View Full Version : My nan could play in Scottish football

28-03-2020, 04:32 PM
A recurring theme on various social media platforms. Is it true though?

Can anyone think of players that couldn't cut it in Scotland that did well south of the border?

The obvious one is Joey Barton. Any more?

28-03-2020, 04:33 PM

Can anyone think of players that couldn't cut it in Scotland that did well south of the border?

Josh Vela

28-03-2020, 04:33 PM
Josh Vela

Haha true

28-03-2020, 04:34 PM
Roy Keane

28-03-2020, 04:35 PM
Hunners.

28-03-2020, 04:36 PM
James Collins

28-03-2020, 04:38 PM
Matt Doherty. Feel dirty just typing that name.

28-03-2020, 04:41 PM
Dion Dublin
Juninho
Carlton Cole
Freddie Ljunberg
James Beattie
Olivier Bernard
Franny Jeffers

28-03-2020, 04:42 PM
Juninho

28-03-2020, 04:49 PM
Vaz Ze wasn't exactly great for us
Tore Andre Flo was pish

28-03-2020, 04:53 PM
Tore Andre Flo was pish

The bizarre thing about Flo was he had a better goals to game ratio than Larsson in the period they were at Rangers and Celtic respectively.

One cost £12M and the other £650K so the perceptions were totally different.

28-03-2020, 04:54 PM
Tore Andre Flo was pish

Vaz Was a lazy twit
Could have done better with a better attitude

Flo (eejit name for a footballer) was anchored by the price tag, his return was far better than most remember

28-03-2020, 04:54 PM
Scott Sinclair started well but faded.

28-03-2020, 04:56 PM

Matt Doherty had just turned 20 when he played for us & he was one of our better performers. As a young man he made some unfortunate comments. I really don't get the loathing for him 8 years on.

28-03-2020, 04:58 PM
Scott Sinclair started well but faded.

If you’re going home to Helen Flanagan every night who gives a rats about football

28-03-2020, 04:59 PM
Camara at celtic

28-03-2020, 04:59 PM
Egil Østenstad.

28-03-2020, 05:00 PM
Nico Kranjcar

Tomsk
28-03-2020, 05:01 PM
Matt Doherty had just turned 20 when he played for us & he was one of our better performers. As a young man he made some unfortunate comments. I really don't get the loathing for him 8 years on.

Matt could do something about that, you know like a wee "sorry, guys, I was a bit of a dick" type thing.

But he probably doesn't give a f...

28-03-2020, 05:02 PM
Clayton Donaldson.

28-03-2020, 05:04 PM
Eoin Doyle.

I'd qualify that by saying he wasn't awful here (in fact, in the right team I think he'd have got on much better) - but he was tearing it up in England recently.

I guess a lot of these maybe need to consider the respective levels they were playing at too.

28-03-2020, 05:08 PM
Matt could do something about that, you know like a wee "sorry, guys, I was a bit of a dick" type thing.

Does he even realise that he upset us :dunno:

28-03-2020, 05:12 PM
Souness

28-03-2020, 05:15 PM
Does he even realise that he upset us :dunno:

I'd be amazed if there isn't a Hibs fan reminding him every time he tweets something.

28-03-2020, 05:18 PM

Think his heid is too far up his own *rse for anything like that. I've a lot of time for Wolves and their manager, but him being there is a bit of a fly in the ointment.

28-03-2020, 05:27 PM
Tony cascerino..

28-03-2020, 05:33 PM

Barton is terrible example. He was 34, didn’t have a preseason and his Sevco career wasn’t cut short by his performances, it was a disciplinary issue. He only played 5 league games so to say he couldn’t cut it is miles off.

28-03-2020, 05:35 PM
Eoin Doyle.

I'd qualify that by saying he wasn't awful here (in fact, in the right team I think he'd have got on much better) - but he was tearing it up in England recently.

I guess a lot of these maybe need to consider the respective levels they were playing at too.

I thought Doyle was very good.

28-03-2020, 05:36 PM

He did apologise for the cup final performance. Re his comments he was only saying in public (stupid I know) what many players say in private.

28-03-2020, 05:41 PM
Barton is terrible example. He was 34, didn’t have a preseason and his Sevco career wasn’t cut short by his performances, it was a disciplinary issue. He only played 5 league games so to say he couldn’t cut it is miles off.

I don't think it's a bad example. He told everyone how he was going to tear it up and made himself look foolish by chasing shadows. Embarrassed himself. If he'd keep quiet I might have agreed with you.

28-03-2020, 05:44 PM
Tony cascerino..

Did you not mean Tony Cantscoreino? :greengrin

28-03-2020, 05:45 PM
I don't think it's a bad example. He told everyone how he was going to tear it up and made himself look foolish by chasing shadows. Embarrassed himself.

Add Thomas Graveson, Martin Hayes and Eyal Bercovich to that list.

28-03-2020, 05:51 PM
Clayton Donaldson.

Hat trick hero vs Killie

28-03-2020, 05:59 PM

Add Thomas Graveson, Martin Hayes and Eyal Bercovich to that list.

Martin Hayes was he not the guy George Graham was going to sell for 60k then Celtic came along with a 600k bid. :greengrin

HendoDelivered
28-03-2020, 06:00 PM
Thomas Graversen

28-03-2020, 06:03 PM
Surely including Roy Keane is a bit harsh? He was 35 when he joined Celtic and had a few serious injuries. It was always going to be his last season as a pro.

Some absolute shockers in here that I'd forgotten all about though! Was so happy at Barton being a total dud.

Martin Hayes was he not the guy George Graham was going to sell for 60k then Celtic came along with a 600k bid. :greengrin

He didnae play many games at Celtic...aye, c 650,00k fee:greengrin

Hat trick hero vs Killie

Indeed.

My counter argument: Edwin De Graaf scored twice in Europe.

Tomsk
28-03-2020, 06:22 PM
He did apologise for the cup final performance. Re his comments he was only saying in public (stupid I know) what many players say in private.

Don't recall seeing the apology. If he did, fair enough. Can't ask for any more.

28-03-2020, 07:04 PM
Teemu Pukki is a good recent example.

28-03-2020, 07:07 PM
Thomas Graversen

£40k a week at Celtic

Mental

28-03-2020, 07:08 PM

Great example

28-03-2020, 07:09 PM

It really is. Great shout!

28-03-2020, 07:33 PM
Jérémie Aliadière
From what i recall his attitude was awful

James Collins?

Jérémie Aliadière

Cool name though tbf.

28-03-2020, 07:35 PM
Cool name though tbf.

Not as cool as Nans though. :greengrin

Frankhfc
28-03-2020, 07:40 PM
Free kick specialist - Maulary Martin.

28-03-2020, 08:21 PM
Do we have any examples of somebody's Granny that was a success in Scottish Football?

28-03-2020, 08:29 PM
Do we have any examples of somebody's Granny that was a success in Scottish Football?

malcolm
28-03-2020, 08:36 PM

https://youtu.be/Psb3ZMOAcII

Get in there

28-03-2020, 08:43 PM

He was pish though.

28-03-2020, 08:45 PM

Ann Budge?

Oh wait a minute she’s made a total mess of it.

NASAHIBS
28-03-2020, 08:58 PM
Ian Wright?

28-03-2020, 09:15 PM

Oh ma granny played for Scotland,
She nearly scored a goal,
She done the splits and burst her tits,
And the baw ran up her hole.

My 31 year old son used to sing this when he was a wee boy 😂

Spudster
28-03-2020, 09:17 PM
Surely including Roy Keane is a bit harsh? He was 35 when he joined Celtic and had a few serious injuries. It was always going to be his last season as a pro.

He cut his contract short at Celtic I’m sure. He was also wanted by a bunch of English premier clubs, Juve and Bayern but chose Celtic. Defo a great example of a failure up here IMO

28-03-2020, 09:44 PM
Matt thornhill , junior agogo

28-03-2020, 09:55 PM

Shelley Kerr?

28-03-2020, 10:09 PM

Joe Harper with a wig might have been mistaken for my late granny.....

28-03-2020, 10:15 PM
Cool name though tbf.

Was class on a version of FM way back. Could get him on loan and he'd bang them in.

28-03-2020, 10:17 PM
Jérémie Aliadière

Wasn't his missus insane as well? Along the same lines as Sinclair

28-03-2020, 10:23 PM

Was good for Hibs, just played in a bad team. Top player now

28-03-2020, 11:13 PM
Clayton Donaldson.
He came from the English fifth tier on a free transfer and did pretty well whenever I saw him. He scored 6 goals for Hibs in 21 appearances. He looked very stylish. For whatever reason Mixu did not give him a lot of game time and he moved on to Crewe.

29-03-2020, 02:30 AM
Hat trick hero vs Killie

Didn’t he score a Hattrick (or twice) at Falkirk and get sent off for his celebration? At times like these I’m not using google as a quick answer when it comes to Hibee history.!

29-03-2020, 02:34 AM
Not as cool as Nans though. :greengrin

vein
29-03-2020, 03:13 AM
Thomas Graversen

My memory is that he was even laughing as we ripped him a new one from the east terracing, mocking him about being a galatico.

29-03-2020, 08:30 AM
Duncan Ferguson?

Decent enough young player at United, got a move to Rangers off the back of an athletic attempt at goal in a friendly for Scotland against Germany, terrible for Rangers.

Got a move to Everton where we was excellent over a couple of spells, a really good player.

Certainly a much more effective player South of the border than North.

29-03-2020, 08:47 AM
Martyn Waghorn? Struggled in the Premiership

29-03-2020, 09:44 AM
Oh ma granny played for Scotland,
She nearly scored a goal,
She done the splits and burst her tits,
And the baw ran up her hole.

My 31 year old son used to sing this when he was a wee boy 😂

:not worth

29-03-2020, 09:45 AM
Martyn Waghorn? Struggled in the Premiership

Don't think that really works. He scored more goals in the Scottish Championship than he did in the English equivalent.

29-03-2020, 09:57 AM
Don't think that really works. He scored more goals in the Scottish Championship than he did in the English equivalent.

Plus he wasn't anybody's Granny.

29-03-2020, 10:11 AM
I don't think it's a bad example. He told everyone how he was going to tear it up and made himself look foolish by chasing shadows. Embarrassed himself. If he'd keep quiet I might have agreed with you.

He played 5 league games.

29-03-2020, 10:13 AM
He played 5 league games.

And he was dire in all five. Remember the Hamilton boy nutmegging him and putting him on his backside. Went back down south and scored on his Burnley debut in the EPL. Not saying he wasn't a good player he just thought he could rock up here and not try a leg and still stroll it.

29-03-2020, 10:27 AM

True

29-03-2020, 10:43 AM
And he was dire in all five. Remember the Hamilton boy nutmegging him and putting him on his backside. Went back down south and scored on his Burnley debut in the EPL. Not saying he wasn't a good player he just thought he could rock up here and not try a leg and still stroll it.

Barton is a great example of the bill big baws ex English premier league player who came up here and couldn't cope. Five league games says it all. Marquee signing my erchie.

29-03-2020, 10:46 AM
Barton is a great example of the bill big baws ex English premier league player who came up here and couldn't cope. Five league games says it all. Marquee signing my erchie.

Scott Brown embarrassed him. Funnily enough Roy Keane wrote in his book that the Hibs midfield ran all over him at Easter Road. May have been Brown then too. Keane was on his last legs to be fair.

29-03-2020, 12:50 PM
Scott Brown embarrassed him. Funnily enough Roy Keane wrote in his book that the Hibs midfield ran all over him at Easter Road. May have been Brown then too. Keane was on his last legs to be fair.

He was, but he was also under the delusion that all he needed to do was turn up and grace us with his presence, because ‘it’s only scottish football’.

Barton deserves mocking for being the most extreme example of this, deliberately goading Scott Brown for example before getting found out and humiliated.

ben johnson
29-03-2020, 02:11 PM
Plus he wasn't anybody's Granny.

What he was rhymes with Granny
First them v Hibs at Ibrox giving Hibs players the hard man stare in the tunnel

29-03-2020, 02:21 PM
Glenn Whelan