View Full Version : Another on this Day 8 . 1 v Killie

02-04-2020, 06:04 PM
Hammered Killie 8 . 1 2.4.82. is this a joint record score?

02-04-2020, 06:15 PM
Cracking goal from Jackie Mac IIRC. Daisy cutter from about 25yds.

02-04-2020, 06:19 PM
A goal from Pat McCurdy! Who? I hear you say!!

02-04-2020, 07:29 PM
Attendance 4,065.

Those were the days, right enough.

02-04-2020, 07:39 PM
Attendance 4,065.

Hibs Kids game as well. I was in the old South Stand with them.

SideBurns
02-04-2020, 07:41 PM
A goal from Pat McCurdy! Who? I hear you say!!

Had he not just scored 3 in a reserve derby? Hat-trick Patrick.

We drew 3-3 with Dundee Utd at Tannadice either the week before or after tae.

bringbackbenny
02-04-2020, 07:48 PM
Me too 👍 And bizarrely memories of some young Hibby's gobbing on away fans below sure it was this game. Wasn't me I hasten to add!!

hibernian36
02-04-2020, 07:53 PM
I was 8 at the time and at the game with the Hibs Kids in the main stand. Kept having to ask the woman next to me the score :-)

02-04-2020, 08:13 PM
Attendance 4,065.

Dreary days & pretty standard attendance for many a game in those days.

02-04-2020, 08:19 PM
Dreary days & pretty standard attendance for many a game in those days.

Post 1980 Hamden riot crowd. Hardly any kids or women attended back then. Crowds took years to return.

Great performance from Hibs that day. Can still see Jackie Macs goal in my minds eye.

02-04-2020, 08:20 PM
Remember it well , last ever game I went to with my dad, sat in the upper main stand on the wooden benches

02-04-2020, 08:25 PM

I was in Hibs Kids and in South Stand that day. The heady days of Hibs Kids

02-04-2020, 08:46 PM
Bertie Auld in chsrge, 4k crowds not unusual either thankfully changed days.

The Falklands war effectively started that day aswell

02-04-2020, 08:54 PM
Bertie Auld in chsrge, 4k crowds not unusual either thankfully changed days.

The Falklands war effectively started that day aswell

It was Pat Stanton

02-04-2020, 09:06 PM
Attendance 4,065.

Season ticket/Singing section issue if I recall.

Petrie!!

02-04-2020, 09:06 PM
It was Pat Stanton

My Bad i thought it was Bertie

02-04-2020, 09:07 PM
My Bad i thought it was Bertie

👍🏿

02-04-2020, 09:08 PM
Remember it well , last ever game I went to with my dad, sat in the upper main stand on the wooden benches

Nice memory.

02-04-2020, 09:13 PM
It was Pat Stanton

on wiki pat got the managers job in September 82

jon paul jones
02-04-2020, 09:24 PM
Definitely 2nd April 1983 not 82...earliest game I could remember. It was my earliest football memory and quite a trop for a soon to be hibby from Roseburn... Crossing the line in those days.... and a hibs kid ticket as well

02-04-2020, 09:40 PM
on wiki pat got the managers job in September 82

Match took place 2/4/83

Your point is caller ?

02-04-2020, 09:53 PM
Match took place 2/4/83

Your point is caller ?
my point seems to be ive lost a year😁. FFS today is my birthday aswell.
i knew it was the 2nd April tho👍

02-04-2020, 09:54 PM
my point seems to be ive lost a year😁. FFS today is my birthday aswell.
i knew it was the 2nd April tho👍

No worries mate

Happy Birthday

Keep safe

02-04-2020, 10:14 PM
A young Graham Harvey played well that day IIRC. Might have been his debut. For a while he looked like he might be something better than the very average team we had back then.

hibeg
03-04-2020, 04:57 AM
Missed the game as a few of us had a weekend away in Blackpool.

Didn’t find out the score till the next day as the effects from an afternoon and evening in the Bier Celler had a major impact !!! cheers::cheers::cheers:

03-04-2020, 06:36 AM
Cracking goal from Jackie Mac IIRC. Daisy cutter from about 25yds.

My memory is that it went in at about waist height at 200mph.

It was also a very rare Jackie Mac mistake that gifted Killie their goal - under no pressure he stood on and tripped over the ball leaving Killie clean through.

McSwanky
03-04-2020, 06:42 AM
I was there! Think it was 2-1at half time and remember somebody's name got called over the tannoy, they had to go home. Oops!

Sent from my HRY-LX1 using Tapatalk

03-04-2020, 06:52 AM

I didn't realise Hibs Kids game were on the go then.

Season ticket/Singing section issue if I recall.

Petrie!!

Did they sneak down from the South Wing Stand to the South Enclosure at half-time?

SideBurns
03-04-2020, 07:20 AM
Jackie Mac's goal was indeed a raker; think big Gordon Rae scored a beauty too, meaning both centre-halves scored? Pat McCurdy has already been mentioned; anyone else remember the other scorers?

I'm going for: Willie Jamieson, Brian Rice, Graham Harvey, Willie Irvine, Arthur Duncan. Someone might have got 2 goals, of course!

Newry Hibs
03-04-2020, 07:33 AM
Did Killie take the lead in this match?

03-04-2020, 08:48 AM
Did Killie take the lead in this match?

Aye following a rare Jackie MacNamara slip

03-04-2020, 08:51 AM
Jackie Mac's goal was indeed a raker; think big Gordon Rae scored a beauty too, meaning both centre-halves scored? Pat McCurdy has already been mentioned; anyone else remember the other scorers?

I'm going for: Willie Jamieson, Brian Rice, Graham Harvey, Willie Irvine, Arthur Duncan. Someone might have got 2 goals, of course!

Duncan Rae McNamara Irvine 2 Thomson 2 and McCurdy

www.fitbastats.com

03-04-2020, 08:52 AM
Duncan Rae McNamara Irvine 2 Thomson 2 and McCurdy

www.fitbastats.com

Pat McCurdy, had high hopes for him

Scotty Leither
03-04-2020, 08:55 AM

Was it you that was gobbing on the away fans? :greengrin

03-04-2020, 08:56 AM
Pat McCurdy, had high hopes for him

Me anaw as another poster pointed out did well in the reserves but just petered out in the first team.

Played 7 scored 1

Tomsk
03-04-2020, 10:27 AM
I was at this game. It was the only match I attended that season. I was at university at the time and had come home during the Easter break.

My memory is of standing on a pretty empty main terracing on a bright, sunny day - although the result might be making me think it was a lot brighter than it actually was - and Hibs scoring with just about every shot they hit. Looking at the team it's actually hard to believe they mustered eight goals in one game -- FFS! Stuart Turnbull was playing! Trust me, he was worse than a man short.

Over the years I've seen Hibs score, in single games, seven goals once, eight goals once, but nine goals three times.

BG23
03-04-2020, 10:37 AM
I was there! Think it was 2-1at half time and remember somebody's name got called over the tannoy, they had to go home. Oops!

Sent from my HRY-LX1 using Tapatalk

Yes remember it well . That person was me !!

03-04-2020, 11:49 AM
Was it you that was gobbing on the away fans? :greengrin

Aye. They got their own back about 18 years later when I got a smack in puss leaving their ground

03-04-2020, 11:55 AM
Jackie Mac's goal was indeed a raker

From memory it was at least 30yds out and when the ball came toward him and he set himself up to hit it, you knew he was going to score.

bringbackbenny
03-04-2020, 11:57 AM
From memory it was at least 30yds out and when the ball came toward him and he set himself up to hit it, you knew he was going to score.

I think it was into the Dunbar end? Not 100% sure though

03-04-2020, 12:01 PM
I think it was into the Dunbar end? Not 100% sure thoughIt was.

Superfurry72
03-04-2020, 12:14 PM
Aye following a rare Jackie MacNamara slip

They didn’t, they equalised an early Arthur Duncan goal. We scored six going up the slope in the 2nd half!

Superfurry72
03-04-2020, 12:16 PM
A young Graham Harvey played well that day IIRC. Might have been his debut. For a while he looked like he might be something better than the very average team we had back then.

His debut was against Morton in the Feb, he scored that day. I was at both games, on my own, aged 11!

03-04-2020, 12:29 PM
They didn’t, they equalised an early Arthur Duncan goal. We scored six going up the slope in the 2nd half!

fitbastats f##ked up !

03-04-2020, 03:30 PM
Hammered Killie 8 . 1 2.4.82. is this a joint record score?

You mean against Kilmarnock? If not nowhere near a record.

03-04-2020, 03:47 PM
You mean against Kilmarnock? If not nowhere near a record.

It held the record for highest combined score in a premier league match for a long time (possibly still does.)

03-04-2020, 07:51 PM

Showing my age over yours here S, but it was one of the first games I took my young nephew to and had to sit the wee ****er on my shoulders for the 90 mins, even in a sparse crowd. I dropped him at my ma’s at Easter Road after the game and got righteously wrecked in the Vickie bar.

04-04-2020, 07:30 AM
It held the record for highest combined score in a premier league match for a long time (possibly still does.)

That was my question. but Celtic pumped Aberdeen 9 . 0 and im sure there's been a 6 . 6 draw since then

SideBurns
04-04-2020, 07:51 AM
That was my question. but Celtic pumped Aberdeen 9 . 0 and im sure there's been a 6 . 6 draw since then

There's been a 5-5 too. Some gemme that yin!

04-04-2020, 08:39 AM

That's true, the 6-6 game must hold the record now

Wakeyhibee
04-04-2020, 09:38 AM
Remember watching Grandstands vidiprinter on a weekly basis at 4:40 back then living in Lancashire.

"Hibernian 8 (eight)" it popped up. They always suffixed a high score with the words so you knew it wasnt a typo.

04-04-2020, 10:41 AM
I was there on a very sparse main terrace. Remember it being 2-1 at half time and the Jackie Mc slip for the Killie goal - but I can't remember any of the Hibs goals - weird!