play, and a lot of it is fuelled by right wing media demonising the poor.
10-05-2020, 07:11 AM
The biggest fraudsters are at the so called high end off society.. life’s not fair but what’s the point of fixating on what other people are doing.. just be happy that your doing the right thing yourself and help others less fortunate if you can.. life’s to short to be bitter..
There’s a difference to helping those less fortunate and turning a blind eye to those that defraud the benefit system to boost their already manageable income. As long as it doesn’t directly affect you you’re fine with it, right who’s starting the looting rota, I’m in 🙄
10-05-2020, 07:24 AM
Cabin fever is setting in the curtain twitchers and finger waggers are out in force.
10-05-2020, 08:30 AM
Totally agree, benefit fraud amounts to a tiny proportion of the money that rich people cost this country in tax avoidance. If you play the benefits system you’re classed as ****, if you play the tax system you’re classed as clever. I don’t really agree with either, but there’s a huge amount of hypocrisy at play, and a lot of it is fuelled by right wing media demonising the poor.
:agree: 1 Jacob Rees Mogg or Arron Banks will cause more loss to the economy by hiding away millions if not billions in tax havens than thousands of benefit fraudsters and will probably be honoured with titles and honors. Still doesn't make benefit fraud right though.
10-05-2020, 09:15 AM
It is completely irrelevant what other fraud by rich people goes on. Its nothing to do other than a calculated decision to make life easier by commiting fraud.
murray26
10-05-2020, 09:53 AM
It is completely irrelevant what other fraud by rich people goes on. Its nothing to do other than a calculated decision to make life easier by commiting fraud.
I think most poor people do it to keep there heads above water but almost all rich people do it out of greed / entitlement.. it’s sad that people feel the need or want to do it at all.
10-05-2020, 09:54 AM
Grass them up then.
10-05-2020, 09:54 AM
[QUOTE=Captain Trips;6167581]It is completely irrelevant what other fraud by rich people goes on. Its nothing to do other than a calculated decision to make life easier by commiting fraud.[/QUOTE
How do you know you're neighbour is committing benefit fraud ?
10-05-2020, 10:18 AM
[QUOTE=Captain Trips;6167581]It is completely irrelevant what other fraud by rich people goes on. Its nothing to do other than a calculated decision to make life easier by commiting fraud.[/QUOTE
How do you know you're neighbour is committing benefit fraud ?
They stated it to a teacher.
10-05-2020, 10:20 AM
I think most poor people do it to keep there heads above water but almost all rich people do it out of greed / entitlement.. it’s sad that people feel the need or want to do it at all.
Irrelevant why rich do it. Indeed nobody should.
10-05-2020, 10:24 AM
Grass them up then.
Simple enough point, here is mine only requires one word answer. Would you grass them?
10-05-2020, 10:34 AM
We have a single mum neighbour across the road who is currently paying about £40 (forty) per month in rent for a 3 bedroom housing association house. A house that for almost 2 years she's used as a seaside holiday home as she now lives in Rennes (about an hour away) with her gendarme boyfriend. A house that most on a 3 year waiting list would love to have.
I told her to sort it out by the summer or I'd talk to someone at the housing association (she knows that they're among my clients).
10-05-2020, 10:57 AM
Simple enough point, here is mine only requires one word answer. Would you grass them?
I wouldn’t. It seems to be bothering you though.
10-05-2020, 11:20 AM
I wouldn’t. It seems to be bothering you though.
"Don’t grass him then, but don't moan about tax rates, public spending cuts etc. because like it or not you're part of the problem."
According to Hibs Class.
No I am just asking about you seem as bothered about it being asked about.
10-05-2020, 11:24 AM
"Don’t grass him then, but don't moan about tax rates, public spending cuts etc. because like it or not you're part of the problem."
According to Hibs Class.
You have every right to feel aggrieved and I agree with you. No difference to the outrage on here at folk fiddling the full price and concession tickets.
10-05-2020, 11:37 AM
Off topic slightly but I’d be interested to find out how the roll out of universal credit has affected levels of “benefit fraud”.
My dads got a flat in Edinburgh, and since it went to universal credit he’s barely received anything. Tenant pays some of the rent, some of the time. He eventually started eviction proceedings and when the tenant got the letter, they text him to say “can’t believe I’ve just had this in the post, and after I sent you £400 yesterday as well”. The rent is £650 and it was the first time theyd sent anything in 3 months!!
The tenant isn’t claiming anything they shouldn’t be, but they keep it for themselves!
10-05-2020, 11:47 AM
You have every right to feel aggrieved and I agree with you. No difference to the outrage on here at folk fiddling the full price and concession tickets.
Cheers, I get impression some folk have an opinion on subject that appears more based on the person posting than content.
10-05-2020, 12:24 PM
Off topic slightly but I’d be interested to find out how the roll out of universal credit has affected levels of “benefit fraud”.
My dads got a flat in Edinburgh, and since it went to universal credit he’s barely received anything. Tenant pays some of the rent, some of the time. He eventually started eviction proceedings and when the tenant got the letter, they text him to say “can’t believe I’ve just had this in the post, and after I sent you £400 yesterday as well”. The rent is £650 and it was the first time theyd sent anything in 3 months!!
The tenant isn’t claiming anything they shouldn’t be, but they keep it for themselves!
Has your Dad considered using an agent to collect the rent? It saves a lot of hassle, particularly with difficult tenants.
10-05-2020, 12:25 PM
According to Hibs Class.
I’m not bothered in any way. You’ve started a thread about it so it’s something that must be causing you concern. I’ve no time for people taking the piss and using the benefits system to avoid having to work, I just hate the attitude towards people on benefits from sections of the media and society.
10-05-2020, 01:11 PM
Your brother in law, so his missus is your sister?
No, he is my wife's brother. Her whole family are at it. Her mum, dad (their separated), other brother, aunty, uncle and cousins all screwing the system one way or another. My wife and as her older brother are the only ones not at.
murray26
10-05-2020, 02:07 PM
No
Just_Jimmy
10-05-2020, 02:08 PM
Yeah right. Lets be hard on the most hard pressed in society yet allow the richest to rape us all. Nice one Cyril.There's a difference between helping the hardest up and committing fraud.
If you're happy paying extra so people can take the piss more fool you.
10-05-2020, 02:18 PM
I’m not bothered in any way. You’ve started a thread about it so it’s something that must be causing you concern. I’ve no time for people taking the piss and using the benefits system to avoid having to work, I just hate the attitude towards people on benefits from sections of the media and society.
None of that is what has been discussed on here it's about one family nothing to do with the media or society take on benefits. If that bothers you start a theread on it. This is about fraud not the I am sure 1000s of people on benefits and doing everything to not be.
10-05-2020, 02:27 PM
Maybe the hard pressed might not be so hard pressed also if all monies got directed to those in need of it ie if zero fraud there might have been a better budget.
Also you say why be hard on the most hard pressed, I would suggest the ones commiting fraud come out of the hard pressed environment. 2 cars is mot suggesting hard pressed to me.
10-05-2020, 02:56 PM
Has your Dad considered using an agent to collect the rent? It saves a lot of hassle, particularly with difficult tenants.
Once this ones out that’s what he’s gonna do.