View Full Version : Highest attendance

30-03-2020, 08:46 PM
Too much time on my hands. This is one for the oldies what is the largest attendance at a match you have attended.
My games are
Celtic v Leeds 1970 136000
Scotland v England 1970 137000
Scotland v England 1972 117000
Hibs v Celtic 1972 106000
Scotland v Wales Rugby 1975 104000

30-03-2020, 08:50 PM
106k v sellick sc final
72k v sellick LC final same year

43k(i think) is my highest at ER for the 72/73 ? uefa cup against super leeds

30-03-2020, 08:53 PM
Hi sc 106

30-03-2020, 09:00 PM
I was at that Scotland Wales rugby. Also Scotland Czechoslovakia WC qualifier, 1973. 100k, I think

30-03-2020, 09:06 PM
England v Scotland 1977 100000
England v Scotland 1979 100000
Barcelona v Espanol 1991 98000

30-03-2020, 09:08 PM
Mental to think of crowds at 137,000!

I'm not sure what mine would be. Perhaps the LC final v Huns at Parkhead if that was more than 50,000?

30-03-2020, 09:09 PM
Hearts v Hamilton a couple of months ago (don't ask) 400,030

30-03-2020, 09:09 PM
The 4 Scotland/England from 1960 onwards were capacity crowds which I think were around 140,000.

30-03-2020, 09:12 PM
V Celtic 1972 cup final (6-1) 🤨
Stats said 106,000, felt more like 130,000

30-03-2020, 09:16 PM
So there was only 30 Hamilton fans.

30-03-2020, 09:17 PM
Too much time on my hands. This is one for the oldies what is the largest attendance at a match you have attended.
My games are

The Rugby one!! I had a driving lesson that day and the instructor took me past murrayfield on the morning of the game, I learned clutch control that day.

30-03-2020, 09:19 PM
Wembley 2011 Champions League Final

30-03-2020, 09:21 PM
Sadly, mine is a lot more mundane than most of you. 56,730 at the 2-0 defeat to Celtic at Parkhead last season.

30-03-2020, 09:22 PM
Scottish cup final 72, 106,000

Still have my scarf from that day. My dear old Mum bought me one of the new silk type for good luck!...🤔😔

30-03-2020, 09:36 PM
Circa 76000. 72 semi on the Saturday v Der Hun or Scotland Spain at Hampden 84. Hibs v Leeds the biggest crowd I've ever been in at ER.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

green.oracle
30-03-2020, 09:57 PM
Circa 76000. 72 semi on the Saturday v Der Hun or Scotland Spain at Hampden 84. Hibs v Leeds the biggest crowd I've ever been in at ER.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Biggest crowd I've ever been in at ER v the team that used to be known as rankgers, 72/73 Scottish cup replay, crowd just under 50,000. :flag::flag:

hibsfan7
30-03-2020, 09:59 PM
Hibs v celtic 1972 scottish cup final 106,000

hibs V leeds 1968 40,503

rangers v hibs 2106 scottish cup final 50,702

30-03-2020, 10:05 PM
Largest Hibs attendance 59k away to Celtic. Largest ever 67k at Murrayfield Scotland v Italy.

Can only imagine some of the crowds mentioned by you guys.

Earlydelivery
30-03-2020, 10:12 PM
Highest attendance for me was Hibs vs Celtic 1973just under 50k

30-03-2020, 10:36 PM
There were 114,716 at the 1979 Scottish Cup Final. :wink:

Apart from then, I was at the FA Cup final in 1991 with 80,000 fans.

And Man U v Watford last month had 73,347.

30-03-2020, 10:44 PM
Hibs v celtic 1972 scottish cup final 106,000

hibs V leeds 1968 40,503

rangers v hibs 2106 scottish cup final 50,702

Are you psychic?

30-03-2020, 10:52 PM
Biggest crowd I've been part of was Scotland v England at Hampden April '62. Official attendance was 132,441.

My highest for a game involving Hibs was the 106,000 at the '72 cup final v Celtic.

Gloucester Hibs
30-03-2020, 11:04 PM
Barcelona v Real Madrid 2016 98,902
England v Scotland 2013 80,000
Man Utd v Newcastle 2008 76,000

Highest attendance at a Hibs game probably take your pic from a few visits to Celtic Park since it was fully redeveloped? (58,000-ish?)

30-03-2020, 11:10 PM
Celtic 1 Hibs 3 58,000+ (2005)

30-03-2020, 11:12 PM
Scotland v Argentina 1979 which I'm led to believe had a crowd of 70,000.

Hibs at ER ... Probably Pat Stanton's testimonial which was near enough 30,000

30-03-2020, 11:12 PM
Celtic 1 Hibs 3 58,000+ (2005)

Celtic 3 Hibs 0 60k+ (2000)!

31-03-2020, 12:44 AM
Scotland v Spain 3-1 73.000 World Cup qualifier. Kenny D scored a cracker . Sure it has been voted as one of our best goals scored at Hampden.

CLASS OF 72 -73
31-03-2020, 05:41 AM
106k v sellick sc final
72k v sellick LC final same year

43k(i think) is my highest at ER for the 72/73 ? uefa cup against super leeds

Was at that game attendance was just over 36k

CLASS OF 72 -73
31-03-2020, 05:50 AM
Scotland v England 1974 -94k+

Hibs v Celtic 1972 SC -106K

JXM73
31-03-2020, 06:36 AM
Fat boy slim on brighton beach 250,000

Probably real v barca, crystal palace v leicester play off at old wembley, bayern v werder at the allianz, celtic v rangers at current celtic park

SideBurns
31-03-2020, 06:41 AM
I think it would be Scotland v Northern Ireland, WC Qualifier 1981 - 78,444.
First ever Scotland match, and only time I was at Hampden with the 'old' terracing which had wood and ash, and that funny second tier thing??

My second game was just over a year later: against Brazil in Seville. Slightly different atmosphere and temperature!!

31-03-2020, 06:59 AM
England v Scotland 1977 100000
England v Scotland 1979 100000
Barcelona v Espanol 1991 98000

Although the official attendance, there were tens of thousands more at Wembley with the amount of fiver's and then tenners being passed to turnstile operators, many a new home purchased on the proceeds.

31-03-2020, 07:06 AM
75,181 - Real Madrid v Alaves.

Otherwise it's either whichever Hibs SC final recently had the largest crowd (Celtic?) or Scotland 6 Nation games when I was an event steward if that counts as "attending".

Roxyhibee
31-03-2020, 07:18 AM
Not going to count internationals or the handful of boring rugby internationals I’ve been coerced into just for a day out.

1972 Celtic 6 Hibs 1 - 106,000
1969 Celtic 6 Hibs 2 - 76,000
1972 Celtic 1 Hibs 2 - 72,000

Auckland Hibs
31-03-2020, 08:05 AM
Celtic V Liverpool for Hillsborough would be the highest football attendance - just over 60,000.

For Hibs, either the Skol Cup Final or League Cup Final at Celtic park - around 46,000

Non football would be the State of Origin game last year or a Aussie Rules in 2000 at the MCG - 90,000.

Hillsidehibby
31-03-2020, 08:54 AM
My games are

Scotland v Czechoslovakia 1973 96000
England v Scotland 1981 90000

31-03-2020, 08:59 AM
Barcelona v AC Milan, 89500

31-03-2020, 09:05 AM
V Celtic 1972 cup final (6-1) ��
Stats said 106,000, felt more like 130,000

And probably was, if I remember correctly gates were broken open at both ends and loads got in free

31-03-2020, 09:36 AM
If I remember correctly, the Scotland V England 0-0 game at Hampden around the early 70,s had a crowd of 143,000 as there was around 25,000 forged tickets.
The crowd was heaving, and the Ayr Majorette's did the before and half time entertainment.

31-03-2020, 10:17 AM
Went to Scotland 0 v 1 England 1972 at Hampden 120000 there

Only went because John Brownlie was playing

Jimmy Clitheroe scored the winner and silenced the crowd

31-03-2020, 10:27 AM
My games are

I’ve only ever been to one rugby match and that Wales game in 1975 was it. We left at half time as we were being crushed, you couldn’t move!

earlshaugh
31-03-2020, 10:34 AM
i attended the European Cup final between Real Madrid and Eintracht Franfurt on 18th May 1960 at Hampden in excess of 127,000.

Sheep_Nae_Mair
31-03-2020, 10:42 AM
Scotland v England 1958 127,000

West Upper
31-03-2020, 12:20 PM
Liverpool vs Barcelona at Wembley 2016

Valencia
31-03-2020, 04:04 PM
Scotland v England in the 70,s 137500 tickets was the reported number on sale .The Sunday post ran an article the next day reporting there was over 2900 more at the game.

At Easter Road v Celtic when we were both at the top of the league 48500. Think it was 4-2 Celtic

31-03-2020, 05:09 PM
If I remember correctly, the Scotland V England 0-0 game at Hampden around the early 70,s had a crowd of 143,000 as there was around 25,000 forged tickets.

I thought it was all pay at the gate back then?

Auckland Hibs
31-03-2020, 05:12 PM
Update for me, highest football attendance was England V Scotland 1999 at Wembley - 76,000.

Anyone claim to be at the Brazil v Uruguay game in 1950? Just shy of 200,000 with unofficial estimates well above that figure!

SANH 1875
31-03-2020, 05:41 PM
66,439 for Scotland 1 England 0, Rous Cup

31-03-2020, 05:53 PM
200,000 Leith 22/05/16

31-03-2020, 06:08 PM
Never been in a six figure crowd.

Highest was England v Scotland at Wembley in '83, around 85,000.

There had been loads of trouble at previous games and the attendance didn't reach the 92,000 capacity for a midweek match.

31-03-2020, 06:28 PM
Went to Scotland 0 v 1 England 1972 at Hampden 120000 there

Only went because John Brownlie was playing

Jimmy Clitheroe scored the winner and silenced the crowd

I went to that one as well, we were regularly getting Hibs players in back then, Pat Stanton, Peter Cormack, Alex Cropley and Onion, then Shades was capped and then Arthur Duncan.

I'm sure like you a couple of weeks after the 106,000 cup final was the Auld Enemy clash.

Domestic game down South, Arsenal v Ipswich 1978 FA cup final. 100,000.

The rest of the 100k games were the Wembley Internationals.

ER highest likely Scottish cup tie against Rangers 1973.

31-03-2020, 06:30 PM
There were 114,716 at the 1979 Scottish Cup Final. :wink:

That must be the largest crowd I've ever been in. Having said that it didn't feel that crowded where we were under the old egg box north stand - but there were a rather large number of original Rangers fans there - I think it is the first time I heard the word 'fenian'.

31-03-2020, 06:37 PM
Never been in a six figure crowd.

Highest was England v Scotland at Wembley in '83, around 85,000.

There had been loads of trouble at previous games and the attendance didn't reach the 92,000 capacity for a midweek match.
That was my first visit to Wembley and it would be the biggest crowd of pure hatred i've been in unless the one there in 88? was bigger

31-03-2020, 08:03 PM
I went to that one as well, we were regularly getting Hibs players in back then, Pat Stanton, Peter Cormack, Alex Cropley and Onion, then Shades was capped and then Arthur Duncan.

I'm sure like you a couple of weeks after the Auld Enemy clash the 106,000 cup final.

Domestic game down South, Arsenal v Ipswich 1978 FA cup final. 100,000.

The rest of the 100k games were the Wembley Internationals.

ER highest likely Scottish cup tie against Rangers 1973.

Don’t forget Sloop John B played at the 1974 World Cup in Germany

31-03-2020, 08:33 PM
Scotland v Sweden at Hampden, September 1981, 82,000.

31-03-2020, 08:55 PM
Don’t forget Sloop John B played at the 1974 World Cup in Germany

Ziare, thanks Billy. I saw an U23 against England when we had Blackley, Duncan & Brownlie, Blackley totally outshone Derby's new 170k signing from Sunderland, Colin Todd and Dave Wagstaff gave Onion a right old chasing, only time I saw that.

31-03-2020, 08:57 PM
Ziare, thanks Billy. I saw an U23 against England when we had Blackley, Duncan & Brownlie, Blackley totally outshone Derby's new 170k signing from Sunderland, Colin Todd and Dave Wagstaff gave Onion a right old chasing, only time I saw that.

Saw Keith Keith Keith Wright playing for Scotland v N Ireland

31-03-2020, 09:37 PM
i attended the European Cup final between Real Madrid and Eintracht Franfurt on 18th May 1960 at Hampden in excess of 127,000. Amazing crowd especially as probably almost no fans would have travelled from Germany or Spain . No internet and most folk didn`t have tellies but must still have known about great players in both teams .

KingPat4
31-03-2020, 10:37 PM
In recent times.

Bayern v Arsenal. 70,000
Barcelona v Celta Vigo. 85,000

31-03-2020, 10:46 PM
I suppose 1972 final 106 000 . I remember there were " only " 76 000 at semi v Rangers that year ( slightly less at replay ) . Only about 50 000 at 1979 SC final I think ( first televised final ).
Been in Bernabau a few times with 80 000 but you could hear a pin drop .
At ER think biggest crowd I was in was v Celtic when they clinched league in mid 70s . Think we finished second so still had a remote chance of being champions . Almost 50 000 . About same time I was locked ou of a cup replay v Rangers at Holy Ground with supposedly 50 000 inside .
In European matches at home I was at Juventus with about 36 000 and both Liverpool matches which had smaller crowds . Against Leeds when we lost on penalties may have been bigger and other Leeds match was before my time .

31-03-2020, 11:37 PM
Rugby - Scotland v Wales 1975 - 104,000
Football - Scotland v Czechoslovakia 1973 - 97,500
Cricket - Australia v England 2006 MCG Boxing Day - 89,155
Easter Road (afaik) - Hibs v Rangers 1973 SC Replay - 49,000

Fanforlife
02-04-2020, 02:41 PM
That must be the largest crowd I've ever been in. Having said that it didn't feel that crowded where we were under the old egg box north stand - but there were a rather large number of original Rangers fans there - I think it is the first time I heard the word 'fenian'.This would have been the total attendance at the three games m8😁

twiceinathens
02-04-2020, 02:56 PM
Scotland v England 1970. Officially a capacity 134000 but supposedly many forged tickets. I bought a terracing ticket outside ground about half an hour before kickoff.

delbert
02-04-2020, 03:09 PM
[QUOTE=gbhibby;6131185]Too much time on my hands. This is one for the oldies what is the largest attendance at a match you have attended.
My games are

Largest attendance at Easter Road was for the 1972 Scottish Cup QF replay on the Wednesday night at Easter Road when Bobby Davidson made sure his boys got through 2-1, official attendance was 49007.

02-04-2020, 03:36 PM
Scotland v Spain 3-1 73.000 World Cup qualifier. Kenny D scored a cracker . Sure it has been voted as one of our best goals scored at Hampden.
Was behind the goals for that one. Beauty.

02-04-2020, 04:08 PM
I’ve only ever been to one rugby match and that Wales game in 1975 was it. We left at half time as we were being crushed, you couldn’t move!
It was mental. Got in with time to spare but no chance even getting up the stairs to the south terrace where I was supposed to meet my pals. Put on my best cherub face and blagged my way into the press deck with my big bro who was the copy boy for The Pink and had a pass. Ended up sitting on a wee ledge in front of the press deck - along with some Welsh supporters! How they got there beats me. After the match waiting at the top of the stairs for my bro to finish phoning through the copy, Bill McLaren came by. "Have a sweetie son" he says. Sad to say it was a polo mint, not a Hawick ball, but still star struck.

02-04-2020, 06:32 PM
I was at Scotland England in 1964 when we won 1-0 in front of over 133k. We got in just before kick-off to be faced with a wall of people & the gangways blocked by police. As we tried desperately to squeeze on to the terrace the police moved aside & let the gangways fill. We raced down & got close to the front where we had a great view of Gilly scoring the winner. Took about half an hour to get out mind!!

02-04-2020, 06:54 PM
That was my first visit to Wembley and it would be the biggest crowd of pure hatred i've been in unless the one there in 88? was bigger

The atmosphere was unbelievable, with mass fights breaking out between the Scotland Fans and the large gangs of English Skinheads.

03-04-2020, 02:13 AM
The atmosphere was unbelievable, with mass fights breaking out between the Scotland Fans and the large gangs of English Skinheads.

Constant fighting at the tunnel end and outbreaks all over the place at other times. No wonder they got rid of the fixture.

03-04-2020, 05:39 AM
I was at the 1972 Scotland v England game...it was packed.

Couldn't even move for a piss!

later revealed that there a lot of forged tickets sold for that end.

killie-hibby
03-04-2020, 06:13 AM
I was at Scotland England in 1964 when we won 1-0 in front of over 133k. We got in just before kick-off to be faced with a wall of people & the gangways blocked by police. As we tried desperately to squeeze on to the terrace the police moved aside & let the gangways fill. We raced down & got close to the front where we had a great view of Gilly scoring the winner. Took about half an hour to get out mind!!

I was there. Stood halfway up the terracing. The only time I saw the ball was when it was kicked high in the air. The crush was worrying. The noise and atmosphere, unforgettable.

SideBurns
03-04-2020, 07:40 AM
Constant fighting at the tunnel end and outbreaks all over the place at other times. No wonder they got rid of the fixture.

Not sure if you're talking about Wembley 83 or 88 now, but I was at the 88 game (which will be the biggest attendance I've been in, rather than the Northern Ireland game I referred to earlier) and there were running battles all over the terracing. It was mental. England won 1-0, Beardsley I think?

Struggled to find a pub that would let Scotland fans in at night, until we bumped into a guy who was originally from Leith but now stayed in London who took us to his local. Can't say we were welcomed with open arms by the bar staff or other patrons, but they soon settled down when they realised we only wanted a few pints and frames of pool.

03-04-2020, 08:11 AM
1968 Scotland vs England 134,461

1996 England vs Scotland EURO 96

03-04-2020, 08:10 PM
Hibs finals at Hampden would be my biggest Scottish games.
Others would be....
Old Trafford in 2010 for Rooney's return from injury and after signing a £250k per week contract - 74'200
Wanda Metropolitano, Atletico v Dortmund Champions League in November 2018 - 69000-ish.
Still doesn't beat 20k for a derby at ER though!! 😁🇳🇬

Willis1875
03-04-2020, 08:15 PM
81,000 Dortmund V Schalke 2017,game finished 4-4 after Dortmund went 4 up, incredible game

03-04-2020, 08:22 PM
Not sure if you're talking about Wembley 83 or 88 now, but I was at the 88 game (which will be the biggest attendance I've been in, rather than the Northern Ireland game I referred to earlier) and there were running battles all over the terracing. It was mental. England won 1-0, Beardsley I think?

Struggled to find a pub that would let Scotland fans in at night, until we bumped into a guy who was originally from Leith but now stayed in London who took us to his local. Can't say we were welcomed with open arms by the bar staff or other patrons, but they soon settled down when they realised we only wanted a few pints and frames of pool.
Not sure what one had the bigger crowd but the 88 game was certainly worse for trouble. We got away up the road asap and I was in Porters just before midnight, guys didn't believe i'd been to Wembley until I showed them the programme and told them my brother was driving.

joebakerforever
04-04-2020, 03:30 AM
Largest crowd at a sporting event I attended was the 1973 World Speedway Final at Chorzow in Poland with an attendance of c. 130,000.

Was my second World Final in Poland, with the Iron Curtain firmly in place & it was 1 day fly in/fly out tours requiring visas and strictly controlled travel throughout.

Remember when the Russian riders were introduced, a cacophony of whistling by the Poles vibrated round the Stadium , as the locals detested them.

There were even Russian soldiers in uniform amongst the crowd but that didn't deter the Poles nearby shouting & gesticulating their displeasure at those wearing the Hammer & Sickle race jackets.

04-04-2020, 11:57 AM
Not sure what one had the bigger crowd but the 88 game was certainly worse for trouble. We got away up the road asap and I was in Porters just before midnight, guys didn't believe i'd been to Wembley until I showed them the programme and told them my brother was driving.

At the '83 match, there were large groups of organised English hooligans (the 'kick a Jock campaign' being one thing I remember). The Scottish Fans weren't actually organised but there was a very large, violent (drunk) element that had being causing trouble at those games for years.

I think the difference at the '88 game was that it was at the peak of the Casuals era in both England and Scotland.

darwenhibby
04-04-2020, 07:17 PM
I was at the 0-0 game at Hampden and in the scotia bar with a couple of mates
Next thing the pub was heaving with Geordie boys
They been fighting with West Ham firm on the train up
At central station they said they were ambushed and took a kicking
A few minutes later one of them pipes up
“It was those Hibs b******s that got us”
For once I thought good on The HIBS boys as the English mobs were a bunch of ars*holes at the time

04-04-2020, 07:22 PM
Have been to Wembley, Bernabeu and Nou camp. Think biggest crowd I've been in in Scotland would be at Parkhead. Was at some Scotland games as a kid in early/mid 80s that probably beat it. Not sure though as can't remember.

Kavinho
04-04-2020, 08:22 PM
July 15 2000, Olympic Stadium, Sydney
35-39 Australia / New Zealand
A world record crowd for a Rugby Union match in the greatest game ever played

All Black's were 21-0 up before the Wallabies had touched the ball.
Wallabies got back to 24-24 at half time.
Jonah Lomu scored in injury time in the corner to win the match.

29-04-2020, 08:27 AM
Scotland 0 v 1 England 27/5/1972

I attended this game just because John Brownlie was playing

Interesting footage Brownlie just about scores near the end

Bobby Clark disnae bother aboot gloves back when men were men

https://youtu.be/CNQGE7lw78s

29-04-2020, 03:27 PM
At Easter Rd 49,000
At a concert in Berlin 300,000 estimated.
Humpden 112,000 1968/9 league cup final where we got gubbed once more 6-2

29-04-2020, 03:32 PM
At Easter Rd 49,000
At a concert in Berlin 300,000 estimated.
Humpden 112,000 1968/9 (tel:000 1968/9) league cup final where we got gubbed once more 6-2

Andre Rieu ? :greengrin

29-04-2020, 03:40 PM
Andre Rieu ? :greengrin

Sorry Billy never ****in heard of him/her
it was Roger Waters when the wall came tumbling doon.

29-04-2020, 03:59 PM
Sorry Billy never ****in heard of him/her
it was Roger Waters when the wall came tumbling doon.

Got the Blu-ray somewhere

Andre Rieu is for grannies

AndyM_1875
29-04-2020, 04:02 PM
Football Match - Scotland v Sweden at Hampden, September 1981, 82,000.

Concert - Iron Maiden Donington 1988, 108,000. 2 fans were killed in crushes at the front due to the ground turning into a mudbath.

May21/05/16
29-04-2020, 05:16 PM
The 1972 cup final against
Celtic if memory is correct there was over a 100 thousand with my dad and his friends

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

29-04-2020, 05:19 PM
The 1972 cup final against
Celtic if memory is correct there was over a 100 thousand with my dad and his friends

Your Dad must have been a really popular guy.

SJNB Hibby
29-04-2020, 05:27 PM
Wembley 1966 WC---Uruguay v Mexico, presume it was sold out, I can remember being packed in and not being able to see much, 'cept sombreros
Also early 70's England v Wales, not sure if it sold out or not.
Both matches ended up goalless

MartinfaePorty
29-04-2020, 05:44 PM
I missed all the huge 1970s crowds, so my biggest are:
Scotland 1 Brazil 2, WC 1998 80,000
England 3 Scotland 0 2016 87,258