View Full Version : The return of the wee stinker

01-05-2020, 02:41 PM
Another wee HIBS lockdown quiz guys slightly harder than before answers on thread fine

Just a bit of fun:

1 How many ex HIBS players have managed Scotland and name them?
Sir Matt Busby Willie Ormond and Ally MacLeod

2 Who was Eddie Turnbulls last signing ?
Willie Jamieson

3 Name the five HIBS players to have won the European Cup?
Auld Sauzee Simpson Best and Bremner

4 Who was the first HIBS player to score over 100 League goals for the club?
Jimmy McColl

5 Who has scored the most hatricks for the club?
Lawrie Reilly

6 Name five players that have been capped for Northern Ireland whilst playing for HIBS?
Murdock ONeill Parke Sproule Shiels and Ryan McGivern

7 HIBS have been knocked out of Europe three times on away goals name the three teams?
Hamburg Anderlecht and Odense

8 HIBS have been knocked out of Europe five times after the ties have ended up all square after the second leg Name the five teams?
Roma Valencia AEK Leeds United Brondby and Liege

9 Which player left HIBS unable to get a game joined a provincial club and within three years had won a League Cup a Scottish Cup and in one of them lining up against HIBS in a winning team at Hampden?
Johnny Aitkenhead

10 Who scored the first European Cup goal on British soil?
Jock Buchanan

11 Which HIBS player played in the 1972 and 1979 Scottish Cup Finals?
Arthur Duncan

12 A prolific goalscorer for Motherwell Dundee United and Hearts this Scotland international was a provisional signing at Easter Road in 1970?
Willie Pettigrew

13 Name two HIBS players to have won League Cups in Scotland and England
Alex Cropley and John Burridge

14 Name three HIBS players to have been sent off in their final games?

Gordon Hunter Grant Brebner Dermot McCaffrey Keith Houchen

15 When was the last time HIBS played at Easter Road on Christmas Day?
25/12/1971 Rangers 0-1

16 At the start of the 1933-34 season what change did HIBS make to their tops?
White collar

17 Name six HIBS players to have won the FA Cup ( must have played in the final)?

Darling Willie Groves Jim Leighton Alex Scott Peter Cormack Ray Wilkins Jimmy Dunn Bobby Johnstone Ronnie Simpson George Farm Keith Houchen

18 Who did HIBS play their first ever Scottish Cup tie against and what was the score?
Hearts 0-0 Replay 2-1 HIBS

19 Which HIBS player sadly passed away after picking up an injury?
James Main

20 Name eight father and sons who have either played for HIBS or been registered with HIBS ?

Kane Goram MacLeod Murray Paterson Marshall McGraw and McBride

Good luck guys!

01-05-2020, 02:51 PM
3. Ronnie Simpson, Bertie Auld, Sauzee, Des Bremner, George Best.

10 Jock Buchanan

11. Arthur Duncan

01-05-2020, 02:59 PM
3. Ronnie Simpson, Bertie Auld, Sauzee, Des Bremner, George Best.

10 Jock Buchanan

11. Arthur Duncan
👍🏿

3 out of 3

Well done!

01-05-2020, 03:03 PM
👍🏿

3 out of 3

Well done!

Toiling with the rest though. Stinker it is.

01-05-2020, 03:05 PM
Toiling with the rest though. Stinker it is.
Got all weekend 😃

01-05-2020, 03:09 PM
Got all weekend [emoji2]20 Andy/Louie Goram, Murdo and Mr(?) McLeod, Allan and Mark McGraw, .....

Kenny and Paul Dalglish count?

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Argylehibby
01-05-2020, 03:10 PM
13 Cropley and Burridge

01-05-2020, 03:11 PM
13 Cropley and Burridge
👍🏿

Yip!

01-05-2020, 03:16 PM
20 Andy/Louie Goram, Murdo and Mr(?) McLeod, Allan and Mark McGraw, .....

Didnae count King Kenny sorry still got the photy o Dalglish wearing the HIBS strip at Easter Road telling Keith Keith Keith where the ba is going next

Argylehibby
01-05-2020, 03:16 PM
8 Leeds, AEK Athens, Rot Weis Essen????

01-05-2020, 03:20 PM
8 Leeds, AEK Athens, Rot Weis Essen????
First two ok

Argylehibby
01-05-2020, 03:30 PM
Ormand and McLeod only ones I can think of so 2 or did Craig Brown ever get a game for us?

01-05-2020, 03:31 PM
Is Ally McLeod one of the ex players who’ve managed Scotland and Willie Ormand.

8 Leeds Utd, AEK Athens and Anderlecht?

Ormand and McLeod only ones I can think of so 2 or did Craig Brown ever get a game for us?
One more

01-05-2020, 03:32 PM
Is Ally McLeod one of the ex players who’ve managed Scotland and Willie Ormand.
One more

01-05-2020, 03:35 PM
Leeds and AEK ok

01-05-2020, 03:36 PM
Scotland Mangers who played for hibs - McLeod, Ormand and a guess at Busby??

01-05-2020, 03:36 PM
Scotland Mangers who played for hibs - McLeod, Ormand and a guess at Busby??
Correct

Well done

Argylehibby
01-05-2020, 03:38 PM
12 wild guess of Wille Pettigrew

17 Fraser Fyvie, Bobby Johnstone, Keith Houchin, Peter Marinello (?) Even bigger guess, Ally McLeod. George Best.

01-05-2020, 03:42 PM
12 wild guess of Wille Pettigrew

17 Fraser Fyvie, Bobby Johnstone, Keith Houchin, Peter Marinello (?) Even bigger guess, Ally McLeod.
Willie Pettigrew spot on

Fyvie Johnstone and Houchen yes

Fyvie never played

01-05-2020, 03:42 PM
Roma & Valencia for 8. Willie Pettigrew for 12 & James Main for 19.

01-05-2020, 03:44 PM
Away goals Anderlecht

01-05-2020, 03:47 PM
Didnae count King Kenny sorry still got the photy o Dalglish wearing the HIBS strip at Easter Road telling Keith Keith Keith where the ba is going next

Cracking night. I remember an interview with KD in which he revealed he almost took the managers spot, his only request was £2Million as a transfer kitty, Hibs baulked.

--
20 Andy/Louie Goram, Murdo and Mr(?) McLeod, Allan and Mark McGraw, .....Craig and John Paterson.

Argylehibby
01-05-2020, 03:47 PM

Anderlecht was on away goals I think so I'm going to steal that for the other question... sorry.:whistle:

01-05-2020, 03:49 PM
#6, Ryan McGivern, sorry, John Parke, Michael O'Neill, Ivan Sproule, Roddy McKenzie?

Argylehibby
01-05-2020, 03:49 PM
Willie Pettigrew spot on

I added Best later, was he not a cup winner with Man U?

01-05-2020, 03:50 PM
7 HIBS have been knocked out of Europe three times on away goals name the three teams? Hamburg *, Anderlecht, Odense

Shezza
01-05-2020, 03:51 PM
12 Willie Pettigrew? Sorry just saw someone else had got this

01-05-2020, 03:52 PM
Roma & Valencia for 8. Willie Pettigrew for 12 & James Main for 19.
Pettigrew ok

James Main ok

Roma and Valencia all square after two legs but still waiting on three more sorry forgot we played Valencia two separate seasons

Happens to the best of us

Sorry 😃

Argylehibby
01-05-2020, 03:53 PM
7 HIBS have been knocked out of Europe three times on away goals name the three teams? Hamburg *, Anderlecht, Odense

Hamburg, right enough, their keeper wore a green top and we had goals chopped off for offside when it was the keeper.

monarch
01-05-2020, 03:54 PM

.....and Paul and Jimmy Kane

01-05-2020, 03:56 PM
Must be Lawrie for #5 though Joe must have best ratio vs games played.
#7 1st game we lost on away goals was Hamburg & as usual we were robbed! Alan Gordon was so good Uwe Seeler asked him to play in his European representative 11!

01-05-2020, 03:56 PM
Away goals Anderlecht
Yip need two more

01-05-2020, 03:58 PM
8 HIBS have been knocked out of Europe four times after the ties have ended up all square after the second leg Name the four teams?

So - Leeds, AEK, Valencia, Roma ....... and Brondby (penalties???)

Puddocky
01-05-2020, 04:00 PM
Willie Pettigrew spot on

Think Fyvie stayed on the bench in the FA cup final - not quite what the question said!

Ray Wilkins another one?

01-05-2020, 04:00 PM
Not sure Leeds should count for #8. We lost on pens. Unless we finished all square with Dundee United in April 2016? 😁

01-05-2020, 04:05 PM
Think Fyvie stayed on the bench in the FA cup final - not quite what the question said!

Ray Wilkins another one?

Peter Cormack for FA Cup final

01-05-2020, 04:06 PM
I added Best later, was he not a cup winner with Man U?
Nope

01-05-2020, 04:08 PM

Ray Wilkins another one?

Spot on Fyvie and Gary Caldwell stayed on the bench substitute Wilkins for Fyvie

Apologies

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 04:11 PM
7. Leeds 68, Hamburg and Anderlecht

Away goals Anderlecht
Yip

Tom Hart RIP
2 George Best?

01-05-2020, 04:12 PM
16 At the start of the 1933-34 season what change did HIBS make to their tops? Shirt went from bottle green to emerald green.

01-05-2020, 04:12 PM
Yes correct

01-05-2020, 04:16 PM
#7 1st game we lost on away goals was Hamburg & as usual we were robbed! Alan Gordon was so good Uwe Seeler asked him to play in his European representative 11!

Lawrie spot on 18 hatricks

01-05-2020, 04:23 PM
8 HIBS have been knocked out of Europe four times after the ties have ended up all square after the second leg Name the four teams?

So - Leeds, AEK, Valencia, Roma ....... and Brondby (penalties???)

Games where the two legs have finished all square Leeds Utd pens AEK extra time Valencia third leg Roma third leg Brondby pens there is still one more?

Sorry I forgot about Brondby

Wee Stinker right enough

One more where both legs were the same result?

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 04:26 PM
4. Jimmy McColl

01-05-2020, 04:27 PM
7. Leeds 68, Hamburg and Anderlecht
Nope see answers Tom

Leeds beat us 1-0 then drew 1-1 in 68 Jackie Giraffe Neck Charlton

01-05-2020, 04:28 PM
4. Jimmy McColl
Spot on

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 04:30 PM
Nope see answers Tom

Leeds beat us 1-0 then drew 1-1 in 68 Jackie Giraffe Neck Charlton

Of course. Memories playing tricks

01-05-2020, 04:30 PM
2 George Best?

Nope

01-05-2020, 04:32 PM

Goram McGraw and McLeod ok

01-05-2020, 04:32 PM
6 Name five players that have been capped for Northern Ireland whilst playing for HIBS?

I think it's 6. I thought about James McPake as well but think he'd gone back to Coventry before signing permanent for Hibs.

Michael O'Neill
Ryan McGivern
Colin Murdock
Ivan Sproule
Dean Shiels
John Parke

01-05-2020, 04:34 PM

I think it's 6. I thought about James McPake as well but think he'd gone back to Coventry before signing permanent for Hibs.

Michael O'Neill
Ryan McGivern
Colin Murdock
Ivan Sproule
Dean Shiels
John Parke

Correct though don’t have McGivern or Roddy Mackenzie being capped whilst at HIBS

Well done

01-05-2020, 04:34 PM
White sleeves for 16?

01-05-2020, 04:35 PM
Goram McGraw and McLeod ok

Craig and John Paterson

01-05-2020, 04:42 PM
Craig and John Paterson
Yes

01-05-2020, 04:42 PM
White sleeves for 16?
Nope 1938

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 04:46 PM
Nope 1938

White collar?

01-05-2020, 04:46 PM
Correct though don’t have McGivern or Roddy Mackenzie being capped whilst at HIBS

Well done

McGivern a defiant - just checked his stats.

Hillsidehibby
01-05-2020, 04:47 PM
15. 1971 v Rangers?

01-05-2020, 04:47 PM

Shirt went from bottle green to emerald green.

01-05-2020, 04:50 PM

Well done

McGivern definitely was capped while with us. I remember being in Portugal watching him play against Portugal!

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 04:51 PM
Add Jock Stein to Scotland managers list.

Jimmy Dunn won an FA Cup medal with Everton, 30s. So did Alex Scott, 60s. Jim Leighton won one with Man U.

Scrub Jock Stein - players! Doh!

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 04:56 PM
The Christmas Day question has come up before. 1970 or 71 v Huns at ER.

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 04:57 PM
Did we get Ronnie Simpson for FA Cup - two in the 50s with Newcastle.

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 05:01 PM
Father and sons: Joe and Joe McBride. John and Craig Paterson.

01-05-2020, 05:12 PM

Joe and Neil Martin roughly same ratio.

01-05-2020, 05:14 PM
9. David Fernandez

01-05-2020, 05:23 PM
White collar?
Yip

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 05:25 PM
2 Bobby Torrance?

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 05:26 PM
14. Gordon Hunter

01-05-2020, 05:27 PM
Did Bobby Flavell's dad play for us?:confused:

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 05:30 PM
14. Pa Kujabi

01-05-2020, 05:31 PM
2. Lawrie Tierney????

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 05:34 PM
14 Keith Houchen???

01-05-2020, 05:35 PM
9. David Fernandez

If that's right I had no idea he was with Hibs.

01-05-2020, 05:37 PM
McGivern a defiant - just checked his stats.
Yip just checked 16/10/2012 Portugal 15/11/2013 Turkey not showing on my HIBS quiz book wonder if it was because he was a Man City loanee

Will give you it

01-05-2020, 05:37 PM
15. 1971 v Rangers?
Yes 0-1 25000 there including me

01-05-2020, 05:38 PM
Is 2 Peter Cormack?

01-05-2020, 05:40 PM

Shirt went from bottle green to emerald green.
White collar

01-05-2020, 05:40 PM
2 Bobby Torrance?
Nope

01-05-2020, 05:43 PM
18 Who did HIBS play their first ever Scottish Cup tie against and what was the score?

Hearts, 0-0 (September 1877)

01-05-2020, 05:44 PM
McGivern definitely was capped while with us. I remember being in Portugal watching him play against Portugal!

Records have him being capped versus Portugal and Turkey away nothing in my HIBS Quiz Book

Fitba stats have him as being on loan from Man City

No sure aboot your big pal Roddy Mackenzie though didnae have the best of times at Easter Road :greengrin

01-05-2020, 05:44 PM
Nope

Peter Cormack?

01-05-2020, 05:49 PM
Add Jock Stein to Scotland managers list.

Jimmy Dunn won an FA Cup medal with Everton, 30s. So did Alex Scott, 60s. Jim Leighton won one with Man U.

Scrub Jock Stein - players! Doh!

Jimmy Dunn father and son

Alex Scott yes

Jim Leighton yes but made a dugs breakfast of the first game and ended up at Easter Road and sat on the bench at the replay

01-05-2020, 05:52 PM

Hearts, 0-0 (September 1877)

For 10 points what was the score in the replay?

Well done

01-05-2020, 05:55 PM
The Christmas Day question has come up before. 1970 or 71 v Huns at ER.
1971 0-1

01-05-2020, 05:56 PM
Did we get Ronnie Simpson for FA Cup - two in the 50s with Newcastle.
Yes 1952 and 1955

01-05-2020, 05:56 PM
For 10 points what was the score in the replay?

Well done

Sorry, I only know when our first ever game was and who it was against.

I'm a bit vague on anything after that

01-05-2020, 05:57 PM

Willie Harper
Bobby Johnstone
Alex Scott
Peter Cormack
Ray Wilkins
Keith Houchen

01-05-2020, 05:57 PM
Peter Cormack?
Nope

01-05-2020, 05:58 PM
No 2.
Ian Hendry

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 06:00 PM
Jimmy Dunn father and son

Alex Scott yes

Jim Leighton yes but made a dugs breakfast of the first game and ended up at Easter Road and sat on the bench at the replay

George Farm for FA Cup.

01-05-2020, 06:00 PM
Did Bobby Flavell's dad play for us?:confused:
Nope maybe a yam :greengrin

01-05-2020, 06:03 PM
14. Gordon Hunter
Yip one of them

01-05-2020, 06:04 PM
Yip one of them

Sol Bamba?

(or was that his first game?)

01-05-2020, 06:08 PM

Willie Harper
Bobby Johnstone
Alex Scott
Peter Cormack
Ray Wilkins
Keith Houchen

Bump? No Willie Harper?

01-05-2020, 06:09 PM

Willie Harper
Bobby Johnstone
Alex Scott
Peter Cormack
Ray Wilkins
Keith Houchen

Yes apart from Harper Darling Willie Groves

01-05-2020, 06:10 PM

Records have him being capped versus Portugal and Turkey away nothing in my HIBS Quiz Book

Fitba stats have him as being on loan from Man City

No sure aboot your big pal Roddy Mackenzie though didnae have the best of times at Easter Road :greengrin

Nah, I don't think Roddy was capped while at ER. I was just self flagellating!!

01-05-2020, 06:11 PM
Goram McGraw and McLeod okNo 20

Both Jackie Mcnamaras

Sent from my LDN-L01 using Tapatalk

01-05-2020, 06:12 PM
Yes apart from Harper Darling Willie Groves

Just looked Harper up, only two successful seasons at Arsenal....not how I thought.

01-05-2020, 06:13 PM
Sol Bamba?

(or was that his first game?)

Yip second yellow versus the Arabs In debut

01-05-2020, 06:13 PM
No 2.
Ian Hendry
Nope

01-05-2020, 06:15 PM
#9 Must be Paul Hartley?

01-05-2020, 06:15 PM
Nope

**** knows then

01-05-2020, 06:16 PM
Sorry to hassle you Billy but what about my answer to no 2? I'm also curious about ancient hibbie's answer to no 9.

01-05-2020, 06:17 PM
No 20

Both Jackie Mcnamaras

Sorry no

01-05-2020, 06:20 PM
Sorry to hassle you Billy but what about my answer to no 2? I'm also curious about ancient hibbie's answer to no 9.

Tierney sounds right........
And PS .... Fernandez is some answer too.....although I thought we had sniffed about him later than that.

01-05-2020, 06:23 PM

It does indeed!

01-05-2020, 06:23 PM

By Christ he was pish. I'm sure Eddie got him on a free from hearts just before he got sacked.

01-05-2020, 06:25 PM
By Christ he was pish. I'm sure Eddie got him on a free from hearts just before he got sacked.

February 80 released by Hearts when I looked it up so it stacks up.
So does the fact he was pish.

01-05-2020, 06:25 PM
#20, I think Alex Miller was registered as a player, therefore his boys, G & G!

01-05-2020, 06:26 PM
Still waiting on:

2 Eddie Turnbulls last signing

9 Which Player left HIBS joined a team not the Old Firm and within 3 years had won the Scottish League Cup and Scottish Cup lining up against HIBS in one of them

14 Name three HIBS players to get sent off their last game

20 Name eight father and sons to have played or registered to play for HIBS

Goram Paterson MacLeod Kane McGraw and McBride still waiting on two

01-05-2020, 06:30 PM
Still waiting on:

So my answer of Lawrie Tierney was wrong?

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 06:31 PM
Still waiting on:

9 Which Player left HIBS joined a team not the Old Firm and within 3 years had won the Scottish League Cup and Scottish Cup lining up against HIBS in one of them

14 There was a laddie got sent off against Aberdeen on his debut, about 10 years ago, and never played again. Can't recall his name.

01-05-2020, 06:32 PM
Gary and Simon Murray no 20

01-05-2020, 06:33 PM
No 2. Lawrie Tierney. Just a guess.

01-05-2020, 06:37 PM
14 There was a laddie got sent off against Aberdeen on his debut, about 10 years ago, and never played again. Can't recall his name.

Dermott McCaffrey, well done for remembering that!

01-05-2020, 06:40 PM
#20, I think Alex Miller was registered as a player, therefore his boys, G & G!

Yip ok will give you that just one more and it is along the same lines :greengrin

01-05-2020, 06:46 PM
No 2 Derek Rodier

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 06:47 PM
Still waiting on:

9 is a real stinker. You have to go back a long way.

01-05-2020, 06:50 PM
9 is a real stinker. You have to go back a long way.

Only as far back as 1947 though.

01-05-2020, 06:50 PM

Sorry mate I thought I had replied to you please accept my apologies

Lawrence Tierney is not the answer I have

David Fernandez would have been a great signing but I have no listing

Sorry to keep you in suspense

I have updated all the answers so far on the OP

Apologies

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 06:51 PM
Only as far back as 1947 though.

Is that no long enough! :greengrin

01-05-2020, 06:51 PM
No 2 Derek Rodier

Sorry no

01-05-2020, 06:55 PM
Is that no long enough! :greengrin

Not if you are Darling Willie Groves.
Or Lawrie Tierney for that ****ing matter!

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 06:56 PM
9. Johnny Aitkenhead?

01-05-2020, 06:56 PM
9. David Fernandez

Sorry no further back

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 06:57 PM
14. Confident about Pa Kujabi and Houchie

01-05-2020, 06:58 PM
9. Johnny Aitkenhead?

Yaaaassssssssss!.....

:partyhibb

scottsh League Cup 1950 Scottish Cup 1952

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 07:00 PM
Great question Billy. Been racking my brains since tea time 🥵

01-05-2020, 07:08 PM
14 we have Gordon Hunter and the Dermot McCaffrey Guy up at Aberdeen just one more

2 ETs Last signing

20 the father and sons just one more clue one was a coach but registered to play

01-05-2020, 07:09 PM
Great question Billy. Been racking my brains since tea time 🥵

ETs last signing is a cracker you will kick yourself :greengrin:greengrin

01-05-2020, 07:15 PM
14. Confident about Pa Kujabi and Houchie

Pa no played again against QOS Houchey yes but I was looking for Grant Brebner but well done once again

01-05-2020, 07:16 PM

Joe Ward.

01-05-2020, 07:18 PM

Tierney signed in Feb 1980 so it must have been between then and mid April.

01-05-2020, 07:19 PM
Joe Ward.
Nope

01-05-2020, 07:21 PM

Knocks out Joe Ward.

I’ll try Terry Wilson in the hope the tribunal came afterwards.

01-05-2020, 07:22 PM

Not the guy I have but TBF my guy is the perfect ET signing :confused:

Willie Jamieson.

14 we have Gordon Hunter and the Dermot McCaffrey Guy up at Aberdeen just one more

2 ETs Last signing

20 the father and sons just one more clue one was a coach but registered to play

Jimmy & Jamie O'Rourke is another. Jamie was a sub when we won the Youth cup

01-05-2020, 07:23 PM
Craig Paterson

Hugh Hamil

Not the answer I have old bean :greengrin

01-05-2020, 07:24 PM
Jim Brown or the other Jim Brown!

01-05-2020, 07:24 PM
Willie Jamieson.

Yaaaaaassssssss!!!!!

:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb:party::party:

01-05-2020, 07:27 PM
Yaaaaaassssssss!!!!!

Had to use a scattergun approach there.

01-05-2020, 07:27 PM
Hugh Hamil
Dunno why but that name is very familiar. Was he about for a while or was he just so totally ***** that it's ingrained in my brain?

01-05-2020, 07:30 PM
Just the father and sons

The MacLeods

The Patersons

The MacBrides

The Kanos

The Gorams

The Miller clan

The McGraws

Just one left one was a player and one was a coach registered to play who sat on the bench if we were really struggling for bodies???

01-05-2020, 07:31 PM
Dunno why but that name is very familiar. Was he about for a while or was he just so totally ***** that it's ingrained in my brain?

Looked great as a youngster for about 4 games in the season we were down in 1980 and faded. Think he moved to Dumbarton. Worked later in the Whisky industry beside current Mrs Pope and is a nice fellah. None of this comes from a book.

I didn't mean as the coach, I just meant it's another father/son as Jamie was registered as a Hibs player.

Not what I have

First team?

01-05-2020, 07:33 PM
Willie turns up at training waring a hun snake belt Jimmy O goes *** mental what the fk is that never ware that again

01-05-2020, 07:34 PM
Just the father and sons

The MacLeods

The Patersons

The MacBrides

The Kanos

The Gorams

The Miller clan

The McGraws

Just one left one was a player and one was a coach registered to play who sat on the bench if we were really struggling for bodies???

Why not the Murrays?

01-05-2020, 07:35 PM
Looked great as a youngster for about 4 games in the season we were down in 1980 and faded. Think he moved to Dumbarton. Worked later in the Whisky industry beside current Mrs Pope and is a nice fellah. None of this comes from a book.

Hmm I'm just very familiar with the name. Where in the whisky industry? I've been in it for 35 years on 1st July

01-05-2020, 07:35 PM
Why not the Murrays?
No but close again

01-05-2020, 07:37 PM
No but close again

Gary and Simon Murray are not father and son?

01-05-2020, 07:37 PM
Not what I have

First team?
You just get registered as a player. Did Jamie play in the 1st team, no, but then neither did Jimmy Kane.

01-05-2020, 07:38 PM
Yaaaaaassssssss!!!!!

Willie signed in August 79 according to Hibernian: The Life and Times of a Famous Football Club. So maybe Tierney was a loan signing?

01-05-2020, 07:39 PM
Hmm I'm just very familiar with the name. Where in the whisky industry? I've been in it for 35 years on 1st July

Hiram Walker (Ballantine’s).. Mrs P won’t let me tell you how long she’s been in it! Leith start obviously. Yourself?

01-05-2020, 07:40 PM
Yaaaaaassssssss!.......!...!..:partyhibb:partyhibb :partyhibb:party::party::party:

Well done forgot about them two

I was looking for Gordon Marshall and Gordon Marshall Jnr

Well done

Thanks for playing everyone

Maybe Billy knows something we don't!

You just get registered as a player. Did Jamie play in the 1st team, no, but then neither did Jimmy Kane.

Willie signed in August 79 according to Hibernian: The Life and Times of a Famous Football Club. So maybe Tierney was a loan signing?

He’s no Bamber Gascoigne men, it’s only a book! :greengrin

01-05-2020, 07:41 PM
Maybe Billy knows something we don't!

Sorry about the delay but my iPad has been really slow doing this

I need a drink

Thanks again

Sorry about the delay but my iPad has been really slow doing this

I need a drink

Thanks again

Good quiz :thumbsup:

Yaaaaaassssssss!.......!...!..:partyhibb:partyhibb :partyhibb:party::party::party:

Well done forgot about them two

I was looking for Gordon Marshall and Gordon Marshall Jnr

Well done

Thanks for playing everyone

Someone mentioned the Murrays a while back Billy. Well done though, great fun :flag::flag:

01-05-2020, 07:43 PM

Not sure Willie counts as a signing. IIRC he came from Tynie BC.

01-05-2020, 07:45 PM
According to the book he signed the form and Eddie looked down and he had Rangers socks on. :confused:

01-05-2020, 07:46 PM
Someone mentioned the Murrays a while back Billy. Well done though, great fun :flag::flag:

Aye Andrew and Jamie :greengrin

01-05-2020, 07:47 PM
Well done Billy, excellent as ever.

01-05-2020, 07:50 PM

Not sure WJ played with TBC but many Hibs fans did

01-05-2020, 07:51 PM
Hiram Walker (Ballantine’s).. Mrs P won’t let me tell you how long she’s been in it! Leith start obviously. Yourself?
Cambus when it was a distillery as an apprentice engineer. Been about a bit and in many different roles. Engineering, projects, project management, production manager, back as engineering manager now. Worked at Cambus, Leven, Cameronbridge and now Maturation in Alloa. Great industry to work in

01-05-2020, 07:55 PM
Cambus when it was a distillery as an apprentice engineer. Been about a bit and in many different roles. Engineering, projects, project management, production manager, back as engineering manager now. Worked at Cambus, Leven, Cameronbridge and now Maturation in Alloa. Great industry to work in

Cambus. Grain she tells me? Maturation is the share for the Angels she tells me, but I’m already out my depth. **** the Hertz!

Tomsk
01-05-2020, 08:01 PM
Well done, Billy. Some mighty fine quizzing there, fella. :thumbsup:

01-05-2020, 08:02 PM
Well done Billy, excellent as ever.
The History of HIBS Quiz book Tom Wright

The 1980s P 53 Q4

Which youngster was Eddie Turnbulls last signing for the club?

A) Willie Jamieson became Eddie Turnbulls last ever signing for the club when he joined HIBS from Tynecastle boys club Turnbull would later relate that as both parties were about to sign the contract he looked down to see that Jamieson was actually wearing Rangers socks

01-05-2020, 08:03 PM
Well done, Billy. Some mighty fine quizzing there, fella. :thumbsup:

01-05-2020, 09:26 PM
Just the father and sons

The MacLeods

The Patersons

The MacBrides

The Kanos

The Gorams

The Miller clan

The McGraws

How about Alex & Jordan Cropley?

Hillsidehibby
01-05-2020, 09:27 PM
Yes 0-1 25000 there including me

Me too. Our mate Colin Stein scoring right at the end. The cant.

01-05-2020, 09:31 PM
How about Alex & Jordan Cropley?
I hear ye!