View Full Version : Haircuts

12-04-2020, 11:00 AM
Anyone had a haircut from somebody in household who is not a barber/hairdresser? How did it go?

12-04-2020, 11:09 AM
Anyone had a haircut from somebody in household who is not a barber/hairdresser? How did it go?

Posted a similar thread on the main board a wee while back. No chance I'm risking a home haircut. Just letting it grow for now - along with a beard! I guess I might consider taking all over clippers to it if it gets too unruly.

12-04-2020, 11:14 AM
Gonna do my own soon, the difference between a good and bad haircut is only about four weeks anyway.

12-04-2020, 11:43 AM
I nearly always do my own. The only tricky part is the back and I can't see if I've made a mess of it don't care!

12-04-2020, 11:44 AM
Can anyone recommend a decent set of clippers at a reasonable price? I was planning on just seeing things out and dealing with my hair whenever I could but it's starting to annoy me now.

My local Asda usually have a decent choice of clippers but they are sold out. I was considering digging the old Mach 3 out from the bathroom cupboard and going down to the bone but that might be a bit extreme.

12-04-2020, 11:45 AM
I've not had a haircut since February so if this carries on for at least another month then I'll be forced to take action, my hair's a mess already.

12-04-2020, 12:04 PM
Flock of seaguls here.

gringojoe
12-04-2020, 12:16 PM
Can anyone recommend a decent set of clippers at a reasonable price? I was planning on just seeing things out and dealing with my hair whenever I could but it's starting to annoy me now.

My local Asda usually have a decent choice of clippers but they are sold out. I was considering digging the old Mach 3 out from the bathroom cupboard and going down to the bone but that might be a bit extreme.

There seems to be a clipper shortage just now, I had to order some off Amazon and will not be delivered for a week.

12-04-2020, 12:30 PM
Yeah my daughter bought clippers for the dog but experimented on my Barnet. As it happens it turned out ok I even got a buiscuit for sitting still.

12-04-2020, 12:30 PM

I got these from the Remington website. I ordered them on 31 March and they came yesterday.

https://uk.remington-europe.com/products/hc5035-colourcut-hair-clipper

My wife gave me a haircut after watching a YouTube tutorial, considering it could have ended in a total baldy if it went badly, it turned out very well.

12-04-2020, 12:35 PM
Yeah my daughter bought clippers for the dog but experimented on my Barnet. As it happens it turned out ok I even got a buiscuit for sitting still.

12-04-2020, 05:44 PM

🤣🤣🤣🤣😧

wpj
12-04-2020, 05:50 PM
My daughter suggested I trim my beard and hair, my beard was very impressive, my hair was very Steve McLaren with the island fringe 😁

12-04-2020, 05:52 PM
Set of Wahl clippers that may be from this millennium dug out from the back of the cupboard on Thursday and I now have a No 1 all over curtesy of my wife.

Only a couple of occasions where I thought I was losing an ear but kept my mouth shut.

[emoji16]

12-04-2020, 06:02 PM
I got these from the Remington website. I ordered them on 31 March and they came yesterday.

https://uk.remington-europe.com/products/hc5035-colourcut-hair-clipper

My wife gave me a haircut after watching a YouTube tutorial, considering it could have ended in a total baldy if it went badly, it turned out very well.

How much are they to buy?

12-04-2020, 06:08 PM
How much are they to buy?

They were £21 I think but seems like they’re now out of stock

12-04-2020, 06:16 PM
Tried my wife’s lady shaver turned out I now look like a right fanny

12-04-2020, 06:32 PM

:applause:

12-04-2020, 06:34 PM
:applause:

It’s true dog clippers

12-04-2020, 08:54 PM
I’ve ordered some clippers but no idea when I’ll get them. I’d be due a haircut about now but can’t see a barber being open for at least a month here, possibly more.

Was gonna let my beard grow but think I’ll have to relent today as starting to resemble a vagrant 😂

12-04-2020, 10:24 PM
I managed all of one day of working from home (since furloughed) before getting my Mrs to cut mine. I’d desperately clung to what was left of my hair, but the longer it got towards the front, the more it exposed my ever growing bald spot at the back. Used a set of beard clippers on number 4 to cut my hair to the same length thinking I’d see how it goes...turns out it is probably equivalent to a number one with hair clippers! Doesn’t look that bad to be fair though and will more than likely stick with it going forward.

13-04-2020, 02:00 AM
I managed all of one day of working from home (since furloughed) before getting my Mrs to cut mine. I’d desperately clung to what was left of my hair, but the longer it got towards the front, the more it exposed my ever growing bald spot at the back. Used a set of beard clippers on number 4 to cut my hair to the same length thinking I’d see how it goes...turns out it is probably equivalent to a number one with hair clippers! Doesn’t look that bad to be fair though and will more than likely stick with it going forward.Due to my receding hairline I was starting to look like Max Wall. I went under the clippers a couple of weeks ago - it was also a bit of a dare with my workmates.

The Pointer
13-04-2020, 01:46 PM
I'd rather trust a friend with his sheep clippers than my wife so I suppose I'm just going to have to wait.

13-04-2020, 02:43 PM
I'd rather trust a friend with his sheep clippers than my wife so I suppose I'm just going to have to wait.

It’s dead easy to do it yourself

13-04-2020, 03:30 PM
I bet there's a surge in sales of clippers.
This could spell bad news for barbers.

13-04-2020, 03:36 PM
I nearly always do my own. The only tricky part is the back and I can't see if I've made a mess of it don't care!

Two mirrors?

13-04-2020, 04:33 PM
I bet there's a surge in sales of clippers.
This could spell bad news for barbers.

Can't seem to find any in stock anywhere, I'm ready for a 2 all over !

13-04-2020, 04:40 PM

Perv

13-04-2020, 04:50 PM

I got a set in the boots sale at Christmas - the best set I’ve had. They’re very similar to the ones in the link (they’re not maroon).

The other brands I’ve used (Philips etc) don’t come close:
https://www.boots.com/wahl-classic-edition-grooming-gift-set-10176636

13-04-2020, 05:39 PM
Perv

😁

13-04-2020, 08:12 PM

I'm gonna get a couple of the things, practice, and when all this business is over I'll open a wee shop called 2 All Over or Number 2s or suchlike.

No nonsense clipping. Total silence like a prison camp. Any fancy requests and you're shown the door.

13-04-2020, 10:25 PM
How is it none of the politicians/scientists/advisors who have been our TVs daily for the past 3 weeks appear to be dealing with uncontrollable mops?

Is the FM married to, and co-habiting with a barber? Do we now have confirmation that Boris actually wears a wig...?

In the past 3 weeks, I've gone from medium-length hair to re-embracing my emo-teen years, with hair down over my eye. I'm a pot of black nail varnish away from digging out my skateboard.

14-04-2020, 01:55 AM
How is it none of the politicians/scientists/advisors who have been our TVs daily for the past 3 weeks appear to be dealing with uncontrollable mops?

Is the FM married to, and co-habiting with a barber? Do we now have confirmation that Boris actually wears a wig...?

In the past 3 weeks, I've gone from medium-length hair to re-embracing my emo-teen years, with hair down over my eye. I'm a pot of black nail varnish away from digging out my skateboard.

I'm going full Mohawk tomorrow. **** it.

14-04-2020, 03:28 PM
They were £21 I think but seems like they’re now out of stock

They certainly are! I can't track down a set anywhere. It's your fault for spreading the word!

14-04-2020, 04:54 PM
My hair's usually pretty short so never requires much 'product'. Just a wee bit of wax or clay. What do folk use on longer hair these days if you want to hold it in place? Does Brylcreem still get used?

14-04-2020, 05:25 PM
Did my own today, must admit to start with I panicked with the amount that was coming off but it's turned out absolutely fine

EI255
14-04-2020, 05:53 PM
Bought clippers the other week. Gave myself a 6 on top and 3 back and sides. Decent job and surprisingly very easy. Will get my other half to clean up back of the neck.

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

EI255
14-04-2020, 05:54 PM
There seems to be a clipper shortage just now, I had to order some off Amazon and will not be delivered for a week.Ordered one off Argos and collected at Sainsbury's.

14-04-2020, 05:54 PM

Given that Boris has an uncontrollable mop most of the time it's probably hard to notice the difference, particularly when he's been out of the picture for the last few weeks.

I think I read that the FM was cutting her own hair. Risky endeavour!

15-04-2020, 07:32 PM
Barbers set to reopen in Germany from May 4th 😀.

SideBurns
15-04-2020, 07:39 PM
Barbers set to reopen in Germany from May 4th 😀.

They'll be relieved - Rudi Voeller-style mullets will be the order of the day over there the now!

15-04-2020, 08:05 PM
They'll be relieved - Rudi Voeller-style mullets will be the order of the day over there the now!

Always wondered do you have side burns

SideBurns
15-04-2020, 08:30 PM
Always wondered do you have side burns

Ever since I was old enough to grow them, WoreTheGreen! I've got one leg shorter than the other (or one longer than the other, I can never remember) so I'm slightly lopsided and this makes symmetrical side-os more difficult to accomplish.

16-04-2020, 10:24 AM
I bought a Remington Rapid Cut Turbo and did a pretty decent job if I do say so myself! To the point I’m now wondering if I am going to bother spending $40 NZD on a haircut ever again! Could save myself circa $300 a year. Clippers cost $95.

16-04-2020, 11:40 AM
I bought a Remington Rapid Cut Turbo and did a pretty decent job if I do say so myself! To the point I’m now wondering if I am going to bother spending $40 NZD on a haircut ever again! Could save myself circa $300 a year. Clippers cost $95.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-1lI-ll_mU

It looks relatively simple on the video but I imagine doing it yourself might be tricky? Did you just take it the same length all over?

16-04-2020, 11:55 AM

It looks relatively simple on the video but I imagine doing it yourself might be tricky? Did you just take it the same length all over?

Love that video...you see the very start of the dude about to shave his head then boom! haircut done...proper turbo that [emoji23]

16-04-2020, 12:45 PM
Gave myself one and it hasn't come out too badly, just way shorter than i usually would go.

Still tempted to take the clippers and start again.

16-04-2020, 02:26 PM
I took the plunge today. Had some fun with a mohican and such like then just took the clippers all over with no guard. That will keep me going for a few weeks.

17-04-2020, 08:57 AM

Nope, 1 back in sides, kinda faded into a 2 nearer the top, and then on top kept it ‘long’ using the biggest guard. Haircut actually looks pretty much the same as I usually get, which takes a barber a good 20 mins or so and with scissors etc!

17-04-2020, 09:59 AM
Nope, 1 back in sides, kinda faded into a 2 nearer the top, and then on top kept it ‘long’ using the biggest guard. Haircut actually looks pretty much the same as I usually get, which takes a barber a good 20 mins or so and with scissors etc!

Yep. A barber I used to go to gave me a 10 all over then a 3 at the back and sides then cut into the top for texture.

I got a set of clippers from Lidl a couple of weeks ago and decided to follow that advice. I got my partner to give me an 8 on top and a 4 at the back and sides and it wasn’t too different to my normal cut at the barbers with scissors.

17-04-2020, 01:09 PM

I liked mine so much I bought the company.

EI255
17-04-2020, 01:28 PM
Getting into this trimming malarkey now. Gave myself another cut last night. Left the top and gave myself a #2 back and sides. Not perfect, but pretty chuffed with it [emoji16]

EI255
17-04-2020, 01:31 PM

It looks relatively simple on the video but I imagine doing it yourself might be tricky? Did you just take it the same length all over?I use the hand without the clippers as a 'ruler' / guide for the back. Damn easy! Trick is to keep on top of it.

17-04-2020, 01:40 PM
Still not managed to get clippers so used beard trimmer, 4.5 on the back and sides and 10 over the top, no idea how that relates to proper clipper settings but think the beard trimmers settings are shorter. Looks tidy enough.

17-04-2020, 02:54 PM
Annoyingly, I’m getting to the point where I need to consider this.

I look like I’ve been on a desert island for a few years rather than in the house for a few weeks.

My haircut and beard trim were due the week before lockdown, a week when I was scrambling about with hair being the last thing on my mind.

EI255
17-04-2020, 03:26 PM
Annoyingly, I’m getting to the point where I need to consider this.

I look like I’ve been on a desert island for a few years rather than in the house for a few weeks.

My haircut and beard trim were due the week before lockdown, a week when I was scrambling about with hair being the last thing on my mind.I've driven past my barbers and have a squint to see (somehow hope) if they might be open (as if! [emoji53]) Barbers will be the new taxi drivers when the virus is gone..... Holidays to Tenerife n aw that!

17-04-2020, 03:43 PM
I just gave myself a buzz cut on a number 1 guard, and my wife got a longer cut on a number 7 guard. She suits it. She won't be back at work until 9th May at the earliest so will have a chance of it growing before then.

17-04-2020, 03:48 PM
Still not managed to get clippers so used beard trimmer, 4.5 on the back and sides and 10 over the top, no idea how that relates to proper clipper settings but think the beard trimmers settings are shorter. Looks tidy enough.

Haven't had a shave in weeks so I'm well past the stage where a standard blade would suffice if trying to tidy things up. First time I've ever just let a beard grow so I'd be interested to know how a trimmer works. Is it mainly for tidying up around the edges or do you run it over the full beard?

17-04-2020, 04:04 PM
Haven't had a shave in weeks so I'm well past the stage where a standard blade would suffice if trying to tidy things up. First time I've ever just let a beard grow so I'd be interested to know how a trimmer works. Is it mainly for tidying up around the edges or do you run it over the full beard?

You can take guard off and tidy around edges. likewise you can keep guard on and trim whole beard to desired length.

17-04-2020, 04:38 PM
I have a good three in one job from Tesco. Gillette Mach three razor with one attachment and then guards for edging, tidying and trimming.

The top of my cheeks are super patchy so I shave those then shape and trim the rest.

18-04-2020, 08:32 AM
I've driven past my barbers and have a squint to see (somehow hope) if they might be open (as if! [emoji53]) Barbers will be the new taxi drivers when the virus is gone..... Holidays to Tenerife n aw that!

No excuse to be closed:

19-04-2020, 07:44 PM
You can take guard off and tidy around edges. likewise you can keep guard on and trim whole beard to desired length.

Guard off? Ooh that's bold. Very bold.

I'm waiting on a Braun hair clipper from Amazon which is out of stock. By the time I get it I'll be looking like Father Time.

Once I get proficient at it I aim to knock it off in the barbershop market.

20-04-2020, 09:35 AM
I’ve asked a couple of barbers and a hairdresser what clippers they’d recommend....all of them came back with Wahl

20-04-2020, 09:42 AM
I’ve asked a couple of barbers and a hairdresser what clippers they’d recommend....all of them came back with Wahl

I read that as Wah!

As in "wahhhh! Don't even think about it "

ACLeith
20-04-2020, 09:55 AM

All we need now is to find somewhere that’s got them in stock! They are this months toilet rolls!

Any suggestions on where to try welcome!

20-04-2020, 06:12 PM
Old man gave me a no.1 this morning, made a decent job of it. Best birthday present of the day so far! ☺

20-04-2020, 06:20 PM
Found a Remington colours set of clippers in B and M. Absolutely bossed my 0.5 all over.

20-04-2020, 06:24 PM
Old man gave me a no.1 this morning, made a decent job of it. Best birthday present of the day so far! ☺

Happy Birthday Hutchy 🍻

Stairway 2 7
20-04-2020, 06:40 PM
BBC News - Coronavirus: Rush for haircuts in Denmark as lockdown eases
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-52360452

Will need to camp out to get a snip when it reopens

Got my second haircut using the dugs clippers today turned out ok and a Brucie bonus is I can lick my own balls now

Stairway 2 7
Got my second haircut using the dugs clippers today turned out ok and a Brucie bonus is I can lick my own balls now

Old age does that to them

20-04-2020, 06:41 PM
Old age does that to them

😁👍🏻

20-04-2020, 08:53 PM
Happy Birthday Hutchy 🍻

Cheers mate! 🍺

26-04-2020, 01:43 PM
Just massively ****ed up so the only option was a shaved head! The first time in 52 years, I quite like it.

27-04-2020, 08:05 PM
Realised a 5ish all over is far far too short on top. Oh well my 6 year old who done it had a giggle

Be fine in a few weeks.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

27-04-2020, 09:35 PM

29-04-2020, 08:41 PM
Realised a 5ish all over is far far too short on top. Oh well my 6 year old who done it had a giggle

Be fine in a few weeks.

Glad you posted, i'm going for my first attempt tomorrow.

29-04-2020, 10:13 PM
Glad you posted, i'm going for my first attempt tomorrow.

Read my post and beware! 😂

30-04-2020, 02:46 PM
Just shaved my hair off. First time in about 18 years since I was 12. Actually quite like it :greengrin will definitely be growing it back though.

30-04-2020, 03:32 PM
I've just ordered a set of beard trimmers.

Is there any fundamental difference between the clippers used for hair and for beard or should they be able to do the job of both?

My other half can't wait to get unleashed with them, I'm understandably a bit more wary.

There are some wonderfully crap haircuts out there at the moment - I can't wait to join the gang.

I'm not all that precious about it, if it all has to come off then it all has to come off.

It has before.

30-04-2020, 04:22 PM

Oh i did, i've watched a million YouTube videos as well. We are now on hold till the weekend when the bairn gets his super duper clippers back and after the pub Zoom quiz on Saturday evening.

30-04-2020, 05:17 PM
Other than my fringe driving me mad and flopping over my eyes (it’s cut so it it is swept to one side, so weary of any DIY cutting) the lockdown has given me the chance to grow the proper moptop I’ve always been tempted to try.

30-04-2020, 05:35 PM
Oh i did, i've watched a million YouTube videos as well. We are now on hold till the weekend when the bairn gets his super duper clippers back and after the pub Zoom quiz on Saturday evening.

I successfully used the clippers for a trim a few weeks ago no problem at all, this week was going fine until I stopped mid cut to clean them, removed the guard, cleaned the hair out and then resumed without the ****** guard!!!
One big tramline to the bone back to front meant it all had to come off.

Lmc2105
30-04-2020, 05:58 PM
Am not allowed to cut my hair as the missus said she doesn’t want the new baby first pics with us to look bad with short hair!! Aye no bother hen il just look like Tom Hank’s from Castaway
Cheers. 😂

EI255
30-04-2020, 07:24 PM
I successfully used the clippers for a trim a few weeks ago no problem at all, this week was going fine until I stopped mid cut to clean them, removed the guard, cleaned the hair out and then resumed without the ****** guard!!!
One big tramline to the bone back to front meant it all had to come off.Been there, done that in the past! Oops!

EI255
30-04-2020, 07:27 PM

Is there any fundamental difference between the clippers used for hair and for beard or should they be able to do the job of both?

My other half can't wait to get unleashed with them, I'm understandably a bit more wary.

There are some wonderfully crap haircuts out there at the moment - I can't wait to join the gang.

I'm not all that precious about it, if it all has to come off then it all has to come off.

It has before.Just be careful about the difference in cutting blade sizes as beard and hair clippers differ...

30-04-2020, 07:56 PM

I just ****ed up my first trim. Did it myself but at one point the guard popped off (I was applying a fair bit of pressure to my head tbf) and I now have a square of ‘to the bone’ and a ‘2’ everywhere else. Was going to leave it to see if it was recoverable in a week but its all coming off at the weekend.

30-04-2020, 08:49 PM
I just ****ed up my first trim. Did it myself but at one point the guard popped off (I was applying a fair bit of pressure to my head tbf) and I now have a square of ‘to the bone’ and a ‘2’ everywhere else. Was going to leave it to see if it was recoverable in a week but its all coming off at the weekend.

Can I laugh 😁

Easy done mate, soon grows back though, I hope!

30-04-2020, 09:01 PM
My girlfriend gave me haircut #2 of lockdown the other night and it was even better than the first attempt. I think she has a hidden talent for barbering. Think I’ll be saving myself £16 a haircut after lockdown ends and get her to cut it from now on.

30-04-2020, 09:54 PM
Can I laugh 😁

Easy done mate, soon grows back though, I hope!

Mrs Beefster has done nothing but laugh since it happened so it’s seems only fair to join in!

01-05-2020, 06:39 AM

It has before.
I’ve only got a beard trimmer so I’m going to try with that. It’s narrower than proper clippers. Longest comb is 16mm which I think is close to a number 5.

There’s a video on BBC on how to cut a fade.

01-05-2020, 06:42 AM

My mum did that to me when I was a kid. Had to comb my hair in a DA for a few weeks and turn my collar up!! Nobody noticed though and I never let her cut my hair again.

01-05-2020, 07:45 AM
I’ve only got a beard trimmer so I’m going to try with that. It’s narrower than proper clippers. Longest comb is 16mm which I think is close to a number 5.

There’s a video on BBC on how to cut a fade.

It was a beard trimmer I used, works fine.

LK1
01-05-2020, 12:30 PM

I've just done mine with a 5 and wish I'd read your post before. Butchered!

01-05-2020, 12:40 PM
I've just done mine with a 5 and wish I'd read your post before. Butchered!Yeah, it's well shorter than you'd think eh[emoji23]

Few weeks and you will be all good

01-05-2020, 07:26 PM
Done!!! It’s OK given I did it myself.

I tried a fade and left the top alone. May have to revisit that decision.

01-05-2020, 11:23 PM
Luckily I only did my sides with a 5 and not all over, also always thought a 5 would be longer for some reason

03-05-2020, 08:19 AM
I was reading online there about a network of underground hairdressers operating in London.

Any work on anything similar up here?

03-05-2020, 08:59 AM
I was reading online there about a network of underground hairdressers operating in London.

Any work on anything similar up here?

So you go to a tube station for a haircut? 😉

03-05-2020, 10:36 AM

A railway cutting, Shirley?

03-05-2020, 10:49 AM
What with the extra few pounds I've gained during lockdown and my castaway hair and beard, I'm now starting to resemble Giant Haystacks. I suppose it's preferable to Big Daddy and his union flag mankini.

03-05-2020, 12:03 PM

High Barnet? ☺

03-05-2020, 05:12 PM
Another haircut with the dugs clippers today mrs WTG had a go today turned out fine but now barred from the couch

04-05-2020, 06:02 PM
So, first lockdown haircut completed. Mostly by myself, a we bit of a trim near the end from Mrs offshore. Kept it nice and sencable starting with No 8 guard, 7 then the 5 and a we bit of a trim with scissors to finish. Could probably do with a bit more of the top but i'll leave do for now.

Next weeks haircut might take it down a we bit further.

04-05-2020, 06:19 PM
Went for a haircut today, well I went to make an appointment but someone didn't turn up for theirs so I got to sit in the chair. Masks for both customer and barber, hair wash before cutting with the barber wearing gloves is compulsory and the haircut is without gloves. No eyebrow or beard trimming allowed and everyone has to leave a contact number so that the German trace and contact system works should anyone in the shop around the same time as you proves to be Covid19 positive at a later date. I feel like a human again.

04-05-2020, 07:05 PM
Next weeks haircut might take it down a we bit further.

Careful you don’t cut your balls...

04-05-2020, 07:28 PM
Careful you don’t cut your balls...

05-05-2020, 03:16 AM
A railway cutting, Shirley?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bcYppAs6ZdI

He’s here all week folks :greengrin

wpj
05-05-2020, 08:50 AM
Have been ignoring my nose and ears, must replace the batteries on my trimmer. Cant let standards slip. My beard is like grizzly Adam's but I normally have a full beard but this a new level of hair

05-05-2020, 11:42 AM
Lockdown haircuts before the days of lockdown

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2Tc2K4j4iqs

05-05-2020, 09:20 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bcYppAs6ZdI

He’s here all week folks :greengrin

And next week, and the one after that, and...

06-05-2020, 12:03 AM
And next week, and the one after that, and...

And hopefully many, many, many to come :greengrin

11-05-2020, 12:00 PM
Sturgeon's hair has either stopped growing or she's having it cut and coloured. When is she going to allow hairdressers to open?

11-05-2020, 12:06 PM
Sturgeon's hair has either stopped growing or she's having it cut and coloured. When is she going to allow hairdressers to open?

Can’t see that many hairdressers too keen at the moment anyway, they will all be needing to earn but not sure how many will risk it.

11-05-2020, 12:06 PM

It's been on social media that she's been cutting it herself.

EDIT: here’s a screenshot

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200511/18f608f48f366cba835655c4efa5c252.jpg

11-05-2020, 12:09 PM

It's going to be July at the earliest in England so I can't see it being before then up here.

11-05-2020, 04:12 PM
It's going to be July at the earliest in England so I can't see it being before then up here.

Not before July 4th. Bizarrely specific.

11-05-2020, 05:03 PM
Not before July 4th. Bizarrely specific.

The Government are following the science, and have modelled exactly when Boris' hair will pass through the "burst couch" phase.

11-05-2020, 05:16 PM
I hacked away again at mines with my girlfriends lady shave that keeps running out of battery...It’s turning into a kind of mullet. I was gonna get the clippers but only 2 weeks into a set of videos for a client..I don’t really want to change to a skinhead midway through...i’ll continue to hack..it’s a nice lesson that something that i have been so fussy about over the years isn’t a big deal at all

pollution
11-05-2020, 05:45 PM
When will dentists open?

I have had a hole in a tooth for three weeks now. It's not sore but surely something needs to be done.

11-05-2020, 05:53 PM
When will dentists open?

I have had a hole in a tooth for three weeks now. It's not sore but surely something needs to be done.

Have you just travelled 200 years forward in time to the year 2020? :wink:

11-05-2020, 05:57 PM
Hairdressers and dentists are back at work today in France.

Masks are obligatory and waiting rooms/areas are shut.

11-05-2020, 07:23 PM
When will dentists open?

https://services.nhslothian.scot/Dentists/Pages/EmergencyDentalCare.aspx :aok:

11-05-2020, 08:23 PM
When will dentists open?

Phone and speak to your dentist. All practices have dentists available to provide advice although there is next to nothing that they can do to provide treatment short of referring to an emergency centre - and the emergency centre in Edinburgh is refusing to see pretty much everyone.

If they have your records they should have an idea of how urgent the issue is, how likely the hole is to become painful (or a bigger problem) and what can be done in the meantime to try to hold things together, whether it is ok to leave alone or whether you might want to go to Boots to get some temporary material to stick in the hole.

Bad news is that it might be July before dentists are open doing anything like they did before the Covid 19 crisis but I think the expectation is that practices will open early June to do something.

Edinburgh has been abysmal for emergency dental care, the worst in the country, there are some angry people out there who have suffered to an extent they really shouldn't have had to.

https://www.gdpuk.com/news/latest-news/3573-covid-19-update-government-s-recovery-strategy-published

wpj
12-05-2020, 06:53 AM
Gonna shave my head again today, keeping my beard though

12-05-2020, 07:07 AM
Hair clippers seem to be the latest product of choice for price gouging ****s on Amazon

12-05-2020, 11:31 AM
My statement that the difference between a good and bad haircut is about 3-4 weeks has proved correct. I might have to get the clippers out again soon.

12-05-2020, 12:15 PM
My statement that the difference between a good and bad haircut is about 3-4 weeks has proved correct. I might have to get the clippers out again soon.

If you have a decent quality cut usually and it is a longer style on top then the damage of a bad cut is way more than 3 to 4 weeks. Could me months worth of work to get a decent cut back in shape.

12-05-2020, 12:31 PM
If you have a decent quality cut usually and it is a longer style on top then the damage of a bad cut is way more than 3 to 4 weeks. Could me months worth of work to get a decent cut back in shape.

I was referring to my own hair.

WeAreHibs
16-05-2020, 05:50 PM
I hacked away again at mines with my girlfriends lady shave that keeps running out of battery...It’s turning into a kind of mullet. I was gonna get the clippers but only 2 weeks into a set of videos for a client..I don’t really want to change to a skinhead midway through...i’ll continue to hack..it’s a nice lesson that something that i have been so fussy about over the years isn’t a big deal at all

Exactly, it's amazing how more tolerant we've all become. Suddenly A&E depts are empty. Less people doing to GP's with the lurgy etc.

We've adapted to what is necessary rather than what we want!

16-05-2020, 06:05 PM
Exactly, it's amazing how more tolerant we've all become. Suddenly A&E depts are empty. Less people doing to GP's with the lurgy etc.

We've adapted to what is necessary rather than what we want!

Elderly relatives suddenly doing things for themselves that they couldn’t possibly do before has been the biggest eye opener for me.

24-05-2020, 09:52 PM
Phone and speak to your dentist. All practices have dentists available to provide advice although there is next to nothing that they can do to provide treatment short of referring to an emergency centre - and the emergency centre in Edinburgh is refusing to see pretty much everyone.

If they have your records they should have an idea of how urgent the issue is, how likely the hole is to become painful (or a bigger problem) and what can be done in the meantime to try to hold things together, whether it is ok to leave alone or whether you might want to go to Boots to get some temporary material to stick in the hole.

Bad news is that it might be July before dentists are open doing anything like they did before the Covid 19 crisis but I think the expectation is that practices will open early June to do something.

Edinburgh has been abysmal for emergency dental care, the worst in the country, there are some angry people out there who have suffered to an extent they really shouldn't have had to.

https://www.gdpuk.com/news/latest-news/3573-covid-19-update-government-s-recovery-strategy-published

Friend of mine had a broken crown fixed last week after calling her own dentist and getting referred to Duncan St Dental which is apparently now attending to non-emergency dental work.

25-05-2020, 09:39 AM
Going by the Road Map, does anyone have any ideas when the Barbers might realistically open?

SideBurns
25-05-2020, 10:26 AM
Going by the Road Map, does anyone have any ideas when the Barbers might realistically open?

My son's barber (Edinburgh based) put a message on their Instagram saying they're working towards an August reopening.

I cannae wait that long - by August I'll be making Neil fae the Young Ones look like a skinheid.

25-05-2020, 02:47 PM
My son's barber (Edinburgh based) put a message on their Instagram saying they're working towards an August reopening.

I cannae wait that long - by August I'll be making Neil fae the Young Ones look like a skinheid.

August seems so far away, I really worry for small business owners and their employees.

25-05-2020, 02:56 PM
My barber reckons mid-July. I think I will cave in by that point tbh :greengrin

SideBurns
25-05-2020, 03:11 PM
August seems so far away, I really worry for small business owners and their employees.

I'm now told the barber's post is open to interpretation; not taking new bookings before August. But I think this is in the hope that they can prioritise customers who had bookings cancelled when lockdown started. So it appears they're actually working towards a July restart.

25-05-2020, 05:48 PM

That's a ridiculous amount of time, a lot of hairdressers won't open again.

SideBurns
25-05-2020, 05:51 PM
That's a ridiculous amount of time, a lot of hairdressers won't open again.

As I said in my follow up post, I think the barber I referred to is actually hoping to reserve much of July for appointments which had to be cancelled during lockdown. August will be for new bookings, but they plan to reopen much earlier.

Groathillgrump
26-05-2020, 12:19 PM
Friend of mine had a broken crown fixed last week after calling her own dentist and getting referred to Duncan St Dental which is apparently now attending to non-emergency dental work.

This post just gave me the fear as Duncan Street Dental was the school dentist when I was a kid. Have some painful memories of that place! :eek:

26-05-2020, 05:13 PM
There’s a barber doing some homers around my way - apparently taking £40 for a simple cut and “fade”. That can’t be much more than £10 normally?

26-05-2020, 05:22 PM
There’s a barber doing some homers around my way - apparently taking £40 for a simple cut and “fade”. That can’t be much more than £10 normally?

Like pretty much any service depends on where you go.

26-05-2020, 06:28 PM

“Cut and fade”, is that those god awful hair on top shaved at the sides numbers? What happened to the simple classic “short back & sides” :dunno:

26-05-2020, 06:40 PM
There’s a barber doing some homers around my way - apparently taking £40 for a simple cut and “fade”. That can’t be much more than £10 normally?[emoji23][emoji849]

Depends where you go but my hairdresser charges me £23 with discount (usually £28)

26-05-2020, 08:18 PM
Like pretty much any service depends on where you go.

Yeah that’s true - probably factoring in danger money.

“Cut and fade”, is that those god awful hair on top shaved at the sides numbers? What happened to the simple classic “short back & sides” :dunno:

I think so - gradually gets longer the higher you go.

[emoji23][emoji849]

Depends where you go but my hairdresser charges me £23 with discount (usually £28)

Go to a barber instead then? :agree:

26-05-2020, 09:27 PM
[emoji23][emoji849]

You have a hairdresser.

26-05-2020, 10:25 PM
I think the line between hairdresser and barber is increasingly blurred. I used to get my hair cut for about a tenner, I now pay £22 a pop at Rag & Bone Barbershop and it's well worth the extra.

£22 might be closer in price to what people associated with a hairdresser but there's a whole new generation of barbers out there who have changed the game whilst still being cheaper than hairdressers. Go to somewhere like Cheynes, Charlie Miller or Toni & Guy and £20 or thereabouts wouldn't get close to covering the cost of a men's cut. You might get half a haircut.

26-05-2020, 10:45 PM
I think the line between hairdresser and barber is increasingly blurred. I used to get my hair cut for about a tenner, I now pay £22 a pop at Rag & Bone Barbershop and it's well worth the extra.

£22 might be closer in price to what people associated with a hairdresser but there's a whole new generation of barbers out there who have changed the game whilst still being cheaper than hairdressers. Go to somewhere like Cheynes, Charlie Miller or Toni & Guy and £20 or thereabouts wouldn't get close to covering the cost of a men's cut. You might get half a haircut.

£9 for me although I always pay £10 and tell them to keep the change.

Anyone paying £40 for someone to cut their hair clearly has too much money.

26-05-2020, 10:50 PM
Peluquero De Hombres on Leith Walk is the only place to go, Juan has cut my hair for over 30 years, always get an amazing story or conspiracy theory from him as well, £10 well spent but you need to get in early doors to avoid the queue, he will be raging when he see's my self administered cut

26-05-2020, 11:12 PM
I call it hairdressers through habit but its a barbers/hairdressers

New age barber let's call it [emoji23][emoji322]

Or as they would say:

barber*in Edinburgh is a boutique barber shop in the business district. We make the style-conscious man more stylish over 45 minute appointments.

27-05-2020, 12:11 AM

**** me, I haven't paid that for a haircut since my days of living in Surrey - used to go to a place called Jacks of London in Guildford, and that was £25 a pop (though it often came with a beer and some excellent aesthetics :greengrin).

Nowadays, I'm £8-10, depending on where I go. Often the Turkish chaps in our town provide the best service for £9, which includes the full ears, nose and eyebrows treatment into the bargain!

27-05-2020, 12:11 AM
Tricky one. I am middle-aged, so not looking for styling, basically a number three at the sides and back, and a matching short on top. I either brush it or gel it to suit. Usually get eyebrows and ears done too. I travel a bit with work so I have a few Turkish barbers I like, Inverness, Glasgow and Galashiels and a couple of women locally who are decent. Going rate is always nine pounds, so making it up to ten is welcome and gratefully received.

27-05-2020, 01:12 AM
I’ve been going to Boombarbers at the west end (although think they’ve got 5 or 6 shops in Edinburgh and surrounding towns) for about 15 years. Always book with Scott who’s business it is and a really good guy. Would recommend them.

27-05-2020, 05:58 AM
Turkish barbers, 7 quid. Machine shave for 3 quid and away we go. Great shop, packed out most days.

27-05-2020, 07:03 AM
I’ve been going to Boombarbers at the west end (although think they’ve got 5 or 6 shops in Edinburgh and surrounding towns) for about 15 years. Always book with Scott who’s business it is and a really good guy. Would recommend them.

Boombarbers was who I had in mind when I spoke about gamechangers. They must be around about the £20 mark. I'd group them with the likes of Ruffians, Stag and Rag & Bone. Thinking back to before Boom came on the scene there wasn't a lot of choice for men. It was your local barber or paying a fortune for a hairdresser.

I think a lot of it is a generational shift and men are less, for a lack of a better word, embarrassed about looking after themselves now and paying for it. When you think back to the late 90s and early 00s the term metrosexual was thrown about and was almost mocking in tone. No one uses that now because paying a bit more for a haircut, moisturising and everything else associated with that word just isn't niche anymore.

I've got crap hair, it's fine and difficult. A bad cut looks terrible so I'm happy to pay a bit more to someone I trust to avoid that.

patch1875
27-05-2020, 08:40 AM
I stopped going to Ruffians as it was getting far to expensive, sure it was about £40 then.

Use Benjamin’s in Stockbridge now £20 and a great bunch of guys although I’m feeling a bit old when I’m in!

27-05-2020, 09:39 AM
I get my haircut down porty and its a tenner. I couldnt give a **** about all these different things you can get, just want a short back and sides so its shorter. My hair is really thick so i usually try get it cut every 4 weeks. Not had it cut since 2nd March and its fine just now (morning apart). I am 100% not letting my missus or anyone who isnt a barber near my head with a shaver/scissors.

gringojoe
27-05-2020, 10:17 AM
I've had two DIY haircuts since the lock down not sure if I will go back to barber or carry on doing it myself when this is all over

27-05-2020, 12:41 PM
No 3 all over last night, looks good, like my hair short, how guys can have long hair I don't no. :greengrin