View Full Version : Hibs lockdown quiz

17-04-2020, 07:43 AM
Bored? Looking for something to do? Have a wee go at this HIBS quiz

No spoilers on thread please. :greengrin

1 Which HIBS player won two Championship medals in the same season?

2 Name the youngest player to play for HIBS ?

3 Name the oldest player to play for HIBS?

4 Which HIBS player scored a hatrick of penalties for HIBS in the same match?

5 Name the last set of brothers to play for HIBS in the same match?

6 Name the player whose only one senior appearance was for HIBS and never played another senior game?

7 Who scored four goals for HIBS versus Hearts at Tynecastle in a Scottish Cup tie?

8 Which HIBS player won a 2007 League Cup winners medal and never played for HIBS in the competition?

9 Which HIBS player won a 1991 League Cup winners medal and never played for HIBS in the competition?

10 Name the youngest player to score a hatrick for HIBS ?

Good luck guys!

berwickhibee
17-04-2020, 07:51 AM
Sorry Billy just read the top bit😁

EastThomasSTboy
17-04-2020, 09:38 AM

6 Name the player whose only one senior appearance was for HIBS and never played another senior game?

7 Who scored four goals for HIBS versus Hearts at Tynecastle in a Scottish Cup tie?

8 Which HIBS player won a 2007 League Cup winners medal and never played for HIBS in the competition?

9 Which HIBS player won a 1991 League Cup winners medal and never played for HIBS in the competition?

Good luck guys!

No. 3 Ray Wilkins:greengrin, if he wasnt the oldest,,,he certainly looked it

17-04-2020, 09:42 AM
No. 3 Ray Wilkins:greengrin, if he wasnt the oldest,,,he certainly looked it
Ha Ha!

Second oldest but close

17-04-2020, 09:53 AM
How do you submit answers if not on the thread?

17-04-2020, 09:55 AM
How do you submit answers if not on the thread?
All at the one time please ��

If possible

17-04-2020, 09:57 AM
All at the one time please 😃

Bit early to be on the sauce Billy!

17-04-2020, 10:19 AM
All at the one time please ��

If possible

Nah I think I have about three 😁

17-04-2020, 12:32 PM
No one's going to get all 10 of them may

So for number 1 I'm guessing Efe Ambrose

17-04-2020, 12:36 PM
No one's going to get all 10 of them may

So for number 1 I'm guessing Efe Ambrose
Nope

17-04-2020, 12:42 PM
Is 9 Dave Beaumont? I’m sure he got Dave Fellinger’s place in the squad for the final.

ACLeith
17-04-2020, 12:44 PM
2 Jimmy O’Rourke?

17-04-2020, 12:45 PM
1. Liam Henderson (Norwegian league with Rosenburg on loan and Scottish Premier with Celtc)?

17-04-2020, 12:47 PM
Only ones I can try guess:
Jinky
Mark and Alan Dempsie
Simon Brown.

17-04-2020, 12:48 PM
2 Jimmy O’Rourke?
Nope second youngest

17-04-2020, 12:49 PM
Only ones I can try guess:
Jinky
Mark and Alan Dempsie
Simon Brown.
Yes
Nope
Yes

17-04-2020, 12:49 PM
#3 John Burridge?

berwickhibee
17-04-2020, 12:51 PM
4-eddie turnbull
7-baker boy

17-04-2020, 12:55 PM
#3 John Burridge?

17-04-2020, 12:55 PM
4-eddie turnbull
7-baker boy

berwickhibee
17-04-2020, 12:56 PM
The lad hendry who broke his leg at berwick. No 6

berwickhibee
17-04-2020, 12:59 PM
10- Joe baker

17-04-2020, 01:00 PM
The lad hendry who broke his leg at berwick. No 6
No I thought about him but he had a few senior clubs in his career

Shame for the boy

17-04-2020, 01:01 PM
10- Joe baker
Nope

17-04-2020, 01:01 PM
I was going to say Eamonn Bannon for #3. Can't believe he was only 36, thought he was about 63!

Argylehibby
17-04-2020, 01:02 PM

Good luck guys!

1 Alan Sneddon. Celtic and us.
2 Jamie McLuskey
3 Gordon Smith
4 Eddie Turnbull
5 Dempsey brothers (If not Miller brothers)
6 ??
7 Joe Baker
8 McNeil
9 Dave Beumont
10 JimmyO'rourke

17-04-2020, 01:03 PM
1. James keatings
2. John Collins
3. Craig Brewster
4. Ally Brazil
5. Miller brother
7. Joe baker
8 Simon brown
9 Tony Craig
10. Jimmy orourke

17-04-2020, 01:05 PM
HIBS Lockdown Quiz Update:

1 Alan Sneddon
2 Jamie McCluskey
3 John Burridge
4 Eddie Turnbull
7 Joe Baker
8 Dave Beaumont
9 Simon Brown

17-04-2020, 01:07 PM
1 Alan Sneddon. Celtic and us.
2 Jamie McLuskey
3 Gordon Smith
4 Eddie Turnbull
5 Dempsey brothers (If not Miller brothers)
6 ??
7 Joe Baker
8 McNeil
9 Dave Beumont
10 JimmyO'rourke

Spot on with Alan Sneddon

17-04-2020, 01:13 PM
Still waiting on correct answers to 5, 6 and 10

Well done guys

17-04-2020, 01:15 PM
5. Is the Sowumni brothers, both the three of them

17-04-2020, 01:19 PM
6 George McNeil 10 Eddie May

17-04-2020, 01:21 PM
6 George McNeil 10 Eddie May

Sorry mate

Missing my pint 😃

17-04-2020, 01:24 PM
#10 Steven Fletcher?

17-04-2020, 01:26 PM
#10 Steven Fletcher?
Nope

17-04-2020, 01:28 PM
The youngest player made an appearance under Mowbray - McSomebody I think. Don't want to just look it up!

17-04-2020, 01:30 PM
The youngest player made an appearance under Mowbray - McSomebody I think. Don't want to just look it up!

Was McCluskey 👍

17-04-2020, 01:31 PM
#5 - Alex Miller’s laddies - Greg and Graeme

#6 - no idea. Couldn’t even make an educated guess.:greengrin

#10 - Peter Cormack

17-04-2020, 01:33 PM
Dobbie scored a Hattrick at his first game at ER I think (won 8 nil against some team in blue) not sure how young he was mind you.

17-04-2020, 01:34 PM

Yip a poster already got it mate “ jinky”

Jamie McCluskey 16 years and 79 days

Came on as a sub versus Kilmarnock 24/1/2004 in a 2-0 victory

17-04-2020, 01:34 PM
Yip a poster already got it mate “ jinky”

Jamie McCluskey 16 years and 79 days

Came on as a sub versus Kilmarnock 24/1/2004 in a 2-0 victory

He looked about ten and acted like Ronaldo 😂😂

17-04-2020, 01:35 PM
#5 - Alex Miller’s laddies - Greg and Graeme

#6 - no idea. Couldn’t even make an educated guess.:greengrin

#10 - Peter Cormack

Nope

17-04-2020, 01:37 PM
SPOILER ALERT:

To be fair 5 and 6 take a wee bit of digging but 10 is quite straight forward

17-04-2020, 01:39 PM
10 Gary o

17-04-2020, 01:40 PM
The Simpsons?

17-04-2020, 01:42 PM
10 Gary o
Nope

17-04-2020, 01:42 PM
10 Gary o

Cummings scored a ht younger than Big Gaz.

17-04-2020, 01:43 PM
Nope

I take it that it’s not Dobbie? You could have used his home debut as a quiz question of last player to score a Hattrick on his home debut mind (if he did,)

17-04-2020, 01:48 PM
I know Gordon Smith was 16 when he scored a hat trick vs Hearts but that was in wartime. I suspect the brothers were either way back in time or in a testimonial/friendly & im struggling with the other one.

17-04-2020, 01:48 PM
I take it that it’s not Dobbie? You could have used his home debut as a quiz question of last player to score a Hattrick on his home debut mind (if he did,)

Nope not Dobbie but this player also scored a hatrick for HIBS on his debut :wink:

17-04-2020, 01:49 PM
Nope not Dobbie but this player also scored a hatrick for HIBS on his debut :wink:

Must be the Gay Gordon then.

17-04-2020, 01:49 PM
Scores 3 on debut aswell

17-04-2020, 01:50 PM
I know Gordon Smith was 16 when he scored a hat trick vs Hearts but that was in wartime. I suspect the brothers were either way back in time or in a testimonial/friendly & im struggling with the other one.

Gordon Smith on his debut versus Hearts at Tiny in a 5-3 win Tommy Walker also scored a hatrick for Hearts

Smith aged 16 years 338 days April 1941

17-04-2020, 01:52 PM

Yeah as above too big a clue 😁

greeny
17-04-2020, 01:54 PM
6 - Tony MCGlynn

17-04-2020, 01:54 PM

Yip sold the jerseys there but 5 and 6 not so easy but they are out there just sitting there :greengrin

17-04-2020, 01:57 PM
Yip sold the jerseys there but 5 and 6 not so easy but they are out there just sitting there :greengrin

😁 thanks for the quiz by the way. Great thing to pass the time not looking anything up and getting decent info and memories too 👍

17-04-2020, 01:58 PM
6 - Tony MCGlynn

Sorry mate Tony played three times scoring twice before being moved onto Airdrie

Tomsk
17-04-2020, 02:02 PM
Are the brothers Alex and Jim Scott?

And the laddie who only played one game Iain Hendry.

17-04-2020, 02:04 PM

Hey, I got it before the debut clue. 😁

17-04-2020, 02:04 PM
5 A Goram and A Goram

17-04-2020, 02:05 PM
Hey, I got it before the debut clue. 😁

Toff the hat mate, well played 😁

17-04-2020, 02:05 PM
Are the brothers Alex and Jim Scott?

And the laddie who only played one game Iain Hendry.
Sorry

Nope and Nope

Scott brothers never played together in the same team

Hendry boy had a few senior clubs

Unlucky for him at HIBS

17-04-2020, 02:06 PM
5 A Goram and A Goram
Ha Ha!

Nope

Stanton Spence
17-04-2020, 02:12 PM
Was it the millar bros grieg and I can't remember the other brother?

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

17-04-2020, 02:13 PM
Was it the millar bros grieg and I can't remember the other brother?

Graeme I think.

Stanton Spence
17-04-2020, 02:14 PM
Graeme I think.That's his name cheers bud [emoji106] don't know if it's them tho?

17-04-2020, 02:17 PM
That's his name cheers bud [emoji106] don't know if it's them tho?

Sorry mate never played together in the same team though I am sure Lexo would have loved to start them both :greengrin

Tomsk
17-04-2020, 02:18 PM
Sorry

Nope and Nope

Scott brothers never played together in the same team

Hendry boy had a few senior clubs

Unlucky for him at HIBS

I may have found the brothers answer, but I had to rake about for it so I won't spoil it for everyone else. Is the surname a town in Scotland beginning with L?

17-04-2020, 02:19 PM
Joe & Gerry B

greeny
17-04-2020, 02:21 PM
David Reid

Hillsidehibby
17-04-2020, 02:21 PM
Joe & Gerry B

Beat me to it if its correct!

Stanton Spence
17-04-2020, 02:22 PM
Sorry mate never played together in the same team though I am sure Lexo would have loved to start them both :greengrinI didn't think they actually played in the same side at first team level Billy but it was my best shot lol
Great wee quiz tho and I got a few right and had actually forgotten about young mcluskey until you asked that question and he actually only looked about 10 when he made his debut.

17-04-2020, 02:22 PM
I may have found the brothers answer, but I had to rake about for it so I won't spoil it for everyone else. Is the surname a town in Scotland beginning with L?
Spot on

Well done

A bit unfair but no bother for someone HIBS daft with time on their hands

Now the player that only ever played one game in his whole senior career?

17-04-2020, 02:25 PM
Joe & Gerry B
Nope

17-04-2020, 02:27 PM

As I thought, way back in time.

17-04-2020, 02:27 PM
Spot on

Well done

A bit unfair but no bother for someone HIBS daft with time on their hands

Now the player that only ever played one game in his whole senior career?
Come now, tell us the answer.... :greengrin

17-04-2020, 02:29 PM
How far back Bill?

David Reid
Nope came on as a sub versus Morton signed from Leeds United

That's his name cheers bud [emoji106] don't know if it's them tho?

Welcome mate. 👍

17-04-2020, 02:31 PM
Come now, tell us the answer.... :greengrin
Tom and William Lauder played together six times in the same HIBS team 1930......Sorry!

17-04-2020, 02:32 PM
Tom and William Lauder played together six times in the same HIBS team 1930......Sorry!

:aok: I would never have gotten that....

Tomsk
17-04-2020, 02:36 PM
:aok: I would never have gotten that....

Neither would I, but it's in Bobby Sinnet's book The Hibernian Miscellany.

17-04-2020, 02:37 PM
HIBS Lockdown Quiz Update

1 Alan Sneddon
2 Jamie McCluskey
3 John Burridge
4 Eddie Turnbull
5 Tom and Bill Lauder
7 Joe Baker
8 Simon Brown
9 Dave Beaumont
10 Gordon Smith

17-04-2020, 02:40 PM
So the only player to have ever played one senior game only for HIBS ?

17-04-2020, 02:43 PM

According to iHibs there are a few (and I gave up after the initial C :greengrin) but maybe you have a better source....

greeny
17-04-2020, 02:45 PM
Who else did David Reid play senior for

17-04-2020, 02:52 PM

Gives a year bracket? Does testimonials count as games? If so I’m going for Dean Horribaine.

17-04-2020, 02:52 PM

George McNeill?

17-04-2020, 03:07 PM
George McNeill?
That answer already got a big nein, nyet......

17-04-2020, 03:08 PM
Gives a year bracket? Does testimonials count as games? If so I’m going for Dean Horribaine.
Thought he played for Berwick?

RIP Bestie
17-04-2020, 03:09 PM
6. John Leslie

17-04-2020, 03:14 PM
George McNeill?

Nope played one game in 65 versus St Johnstone before moving onto Morton and Stirling Albion

Probably the fastest ever Hibby but still Arthur Duncan in my eyes :greengrin

17-04-2020, 03:19 PM
McNeil beat AD running in 2nd gear at HT at Pat S testimonial

17-04-2020, 03:24 PM
McNeil beat AD running in 2nd gear at HT at Pat S testimonial
OK

17-04-2020, 03:28 PM
Who else did David Reid play senior for
Signed from Leeds United though not sure if he actually played any games for them he came on as a sub for us versus Morton before being packed off to Shettleston

Remember him being on the cover of a programme for the Anglo Scottish Cup with the boy Whyte that also signed from Leeds United holding up Jim Broon

17-04-2020, 03:35 PM
Nope

I think Celtic paid to get an extra medal for him the year we won the championship

It's not listed on his wiki but I'm pretty sure he was involved in their title celebrations

17-04-2020, 03:53 PM
Thought he played for Berwick?

I thought he left us to go to Spartans 👍

17-04-2020, 03:56 PM
I think Celtic paid to get an extra medal for him the year we won the championship

It's not listed on his wiki but I'm pretty sure he was involved in their title celebrations

Remember that

Wiki list his honours as being:

Celtic

Premiership 2016-17

League Cup 2014-15

Rosenborg

Tippieliggen 2015

FA Cup 2015

Hibs

FA Cup 2016

gazman
17-04-2020, 04:51 PM
6.Think his name was Ian Henry, player against berwick and broke his leg in the first few minutes and never played again.

Tom Hart RIP
17-04-2020, 04:58 PM
Was it Tom Stevens? Played one game for us at right back after John Brownlie’s broken leg against East Fife. Des Bremner then took over????

17-04-2020, 05:22 PM
Was it Tom Stevens? Played one game for us at right back after John Brownlie’s broken leg against East Fife. Des Bremner then took over????
Think he played for several other clubs.....

17-04-2020, 05:35 PM
For number 6 was it Kleton Perntreou?

17-04-2020, 05:37 PM

Decent shout.

17-04-2020, 05:39 PM
6. Philip Gordon?

17-04-2020, 05:52 PM

He definitely hasn't played for any top flight teams although he did play 2 games for Hibs, 1 sub appearance at Cowden and a start in the next game.

There must be a few. Come on Billy, gies a clue!

17-04-2020, 05:58 PM
He definitely hasn't played for any top flight teams although he did play 2 games for Hibs, 1 sub appearance at Cowden and a start in the next game.

I remember him being the original Polar Bear. Still wondering why Palace wanted to sign him when he was never rated at even U21s.

17-04-2020, 06:12 PM

His one and only appearance was in European competition

17-04-2020, 06:14 PM

He defo came on for Oxley at it wasn’t Europe. Completely rules him out mind.

17-04-2020, 06:17 PM
He defo came on for Oxley at it wasn’t Europe. Completely rules him out mind.
Sorry not Pentreuo

17-04-2020, 06:19 PM
6. Philip Gordon?
Nope

17-04-2020, 06:23 PM
Tam was a great player stayed round the corner from me but had a few clubs I was at his debut never really given a chance but was at the club for a wee while IIRC

17-04-2020, 06:24 PM

Bobby Robertson???

17-04-2020, 06:31 PM
Bobby Robertson???
Naw played 5 times Besa away and Keflavik both legs but no him

Remember him well tae

Getting closer

17-04-2020, 06:38 PM
Oh ffs Billy most of us have to get up for our (no) work in the morning

17-04-2020, 06:45 PM
Willie Adams??????

17-04-2020, 06:46 PM
Willie Adams??????
I think you may have won the internet.....

17-04-2020, 06:48 PM
I think you may have won the internet.....

Booooooom :greengrin

http://www.ihibs.co.uk/hibs/player.php?playerid=6115

17-04-2020, 06:51 PM
Willie Adams??????

IIRC he only played because Tommy Younger was on National Service in Germany & missed flight home.

17-04-2020, 06:52 PM
Booooooom :greengrin

http://www.ihibs.co.uk/hibs/player.php?playerid=6115

Adams family is usually more suited to Gorgie.

Congratulations 💚👍

17-04-2020, 06:52 PM
Well done guys

The one and only

I can go and have a glass of wine now

Until the next time

17-04-2020, 06:53 PM
I was sure it was going to be a keeper hence my guess at Kleton Perntreou. Wouldn't have got Willie Adams though....

17-04-2020, 07:10 PM
IIRC he only played because Tommy Younger was on National Service in Germany & missed flight home.

Good info, I'd never heard of him but since Billy said it was in European competition and probably a keeper I started back in the beginning....

Argylehibby
17-04-2020, 09:36 PM
Thanks Billy cracking quiz! When's round 2?