View Full Version : Old Pissheads

21-04-2020, 07:38 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-52360728

Interesting stats. Binge drinking was a feature of my younger drinking experience and I think it is a strong part of Scottish drink culture. Still have a tendency to overstep my limits if I’m enjoying the conversation!!

EI255
21-04-2020, 08:03 AM
Embarrassing to say, but I'm usually a goner after around six pints of golden beer. Was never like that when I was younger. (Must be the complex gasses in the beers [emoji848])

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

21-04-2020, 08:27 AM
Embarrassing to say, but I'm usually a goner after around six pints of golden beer. Was never like that when I was younger. (Must be the complex gasses in the beers [emoji848])

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

You’ve just reminded me of a pint of golden, half bitter/half lager used to drink that as a teenager.

SideBurns
21-04-2020, 08:47 AM
You’ve just reminded me of a pint of golden, half bitter/half lager used to drink that as a teenager.

As late as the late 90s/early 2000s you could still get a 'wee heavy and a half pint' in ma auld man's bowling club. Consisted of a half pint (usually closer to 2/3rds) of McEwan's 80 bob and a bottle of Fowler's wee heavy. Wreck the hoose juice!

21-04-2020, 09:21 AM
As late as the late 90s/early 2000s you could still get a 'wee heavy and a half pint' in ma auld man's bowling club. Consisted of a half pint (usually closer to 2/3rds) of McEwan's 80 bob and a bottle of Fowler's wee heavy. Wreck the hoose juice!
A Black and Tan. Fowler’s wee heavy was about 8%, it was lights out after a few of them.

21-04-2020, 09:24 AM
A Black and Tan. Fowler’s wee heavy was about 8%, it was lights out after a few of them.

There is/was also Sweetheart Stout; which is only 2% or something.

SideBurns
21-04-2020, 09:45 AM

That was it - Black and Tan. Couldnae mind the name. A lovely combination, but left me in some sorry states back then. Especially at bowling club prices 😁

21-04-2020, 10:30 AM
That was it - Black and Tan. Couldnae mind the name. A lovely combination, but left me in some sorry states back then. Especially at bowling club prices 😁

Used to be my post work tipple when I was in kitchens, the head chef and I would split a can of Guinness and top it up with best, lovely stuff.

21-04-2020, 12:07 PM
There is/was also Sweetheart Stout; which is only 2% or something.
:agree: That was for the ladies :greengrin

I drunk them a few times as well, but as you say they were like rocket fuel.

21-04-2020, 12:36 PM
:agree: That was for the ladies :greengrin.

Recommended tipple for pregnant women back in the day. Explains a lot!!

21-04-2020, 02:28 PM
Recommended tipple for pregnant women back in the day. Explains a lot!!
Along with smoking tipped cigarettes. :greengrin

22-04-2020, 12:07 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-52360728

Interesting stats. Binge drinking was a feature of my younger drinking experience and I think it is a strong part of Scottish drink culture. Still have a tendency to overstep my limits if I’m enjoying the conversation!!

Liked a few snakebites in my younger days, don't drink anymore, last time I was up town I got in to a bit bother, at the age I'm at I can be doing without that.

22-04-2020, 12:38 PM

I asked my Dad and he reckons that was a Happy Days. Black and Tan was Pale Ale with Guiness on top.

22-04-2020, 02:20 PM
I asked my Dad and he reckons that was a Happy Days. Black and Tan was Pale Ale with Guiness on top.
It was a Black and Tan in the pub I drunk in. Pubs didn’t really stock pale ale then so maybe they switched things around.

22-04-2020, 02:24 PM

Black and Tan was Guinness and Bitter in my Liverpool local.

22-04-2020, 02:45 PM
Black and Tan was Guinness and Bitter in my Liverpool local.

A few variations of it with Guinness and other beer. I had heard of the heavy and a wee heavy mixture but couldn't remember what it was called.

22-04-2020, 03:13 PM
Hard core drinking in days of yore is often romanticised:

https://www.waterstones.com/book/hellraisers/robert-sellers//9781848090187?awc=3787_1587568294_3398e88ef471df57 105d82a04e7723c8&utm_source=259955&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_campaign=Genie+Shopping

22-04-2020, 06:12 PM
A few variations of it with Guinness and other beer. I had heard of the heavy and a wee heavy mixture but couldn't remember what it was called.

Black and Tan for me was always Tartan Special and Sweetheart Stout.

22-04-2020, 06:23 PM
Black and Tan for me was always Tartan Special and Sweetheart Stout.Is that not a sweet black and tan, a normal one being with Guinness (often bottled as it wasn't as widely available on draught)?

SideBurns
22-04-2020, 06:44 PM
Hard core drinking in days of yore is often romanticised:

https://www.waterstones.com/book/hellraisers/robert-sellers//9781848090187?awc=3787_1587568294_3398e88ef471df57 105d82a04e7723c8&utm_source=259955&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_campaign=Genie+Shopping

That looks the perfect read for this lockdown! Imagine a night out with those 4...!

24-04-2020, 12:35 PM

:greengrin No heard that before. Scans beautifully.

Jumbo
24-04-2020, 10:12 PM
Liked a few snakebites in my younger days, don't drink anymore, last time I was up town I got in to a bit bother, at the age I'm at I can be doing without that.

Snakebite with blackcurrant, was interesting when brought back up at end of night :sick:

24-04-2020, 10:55 PM
Snakebite with blackcurrant, was interesting when brought back up at end of night :sick:

Is that what was known as diesel?

Jumbo
24-04-2020, 11:05 PM

now that you mention it, that could be right, its a long time ago !

25-04-2020, 12:51 AM

No, port! 😉

SiinDubai
27-04-2020, 12:17 AM

In my day snakebite with black currant was known as a pink panther.
In my college days I used to go to the Telford for a couple and seldom made it back for my afternoon classes.

27-04-2020, 12:34 AM
No, port! 😉

Deary me, now there’s a way to end the night with carnage.

I Remember a rugby dinner really hitting the skids when the port came out.

27-04-2020, 01:31 AM
Black and Tan is definitely pale ale with stout on top. When I was in my mid teens I worked in a reasonably big Edinburgh West End hotel. When the (then) Five Nations was on, the whole place became a beer tent for fans before, during and after. Despite it breaching the licensing laws I was drafted in to work one of the bars and I learned what a Black and Tan was, from Welsh supporters, along with White Russians.

This is a good few years back, certainly a long time before craft beers were so popular, so you had one pale ale if you were lucky - can’t remember the name of it - and Guinness or Sweetheart. Murphy’s pitched up a couple of years later and then the range of pale ales slowly expanded.

My grandmother was born in Donegal but mostly grew up in Derry. If I was to mention Black and Tans to her she would probably have leathered me. She claimed they burnt her parents’ house down when she was a teenager, which isn’t unlikely.

27-04-2020, 05:46 AM
Black and Tan is definitely pale ale with stout on top. When I was in my mid teens I worked in a reasonably big Edinburgh West End hotel. When the (then) Five Nations was on, the whole place became a beer tent for fans before, during and after. Despite it breaching the licensing laws I was drafted in to work one of the bars and I learned what a Black and Tan was, from Welsh supporters, along with White Russians.

This is a good few years back, certainly a long time before craft beers were so popular, so you had one pale ale if you were lucky - can’t remember the name of it - and Guinness or Sweetheart. Murphy’s pitched up a couple of years later and then the range of pale ales slowly expanded.

My grandmother was born in Donegal but mostly grew up in Derry. If I was to mention Black and Tans to her she would probably have leathered me. She claimed they burnt her parents’ house down when she was a teenager, which isn’t unlikely.

There is no definitive as we have already proved on this thread that there are regional variations of it, Guinness & Bitter is my example.

27-04-2020, 05:48 AM
Talking about Fowler’s Wee Heavy, my party trick used to be pouring a full bottle into a full pint of heavy, without spilling a drop. Never failed and won me a few quid.

SideBurns
27-04-2020, 07:07 AM
Talking about Fowler’s Wee Heavy, my party trick used to be pouring a full bottle into a full pint of heavy, without spilling a drop. Never failed and won me a few quid.

I'm glad I couldnae dae that. I was in a bad enough state after pouring a bottle into a half pint of heavy!

Good trick though - like to see Dynamo pulling that one off 😁.

27-04-2020, 10:46 AM

I'm glad I couldnae dae that. I was in a bad enough state after pouring a bottle into a half pint of heavy!

Good trick though - like to see Dynamo pulling that one off ��.

Apologies ....... I should have said the trick was to pour a bottle of Fowler’s into a full pint of water without spilling a drop. I might have given the trick away now. ��

SideBurns
27-04-2020, 10:54 AM
Apologies ....... I should have said the trick was to pour a bottle of Fowler’s into a full pint of water without spilling a drop. I might have given the trick away now. ��

Ha ha, nae bother! Btw, was in Sainsbury's the other day and noticed wee cans of Mackeson's Stout. Think it was a low abv, so assume they were used in a 'half and half' style pint at one time?

27-04-2020, 10:57 AM
My first drink for a few years was brown bitter. Half pint of bitter in a pint glass with a bottle of Manns brown poured on top.

27-04-2020, 11:57 AM
with a bottle of Manns brown poured on top.

Quite surprised at the lack of jokes so far!

27-04-2020, 01:59 PM
Ha ha, nae bother! Btw, was in Sainsbury's the other day and noticed wee cans of Mackeson's Stout. Think it was a low abv, so assume they were used in a 'half and half' style pint at one time?

Not sure if it is Mackesons specifically, but I will buy small, individual cans of stout for some cooking recipes. I guess a lot of other people do too. I wouldn’t be surprised if more people buy it for cooking than drinking nowadays.

SideBurns
29-04-2020, 08:24 AM
I bought a bottle of Samuel Smith's Imperial Stout (abv 7%) from a barry wee off license on Slateford Road yesterday. The boy who owns the Smiths brewery is a guffy, but think he isn't producing much, if any, beer at the moment anyway cos he generally supplies his own pubs and wee bottle shops.

If you live in the area and fancy trying something a wee bit different, I'd recommend the shop. Not cheap by any means so you're unlikely to stock up for the weekend, but great selection of beers from here and abroad.

29-04-2020, 10:16 AM
I bought a bottle of Samuel Smith's Imperial Stout (abv 7%) from a barry wee off license on Slateford Road yesterday. The boy who owns the Smiths brewery is a guffy, but think he isn't producing much, if any, beer at the moment anyway cos he generally supplies his own pubs and wee bottle shops.

If you live in the area and fancy trying something a wee bit different, I'd recommend the shop. Not cheap by any means so you're unlikely to stock up for the weekend, but great selection of beers from here and abroad.

Where is it? Bottom of Shandon? Can't think where else it can be.

SideBurns
29-04-2020, 10:22 AM
Where is it? Bottom of Shandon? Can't think where else it can be.

Aye, right on the corner diagonally opposite the Caley Brewery. Don't even know what it's called, tbh! With the pubs shut I'm drinking a lot more beer in the house, so always looking to try something a wee bit out of the ordinary.

29-04-2020, 10:45 AM
With the pubs shut I'm drinking a lot more beer in the house, so always looking to try something a wee bit out of the ordinary.

Me too, never thought I'd see the day. It's a habit I don't want to retain once this sorts itself out. Buying nips in pubs is probably over for me, house measures are much more preferable! 🍻

SideBurns
29-04-2020, 11:18 AM
Me too, never thought I'd see the day. It's a habit I don't want to retain once this sorts itself out. Buying nips in pubs is probably over for me, house measures are much more preferable! 🍻

I suspect we're singing from the same hymn sheet. I love pubs, and I'm missing them. When they reopen, my house drinking will drop back to pre-lockdown levels but I prefer a nip at home rather than in the pub. I make an exception for Robbie's 'malt of the month' on a Saturday after a Hibs win!