View Full Version : Keith Houchen

02-05-2020, 03:04 PM
Cup final Coventry v Spurs at 5pm on STV.

02-05-2020, 03:08 PM
Think we paid 350 k for him, those were the days !

The Count
02-05-2020, 04:06 PM
Houchen for Scotland😉😉😉

02-05-2020, 04:29 PM

Doidge?

02-05-2020, 04:32 PM
Was he any good for Hibs?

Was just before my time really but I remember my dad saying it was quite a big deal at the time.

02-05-2020, 04:35 PM
Was he any good for Hibs?

Was just before my time really but I remember my dad saying it was quite a big deal at the time.

Scored on his debut at Tiny ..Was no bad but nothing special from what i recall

Keyser Sauzee
02-05-2020, 04:42 PM
Just read a bit about him, an altercation with Hibs fans against Raith Rovers? What happened?

02-05-2020, 04:46 PM
Just read a bit about him, an altercation with Hibs fans against Raith Rovers? What happened?He got subbed (or maybe sent off). He gave the vickies to the Hibs fans (who'd been on his back the whole game) on his way off the park. I think he was punished by the club for it.

02-05-2020, 04:54 PM
Just read a bit about him, an altercation with Hibs fans against Raith Rovers? What happened?

My memory might be playing tricks but it wasn't against Raith it was against Meadowbank Thistle in the cup played at Starks Park. Houchy was dire and looked like he couldn't be @rs3d and was getting pelters for it.

02-05-2020, 04:55 PM
He got subbed (or maybe sent off). He gave the vickies to the Hibs fans (who'd been on his back the whole game) on his way off the park. I think he was punished by the club for it.

He was sent of at Perth against St Johnstone. We were winning and controlling the game then he stupidly got himself sent off and we went on to lose.

SideBurns
02-05-2020, 05:01 PM
He was sent of at Perth against St Johnstone. We were winning and controlling the game then he stupidly got himself sent off and we went on to lose.

Aye, 1-0 up through Brian Hamilton in the Scottish Cup and coasting along. Sheer stupidity fae Houchy.

02-05-2020, 05:05 PM
Dont know why, I always thought he had scored the winning goal in that FA cup final, nice too have seen highlights of the game.

Also reminded me of how football was, after a tackle/foul,...no players pushing or fighting/handbags, players not making the most of being hurt and rolling around...referee left alone. Proper football.

HFC_NYC
02-05-2020, 05:11 PM
Didn’t he miss a penalty in a Euro tie at ER?

02-05-2020, 05:14 PM
Didn’t he miss a penalty in a Euro tie at ER?

RSC Liege. If he had scored we would have gone through. As it happens we went out in ET across in Belgium. Great trip none the less

02-05-2020, 05:24 PM
Andy Goram ran half the pitch at Easter Road to make sure Houchey took the penalty as he was Captain and had Houchen as first scorer

Petrie !!

Magnifique
02-05-2020, 05:31 PM
RSC Liege. If he had scored we would have gone through. As it happens we went out in ET across in Belgium. Great trip none the less

Was my first euro away game what a trip and what a game. From memory Goram was outstanding and we lost to a wonder goal.

Good times

02-05-2020, 05:47 PM
Was my first euro away game what a trip and what a game. From memory Goram was outstanding and we lost to a wonder goal.

Good times

Liege v Hibs (https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=s8dL_1LjZ1E)

02-05-2020, 06:21 PM

Good times
45 yarder in the postage stamp top corner .

02-05-2020, 06:22 PM
Sure we got about 250k when he was sold .

02-05-2020, 06:30 PM
Dont know why, I always thought he had scored the winning goal in that FA cup final, nice too have seen highlights of the game.

Also reminded me of how football was, after a tackle/foul,...no players pushing or fighting/handbags, players not making the most of being hurt and rolling around...referee left alone. Proper football.

I thought this too......on both counts!

scm70nyd1973
02-05-2020, 08:42 PM

Aye it was - also was it not something daft like he had never scored for FC Liege before and he had hit it with his non dominant foot. I also remember that game for the “Banks v Brazil” type save Goram made when we were still in it.

Are FC Liege not defunct now ?

SideBurns
02-05-2020, 09:18 PM
Andy Goram ran half the pitch at Easter Road to make sure Houchey took the penalty as he was Captain and had Houchen as first scorer

Petrie !!

Kano should've taken it - sure he was the penalty-taker at the time? Another hard luck story in Europe with, as has been said elsewhere, Goram beaten by an unbelievable strike in extra time! Great trip though - Jupiler beer everywhere you went. Remember drinking in a great pub called 'Wembley'!

02-05-2020, 09:40 PM
Kano should've taken it - sure he was the penalty-taker at the time? Another hard luck story in Europe with, as has been said elsewhere, Goram beaten by an unbelievable strike in extra time! Great trip though - Jupiler beer everywhere you went. Remember drinking in a great pub called 'Wembley'!
Yip I thought Kano shudda taken it that night

That goal flew in like an Exocet into the top postage stamp and it happened that fast only two Andy Gorams tried to play on hoping the Ref wouldnae notice

Pretty sure a certain Mr Bosman played in the first leg

Hillsidehibby
02-05-2020, 09:42 PM
Houchy Houchy Houchy Houchy La La La la La la

02-05-2020, 09:48 PM
Houchy Houchy Houchy Houchy La La La la La la

Goulash, goulash, goulash, goulash. 👍

02-05-2020, 09:50 PM
Aye it was - also was it not something daft like he had never scored for FC Liege before and he had hit it with his non dominant foot. I also remember that game for the “Banks v Brazil” type save Goram made when we were still in it.

Are FC Liege not defunct now ?

now playing in the lower divisions but they did go pop not long after our euro tie.

angus hibby
02-05-2020, 10:20 PM

Remember that game. For some reason Hibs fans were in stand beside away dugout, well that’s where I was sitting anyway and my dad got into a barney with Alec Totten!

angus hibby
02-05-2020, 10:22 PM

Any idea who scored the goal? I’ve a feeling it was scored by a player who went onto a decent career? I’m thinking Philippe Albert but might be wrong.

03-05-2020, 07:11 AM
Any idea who scored the goal? I’ve a feeling it was scored by a player who went onto a decent career? I’m thinking Philippe Albert but might be wrong.

It was scored by Desart. He will have never hit a ball either before or after like that again.

SideBurns
03-05-2020, 07:21 AM
Remember that game. For some reason Hibs fans were in stand beside away dugout, well that’s where I was sitting anyway and my dad got into a barney with Alec Totten!

Hibs fans were in all areas of the ground that day. Can't remember why, but we were initially in the big stand, opposite the main one, with a group of Hibbies in amongst St.Johnstone fans. Then some radge started on us after Houchen's sending off, my dad got into an argument with the boy and it was close to a square go between them when the polis jumped in and gave us an escort round the goals to new seats in the main stand! On the pitch, it was all downhill from there...

wpj
03-05-2020, 07:26 AM
I liked Keith Houchen but he let himself and us down the day he gave us the v sign. Still, have some good memories of him and time is a healer

Bearders
03-05-2020, 09:18 AM
My memory might be playing tricks but it wasn't against Raith it was against Meadowbank Thistle in the cup played at Starks Park. Houchy was dire and looked like he couldn't be @rs3d and was getting pelters for it.

It was at Raith - in those days Hibs fans were behind goals at opposite end to where we are now.

03-05-2020, 09:33 AM

Unless it was Leeds Utd.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

03-05-2020, 09:34 AM
Unless it was Leeds Utd.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Haha , fair point.

I did quite enjoy also the damned united documentary of Clough and his 44 days there.

wallpaperman
03-05-2020, 10:16 AM
It was scored by Desart. He will have never hit a ball either before or after like that again.

You can find the highlights on YouTube easily. Hibs were pretty unlucky on the night. The stadium was quite weird, from memory it was like a big bowl with a velodrome type track between the stands and pitch.

Great trip, we were on buses that left from Neighbours in McDonald Road, some amazing characters on the buses.

Superfurry72
03-05-2020, 10:27 AM
You can find the highlights on YouTube easily. Hibs were pretty unlucky on the night. The stadium was quite weird, from memory it was like a big bowl with a velodrome type track between the stands and pitch.

Great trip, we were on buses that left from Neighbours in McDonald Road, some amazing characters on the buses.

Pat McGinlay had a goal dubiously ruled out for offside IIRC

03-05-2020, 11:10 AM
It was at Raith - in those days Hibs fans were behind goals at opposite end to where we are now.

We played Meadowbank Thistle at Starks Park in the Skol Cup at the beginning of the 1990 season and won 1-0 from a Houchy header. We went back to Starks Park the very next week and were put out by Raith Rovers (1-0 I think) and as you quite rightly say that was the game where he flicked the vickies at the Hibs fans.

Tom Hart RIP
03-05-2020, 11:15 AM
Good autobiography called a Tenner and a Box of Kippers which relates to one of his transfer keys. Good honest pro.

03-05-2020, 11:26 AM
Good autobiography called a Tenner and a Box of Kippers which relates to one of his transfer keys. Good honest pro.

His book is a good read. Not very complimentary about Alex Miller, but looking back neither were many of us.

Didn’t seem to get the breaks in his career and is well liked at a couple of clubs. Recognised that moving to and playing for us was a big move. That FA Cup final goal is up there with any of them.

03-05-2020, 12:12 PM

Can't remember that but I do remember him getting dogs abuse away at Motherwell from the old covered terracing lengthwise to to the pitch. He wasn't, understandably, very happy.

03-05-2020, 12:17 PM
If you look on YouTube there are a couple of wee interviews with him (not Hibs related). He comes across as a really sound guy.

03-05-2020, 12:20 PM
He got subbed (or maybe sent off). He gave the vickies to the Hibs fans (who'd been on his back the whole game) on his way off the park. I think he was punished by the club for it.
It was at the end of the game as the players were leaving the pitch. He was getting dogs abuse and he stuck two fingers up to the fans.

03-05-2020, 01:06 PM

I posted highlights earlier on this thread.

03-05-2020, 02:49 PM
“So Karl Marx - football - which year did Coventry win the FA cup”...?”

“No in fact that was a trick question, Coventry have never won the FA cup”

Monty Python.

LithgaeHibby
03-05-2020, 04:56 PM
In 1997 my wife and I were on holiday on the Isle of Coll and stayed at a B&B run by a Mr and Mrs Houchen. Sure enough it was Keith Houchen's mum and dad. I wasn't sure what Hoochie's dad would make of me being a Hibby, given how his son left the club. But he was happy to talk about Keith's time at Hibs and after a bit of time he said that I should take Keith's Hibs jacket and tie (with the old planet Saturn crest). I really wasn't sure about that because I thought that they might have some sentimental value, but he was insistent (and probably only too happy to get shot of them in hindsight). When I got them home I found that the jacket had "T McIntyre" written on the inside label. Ah the auld "biscuit tin"! I kept the jacket and tie at home for a good few years before finally donating them to the Hibs Historical Trust. Not sure if they will have pride of place on display at Easter Road given that the wearer's parting shot to the fans was a two-fingered salute. But on the other hand there were some great Houchen memories! This one's my favourite: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6gH0uDSQjM.

05-05-2020, 06:18 PM

If Evans had not closed him down so quickly i don't think the guy would even have had a shot :rolleyes:

Great trip though

05-05-2020, 06:38 PM
Was after the penalty miss that the guy behind me shouted
"Houchen, if you had six free shots at John Lennon, he'd still be alive".
Quality heckle.