View Full Version : Who scored the first hibs goal you seen live?

berwickhibee
30-03-2020, 07:23 PM
I will start

Gordon rae in the skol Festival trophy,
2-1 win versus hearts. 1979.

30-03-2020, 07:25 PM
Darren Jackson. Penalty v Falkirk.

30-03-2020, 07:34 PM
I'm not 100% sure what my first game was. Might have been home to Dundee in 1966 in which case it would have been Eric Stevenson.

Tommy McIntyre at home to Motherwell.

Berwickhibby
1969 Jimmy O'Rourke against Falkirk at Easter Road

Bobo
Peter Cormack v Dunfermline 1967

30-03-2020, 07:35 PM
Colin Stein v Leeds United 1968

30-03-2020, 07:35 PM
Paul Tosh on larsson’s debut for Celtic.

hibby rae
30-03-2020, 07:40 PM
Keith Wright vs Chelsea. Think it was his first ever game for Hibs, or first game at Easter Road anyway.

30-03-2020, 07:42 PM
I think it was Kenny Miller in the 5-2 win over Dundee in 1999

berwickhibee
30-03-2020, 07:45 PM
Tommy McIntyre at home to Motherwell.

First game of the season? Late goal?

30-03-2020, 07:45 PM
Great idea. Had to look it up. Jim Blair in a 6-0 home victory against Malmo in 1970

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

30-03-2020, 07:49 PM
Tommy McIntyre.

Close ranger header after Mickey Weir hit the bye line at McDiarmid Park in a 1-1 draw.

30-03-2020, 08:01 PM
I will start

2-1 win versus hearts. 1979.Ditto. My first match.

weedgiehibbie
30-03-2020, 08:09 PM
Keith Wright at home to Partick Thistle Scottish cup 1992

berwickhibee
30-03-2020, 08:15 PM
Ditto. My first match.

Great memories.

Kaz deyna playing for man city
Coventry in the chocolate strips
Hibs beating hearts.
And vaguely remember a bit of crowd trouble as game started.

30-03-2020, 08:16 PM
How in the sweet hell do people remember/keep track of this stuff. Probability says that mine would've been Wright, Jackson, McGinlay or maybe at a push Gareth Evans but I've not got a scooby who it was or indeed what my first game was :greengrin

berwickhibee
30-03-2020, 08:16 PM
Keith Wright at home to Partick Thistle Scottish cup 1992

Was Gordon rae playing for thistle?

30-03-2020, 08:17 PM
Great memories.

Hibs beating hearts.
What a player Deyna was, magnificent......

Dublin07
30-03-2020, 08:17 PM
Ally mcleod penalty 1/12/79. Can't remember anything about the wee tricky winger with the beard that was making his home debut but I thought mcleod was Barry!

30-03-2020, 08:19 PM
Shaun Dennis against Airdrie in March 99

30-03-2020, 08:19 PM
I think Ally McLeod, a penalty v Celtic 2-1 win at Easter road sometime in the late 70’s.
That’s how I remember it but I could be totally wrong.
I do know I was supporting Celtic that day.[emoji23]

30-03-2020, 08:22 PM
Always thought it was Keith Wright but a quick Google search says Micky Weir in a 2-1 defeat against hearts.

DJ HIBBY
30-03-2020, 08:22 PM

Sure it was lee power

son of haggart
30-03-2020, 08:25 PM
Think it would be Jimmy O'Rourke in the East of Scotland Shield in 1968/9. Either that or somebody in one of the Fairs Cup games.

weedgiehibbie
Was Gordon rae playing for thistle?

Yeah :agree: Good memory mate - didn't know at the time but ive posted the highlights over on the video thread and yip indeed it was his return to Easter Road

NASAHIBS
George Best v Celtic at ER, Jan 1980, 1-1 draw. Not a bad player for your first Hibs goal!

30-03-2020, 08:27 PM
I had to look it up but I think it was Des Bremner against Morton, late seventies. My cousins took me for several years then I drifted away until the early nineties and came back to what was right :greengrin

SideBurns
30-03-2020, 08:28 PM
Tony Higgins, 1978, 1-0 win v St.Mirren at ER. Arthur Duncan had a goal chalked off in the 2nd half.

Hibs were in yellow away tops with green shorts; the Scotsport cameras were there so assuming the home top with 'Bukta' emblazoned across the front contravened advertising rules at the time!?

30-03-2020, 08:29 PM
Joe Tortolano. Equaliser in a 1-1 home draw against Motherwell in 1988.

30-03-2020, 08:30 PM
Derek Riordan VS Killie. Dalglish scored the winner a few minutes later.

berwickhibee
30-03-2020, 08:30 PM
Yeah :agree: Good memory mate - didn't know at the time but ive posted the highlights over on the video thread and yip indeed it was his return to Easter Road

Remember the game quite well. 2-0.

Thistle had a good support at the game.

berwickhibee
30-03-2020, 08:31 PM
Derek Riordan VS Killie. Dalglish scored the winner a few minutes later.

Love that sentence. Dalglish scoring for hibs.

30-03-2020, 08:32 PM
Don’t know 😂. Hibs v Raith right before Euro 96. Sure it ended 1-1 but can’t find any info on it at all. I’ve a feeling Rougier scored for them.

hibsness
30-03-2020, 08:33 PM
Colin Stein v Leeds United 1968
Ditto. I was 8 years old and I was sitting on a barrier with my dad holding on to me. Then I realised that if Hibs scored he'd jump up and I'd end up on the deck so elected to stand.Still managed to see the goal though. Gave my class at school a totally objective report of the game the next day. Amazing night, seared on my memory.

30-03-2020, 08:34 PM
How in the sweet hell do people remember/keep track of this stuff. Probability says that mine would've been Wright, Jackson, McGinlay or maybe at a push Gareth Evans but I've not got a scooby who it was or indeed what my first game was :greengrin

Ditto!

Early 70's for me so probably O'Rourke or Gordon

twiceinathens
30-03-2020, 08:37 PM
Joe Baker 5/9/59 v Hearts at tynecastle

30-03-2020, 08:37 PM
Don’t know 😂. Hibs v Raith right before Euro 96. Sure it ended 1-1 but can’t find any info on it at all. I’ve a feeling Rougier scored for them.

1-1 Goals McGinley

www.fitbastats.com

MGmick
30-03-2020, 08:38 PM
Pat Quinn v Dundee Utd 1968. Won 3-0.

30-03-2020, 08:39 PM
How many people saw 2 hattricks, a goal for the greatest Hibbie, one for Cropley and a cup paraded at their first game? I soon realised it wasn't like that every week.

30-03-2020, 08:40 PM
Ditto. I was 8 years old and I was sitting on a barrier with my dad holding on to me. Then I realised that if Hibs scored he'd jump up and I'd end up on the deck so elected to stand.Still managed to see the goal though. Gave my class at school a totally objective report of the game the next day. Amazing night, seared on my memory.

Yip 40000 crowd under the lights as soon as I saw the green with the white sleeves running out I was hooked to a young ten year old I thought it was the most beautiful sight I had ever seen

HIBS were the team for me

Colin Stein scored from an acute angle in the first five minutes to level the tie on the night and send the crowd radge

30-03-2020, 08:44 PM
I will start

Bloody hell, that's testing my old memory, but it might have been Jim Scott or Neil Martin, I remember it was against Kilmarnock tho

30-03-2020, 08:45 PM
How many people saw 2 hattricks, a goal for the greatest Hibbie, one for Cropley and a cup paraded at their first game? I soon realised it wasn't like that every week.

HIBS 8 v 1 Ayr United

What about that wee tractor/lawnmower effort at half time?

30-03-2020, 08:45 PM
Jackie McNamara last minute winner v Hearts. 1982.

30-03-2020, 08:47 PM
First i remember was Ally Mcleod pen against Strasbourg at ER in the Uefa cup.

30-03-2020, 08:51 PM
The first goal in the Skol cup final 1991.

nickwhibs
30-03-2020, 08:51 PM
The first one I remember was Pat McGinlay in 2-2 draw at Celtic Park in about 1995 (my best friend from school was a Celtic fan but his dad liked hibs so took us in the hibs end).

I’m sure i’d seen a hibs goal at Easter road before then but just can’t remember

30-03-2020, 09:00 PM
1-1 Goals McGinley

www.fitbastats.com

Thanks mate! Appreciated 👍

30-03-2020, 09:05 PM
Arthur Duncan in a 2-1 win v celtic in 1975. Don't remember much about it as I was just a bairn

hibsness
30-03-2020, 09:05 PM
Yip 40000 crowd under the lights as soon as I saw the green with the white sleeves running out I was hooked to a young ten year old I thought it was the most beautiful sight I had ever seen

HIBS were the team for me

Colin Stein scored from an acute angle in the first five minutes to level the tie on the night and send the crowd radge
Green with white sleeves running out does it for me every time. We were in the cave if I remember right, Jackie Charlton equaliser (boo)? both goals at that end?

30-03-2020, 09:08 PM
Green with white sleeves running out does it for me every time. We were in the cave if I remember right, Jackie Charlton equaliser (boo)? both goals at that end?

Dunbar end IIRC

hibsness
30-03-2020, 09:20 PM
Dunbar end IIRC
OK. That would make sense, Hibs down the slope second half.

GibbytheHibby2
30-03-2020, 09:23 PM
I think it must have been Gordon Rae. Weird thing is I recall drew Jarvie scoring a header for the Dons in a 2-1 win, but I can’t recall the Hibs goals. Think it was only my second visit to ER, even though my memory has me much younger than 8 which I must have been.

We leapfrogged Aberdeen to go 2nd in the league.

30-03-2020, 09:28 PM
It wasn’t the first goal but I saw Eddie Turnbull score three against Airdrie in 1954.Score was 8-1 .

Renfrew_Hibby
30-03-2020, 09:32 PM
Pat McGinlay, Sommerset Road end, Ayr 0 Hibs 2 en route to League Cup glory.

Falkirk Hibby
30-03-2020, 09:34 PM
Tortolano v Morton in a 3-1 win at the end of the season, 1987 I think. It was the game that Andy Goram scored!

30-03-2020, 09:40 PM
How many people saw 2 hattricks, a goal for the greatest Hibbie, one for Cropley and a cup paraded at their first game? I soon realised it wasn't like that every week.V Ayr. No bad for a Killie Hibby.....

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

30-03-2020, 09:41 PM
Sure it was lee power

Some reason I always thought it was Paul Tosh.

30-03-2020, 09:47 PM
After some digging it was Paul Wright against Aberdeen.

I was a late starter for attending games.

30-03-2020, 09:47 PM
Mathias Jack
Vs Aberdeen may 2003

Scott Browns debut too.

30-03-2020, 09:48 PM
I think Michael O'Neil. Least that's the first I remember

30-03-2020, 09:51 PM
Hibs 4 Stranraer 0 1988, missed the first goal I think but saw Archibald come off the bench to score 2. Think it was Kano or Evans that scored the second

Chorley Hibee
30-03-2020, 10:09 PM
Paul Kane

Hibs 1 Motherwell 0 (November 1987)

vein
30-03-2020, 10:12 PM
Thought it was Keith Wright but turns out it was Gordon Hunter in a 3-0 win vs Dunfermline in 1991. Keith got the 2nd! Remember being too wee on the terracing to actually see most of what was going on.

30-03-2020, 10:13 PM
Don't know who it was but was at McDiarmid Park around 1990. Hibs were wearing white with green sleeves

delbert
30-03-2020, 10:33 PM
Peter Cormack, friendly at Easter Road against Gornik in 1969, Hibs lost 2-1 and Shades made his debut for Hibs that night.

green with envy
30-03-2020, 10:37 PM
Pat Stanton '72 League cup final.

30-03-2020, 10:40 PM
Paul Kane against Hearts at Easter Road on 25 August 1984.

I had recently moved to Edinburgh to a flat in Iona Street. The game was a typical derby of that era. Hibs leading and looking like winning until Hearts came up with two late goals to win 2-1.

The match was at the height of the miners' strike and the police escorts were given a chorus of in support of Arthur Scargill as there was a near riot after the match.

ChilliEater
30-03-2020, 11:12 PM
Had to look it up, but it was this game:

http://www.ihibs.co.uk/hibs/game.php?gameid=5925

Ally McLeod v Motherwell. Would have been probably my third or 4th game - the others had been 0-0 draws or 1-0 defeats to Dundee Utd and Aberdeen. It's maybe one for the "Late 70's demise" thread, but that's not a bad looking team - Derek Spalding didn't go on to do much, so I guess wasn't great, and Ally Scott was mince, but the rest of that team was pretty good.

31-03-2020, 01:56 AM
Tommy Preston v Valencia April 1963.

Wakeyhibee
31-03-2020, 03:25 AM
According to Fitbastats it was Alex Cropley v Motherwell in the LC sections Aug 71. I don't remember anything other than a "liftover" in the main stand.

ElginHibee
31-03-2020, 03:49 AM
Almost definitely not my first game but the first goal I remember was Andy Goram scoring, Wikipedia tells me it was against Morton in the Premier Division in 88.

31-03-2020, 05:03 AM
Looks like it may have been Andy Watson V Celtic in 87

31-03-2020, 05:17 AM
Just checked. It was an own goal haha! In a 1-0 play off win against Airdie in 97.

berwickhibee
31-03-2020, 05:43 AM
Just checked. It was an own goal haha! In a 1-0 play off win against Airdie in 97.

The lad Steve Cooper, English boy who passed away way too young. Rip

Potty78
31-03-2020, 07:07 AM
Steve Cowan Feb 1986, beat Motherwell 4-0!

Superfurry72
31-03-2020, 07:20 AM
Arthur Duncan in a 1-1 draw with Dundee United in October 1981. Davie Dodds had given them the lead.

31-03-2020, 07:33 AM
Alan Gordon header in a 0-1 victory away to East Fife. November 1972.

murray26
31-03-2020, 07:36 AM
My dad took me to ER at a ridiculously young age my first memory was Willie Irvine scoring against Aberdeen in a 1-5 defeat I think.. looking back I don’t know how we survived as a club.

31-03-2020, 07:42 AM
I remember my first two games fairly clearly: a 0–0 vs Dundee and a 0–1 defeat to Rangers, although I was shocked to find that the two games were a year apart. I guess my dad tried to ease me in slowly to the low-key misery of following Hibs.

As we failed to score in those first two games (:rolleyes:), I'll need to get up in the loft and have a look at my programmes to find out when I finally saw us hit the net.

AltheHibby
31-03-2020, 08:11 AM
9/9/72 at Easter Road.

2-0 derby win with Alex Cropley then Pat Stanton scoring.

No segregation, so I was there with Jambo family. I can't remember, but I imagine I was an absolute pain on the bus home.:greengrin

Earlydelivery
31-03-2020, 08:13 AM
Not sure if it was The King or Baker vs Dons 1970 ?

31-03-2020, 08:28 AM
Not sure if it was The King or Baker vs Dons 1970 ?
The King

Hillsidehibby
31-03-2020, 08:39 AM
Peter Cormack v Falkirk 1968. 3-2 win. Attendance 6595

31-03-2020, 08:45 AM
Derek Riordan v Motherwell 31.01.09

31-03-2020, 08:50 AM
Same. As a 7-8 year old used to sneak in for the last 10 mins once they opened the exit gates but I can't for the life of me remember any goals. Must have seen some games officially back then before we moved away from Leith for c.6 years (late 60s) as I have a vague memory of going with my dad and brother and my dad asking the bloke next to us in the queue to give me a "lift-over" when going through the turnstiles. Again though no idea what games never mind goalscorers.

aljo7-0
31-03-2020, 09:24 AM
Alan Gordon (I think) in a 4 - 0 win at Easter Road V Alloa (I think) in 1971 or so. Very vague memories - other than i'm convinced Alan Gordon got a hat trick and he certainly was my hero at the time.

Buc
31-03-2020, 09:30 AM
Also had to search for this. Gary Murray, 1-2 to St Johnstone in the League Cup. August 1981.

TelaStella
31-03-2020, 09:38 AM
I wish I knew for definite. Deano vs Aberdeen is as far back as I can go

CL0762
31-03-2020, 09:50 AM
First game I vividly remember was Larsson’s debut for Celtic but I wasn’t there live, watched it on Zitelli.

5-2 win against Dunfermline a few weeks later is the first game I definitely remember going to. The going for glory video (sure Tony Higgins narrated it?) that was released I’m on it wearing a Spurs tracksuit. Chic Charnley scored Hibs first that day

Hibby Gav
31-03-2020, 09:51 AM
Think it was Alex Cropley...Hibs v FC Besa back in 1972.
We won 7-1....I thought it was always going to be that way....ha !

31-03-2020, 10:10 AM
George Stewart, 1979 cup qf vs Hearts, finished 2-1 :greengrin

Inch joe
31-03-2020, 10:15 AM
Pat stanton's equalizer against hearts 1975, great moment, i was a young lad then, but i will never forget the delight in my dad's face when we scored

Skol1972
31-03-2020, 11:21 AM
Bit of a difficult one for me. The first time that I saw Hibs live was in 1960 as a nine year old at Fir Park Motherwell, which was my home town and I supported then. I know that Joe Baker scored that day but not sure if it was Hibs first in a 4-3 victory.
My family moved to Edinburgh in 1962 and after a couple of years I started going to both Easter Road and Tynecastle with friends for about half a season before deciding that Hibs was the team for me.

Therefore the first goal that I saw as a Hibs supporter was Jimmy O'Rourke in the 4-0 game at Tynecastle in 1965. I still remember the fans being disappointed when the teams were announced and Neil Martin was out injured. About 10 minutes later 2 goals from O'Rourke and 2 from Eric Stevenson has banished that disappointment.

Badabing
31-03-2020, 12:26 PM
Pat Stanton around 1970, 20 yard screamer on bitterly cold day at Easter Road. We won one nil can't remember who against but it might have been Dunfermline.

Greenio
31-03-2020, 12:53 PM
Great q.

Had to search a bit for this.

But my first game was 8th October 1994, when we beat Rangers 2-1 at home.

Gordon Hunter scored the first, Basil Boli equalised, can't remember who got our winner, O'Niell maybe, but I do remember Gazza grabbin his arse cheeks at us while we were giving him the 'you fat bastid' chant and Boli getting sent off before the end.

Good times

31-03-2020, 01:08 PM
Must admit to having learnt something, the earliest game I can remember is different to what I thought and I have remembered the wrong scorer [emoji51]

2nd January 1978, as a nine year old got to go to my first New Year game, against Clydebank.

Remember being taken to the Cowshed as we had my 5 year old brother with us.

I have always thought that Bobby Hutchinson scored after a stramash right in front of us. Having checked, he is not listed as a scorer.

31-03-2020, 01:11 PM
Joe McBride senior v Celtic. 1968. We were 2-1 up with 10 mins to go but the lesser greens ended up winning 5-2.

dunfyhibby
31-03-2020, 01:22 PM
Pat Stanton against Dunfermline at East End in 1973.
Hibs won 3-2 with Alan Gordon scoring the winner!

31-03-2020, 01:23 PM
I am always amazed how many people seem to be able to recall this, I wouldn't know where to start.

31-03-2020, 01:34 PM
Great q.

Gordon Hunter scored the first, Basil Boli equalised, can't remember who got our winner, O'Niell maybe, but I do remember Gazza grabbin his arse cheeks at us while we were giving him the 'you fat bastid' chant and Boli getting sent off before the end.

Good times

I was in Lanzarote when that game was played, and read about it in the Daily Record 2 or 3 days after the game as that was about the quickest way to find out.

Changed days.

King Cosell
31-03-2020, 01:50 PM
Simon Murray's dad v Celtic, 1982.

Groathillgrump
31-03-2020, 02:02 PM
Joe McBride.

19 September 1970 v Celtic. He scored a double that day (51 & 67mins) in a 2-0 win at Easter Road.

Attendance was 36,000

31-03-2020, 02:04 PM
Joe Baker v Aberdeen 71...

Won 2-1 with Pat Stanton scoring the other...

31-03-2020, 02:07 PM
Joe Baker v Aberdeen 71...

Won 2-1 with Pat Stanton scoring the other...

The King scored first

KingPat4
31-03-2020, 02:51 PM
Whoever scored our goal in a 4-1 defeat at Stirling Albion, November 1967.

May have been Peter Cormack, not sure.

31-03-2020, 02:54 PM
I am always amazed how many people seem to be able to recall this, I wouldn't know where to start.

Glad I'm not the only one then, however I can remember my first ever Hibs game at Tynecastle and the goal scorer who ended a run of 22 games

Geebsy :greengrin:flag:

31-03-2020, 03:00 PM
Going to have to look into this one. From the little I can remember, my first game was an Edinburgh derby at T/castle on 22 Sept '51, which finished 1-1.

This thread has made me want to find out who scored our goal.

31-03-2020, 03:15 PM
Going to have to look into this one. From the little I can remember, my first game was an Edinburgh derby at T/castle on 22 Sept '51, which finished 1-1.

This thread has made me want to find out who scored our goal.
Lawrie Reilly

31-03-2020, 03:23 PM
Can I ask where you got the info Billy?
If you're correct, that's great.
Thank you.

Suburban Hibby
31-03-2020, 03:25 PM
Des Bremner in a 2-1 win against Celtic at ER.must have been 78/79?

Valencia
31-03-2020, 03:32 PM
Jim Scott September 1965. Early goal against against Valencia.

31-03-2020, 03:32 PM
Can I ask where you got the info Billy?
If you're correct, that's great.
Thank you.

www.fitbastats.com (http://www.fitbastats.com)

click on HIBS then alphabetical list and so on

31-03-2020, 03:35 PM

The first game you were at would be a decent starting place.

31-03-2020, 03:36 PM
Dunno actually.

Might have been Andy Goram but he might've scored the 3rd against Morton. Can't remember

**** me. Just checked! It was Joe Tortolano!!! :-O

Valencia
31-03-2020, 03:41 PM

MEMORIES OF THIS GAME.

Players coming out of a castle

Changing ends at half time walking round the side of the park

Being utterly gutted - it was supposed to be a walk in the park

a few scarves being thrown away

The game naw

Weir07
31-03-2020, 04:01 PM
My first game was Hibs v Ayr United on the 10th of January 1976, still got the program to this day, it was 3-0, didn't know the scorers until I looked it up, Brownlie penalty and 2 from Harper, no idea who scored first though.

Thing I remember the most was someone calling Joe Harper a barrel of sh£$e! No pleasing some people!

31-03-2020, 04:22 PM

Colin Stein

Shezza
31-03-2020, 04:39 PM
The first game I was at on my own was Hibs v Morton in October 1964. I recall Peter Cormack scoring but have no idea if that was the first goal or who scored the other. First ever post by the way. I’m bored stuck at home lol.

31-03-2020, 04:55 PM

click on HIBS then alphabetical list and so on

Wow! What a website that is.
Cheers Billy, top man.

MKHIBEE
31-03-2020, 05:13 PM
A 3-3 draw with Kilmarnock on 28/4/68. Colin Stein hat trick, don't remember ever realising that, thank you fitbastats

31-03-2020, 05:34 PM
The first game I was at on my own was Hibs v Morton in October 1964. I recall Peter Cormack scoring but have no idea if that was the first goal or who scored the other. First ever post by the way. I’m bored stuck at home lol.
2-1 win Cormack and a Jim Scott penalty no idea who scored first sorry

www.fitbastats.com

Wavy
31-03-2020, 05:40 PM
Joe Harper v Liverpool 17/09/1975

vercol36
31-03-2020, 05:41 PM
Grant Brebner own goal v Dunfermline. Who can tell the year without cheating?

Ralphy C
31-03-2020, 05:44 PM
Just looked it up as don't mind much 30/11/1974, Hibs 2, Ayr 1.
Aurtur Duncan and Pat Stanton, Alec Cropleys last game for Hibs apparently.

31-03-2020, 06:15 PM
Thanks to Fitbastats I'm pleased my memory didn't deceive me (although it helped with the date). February 1975 Hibs 2-1 v Dundee. 1-0 down at half time King Paddy scored the equaliser and a Tony Higgins winner (I think it was also the game that saw Alan Gordon debut for Dundee but I'm not sure and fitbastats doesn't have details for Dundee).

31-03-2020, 06:34 PM
Hibs 4 St Johnstone 1, 19th Nov 1983. A Willie Irvine hatrick and Arthur Duncan scored the goals. I'll say that given Irvine got 3, he probably got the first. If the question who was the first Hibs player you seen getting sent off live, then I'd be able to say without question, Bobby Thomson. :aok:

31-03-2020, 06:39 PM
Mikey Edwards

31-03-2020, 06:41 PM
George Stewart, 1979 cup qf vs Hearts, finished 2-1 :greengrin

That was the time i met somebody who had seen us win the cup

Shezza
31-03-2020, 06:53 PM
2-1 win Cormack and a Jim Scott penalty no idea who scored first sorry

Cheers, Cormack got the 2nd.

31-03-2020, 06:57 PM
Cheers, Cormack got the 2nd.

31-03-2020, 07:22 PM
This is a question I’ve never asked myself and I don’t know the answer. I remember my first game but we lost 1-0 so it certainly wasn’t that game.

31-03-2020, 07:36 PM
The first game you were at would be a decent starting place.

I've absolutely no idea what that would be.

La Machine Vert
31-03-2020, 07:49 PM
Joe Baker shooting down the slope in a 1-0 win vs Motherwell
6th Feb 1971 in the old First Division at Easter Road
Still have the programme!

Bangkok Hibby
31-03-2020, 10:03 PM
I've got something telling me the first Hibs goal I saw was an own goal by a Raith player. Peter Cormack definitely scored as well as Colin Stein in a 3-0 win, 1967.

leftfield
01-04-2020, 12:18 PM
Not my first but the earliest that I remember clearly Peter Cormack v Real Madrid. The first time I had been in the stand

01-04-2020, 12:46 PM
I can't remember, but I do know I had to wait 3 games to see one.

On that subject. Does anyone have a decent link to stats on goal scorers? There's plenty decent sites showing results, dates and attendance but no decent one that I can find that shows the goal scorers.

01-04-2020, 12:49 PM
I will start

Great memories.

Hibs beating hearts.
My 1st game also. Remember the trouble as a 7 year old quite scary. 2nd tier of the old East terracing brilliant view :aok:

ChilliEater
01-04-2020, 01:06 PM
Looks like it may have been Andy Watson V Celtic in 87

A 1-1 draw at Parkhead on 3rd October. After 32 years, 3 children and living in 3 different countries, the girl I met on the way home from that game is still hanging around :-D

01-04-2020, 01:10 PM
Brahim Hemdani. Own goal in a 2-1 defeat to Rangers in 2006. I know. :rolleyes:

01-04-2020, 03:06 PM
Great q.

Good times

Kevin Harper I think, header from a corner.

01-04-2020, 04:37 PM
Haven't got a clue, we scored 11 that day, later that season we again scored 11.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=44686

01-04-2020, 04:44 PM
Gareth Evans in a 3-1 loss at parkhead in 89.

01-04-2020, 04:50 PM
Haven't got a clue, we scored 11 that day, later that season we again scored 11.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=44686

Was my 8th birthday

First goal was a Peter Cormack header

First game played in front of the cowshed though not convinced it was finished

The HIBS Supporters Club Sunnyside Lane was opened the following Monday

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/1960-1969/1965/66-hamilton-hit

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/hapless-accies-put-sword-hibs-11-1-hamilton-6-november-1965-1719253

01-04-2020, 05:07 PM
John Byrne in a 2-2 draw against Dundee 13th October 1962.
Gerry Baker scored our other goal.

Pinkie
01-04-2020, 05:50 PM
Houchy Houchy Houchy Houchy
Na na na na na - OOH!

Vs Motherwell in 1989 (ish). We won the game 3-2. Weir and Collins also scored.

It was also my first experience of ER and specifically the east terracing. It wasn't a big crowd but there was singing before the match and throughout.

Smiggy 7-0
01-04-2020, 06:39 PM
Pat Stanton v Aberdeen January 1971 and it marked 3 things

1. First game I attended (thanks to my dear Dad.
2. First time Aberdeen had conceded a goal in over 1100 minutes.
3. The legend that was Joe Baker's return.

Will live with me forever.

hibstag
01-04-2020, 06:51 PM
Ally Brazil versus Motherwell 28th September 85

heidtheba
01-04-2020, 06:51 PM
Pat McGinaly,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTW-6I9JJVs

01-04-2020, 07:44 PM
Either stevie Cowan or Gordon Durie in a 2 - 2 draw v celtic in 86...

ACLeith
02-04-2020, 03:16 PM
Not sure if it was the first game I attended but the oldest programme I have is 6th October 1956. We drew 1-1 with Queens Park. The team that day was - Wren; Grant, Muir; Higgins, Paterson, Combe; Smith, Turnbull, Reilly, Harrower, Ormond. The programme had John Fraser as right wing but Smith replaced him according to my 7 year old writing.

The ref was Mr Irvine of Aberdeen. Can’t remember much about the game but I’m sure he would have been rubbish!

I have tried but can’t find out who scored our goal

02-04-2020, 03:19 PM
Not sure if it was the first game I attended but the oldest programme I have is 6th October 1956. We drew 1-1 with Queens Park. The team that day was - Wren; Grant, Muir; Higgins, Paterson, Combe; Smith, Turnbull, Reilly, Harrower, Ormond. The programme had John Fraser as right wing but Smith replaced him according to my 7 year old writing.

The ref was Mr Irvine of Aberdeen. Can’t remember much about the game but I’m sure he would have been rubbish!

I have tried but can’t find out who scored our goal

Willie Macfarlane penalty 37 mins

www.fitbastats.com

Hibs: Wren Macfarlane Muir Higgins Paterson Grant Smith Turnbull Reilly Combe and Ormond

02-04-2020, 03:23 PM
Grant Brebner own goal v Dunfermline. Who can tell the year without cheating?

2002?

02-04-2020, 04:47 PM
Chris Killen in the 5-0 drubbing of the mighty Dinaburg in 2006.

A fine July day that was...(well the football / score was, weather was atrocious).

Prof. Shaggy
02-04-2020, 05:07 PM
Either Joe Davis (pen) or Colin Stein. Can't remember (or never knew) who scored first. I have a very vague notion the penalty was pretty much a consolation.

It was a League Cup group match in August 1967 and we lost decisively to Dundee by 4 goals to the aforementioned 2.

Superfurry72
02-04-2020, 05:31 PM

Lee Power scored the opener in that game. Tosh didn’t score. EDIT: Sorry, I see a few people have responded already!!

Superfurry72
02-04-2020, 05:34 PM
Great q.

Good times

Kevin Harper got the winner

ACLeith
03-04-2020, 06:11 AM
Willie Macfarlane penalty 37 mins

www.fitbastats.com

Hibs: Wren Macfarlane Muir Higgins Paterson Grant Smith Turnbull Reilly Combe and Ormond

In my defence I was taking the team from the programme. The only change was fir Gordon Smith but maybe my dad told me he was the only one that mattered! Thanks BW I will print this and file it in the programme

Roxyhibee
03-04-2020, 08:55 AM
I’d need some help with this one from some of our more historically knowledgeable contributors.

My first game was the Hibs v St Mirren game in either 1963 or 1964 maybe.? when goalie Willie Wilson got injured and played on the wing with a bandaged head whilst Cormack went in goals.

I’ve always had it in my head it was 1-0 to us and was a night game but looking back on records, I cannot find the exact date, or who scored what I thought was the solitary goal.?

Seekyit
03-04-2020, 09:11 AM
Either Joe Harper or Ally MacLeod in a 2-0 win over Dundee, League Cup, August 1975. As someone mentioned above, I just saw those green shirts with white sleeves coming out the tunnel and that was me hooked.

03-04-2020, 10:08 AM
I’d need some help with this one from some of our more historically knowledgeable contributors.

My first game was the Hibs v St Mirren game in either 1963 or 1964 maybe.? when goalie Willie Wilson got injured and played on the wing with a bandaged head whilst Cormack went in goals.

I’ve always had it in my head it was 1-0 to us and was a night game but looking back on records, I cannot find the exact date, or who scored what I thought was the solitary goal.?

Only thing I can see that might tie in 18/8/1965 HIBS 1 v 0 St Mirren League Cup tie on a Wednesday night scorer Eric Stevenson The Match Programme front cover features some HIBS stars of the future including a young John Blackley

Pretty sure I saw Cormack take over in goals versus Hearts with the trademark yellow jersey hanging outside his shorts and about ten sizes too big for him Both shut outs by the way

Roxyhibee
03-04-2020, 10:28 AM
Only thing I can see that might tie in 18/8/1965 HIBS 1 v 0 St Mirren League Cup tie on a Wednesday night scorer Eric Stevenson The Match Programme front cover features some HIBS stars of the future including a young John Blackley

Pretty sure I saw Cormack take over in goals versus Hearts with the trademark yellow jersey hanging outside his shorts and about ten sizes too big for him Both shut outs by the way

Ahh, well if it is that one, I wasn’t as young a starter as I previously thought. I had my first match as about 4 year old, but if that’s the date, I’d just turned 6.! Cheers. 👍

03-04-2020, 10:29 AM
Billy, do you earn a £ every time you click on fitbastats?😀

03-04-2020, 10:32 AM
Billy, do you earn a £ every time you click on fitbastats?😀

Ha Ha!

Handy tool though

Waiting on the puns and innuendos now 😂

jingler1954
03-04-2020, 11:47 AM
Alan Gordon 1972 Dryborough cup final early goal
I moved to East Lothian from Inverness in the summer. I had been a Hibs fanatic since I was about 7 years old. I went to the cup final on the East Lothian Celtic supporters bus from Haddington. My physics teacher who was a big Celtic supporters on the bus
. I remember that day well. I got lifted for ( as my summons said)making my water. (piss@@g) which I was fined £5. I was allowed into the match cos I had ID I seem to remember some people leaving early thinking it was all over and trying to get back in when the roars went up.What a day that was . Cant beiievethat was nearly 50 years ago. GGTTH