View Full Version : Anyone not actually missing football that much?

06-04-2020, 03:12 PM
If this lockdown has confirmed anything for me its that I am far more of a Hibs fan than a fan of football in general. Hibs are in the blood and there's definitely a sense of something missing when they're not around to fret over! Mind you, maybe that's a good thing in some ways??

Football as a whole though? I've been drifting away from it for some time and was rarely, if ever, watching games not involving Hibs long before coronavirus shut the game down.

I guess that's partly why I find the saga over ending the season so pathetic. It just doesn't seem that big a deal when set against the wider issues of the world.

06-04-2020, 03:16 PM
No. If it's not Hibs related I'm generally not interested in football. I couldn't sit and watch a game not involving Hibs. Missing Hibs badly though, from the pre game interviews on a Thursday right through to the Sunday. It's a big part of my life.

EHZERO7
06-04-2020, 03:30 PM
Jambos 🤔

Devonhibs
06-04-2020, 03:32 PM
I am missing Hibs so much that I have ordered Subutteo to play with my 12 year old and trying to buy a vintage Hibs set having just been outbid for one on Ebay.

06-04-2020, 03:35 PM
Not for me. If anything it's reaffirmed how important football is as part of my life.

06-04-2020, 03:37 PM
Not for me. If anything it's reaffirmed how important football is as part of my life.

Same I’m afraid to say.

06-04-2020, 03:37 PM
I'm missing the social side of things more than the actual games themselves, all my friends live out of town these days and when we are at home it's how we all get together, if it wasn't for that we would have to make a real concious effort to arrange something

06-04-2020, 03:38 PM
I am missing Hibs so much that I have ordered Subutteo to play with my 12 year old and trying to buy a vintage Hibs set having just been outbid for one on Ebay.

I think I’ve got a Hibs team, in “Big League”, somewhere in my mums attic

06-04-2020, 03:42 PM
Only interested in HIBS

Pretty sad really

Devonhibs
06-04-2020, 03:44 PM
Football, like a lot of other stuff will be part of a phased return to normal etc

06-04-2020, 03:50 PM

Same here!

06-04-2020, 03:51 PM
I'm really missing it. Hibs are a massive part of my life, like most on here, and I can't wait to watch us again.

06-04-2020, 03:52 PM
Yeah me, haven’t give it a second thought after the first weekend without it.

06-04-2020, 03:59 PM
Nah I’m missing all sports and it’s rotten there’s nothing even to look forward to in the summer.

06-04-2020, 04:05 PM
If this lockdown has confirmed anything for me its that I am far more of a Hibs fan than a fan of football in general. Hibs are in the blood and there's definitely a sense of something missing when they're not around to fret over! Mind you, maybe that's a good thing in some ways??

Football as a whole though? I've been drifting away from it for some time and was rarely, if ever, watching games not involving Hibs long before coronavirus shut the game down.

I guess that's partly why I find the saga over ending the season so pathetic. It just doesn't seem that big a deal when set against the wider issues of the world.

I'm missing all football. It normally takes up the majority of my spare time. Can't wait for it to restart at all levels.

06-04-2020, 04:05 PM
Supporters of many clubs will be lost to the game, they'll just have gotten out of the habit of going.

06-04-2020, 04:07 PM
Supporters of many clubs will be lost to the game, they'll just have gotten out of the habit of going.

I’m not so sure - I think there will be a full house when we are back. People will be ready to reconnect

Hakim Sar
06-04-2020, 04:11 PM
I wouldn’t say I’m missing it too much... but there’s no hiding the fact that I’ve been watching more and more football on YouTube... in particular Hibs games from the early 90s from sportscene.

06-04-2020, 04:16 PM
I’m not so sure - I think there will be a full house when we are back. People will be ready to reconnect

I've thought about this too. When we're finally back I'll be bringing my whole family along to Easter Road and know friends doing the same. I think the atmosphere will be absolutely superb. Actually quite an emotional thought.

Only interested in HIBS

Pretty sad really

The only team for me - keep yer Barcelona’s, Real Madrids they’re just there for us to beat ;)

SideBurns
I'm missing Hibs most of all, but also all the English stuff and just fitba generally (including my son's youth matches on a Sunday). The game has played too big a part in my life not to feel sad at its absence right now.

I know the talk, quite rightly, has been how relatively insignificant it is in comparison to a health crisis such as this, but football has an importance in so many lives and communities that shouldn't be underestimated.

06-04-2020, 04:22 PM

Don’t see it that way. It’s not as if everybody is away doing something better with their time.

When the football eventually comes back, and we’re allowed to go back, it’ll be superb.

I’m missing it big time. Not just the football itself but the social side of it. Going for a beer and putting a coupon on, on a Saturday, is a big part of folks lives.

SonOfDavidFrancey
06-04-2020, 04:24 PM

Definitely made me realise how much time I waste listening to the drivel on the radio etc

06-04-2020, 04:30 PM
I miss playing 7’s the most, watching Hibs close behind, a very mild interest in Sunderland third and no interest in anything else.

I actually quite enjoyed motd on Saturday when Lineker, Wright and Shearer were discussing the Premier League’s best goalkeeper.

Before this all started I had commented to my other half that over a couple of years I have gone from being hugely interested in football to totally uninterested.

06-04-2020, 04:30 PM
No. If it's not Hibs related I'm generally not interested in football. I couldn't sit and watch a game not involving Hibs. Missing Hibs badly though, from the pre game interviews on a Thursday right through to the Sunday. It's a big part of my life.

That about sums it up for me as well.

06-04-2020, 04:32 PM
I'm missing Hibs games massively. I can't say I've given any other football a 2nd thought, I watch other games if I come across them but don't go out my way to watch them so there's nothing to miss really.

06-04-2020, 04:33 PM
Watched time for heroes the other day.
Must be Hibs.

SideBurns
06-04-2020, 04:34 PM
Don’t see it that way. It’s not as if everybody is away doing something better with their time.

When the football eventually comes back, and we’re allowed to go back, it’ll be superb.

I’m missing it big time. Not just the football itself but the social side of it. Going for a beer and putting a coupon on, on a Saturday, is a big part of folks lives.

Aye. First Saturday back at Easter Road I'll be bouncing out of bed like a bairn on Christmas morning. It'll be an early start in Robbie's that day.

06-04-2020, 04:36 PM
Aye. First Saturday back at Easter Road I'll be bouncing out of bed like a bairn on Christmas morning. It'll be an early start in Robbie's that day.

It will be an early start when lockdown ends pints followed by a slap up feed in a favourite restaurant a HIBS match would be a bonus

SideBurns
06-04-2020, 04:59 PM
It will be an early start when lockdown ends pints followed by a slap up feed in a favourite restaurant a HIBS match would be a bonus

Very true 😁

06-04-2020, 05:29 PM
Playing fives is the single thing I miss most, way more than going to the pub or other socialising.

Hibs games are a bit behind that, and other football is some way behind again. Outside of Hibs I don't follow any particular competition that closely, but I like to be able to watch games when I feel like it.

SideBurns
06-04-2020, 05:33 PM
Playing fives is the single thing I miss most, way more than going to the pub or other socialising.

Hibs games are a bit behind that, and other football is some way behind again. Outside of Hibs I don't follow any particular competition that closely, but I like to be able to watch games when I feel like it.

I'm missing my Monday night runaboot too. But I'd be lying if I said I miss it more than a pint in the pub, or going to ER; they all have their place.

06-04-2020, 05:42 PM

You miss playing 5's more than watching hibs ? Each to their own mate

Family is my priority but hibs is the 2nd most thing important thing after that

06-04-2020, 05:54 PM
The only thing that comes remotely close to missing hugs from my grandkids is not seeing Hibs. Football in general doesn't appeal to me nearly as much as it used to, but the club still means a hell of a lot to me.

06-04-2020, 06:01 PM
I’m totally missing football and all the other sports I would normally watch on tv. The tv is brutal without any sport to watch.

06-04-2020, 06:10 PM

For me it Missing Hibs i struggle watch any other games unless I have a wee bet on the game :agree:

I would also rather watch SPFL than EPL. Hamilton v Motherwell has more appeal than Leicester v Spurs

06-04-2020, 06:14 PM
Strangely not missing it as much as I’d thought.

Probably because there’s so much else to think about at the moment more than anything. Other than 2weeks in the sun I normally hate the pre-season

Ralphy C
06-04-2020, 06:23 PM
Didny think i was missin football until i was in the asda biscuit aisle and started booing some jamtarts😊

06-04-2020, 06:24 PM
The only football I'm missing is Hibs.

So far I've found plenty to do instead but once we're back I'll be there.

06-04-2020, 06:24 PM
Not missing it yet as it feels like pre season. I do miss playing sport with pals though. There is only so much solo running you can before utter boredom sets in.

06-04-2020, 06:31 PM

Same. If I never saw Hibs again, I would be gutted. But I wouldn't care two hoots if I never saw another game of football that didn't involve Hibs. All the other clubs are just a backdrop and only have (limited) relevance when they place us.

06-04-2020, 07:23 PM

There were three or four sets from the same seller on eBay earlier....

06-04-2020, 07:26 PM

Surprised me a bit as well, but that's how it is.

Perhaps partly because I'm aware that I have a limited number of years left playing football, but will be able to watch Hibs for the rest of my life.

Robbo6-2
06-04-2020, 07:29 PM
Not at all

This is absolutely brutal

06-04-2020, 08:15 PM
Hope your right👍

06-04-2020, 08:15 PM
Im football mad, missing it big time.

Life is never dull though there is always something to keep interested in but football has probaby been my constant comfort blanket my entire life and I'm missing it.

06-04-2020, 08:20 PM
I'm missing Hibs games, playing football in my 11s team here and the social aspect of that, which often includes watching the BPL in the pub. But am I missing any football apart from Hibs on its own merits?

Not at all to be honest.

06-04-2020, 08:27 PM
Been watching a lot of old games from past World Cups, Scottish Cup Final from 1991 etc.

I miss terracing more than I am missing modern football. Hardly watch any football these days anyway apart from Scottish games.

TrinityHibs
06-04-2020, 08:27 PM
Just deferred Sky Sports and BT Sports. Depends how long this goes on but struggling to see me spending the £40/month again

06-04-2020, 08:28 PM
I’ve never watched a 90 minute match that didn’t involve Scotland, Hibs or a team that my son Cammy played for.

Which given that there’s been live English games on for a few decades shows that unless there’s a partisan element to a match I’m not interested.

Really miss going to Easter Road with my family of six though

06-04-2020, 10:52 PM

And I guess, very sadly, a number of us simply won't be around any more, especially if the projected Covid-19 mortality rate is correct.

06-04-2020, 11:13 PM
I would also rather watch SPFL than EPL. Hamilton Motherwell has more appeal than Leicester v Spurs

Agreed on this, Sammy! Despite having lived down south all my days. :greengrin

Scottish football all day long.

06-04-2020, 11:15 PM

This! Hearing that we might not see football for possibly as long as October genuinely makes me sad. I miss it big time. All football!

OstKurve Hibs
06-04-2020, 11:47 PM
I do miss going to hibs games as it's always been a big part of my life apart from a few years away travelling it's what I do on a saturday wi my old man and my nephew,
Football in general though I'm not to bothered about apart from the champions league, I do enjoy that when it's on midweek.

06-04-2020, 11:49 PM
I miss a typical weekend of sport but it just doesn’t seem that important anymore.

06-04-2020, 11:59 PM
Situation is so serious that I am beyond missing it. Reality is we may not see football again till 2021.
The banter here and the threads on reminisces would be a big miss. Thanks to Budge and the Jambos for entertaining us and the rest of Scottish football.

07-04-2020, 02:54 AM
Not missing it too badly yet, but as someone else said it's a bit like close season just now, as time goes on I'll miss it more and more for sure. I love the game and I'll pretty well watch anybody play anybody, which for me at the moment is throwback La Liga and MLS games on freesports .... In all honesty I would rather watch a full game where I don't know the score that could end 0 - 0 than a full replay of a classic with 8 goals in it where I know the result beforehand.

Missing Saturdays in the boozer pre match with my mates and missing playing walking football ... especially walking football, because without a ball at my feet I find walking a pain in the arse and apart from cutting the grass and my part time job with the NHS I get little exercise ... I can feel the weight piling on .... I am by nature a lazy sod and only my love of playing football has kept me in reasonable shape up till now :confused:

It's my hope that when my beloved Hibees to return to the field for the first game the stadium will be rammed ... lets hope they've fixed the bloody turnstile issues by then :greengrin

07-04-2020, 05:41 AM
This! Hearing that we might not see football for possibly as long as October genuinely makes me sad. I miss it big time. All football!

I think that's at the optimistic end of the scale too.

I'm personally missing Hibs games a lot but football in general not so much. I was joint top of my Fantasy Football league so I suppose from that point of view I would like that to be back soon so I can have a chance of winning.

I'm not bothered at all by the absence of Brighton v Watford etc though.

07-04-2020, 06:28 AM
I´m missing the fitba, but I´m missing getting together with mates before the game probably more.
Maybe we could start a pool on which teams will go bust first everyone picks five teams?

07-04-2020, 07:12 AM
.... I am by nature a lazy sod and only my love of playing football has kept me in reasonable shape up till now

... lets hope they've fixed the bloody turnstile issues by then :greengrin

For your sake, I hope they've also widened the Turnstyles.

07-04-2020, 07:34 AM
Other than the odd old firm game I can't recall the last game I watched that didn't involve Hibs so not missed football in general, hardly even been on here.

07-04-2020, 07:46 AM
Not really a sports fan as such so not missing that - would watch golf or tennis or something if there was a Scots person to support.

Do miss the Saturday pint and 'matchday experience'.

Not really in the house enough to watch non-Hibs football. Between Bundesliga and Serie A I might watch 2-3 games a month so can live without.

Really missing a Sunday pint though :greengrin

07-04-2020, 07:51 AM
I miss it all , Hibs, match days with friends and family and football in general. If I wasn’t watching Hibs on a Saturday I’d be looking at going to a lower or non-league match. I even found myself watching my son playing FIFA yesterday for a while as if it was a real match. :greengrin

07-04-2020, 09:21 AM
I miss not getting out in general and seeing my family. 20-30 minutes walk a day is not enough and when I am out I am paranoid about someone coming into contact with me.

Yes I miss Hibs but I think it will be a long time before I feel safe going into a stadium.

07-04-2020, 09:53 AM

I’m the same. Play 5s twice a week and I’m missing that a lot more than anything else.

07-04-2020, 11:37 AM
For your sake, I hope they've also widened the Turnstyles.

07-04-2020, 11:48 AM
Have absolutely zero interest in English football or La Liga or the Champions League so both bothered my arse about any that crap.

However I am more than missing Hibs and the whole Saturday day out at the football. Just going to need to buckle up and get used to it however cause not a chance are we going to be attending matches again this year in my opinion. Public gatherings of thousands is a pipe dream for the foreseeable future

07-04-2020, 11:50 AM
Of course I am missing it but the main problem for me is not knowing when it will be coming back, u know were u stand when it’s the summer break cos the fixtures are out for August etc.

07-04-2020, 12:01 PM
One thing I haven't missed is the over the top outrage and reactions. It's actually been refreshing not hearing or reading it. This horrible situation really puts things in perspective.

07-04-2020, 12:12 PM
I'm missing Hibs games and seeing my pals as a result but haven't really missed football otherwise.
Season ticket renewed tho

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

hibee
07-04-2020, 01:46 PM
I’m not really missing football at all, we have 3 season tickets but I’ve not renewed yet.

I know many will say they don’t mind but in this situation I feel it will be season ticket holders who take the financial hit and will end up having paid more per game than walk up fans this season and probably next season too if this continues.

07-04-2020, 02:00 PM
I miss Hibs related stuff as at the moment it’s like the close season without any transfer speculation..I don’t think i’ll miss anything bar the Open in terms of other sports.

It’s cool to see so many folk out walking, on their bike or what ever and doing it with their kids...And not just the tiny ones. People actually doing things rather than just watching things.

So i miss Hibs action but kinda enjoying the rest of it.

07-04-2020, 02:16 PM
I’m not really missing football at all, we have 3 season tickets but I’ve not renewed yet.

I know many will say they don’t mind but in this situation I feel it will be season ticket holders who take the financial hit and will end up having paid more per game than walk up fans this season and probably next season too if this continues.

Well, when you consider that existing ST holders have already paid in advance for a minimum of 5 games that will probably never take place you aint kiddin' :greengrin

Anyway, I've renewed today for the 20/21 season ... which I hope wont turn into the 21/22 season :greengrin

08-04-2020, 10:02 AM
You know I had already lost a level of interest by not living in Edinburgh and this whole COVID-19 has really emphasised to me how much of a hateful "industry" this now is, especially in the English Premier League. The actions of the likes of Spurs and Liverpool (who have at least realised they got it badly wrong) and the bubble these overpaid players live in is so different to how the rest of the country is reacting and having to deal with this.

Seeing Mourinho and players out doing training in a park for example, what goes through their head that this is a good idea when most people are under lockdown and losing income?

It really is morally bankrupt and this last few weeks just goes to show how far out of touch UEFA and the big clubs in England are. I feel so disconnected from it all.

On the other hand we have Hibs who have handled this with care and consideration and it gives a wee bit of hope that the club I support is one of the good guys :thumbsup::agree:

09-04-2020, 10:01 AM
Apart from Hibs games, the thing i've missed more is the golf on tv. There's only so many times you can watch the miracle of Medina. :greengrin

Cant say i've missed any other football, but am missing my weekly dose of Hibs and all things that involves, even this place is quiet with nothing new to talk about. :greengrin

23-04-2020, 10:20 PM
I've actually come to terms with the lack of Hibs games more easily than I thought I would. It removes a significant degree of stress from your life when you don't have to worry about us getting beat - and it's great to see so much positivity coming out of the club even in these hugely challenging times.

Obviously we need to focus on ensuring we still have a club to support when (hopefully not if) we are finally able to go to games again, but at present I must admit that the relegation of Hearts is something I don't mind savouring for a good while yet. There will be something additonally satisfying about them taking the drop then being utterly impotent when it comes to doing anything about it from a playing point of view. A few months of yam wailing and gnashing of teeth as they sit in relegation limbo will be a pleasurable backdrop to lockdown.