View Full Version : Nicknames
17-03-2020, 10:53 AM
So...in an effort to bring some cheer to these gloomy times, whats the best nickname you have heard, or even what was/ is your nickname now.
I'll start the ball rolling...was called suds at school and its stuck with me ever since...55years!
17-03-2020, 12:01 PM
Musselborough (thanks Andy74) was the nickname given to the late Justin Edinburgh which I though was brilliant.
My own personal best was for a lorry driver I used to work with who, with his strong Ayrshire accent, declared he “wisney dain if it’s mare than wan drop”. After he went on holiday to Mexico, naturally he became Juan Drop.
17-03-2020, 12:05 PM
Sooty, as a 13 year old crown green bowler playing in a team of adults, I became such a good player over a couple of years that I used to win the sweep for the highest up score most weeks. The guys nicknamed me Sooty (& sweep) it stuck with my mates ever since then.
17-03-2020, 01:06 PM
So...in an effort to bring some cheer to these gloomy times, whats the best nickname you have heard, or even what was/ is your nickname now.
I'll start the ball rolling...was called suds at school and its stuck with me ever since...55years!
Did you grow up in Slateford?
17-03-2020, 01:13 PM
Not mine or anyone I know but I seen it on Twitter a while ago... some guy is called Wayne Bruce so he gets called ManBat at work.
17-03-2020, 01:33 PM
I used to work with a Japanese company. One of the Japanese engineers was a particularity short chap.
He was soon named Cannae Reachy-san.
speedy_gonzales
17-03-2020, 01:55 PM
A guy I used to work with wore the same jacket, every day, for nigh on 3 years, he was nicknamed Dulux, because he only needs one coat.
17-03-2020, 02:16 PM
Two-Soups.
The boy's name was Campbell Baxter.
17-03-2020, 02:23 PM
One of the lads we play football, his name is Jack
Everyone calls him Coosto, and he has a car number plate with it as well
One the older ones will understand.
17-03-2020, 02:44 PM
One of the lads we play football, his name is Jack
Everyone calls him Coosto, and he has a car number plate with it as well
One the older ones will understand.
Often booked for diving??
17-03-2020, 02:58 PM
No....born and bred in leith😃😃
17-03-2020, 02:58 PM
Just remembered, knew a guy called cunningham who was nicknamed slybacon
17-03-2020, 03:01 PM
No....born and bred in leith😃😃
Nae bother, you must share a nickname.
17-03-2020, 03:05 PM
I was called Pants at school. It's quite funny when you bump into school mates and they still call you it, it suited my teenage self a lot more than it does a 42 year old man.
I've actually had millions of nicknames over the years.
17-03-2020, 03:08 PM
Nae bother, you must share a nickname.
Its derived from my surname. 2 of us suds were at school together 😁
17-03-2020, 04:14 PM
Just remembered, knew a guy called cunningham who was nicknamed slybacon
Aye so did I....Jim Slybacon :greengrin
17-03-2020, 04:45 PM
Often booked for diving??
That’s the one, he was very well known in the 70’s and 80’s
17-03-2020, 04:57 PM
That’s the one, he was very well known in the 70’s and 80’s
Likes calypso music too i'm told
17-03-2020, 05:51 PM
Bungalow Bill was always one of my favourites 😀
17-03-2020, 07:26 PM
Bungalow Bill was always one of my favourites 😀
Remind me who he was. Get the meaning, but can’t remember who it was
17-03-2020, 07:44 PM
Two-Soups.
The boy's name was Campbell Baxter.
17-03-2020, 08:06 PM
Remind me who he was. Get the meaning, but can’t remember who it was
Friend of Princess Margaret I think.
Nothing up top but plenty downstairs :greengrin
Former footballer Fitz Hall, nickname One Size :greengrin
my boring teenage nickname was Buddy, for reasons relating to :nerd:
these days it’s usually just the abbreviation of my surname, hence my username :greengrin
17-03-2020, 09:56 PM
Friend of Princess Margaret I think.
Nothing up top but plenty downstairs :greengrinWas it not Bill Wiggins - Joan Collins' husband.
17-03-2020, 10:19 PM
Was it not Bill Wiggins - Joan Collins' husband.
Ah yes that's him.
Just_Jimmy
18-03-2020, 07:58 AM
I Work with a bloke who's surname is Eastwood, Obviously he's known as Clint.
I'm not even sure what his real first name is.
Anyone at all with the surname Kerr is Juan.
I knew a guy who's surname was Heinz and he was always known as beans.
Trying to think of others I've known.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
18-03-2020, 08:48 AM
Portobello was the nickname given to the late Justin Edinburgh which I though was brilliant.
My own personal best was for a lorry driver I used to work with who, with his strong Ayrshire accent, declared he “wisney dain if it’s mare than wan drop”. After he went on holiday to Mexico, naturally he became Juan Drop.
It was Musselburgh.
Logie Green
18-03-2020, 08:50 AM
There was someone at my golf club nicknamed 'The Genie' because whenever someone opened a bottle he appeared.
18-03-2020, 08:52 AM
There was someone at my golf club nicknamed 'The Genie' because whenever someone opened a bottle he appeared.
That's like the guy in my local called torpedo, because he was always looking for a sub.
alhibby
18-03-2020, 10:36 AM
My late mates surname was O'malley, was know for many years as Mash
18-03-2020, 01:53 PM
A guy I knew was called the blacksmith when it was his round he made a bolt for the door
18-03-2020, 02:00 PM
I knew a guy whose nickname was Two Sheds.
He was a very big guy who said he couldn't fit into one shed.
18-03-2020, 02:15 PM
A well known guy in Liverpool in the eighties was Cherry Blossom, named so because he filled in the gap between his receding hairline and eyebrows with black shoe polish. Hilarious to see it running down the side of his face when it rained. Pretty sure you can find reference to him on google.
18-03-2020, 02:38 PM
It was Musselburgh.
It was
Alfiembra
18-03-2020, 03:42 PM
Anybody with the surname Ritchie Or Aitken was immediately given the name Mabawsa at my work.
18-03-2020, 07:43 PM
It was Musselburgh.
Was that not his brother Justootside Edinburgh?
18-03-2020, 08:18 PM
Fergus Cassidy = Fungus casserole
18-03-2020, 08:23 PM
Venegoor Of Hesselink became Vinegar of Castlemilk
Mixu62
19-03-2020, 01:30 AM
Heard the one about a guy called Wayne Bruce who was nicknamed Man-Bat.
Also used to enjoy the origins of Geebsie for Gordon Hunter!!
19-03-2020, 08:43 AM
Who gave Martin Boyle, his nickname Squirrel
I wonder if you know the two brothers from Hutchie who, back in the day, were called big cocky and wee cocky.
Looking back, they weren't the best nicknames 🤭
22-03-2020, 12:06 PM
There was a guy at my mates worked called Terry, he had to get one of his testacles removed and became one cherry Terry.