View Full Version : England Won The World Cup!

Dan Sarf
02-04-2020, 10:35 AM
Apparently, it was in 1966. Why has nobody talked about this?

You can listen to the commentary here...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p06qct94

ian omand
02-04-2020, 10:39 AM
Apparently, it was in 1966. Why has nobody talked about this?

You can listen to the commentary here...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p06qct94

Well, they kept that quiet.

02-04-2020, 10:53 AM
Well, they kept that quiet.I reckon it's because of the, relatively obscure, fact that in 1967 Scotland beat them 2-3 at Wembley.

They were so embarrassed at being beaten by a country with such a small population they barely ever mentioned their WC victory in 1966 ever again.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

02-04-2020, 11:26 AM

They barely ever mention it.

02-04-2020, 11:30 AM
Scotland twice world cup winners 1967and of course 1978 :wink::greengrin

Dan Sarf
02-04-2020, 12:29 PM

Shame no footage of the game has survived.

JXM73
02-04-2020, 12:37 PM
Aye they weren't so keen on Var then....

02-04-2020, 12:44 PM
Oh them Russians !

02-04-2020, 01:02 PM
As i recall, ramsay played greaves instead of hurst so he could claim we hadnt beaten the world cup side

02-04-2020, 01:18 PM
Yes we did and Scotland have never won it.

02-04-2020, 01:28 PM
Aye they weren't so keen on Var then....

Disallow that goal and they still won.

02-04-2020, 01:36 PM
To be fair, it is being brought up less and less now. It's going from "we won it" to "it's embarrassing we haven't won it since then".

02-04-2020, 01:42 PM
To be fair, it is being brought up less and less now. It's going from "we won it" to "it's embarrassing we haven't won it since then".

It should be embarrassing seeing as they seem to consider themselves a "world football powerhouse" yet havent even reached a final since. I dont think They will win anything in my lifetime. Bottling it is engrained in their mentality.

02-04-2020, 01:51 PM
Scotland are the most successful nation in the world.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unofficial_Football_World_Championships#All-time_rankings

Back in yer box sassenachs!

CloudSquall
02-04-2020, 02:49 PM
They really do have a horrendous record when compared to similar sized nations.

02-04-2020, 02:57 PM
Still remember 1967 Scotland the unofficial World Champions

The Sunday Post had World Cup Willie wearing a kilt

Jim Baxter told the story that he kept calling Alan Ball Jimmy Clitheroe to wind him up

delbert
02-04-2020, 03:00 PM
I reckon it's because of the, relatively obscure, fact that in 1967 Scotland beat them 2-3 at Wembley.

They were so embarrassed at being beaten by a country with such a small population they barely ever mentioned their WC victory in 1966 ever again.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Yeh and it’s not like we have ever banged on about 1967 and being the unofficial World Champions, in fact I may be the first person to have ever brought that up !

02-04-2020, 03:58 PM
That commentary will likely bring a lot of joy to a lot of people at a time when it's needed the most.

Just like 2012 with Hearts, just like 2016 with us. At times like this a comfort blanket's perfectly OK.

03-04-2020, 12:31 AM
Still remember 1967 Scotland the unofficial World Champions

The Sunday Post had World Cup Willie wearing a kilt

Jim Baxter told the story that he kept calling Alan Ball Jimmy Clitheroe to wind him up

So will BBC have the balls to show the game in 1967 when the World Champions were humbled by the Wee Jocks ..... pleasing :na na:

Back in the day I would have fancied Scotland to win the World Cup at home. Well maybe no!

03-04-2020, 02:55 AM
Disallow that goal and they still won.

Well. You say that but I believe VAR would have disallowed the ‘4th goal’ because there were some people on the pitch because they thought it was all over!!

SCHAEDYSHORTS
03-04-2020, 04:11 AM
Well. You say that but I believe VAR would have disallowed the ‘4th goal’ because there were some people on the pitch because they thought it was all over!!

Surely just exuberance? 🤔

hibstag
03-04-2020, 04:17 PM
It should be embarrassing seeing as they seem to consider themselves a "world football powerhouse" yet havent even reached a final since. I dont think They will win anything in my lifetime. Bottling it is engrained in their mentality.

Aye but I was getting nervous 2 summers ago...

03-04-2020, 05:18 PM
Yeh and it’s not like we have ever banged on about 1967 and being the unofficial World Champions, in fact I may be the first person to have ever brought that up !

And never banged on about Archie's goal against Holland

03-04-2020, 06:20 PM
I'll never cheer on England but they still have the best World Cup song- World In Motion. Just my opinion though.

03-04-2020, 06:24 PM
I'll never cheer on England but they still have the best World Cup song- World In Motion. Just my opinion though.

I Have A Dream John Gordon Sinclair

“It’s a penalty!”

03-04-2020, 06:38 PM

Three Lions is an absolute banger as well.

03-04-2020, 08:31 PM
England are by far the least successful of the large populated nations in the world. Germany, Italy, Spain are much better with roughly the same populations.

therealgavmac
03-04-2020, 08:37 PM
Three Lions is an absolute banger as well.

Being pedantic, this wasn't a World Cuo song, it was Euro 96

SideBurns
03-04-2020, 08:38 PM
I Have A Dream John Gordon Sinclair

“It’s a penalty!”

Quality. Bought the single fae John Menzies at Barnton. Incidentally, the b side was brutal - 'Wrap up the Cup'.

'World in Motion' was barry too, mind. Have often changed the words to 'Scotland' or 'Hibernian'.

03-04-2020, 08:41 PM
England are by far the least successful of the large populated nations in the world. Germany, Italy, Spain are much better with roughly the same populations.I'd say France was a better comparison in terms of population but also players who are descendants of families from former colonies. England are miles behind.

03-04-2020, 08:42 PM
I'd say France was a better comparison in terms of population but also players who are descendants of families from former colonies. England are miles behind.

Indeed. :agree:

darwenhibby
03-04-2020, 08:43 PM
Fizzin hate all the engerlund World Cup songs during the build up and tournament
Quite good once the bottle crashes and it all goes quiet down here
This could have been their best chance of winning something had it not been for the lockdown
Other nations will be stronger in 12 months

green.oracle
03-04-2020, 09:04 PM
As i recall, ramsay played greaves instead of hurst so he could claim we hadnt beaten the world cup side

Hurst scored engerlund's second goal that day.