View Full Version : This is how it felt (Napoli 29 11 1967)

24-03-2020, 08:49 PM
I’m missing my “This is how it feels” gig almost as much as I’m missing the football itself! Inspired by various threads and posts on the MB, I’ve decided to offer up my personal recollections of games from the past, starting with that stunning 5-0 win over Napoli in November 1967. I confess I’ve used some information from other sources, if only to jog my memory but the essence of this offering (and more to come if they’re wanted) is me getting a tad nostalgic!

I was in my mid-teens when Hibs faced what most thought was an impossible task in overcoming a 4-1 deficit against a very talented Napoli. From the Evening News at the time, only manager Bob Shankly seemed upbeat, insisting the tie was far from finished. Italian teams were famous for their Catenaccio approach to games they didn’t want to lose. Essentially, Catenaccio is best described as being the Italian word for sit deep and defend with your life. That’s not a literal translation but that’s what Catenaccio amounted to.

On a misty evening I made my way to Easter Road. I was on my own as my sister had decided that if my 10 year old brother was going, she was taking him and somehow they ended up in the centre stand. No such luxury for me as I fully intended to take up my usual spot under the shelter of the cow shed at the FF end of the ground.

Approaching the stadium I could not believe the crowds outside waiting to gain entrance. I thought to myself that if I joined that queue I’d never get in for the kick off so I sneakily removed my scarf, stuffed it under my jacket and walked to the fans queueing nearest the turnstiles. Ignoring the suspicious glares of many fans I walked towards a guy I barely knew and said in a loud voice “There you are, I’ve been looking for you” before rambling on as he looked at me warily and wondered what the hell had just happened. Anyway, my trick worked and I was in before kick-off, taking my place in the cow shed where singing a general mayhem was pretty much guaranteed.

With the fans in full voice, Hibs exited the tunnel to a huge roar. As I watched the Napoli players it struck me how fit and strong they looked, especially the central defenders. Later they would demonstrate their strength by using their physicality to boot anyone wearing green and white.

Hibs went at them from the start and in just five minutes took the lead in quite stunning fashion. Bobby Duncan robbed the ball from an opponent, strode forward and battered a shot towards goal. When the ball zoomed over the keeper’s head and hit the back of the net the cow shed erupted with bodies flying everywhere. Years later, Pat Stanton told me the players ribbed Duncan about the goal, telling him it was just a poor attempt at a cross but Bobby stuck to his guns and insisted he meant it. I believe him but I’m not sure I agree that he was inside his own half when he hit it! It was probably a good thirty five yards though and as the years passed that distance grew longer in the telling of the story.

In what I assume was an attempt to put Hibs in their place the Italians hacked men down at every opportunity and the Spanish referee Antonio Rigo was a busy man. The visitors clearly didn’t understand the mentality of these Hibs players as every time they were hacked down they got up and went at it again. It was now 4-2 on aggregate and not long before half time the deficit was further reduced when Stein’s shot was not held by goalkeeper Zoff and wee Pat Quinn raced in to fire the ball home, prompting further mayhem behind the goals.

In the second half, Hibs were shooting down their beloved slope and ten minutes in a lovely cross by Alex Scott witnessed Cormack hanging in mid air as he bulleted a header past Zoff. Once the excitement had calmed down it dawned on me that it was now 4-4 on aggregate but that didn’t last long because two minutes after Cormack’s goal, Pat Stanton smashed the ball past Zoff and the Italians promptly lost the plot. Senor Rigo had been a bit lenient to that point but an horrific challenge by Girado on Eric Stevenson saw the Napoli man sent off, and rightly so. Hibs were through now if the visitors failed to score but just to make sure, Colin Stein fired a fifth goal in the dying embers of the game.

What a night, what a result and what a performance. Even my sister was impressed!

Forgive me for not rating the players. They were all a ten anyway!

Hibs: Wilson, Duncan, Davis, Stanton, Madsen, McGraw, Scott, Quinn, Stein, Cormack and Stevenson (Eric, not Lewis).

24-03-2020, 08:56 PM
I’m missing my “This is how it feels” gig almost as much as I’m missing the football itself! Inspired by various threads and posts on the MB, I’ve decided to offer up my personal recollections of games from the past, starting with that stunning 5-0 win over Napoli in November 1967. I confess I’ve used some information from other sources, if only to jog my memory but the essence of this offering (and more to come if they’re wanted) is me getting a tad nostalgic!

I was in my mid-teens when Hibs faced what most thought was an impossible task in overcoming a 4-1 deficit against a very talented Napoli. From the Evening News at the time, only manager Bob Shankly seemed upbeat, insisting the tie was far from finished. Italian teams were famous for their Catenaccio approach to games they didn’t want to lose. Essentially, Catenaccio is best described as being the Italian word for sit deep and defend with your life. That’s not a literal translation but that’s what Catenaccio amounted to.

On a misty evening I made my way to Easter Road. I was on my own as my sister had decided that if my 10 year old brother was going, she was taking him and somehow they ended up in the centre stand. No such luxury for me as I fully intended to take up my usual spot under the shelter of the cow shed at the FF end of the ground.

Approaching the stadium I could not believe the crowds outside waiting to gain entrance. I thought to myself that if I joined that queue I’d never get in for the kick off so I sneakily removed my scarf, stuffed it under my jacket and walked to the fans queueing nearest the turnstiles. Ignoring the suspicious glares of many fans I walked towards a guy I barely knew and said in a loud voice “There you are, I’ve been looking for you” before rambling on as he looked at me warily and wondered what the hell had just happened. Anyway, my trick worked and I was in before kick-off, taking my place in the cow shed where singing a general mayhem was pretty much guaranteed.

With the fans in full voice, Hibs exited the tunnel to a huge roar. As I watched the Napoli players it struck me how fit and strong they looked, especially the central defenders. Later they would demonstrate their strength by using their physicality to boot anyone wearing green and white.

Hibs went at them from the start and in just five minutes took the lead in quite stunning fashion. Bobby Duncan robbed the ball from an opponent, strode forward and battered a shot towards goal. When the ball zoomed over the keeper’s head and hit the back of the net the cow shed erupted with bodies flying everywhere. Years later, Pat Stanton told me the players ribbed Duncan about the goal, telling him it was just a poor attempt at a cross but Bobby stuck to his guns and insisted he meant it. I believe him but I’m not sure I agree that he was inside his own half when he hit it! It was probably a good thirty five yards though and as the years passed that distance grew longer in the telling of the story.

In what I assume was an attempt to put Hibs in their place the Italians hacked men down at every opportunity and the Spanish referee Antonio Rigo was a busy man. The visitors clearly didn’t understand the mentality of these Hibs players as every time they were hacked down they got up and went at it again. It was now 4-2 on aggregate and not long before half time the deficit was further reduced when Stein’s shot was not held by goalkeeper Zoff and wee Pat Quinn raced in to fire the ball home, prompting further mayhem behind the goals.

In the second half, Hibs were shooting down their beloved slope and ten minutes in a lovely cross by Alex Scott witnessed Cormack hanging in mid air as he bulleted a header past Zoff. Once the excitement had calmed down it dawned on me that it was now 4-4 on aggregate but that didn’t last long because two minutes after Cormack’s goal, Pat Stanton smashed the ball past Zoff and the Italians promptly lost the plot. Senor Rigo had been a bit lenient to that point but an horrific challenge by Girado on Eric Stevenson saw the Napoli man sent off, and rightly so. Hibs were through now if the visitors failed to score but just to make sure, Colin Stein fired a fifth goal in the dying embers of the game.

What a night, what a result and what a performance. Even my sister was impressed!

Hibs: Wilson, Duncan, Davis, Stanton, Madsen, McGraw, Scott, Quinn, Stein, Cormack and Stevenson (Eric, not Lewis).

I was 14 when I went to that game

It was Quite unbelievable, still don't think you can get a video of this game anywhere

If this happened now you wouldn't get it off every sport channel showing it

What a night

24-03-2020, 08:57 PM
Brilliant Jonnyboy as usual

Cannae stand queue jumpers 😁

24-03-2020, 09:05 PM
Must have been just along from you Johnnyboy.

we stood in front of Joe’s pylon, the floodlight pylon behind Joe Davis at kickoff.

Amazing night.

Sherlock Jones
24-03-2020, 09:09 PM
:thumbsup: Brilliant! I was there, in the cow shed too. My first European night, my first floodlit match, first game without parental control.

24-03-2020, 09:10 PM
Excellent stuff.

Already looking forward to how you will write up a 0-0 draw under Bertie Auld 😁

24-03-2020, 09:12 PM
Excellent stuff.

Bit harsh that

Think we only had 18 in one season 😁

24-03-2020, 09:23 PM
The only goal Bobby Duncan scored for Hibs.

24-03-2020, 09:33 PM
It was my first European game. Certainly the first I remember. I was 9 years old.
Many more European games to come in the years after ‘67. No doubt you’ll be covering some of them in your future TIHIF reports.:greengrin

24-03-2020, 09:38 PM
The only goal Bobby Duncan scored for Hibs.

I believe he scored 2.
The other was 1970 in the away match in Malmo when Hibs won 3-2.
A European specialist :greengrin

25-03-2020, 12:27 AM
I was also there although my memory of it is not great. I was in the east sand with a friend and his dad. Remember leaving the stadium absolutely amazed that we had won by such a large scoreline against a great Italian team and that we were through to the next round. A brilliant night.

CloudSquall
25-03-2020, 12:59 AM
Great read! If I'm being greedy I wouldn't mind one or two more of these Retro "This is how it felt" entries :greengrin:thumbsup:

houstonhibbee
25-03-2020, 04:08 AM
Great read! If I'm being greedy I wouldn't mind one or two more of these Retro "This is how it felt" entries :greengrin:thumbsup:
Sounds like there are more in the offing

out of interest why did you take your scarf off to jump the queue

25-03-2020, 06:07 AM
My auld mans a jambo. My mums said numerous times she only married him because she was doing her bit for care in the community, but I digress.

My father reckons I ended up a hibs fan as I was brought up until about 5 at Lochend/ dalgety avenue and because of these European games with the Hibs fans signing Hibs Hibs Hibs I started that too. He said he tried to get me to support hearts but it was always Hibs Hibs Hibs.

Wasn’t at these games but if the atmosphere was anything like AEK Athens then it must have been electric.

Tom Hart RIP
25-03-2020, 06:21 AM
Spoke to Bobby Duncan last year and of course brought up that goal.
He modestly told me that his first touch had been poor and he overhit the ball so had to sprint before the Naples player intercepted it and he just kicked it as hard as he could. I suspect there was much more to it than that.
I had the best view of the game in the stadium, on the half way line at the front of the 'east upper' section.
I can still picture the goal and am convinced that Bobby got the ball just in front of the dugout and scored from 40 yards.
Best goal I have ever seen anywhere.

25-03-2020, 06:47 AM
Great review of a very special night :thumbsup:.

Was too young to go and was in bed sleeping as it was a school night ....until about 11pm when unusually my Dad woke me up. He had no interest in football (a load of long haired louts running about kissing each other). All he said with a faint smile was "Wake up, you can come an watch this".

We both sat there and watched Hibs produce one of the greatest European performances ever. I think even my Dad was a bit impressed :greengrin.

HibbyDave
25-03-2020, 07:09 AM
Great read, cheers Johnny. I think that Napoli had left their star striker (Altafini?) at home as their manager thought that the tie was over after the first leg.

Roxyhibee
25-03-2020, 07:11 AM
Great report thanks.

I hope you’ll allow an 8 year olds memory of bits and pieces from that famous night. I distinctly remember me and my dad in a rush as he was late home from work and running down from Fernieside Crescent to try and catch the maroon 49 which would be sitting at the terminus at Old Dalkeith Road. Just as we got there it pulled away but an SMT was just coming down the and he hailed it down. They had more luxurious seats and zipped through the toon faster and I took it as an omen that our green bus overtook the lumbering maroon one after only a few stops. After irritating my dad with loads of questions about how we could win - ‘’3-0, 4-1, - what about 5-2.?” He said something along the lines of “no - it’s going to be hard to even win, but ach you never know” just to shut me up.

Bizarrely, that is one of the parts of the night I remember most - I know we got in on time and were standing very near the front roughly at the halfway point in the East because we had a great view of Bobby Duncan hitting that ball - I’d say he was about 5 yards inside the Napoli half.

I’d love to say I recall all the goals and other bits of the game but I’m afraid to say I can only remember the exotic colour of the Napoli strips under the floodlights and of course the general carnage in our little crowd of my uncles and others as every goal went in - but significantly, it was the first time I’d witnessed the power of football as I watched normally sensible, reliable, grown men jump about like wee laddies hugging each other.!

25-03-2020, 07:17 AM
Bit harsh that

Think we only had 18 in one season [emoji16]Those were the days, 100% committed to keeping the point we started with, you could hear the booing properly as there wasn't much of a crowd.

25-03-2020, 07:18 AM
What a great thread. Thank you JB !! [emoji119][emoji108]

25-03-2020, 07:19 AM
Deleted Duplicate

ACLeith
25-03-2020, 07:31 AM
Superb JB. Was I at the game? Yes and no! Wednesdays nights was night school night, so given the result of the 1st leg I went to James Gillespie's at the Meadows, but ran all the way to ER after the class finished, I was very fit in those days, couldn’t run from there TO the Meadows now!

Back then the gates were opened about 30 minutes before the end so got in FOC without any problem. Managed to squeeze into the top of the old East, asked someone the score and was told 2-0. Not long afterwards we scored (given when I got in, I reckon it was a bit later than in your “report” JB) then the 4th and 5th and one of their guys sent off.

So 3 goals and a sending off at no cost and a game in the next round against DLU – that’s value for you.

So was I a part-time supporter for not giving up night school or an uber fan for running all the way through the city streets to the game? Both I reckon! (And I passed my night school exams at the end of the year :thumbsup:)

But what a great idea for a thread. Barcelona Feb 1961 next? (I did attend ALL of that game! :greengrin)

25-03-2020, 07:40 AM
Great idea Jonnyboy.

Definitely wasn't at the game but got the programme with quite a few autographs on it, going to have a look at it today

25-03-2020, 07:46 AM
Excellent report JC of a magical evening – brings back so many memories – I was only 11 at the time, my mum had bought me a new Hibs scarf and cap for my birthday, so that was it’s first outing. Remember the evening so clearly as if only yesterday, caught the bus on Captain’s Road, bought my programme at top of Easter Road and one of them rosette’s you used to get (?), went round and stood on the old East terracing, there was a great atmosphere that evening, my first real view of a really good foreign team and then I almost lost my cap in the general mayhem after Duncan’s amazing goal went in! We had a really good team back then, if a bit inconsistent.

Great pity that we can’t find footage of this game anywhere on YouTube or wherever – the “youngsters” on here don’t know what they are missing.

I'd like the Leeds game next please ... :greengrin

25-03-2020, 07:53 AM
Napoli made the big mistake of leaving the brilliant Brazilian Altafini at home not sure if he was injured rested or just the fact they were over confident

Big mistake

25-03-2020, 08:01 AM
Napoli made the big mistake of leaving the brilliant Brazilian Altafini at home not sure if he was injured rested or just the fact they were over confident

Big mistakeYep, he came on against us in his "twilight" years for Juventus in the UEFA cup, think we were ahead at the time, looked his age but one of the best individual strikers I recall seeing at ER, won the game for them.

25-03-2020, 08:09 AM
Yep, he came on against us in his "twilight" years for Juventus in the UEFA cup, think we were ahead at the time, looked his age but one of the best individual strikers I recall seeing at ER, won the game for them.

Yip!

Pace to burn for one so old

I think we were 2-1 up and lost 4-2

25-03-2020, 08:21 AM
Yip!

I think we were 2-1 up and lost 4-2[emoji106]Just read about it to refresh my memory [emoji24]

25-03-2020, 08:53 AM
Was at the game, I was six years old and in the old enclosure. I ended up sitting in the TV platform as I could not get to the front of the enclosure due to the big crowd. STV filmed the game. I went mental when Bobby Duncan scored and was ejected from the TV platform as I nearly knocked one of the cameras over. I do not remember a lot about the game so this my father's memories from the game.

25-03-2020, 09:02 AM
Brilliant read. What songs did the support song back then? For anyone round about my age it’s hard to imagine what a day at the football/ atmosphere was like back then, in what ways is it comparable to these days or was it different in any way?

The Count
25-03-2020, 09:12 AM

Big mistake

Did he play for Juventus (only Italian team to have there name curved onto an Edinburgh schoolstonel wall by the way) a couple of years later against us?

25-03-2020, 09:21 AM
Did he play for Juventus (only Italian team to have there name curved onto an Edinburgh schoolstonel wall by the way) a couple of years later against us?

Scored two in the first leg at Easter Road and one in the second leg in Turin

Alan Gordon told me the story that in the second leg at the Stadio Del Alpi they had a big stadium clock and as the clock ticked towards 65 minutes the crowd were getting more and more restless you could see the great man warming up and the chant went up Altafini Alfafini and you just knew you were in for a torrid time and were already knackered

ACLeith
25-03-2020, 09:25 AM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/José_Altafini

According to that link, Napoli finished 2nd in Serie A that season

25-03-2020, 09:28 AM
Scored two in the first leg at Easter Road and one in the second leg in Turin

Alan Gordon told me the story that in the second leg at the Stadio Del Alpi they had a big stadium clock and as the clock ticked towards 65 minutes the crowd were getting more and more restless you could see the great man warming up and the chant went up Altafini Alfafini and you just knew you were in for a torrid time and were already knackered
Wouldn't have been the Studio Delle Alpi as it was only built for Italia 90. Can't remember what the original stadium was called but definitely not that

25-03-2020, 09:33 AM
Wouldn't have been the Studio Delle Alpi as it was only built for Italia 90. Can't remember what the original stadium was called but definitely not that

Oh my bad!

Stadio Communale

Replaced by Stadio Del Alpe 1990 World Cup was there for Scotland v Brazil got a soaking a horrible big barn of a Stadium full of Italian fans IiRC :greengrin

Never let the facts interfere with a good story

When the legend becomes fact print the legend

25-03-2020, 09:38 AM

Oh my bad!

Stadio Communale

Replaced by Stadio Del Alpe 1990 World Cup was there for Scotland v Brazil got a soaking a horrible barn of a Stadium full of Italian fans IiRC :greengrin

Never let the facts interfere with a good story

When the legend becomes fact print the legend

I was there too. Kilt weighed about 20 stone due to the amount of water it took in. Won the sweep on our bus that night. Muller No.9.

25-03-2020, 09:58 AM
I was there too. Kilt weighed about 20 stone due to the amount of water it took in. Won the sweep on our bus that night. Muller No.9.

Yip scored from an impossible angle

Spent the match sitting beside a cockney wearing a Scotland top a Chelsea fan going on about Gordon Juke Box Durie all the time I kept asking him “ What part of Scotland did you say you were from again?” just to wind him up

25-03-2020, 10:59 AM
I believe he scored 2.
The other was 1970 in the away match in Malmo when Hibs won 3-2.
A European specialist :greengrin

I know that in one book a scorer is listed as R.Duncan but it was actually Arthur.Bobby was no longer a regular by then and may have been at East Fife.

25-03-2020, 11:05 AM
I know that in one book a scorer is listed as R.Duncan but it was actually Arthur.Bobby was no longer a regular by then and may have been at East Fife.

It was Bobby Duncan

Source: www.fitbastats.com

25-03-2020, 11:35 AM
Genius idea John!! I was in Dunbar end so had a superb view of Bobby's goal as it rocketed in to top corner. Bobby was our guest at a London Hibs Burns Night a few years back & he was great fun. The shot got further away with each pint! My memory is of Bobby picking ball up close to right touchline just inside Napoli half. He cut inside & advanced until I would say about 35 yards out when he let loose. It was 100% a shot but I doubt he could ever do it again!! The most important goal for me though was the 2nd from Pat Quinn. We were flagging a bit having expended so much energy up the slope so Pat's scrambled 2nd really changed the game. I know it sounds crazy with a 21,000 crowd but I must have changed ends at h/t because I have clear memories of our last 2 goals from behind that goal. Before that season Wee Pat hadn't scored for 2 years until he hit a hat trick at PBS & then he scored against Napoli! Amazing!

25-03-2020, 11:49 AM
Napoli went on to win series A that year, they were full of international players including Zoff and the winger Barison, i remember looking at the Napoli side before kick off and they all looked like sun-tanned athletes compared to our mixed bag ! Never did them any good though.

25-03-2020, 12:19 PM
Brings back wonderful memories. Thanks JB.

The score was all the more remarkable considering that we put 5 passed the great Dino Zoff.

25-03-2020, 12:30 PM
Genius idea John!! I was in Dunbar end so had a superb view of Bobby's goal as it rocketed in to top corner. Bobby was our guest at a London Hibs Burns Night a few years back & he was great fun. The shot got further away with each pint! My memory is of Bobby picking ball up close to right touchline just inside Napoli half. He cut inside & advanced until I would say about 35 yards out when he let loose. It was 100% a shot but I doubt he could ever do it again!! The most important goal for me though was the 2nd from Pat Quinn. We were flagging a bit having expended so much energy up the slope so Pat's scrambled 2nd really changed the game. I know it sounds crazy with a 21,000 crowd but I must have changed ends at h/t because I have clear memories of our last 2 goals from behind that goal. Before that season Wee Pat hadn't scored for 2 years until he hit a hat trick at PBS & then he scored against Napoli! Amazing!
Your right about changing ends as I was behind the goals for the first half and in the shed for the second half.

Feed McGraw
25-03-2020, 02:24 PM
Genius idea John!! I was in Dunbar end so had a superb view of Bobby's goal as it rocketed in to top corner. Bobby was our guest at a London Hibs Burns Night a few years back & he was great fun. The shot got further away with each pint! My memory is of Bobby picking ball up close to right touchline just inside Napoli half. He cut inside & advanced until I would say about 35 yards out when he let loose. It was 100% a shot but I doubt he could ever do it again!! The most important goal for me though was the 2nd from Pat Quinn. We were flagging a bit having expended so much energy up the slope so Pat's scrambled 2nd really changed the game. I know it sounds crazy with a 21,000 crowd but I must have changed ends at h/t because I have clear memories of our last 2 goals from behind that goal. Before that season Wee Pat hadn't scored for 2 years until he hit a hat trick at PBS & then he scored against Napoli! Amazing! One of the greatest nights in our great clubs history. 21,000 was a good crowd brog, but not huge for the size the ground was then. In a normal league match ( not old firm or hertz) you could wend your way around folk on the main terracing and change ends. In the bigger games you could use the path that separated " Shaw`s heights" from the main terracing. Bobby`s goal is the only one that I can clearly remember, we were about level with the 18 yard line on the main terracing at the cave end and remember the goals going in at that end just can`t remember exactly how they happened but do remember Alex Scott putting in great crosses as he flew down the wing in front of us. Lovely memories.

HiBremian
25-03-2020, 03:05 PM
Definitely a thread for the oldies here. Yes, I was there too, one of my first floodlight games as a teenager. Seem to remember being able to watch the first half from the Dunbar end and moving round to the shed at half time. Anyway, here's something I collected the next day and still have in my precious Hibs archive!

Feed McGraw
25-03-2020, 03:12 PM
Definitely a thread for the oldies here. Yes, I was there too, one of my first floodlight games as a teenager. Seem to remember being able to watch the first half from the Dunbar end and moving round to the shed at half time. Anyway, here's something I collected the next day and still have in my precious Hibs archive!
23109 Amazing night ! Great to see the match report too :thumbsup:

25-03-2020, 03:37 PM
I remember that game well and Bobby Duncans rocket , was sitting in North Stand with the old man so was right behind it. My best memry of that game was getting up in the morning and saying to my dad what a game last night. He called me a daftie and said games no till the night , and I said but we won 5 0 , just wish I had more dreams like that could be rich by now.

25-03-2020, 04:24 PM
I was 14 when I went to that game

It was Quite unbelievable, still don't think you can get a video of this game anywhere

If this happened now you wouldn't get it off every sport channel showing it

What a night
There were highlights shown on STV. I think that they were lost many years ago after a fire at the STV film archives. It's sad how few recordings there are of these halcyon days but maybe it's better that way. Maybe Bobby Duncans shot was closer than I remember!!

BalkanSuperBro
25-03-2020, 04:26 PM
Many thanks Jonnyboy for all your reports but now even more welcome during this time of self-isolation especially as the withdrawal symptoms start to kick in. Like you, I was 15 at the time and unusually for me spent the whole game watching from the Cave. Like others, my memories are pretty fuzzy except for the overriding blurry haze of absolute ecstatic mayhem as we pulled each goal back and finally overhauled such a massive deficit. Without doubt, one of the most astonishing games ever and I do hope that this will be the start of more "This is how it felt".
:top marks:thumbsup::flag:

25-03-2020, 04:27 PM
Is there any footage of this game available? Napoli are one of my favourite non-hibs clubs - would love to see a video of this game

25-03-2020, 04:38 PM
15 and a half years old, in the Shed end that night, wearing the scarf in my avatar which was already nearly two years old. Fantastic night, atmosphere, and memories that are relived almost every time we get together now for our pre-match pints now.

25-03-2020, 04:56 PM
Was standing down very close to where the Napoli boy got sent off, and I'd never heard a crowd howl so loud for a ref to take action. As soon as he did (but not before that point), knew that we'd go through - Hibs weren't going to let things slip with a man advantage. Great night!

Fritz
25-03-2020, 05:13 PM
Great thread. Being born in 1980, it goes without saying that I have no memories of this match! However, my dear old dad has talked about it so much that I feel as if I was there! Same goes for the greatest game in history. Oh to have been a Hibs fan in those days, and seen us play the giants of European football on a regular basis. Mind you, I have since got my own back as the old man was on holiday and missed a certain game in May 2016...

confused
25-03-2020, 05:38 PM
Was just talking to a mate about this game today, a great night was it Jimmy SCOTT , ? Not Alex I think he came later ,

25-03-2020, 06:09 PM
Was just talking to a mate about this game today, a great night was it Jimmy SCOTT , ? Not Alex I think he came later ,
Alex Scott ex Everton and Rangers

Jim Scott was his brother 1959-9/7/1967 Won the Fairs Cities Cup with Newcastle United 1969

www.fitbastats.com (http://www.fitbastats.com)

stu in nottingham
25-03-2020, 06:24 PM
Thanks for that John, loved reading it. One game I wish I'd been at and reading your 'This is how it felt' made me feel like I was.

More please!

Feed McGraw
25-03-2020, 07:48 PM
Was just talking to a mate about this game today, a great night was it Jimmy SCOTT , ? Not Alex I think he came later , Definitely Alex.

25-03-2020, 08:43 PM
First of all, thanks for all the positive feedback. It inspires me to keep going :greengrin

Excellent stuff.

Hibs got to lead the world with another first, Dave. With crowds around 4000 at times we invented social distancing as there was plenty of room to spread out :aok:

More to come. Gotta keep myself busy somehow :greengrin

Sounds like there are more in the offing

out of interest why did you take your scarf off to jump the queue

So that when challenged with questions like "Where the fluff are you going" I said "Lochend :wink:

Great read, cheers Johnny. I think that Napoli had left their star striker (Altafini?) at home as their manager thought that the tie was over after the first leg.

Yep, as others have said, Napoli didn't think they'd need him for the second leg. When he returned with Juve I felt his ability was such that he's probably the best individual talent to play against us.

Brilliant read. What songs did the support song back then? For anyone round about my age it’s hard to imagine what a day at the football/ atmosphere was like back then, in what ways is it comparable to these days or was it different in any way?

Sean - this was the bad old days of Sean South etc so I'll leave it at that :wink:

Changing ends was a given back then, B. Imagine trying that these days :shocked:

Thanks for that John, loved reading it. One game I wish I'd been at and reading your 'This is how it felt' made me feel like I was.

More please!

Glad you enjoyed it pal. More on the way now that I've got the bug :agree:

26-03-2020, 07:17 AM
Yip!

I think we were 2-1 up and lost 4-2

That game was in between losing 5-0 to Celtic at Parkhead the previous Saturday and 6-3 in the League Cup Final the following Saturday. I remember being totally gutted.

26-03-2020, 07:27 AM
That game was in between losing 5-0 to Celtic at Parkhead the previous Saturday and 6-3 in the League Cup Final the following Saturday. I remember being totally gutted.

As another poster pointed out on another thread the goalkeeper was Jim McArthur but I don’t think he can be held accountable besides Joe Harper scored a hatrick in a national cup final 🤔

We lost 15 goals in 7 days

26-03-2020, 10:45 AM
Must have been just along from you Johnnyboy.

we stood in front of Joe’s pylon, the floodlight pylon behind Joe Davis at kickoff.

Amazing night.

Hibs: Wilson, Duncan, Davis, Stanton, Madsen, McGraw, Scott, Quinn, Stein, Cormack and Stevenson (Eric, not Lewis).[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

26-03-2020, 11:08 AM
Must have been a magical night of continental football under the lights when most folk holidayed at home, the continent of Europe was a rarely visited far flung place, and spag bol was an almost mystical foreign dish.
Anyone still with us who went to the away leg? Can't imagine the San Paolo or Naples to have been a very welcoming place back then.

26-03-2020, 01:41 PM
Ref the changing ends at half time, I pretty much did that every game. I was just surprised I was able to do it at Napoli game when crowd was almost 3 times our routine home gate from earlier that season. I can remember some fun occasions at away games, particularly at Brockville where every half time saw a reenactment of the Battle of Stirling bridge! The Joe Harper debut game, fans were still trying to battle through about 15mins into the 2nd half!!

NthCarolinaHibs
26-03-2020, 04:15 PM
Ref the changing ends at half time, I pretty much did that every game. I was just surprised I was able to do it at Napoli game when crowd was almost 3 times our routine home gate from earlier that season. I can remember some fun occasions at away games, particularly at Brockville where every half time saw a reenactment of the Battle of Stirling bridge! The Joe Harper debut game, fans were still trying to battle through about 15mins into the 2nd half!!

Ayr Unt was always a bit of an exercise too

allyh1bs
27-03-2020, 10:54 PM

And my engagement broke up on the Thursday. Quite a week to forget!

28-03-2020, 07:28 AM
And my engagement broke up on the Thursday. Quite a week to forget!

Not all bad then! Sorry! 😁