View Full Version : Another Perverse Quiz

28-04-2020, 11:16 AM
OK, I've tried to do a quiz where you can't go to the record books for the answer. Sorry Billy!! :wink: In these cases you really need to work out the connection/trend before you can get the answer. Just name the missing person/team, denoted by ?? in the following sequences.

1. Alex Cropley, Andy Goram, Steven Fletcher ?? Kris Commons? Enland born who played for Hibs & Scotland.

2. Pat Stanton, Tony Mowbray, ??, John Hughes John Collins? Hibs managers who played for Celtc

3. ??, Owen Hargreaves, Jadon Sancho Joe Baker, players who played for England before they played in England

4. Joe McBride sen, Jimmy O'Rourke, Alan Gordon, ?? Flo Kamberi, European hat tricks

5. Alan Maybury, ??, Jason Cummings, Flo Kamberi Scott Robertson. Sent off versus Hearts

6. Airdrie/Partick 1959, ??, Alloa/Hamilton 1965, Motherwell 2010 Pars 8-4 1960, Peebles R 15-1 1961. Games with 12 or more goals!!

7. Tommy Craig, ??, Donald Park, Gerry McCabe Caretaker managers; Billy McNeill, Jocky Scott also grudgingly acceptable.

8. Neil Martin, Joe McBride sen, ??, Alan Gordon Arthur Duncan, scorers of 4 in a game.

9. Scott Brown, Steven Whittaker, ?? Steven Fletcher David Murphy, transfers over £1m

10. Nick Colgan, Mark Brown ??, Conrad Logan Ben Williams? Cup Final Keepers

An easy one to finish - enjoy!! :wink:

28-04-2020, 11:18 AM
2. John Collins?
10. Graham Stack?

28-04-2020, 11:20 AM
3. Joe Baker

28-04-2020, 11:21 AM
10. Ben Williams

28-04-2020, 11:49 AM
#4 Florian Judas Kamberi

Hatrick in Europe?

Puddocky
28-04-2020, 11:55 AM
1. Kris Commons

28-04-2020, 11:57 AM
#7 Jocky Scott

Interim Managers

Green Man
28-04-2020, 11:59 AM
7. Mark Venus

MKHIBEE
28-04-2020, 12:32 PM
3- Murdo Macleod

28-04-2020, 12:38 PM
3- Murdo Macleod

Unless he played for England without ever playing in England it's not him. Must be Baker

MKHIBEE
28-04-2020, 12:38 PM
2 Bertie Auld

28-04-2020, 12:51 PM
2 Bertie Auld
Or John Collins?

28-04-2020, 12:55 PM
This quiz is pish, has nothing to do with perverts

28-04-2020, 12:58 PM
OK, I've tried to do a quiz where you can't go to the record books for the answer. Sorry Billy!! :wink: In these cases you really need to work out the connection/trend before you can get the answer. Just name the missing person/team, denoted by ?? in the following sequences.

1. Alex Cropley, Andy Goram, Steven Fletcher ?? Kris Commons, English born who played for Hibs & Scotland

2. Pat Stanton, Tony Mowbray, ??, John Hughes John Collins?

3. ??, Owen Hargreaves, Jadon Sancho Joe Baker, players who played for England before they played in England

4. Joe McBride sen, Jimmy O'Rourke, Alan Gordon, ?? Flo Kamberi, European hat tricks

5. Alan Maybury, ??, Jason Cummings, Flo Kamberi

6. Airdrie/Partick 1959, ??, Alloa/Hamilton 1965, Motherwell 2010, Dunfermline 1960 8-4, Peebles R 15-1 1961. All games with 12 or more goals

7. Tommy Craig, ??, Donald Park, Gerry McCabe Caretaker managers but who?

8. Neil Martin, Joe McBride sen, ??, Alan Gordon

9. Scott Brown, Steven Whittaker, ?? Steven Fletcher

10. Nick Colgan, Mark Brown ??, Conrad Logan Ben Williams? Cup Final keepers

OK, we have 5 correct answers but only 2 provided the connection, shown above, Billy Hibs of course. See if you can add the connection, I know #10 is obvious but please provide for the sake of others. Someone got the correct connection for #7 but the wrong person. No joy so far on 5,6, 8 or 9!

28-04-2020, 01:02 PM
#6 - games that finished 6-6?

28-04-2020, 01:03 PM
Number 5 their first goal against Hamilton ?

28-04-2020, 01:04 PM
This quiz is pish, has nothing to do with perverts

Yip!

Should be the persevere quiz :greengrin

28-04-2020, 01:07 PM
OK, we have 5 correct answers but only 2 provided the connection, shown above, Billy Hibs of course. See if you can add the connection, I know #10 is obvious but please provide for the sake of others. Someone got the correct connection for #7 but the wrong person. No joy so far on 5,6, 8 or 9!

10....Hibs GK in Scottish Cup finals

28-04-2020, 01:19 PM
#6 Third Lanark 1960 8-4 or Pebbles Rovers 15-1 1961

Doings handed oot over six goals?

28-04-2020, 01:27 PM
#7 Mark Proctor

Reason already stated

Puddocky
28-04-2020, 01:38 PM
1. Scotland caps born in England (who also played for us of course).

28-04-2020, 01:56 PM
#6 - games that finished 6-6?

No, but you're on the right track.

28-04-2020, 01:58 PM
Number 5 their first goal against Hamilton ?

No, sorry!

28-04-2020, 01:59 PM
10....Hibs GK in Scottish Cup finals

Correct!

28-04-2020, 01:59 PM
1. Scotland caps born in England (who also played for us of course).
Correct!

28-04-2020, 02:00 PM
#7 Mark Proctor

Reason already stated

Nope, he was later.

28-04-2020, 02:06 PM

Correct, though the Well game was of course a 6-6 doing. All games with 12 or more goals. Airdrie A, 11-1, Partick A, 10-2, Peebles H, 15-1, Pars H, 8-4, Alloa H, 11-2, Hamilton H 11-1, Well A, 6-6. Quite remarkable that in all these hammerings we never kept a clean sheet. In fact Ronnie Simpson saved 2 pens against Pars! I blame Paul Hanlon! :greengrin

28-04-2020, 02:18 PM

1. Alex Cropley, Andy Goram, Steven Fletcher ?? Kris Commons? Enland born who played for Hibs & Scotland.

2. Pat Stanton, Tony Mowbray, ??, John Hughes John Collins?

5. Alan Maybury, ??, Jason Cummings, Flo Kamberi

6. Airdrie/Partick 1959, ??, Alloa/Hamilton 1965, Motherwell 2010 Pars 8-4 1960, Peebles R 15-1 1961. Games with 12 or more goals!!

7. Tommy Craig, ??, Donald Park, Gerry McCabe Caretaker managers but who?

8. Neil Martin, Joe McBride sen, ??, Alan Gordon

9. Scott Brown, Steven Whittaker, ?? Steven Fletcher

Answers needed for 5, 8 & 9. Connection for 2 & name for 7.

28-04-2020, 02:23 PM
Is 5 being sent off against the tarts? Can't think of the player though. Shields?

28-04-2020, 02:28 PM
Connection for 2 ex Celtic managing HIBS

28-04-2020, 02:28 PM
Answers needed for 5, 8 & 9. Connection for 2 & name for 7.No 2, Hibernian managers who were ex-Celtic players?

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

28-04-2020, 02:29 PM
#8 Jimmy ORourke

Something to do with hatricks five or more?

28-04-2020, 02:31 PM
Someone mentioned Mark Venus? :greengrin

28-04-2020, 02:33 PM
Answers needed for 5, 8 & 9. Connection for 2 & name for 7.7, Jocky Scott

28-04-2020, 02:52 PM
Is 5 being sent off against the tarts? Can't think of the player though. Shields?
Correct connection, wrong player.

28-04-2020, 02:52 PM
No 2, Hibernian managers who were ex-Celtic players?

Correct!

28-04-2020, 02:53 PM
7, Jocky Scott

Sorry, he was only in charge for 1 game.

28-04-2020, 02:53 PM
Someone mentioned Mark Venus? :greengrin
Nope, earlier.

28-04-2020, 02:55 PM
#8 Jimmy ORourke

Something to do with hatricks five or more?

Its not Jimmy & its not hat tricks but you're warm! 😁

greeny
28-04-2020, 02:59 PM
7 Billy McNeill

28-04-2020, 03:03 PM
Sorry, he was only in charge for 1 game.Dave Ewing? Wilson Humphries?

28-04-2020, 03:07 PM
7 Billy McNeill
Correct!

28-04-2020, 03:11 PM
Correct!

Edit, get it now. Caretakers in charge for one game.

28-04-2020, 03:13 PM
Correct connection, wrong player.

5. Scott Robertson?

28-04-2020, 03:14 PM
Is number 9 Garry O'connor. Transfer fees received of £2M plus.

28-04-2020, 03:16 PM
Correct!
Billy McNeill only one game 0-3 loss Aberdeen away

Jocky Scott 13 games 1996

I want my money back :greengrin

Jocky Scott listed as Caretaker Manager Wiki

Billy McNeill took charge of the team for one game

franck sauzee
28-04-2020, 03:44 PM
9. Lewis Stevenson. Academy players that started the 2007 League Cup Final

28-04-2020, 03:58 PM
Is number 9 Garry O'connor. Transfer fees received of £2M plus.

You're on the right track but Garry was earlier. They're sequential.

28-04-2020, 03:59 PM
5. Scott Robertson?

Correct, well done.

28-04-2020, 04:05 PM
Billy McNeill only one game 0-3 loss Aberdeen away

Jocky Scott 13 games 1996

I want my money back :greengrin

Jocky Scott listed as Caretaker Manager Wiki

Billy McNeill took charge of the team for one game

Jockey was a caretaker but as he only had 2 games less than Franck I left him out! 😂

28-04-2020, 04:06 PM
Jockey was a caretaker but as he only had 2 games less than Franck I left him out! [emoji23]Boooo

28-04-2020, 04:06 PM
Jockey was a caretaker but as he only had 2 games less than Franck I left him out! 😂
Boo!

28-04-2020, 04:07 PM
Correct, well done.

What's the connection with Scott Robertson and question 5 ?:confused:

28-04-2020, 04:08 PM
Edit, get it now. Caretakers in charge for one game.

I didn't really mean that. But all answers are sequential. I asked for connection/trend. You were just out a bit.
Tommy Craig was actually twice & on both occasions he lost 3 & drew 1 of his 4 games in charge. And he effectively signed AOB & Brian Kerr! Jeez!

28-04-2020, 04:10 PM
What's the connection with Scott Robertson and question 5 ?:confused:

Sequence of our players sent off against Hearts.

28-04-2020, 04:11 PM
Sequence of our players sent off against Hearts.

Ahhh :aok:

Was gonna say what about Grant Brebner Gordon Rae etc but it's the ORDER in sending offs :greengrin

28-04-2020, 04:12 PM
9. Lewis Stevenson. Academy players that started the 2007 League Cup Final

You're right but it's not the connection/trend I was after. It's to do with transfer fees. He also played in LC 2007!

28-04-2020, 04:13 PM
Ahhh :aok:

Was gonna say what about Grant Brebner Gordon Rae etc but it's the ORDER in sending offs :greengrin

Yes, I think A few missed the trend part in the question.

28-04-2020, 04:18 PM
You're right but it's not the connection/trend I was after. It's to do with transfer fees. He also played in LC 2007!

David Murphy question 9 ?

28-04-2020, 04:29 PM
David Murphy question 9 ?

Correct! Transfer fees of more than £1m received.

28-04-2020, 04:32 PM
Only #8 to go & its to do with goalscoring.

28-04-2020, 04:42 PM
8 Arthur Duncan

Over 20 goals in a season

28-04-2020, 04:55 PM
8 Arthur Duncan

Over 20 goals in a season

Its Arthur ok but not connection/trend I was looking for

28-04-2020, 04:59 PM
Thought so

28-04-2020, 05:02 PM

Something to do with hat-tricks?

28-04-2020, 05:44 PM
Something to do with hat-tricks?

Close!

28-04-2020, 06:02 PM
Close!

Hat tricks for their previous teams and us.?

Canny mind Neil Martin's previous team.....

28-04-2020, 06:04 PM
I didn't really mean that. But all answers are sequential. I asked for connection/trend. You were just out a bit.
Tommy Craig was actually twice & on both occasions he lost 3 & drew 1 of his 4 games in charge. And he effectively signed AOB & Brian Kerr! Jeez!Cheers, Brog , enjoying these. I promise.to read the questions properly next time.

28-04-2020, 06:07 PM
They all scored 4 goals in a game.

28-04-2020, 06:25 PM
They all scored 4 goals in a game.

At last! Yes! When Alan G scored all 4 in a 4-0 win at Airdrie, Tommy Preston delighted in telling everyone he was the last Hibs player to do exactly the same thing, though we scored 11 in Tommy's game!

28-04-2020, 06:30 PM
I'm sure I could look it up somewhere but you'll know.My memory is that Neil Martin scored 4 a few times.Certainly twice against Falkirk and once against QOS who had of course sold him to Hibs.

28-04-2020, 06:38 PM
I'm sure I could look it up somewhere but you'll know.My memory is that Neil Martin scored 4 a few times.Certainly twice against Falkirk and once against QOS who had of course sold him to Hibs.

Incredibly Neil & Jim Scott both scored 4 in the same game, LC against Alloa. I also remember Neil scoring 4 against Falkirk the day after Willie Hamilton's wonder goal at Tiny on New Years day. My pal Stan Vincent scored the other 2 & he always claimed Neil robbed him of his hat trick by finishing one off that was already going in!

28-04-2020, 06:45 PM

2. Pat Stanton, Tony Mowbray, ??, John Hughes John Collins? Hibs managers who played for Celtc

5. Alan Maybury, ??, Jason Cummings, Flo Kamberi Scott Robertson. Sent off versus Hearts

6. Airdrie/Partick 1959, ??, Alloa/Hamilton 1965, Motherwell 2010 3rd Lanark 8-4 1960, Peebles R 15-1 1961. Games with 12 or more goals!!

7. Tommy Craig, ??, Donald Park, Gerry McCabe Caretaker managers; Billy McNeill, Jocky Scott also grudgingly acceptable.

8. Neil Martin, Joe McBride sen, ??, Alan Gordon Arthur Duncan, scorers of 4 in a game.

9. Scott Brown, Steven Whittaker, ?? Steven Fletcher David Murphy, transfers over £1m

Final answers here, thanks for taking part!

28-04-2020, 07:01 PM

For some reason I originally put Dunfermline down here. Obviously getting confused with the game a season earlier when we only won 7-4! :greengrin

28-04-2020, 07:03 PM

It is crazy that in the 15 years after Joe B scored 4 at Tiny, 7 different Hibs players scored 4 or more on 12 occasions & no one has done it in the 47 years since!!

28-04-2020, 07:09 PM
For some reason I originally put Dunfermline down here. Obviously getting confused with the game a season earlier when we only won 7-4! :greengrin
I thought you meant the 6-5 game in 66 when you mentioned the pars but by then Simpson had been pressganged by that wily old fox John Stein