View Full Version : First Hero

Shezza
30-04-2020, 03:35 PM
As you will be able to see by my post count I’m not usually up for this so apologies if there has ever been a thread that is similar. Try to guess. My first hero was: we got him 63 and sold him in 66. The day he got sold led to “me” sulking for at least a month?

Feed McGraw
30-04-2020, 03:37 PM
As you will be able to see by my post count I’m not usually up for this so apologies if there has ever been a thread that is similar. Try to guess. My first hero was: we got him 63 and sold him in 66. The day he got sold led to “me” sulking for at least a month?Neil Martin ?

Shezza
30-04-2020, 03:38 PM
Neil Martin ? Sorry no but I thought he was great too.

Feed McGraw
30-04-2020, 03:41 PM
Sorry no but I thought he was great too.Ok, one more guess - Jim Scott ?

WillieP
30-04-2020, 03:43 PM
Willie Hamilton

Feed McGraw
30-04-2020, 03:44 PM
Sorry no but I thought he was great too.I'm back again - John McNamee 😀

Shezza
30-04-2020, 03:45 PM
Ok, one more guess - Jim Scott ?
Sorry no but his name brings back good memories. Winning goal against Dunfermline in a 5-6gane at east end park

Shezza
30-04-2020, 03:46 PM
I'm back again - John McNamee 😀 well done. You persevered.

Shezza
30-04-2020, 03:49 PM
Willie Hamilton No but he was some player. You’ll see that someone got the answer : Big John

30-04-2020, 04:01 PM
Big John was my uncles hero and he lived telling me stories about him. Sounds like some player and hard as nails. Also hated the Hun apparently so always a good place to start

Shezza
30-04-2020, 04:03 PM
Big John was my uncles hero and he lived telling me stories about him. Sounds like some player and hard as nails. Also hated the Hun apparently so always a good place to start

30-04-2020, 04:10 PM
My dad used to play fitba with me in the lobby I would be about five he would shout “ I am Big Bad John McNamee They Shall Not Pass “ and boot me up in the air as I tried to go past him. :greengrin

Shezza
30-04-2020, 04:13 PM
My dad used to play fitba with me in the lobby I would be about five he would shout “ I am Big Bad John McNamee They Shall Not Pass “ and boot me up in the air as I tried to go past him. :greengrin

Feed McGraw
30-04-2020, 04:23 PM
well done. You persevered. Had a longer think about it and nearly said Willie Hamilton but was sure he left the year before so thought it must be Big John - what a player !

Shezza
30-04-2020, 04:26 PM
Had a longer think about it and nearly said Willie Hamilton but was sure he left the year before so thought it must be Big John - what a player !
So was McGraw

maturehibby
30-04-2020, 05:35 PM
Eric Stevenson

30-04-2020, 05:39 PM

That sounds so much like the legendary Peter Collins from Gracemount.

30-04-2020, 05:45 PM
Was gutted when Colin Stein was sold to Rangers for £100000

Went in the cream puff for about a month especially when he scored a hatrick against us at Ibrox

Soon got over it when Joe McBride Snr starting rapping them in

The next superstar is just around the corner

30-04-2020, 06:04 PM
Mickey Weir

simple
30-04-2020, 06:06 PM
Keith Wright

Feed McGraw
30-04-2020, 06:08 PM
So was McGraw

He certainly was - another great player of that era.

30-04-2020, 06:13 PM
Pat The King, always has been always will be, total legend.

30-04-2020, 06:15 PM
Jim scott for me loved this guy , we did sign his brother who was half decent as well.

30-04-2020, 06:17 PM

Snap

bringbackbenny
30-04-2020, 06:37 PM
For me it's Ally McLeod. Does anyone remember this double free kick (or did I imagine it!?)

30-04-2020, 06:38 PM
Alan Gordon ...couldn’t take my eyes of his elegant style ...loved him as a young kid ...

30-04-2020, 07:16 PM
Roger Milla. Then JC (at Celtic) with Laudrup.

SideBurns
30-04-2020, 07:22 PM
As a late 70s man, Jim McArthur & Jackie McNamara were my favourite players. I was never going to be a goalie though, and spent most of my fitba days at the back so will plump for Jackie Mac out of the two.

30-04-2020, 07:24 PM
My 1st Hibs hero was Jackie McNamara. We didn’t move to
Edinburgh until 1978.
Always remember his song, we all agree McNamara is magic

dchibs
30-04-2020, 07:24 PM
Alex Edwards for me.

30-04-2020, 07:28 PM
Albert Kidd.

30-04-2020, 07:34 PM
Allan McGraw. Taken off injured, Hibs down to 10 men, no subs left, came back on to win a cup semifinal with last min goal. For a 10 yr old Hibs fan, that was heroism.

So sad to see that later in life, the injections he took to play in games like that cost him his health.

Allan McGraw = Hero.

HendoDelivered
30-04-2020, 08:52 PM
Derek Riordan.

Hillsidehibby
30-04-2020, 09:12 PM
For me it's Ally McLeod. Does anyone remember this double free kick (or did I imagine it!?)

It definitely happened. I saw it with me own eyes.

Hillsidehibby
30-04-2020, 09:16 PM
Colin Stein. My hero as a boy of 9. Then he leaves us for the huns and scores a hat trick against us. Not just that but the way he celebrated.

I have never trusted a man ever since.

30-04-2020, 09:26 PM
Colin Stein. My hero as a boy of 9. Then he leaves us for the huns and scores a hat trick against us. Not just that but the way he celebrated.

I have never trusted a man ever since.

30-04-2020, 09:29 PM
Ralph Callachan. I think as a kid I met him at some Hibs kids do and he had a very nice brown leather jacket and good hair.

Wasn’t a lot to choose from in the early 80s.

30-04-2020, 09:36 PM
Don't really remember the tornadoes although I did see them. Probably Des Bremner or Ally McLeod. Just remember Des being totally non stop and Ally having unbelievable touch, skill and vision. Imagine having a mix of those two. What a player that would be. Shout outs to Arthur Duncan, Jackie Mac, Ralph Callachan,

Deek9
30-04-2020, 09:40 PM
Alex Cropley for me - great player.

Hillsidehibby
30-04-2020, 10:14 PM

Ach once he ****ed off Peter Cormack did just fine

30-04-2020, 10:21 PM
Guys of my age will say Gordon Smith(the first Scotsman I saw with a permanent sun tan,turned out he spent as long as he could in summer in Cannes) but mine was Lawrie Reilly- what a combination of skill and determination.

01-05-2020, 06:19 AM
SIR PATRICK GORDON STANTON

See my avatar. :agree:

01-05-2020, 07:18 AM
Sir David Gray for me

01-05-2020, 07:29 AM
Ach once he ****ed off Peter Cormack did just fine

Yip according to his book he was promised the next big money move

Forest then Liverpool worked oot no too bad

Inch joe
01-05-2020, 07:52 AM
John blackley, was a class player, easily my first hero

norwayhibs
01-05-2020, 08:01 AM
My first hero was Erich Schaedler. Great player

01-05-2020, 08:13 AM
Nigel Mansell 😉

First Hibs hero/favourite player - Keith Wright

SCHAEDYSHORTS
01-05-2020, 03:09 PM

Mine too, hard as nails & 100% committed, will never forget him:applause:

hhibs
01-05-2020, 03:27 PM

For me, second only to Joe Baker,both passed too soon.

01-05-2020, 05:20 PM
John Collins I think.

JammyDoidger
01-05-2020, 05:53 PM
Russell latapy. What a player.

01-05-2020, 05:54 PM
Ally McLeod for me.

01-05-2020, 05:55 PM
Ally McLeod for me.Between Ally McLeod & Jackie McNamara for me.

01-05-2020, 06:20 PM

Yeah was it against Dundee Boxing day of New Year's day I think. Put them different corners. A bit lazy but what a player he was.

01-05-2020, 06:25 PM
Steve Archibald for me if Hibs. Not necessarily a Hibs legend, but classy.

01-05-2020, 06:47 PM
Colin Stein. I gret when he signed for the Huns.

01-05-2020, 06:48 PM
Colin Stein. I gret when he signed for the Huns.

My dads hero for the huns ironically.

Tom Hart RIP
01-05-2020, 07:08 PM
Jimmy O’Rourke.

01-05-2020, 07:09 PM
Graheme Fyffe.

01-05-2020, 07:15 PM
Graheme Fyffe.
I'm not sure that Graham Fyfe would even be Graham Fyfes hero!!

GRA
01-05-2020, 08:58 PM
Big Matty Jack 😁

02-05-2020, 05:58 PM
First hero? Definitely Pat Stanton for me.
Although I completely empathise with the Colin Stein posts.
A lot of Leith school kids had a greet when he left to go to the ‘dark side’.

02-05-2020, 06:20 PM

Same here, I was only 11 when he left for Celtic but I'd been going to the games regularly home and away for a few years at that time. After he left I developed a real man crush for Ally McLeod.

CLASS OF 72 -73
02-05-2020, 10:23 PM
I remember vaguely the late sixties stars like Cormack, Marinello ,Scott and Stevenson but as a privileged teenager in the Turnbull era in the early seventies we were really spoilt for hero's.
Stanton who looked like a movie star and glided over the park stuck out the best but Cropley, Brownlie and Blackley were also brilliant.I think guys like me are probably more critical these days as we only ever knew a top top side as good as the old firm and struggle now with any with mediocrity.

Hillsidehibby
02-05-2020, 10:39 PM
I never used to even notice Pat Stanton those days. I preferred the long haired playboys like Cormack and Marinello up front.

03-05-2020, 02:25 AM
Sauzee

Shezza
03-05-2020, 05:47 AM

I have never trusted a man ever since. I was at a reserve game and Colin Stein was sitting at the back of the old south stand puffing on a ciggie. I piously said that he shouldn’t be smoking when asking for his autograph. I can’t remember his exact words but they were something like “f*&# off you wee s****”.