View Full Version : Good News Story: Captain Tom Moore raises £12m for the NHS
16-04-2020, 06:42 AM
At a time when the news is full of depressing stories, what about Captain Tom Moore's NHS fundraiser that has reached £12m. The original plan was to raise £1,000. He is a 99-year-old war veteran, who is walking 100 laps of his garden before he turns 100.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-beds-bucks-herts-52303859
What an inspiration to us all?
16-04-2020, 07:25 AM
It's amazing what captures the public's imagination, which this clearly has.
Well done Captain Tom! :top marks
16-04-2020, 07:47 AM
People like him are what knighthoods should be for, a remarkable man
16-04-2020, 07:53 AM
I'd missed this until it was reported on French tv news last night - it genuinely made me well up.
The world needs more Captain Toms.
16-04-2020, 08:13 AM
Amazing. I love his attitude and his manner, so unassuming and grateful for all the help he's had.
What a man.
16-04-2020, 09:39 AM
Just brilliant. Stories like this lift the spirits.
16-04-2020, 09:46 AM
Just brilliant. Stories like this lift the spirits.
Sure do
16-04-2020, 11:41 AM
Another great fund-raising idea from this Edinburgh runner:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-52302341
16-04-2020, 01:52 PM
People like him are what knighthoods should be for, a remarkable man
He should be knighted as a matter of urgency.
16-04-2020, 04:56 PM
£14m now.
Just_Jimmy
16-04-2020, 05:05 PM
15m
Unreal. What a legacy.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
16-04-2020, 05:07 PM
I get the sentiment. Wonderful fellie.
But it's also a bad news story. Governments, please fund the ****ing NHS ****ing properly so taxpayers don't have to contribute to it indirectly via this absolute legend of a man.
Eaststand
16-04-2020, 06:02 PM
There's a change.org petition going around online promoting a knighthood for Tom.
I signed it earlier and I see its went up to around 300,000 names today.
If you agree he should be knighted, just get onto it folks
16-04-2020, 06:28 PM
No problem with his efforts but charity should not be needed to fund the NHS. I bet there were Tory voters who refused to vote Labour 8n the last election due to tax rises that wouldn't have applied to them who gave generously. For me charities are another tax on those less well off
16-04-2020, 06:38 PM
As I understand it, the money is going to NHS charities, not the NHS.
16-04-2020, 06:56 PM
As I understand it, the money is going to NHS charities, not the NHS. Looks like a charity that supports a charity for an organisation and workforce that are currently being heralded(rightly) and who UK taxpayers should support so they don't need to be a charity case. Using charity in lieu of taxes
16-04-2020, 07:05 PM
Looks like a charity that supports a charity for an organisation and workforce that are currently being heralded(rightly) and who UK taxpayers should support so they don't need to be a charity case. Using charity in lieu of taxes
I'm not arguing with that sentiment, but is that not the case with most charities?
16-04-2020, 07:06 PM
I get the sentiment. Wonderful fellie.
But it's also a bad news story. Governments, please fund the ****ing NHS ****ing properly so taxpayers don't have to contribute to it indirectly via this absolute legend of a man.
I had a chat with someone about that recently, I said there shouldn't be a need for charities in this day and age, they thought I was anti charity, they still didn't get it when I tried to explain that things should be properly funded without the need for it
16-04-2020, 07:32 PM
No problem with his efforts but charity should not be needed to fund the NHS. I bet there were Tory voters who refused to vote Labour 8n the last election due to tax rises that wouldn't have applied to them who gave generously. For me charities are another tax on those less well off
I think charities are more about conscience salving. “I may have benefited from thousands of £££££ worth of tax dodges but I stuck a tenner on that old boy’s justgiving.” So that’s ok.
Hats off to the guy and all that but I don’t feel uplifted at all. The opposite if anything.
16-04-2020, 07:44 PM
I had a chat with someone about that recently, I said there shouldn't be a need for charities in this day and age, they thought I was anti charity, they still didn't get it when I tried to explain that things should be properly funded without the need for it
I always think this is two separate arguments.
On the one hand I wholly agree in a country (a world really) of plenty there should be no need for charity. Pointing that out and indeed arguing that point isn't anti charity.
However during my flirtations with far left politics at uni I used to get frustrated at some peoples refusal to acknowledge that whilst there is a need for charities it isn't immoral to help them. I was something of an oddity to the people I was arguing with because I volunteered with a local charity that worked with kids with special needs and took them on day trips at the weekend and so on. I always got told that the 'system needs to change'. Point taken, but it isn't going to change today, tomorrow or next week. My couple of hours on a Sunday may have been 'validating the system' but then I'd argue they done more good than sitting in a dark room, smoking weed and theorising about the socialist utopia that was inevitable.
I suppose my argument is simple. There shouldn't be a need for charities but encouraging people not to contribute to them (I'm not suggesting that is your stance) does more harm than good for those who rely on them.
16-04-2020, 08:10 PM
I always think this is two separate arguments.
On the one hand I wholly agree in a country (a world really) of plenty there should be no need for charity. Pointing that out and indeed arguing that point isn't anti charity.
However during my flirtations with far left politics at uni I used to get frustrated at some peoples refusal to acknowledge that whilst there is a need for charities it isn't immoral to help them. I was something of an oddity to the people I was arguing with because I volunteered with a local charity that worked with kids with special needs and took them on day trips at the weekend and so on. I always got told that the 'system needs to change'. Point taken, but it isn't going to change today, tomorrow or next week. My couple of hours on a Sunday may have been 'validating the system' but then I'd argue they done more good than sitting in a dark room, smoking weed and theorising about the socialist utopia that was inevitable.
I suppose my argument is simple. There shouldn't be a need for charities but encouraging people not to contribute to them (I'm not suggesting that is your stance) does more harm than good for those who rely on them.
I've never met anyone who advocates not giving to charities.
I suppose it's all personal experience, and I've read you say stuff like this before, but I met plenty of right wing students who smoked dope and pontificated about politics, and lots of left wing students like me who worked ****ing hard for what we got out of life :greengrin
Anyway, I think we all respect the actions of Mr Moore. I just don't want to see libraries, SCBUs and aircraft carriers dependent on crowdfunding campaigns.
16-04-2020, 09:02 PM
So much for the "good news story" then.
I've seen some strange things posted on here over the years, but folk having a pop at those who give to charity is probably a new low.
16-04-2020, 09:06 PM
I've seen some strange things posted on here over the years, but folk having a pop at those who give to charity is probably a new low.
Well nobody did, so you can rest well tonight.
16-04-2020, 09:54 PM
Sheesh that went down a bit a rabbit hole quite quickly!
What people don’t always realise that a lot of charities get substantial government funding. It also provides a valuable tax break to charities...totalling almost £4bn last year. Charities can also attract funding that the tax system would or does not. My company and it’s staff raise many £££ every year for charity over and above any and all taxation that is paid.
I suppose you could argue that such tax breaks just be scrapped and the money used for direct government provision but is there any indication that would provide a better outcome?
Governments are clearly are not always the best mechanism for delivering the type of care and attention a lot of charities provide. The amount of complaining people do about ‘the government’ is testament to that!
Absolutely there are some charities that shouldn’t exist as the tax payer should be delivering that provision but on the flip side there is also always space to provide more than what the government can or wants to do.
Also I’d be surprised that even in the most affluent and best run countries in the world if there still isn’t thousands of charities doing excellent work.
Even Denmark, the Hibs.net go to country for comparisons, has over 14,000 charities.
So in summary hats off to the Captain, well done to every single person that contributed and I’m sure the money will go to very good use.
16-04-2020, 10:00 PM
Why not leave the logistics over who gets what and why they get what on to a different thread then instead of just applauding an old man who has managed to raise a lot of money at a time everyone is completely down on their luck? I don’t understand the “aye but” mentality at all with this.
16-04-2020, 10:19 PM
How would you describe this post? :confused:
I think charities are more about conscience salving. “I may have benefited from thousands of £££££ worth of tax dodges but I stuck a tenner on that old boy’s justgiving.” So that’s ok.
16-04-2020, 10:24 PM
I’m going to take this one at face value, an inspirational old man giving us a feel good moment. Well done to him.
17-04-2020, 01:48 AM
I’m going to take this one at face value, an inspirational old man giving us a feel good moment. Well done to him.
I think that’s the key thing.
There is space to debate what charities can or should do. Also what it actually all means for the NHS.
And there is space to recognise a very old man and veteran, who has done something profound.
17-04-2020, 06:43 AM
Exactly. He strikes me as the sort of bloke who would have done this regardless of how well the NHS was funded.
17-04-2020, 07:16 AM
He’s heading towards £18m now.
Phenomenal effort.
17-04-2020, 07:34 AM
He’s heading towards £18m now.
Phenomenal effort.
The £18m isn't solely about him. He hoped for £1000 and achieved his goal, for which totes amazeballs props.
The story of the other £17.999m is the power of media. Imagine if it could be put to good use most of the time, instead of reporting pish about slebs.
17-04-2020, 08:21 AM
I should clarify. I wasn't having a go at everyone (or even the vast majority) who give to charity (and I was in a bad mood).I give to charity myself and I think you'd have to be wearing particularly heavy ideological blinkers to think that stopping contributing to them and write off the collateral damage to thousands upon thousands of people in the UK utterly dependent on them, would make either the current government do anything or the people rise up in revolution.
I was having a go at the Tory "small state" mentality which seeks to replace adequate funding for vital services with the "3rd sector", see for example Cameron's "Big Society", and give tax cuts to rich people.
I'm finding it hard not to be very cynical about any "feel good" stories tbh. Apologies for any offence my prior post caused and Sir Tom is without doubt, an admirable guy.
17-04-2020, 08:25 AM
I can't speak for other people, but I think he was having a pop at tax dodgers who use charity to salve their conscience at the same time.
Not something to be getting Taylor/Kanye about either way. I think we've all got weightier concerns.
17-04-2020, 09:10 AM
Looks like a charity that supports a charity for an organisation and workforce that are currently being heralded(rightly) and who UK taxpayers should support so they don't need to be a charity case. Using charity in lieu of taxes
I worked with a Naval Officer who was stationed out in the US for a bit and that was his argument about Americans and health. He said they are very generous givers and charity organisers. But they love to decide where their money goes personally, not allow the “Big Government” control. Bonkers!
17-04-2020, 09:58 AM
I worked with a Naval Officer who was stationed out in the US for a bit and that was his argument about Americans and health. He said they are very generous givers and charity organisers. But they love to decide where their money goes personally, not allow the “Big Government” control. Bonkers!
With the US governments history of pork barrel funding that’s probably not as bonkers as you might think!
17-04-2020, 12:23 PM
I should clarify. I wasn't having a go at everyone (or even the vast majority) who give to charity (and I was in a bad mood).I give to charity myself and I think you'd have to be wearing particularly heavy ideological blinkers to think that stopping contributing to them and write off the collateral damage to thousands upon thousands of people in the UK utterly dependent on them, would make either the current government do anything or the people rise up in revolution.
I was having a go at the Tory "small state" mentality which seeks to replace adequate funding for vital services with the "3rd sector", see for example Cameron's "Big Society", and give tax cuts to rich people.
I'm finding it hard not to be very cynical about any "feel good" stories tbh. Apologies for any offence my prior post caused and Sir Tom is without doubt, an admirable guy.
Fair enough - it was just your first sentence on your last post which irked me.
FWIW, I completely agree there's a hypocrisy at work when it comes to the Tories funding of public services, but I do also think there's something to be said for choosing directly when your money goes, rather than simply paying more tax and have the Government do so. Anyway, that's a separate argument and probably for another thread.
17-04-2020, 11:38 PM
Just short of £21 million now. Add the Gift Aid £4 million.
Total now £25 million
Wow!! :top marks:aok:
Rocky
18-04-2020, 12:36 AM
What a splendid man and I respect him more for the fact he was putting himself through that size of a personal challenge for what he expected to be a few hundred quid. That's the heroism in this story, not the many millions that have subsequently been raised because it caught the public's imagination. Hats off to you auld yin.
18-04-2020, 08:14 AM
Just short of £21 million now. Add the Gift Aid £4 million.
Total now £25 million
Wow!! :top marks:aok:
Gift Aid won't apply to all the donations, but you're right it'll be a nice wee bump if it's not included in the current figure.
18-04-2020, 09:44 AM
Don't agree with that. I'm noway underestimating the physical challenge for him but let's me honest, and i'm taking nothing away from Tom's efforts but it was Good Morning Britain and Piers Morgan that made him that cash. People just want to be part of something, be part of that story and jumped on it with the mass media attention. There will be thousands or hundreds of thousands out there putting in effort and charity work that won't be recognised. Homeless workers, youth workers, school teachers etc. End of the day though £20m+ has been raised so fair play to all involved.
One thing that is annoying me through these times is for all its the brought the good out alot of people - social media posts are starting to piss me off a tad. Yep its great 300 meals will be delivered to poor households in Niddrie and Craigmillar but do we need the politicians and volunteers huddled round the containers using the meals as a backdrop to a photoshoot with big smiles and thumbs up? Every 2nd day?
19-04-2020, 08:07 PM
Fair play to the old chap. He's a hero to be sure.
But I always think these stories deflect from the fact that the NHS and social services in this country are woefully underfunded.
Do they have a need for charity fund raising like this in Germany?
20-04-2020, 01:54 AM
What this old guy has done is fantastic and he deserves all the publicity and thanks that come his way. But, and I’m sticking my neck out here, maybe ...... We’ve, understandably and rightly so, had days of hearing about him and seen endless footage of his achievement but d’you know, I’ve not heard one single word of appreciation or thanks to the generosity of the British public for responding to the appeal. Just a thought.
Nice to see King Boris taking some time off his busy holidaying schedule to wish the old boy Happy Birthday. I think it's his birthday anyway, seemed to be a brief bit on the BBC earlier hinting at that.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
30-04-2020, 08:21 AM
Nice to see King Boris taking some time off his busy holidaying schedule to wish the old boy Happy Birthday. I think it's his birthday anyway, seemed to be a brief bit on the BBC earlier hinting at that.
It's definitely his birthday - they had a segment on GMB about it. :agree:
30-04-2020, 10:44 AM
By brief you mean an hour solid including messages from every man and their dog including the Royal family, Boris and the England cricket team plus of course an RAF triple fly past. :greengrin
I only turned on for the news. :greengrin
It reminded me a wee bit of the really crap sports BBC only have the rights to but decide to flog it for all it's worth. Bet the family wanted to tell them to get out their garden. :greengrin
By brief you mean an hour solid including messages from every man and their dog including the Royal family, Boris and the England cricket team plus of course an RAF triple fly past. :greengrin
I only saw the bit with Old Uncle Tom Cobbly (and all.)