View Full Version : Which shade of green best represents Hibs?

26-04-2020, 10:21 PM
With so many different versions of green used which one best represents Hibs?

26-04-2020, 10:23 PM
Emerald. No argument!!

26-04-2020, 10:25 PM
Emerald green.

I think bottle green is one of those colours that works better in certain fibres. On a polyester football shirt it's just a bit dull. It doesn't catch the eye the way an emerald green kit does.

26-04-2020, 10:29 PM
Emerald. No question.

26-04-2020, 11:26 PM
:singing:
bring on the heartz the celtic r angers
bring on the spaniards by the score
we're the boys in EMERALD green
Family board Family board Family board la la la etc

OstKurve Hibs
26-04-2020, 11:41 PM
Emerald green, no question!

27-04-2020, 12:19 AM
I'd always say emerald, but after googling green colour charts I'd say parakeet or shamrock. :greengrin

TimeForHeroes16
27-04-2020, 12:22 AM
the top we won both cups in emerald green

27-04-2020, 07:20 AM
A dark green light green is Celtic pish

An example I was at Darkheid and a vendor saw us coming around the corner sussed we were hibbies had these horrible light green Celtic bar scarfs and shouts “ Era HIBS colours” to great hilarity

27-04-2020, 07:27 AM
https://i.pinimg.com/564x/95/83/2f/95832f16fe64a6e06118f21a5a8e4547.jpg

27-04-2020, 07:41 AM
Emerald and bottle green diamonds :greengrin

Favourite Hibs kit in a while...followed extremely closely by next seasons/our Scottish Cup strip.

27-04-2020, 08:05 AM
We are the boys in emerald green

27-04-2020, 08:09 AM
After the greatest day in my life. Bottle green

27-04-2020, 08:49 AM
The best shade of green on a Hibs top was the Nike effort from 13/14 unfortunately. Absolutely stunning.

The bottle green does work well too and there’s no issue in using that instead of emerald every 4/5 years to break it up IMO. I’ve wanted to see black socks on the home kit a while for something a bit different but the bottle green socks look smart on the new home kit.

27-04-2020, 09:26 AM
That's an awful lot of answers without a single person mentioning a Pantone code (https://i.pinimg.com/originals/fd/c0/5a/fdc05a586b813a859d219af1f0bc8643.jpg).

27-04-2020, 09:43 AM
That's an awful lot of answers without a single person mentioning a Pantone code (https://i.pinimg.com/originals/fd/c0/5a/fdc05a586b813a859d219af1f0bc8643.jpg).

Long white sleeves make all the Hibs strips look better

Richibee
27-04-2020, 09:49 AM
that's an awful lot of answers without a single person mentioning a pantone code (https://i.pinimg.com/originals/fd/c0/5a/fdc05a586b813a859d219af1f0bc8643.jpg).

pms 355 (not the colloquial use of pms obviously! )

27-04-2020, 09:51 AM

Tornadoes Green all day. 👍

27-04-2020, 09:53 AM
Hibs 16/17 home shade

27-04-2020, 09:58 AM
pms 355 (not the colloquial use of pms obviously! )

27-04-2020, 10:02 AM
I don't mind as long as the there are long white sleeves and no purple in it.

EI255
27-04-2020, 10:17 AM
Emerald. Because its Hibernian.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

H18S NX
27-04-2020, 10:21 AM
Emerald

gillythehibby
27-04-2020, 10:24 AM
Emerald. No argument!!

27-04-2020, 10:48 AM
To turn it round a bit what colour do Hertz play in? They say it’s maroon but if you look at their tops over the years they are different shades of a bloodied jobby

27-04-2020, 10:51 AM

Beautiful

OstKurve Hibs
27-04-2020, 10:54 AM
Dont know why people want to change shades or add black socks or any other guff like that, emerald green and white is our colours and colours shouldn't b changed, football strips arent a fashion accessory they are huge part of the clubs identity

27-04-2020, 10:54 AM
To turn it round a bit what colour do Hertz play in? They say it’s maroon but if you look at their tops over the years they are different shades of a bloodied jobby

That's a fact. Whisper it but I actually quite like maroon as a colour, in some situations it can look quite classy. Which makes it a constant source of amusement to me that Hearts more often than not seem to come up with a pish version of it :greengrin

27-04-2020, 10:57 AM
Emerald green for me. Though I don't mind Hibs mixing it up a wee bit now and then.

Just not ... never ever ever ... green shorts with the green top.

27-04-2020, 11:05 AM
The kit we went down in was unquestionably the best shade we've ever had

The emerald green we usually wear is a bit too light

Perd Hapley
27-04-2020, 11:46 AM
The bottle is classier imho - plus for myself anyway it has connotations of us rediscovering our chutzpah through the magic of Leigh's left foot following the 2012 cup final (ok, we all know how the season after that ended, but moving swiftly on...), humbling der Hun in the championship and of course the greatest day in history. It does make for the unedifying spectacle of change strips in a derby but it's a price worth paying in my humble estimation in order to cut about looking that classy. I am also convinced, rationally or not, that the darker shade has a psychological benefit to the players as evidenced by certain acts of grace and willpower performed in the dark green in recent years, particularly against the rangers and their fanclub (conveniently ignoring of course some other less glorious moments). So aye, dark for me

What I'd really like to see though is more experimentation with two-tone designs over the coming years - the 18/19 top was a good start down that road but there's a lot of untapped design potential there yet imo. The new one is a step in the right direction actually in making good use of dark green for contrast but I want to see some more mental diamond designs before I turn old and blind and tasteless

28-04-2020, 05:02 PM
The bottle is classier imho - plus for myself anyway it has connotations of us rediscovering our chutzpah through the magic of Leigh's left foot following the 2012 cup final (ok, we all know how the season after that ended, but moving swiftly on...), humbling der Hun in the championship and of course the greatest day in history. It does make for the unedifying spectacle of change strips in a derby but it's a price worth paying in my humble estimation in order to cut about looking that classy. I am also convinced, rationally or not, that the darker shade has a psychological benefit to the players as evidenced by certain acts of grace and willpower performed in the dark green in recent years, particularly against the rangers and their fanclub (conveniently ignoring of course some other less glorious moments). So aye, dark for me

What I'd really like to see though is more experimentation with two-tone designs over the coming years - the 18/19 top was a good start down that road but there's a lot of untapped design potential there yet imo. The new one is a step in the right direction actually in making good use of dark green for contrast but I want to see some more mental diamond designs before I turn old and blind and tasteless

all about opinions I suppose. I thought the 2018/19 effort was our worst lookin kit for years.

emerald green for me