View Full Version : Football Pet Peeves

04-05-2020, 12:53 PM
To accompany the quite wonderful pet peeves thread in the dug out, what are your football pet peeves? Try not to go down the road of wrong decisions using VAR or sectarianism, they are a given.

I'll start with:

Celtic fans who want a pat on the back for 'surving' the lean years of the 1990s. 1 league title, 1 Scottish Cup and 2 League Cups (I'm counting the 99/00 tournament as the 90s) would be a glory spell for any other side and the team would be hailed as legends. It came after a decade in which they won 8 major honours and proceeded one in which they won 13.

Sorry but my heart isn't bleeding for you.

04-05-2020, 12:54 PM
Fans that can only see one side of an argument.

04-05-2020, 01:06 PM
Conceding goals

04-05-2020, 01:09 PM
"Just spat my coffee out over my keyboard", only seems to happen to folk that post on football forums. 😠

04-05-2020, 01:13 PM
Fans that can’t recognise when their team have been beaten by a vastly superior team on the day. Rather than acknowledge the quality the opposition play they just dismiss it by saying their own team were crap.

Similarly when a fantastic piece of skill or well worked goal by the opposition is dismissed by saying the defence or an individual defender was at fault or rubbish.

04-05-2020, 01:14 PM
Fans that can’t recognise when their team have been beaten by a vastly superior team on the day. Rather than acknowledge the quality the opposition play they just dismiss it by saying their own team were crap.

Similarly when a fantastic piece of skill or well worked goal by the opposition is dismissed by saying the defence or an individual defender was at fault or rubbish.

:agree: that kind of expands on my point.

04-05-2020, 01:15 PM
Players shielding/ushering a ball out for a throw in or goal kick even though they haven't touched it. Should be obstruction IMO.

The Count
04-05-2020, 01:26 PM
Has to be the the Scottish football media.

04-05-2020, 01:28 PM
Celtic fans who try to argue their 10 titles are the same level of achievement as Rangers run. The comparison is so stark, though I wouldn’t go to the levels of tainted.

Dmas
04-05-2020, 01:28 PM
Linesman waiting on the refs arm pointing which way the throws going before they raise the flag, you’re job is too tell him not the other way round

04-05-2020, 01:31 PM
Celtic fans who try to argue their 10 titles are the same level of achievement as Rangers run. The comparison is so stark, though I wouldn’t go to the levels of tainted.

You could say either are anywhere as near an achievement as the original 9.

Old firm fans from Edinburgh is my main peeve.

04-05-2020, 01:32 PM
Forwards who foul defenders who are stuck down by the corner flag facing their own goal.

04-05-2020, 01:43 PM
People who tempt fate......

“Yes, so and so is coming on, he’s pish.......”

It’s like they don’t realise that them saying something stupid clearly has a direct consequence of what happens on the pitch.

Yes, I know there’s absolutely no logic in that but it’s still true......

Same applies to fans that sing things like “can you hear the Rangers sing?....noooo” when we’re only winning by 1. Absolute madness.

Lunatic
04-05-2020, 01:43 PM

But it's exactly the same level of achievement.
NONE
If you have far greater resources than everyone you are competing with, success is not an achievement, it's the expected outcome.
By competing on these terms, you have only 2 possible outcomes. Expectation and failure.

Badabing
04-05-2020, 01:46 PM
Us booing the team wile the game is going on. If you need to let the players know that you're not happy wait until half time or better still full time.

04-05-2020, 01:47 PM
Throw-ins, particularly ours when we kill any advantage by waiting until the full backs run up to take ours, giving the opposition plenty of time to get in position.

Most of the time we just pass possession back anyway. Does my head right in.

04-05-2020, 01:50 PM
The death of the contested drop ball. I know the rules have changed to formally end it but it was a rarity for years.

I used to hate when a game stopped with a team in possession in the opposing teams half and rather than contest the drop ball they would allow the defending team to punt the ball 70 yards back to the goalkeeper and get organised.

Lunatic
04-05-2020, 01:53 PM
Throw-ins, particularly ours when we kill any advantage by waiting until the full backs run up to take ours, giving the opposition plenty of time to get in position.

Most of the time we just pass possession back anyway. Does my head right in.

Couldn't agree more. We are TERRIBLE at throw ins. Both taking out own and putting pressure on our opponents when they take theirs.
I remember reading about how Man City brought in a team of specialist from Holland to teach them exactly what to do at throw ins. Apparently it made a huge difference. Why haven't we done this? Surely throw in experts can't be that expensive? Or hell, just watch what Man City do......

AZhibee
04-05-2020, 01:56 PM
Diving
Diving in the box
Rolling around after diving
Jumping in the air and diving
Pretending to be hit I face or elbowed
Diving
Neymar Diving

04-05-2020, 01:56 PM
But it's exactly the same level of achievement.
NONE
If you have far greater resources than everyone you are competing with, success is not an achievement, it's the expected outcome.
By competing on these terms, you have only 2 possible outcomes. Expectation and failure.

Try telling an old firm fan that.

But if you remove the obvious disdain for both clubs and look at it objectively, Celtic won 9 titles in a row (whoopyty****ingdoo for you), with 4 of them being won with their nearest rivals not even in the same division. To me that says the rangers (for want of a better word achievement counts for more.

But it’s all pish anyway so don’t even bother replying, I hate them both regardless.

04-05-2020, 02:44 PM
Try telling an old firm fan that.

But if you remove the obvious disdain for both clubs and look at it objectively, Celtic won 9 titles in a row (whoopyty****ingdoo for you), with 4 of them being won with their nearest rivals not even in the same division. To me that says the rangers (for want of a better word achievement counts for more.

But it’s all pish anyway so don’t even bother replying, I hate them both regardless.
But Rangers had players who they couldn't afford. Theirs is tainted as well. Just like Hearts Cup wins.

04-05-2020, 02:51 PM
My pet hate is sitting near someone who has an irrational dislike for a certain player. We had someone who didn't like SJM and thought he was overrated.
Any time he made a mistake he took great delight in announcing it loudly.
It's now Paul Hanlon.

04-05-2020, 03:32 PM
But Rangers had players who they couldn't afford. Theirs is tainted as well. Just like Hearts Cup wins.

See last sentence.

04-05-2020, 03:37 PM
My pet hate is sitting near someone who has an irrational dislike for a certain player. We had someone who didn't like SJM and thought he was overrated.
Any time he made a mistake he took great delight in announcing it loudly.
It's now Paul Hanlon.

Oi grate, another Hanlon Fred 😫

04-05-2020, 03:44 PM
Diving
Diving in the box
Diving
Neymar Diving

Just Neymar.

04-05-2020, 03:48 PM
Just Neymar.

Neymars dad!

04-05-2020, 04:09 PM
Rewriting of history. Particularly Hearts and Celtic fans.

Celtic didn’t really have much time for the bunnet and his “biscuit tin” mentality. However that approach steered them in a different path and ultimately laid the foundations for where they are today. The had little time for him then and booed his unfurling of the flag iirc.
Now it’s all very different and oh look at Rangers living out with their means all unravelled serves them right - when that’s exactly what they were calling for back then - to break the bank to compete - lemmings.

Hearts well glossing over non-payment which was on a par that will never be seen again - whilst they are giving it a good go at the mo.

Hearts fans and their love of statistics whilst it suits and favours them. The most telling double standards which reveals them for what they are was that even years after the event and all the mocking of Hibs Scottish cup stats and every angle of every stat on their derby record who played, scored, what meal they ate they still could not bring them to record the most vital of all statistics - Hibs 3 The Rangers 2. GIFRUY Jambos.

04-05-2020, 04:11 PM
EPL players covering their mouths when they speak to their team mates

heidtheba
04-05-2020, 04:57 PM
1 - "Should we go for seven against Hertz in the forthcoming derby, or would settling for six be defeatist?"...we then inevitably lose said derby.

2 - Celtic/Rangers fans feeling hard done by over anything.

3 - Anyone who 'supports' Rangers/Celtic but will go and see their local team if they can't afford the travel or higher prices at their InFirm real love. My cousin actually said "if I've got the money I'll see Rangers, if not, I'll go and see Kilmarnock". I thought that 'Rangers fans without the bus fare' comment was just a joke.

4 - Anytime I read that Rangers have released a statement.

5 - Someone else touched on this, but the fact that Rangers/Celtic only ever 'lose' to another team, the other team don't ever 'win'.

04-05-2020, 05:06 PM
People who can't put the lids on properly on cups of bovril at half time, resulting in me dribbling down my scarf.

GlazedDonut
04-05-2020, 05:08 PM
Players (purposefully) standing in front of the ball to stop a quick free kick and the ref never doing anything about it.

Tomsk
04-05-2020, 05:13 PM
That the Evening News always gives Hearts precedence over Hibs. It's always "Hearts and Hibs" never "Hibs and Hearts".

Petty I know, but it really grinds my tits.

hibby rae
04-05-2020, 05:16 PM
Diving
Diving in the box
Diving
Neymar Diving

I can never understand how officials are duped by the play acting.

If you've ever been halved on a pitch, you'll know yourself, you don't tend to move much after it. Because if you're in pain, movement tends to increase the pain.

04-05-2020, 05:16 PM
Stewards wandering up the aisles to a pre-set plan when specific events happpen - like an opposition goal.

I'm so often just about to invade the pitch/throw something/strip naked/eat my own feet/start pi5hing on everyone around me but then a steward plods slowly up the stairs and right away I think 'You know what, I'm not going to do any of that after all, because a steward just went up the aisle. I mean if they hadn't I'd totally be nakedly pi5hing my way to the pitch lobbing spiked golf balls everywhere all the way while flicking the vikkies at everybody with eyes to see. But I won't. Because of the dayglo yellow.

04-05-2020, 05:22 PM
Players (purposefully) standing in front of the ball to stop a quick free kick and the ref never doing anything about it.

That's annoying when it happens to you. On the flip side I used to go mental when I played if a player switched off and allowed the opposing team to take a free kick. 99% of the time the ref won't book you so use it your advantage and buy yourself time to get set.

saltandsauce
04-05-2020, 05:24 PM
Players shielding/ushering a ball out for a throw in or goal kick even though they haven't touched it. Should be obstruction IMO.

hibby rae
04-05-2020, 05:25 PM
Stewards wandering up the aisles to a pre-set plan when specific events happpen - like an opposition goal.

I'm so often just about to invade the pitch/throw something/strip naked/eat my own feet/start pi5hing on everyone around me but then a steward plods slowly up the stairs and right away I think 'You know what, I'm not going to do any of that after all, because a steward just went up the aisle. I mean if they hadn't I'd totally be nakedly pi5hing my way to the pitch lobbing spiked golf balls everywhere all the way while flicking the vikkies at everybody with eyes to see. But I won't. Because of the dayglo yellow.

Remember when we won the title in 2017 (QoS?) we were 3-0 up and it was certain we would win, obviously we had a wee reputation after 21/05/16 😁 So they foiled any attempts by fans to invade the pitch with some tape. 😂😂 Not that I think anyone had intended to anyway!

04-05-2020, 05:38 PM
That's annoying when it happens to you. On the flip side I used to go mental when I played if a player switched off and allowed the opposing team to take a free kick. 99% of the time the ref won't book you so use it your advantage and buy yourself time to get set.It's the 99% thing that bugs me there, ie. when referees pick and choose when to apply a rule.

When keepers were limited to the number of steps they could take while holding the ball, most of the time they got away with a few more, EXCEPT, once per season when a referee would decide to apply the rule and give a free kick.

04-05-2020, 05:40 PM
Diving and then feigning injury.

04-05-2020, 05:45 PM
It's the 99% thing that bugs me there, ie. when referees pick and choose when to apply a rule.

When keepers were limited to the number of steps they could take while holding the ball, most of the time they got away with a few more, EXCEPT, once per season when a referee would decide to apply the rule and give a free kick.

Referees being inconsistent is my biggest bugbear by a country mile.

04-05-2020, 06:03 PM
Remember when we won the title in 2017 (QoS?) we were 3-0 up and it was certain we would win, obviously we had a wee reputation after 21/05/16 😁 So they foiled any attempts by fans to invade the pitch with some tape. 😂😂 Not that I think anyone had intended to anyway!

Best use of tape - arguably saved the club £000s.

04-05-2020, 06:28 PM
Folk moaning/going on about everything that's Celtic and rangers. Who gives a duck, get over it. Wonder if fans of teams in Germany moan as much about Bayern or fans in Italy about Juve or fans in Spain about Real/Barca or fans in Holland about Ajax or fans in France about PSG or fans in Portugal about Porto/Benfica or fans in......well you get my point.

Also, in a similar vein. Support who you want. I'm a Hibs fan not from Edinburgh. Get over it.

04-05-2020, 06:41 PM
Fans who think flares are 'cool', and totally disregard the glaringly obvious (and genuine) health concerns of other fans in the name of 'creating atmosphere'.

Folk who wave national flags at domestic games.

Folk who wear domestic strips at international games.

jakedance
04-05-2020, 07:01 PM
Getting stuck sitting next to a tedious self proclaimed expert at the football who is wrong about everything they say throughout their unwelcome match commentary.

Defenders shielding the ball out then diving for a foul (Steven Presley was the master of this).

That every defeat and goal conceded requires detailed analysis on this forum. Sometimes the other team were just better or scored a good goal.

Anyone, under any circumstances, who shouts “wake up Hibs”.

The fact we can’t stand or have a beer at a football match in Scotland.

Supporters booing or abusing their own players, especially early in a match.

Hibs and throw ins.

04-05-2020, 07:34 PM

Agreed, if you're not in control of the ball, surely it must be a foul if you prevent another player from playing it?

I hate the play acting. Very unsporting.

AndyM_1875
05-05-2020, 07:37 AM
3 things that really get me are as follows:

The food served up at football really grinds my gears. Terrible, over-priced, poor quality, unhealthy garbage I wouldn't serve to my dog.

Old Firm fans who have no connection to Glasgow. Celtic and Rangers fans from Edinburgh or Aberdeen are the absolute worst offenders.

Celtic and Rangers conspiracy theorists. Nutjobs who should be committed to an asylum for the criminally insane.

duffers
05-05-2020, 07:47 AM
Players not beating the first man at corners, free kicks etc.

Players bottling out of 50/50s

Refs giving keepers about 5 warnings regarding the length of time it takes for them to take a goal kick without taking any action

05-05-2020, 07:54 AM
The idea that refs should 'let him away with one' if a foul is committed early in the game. The logic seems to be an early booking or sending off would see the ref 'spoil the game'. No. The referee is in place to apply the rules. If a player commits a yellow or red card offence in the first minute then it should be treated as such. Any spoiling of the game is entirely on the player.

05-05-2020, 08:03 AM
People that get annoyed when corners don’t beat the first man (sorry duffers 😉).

Any idiot could chip a ball into the box and beat the first man easily but for it to be effective it needs to be hit low and just clearing the first defender, if you’re doing that it’s inevitable some will get cleared.

05-05-2020, 08:08 AM
3 things that really get me are as follows:

The food served up at football really grinds my gears. Terrible, over-priced, poor quality, unhealthy garbage I wouldn't serve to my dog.

Old Firm fans who have no connection to Glasgow. Celtic and Rangers fans from Edinburgh or Aberdeen are the absolute worst offenders.

Celtic and Rangers conspiracy theorists. Nutjobs who should be committed to an asylum for the criminally insane.

Do Hibs fans who aren't from Edinburgh annoy you just as much?

Supporters buses leave the central belt every weekend for Aberdeen games and yet nothing is ever said about it.

05-05-2020, 08:12 AM
People who say the Bayern Munich’s of the world. The Messi’s of the world...

No there are only one..don’t make it plural.

The other one is..no disrespect to (fill in name) BUT (just about to disrespect that name) they are awful.

Finally that’s half a chance. No it’s a chance or not a chance.

05-05-2020, 08:16 AM
There is so many, most been covered.

The ushering/getting their body infront then stopping dead to 'draw the foul' wtf does that mean?.
Throwins when they try gain a few yards, get telt to move back, then still take the throw where they originally were, or even further forward.
Time wasting must be the biggest peeve. Running the clock down whilst the ball is in t play is fair enough, it's a tactic to see the game out. But the keeper swapping sides, having a drink. Kicking the posts, getting a towel etc time after time and only getting booked after the crowd boo and ref tells him several times. Id love a no time wasting rule to be brought in with a zero tolerance to it.
Early bookings, reds and penalties. Queue commentary saying 'he got lucky it was so early in the game'
The protection a keeper gets. If the decide to dive into a pile of bodies and miss/lose the ball. Auto freekick to them.
Likewise when a player wins a header, eyes on the ball the whole time but the opposition players backs in, doesn't jump, and crumples at the slightest touch.

05-05-2020, 09:20 AM
The idea that refs should 'let him away with one' if a foul is committed early in the game. The logic seems to be an early booking or sending off would see the ref 'spoil the game'. No. The referee is in place to apply the rules. If a player commits a yellow or red card offence in the first minute then it should be treated as such. Any spoiling of the game is entirely on the player.

See also: commentators praising 'sensible refereeing' when he ignores yellow-card offences early in an OF/big EPL game. Different rules because it's a high-profile game. :rolleyes:

People that get annoyed when corners don’t beat the first man (sorry duffers 😉).

Any idiot could chip a ball into the box and beat the first man easily but for it to be effective it needs to be hit low and just clearing the first defender, if you’re doing that it’s inevitable some will get cleared.

Auckland Hibs
05-05-2020, 10:13 AM
Football "fans" who support teams they've never seen live or have no real connection with.

Must have been a tough choice following Man U / Old Firm / Barca / Juve from your armchair despite having a local club in your town/city.

05-05-2020, 10:14 AM
Being charged thirty odd quid to watch a game of football from behind a giant pillar at a stadium owned by the richest club in Scotland.

Clubs that are delighted to take the money from 1,500 visiting PATG fans but think it would cost them too much to open more than one turnstile (e.g. DAFC, Livi)

Clubs that are happy to charge you £25 to watch a game at their ****ty stadiums but haven't cleaned the seats for twenty years.

'Away' tops...... why the hell do we need a different top away from home!

Pink football strips. What's that all about?

05-05-2020, 10:21 AM

Supporters buses leave the central belt every weekend for Aberdeen games and yet nothing is ever said about it.

It's a matter of degree.

I attended Musselburgh Grammar School as a teenager and, while the occasional fellow pupil supported Aberdeen, Morton (honestly, there was one) and Nottingham Forest (also one), around HALF the school 'supported' Rangers or Celtc.

Ninety percent of the kids at St Davids (Dalkeith) and Loretto (Musselburgh) supported Celtc.

I say all that as a Hibby that now lives in Glasgow, so bypasses Ibrox and Celtc Park to go to Easter Road. I used to live in Munich and literally drove past the Allianz Arena to catch the flight to Edinburgh,

...so you could hardly say I was a glory hunter :wink:

05-05-2020, 10:23 AM
Getting stuck sitting next to a tedious self proclaimed expert at the football who is wrong about everything they say throughout their unwelcome match commentary.

Defenders shielding the ball out then diving for a foul (Steven Presley was the master of this).

That every defeat and goal conceded requires detailed analysis on this forum. Sometimes the other team were just better or scored a good goal.

Anyone, under any circumstances, who shouts “wake up Hibs”.

The fact we can’t stand or have a beer at a football match in Scotland.

Supporters booing or abusing their own players, especially early in a match.

Hibs and throw ins.
Are you sure the fitba is the sport for you mate? :greengrin

05-05-2020, 10:26 AM
Hampden being the national stadium. Its a ****hole in the middle of a dump. 45 minutes on the same road trying to leave the place in November. Joke.

Top 6 being seen as an achievement. Its not. A club who has ambitions to be the 3rd biggest club in Scotland shouldnt be happy and settle for top 6.

Hibs + lack of movement at throw ins.

Full backs who back off until in the box before commiting rather than doing it when theyre outside the box.

People who think running about lots = good player and equally hounding those who dont run like a headless chicken but clearly have talent and the ability to win games.

Sky owning the rights to Scottish football when they dont give a **** about anything other than the celtic - rangers games.

Mark Lawrenson commentating during major tournements.

05-05-2020, 10:26 AM
Fans who have a level of sentiment in the game..

Players who get a free pass because they love the club and try their best etc etc...

Fans who seem to think that mediocrity is acceptable...

05-05-2020, 10:28 AM
People judging players by their FIFA computer game rating

05-05-2020, 12:43 PM
'Hibs fans are far more negative/fickle than anyone else'. No, we're not. It's just more noticeable to you because discussion about your team elicits an emotive response.

'Why are people so up when we win and down when we lose?'. Again it's an emotive response.

Thread A has 15 posts. 8 balanced, 3 evidently negative and 3 evidently positive. 'I knew as soon as I clicked this thread it would be full of bedwetters/happy clappers'. Almost as if there is no self awareness that you may be more reactive to things you disagree with.

'Bedwetters', 'pants full of pish', 'pish stained sheets' used in place of an argument in general. Hilarious/cutting only in the mind of the user.

'What did people do before Hibs.net/Facebook/Twitter existed?' They probably moaned/eulogised in the pub, at work, at 5s, on the bus etc. Probably still do. Social media is just another outlet.

'All the football manager/Fifa experts'. Yes, because no one ever criticised a manager, put forward their own ideas, discussed formations or had an opinion on a player before those games were invented.

05-05-2020, 12:48 PM
The generalisation that all fans of certain clubs are the same.

AndyM_1875
05-05-2020, 12:59 PM

No, because in the vast majority of cases Hibs fans who are not from Edinburgh have a connection to either Leith or Edinburgh or a family link to supporting the club.
The sheer volume of gloryhunters (or worse) who follow Celtic or Rangers are the irritant.

As for Aberdeen I was at Uni in that City and lived there for 3 years so I have a pretty decent understanding of their support base. The overwhelming majority are from the north east of Scotland supporting the local team.
The Central Belt buses you refer to like the Capital 1903 Branch who run a bus from Edinburgh are made up of exiles or students from Aberdeen now in Edinburgh. The days of the "I'll gloryhunt because we were good when Fergie was manager" are pretty much in the past. In that respect they are very similar to Hibs in that the club pulls it's support from the local geographic area.

jingler1954
05-05-2020, 01:00 PM
The referee pointing at his watch when substitutions are made or goalkeepers waste time. Don't let the ref anywhere near a watch. The 4th official could keep the time and stop the watch during subs. Also there should be time limits for throw ins and goal kicks. And stop players from running 10 yards forward at throw ins.Thats just for starters.

05-05-2020, 01:19 PM
The generalisation that all fans of certain clubs are the same.

https://therepublikofmancunia.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/scousers1.jpg

05-05-2020, 01:22 PM

:faf::faf:

05-05-2020, 01:27 PM

Man Down Under
05-05-2020, 01:44 PM
Fans who refer to good signings as "a great piece of business", not sure why.

Sent from my SM-A205GN using Tapatalk

Hibs1969
05-05-2020, 01:59 PM

Spot on - Ian Black should have walked for his elbow tackle on Griffiths early in the 2012 final but Thomson bottled it and we all know what happened after that.

Other bugbears - players kicking the ball away after a foul has been awarded against them, players being warned by refs for stealing yards at throw-ins or free kicks but carrying on regardless.

Celtic and Rangers bleating the media is against them and that they never get the breaks and are being conspired against. Utter pish, they want to try supporting teams that have to put up with their self-deluded, bigoted bollocks for a change.

05-05-2020, 02:02 PM
Commentators that are delighted the referee is showing common sense in old firm games as the tackles go flying in that would see loads of players carded or sent off the previous day.

Yorkshire HFC
05-05-2020, 03:15 PM

Why does that make it tainted? They still only had 11 men on the pitch - and that's all that matters. The players don't care about the clubs in the same way that the fans do - it's their job and they'll take as much money from the club as they can.

Tomsk
05-05-2020, 03:46 PM
Why does that make it tainted? They still only had 11 men on the pitch - and that's all that matters. The players don't care about the clubs in the same way that the fans do - it's their job and they'll take as much money from the club as they can.

Tainted isn't strong enough. The titles were won by cheating.

05-05-2020, 04:11 PM
Spot on - Ian Black should have walked for his elbow tackle on Griffiths early in the 2012 final but Thomson bottled it and we all know what happened after that.

Other bugbears - players kicking the ball away after a foul has been awarded against them, players being warned by refs for stealing yards at throw-ins or free kicks but carrying on regardless.

Celtic and Rangers bleating the media is against them and that they never get the breaks and are being conspired against. Utter pish, they want to try supporting teams that have to put up with their self-deluded, bigoted bollocks for a change.

Craig Thomson shat the bed that day.. Was blatantly told RED CARD RED CARD by the 4th official but chose to ignore down town his masonic background his well known dislike in those circles for catholicism...........

05-05-2020, 04:14 PM
Tainted isn't strong enough. The titles were won by cheating.

No they weren’t, on the pitch the players played by the rules and won them fair and square. I know folk have differing opinions andI respect that but I find the whole they cheated chat a load of bollocks to be honest.

05-05-2020, 04:35 PM
No they weren’t, on the pitch the players played by the rules and won them fair and square. I know folk have differing opinions andI respect that but I find the whole they cheated chat a load of bollocks to be honest.

I think what was meant by cheating was that the club/board cheated, not individual players.

05-05-2020, 04:46 PM
I think what was meant by cheating was that the club/board cheated, not individual players.

I know what he meant but I still find the whole chat of they cheated to win the league nonsense.

Just_Jimmy
05-05-2020, 05:22 PM
I know what he meant but I still find the whole chat of they cheated to win the league nonsense.The rules go further than the pitch. Financial cheating is cheating. If everyone else lives with their means and one club isn't then it's cheating.

Not just rangers, Livingston, Motherwell, Dundee etc all did it.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

05-05-2020, 05:27 PM
The rules go further than the pitch. Financial cheating is cheating. If everyone else lives with their means and one club isn't then it's cheating.

Not just rangers, Livingston, Motherwell, Dundee etc all did it.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Not for me it isn’t, if they cheat on the park then fair enough, looking back historically and claiming cheating because of paying players high amounts and stretching finances doesn’t rate with me.Each to their own, I find it petty name calling and certainly wouldn’t level it against another teams fans either.

05-05-2020, 05:30 PM
I don't mind the whole cheats things as a bit of banter. Someone posting a list of creditors or making a passing reference to Lithuanian pensioners is mildly amusing. It's a total cringe when you hear people shrieking 'but but youse ur cheaturs' when having a supposedly sensible discussion though.

Contrary to popular belief Hearts fans don't 'hate it' when this happens. They laugh at us.

pollution
05-05-2020, 05:47 PM
I know what he meant but I still find the whole chat of they cheated to win the league nonsense.

You're deliberately avoiding the fact that they bought and paid players monies they could not afford. I am not referring to the players being cheats personally.

They won the cups and leagues etc with these players and then went completely bust. Glasgow Rangers FC cheated, full stop.

Murray cheated, full stop. He chose to believe that the pay set up was legit, which it was not. Cheat, cheat and cheat again.

It all seems simple to me.

Yorkshire HFC
05-05-2020, 05:56 PM

Ofcourse - if I was a Rangers player then I’d be proud of winning the league. On any given day, it’s 11 men v 11 men on the pitch and the best team (usually) wins.

05-05-2020, 06:24 PM
You're deliberately avoiding the fact that they bought and paid players monies they could not afford. I am not referring to the players being cheats personally.

They won the cups and leagues etc with these players and then went completely bust. Glasgow Rangers FC cheated, full stop.

Murray cheated, full stop. He chose to believe that the pay set up was legit, which it was not. Cheat, cheat and cheat again.

It all seems simple to me.

I’m not deliberately ignoring anything, I thought I made it clear, I don’t consider that they cheated and will never use that against them. I will never consider bad business decisions in football as cheating, they won them fair and square in my opinion.

Tomsk
05-05-2020, 07:50 PM
I’m not deliberately ignoring anything, I thought I made it clear, I don’t consider that they cheated and will never use that against them. I will never consider bad business decisions in football as cheating, they won them fair and square in my opinion.

But it is just an opinion. The fact is that Rangers broke financial and registration rules by which all the member clubs agreed to observe in order to gain an advantage they otherwise would not/could not have. All of this was conceded in a court of law by David Murray. It was cheating plain as day. They knew what they were doing. They knew why they did it. And moreover they conspired to hide their actions from the authorities, and were caught only when they got themselves into financial chaos and had their records sequestered by the police in criminal proceedings.

05-05-2020, 07:57 PM
But it is just an opinion. The fact is that Rangers broke financial and registration rules by which all the member clubs agreed to observe in order to gain an advantage they otherwise would not/could not have. All of this was conceded in a court of law by David Murray. It was cheating plain as day. They knew what they were doing. They knew why they did it. And moreover they conspired to hide their actions from the authorities, and were caught only when they got themselves into financial chaos and had their records sequestered by the police in criminal proceedings.

I think I made it clear it was an opinion!

pollution
05-05-2020, 07:59 PM
[QUOTE=Scouse Hibee;6162828]I’m not deliberately ignoring anything, I thought I made it clear, I don’t consider that they cheated and will never use that against them. I will never consider bad business decisions in football as cheating, they won them fair and square in my opinion.[/QUOT

Sorry, Scouse. With respect I completely disagree with you.

Your definition of fair and square is the opposite to mine in this instance.

But I here what you say all the same.

05-05-2020, 08:06 PM
[QUOTE=Scouse Hibee;6162828]I’m not deliberately ignoring anything, I thought I made it clear, I don’t consider that they cheated and will never use that against them. I will never consider bad business decisions in football as cheating, they won them fair and square in my opinion.[/QUOT

Sorry, Scouse. With respect I completely disagree with you.

Your definition of fair and square is the opposite to mine in this instance.

But I here what you say all the same.

That’s fair enough mate, I know many probably won’t agree with me.

05-05-2020, 08:48 PM
The worse our record got at Tynecastle the smaller the pitch seemed to get. It seemed to become a fallacy that it was impossible to play football in a derby at Tynecastle. The amount of times, particularly under Lennon, where we fell into Hearts trap and tried to play match their physical hoofball was criminal given generally how poor We were at it

05-05-2020, 08:50 PM
[QUOTE=pollution;6162920]

That’s fair enough mate, I know many probably won’t agree with me.

I never thought I would but I do agree with you.

05-05-2020, 08:55 PM

You dont need to touch the ball to be in control of it. I'd say they are using their body to keep control of the ball

05-05-2020, 09:01 PM

They failed to declare large ‘loans’ to their players, and the existence of side letters confirming these arrangements, to the SFA when registering players’ contracts over the course of several seasons.

That is not bad decision making. It was a deliberate policy to fool the authorities IMO.

When clubs have been turfed out of a competition by fielding an ineligible player because of a comparatively minor administrative error, I am very comfortable to describe Rangers’ actions as cheating.

05-05-2020, 09:02 PM
[QUOTE=SChibs;6162970]You dont need to touch the ball to be in control of it. I'd say they are using their body to keep control of the ball[

"Fouls and misconduct" and it's called "Impeding the progress of an opponent" per page 116 of the FIFA rules. But it goes on to say that a player can "shield" the ball if it's within playing distance of the shielding player (and if the shielding player doesn't use their hands or body to contain the other player).

05-05-2020, 09:04 PM
Adults singing “Stand up if you hate Jamtarts”

Yes, understand the sentiment alright, but as terrace songs go it’s a shocker and best left in the primary school playground.

05-05-2020, 09:09 PM
You dont need to touch the ball to be in control of it. I'd say they are using their body to keep control of the ballI know. It's just a thing I've got. I'd prefer to see a rule where once you've touched the ball it becomes yours so you have the right to shield it all you want.

Dr What If?
05-05-2020, 09:31 PM
A moany thread, fantastic....just what I need while going crazy during lockdown :greengrin....right...
1. Sky...the way TV can dictate when games are played, days, times, etc
2. Sky....taking big games like league cup finals or Euro games off normal telly
3. Sky....the way their money has distorted the game, so we can't compete with third tier English clubs for players!!!
4. Sky....there is something to be said for too much of a good thing, football every day is a bit much
5. Sky....the way it commercialises the game to extreme, feels like the soul of the game is being lost

I know, all a bit random.....can't think of a generic way of summarising my choices!!!

oh, and 6. Food at Easter road (which as a kid over 30 years ago was a serious selling point) is seriously s****

05-05-2020, 09:48 PM
:agree: that kind of expands on my point.

I've noticed when Hearts are rotten their fans bemoan the quality in the league when it's just them who's guff.

05-05-2020, 09:56 PM

I don't mind when they are close to the ball and could be said to have control. It's when they are three yards from the ball and body check attackers making a genuine attempt.

06-05-2020, 01:35 AM
Biased commentators and managers who dont come over to clap the supporters after a game.

chasitup
06-05-2020, 05:06 AM
Commentators, or usually a co-commentator (see Billy Dodds, Neil McCann, Andy Walker) saying that there was contact so they’re “entitled to go down” when there’s been minimal contact in a contentious foul/penalty incident. Contact doesn’t always mean it’s a foul.

loanheadhibby
06-05-2020, 05:59 AM
Fans getting up for pee/dump/going to kiosk during the game. Drives me bonkers.

Mixu62
06-05-2020, 06:03 AM
Celtic and rangers fans overseas who feel the need to advertise their allegience wherever they go. Even over here you can spot them.

Seeing the same 4 or 5 English tops everywhere. The sports stores only seem to stock Man U, Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool and Man City. Occasionally there will be a Real Mardid, Barcelona, Milan or PSG one. Get so sick of seeing those plus the ugly sisters that it's refreshing to see a more unusual one.

06-05-2020, 07:41 AM
Commentators, or usually a co-commentator (see Billy Dodds, Neil McCann, Andy Walker) saying that there was contact so they’re “entitled to go down” when there’s been minimal contact in a contentious foul/penalty incident. Contact doesn’t always mean it’s a foul.

Correct - another one similar to that is fans shouting “well if it’s not a penalty book him for diving then”

It’s not always a foul or a dive when someone falls over.

06-05-2020, 08:39 AM
'How is that a foul? He played the ball clean as a whistle.'

There is nothing in the rules that states playing the ball can't be foul play. If you are out of control, reckless, use excessive force etc and play the ball it is still a foul. It's bad enough when fans do it but even worse when TV pundits join in.

Tom Hart RIP
06-05-2020, 11:08 AM
When I started going the teams came out separately and you could cheers Hibs and boo the visitors.
Helps the atmosphere

06-05-2020, 11:11 AM

There is nothing in the rules that states playing the ball can't be foul play. If you are out of control, reckless, use excessive force etc and play the ball it is still a foul. It's bad enough when fans do it but even worse when TV pundits join in.

Love that one. Defender goes flying in, other guy goes 6 feet in the air. Defender gets up....And points to the ball. 😂

It's a man's game.....

06-05-2020, 12:02 PM

Funniest post I have seen in ages. Thanks fair cheered me up.

06-05-2020, 12:41 PM
the defender obstructing the attacker as the ball slowly rolls towards the byeline/touchline

Defender fouls the attacker, then goes down and pretends to be injured to try to avoid getting carded

Keepers taking forever over goal kicks/free kicks

players who are in a good attacking position but get spooked and check back, allowing the opposition to get back

Fans who scream dogs abuse at players then get upset and demand action when said player scores a goal and responds by gesture or just celebrating

Players who refuse to put a tackle in and just run alongside the opposition player for long distances

Managers who refuse to believe that their player did xyz and refuse to look at footage which shows it

Teams spending minutes at a time at the end of a match in the corner running down the clock. I know why they do it, its just annoying

Fans who arrive late (always sitting in the middle of a row!) becuase they just couldnt not have another pint (this doesnt include those who are just genuinely late)

Fouls that are given in the middle of the pitch, but not if its in the box - commentators often point this out as well. If its a foul it doesnt matter where on the pitch it is

Penalties retaken because of encroachment by other players into the box - only applied very randomly by referees

Player commits several fouls and only gets booked in the 83rd minute, and has injured players/broken up promising play by fouling throughout the game. Meanwhile, a player takes off their jersey after scoring or runs off the pitch to their own fans - automatic booking. Which has a bigger impact on the game?

Refereeing inconsistency - Player A commits several fouls but only booked on 83 minutes having stopped the opposition by repeated fouling, same game another player is booked for their first mistimed tackle which is a foul but doesn't have any impact on the game

Players who half another player then go into hysterics when the referee gives the foul or books them

Diving. any diving.

Fans who apply nonsense standards like 'Messi isn't as good as xyz because he's not won a world cup' - So he's not as good as Nobby Stiles then?

Players who take the piss out of fans and clubs when they act like they're above that club, and don't put the effort in

Hearts/Rangers/Celtic fans talking like their club is on a level like Barcelona. I can't think of any Hibs fan who doesn't love the club, but all have a realistic awareness of where Hibs are in the global scheme of football

Old Firm fans who bitch about lack of decent competition domestically when they get horsed in Europe, but think other Scottish clubs should be grateful and hand good players over for 10 bob and a luncheon voucher when (not if) Rangers/Celtic want to weaken the opposition

There's bound to be more :greengrin

06-05-2020, 12:51 PM
Fans who shout dogs abuse at the wrong player (the player they think it is isn’t even on the pitch)

How some folk think passing through a turnstile allows them to behave like an aggressive neandathral thug.

The “I’ve been watching Hibs for fifty years so you can’t tell me anything fans”

Players who have sly wee digs but scream like a woman when they are fouled.

Stewards who think standing on the top step of an exit staircase thus narrowing it is a good idea.

People who turn up and claim you are sitting in their seat even though it’s your ST seat and has been for years, when you explain this they ask to see your ST.

06-05-2020, 12:59 PM
'If you don't want to stand next to a coked up, deranged, aggressive bawbag brimming with pent up violence then don't go to the East. Don't dare expect basic human decency to apply in all stands at ER'.

06-05-2020, 01:16 PM
Drugged or pished up Jakeys who are only at the game because they think it gives them an excuse to get drugged/pished up.

06-05-2020, 04:12 PM
Drugged or pished up Jakeys who are only at the game because they think it gives them an excuse to get drugged/pished up.

For some, memory of Hibs of the 1980's never leaves them. :rolleyes:

StevesFamau5
06-05-2020, 04:40 PM
Drugged or pished up Jakeys who are only at the game because they think it gives them an excuse to get drugged/pished up.Following on from this.

The utter zoomers who give you daggers and challenge you because you don't join the 'Wallace Mercer' song etc.

You were barely a sperm in yer dad's bawsack when Mercer was around.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

06-05-2020, 04:55 PM
Hearts defenders over the years, and their have been plenty, who go down like they've been shot whenever a Hibs player beats them to a high ball. You can guarantee it happens a handful of times in every Derby and every time they get a free kick.

06-05-2020, 06:54 PM

Love that one. Defender goes flying in, other guy goes 6 feet in the air. Defender gets up....And points to the ball. 😂

It's a man's game.....

It used to be and has gone soft when a Hibs player concedes a foul for that legitimate tackle.

But it's also a stonewall red card when it's done to a Hibs player.

Does that mean we should add fan blinkers to the list?