View Full Version : Worst decision ever witnessed at Easter Road

23-03-2020, 02:18 PM
Following on from the best goal thread, I thought it'd be good to do something similar and came up with the worst decision ever witnessed at ER.

For me and I think the most obvious, John MacDonalds fall in the box to gain Rangers a penalty in the very early 80s (I think?). That decision angered me for a very long, long time!!

23-03-2020, 02:20 PM
Griffiths strike versus the filth at least six foot over the line and the Ref waves play on

https://youtu.be/LF95JOxsWq0

Skol
23-03-2020, 02:23 PM
Ulrik Laursen Handball and sending off.

Thread closed

DTS
23-03-2020, 02:24 PM
Griffithis non goal or the non hand ball penalty in the play off against Falkirk which had massive implications, penalty given and scored we go up that season

23-03-2020, 02:37 PM
Griffiths strike versus the filth at least six foot over the line and the Ref waves play on

https://youtu.be/LF95JOxsWq0It's this one because of the positioning of the officials especially the Hearts fan running the line.

23-03-2020, 02:39 PM
Griffithis non goal or the non hand ball penalty in the play off against Falkirk which had massive implications, penalty given and scored we go up that season

They two immediately jumped out for me. Astonishing decisions that should have saw every member of the officiating teams never get involved in a football game ever again.

23-03-2020, 02:41 PM
Griffiths free kick. I wasn't there for the McCracken hand ball.

23-03-2020, 02:41 PM

Thread closed

That's the one that sprang to mind for me too. Laursen was trying to get up off the ground when the ball hit him

23-03-2020, 02:42 PM
Grant Brebner's sending off in the Derby we won 1-0 with a late O'Connor goal was a shambles.

Going the other way, the decision to give Paul Hanlon's goal when we beat dunfermline 4-0. Think the ball just about bounced on the 6 yard line!!

Matty Jack getting a penalty against Dundee Utd was a shocker too.

KingFranck
23-03-2020, 02:43 PM

Thread closed

Agreed against Rangers?

23-03-2020, 02:45 PM
Appointing Terry Butcher

23-03-2020, 02:45 PM
Not sending Cochrane off after his blatant assault on McGinn is right up there for me.

Even now it gets worse everytime you see it.

Gloucester Hibs
23-03-2020, 02:46 PM
Griffiths free kick. Honorable mentions also to Alan Freeland for his performance in that game v Falkirk in 2006, and the ref that allowed the Falkirk defender to play basketball at the end of the playoff first leg in 2016.

Niffy
23-03-2020, 02:49 PM
Laudrup penalty retake... and we STILL saved it :)

23-03-2020, 02:51 PM
Griffiths' goal not being awarded.

AugustaHibs
23-03-2020, 02:53 PM
Allowing porteous to play on after he’d clearly knackered his knee

May21/05/16
23-03-2020, 02:57 PM
The dive from john McDonald for the penalty fir rangers

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

23-03-2020, 02:59 PM

Thread closed

That’s the one I thought of (after Griffiths non goal), the ref also gave a penalty for it if my memory serves me right.

The worst incident I remember though was at Partick, not involving Hibs. A goal was scored but rebounded quickly out after hitting the rear stantion. The ref signals play on but meanwhile the defender had picked up
the ball (in his penalty box) and booted it down the park. Play on, incredible!

23-03-2020, 03:00 PM

https://youtu.be/LF95JOxsWq0

I heard the linesman told James McPake that it was not over the line when he asked him why it wasn't given. That is even worse.

23-03-2020, 03:01 PM
Underrated one - the foul on Paul Hanlon in the 0-2 game against Rangers in Championship season 1.

Never a more baffling non-free kick award I ever did see.

23-03-2020, 03:01 PM
I heard the linesman told James McPake that it was not over the line when he asked him why it wasn't given. That is even worse.

Surely that’s the only reason that he never gave it? As in, he thought it wasn’t over the line

23-03-2020, 03:03 PM
That’s the one I thought of (after Griffiths non goal), the ref also gave a penalty for it if my memory serves me right.

If he’s sent him off then of course he will have given a penalty

23-03-2020, 03:04 PM
If he’s sent him off then of course he will have given a penalty

Only if it was in the box though, which I think it was if I’m remembering correctly.

23-03-2020, 03:07 PM
I heard the linesman told James McPake that it was not over the line when he asked him why it wasn't given. That is even worse.He then leaked to the press that he didn't see it.

A liar either way.

The Falkirk players' multiple handball offences in the space 1.5 seconds in the playoff. So costly for Hibs. Could see it was handball from the south end of the East Stand. Ludicrous that some pundits sided with the ref on that one.

McNamara being adjudged to have given a penalty away with tackle on Tommy Burns at Parkhead. We collapsed to a 3-0 defeat. So obviously not a penalty.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

23-03-2020, 03:11 PM
Did that idiot hun goalkeeper McGregor not throw himself to the deck like he'd been punched by Mike Tyson getting Riordan booked or sent off? Something telling me it was the game we opened the new east stand.

23-03-2020, 03:12 PM
The decision not to bring down Wayne foster

23-03-2020, 03:12 PM
Once seen someone buy one of those bright orange pizza slices from the East Stand. Poor chap.

23-03-2020, 03:19 PM
Underrated one - the foul on Paul Hanlon in the 0-2 game against Rangers in Championship season 1.

This has to be it. Absolutely zero explanation for that other than cheating.

Falkirk playoffs an utter joke as well.

23-03-2020, 03:19 PM
Surely that’s the only reason that he never gave it? As in, he thought it wasn’t over the line

Well it was obvious to me, a good 15 yards further from the goal than the linesman, that it was well over. If his eyesight is that bad he shouldn't be anywhere near officiating at a game. Either that or he's a cheat.

23-03-2020, 03:22 PM
Brilliant thread this actually, something we can all get behind in these tough times. ****ing **** the referees.

chasitup
23-03-2020, 03:25 PM
Any decision made by Charlie f***ing Richmond.....

23-03-2020, 03:27 PM
Bobby Thomson getting banned for shoving the linesman v St Johnstone, he never touched him! 😉

23-03-2020, 03:28 PM
Well it was obvious to me, a good 15 yards further from the goal than the linesman, that it was well over. If his eyesight is that bad he shouldn't be anywhere near officiating at a game. Either that or he's a cheat.

It was obvious to me as well but what other reason were you expecting from the linesman?

23-03-2020, 03:31 PM
Shirley all contained within that game against Falkirk when Yogi as opposition manager was winding up the crowd. Bonkers.

23-03-2020, 03:31 PM
It was obvious to me as well but what other reason were you expecting from the linesman?

That he couldn't be sure or didn't think it was in but to state that it was not in makes him look foolish or a cheat.

23-03-2020, 03:35 PM
Bert Kontermans handball at Ibrox to take the ball away from a Mixu header which had goal written all over it. More or less ignored by the press as well.

23-03-2020, 03:44 PM
Bert Kontermans handball at Ibrox to take the ball away from a Mixu header which had goal written all over it. More or less ignored by the press as well.

Same happened when they beat us at Christmas 2 years ago.

23-03-2020, 03:46 PM
This thread has made me angry all over again! 😤

23-03-2020, 03:56 PM
To play Fletcher in midfield.

23-03-2020, 04:05 PM
The LG free kick decision must be the worst because it was a set piece & all the officials were in place to watch it. Just an incredible non decision. Honourable runner up must be the non pen from Alan Muir in the Falkirk game. The thing that gets me about that one & is hardly mentioned is that McCracken, after almost carrying the ball in the box then turned around & booted SJM while they were both still in the box. Quite incredible. Also an honourable mention to the ref who gave offside against Jordan Forster, scoring against them, again, who was 6 yards onside!

23-03-2020, 04:10 PM
The falkirk handball was a disgrace and alan muir shouldve been struck off after that. He lied post match claiming he didnt see it. The camera angle showed he had a clear, unobstructed view of the falkirk boy handling the ball TWICE. He also failed to give a penalty for henderson being tripped in the box in the aftermath of it.

The worst refereeing performance i have ever seen was alan freeland at easter road v falkirk in 2006. An absolute joke of a performance. Had zero control over the game. Special mention to kevin clancy (could be any hibs game tbh) for his performance v celtic earlier this/last season. Failing to send off ntcham for a blatant shove in the face amidst other tragically bad decisions.

April 2011 hibs go 2-1 up v hearts thanks to Vaz Te and hearts get a freekick for a hibs player going in and winning the ball and in typical hibs fashion, we then concede from the cross.

23-03-2020, 04:16 PM
The LG free kick decision must be the worst because it was a set piece & all the officials were in place to watch it. Just an incredible non decision. Honourable runner up must be the non pen from Alan Muir in the Falkirk game. The thing that gets me about that one & is hardly mentioned is that McCracken, after almost carrying the ball in the box then turned around & booted SJM while they were both still in the box. Quite incredible. Also an honourable mention to the ref who gave offside against Jordan Forster, scoring against them, again, who was 6 yards onside!

I should say that Euan Norris, the ref in the LG game was a young fast track ref who was on the UEFA list at that time. He got 1 more season reffing in the SPFL & then disappeared. I often wondered if he was quietly dropped.

Dr Hackenbush
23-03-2020, 04:20 PM
Craig Thompson failing to send Ian Black off for his elbow to Leigh Griffith’s face in the first few minutes of the SC Final - just watched it for the first time on YouTube and it’s just as bad as I thought at the time.....

delbert
23-03-2020, 04:38 PM
Bobby Thomson getting banned for shoving the linesman v St Johnstone, he never touched him! 😉

Rubbish, he nearly put him over the wall into the enclosure, were you actually there, cos I was ? Thomson was an utter rocket but it was bloody good fun all the same !

23-03-2020, 04:39 PM

Thread closed

This.....although, close run thing with griffs goal

23-03-2020, 04:43 PM
Boozy sent off for denying a goalscoring opportunity after Kris Boyd fouled him.

23-03-2020, 04:44 PM
It's this one because of the positioning of the officials especially the Hearts fan running the line.

Yep definitely wasn't over the line he said to Hibs players at the time then said later he hadn't seen it. Cheating Hearts can't. Very easy decision imo given how far over the line it was.

23-03-2020, 04:46 PM
Paul Hanlon being subbed.

23-03-2020, 04:52 PM
😂😂😂

23-03-2020, 04:53 PM

:faf::faf:

23-03-2020, 04:58 PM
I should say that Euan Norris, the ref in the LG game was a young fast track ref who was on the UEFA list at that time. He got 1 more season reffing in the SPFL & then disappeared. I often wondered if he was quietly dropped.

Off a cliff i hope.

23-03-2020, 04:58 PM
Yep definitely wasn't over the line he said to Hibs players at the time then said later he hadn't seen it. Cheating Hearts can't. Very easy decision imo given how far over the line it was.

The camera zoomed in on him. It was written all over his face that he knew it crossed the line.

23-03-2020, 04:59 PM
Rubbish, he nearly put him over the wall into the enclosure, were you actually there, cos I was ? Thomson was an utter rocket but it was bloody good fun all the same !

Don't think he was being really serious

Skol
23-03-2020, 05:05 PM
All of the refs that failed to book Fulton for being ugly

23-03-2020, 05:15 PM
Loads. But two most disgraceful ones were Hammil penalty against Hogg in Scottish Cup Semi Final and Kubari sending off 2012,final.
Both by cheat Thomson

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

hibby rae
23-03-2020, 05:34 PM
Who was the assistant in the Griffiths non-goal incident, and does he continue to officiate at a high level?

23-03-2020, 05:40 PM
Who was the assistant in the Griffiths non-goal incident, and does he continue to officiate at a high level?

Raymond Whyte.

23-03-2020, 05:41 PM
Boozy being sent off after Kris Boyd shoved him over.

23-03-2020, 05:42 PM

Did you not see the smiley?

green with envy
23-03-2020, 05:46 PM

Neil Berry's assault on Paul Wright. That wee hun McDonald put him on the park as a sub to deliberately crock Wright, this by his own admission.

franck sauzee
23-03-2020, 05:50 PM
Gordon Marshall punching the ball at least 2 yards outside of his box. Was possibly the first season of the new famous five and this happened up the other end of the pitch and I was sure he was well outside. Went in at half time and must have been a game live on sky which confirmed that I had been correct. Incredibly bad decision from the ref and even more so the linesman

23-03-2020, 05:55 PM
Gordon Marshall punching the ball at least 2 yards outside of his box. Was possibly the first season of the new famous five and this happened up the other end of the pitch and I was sure he was well outside. Went in at half time and must have been a game live on sky which confirmed that I had been correct. Incredibly bad decision from the ref and even more so the linesman

he was way past the D when he did that!

23-03-2020, 06:01 PM
Neil Berry's assault on Paul Wright. That wee hun McDonald put him on the park as a sub to deliberately crock Wright this by his own admission.Was Wright not out for almost a full season after that?

23-03-2020, 06:07 PM
There was a league cup game against Morton where the Morton player absolutely wiped out a hibs player leaving him concussed. The ref gave Morton the free kick and they scored. This was near the end of injury time.

23-03-2020, 06:07 PM
Virtually every decision in that cup final was in Hearts favour, I have never seen a more biased refereeing performance over 90 minutes than we saw in that game. Not sour grapes, I could have accepted defeat to what was a better team but they did not require the assistance given them.

23-03-2020, 06:10 PM
The game against Leeds United where they took our free kick, the ref played on and they scored two passes later

23-03-2020, 06:11 PM
There was a league cup game against Morton where the Morton player absolutely wiped out a hibs player leaving him concussed. The ref gave Morton the free kick and they scored. This was near the end of injury time.

Chris Hogg iirc. Finished 4 3 to Morton.

23-03-2020, 06:12 PM
Yeah that was the one, shocking decision.

23-03-2020, 06:13 PM
Not hibs, but was there not a game a couple seasons ago where a goal was given when the ball went over the by line the wrong side of the post but a goal was given?

green with envy
23-03-2020, 06:18 PM
Was Wright not out for almost a full season after that?

He was indeed and it just about finished his career, he was never the same player after it.

23-03-2020, 06:23 PM
There have been some horrendous decisions given against Hibs in recent years, especially in games against Hearts and they take some beating.
I also remember a game at Easter Road against Dundee United back in the mid sixties when we were 4-0 down at half time. Down the slope in the second half we got it back to 4 - 3 and scored an equaliser right at the death only for the ref to blow for full time when the ball was on its way into the net. The ref had to get a police escort up the tunnel.

23-03-2020, 06:27 PM
Not hibs, but was there not a game a couple seasons ago where a goal was given when the ball went over the by line the wrong side of the post but a goal was given?
Aye this one.

https://youtu.be/vxZsRFIr3kA

davym7062
23-03-2020, 06:32 PM
The decision not to bring down Wayne foster

i forgot about that dave beaumont if i mind rite> im ragin again now :wink:

23-03-2020, 06:54 PM

Because of the penalty he awarded to Hearts in the 2012 semi final.

23-03-2020, 06:56 PM
Craig Thompson failing to send Ian Black off for his elbow to Leigh Griffith’s face in the first few minutes of the SC Final - just watched it for the first time on YouTube and it’s just as bad as I thought at the time.....

Even worse when Willie Collum, who was 4th official, told him it was a red card.

CloudSquall
23-03-2020, 06:56 PM
Any decision made by Charlie f***ing Richmond.....

I think the game I am thinking about was refereed by him, I vaguely remember a game vs Motherwell (think under Mowbrary) where he had made so many bad decisions he had to wait for police to help escort him off of the pitch, almost caused a riot.

23-03-2020, 07:00 PM
Appointing Terry Butcher

We have a winner.

Griffith's over-the-line FK - horror call by the lino - and Brebner's sending off are 2 shockers, the latter which seemed to affect the Hearts players more than Hibs. Never seen such a reaction from the opposition to a decision.

scm70nyd1973
23-03-2020, 07:04 PM

I did and it made me laugh - I was at the game too - my 21st birthday that day - my recollection is that BT ran about 30 yards and was in full pelt when the poor guy went over - funny at the time as I was just a pup but now looking back I think differently.

An OP post from a few months ago asked about the worst moaning from the terracing ever heard and - in a tongue and cheek way - I suggested it was from the linesman that day (just for the record it was 19/11/1983) who was pushed - no-one laughed so it was just as well I had already "picked up my coat".

23-03-2020, 07:07 PM
Folk really can't read thread titles a?

NGP
23-03-2020, 07:13 PM
Hun McDonald dive
Mcloy's assault on Colin Campbell in the SC final (not ER, but still a key decision against us)
Sparky free kick
Freeland Falkirk game
Falkirk pay off, basketball in the box AND the penalty not given for fouling Henderson straight after it.
Morton League cup, Hogg taken out (he was concussed). Free kick to Morton and Higg booked. Both players require treatment, but the Morton player stays on the on the pitch (before recent rule change), Hogg is taken off the park, Morton score from the free kick.
This season - Celtc game at ER, shocking display by officials.

23-03-2020, 07:14 PM
I've just remembered another shocker. The game against Rangers when we were 3 1 up & lost 4-3. The ref was Bobby Tait who now makes a living speaking at (mostly) Orange lodges & who boasts he never awarded a penalty against Rangers. Early in the 2nd half he awarded Rangers a free kick, no one knew what or who it was for so Tait sprinted about 20 yards to pass the ball to a Rangers player. While the ball was still rolling, the recipient passed it on, 2 passes later & ball was in net while Hibs players were wondering what was happening. Almost certainly the only time a goal scoring move was started by the ref!

scm70nyd1973
23-03-2020, 07:15 PM
Following on from the best goal thread, I thought it'd be good to do something similar and came up with the worst decision ever witnessed at ER.

For me and I think the most obvious, John MacDonalds fall in the box to gain Rangers a penalty in the very early 80s (I think?). That decision angered me for a very long, long time!!

Following on from that - a decision by Shades not to lamp him was also a bad one- IIRC rightly he battered the ball off the turf in frustration and maybe got booked ?

23-03-2020, 07:22 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQZmRqxnH6M

scm70nyd1973
23-03-2020, 07:24 PM

Slightly topical but it took place a good few years ago - the decision to chuck a pie in Davie Cooper's face when he was warming up at ER was not a good one - two nil down after 10 mins IIRC and I think he had scored both !

23-03-2020, 07:28 PM
I did and it made me laugh - I was at the game too - my 21st birthday that day - my recollection is that BT ran about 30 yards and was in full pelt when the poor guy went over - funny at the time as I was just a pup but now looking back I think differently.

An OP post from a few months ago asked about the worst moaning from the terracing ever heard and - in a tongue and cheek way - I suggested it was from the linesman that day (just for the record it was 19/11/1983) who was pushed - no-one laughed so it was just as well I had already "picked up my coat".

Sure it was a Hibs Kids game as I was in The South Stand that day.

23-03-2020, 07:31 PM
The game against Leeds United where they took our free kick, the ref played on and they scored two passes later

The first game in 1968 they scored from an indirect free kick in the box after our goalkeeper took five steps final score 1-1 (1-2 agg ) not unless you mean their goal at Elland Road?

The second game in 1973 ended 0-0 lost on pens 4-5

23-03-2020, 07:32 PM
Actually, I take it back - Hanlon being awarded a goal v Dunfermline in the relegation decider was the worst decision ever. The ball hit the bar and bounced clear of the line on the wrong side, we were applauding a good chance and then a goal was given. Bizarre.

NGP
23-03-2020, 07:36 PM
Actually, I take it back - Hanlon being awarded a goal v Dunfermline in the relegation decider was the worst decision ever. The ball hit the bar and bounced clear of the line on the wrong side, we were applauding a good chance and then a goal was given. Bizarre.

The ball was headed into the FF by a Pars defende and I caught it. Took it home and told my boy that Gary O (his boyhood hero) had scored a pen with the ball.

IrnBru22
23-03-2020, 07:39 PM

That’s the one I immediately thought of when i seen the thread title. Everyone in the whole stadium thought Collum was gonna blow for a foul, including all the rangers players... except for Kenny Miller who then scored and killed the game. Miller then ran into the rangers fans to celebrate and didn’t get booked for it.

23-03-2020, 07:41 PM
Mowbray giving Zibi a new three year deal was a pretty horrendous decision.

scm70nyd1973
23-03-2020, 07:44 PM
Sure it was a Hibs Kids game as I was in The South Stand that day.

I've still got the photos from that day would you believe (with BT still on the park) - my mate's present to me was a happy birthday message on the old scoreboard - 4 -1 wasn't it and to cap it all I think that the Poppy Thieves lost that day !

Edit - they did - lost 2 nil in Furryboots Town !

23-03-2020, 07:47 PM
The decision of the Coventry kit man to decide on chocolate brown kit for a game at ER in the Skol Festival

Gloucester Hibs
23-03-2020, 07:52 PM
I've just remembered another shocker. The game against Rangers when we were 3 1 up & lost 4-3. The ref was Bobby Tait who now makes a living speaking at (mostly) Orange lodges & who boasts he never awarded a penalty against Rangers. Early in the 2nd half he awarded Rangers a free kick, no one knew what or who it was for so Tait sprinted about 20 yards to pass the ball to a Rangers player. While the ball was still rolling, the recipient passed it on, 2 passes later & ball was in net while Hibs players were wondering what was happening. Almost certainly the only time a goal scoring move was started by the ref!

Remember that. That game was the start of a downward spiral that culminated in our relegation. Jimmy Boco actually missed a one-on-one with us 3-1 up 🤦🏼*♂️

23-03-2020, 08:04 PM

Game was over though so it wasn't so impactful. Us being shafted in the playoffs certainly worse IMO.

23-03-2020, 08:57 PM
The first game in 1968 they scored from an indirect free kick in the box after our goalkeeper took five steps final score 1-1 (1-2 agg ) not unless you mean their goal at Elland Road?

The second game in 1973 ended 0-0 lost on pens 4-5

BillyHibs...you are right. I am conflating two different incidents. I think the one I got mixed up with was actually a Scotland u/23 game...

23-03-2020, 09:10 PM
BillyHibs...you are right. I am conflating two different incidents. I think the one I got mixed up with was actually a Scotland u/23 game...

👍🏾

23-03-2020, 09:28 PM
Remember that. That game was the start of a downward spiral that culminated in our relegation. Jimmy Boco actually missed a one-on-one with us 3-1 up 🤦🏼*♂️

Exactly right. IIRC that season started with us scoring for fun & ended up with us relegated.

23-03-2020, 09:29 PM
Ryan McGowan getting away with a headbutt on Sproule.

23-03-2020, 09:34 PM
This is possibly just my recollection of how this one happened, John O'Neil against Celtc, he picked the ball up at the halfway line, ran past a player into the box and got fouled for a penalty, Martin O'Neill ran up the touch line and basically lifted the linesmans flag up and John O'Neil was called offside for passing to himself, sure we lost 1-0

23-03-2020, 10:41 PM
Any one of the decisions made by Alan Freeland in the notorius game against Falkirk when Yogi was the Falkirk manager. I seem to remember Freeland booking a Falkirk player twice and not sending him off.

marleyhib
23-03-2020, 11:15 PM
Virtually every decision in that cup final was in Hearts favour, I have never seen a more biased refereeing performance over 90 minutes than we saw in that game. Not sour grapes, I could have accepted defeat to what was a better team but they did not require the assistance given them.

Aye, the Ian Black assault and the Kujabi non penalty and sending off. We'd still have got beat but why Kujabi was on the pitch at all I fail to comprehend. I met Pat Felon after the 2016 cup final win in a boozer on Leith Walk and he apologised for that day. I think he knew what it meant to us all and he really did look ashamed.

24-03-2020, 12:16 AM

Both at the FF end and I had a clear view both times .... The LG goal was so far over the line you would have to be blind to miss it, especially with it being direct from a free kick enabling the ref and assistant ref to pick their positions before the ball was kicked. The Falkirk one wasn't even ball played man, the Falkirk player clearly deliberately moved his hand at least a foot in order to deflect the ball away from an onrushing Hibs player.

I'll chuck in the one a couple of seasons ago where Hibs played the ball into the box from the right wing and the solitary Huns defender left on the edge of the 6 yard box leaned over, stuck out his arm and stopped the ball crossing the box where it would have reached a Hibs forward .... it was so clearly a deliberate action in full view of the assistant ref that a Sunday league official would have been embarrassed he didn't flag for it. No wonder we go on about bias.

JJP
24-03-2020, 12:36 AM
Kevin McBrides red card for kicking the ball at Kyle Lafferty after he halfed Liam Miller absolutley outraged me at the time. It wasn't as bad as some of the other decisions mentioned but I just remember thinking Iain Brines couldn't wait to red card McBride after he realised Lafferty was going to have to go.

24-03-2020, 05:34 AM

We probably would have lost anyway but the ref ****ed us over big time for the penalty and sending off Kujabi and Hearts should have been down to ten men. Massive moments in the game

24-03-2020, 11:16 AM
Game against St Johnstone (I think).

Hibs free kick outside the box. St Johnstone players line up a wall about 6 yards away.

Hibs players point out to ref that they aren't ten yards.

Ref takes the hump and steps out ten yards only he starts his steps from where the wall has chosen to line-up and moves the ball back when he gets to ten yards.

Never, ever seen the likes before or since.

24-03-2020, 11:19 AM
Game against St Johnstone (I think).

Hibs free kick outside the box. St Johnstone players line up a wall about 6 yards away.

Hibs players point out to ref that they aren't ten yards.

Ref takes the hump and steps out ten yards only he starts his steps from where the wall has chosen to line-up and moves the ball back when he gets to ten yards.

Never, ever seen the likes before or since.

Was Alan Muir again, think it was Scott Robertson got booked for correctly marking out the distance.

Just_Jimmy
24-03-2020, 12:24 PM
Whoever signed of that all green training kit we wore in the first season in the championship...

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Tom Hart RIP
24-03-2020, 12:34 PM
Bobby Davidson awarding a penalty for Rangers in Scottish Cup 1973.
Alan Gordon punched in box. Hibs players protest. He waves play on. Rangers break away and one of thier players( can’t remember who) ran 5 yards and dived in box.
Still raging 47 years later 😡
The crowd that night was 49,007

24-03-2020, 12:47 PM
Was Alan Muir again, think it was Scott Robertson got booked for correctly marking out the distance.

Forgot that a Hibs player had stepped out the ten yards. Not really a major incident but certainly the single most bizarre one i've seen. Stepping out the ten yards backwards from where the wall chose to set-up, who does that other than a complete roaster.

24-03-2020, 12:49 PM

Not Easter road...

24-03-2020, 12:55 PM
Handball by the hun player in the championship, the young laddie. So obvious that he handled it and stopped a goal.

24-03-2020, 12:58 PM
Not Easter road...

Report me.

ehf
24-03-2020, 01:09 PM
This bit of blatant cheating from Mike McCurry still annoys me: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/1729193.stm

24-03-2020, 01:16 PM
Alan Gordon punched in box. Hibs players protest. He waves play on. Rangers break away and one of thier players( can’t remember who) ran 5 yards and dived in box.
Still raging 47 years later ��

Tommy Maclean

Diving Wee bassa

The same player who was 100 yards offside when he scored at Ibrox and Sloop John B was sent off for protesting too much and telling the Lino where to stick his orange flag

Bobby Davidson never liked us though tbh struggling to remember any refs that did

jingler1954
24-03-2020, 01:27 PM

Thread closed

I remember that on the ground on all fours the ball hits his arm. No chance to get away absolute disgrace.

24-03-2020, 01:32 PM
This bit of blatant cheating from Mike McCurry still annoys me: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/1729193.stm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/7390628.stm

This was McCurry's finest hour. The most blatant display of cheating I've ever seen from a referee in Scottish football.

24-03-2020, 03:09 PM
Not Easter road...

Think that was also mccurry

Tom Hart RIP
24-03-2020, 03:19 PM
Tommy Maclean

Diving Wee bassa

The same player who was 100 yards offside when he scored at Ibrox and Sloop John B was sent off for protesting too much and telling the Lino where to stick his orange flag

Bobby Davidson never liked us though tbh struggling to remember any refs that did

You are right, Tommy McLean, I thought it was him.
i recently read that Davidson was certain that he was getting the 1974 World Cup final but at the last minute Jack Taylor was chosen. Davidson was furious apparently...........GOOD

MKHIBEE
24-03-2020, 03:27 PM
Still raging 47 years later 😡

Did Davidson not disallow a Jim Black goal that night? So many bad decisions in those days its hard to remember some of them

Craigmount Hibs
24-03-2020, 03:31 PM
Any one of the decisions made by Alan Freeland in the notorius game against Falkirk when Yogi was the Falkirk manager. I seem to remember Freeland booking a Falkirk player twice and not sending him off.

Yup, Freeland did do that.

24-03-2020, 03:38 PM
Did Davidson not disallow a Jim Black goal that night? So many bad decisions in those days its hard to remember some of them

24-03-2020, 04:06 PM
Danny Handling sending off against them in the petrofact cup was scandalous. Freeland in that match against Falkirk really angered me.

24-03-2020, 05:39 PM
The Griffiths free-kick not given vs the **** was absolutely criminal. Not even close, was miles over the line and everyone in the stadium could see it. Worst part about it was that it was from a set play so the linesman is specifically set up in line to see offsides and in perfect position to see it crossing the line. Its not as if hibvs suddenly broke forward and the linesman was running behind the play.

Absolutely insane decision. Jambos yet again getting away with murder!

24-03-2020, 06:16 PM
Not Easter road...Very pedantic G.
Worst at Easter Road, letting Kujabi take a free kick [emoji23]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

24-03-2020, 06:18 PM
Just to be contrary. Best decision - Fulton booked for bring ugly 😂

Or on second thoughts, really bad decision. He deserved a red card for it.

24-03-2020, 09:45 PM
My 2 already mentioned previously.

Freeland - worst overall whole match performance.
Morton League Cup - worst ever individual free kick decision that led to their winning goal.

However, slightly off topic but the most baffling, yet greatest refereeing decision came in the 94th minute on 21/5/2016. I’ve watched it many times and still think it was a free kick to Sevco.
But no. Mr McLean thought otherwise and to add insult to Sevco injury, booked Halliday as well. Enough time wasted in the confusion to take the free kick to wind up the game.
Simply magical. Cue exuberance!!

BIGK
25-03-2020, 07:37 AM
For me, it was Theo Snelders only getting a yellow card for what can only be described as assault. It was a last man tackle outside the box on, I

think Paul Kane in a league cup game that could only be described as Schumacher like(see youtube). He then went back into his goal and pulled

off a great save from the resultant free kick. Aberdeen then went on to win the match with a late winner in extra time.
Still takes my blood pressure up thinking about it now:fuming:

25-03-2020, 08:03 AM
For me, it was Theo Snelders only getting a yellow card for what can only be described as assault. It was a last man tackle outside the box on, I

think Paul Kane in a league cup game that could only be described as Schumacher like(see youtube). He then went back into his goal and pulled

off a great save from the resultant free kick. Aberdeen then went on to win the match with a late winner in extra time.

I remember that so well, was an horrific challenge! :O

Hibs1969
25-03-2020, 09:28 AM
My 2 already mentioned previously.

Freeland - worst overall whole match performance.
Morton League Cup - worst ever individual free kick decision that led to their winning goal.

However, slightly off topic but the most baffling, yet greatest refereeing decision came in the 94th minute on 21/5/2016. I’ve watched it many times and still think it was a free kick to Sevco.
But no. Mr McLean thought otherwise and to add insult to Sevco injury, booked Halliday as well. Enough time wasted in the confusion to take the free kick to wind up the game.

I don’t think that compares to the decision not to penalise Stevenson for a two handed push on one of their players in the box right in front of the goal line assistant when they were 2-1 up (I think). It was a penalty every day of the week and if it had been given and scored it would most likely have been a completely different result.

in terms of worst decisions I’ve seen -
Alan Muir non handball decision in the play off v Falkirk
Alan Freeland red card for Thomson also v Falkirk
Paul Hanson being cut in half v the Rangers allowing them to score and win
Scott Allan’s tackle v the Rangers in the 5-5 game

There’s plenty others too but those are my picks. I’m still raging about the playoff non handball, that would have killed the game if we’d scored.

Tom Hart RIP
25-03-2020, 09:39 AM
The Clive 'the book' Thomas free-kick against Willie Wilson when we played Leeds 1968.
Their keeper had ignored the new 4 step rule all night and nowt given.
Willie was obstructed trying to kick the ball out and took five steps and Thomas couldn't wait to give the foul from which big Jack Charlton scored with a header.
Thomas loved to be centre of attention and was on first name terms with the Leeds players as he refereed in England.
A few years later he reffed in the World Cup finals and blew for full-time just as a Brazil player headed the ball into the net for the winner.
Leeds went on to win the Fairs Cup but we were far better than them.

h1bs4life
25-03-2020, 05:18 PM
Think it was Hugh Dallas's 1st game in charge of a lesser green game since he got coined at the Old Firm derby that gave the Huns another tainted title.
Stonewall penatly for Hibs at 0-0 which strangely Dallas never seen and the lesser greens went on to win the game

25-03-2020, 07:22 PM
I don’t think that compares to the decision not to penalise Stevenson for a two handed push on one of their players in the box right in front of the goal line assistant when they were 2-1 up (I think). It was a penalty every day of the week and if it had been given and scored it would most likely have been a completely different result.

It was at 1-1, not long after half time. I’d be wanting it at the other end

25-03-2020, 07:23 PM

I think it was given for high feet. I remember staying calm at the game knowing that it was our free kick but I seemed to be the only one around me that thought that

Tynie01011973
25-03-2020, 07:56 PM
Cant remember who it was that was sent off , when pushed over by Kris Boyd,Sevco at ER,When Hibs player was winning race to clear ball?

Power
25-03-2020, 08:03 PM
Mentioned previously.

Every decision in this game -

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/5369306.stm
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/5381190.stm

25-03-2020, 08:05 PM

It was Chris Hogg who was flattened.

The worst decision I have ever seen.

25-03-2020, 08:05 PM
It was at 1-1, not long after half time. I’d be wanting it at the other end

I must admit to being quite chuffed that just for a change we got away with one.

25-03-2020, 08:45 PM

Great call :agree:

In today's game it would be on every sports channel wondering how the hell it wasn't red

That was a shocker

25-03-2020, 11:28 PM
Any 70's game v the Hun with Bobby Davidson the referee - he absolutely hated us and made no effort to hide it !. Younger Hibees may think Craig Thomson is the 'Devil' but Davidson makes him look like a neutral !

26-03-2020, 05:56 AM

Oooft! How could I forget that one.

The ullie Laarson one was the pick. The guy was on the floor getting up and had the ball drilled at his “standing” arm. PENALTY!

And he got sent off. Outrageous decision.

My flat mate from uni came up from England that morning to come to the game. Was gutted at that result.

26-03-2020, 06:29 AM

That still annoys me nearly 40 years later

BIGK
26-03-2020, 06:44 AM
Great call :agree:

In today's game it would be on every sports channel wondering how the hell it wasn't red

That was a shocker

Blood pressure is 210 over 120 but it is on it's way down.

26-03-2020, 10:03 AM
https://youtu.be/6B5C2U4UmO0

Even worse than Snelders as not even a foul...

26-03-2020, 10:09 AM

WTF? Astonishing decision.

26-03-2020, 01:45 PM
That still annoys me nearly 40 years later

it still pisses me off too! Probably need counselling :(

26-03-2020, 01:47 PM
This is possibly just my recollection of how this one happened, John O'Neil against Celtc, he picked the ball up at the halfway line, ran past a player into the box and got fouled for a penalty, Martin O'Neill ran up the touch line and basically lifted the linesmans flag up and John O'Neil was called offside for passing to himself, sure we lost 1-0

Was in the stand at this game and couldn't believe it as we were wildly celebrating a stone-Waller of a penalty- but then it was like O'Neill emerged out of the most with him raising the linesnan's flag ! Only in Scottish Football does the manager of one of the country's 2 big clubs, get away with actions like that - not only did the ref agree with O'Neill's 'decision' that night, to prove it he didn't even book him for man-handling an official!

26-03-2020, 01:50 PM

Goodness me! France didn't have much luck did they what with the classic Battiston/Schumacher foul also!

Tomsk
26-03-2020, 01:51 PM
Mentioned previously.

Every decision in this game -

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/5369306.stm
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/5381190.stm

Hughes was an absolute disgrace that day. Any competent referee would have sent him to stand and reported his conduct to the SFA.

26-03-2020, 01:53 PM
it still pisses me off too! Probably need counselling :(
Me too. That and the behaviour of their fans after the 79 cup final has left me with a deep seated, irrational hatred of the Hun. I was sat behind the goal that day probably no more than 25/30 metres away and it was a disgrace how the ref gave that decision.

26-03-2020, 01:55 PM
Was in the stand at this game and couldn't believe it as we were wildly celebrating a stone-Waller of a penalty- but then it was like O'Neill emerged out of the most with him raising the linesnan's flag ! Only in Scottish Football does the manager of one of the country's 2 big clubs, get away with actions like that - not only did the ref agree with O'Neill's 'decision' that night, to prove it he didn't even book him for man-handling an official!

Most of the press pretty meek over that incident too.

Tomsk
26-03-2020, 02:00 PM

Surprised nobody's mentioned Dallas sending off Paco Luna at ER. Clearly never saw the handball, awarded the goal and then changed his mind on nothing more than a protest from Maurice Ross. Another blatant piece of cheating by the most corrupt official ever to preside over a Scottish game.

26-03-2020, 02:11 PM
Surprised nobody's mentioned Dallas sending off Paco Luna at ER. Clearly never saw the handball, awarded the goal and then changed his mind on nothing more than a protest from Maurice Ross. Another blatant piece of cheating by the most corrupt official ever to preside over a Scottish game.

Was thinking about that one. Which competition was that? SC?

IIRC Luna headed the ball onto his own hand which if deliberate was the most outstanding piece of skill/cheating, but it it was so obviously not intended. Before the game I had to meet someone outside the main stand. Dallas arrived as I was standing there and was happily chatting away with groups of Rangers fans, took him ages to get in because as one group moved on another would come to say hello (hello) to him. Gave a couple of autographs too. :confused:

Gloucester Hibs
26-03-2020, 02:55 PM
Not at Easter Road, but Dean Shiels being sent off in the boxing day derby was ridiculous. We'd just hauled ourselves back to 2-2 after being 2-0 down and would surely have won the the game. How many times is a goal scored and the goalie holds onto the ball with the other side trying to retrieve it and thereafter a bit of "argy-bargy" follows? Almost never does it result in a sending off. Gordon did Shiels no favours mind you.

26-03-2020, 05:34 PM
Not at Easter Road, but Dean Shiels being sent off in the boxing day derby was ridiculous. We'd just hauled ourselves back to 2-2 after being 2-0 down and would surely have won the the game. How many times is a goal scored and the goalie holds onto the ball with the other side trying to retrieve it and thereafter a bit of "argy-bargy" follows? Almost never does it result in a sending off. Gordon did Shiels no favours mind you.

Whittaker hit both post with the same shot in that game before the Lithuanian cheat scored a peach to win it.

26-03-2020, 05:42 PM
Anyone remember the Scottish cup game against the huns when Murray got taken off with a head injury instead of being treated on the pitch and they scored when he was off? Drove me mad that game! Sure that wee Rat Novo got a straight red for crippling one of our defenders and Mixu was ragin’.

27-03-2020, 04:55 AM
Me too. That and the behaviour of their fans after the 79 cup final has left me with a deep seated, RATIONAL hatred of the Hun. I was sat behind the goal that day probably no more than 25/30 metres away and it was a disgrace how the ref gave that decision.

Fixed that for you 😉

27-03-2020, 07:33 AM
Whittaker hit both post with the same shot in that game before the Lithuanian cheat scored a peach to win it.

Think that was after they went 3-2 up. If there were ever moments to describe our luck in derbies, Whittaker hitting both posts and then 12 years later hitting the post at easter road and it rolling right along the line would be it.

27-03-2020, 07:44 AM
Not HIBS but Scotland 1 v 2 Italy was a gut wrencher European Championships

Italian forward fouls Scottish defender in our box free kick to Italy a minute to go 1-2 :confused:

LustForLeith
27-03-2020, 03:31 PM
Shelling out for a pie

27-03-2020, 03:37 PM
Not HIBS but Scotland 1 v 2 Italy was a gut wrencher European Championships

Italian forward fouls Scottish defender in our box free kick to Italy a minute to go 1-2 :confused:

Oh that was a doozie!

I always rationalise it’s with our equaliser from Ferguson being a mile offside.

But the foul on Hutton I think was incredible to see.
Also remember Italy had a monster of a striker who was about 8 foot tall. Was so obvious it needed two men on him. Turns out it was his header that won it.

What a campaign that was!

27-03-2020, 03:39 PM
Think that was after they went 3-2 up. If there were ever moments to describe our luck in derbies, Whittaker hitting both posts and then 12 years later hitting the post at easter road and it rolling right along the line would be it.

Yup.

The same one-in-a-hundred outcome from the same shot from the same player in the same game at the same scoreline in two different decades. Bet that's only ever happened in an Edinburgh derby.

27-03-2020, 04:09 PM
Apologies if already posted but the decision not to sub young Porteous as soon as his knee popped out the first time versus Livvy. :confused:

27-03-2020, 04:29 PM
Apologies if already posted but the decision not to sub young Porteous as soon as his knee popped out the first time versus Livvy. :confused:

Utterly ludicrous decision.

27-03-2020, 04:31 PM
Utterly ludicrous decision.

Na, he scored the equaliser, worth it :greengrin

Didn't he start the next match, might be wrong? I thought it was after that, maybe against Motherwell he actually got injured?

27-03-2020, 04:36 PM
Na, he scored the equaliser, worth it :greengrin

Didn't he start the next match, might be wrong? I thought it was after that, maybe against Motherwell he actually got injured?

Motherwell game was six weeks later and he only lasted twenty eight minutes

Hope he is 100% when he comes back