View Full Version : River City

07-04-2020, 07:46 PM
Hibs just been mentioned on River City. :greengrin

KingPat4
07-04-2020, 07:49 PM

Isn't that Hibbie actor no deid or in the jile?

07-04-2020, 07:52 PM
Desperately need football back.

07-04-2020, 08:42 PM

What did they say? I must be pished as I was just watching it. 😆 I do know that the character Alex is a Jambo (though the guy who plays him is a Hun).

HendoDelivered
07-04-2020, 08:46 PM

Isolation hitting you hard mate?

07-04-2020, 08:54 PM
Isolation hitting you hard mate?

It is mate. Which is why I’m watching River City :greengrin

08-04-2020, 06:58 AM
It is mate. Which is why I’m watching River City :greengrin

Desperate times.

JXM73
08-04-2020, 07:08 AM
We get a mention in that English Game on netflix too

08-04-2020, 07:38 AM
Isn't that Hibbie actor no deid or in the jile?

The guy is Willie MacAlhaney ( sp). Good Hibbee.
Not watched it for years so dont know if hes still in it or no
B

08-04-2020, 07:57 AM
What did they say? I must be pished as I was just watching it. 😆 I do know that the character Alex is a Jambo (though the guy who plays him is a Hun).

He said that he went to a Hibs Aberdeen game with his Mum, and there were 30k people there. She abandoned him at half time to go with her fancy man, leaving him lost and traumatised.

He's been a Jambo ever since.

A friend told me all this 😏

08-04-2020, 07:59 AM
B

Jordan Young (River City and Scot Squad) is the actor who said it last night. He said his mum took him to see Hibs v Aberdeen.

The actor who is the Hibby is Billy McElhaney who played Jimmy Mullen (no longer in it).

08-04-2020, 08:01 AM
He said that he went to a Hibs Aberdeen game with his Mum, and there were 30k people there. She abandoned him at half time to go with her fancy man, leaving him lost and traumatised.

He's been a Jambo ever since.

A friend told me all this 😏

That’s it 😂 I gave the abbreviated version.

Act Now! Save River City.

08-04-2020, 08:12 AM
Alex Murdoch was the character that said it. Jambo in the programme it seems, actor that plays him is a big Hun in real life though. Shellsuit Bob is a Celtic fan in the show, but a Hun in real life.

I know all this because I watch River City every week. It's ace, despite what others on here say.

Tomsk
08-04-2020, 08:23 AM
Things are bad, very bad. But I don't ever envisage them getting so bad that I end up watching that Weegie pish.

08-04-2020, 08:35 AM
Things are bad, very bad. But I don't ever envisage them getting so bad that I end up watching that Weegie pish.

Hibs were 1 up, though.

Billy McKirdy
08-04-2020, 09:15 AM
B

It’s Billy Mcelhaney (Jimmy Mullen), I think his character is in jail, old pals with Billy, not seen him for a while though, he’s a massive Hibby

08-04-2020, 09:36 AM
It’s Billy Mcelhaney (Jimmy Mullen), I think his character is in jail, old pals with Billy, not seen him for a while though, he’s a massive Hibby

He’s better off in jail than married to Scarlet 😂

08-04-2020, 10:48 AM
B

I'm sure I read somewhere that his old man had something to do with Edina Hibs too.

Tomsk
08-04-2020, 11:31 AM
Hibs were 1 up, though.

Oh well, in that case ...

08-04-2020, 11:33 AM
People actually watch that programme 😭

08-04-2020, 11:34 AM

Billy used to travel with us on Maudes bus to away games
B

08-04-2020, 11:39 AM
Alex Murdoch was the character that said it. Jambo in the programme it seems, actor that plays him is a big Hun in real life though. Shellsuit Bob is a Celtic fan in the show, but a Hun in real life.

I know all this because I watch River City every week. It's ace, despite what others on here say.

You stick to to your guns mate.... If your heart is in Shieldinch, then say it with pride!

How's Lenny Murdoch getting on these days.

08-04-2020, 11:42 AM
You stick to to your guns mate.... If your heart is in Shieldinch, then say it with pride!

How's Lenny Murdoch getting on these days.

He’s never been the same since he killed his wife.

08-04-2020, 12:07 PM
I'm sure I read somewhere that his old man had something to do with Edina Hibs too.

Mr Mac.

One of the best amateur coaches around in his day. Wasn't really exclusive to Edina. Last time I saw him he was working in Mathers (West End version). Hope he's still around.

Billy is Hibs daft.

Fuzzywuzzy
08-04-2020, 12:39 PM
Jamie Michie that was in river ****ty is a hibby

Fuzzywuzzy
08-04-2020, 12:41 PM
It did produce one of the great lines in a soap.

'ah feel like a giant toly floatin' doon the clyde'

08-04-2020, 01:04 PM
We get a mention in that English Game on netflix too
Watched that and quite enjoyed it . Felt a bit uneasy watching Souter playing in Maroon in the FA cup final and wanting him to win .

08-04-2020, 01:36 PM
Desperate times.

The sooner the football is back on the better.

Gaffer1875
08-04-2020, 02:12 PM
Don’t mind river city!

08-04-2020, 02:25 PM
He’s never been the same since he killed his wife.

Lydia's Died?

Aw! She was a honey.

:boo hoo:

08-04-2020, 04:13 PM
Is Shellsuit Boab still in it?

08-04-2020, 04:56 PM
Is Shellsuit Boab still in it?

Sure is, his wife has left him tho after catching him with a wee hairy.

08-04-2020, 05:22 PM
Last time I watched River City that woman with the broad doric accent was in it. Maybe she still is, it was a few years ago though.

09-04-2020, 02:54 PM
People actually watch that programme 😭

I have never watched a single episode of River City, no particular reason why

09-04-2020, 05:37 PM
I'm sure there was a youngster on it a couple years back went to Leith Academy.