View Full Version : Question Anyone on here have Coronavirus wish to tell us about it?

13-03-2020, 10:32 PM
Be interesting to see if any members get it if they want to tell us how they think they caught it and how they are getting on if you feel you want to.

Caversham Green
15-03-2020, 09:31 AM
I don't know if it's the virus or not, but I'm not feeling great this morning.

It started on Friday with nothing more than a tickly throat. Yesterday it had turned into a throat that was a wee bit sore but I'm quite prone to that so under normal circumstances it wouldn't worry me greatly. This morning I woke up with a hefty headache and feeling sort of weak all over. I'm not coughing and my throat's no worse but I probably do have a temperature. It's all calmed down a bit now and I would normally just go about my normal business but I will be self isolating for at least a week regardless of how I'm feeling.

I haven't had a great deal of contact with anyone over the past week but I guess it just takes one contact to pass it on and if it is just a cold I must have caught that from someone anyway.

So, a week full of box sets and video games it is.

15-03-2020, 09:49 AM
I don't know if it's the virus or not, but I'm not feeling great this morning.

It started on Friday with nothing more than a tickly throat. Yesterday it had turned into a throat that was a wee bit sore but I'm quite prone to that so under normal circumstances it wouldn't worry me greatly. This morning I woke up with a hefty headache and feeling sort of weak all over. I'm not coughing and my throat's no worse but I probably do have a temperature. It's all calmed down a bit now and I would normally just go about my normal business but I will be self isolating for at least a week regardless of how I'm feeling.

I haven't had a great deal of contact with anyone over the past week but I guess it just takes one contact to pass it on and if it is just a cold I must have caught that from someone anyway.

So, a week full of box sets and video games it is.

Can I ask you, are you extremely irritable? I feel the same as you have felt but I am absolutely ****ing raging for no reason. It is very out of context for me to feel like this. I want to explode over nothing.

15-03-2020, 10:04 AM
Daughter and me have a slight cough and general weakish feelinh

Its abolsutely not enough to keep me off work in normal times so it feels like a real over reaction but the guidance suggests we should be self isolating

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

15-03-2020, 10:16 AM
Anyone feeling any cold or flu like symptoms should absolutely be following the government advice and staying away from work etc.

However it is worth remembering at this time of year in particular it is far, far more likely you have a cold or regular flu. If you are being constantly bombarded with news about coronavirus and information about the symptoms it's only natural you are going to notice the symptoms that fit that condition more than others.

Have a look at the depression and anxiety thread and find the people sharing their experiences of health anxiety. It really is amazing how stress and worry about health can manifest itself physically.

15-03-2020, 10:18 AM
Call 111 if you have any symptoms folks.

Caversham Green
15-03-2020, 10:22 AM
Can I ask you, are you extremely irritable? I feel the same as you have felt but I am absolutely ****ing raging for no reason. It is very out of context for me to feel like this. I want to explode over nothing.

Of course I'm not f*****g irritable you should know better than to ask me that.

Seriously, no not really. I'm maybe more the other way - just accepting that everything bad that happens is just part of my miserable life and there's nothing I can do about it. I'm overstating that a bit but hopefully you get the meaning.

Anyway get well soon to you and everyone else that gets this thing.

15-03-2020, 10:23 AM
Of course I'm not f*****g irritable you should know better than to ask me that.

Seriously, no not really. I'm maybe more the other way - just accepting that everything bad that happens is just part of my miserable life and there's nothing I can do about it. I'm overstating that a bit but hopefully you get the meaning.

Anyway get well soon to you and everyone else that gets this thing.

Same to you ya cretin!! 😂😂

15-03-2020, 10:29 AM

You've only to phone 111 if your symptoms don't improve after 7 days or your symptoms are severe.

The advice for the majority of people with symptoms is just to stay at home for 7 days. You haven't to phone anyone.

15-03-2020, 10:33 AM

The advice from NHS24 in Scotland is do not call them if you think or have very mild symptoms as their phone lines are so busy they can’t actually help people who have worse symptoms or another medical problem.

https://www.nhs24.scot/

I work in a doctors surgery and have been receiving a lot more queries and is only going to get busier. Please be patient when trying to call any NHS facility.

15-03-2020, 01:43 PM
Since last Wednesday I've been feeling under the weather, not the worst I've ever felt but just not right, started with a sore throat and like others have said my joints have felt pretty weak, my chest is a wee bit tight, not in a painful or stopping me breathing sense but just enough to make me know it's there, probably just the cold as I've had no high temp and a slight occasional cough when lying down

Just keeping an eye on it and if anything develops I will take it from there

15-03-2020, 02:57 PM
You've only to phone 111 if your symptoms don't improve after 7 days or your symptoms are severe.

The advice for the majority of people with symptoms is just to stay at home for 7 days. You haven't to phone anyone.

That's a bit heavy. I'm sure calling relatives and friends is fine.

I've got a bit of a throat and feel slightly wheezy in the chest, but not even all the time. Cough from time to time but I lways do that anyway. Verdict - cold.

StevesFamau5
15-03-2020, 03:03 PM
I have just finished 7 days of isolation. Started with a dry cough a week past Friday and gradually got worse during the week but seems to be slowly clearing up now.

My asthma was the main worry but inhalers and rest seems to have worked.

I am not 100% sure that it was Covid 19 but it was definitely similar. The symptoms of a chest infection and coronavirus seemed very similar.

I am clearing up nicely and have managed to lose a couple of KG's in the process...

Hopefully anyone who does or has it or anything similar recovers quickly as well.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

15-03-2020, 03:36 PM

FFS cannae phone anyone it now goes through phone lines or 4g now. Texting OK?

-Jonesy-
15-03-2020, 03:37 PM
My Mrs started feeling a sore throat last Saturday and went to GP on Monday and he diagnosed a sinus infection and gave her antibiotics.
7 days later she still has a slight cough and her fever has not gone below 37.5 all week. Other than the temp and a small cough and a bit of dizziness she’s not got any worse but not really any better either despite finishing her course of antibiotics.
I have a 19 month old daughter who got a snotty nose for a few days and me myself have had no issues or temperature at all.

Just wish there was a way to get tested because at least we would know if she had the virus or not and could asses the risk for the coming months.

15-03-2020, 04:04 PM
My Mrs started feeling a sore throat last Saturday and went to GP on Monday and he diagnosed a sinus infection and gave her antibiotics.
7 days later she still has a slight cough and her fever has not gone below 37.5 all week. Other than the temp and a small cough and a bit of dizziness she’s not got any worse but not really any better either despite finishing her course of antibiotics.
I have a 19 month old daughter who got a snotty nose for a few days and me myself have had no issues or temperature at all.

Just wish there was a way to get tested because at least we would know if she had the virus or not and could asses the risk for the coming months.

What I'm most concerned about with the current testing policy is a situation such as the one your wife is currently in.

She has an illness and given everything in the news it's only natural you fear she has said topical illness. As and when she makes a full recovery how does she then know she has had the virus and is no longer at risk of getting it again? People in that situation are going to be critical to keeping their own families and society ticking over in the weeks, possibly even months, ahead yet with no confirmation of their 'status' there is no way they can risk themselves or others.

Hopefully she's fully on the mend soon.

15-03-2020, 04:21 PM
Since last Wednesday I've been feeling under the weather, not the worst I've ever felt but just not right, started with a sore throat and like others have said my joints have felt pretty weak, my chest is a wee bit tight, not in a painful or stopping me breathing sense but just enough to make me know it's there, probably just the cold as I've had no high temp and a slight occasional cough when lying down

Just keeping an eye on it and if anything develops I will take it from there

It’s the cold I think, I’ve had it for a few weeks, same symptoms as you

-Jonesy-
15-03-2020, 04:32 PM
What I'm most concerned about with the current testing policy is a situation such as the one your wife is currently in.

She has an illness and given everything in the news it's only natural you fear she has said topical illness. As and when she makes a full recovery how does she then know she has had the virus and is no longer at risk of getting it again? People in that situation are going to be critical to keeping their own families and society ticking over in the weeks, possibly even months, ahead yet with no confirmation of their 'status' there is no way they can risk themselves or others.

Cheers, that’s my thinking exactly, if you know you’ve had it and recovered you don’t need to live in fear of catching it and spreading it.

15-03-2020, 04:37 PM
I started a cough last Saturday but felt ok til Monday night when I developed a sore throat and a worse cough and very runny nose. Tuesday, Wednesday had slight temperature, cough and constantly running nose. Thursday started to feel better but still coughing, sore throat had gone and nose not running as much, continued to improve since then. Not quite 100% yet but pretty much feel fine bar slight cough and slightly blocked nose.

Pretty sure it was a cold but could have been mild dose of coronavirus, I’ll never know I guess.

15-03-2020, 04:50 PM
How many of you have thermometers in the house? It's not something I've ever thought of until now.

Keyser Sauzee
15-03-2020, 05:02 PM
Woke up on Monday and could feel the beginning of a sore throat, nothing too bad just knew it’s was there. It got worse on Tuesday and in the afternoon I didn’t feel right at all. Wednesday my throat felt the same but that was all that was wrong, had it ever since but it’s been fading since then and it’s almost cleared now. strepsils and a couple lemsips are all I’ve taken. Don’t think for a second it’s been Coronavirus but how do u know without testing??.

15-03-2020, 05:25 PM
if you know you’ve had it and recovered you don’t need to live in fear of catching it Thanks Terry :aok: :greengrin

15-03-2020, 05:27 PM

Maybe I’m imagining it but was there not talk of Scotland having drive through testing facilities?

I’m the same as you in that surely we need to rapidly deploy some way of people knowing that a) they have the virus and more importantly b) that have had it and now recovered...if as they say that makes you immune (that seems to be the majority chat if still not conformed) then it’s these recovered people that may be the critical mass of people that need identified.

15-03-2020, 05:32 PM
Maybe I’m imagining it but was there not talk of Scotland having drive through testing facilities?

I’m the same as you in that surely we need to rapidly deploy some way of people knowing that a) they have the virus and more importantly b) that have had it and now recovered...if as they say that makes you immune (that seems to be the majority chat if still not conformed) then it’s these recovered people that may be the critical mass of people that need identified.

There is a drive through facility at the Western but you need to be referred.

15-03-2020, 06:00 PM
How many of you have thermometers in the house? It's not something I've ever thought of until now.

Got one of those infrared ones, got it for the boy when he was a bairn.

15-03-2020, 06:07 PM

I've got an infrared one and an ear one. We got both for the bairn.

I find the ear one a lot more consistent so tend to use that. A quick search on Google suggests a bit of debate about the accuracy of IR thermometers.

15-03-2020, 06:14 PM
Got an ear thermometer after daughter was born, Wife bought it.

15-03-2020, 06:21 PM
In sainsbosses yesterday, the things were being rationed..... Surely to God you only need one???????

-Jonesy-
15-03-2020, 06:29 PM
Thanks Terry :aok: :greengrin

Don’t get it..

15-03-2020, 06:42 PM
In sainsbosses yesterday, the things were being rationed..... Surely to God you only need one???????

So guessing might be bit of a struggle to get one if go to shops tomorrow

15-03-2020, 06:51 PM

My daughter works in Sainsburys. They have rationed pasta to 5 packets per transaction. One guy had 7 in his shopping trolley. After the 5th one went through she told him she couldn't put anymore through. His reply? They're not for me, they're for my mum, who's old! Aye, nice try.

-Jonesy-
15-03-2020, 07:16 PM
My daughter works in Sainsburys. They have rationed pasta to 5 packets per transaction. One guy had 7 in his shopping trolley. After the 5th one went through she told him she couldn't put anymore through. His reply? They're not for me, they're for my mum, who's old! Aye, nice try.

Old and Italian

15-03-2020, 07:39 PM

Hmmmmm

That depends if you are using it in more than one of the recommended ways.

15-03-2020, 07:45 PM
Don’t get it..

"Losing the first goal takes away the fear of losing the first goal." Or maybe "... an early goal ..." or something like that anyway!

-Jonesy-
15-03-2020, 07:54 PM
"Losing the first goal takes away the fear of losing the first goal." Or maybe "... an early goal ..." or something like that anyway!

Aahhhhh, Butcher :greengrin

15-03-2020, 09:19 PM
Hmmmmm

That depends if you are using it in more than one of the recommended ways.Errr ummmm :-/

goosano
15-03-2020, 11:09 PM
Woke up on Monday and could feel the beginning of a sore throat, nothing too bad just knew it’s was there. It got worse on Tuesday and in the afternoon I didn’t feel right at all. Wednesday my throat felt the same but that was all that was wrong, had it ever since but it’s been fading since then and it’s almost cleared now. strepsils and a couple lemsips are all I’ve taken. Don’t think for a second it’s been Coronavirus but how do u know without testing??.

The persistent mucus makes Covid 19 unlikely. Dry cough, fever and aches and pains the main symptoms. Rarely catarrh

goosano
15-03-2020, 11:12 PM

Good points, but the health care system is already under such a strain resource wise that it can only focus on people that are really unwell. Hence the basic advice not to call the helpline if you are just a bit unwell.

15-03-2020, 11:55 PM
I now know of two people. One in the UK, one in the USA.

One here is my age, still in isolation but he was very ill with it - he's got a family who have also been in self-isolation while he's been treated. He's on the mend now (still in hospital, surrounded by people in paper suits) but seemingly, just when they thought he was better a few days ago, it came back and he was floored again. He said the phlegm he has had towards the end was unbelievable and he felt like he was drowning. He'd been in Italy and was one of the earliest cases.

The person I know in the US is symptomatic since last week (cough, fever etc), called her local healthcare provider and was told that there were no tests available and that she would just have to self-isolate on the presumption she has it. She could call back if she became critically ill... After an initial onset of symptoms (persistent dry cough, hot/cold fever), they've lingered but not got worse and seem mild. She's got kids and while both have been in isolation with her, neither have become ill.

16-03-2020, 06:07 AM

I thought the advice was to self isolate and if you still feel the same in 7 days after isolation you should phone 111?

16-03-2020, 06:22 AM
I thought the advice was to self isolate and if you still feel the same in 7 days after isolation you should phone 111?

It is. People should NOT be phoning 111 just because they have symptoms.

16-03-2020, 07:53 AM
The persistent mucus makes Covid 19 unlikely. Dry cough, fever and aches and pains the main symptoms. Rarely catarrh

One here is my age, still in isolation but he was very ill with it - he's got a family who have also been in self-isolation while he's been treated. He's on the mend now (still in hospital, surrounded by people in paper suits) but seemingly, just when they thought he was better a few days ago, it came back and he was floored again. He said the phlegm he has had towards the end was unbelievable and he felt like he was drowning. He'd been in Italy and was one of the earliest cases.

See this is what confuses me. Experts tell you that a mucus, phlegm, wet cough means its highly unlikely its Covid 19. Then we get a confirmed case where its so bad the guy felt like he was drowning.

Caversham Green
16-03-2020, 07:53 AM

The person I know in the US is symptomatic since last week (cough, fever etc), called her local healthcare provider and was told that there were no tests available and that she would just have to self-isolate on the presumption she has it. She could call back if she became critically ill... After an initial onset of symptoms (persistent dry cough, hot/cold fever), they've lingered but not got worse and seem mild. She's got kids and while both have been in isolation with her, neither have become ill.

Your first friend makes me feel like a bit of a fraud as my symptoms are so mild by comparison. I'm getting sympathy that I wouldn't get if I had the same symptoms in normal times. Thankfully I realise that my isolation is for the benefit of others rather than myself but it's concerning that some mild sufferers might be tempted to just get on with their lives and infect other less fortunate people.

If it means I get a degree of immunity I kind of hope this actually is the virus that I've got.

I hope both your friends make a full and swift recovery.

16-03-2020, 08:21 AM
See this is what confuses me. Experts tell you that a mucus, phlegm, wet cough means its highly unlikely its Covid 19. Then we get a confirmed case where its so bad the guy felt like he was drowning.

From what I was told, his initial cough was dry and persistent and I can only join the dots to think that it softened from that to a bronchial rattle with lots of phlegm - personally, I've had chest infections like that. Indeed, had one just like it just before Christmas which lasted a few weeks and as disgusting as it is, the clearing of the tubes was eventually very satisfying haha

That said, though - so many variants of symptoms and different levels of severity from mildly under the weather to critically ill.

16-03-2020, 08:27 AM
Your first friend makes me feel like a bit of a fraud as my symptoms are so mild by comparison. I'm getting sympathy that I wouldn't get if I had the same symptoms in normal times. Thankfully I realise that my isolation is for the benefit of others rather than myself but it's concerning that some mild sufferers might be tempted to just get on with their lives and infect other less fortunate people.

If it means I get a degree of immunity I kind of hope this actually is the virus that I've got.

I hope both your friends make a full and swift recovery.

(Sorry - I've never figured out multiquote).

Yes, me too. Seemingly both are much better - the person in the US now seems fine (judging by social media!), but is still self-isolating at home. Having been in public health herself, she's raging that at no time has anyone taken full details about her to add her case to mapping the outbreak or spread of the virus: no interest in other contacts she's had etc, where she works etc.

Just a 'if it gets really bad, turn up to hospital'.

Last I heard at the tail end of last week, the guy was still in hospital but he's much improved.

16-03-2020, 08:30 AM
Itruly wonder how many people actually have this. The death rate is against confirmed cases but I would not be surprised if people infected was 10 or 20x the confirmed cases. I do not think the death rate % is accurate and believe it is a lot lower. Not saying its not dangerous I just think 1000s more have it.

16-03-2020, 08:35 AM
Itruly wonder how many people actually have this. The death rate is against confirmed cases but I would not be surprised if people infected was 10 or 20x the confirmed cases. I do not think the death rate % is accurate and believe it is a lot lower. Not saying its not dangerous I just think 1000s more have it.

I can't be alone in not understanding what you are trying to say here.

16-03-2020, 08:39 AM
I can't be alone in not understanding what you are trying to say here.

Im not trying to say anything, Im saying what I am saying. What is difficult about it? I think the offical confirmed cases is not accurate, I think 10000s more have it than offically declared therefore the death rate might not be accurate? Whats hard about that?

16-03-2020, 08:47 AM
Im not trying to say anything, Im saying what I am saying. What is difficult about it? I think the offical confirmed cases is not accurate, I think 10000s more have it than offically declared therefore the death rate might not be accurate? Whats hard about that?

That's slightly clearer. So, you think the reported absolute global death numbers figure is accurate, but you think the actual number of carriers is higher than reported, hence the percentage of those who die (or 'death rate') is actually lower than reported?

16-03-2020, 08:50 AM
(Sorry - I've never figured out multiquote).

Yes, me too. Seemingly both are much better - the person in the US now seems fine (judging by social media!), but is still self-isolating at home. Having been in public health herself, she's raging that at no time has anyone taken full details about her to add her case to mapping the outbreak or spread of the virus: no interest in other contacts she's had etc, where she works etc.

Just a 'if it gets really bad, turn up to hospital'.

Last I heard at the tail end of last week, the guy was still in hospital but he's much improved.

Glad to hear it, you there have the 2 cases that are interesting one in Hospital fully documented due to severity and your US friend not as severe but stayed at home. I assume then the US friend will not go down as a statistic as self isolated?

16-03-2020, 08:53 AM
That's slightly clearer. So, you think the reported absolute global death numbers figure is accurate, but you think the actual number of carriers is higher than reported, hence the percentage of those who die (or 'death rate') is actually lower than reported?

The amount of people who have died from it will be fairly accurate as I will assume that most who died had treatment of sorts from Drs etc, the true unknown is all the people who did not require such care who it came and went with some not even knowing about it or some staying home. IMO that has to be a significant figure.

16-03-2020, 08:54 AM

I think it was perfectly clear TBH.

16-03-2020, 08:57 AM
I'm sceptical about the idea that tens of thousands of people have unknowingly contracted the virus and recovered.

When was this supposed to have happened? The first UK cases were not reported until a few weeks ago.

16-03-2020, 09:02 AM
I'm sceptical about the idea that tens of thousands of people have unknowingly contracted the virus and recovered.

When was this supposed to have happened? The first UK cases were not reported until a few weeks ago.

That still does not mean people did not have this prior to that. I would not say 10,0000s had it but as of today saying about 1400 have it in UK? I cant believe its that low. If you think there are more than the declared confirmed then why could that not also call into question the first reported case?

Again reading stuff you get so much info that is different I have read it can be 2-8wks if vulnerable to succumb to it. Technically somebody who has passed away could have had this since January.

16-03-2020, 09:12 AM
Glad to hear it, you there have the 2 cases that are interesting one in Hospital fully documented due to severity and your US friend not as severe but stayed at home. I assume then the US friend will not go down as a statistic as self isolated?

That's what she seems to think. As I mentioned, she is in public health herself, so I think is quite attuned to this in a way that I wouldn't be, for instance. This is one of her main concerns - no attempt to contain the virus at all, they didn't ask where she worked, where she'd been and so on. Just that she should presume that she has it and self-isolate for (I think) 14 days. I can actually also see the sense in that, to be honest.

When she called after the initial onset of symptoms (which were key symptoms of the virus), the first responders basically said nothing could/would be done unless she was critical, in which case she (or presumably her family!?) would need to phone back and she'd be hospitalised.

I am absolutely certain that there are far more who have this in varying degrees of severity - than the official figures can possibly keep track of.

MagicSwirlingShip
16-03-2020, 09:24 AM

One of the initial symptoms is a dry cough.

This can develop into Pneumonia, a lung infection, or worse - Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (where the lungs fill up with fluid, hence the drowning sensation) - ARDS requires ventilators to enable the patient to breathe.

16-03-2020, 09:36 AM
That's what she seems to think. As I mentioned, she is in public health herself, so I think is quite attuned to this in a way that I wouldn't be, for instance. This is one of her main concerns - no attempt to contain the virus at all, they didn't ask where she worked, where she'd been and so on. Just that she should presume that she has it and self-isolate for (I think) 14 days. I can actually also see the sense in that, to be honest.

When she called after the initial onset of symptoms (which were key symptoms of the virus), the first responders basically said nothing could/would be done unless she was critical, in which case she (or presumably her family!?) would need to phone back and she'd be hospitalised.

I am absolutely certain that there are far more who have this in varying degrees of severity - than the official figures can possibly keep track of.

Cheers for that information very interesting from somebody on the front line.

16-03-2020, 11:28 AM

I'm not saying that's what it was, but around Christmas I had an absolute ripper of a dry cough with what felt like a proper heavy chest infection thereafter. I passed that without needing to go see a GP (I probably should have...), but I suspect there's plenty like me who'd go through it, feel a bit rough for a couple of weeks but not really think too much about it.

16-03-2020, 01:02 PM

Hard to know, but Spanish Flu didn't start in Spain. I know this is not flu.

16-03-2020, 01:38 PM
Wrong thread, the above page should be merged with the other thread.

16-03-2020, 04:24 PM

No idea about the 10s of thousands now infected but if it’s true that the UK govt is now only testing those requiring hospital treatment and it’s believed around 20% of people infected require hospital treatment then for every new recorded case, there would be 4 people infected not being recorded.

17-03-2020, 09:06 AM

Government estimates are that currently around 35,000-50,000 people in the UK have the virus.

17-03-2020, 09:26 AM
Government estimates are that currently around 35,000-50,000 people in the UK have the virus.

Those are huge numbers and I've no idea how they can come to that conclusion.

I do hope they're right, though.

17-03-2020, 09:50 AM

You hope 50000 people have it or have I read that wrong.

17-03-2020, 09:58 AM

I am guessing he means because it would mean the virus is not as dangerous as currently feared as lots of folk will not have symptoms and also the fatality rate will be lower.

17-03-2020, 10:00 AM
I am guessing he means because it would mean the virus is not as dangerous as currently feared as lots of folk will not have symptoms and also the fatality rate will be lower.

My first thought was the same. Hopefully there’s masses of people have it and are building an immunity/showing it’s not as dangerous as first feared. We’ll never know until proper testing is done though.

17-03-2020, 10:22 AM
I really wonder how many people are asymptomatic in this? I know its important to test frontline staff first but be interesting to test people who have been around it all but seem ok.

17-03-2020, 10:26 AM

We have 1543 confirmed cases as of last night with 55 deaths. What is not taken into account and truly cannot be known is the amount of people who had/have it and self isolated or didnt feel that bad or thought it was something else, this I have no doubt will run into the 1000s.

17-03-2020, 01:14 PM

Exactly. Thanks.

Fuzzywuzzy
17-03-2020, 02:32 PM
There was a boy going radge in the doctors this morning saying that he should be self isolating. Felt sorry for the wife behind the desk

Fuzzywuzzy
17-03-2020, 02:35 PM

Jason leitch had said that people will have it and not even be aware that they have had that symptoms have been that mild

17-03-2020, 03:03 PM
There was a boy going radge in the doctors this morning saying that he should be self isolating. Felt sorry for the wife behind the desk

If he thought that, why was he out at the docs?🙄

17-03-2020, 04:32 PM

What was he wanting his doctor's surgery to do about that?

17-03-2020, 04:52 PM
One of my sister-in-laws is Catalan and her brother who lives in Barcelona has it. He’s fit in his early 40s but had to go into hospital on day 5 with a lack of oxygen in his blood. He’s out now and back home. Worrying.

17-03-2020, 05:05 PM

There was a woman similar at school pick up this afternoon, going on about how schools should be closing etc until someone pointed out she didn’t actually have to send her kids in if she felt that strongly.

17-03-2020, 06:59 PM
Other half’s brother has all symptoms he’s in bed cabbaged so her mum and sister and other couple now self isolating. Thankfully we’ve not been near and the kids are fine. It’s becoming really real now.

17-03-2020, 07:00 PM

Why wasn’t he erm self isolating then?

17-03-2020, 07:44 PM
4 guys from our area team sent home today.
These guys work in pairs and one from each pair was feeling the symptoms.
Management sent all four home to isolate.

Dmas
18-03-2020, 08:56 AM
4 guys from our area team sent home today.
These guys work in pairs and one from each pair was feeling the symptoms.
Management sent all four home to isolate.

I work in a pair system, guy I work with was sent home as his wife has been told to self isolate after being part of a networking event, he has shown no symptoms other than muscle fatigue and a sore throat, he was sent home from work yesterday for the 2 week period and I was told to finish the day and stay off for the rest of the week ( I had 2 annual leave days booked in anyway) however, I have developed a dry tickly cough sore head and throat since Monday (when this guy returned to work) other than those I don’t particularly feel under the weather a normal circumstance I would take a paracetamol and get on with it.

It’s a worry my Mrs is pregnant due in 11 weeks, I’m scared of the economic issues as I get the keys to our first home on Friday, I’m scared to take the 2 weeks off incase it’s not this virus and I need to use more time later on in the year, I work in cash services should we see a lockdown like other countries we’ll take a huge hit in workload I really don’t want to be giving easy decisions if it comes to laying people off

18-03-2020, 09:30 AM
I work in a pair system, guy I work with was sent home as his wife has been told to self isolate after being part of a networking event, he has shown no symptoms other than muscle fatigue and a sore throat, he was sent home from work yesterday for the 2 week period and I was told to finish the day and stay off for the rest of the week ( I had 2 annual leave days booked in anyway) however, I have developed a dry tickly cough sore head and throat since Monday (when this guy returned to work) other than those I don’t particularly feel under the weather a normal circumstance I would take a paracetamol and get on with it.

It’s a worry my Mrs is pregnant due in 11 weeks, I’m scared of the economic issues as I get the keys to our first home on Friday, I’m scared to take the 2 weeks off incase it’s not this virus and I need to use more time later on in the year, I work in cash services should we see a lockdown like other countries we’ll take a huge hit in workload I really don’t want to be giving easy decisions if it comes to laying people off

You must isolate yourself, buddy.

Isn't testing available yet?

18-03-2020, 09:59 AM
I've got a question, well actually a mate brought it earlier but did make me think.
How many times will you/people self isolate. What if you self isolate for the 14 days but at the end of it you've not had it or showed any symptoms so try to get back to normal. You then come into contact with someone who might have it so you have to self isolate again for another 14 days. Are you gonna self isolate every 14 days as the circle just continues until you actually get it.

18-03-2020, 11:22 AM
You must isolate yourself, buddy.

Isn't testing available yet?

I’ve seen nothing on testing for days apart from some vague story about Scotland rolling something out to GP’s to cover some of the country.

I’m totally confused as to why this is not top of the agenda.

Fast and easy access to testing will not only prevent the 14 day isolation nonsense based on a vague suspicion and thus keep vital workers at work but also give the authorities a significantly better picture of the virus.

18-03-2020, 02:05 PM

If he thought that, why was he out at the docs?🙄

What was he wanting his doctor's surgery to do about that?

Why wasn’t he erm self isolating then?

Never mind those questions, why were you at your wife's work? :greengrin

Dmas
18-03-2020, 02:27 PM
I’ve seen nothing on testing for days apart from some vague story about Scotland rolling something out to GP’s to cover some of the country.

I’m totally confused as to why this is not top of the agenda.

Fast and easy access to testing will not only prevent the 14 day isolation nonsense based on a vague suspicion and thus keep vital workers at work but also give the authorities a significantly better picture of the virus.

Seem to have abandoned the testing when they moved from contain to delay, I don’t know the reason for this I think South Korea has proved that testing really got to grips with it also the WHO are advising test test test.

I don’t want to be off my work, I especially don’t want to be off my work with a silly cough I would like to get tested so I can return worry free on Monday because I can’t get tested unless I’m admitted to hospital im looking at 14 days isolation it’s ridiculous

18-03-2020, 03:05 PM
Seem to have abandoned the testing when they moved from contain to delay, I don’t know the reason for this I think South Korea has proved that testing really got to grips with it also the WHO are advising test test test.

I don’t want to be off my work, I especially don’t want to be off my work with a silly cough I would like to get tested so I can return worry free on Monday because I can’t get tested unless I’m admitted to hospital im looking at 14 days isolation it’s ridiculous

It certainly doesn’t seem sustainable....then you are still left not knowing if you had the virus or not!

Did seem some stuff about testing today....it’s difficult to see through the blizzard of info coming out from all over...seems capacity is an issue as well as the process. Capacity now up to 8,000 per day but still a slow process.

The ability to mass test the population seems a long way away.

They did suggest that a home test kit to confirm if you have antibodies (in other words have had but recovered from the virus) is being worked on and could be available relatively soon.

18-03-2020, 04:16 PM
I've got a question, well actually a mate brought it earlier but did make me think.
How many times will you/people self isolate. What if you self isolate for the 14 days but at the end of it you've not had it or showed any symptoms so try to get back to normal. You then come into contact with someone who might have it so you have to self isolate again for another 14 days. Are you gonna self isolate every 14 days as the circle just continues until you actually get it.

I think the short answer to that question is yes.

18-03-2020, 06:47 PM
Nothing on the shelves in Sainsburys yet again despite rationing. Thought there was enough food for everyone ?

18-03-2020, 06:59 PM
Nothing on the shelves in Sainsburys yet again despite rationing. Thought there was enough food for everyone ?

When everyone buys enough food for 5 then there isn't.

19-03-2020, 11:46 AM

Yes, and what if you get it. Then feel better. Should you go back into the office? Can you carry it again?

Also, say I fall ill. That means I’m 7 days in lockdown and my wife and two kids begin 14 days. I get better, then child 1 gets it, 5 days later my wife gets it, then 4 days after that child 2 gets it. When do the 14 days end. When the last persons symptoms clear, or when each individual person gets it and gets well.

All so confusing. We are seeing Gen 1 cases having been scunnered for a week actually getting back to work. Albeit working from home as they get back on their feet. Should they come back into the office?

Jay
19-03-2020, 12:01 PM

This was put to the doc on the Lorraine show or GMb ( he was on both) he said yes. If your household has been isolating and have been well and someone else gets ill you all have to isolate again.

19-03-2020, 12:39 PM
This was put to the doc on the Lorraine show or GMb ( he was on both) he said yes. If your household has been isolating and have been well and someone else gets ill you all have to isolate again.

No offence to the Doc on Lorain, but can the Goverment be clear on what this policy is on the .gov website.

Crazy that this isn’t explained clearly. Like I said, we have gen 1 people who are ready to come back to work.

19-03-2020, 12:57 PM

Tell that to your boss when trying to get your sick pay sorted.

Jay
19-03-2020, 02:10 PM
Tell that to your boss when trying to get your sick pay sorted.

Dont shoot the messenger :greengrin

Ive used all my statutory sick pay up. Makes no odds to me.at all.

19-03-2020, 03:13 PM
Has it been confirmed that once you've had it you cant get it again?

-Jonesy-
19-03-2020, 03:15 PM
Has it been confirmed that once you've had it you cant get it again?

No

19-03-2020, 04:27 PM
No

From what I have read the answer is effectively Yes.

While no one can never say never it’s clear the science suggests that unless it significantly mutates or you are immunocompromised then you will develop a permanent immune response during recovery.

Therefore it’s currently highly unlikely that you can catch this specific version of the virus twice....or to be more precise your immune system will swiftly deal with it if you encounter it again.

There also appears to have only been a single recorded case of someone having it twice and that case is easily explained by a counting for a number of factors (basically it’s believed that actually she only had it once).

All just from the various sources I’ve read so sure there might be other stuff out there that might suggest otherwise...

19-03-2020, 10:26 PM

While no one can never say never it’s clear the science suggests that unless it significantly mutates or you are immunocompromised then you will develop a permanent immune response during recovery.

Therefore it’s currently highly unlikely that you can catch this specific version of the virus twice....or to be more precise your immune system will swiftly deal with it if you encounter it again.

There also appears to have only been a single recorded case of someone having it twice and that case is easily explained by a counting for a number of factors (basically it’s believed that actually she only had it once).

All just from the various sources I’ve read so sure there might be other stuff out there that might suggest otherwise...

I was in a crisis meeting with our senior management and department heads the other day. I suggested that with employees permission we should run a list of who'd had the virus and recovered and suggested we used them first when we start coming out of hibernian to give those who haven't an extended period of protection. The company's doctors reply sent chills down my spine. He was of the opinion that those who'd recovered may be susceptible to other strains and the more re-infections people got the more the virus will weaken their immune system making them more vulnerable.

Jay
24-03-2020, 06:27 PM
Anybody think theyve had it and recovered without treatment?

patch1875
24-03-2020, 06:41 PM
I think I’ve had it. Possibly too early as it was mid/late December but I drive occasionally for Uber and picked up many Chinese tourists.

quickly onset of full blown flu symptoms and the dry cough, lasted about a week started to feel better but a few days later it kicked off again which forced me to the docs. Suspected kidney infection but that was clear so they thought prostate infection(I had peeing issues)

Daughter also had a fever and cough at the same time but mild and over within a few days.

or maybe it was just the normal flu?

Frankhfc
24-03-2020, 07:03 PM

The numbers of patients who've shown signs of a second infection after recovering from the virus are so minimal and the information so unreliable that its at this point extremely unlikely.

25-03-2020, 05:07 PM
Bit of a cough today and when I breathe out I have that chesty wheeze noise. would not say its a dry cough as such.

Jay
25-03-2020, 06:28 PM
Bit of a cough today and when I breathe out I have that chesty wheeze noise. would not say its a dry cough as such.

Ive been like that since yesterday with a slight temp. If i take a deep breath i end up in a coughing fit . We went into full isolation from this morning.

26-03-2020, 12:01 PM
I actually have a number of the symptoms but can't get a test, so don't know for sure.

I have some underlying health conditions as well, but there are more serious cases that will just have to be treated first.

I have no complaints with that, as there are people much worse off than me.

26-03-2020, 12:03 PM
....when we start coming out of hibernian ....

Deliberate? Or a Freudian Slip?

27-03-2020, 12:34 PM
My household is currently in the don't know camp.

Fiance had a bit of a sore throat starting on Monday afternoon, by the evening she was coughing and her temp peaked at about 38.2. By Tuesday the cough was much more frequent and she said she felt quite crap. Wednesday and yesterday was much the same, temp was back to normal but coughing was more frequent again . Today she feels better but is still coughing albeit less so. I've had a scratchy throat since Wednesday and am coughing infrequently, have felt a bit achy and cold but checked my temp and it's well within the range of normal. Daughter is neither up nor down and is full of energy.

I don't even feel as bad as I do with a heavy cold and I'm still able to do things about the house albeit I am a bit tired. It would be good to know one way or another but I'm leaning towards the 'something else' camp.

27-03-2020, 12:50 PM
My household is currently in the don't know camp.

Fiance had a bit of a sore throat starting on Monday afternoon, by the evening she was coughing and her temp peaked at about 38.2. By Tuesday the cough was much more frequent and she said she felt quite crap. Wednesday and yesterday was much the same, temp was back to normal but coughing was more frequent again . Today she feels better but is still coughing albeit less so. I've had a scratchy throat since Wednesday and am coughing infrequently, have felt a bit achy and cold but checked my temp and it's well within the range of normal. Daughter is neither up nor down and is full of energy.

I don't even feel as bad as I do with a heavy cold and I'm still able to do things about the house albeit I am a bit tired. It would be good to know one way or another but I'm leaning towards the 'something else' camp.

I reckon you missus is in the definitely got / had it camp. Therefore you and the wee one should be in lockdown.

My sister-in-law is a Nurse in London and has been floored by it. She keeps having false dawns then relapses. She’s feeling ***** today. She’s out the other end of the 7 days but still has symptoms.

Her doctor is telling her to continue to wait it out.

Criteria for coming back to work (to get a test) is 72hrs without symptoms. She’s well off that day.

She’s been told once she is back she will be in the testing unit. Believe it or not she’s looking forward to getting back to it.

27-03-2020, 12:54 PM
I reckon you missus is in the definitely got / had it camp. Therefore you and the wee one should be in lockdown.

My sister-in-law is a Nurse in London and has been floored by it. She keeps having false dawns then relapses. She’s feeling ***** today. She’s out the other end of the 7 days but still has symptoms.

Her doctor is telling her to continue to wait it out.

Criteria for coming back to work (to get a test) is 72hrs without symptoms. She’s well off that day.

She’s been told once she is back she will be in the testing unit. Believe it or not she’s looking forward to getting back to it.

We're all following the isolation rules.

Fiance is off work for at least 7 days from yesterday which is when she was first due in after first showing symptoms. The other 2 of us will be doing the recommended timescales as well.

Jay
27-03-2020, 01:32 PM
Im still pretty much the same, dry cough, slight temp, heavy chest and a bit sore but all very mild. Im on day 3 of isolation, id say symptoms probably started 4 days ago. Im doubtful this is it but treating it as if it is.

27-03-2020, 02:20 PM
My family were all pretty poorly in December, worst being my son who ended up in intensive care with suspected pneumonia. He had been coughing for about a week but not producing any fluid and then got a really high temperature on Hogmanay and was rushed to hospital.

Spent a week on a ventilator and I remember the doctor's being a bit bemused by his symptoms.

Now wondering if it was covid19. Probably was just pneumonia but would be good to know.

27-03-2020, 02:23 PM
My wife has it. She brought it back from Copenhagen ten days ago we think. Dry constant cough with wheezy tight chest. She also has a temperature but is constantly complaining of feeling freezing.

27-03-2020, 03:08 PM
Im still pretty much the same, dry cough, slight temp, heavy chest and a bit sore but all very mild. Im on day 3 of isolation, id say symptoms probably started 4 days ago. Im doubtful this is it but treating it as if it is.

That's pretty much where I am. Paracetamol seem to help quite rapidly.

27-03-2020, 03:10 PM
My wife has it. She brought it back from Copenhagen ten days ago we think. Dry constant cough with wheezy tight chest. She also has a temperature but is constantly complaining of feeling freezing.

Aye, I'm continually feeling cold too.

Jay
27-03-2020, 04:54 PM
Aye, I'm continually feeling cold too.

Yep me too but i have the window open all the time too as i need fresh air.

27-03-2020, 05:48 PM
Think I caught it after spending a weekend in London/Kent in early March. Was on and off public transport so probably picked it up there. Felt cr@p for a week, sore throat, heavy chest, persistent dry cough and chest pains when breathing.

Improved last week but this week, tight chest again, short of breath and coughing up green phlegm constantly. Feeling better yesterday and today.

Not really had a fever though and never felt really ill, so still not 100% sure it was covid-19.

28-03-2020, 07:21 AM
Think I caught it after spending a weekend in London/Kent in early March. Was on and off public transport so probably picked it up there. Felt cr@p for a week, sore throat, heavy chest, persistent dry cough and chest pains when breathing.

Improved last week but this week, tight chest again, short of breath and coughing up green phlegm constantly. Feeling better yesterday and today.

Not really had a fever though and never felt really ill, so still not 100% sure it was covid-19.

Pretty sure some of the advice indicated the cough would not bring up phlegm if covid.

28-03-2020, 08:18 AM
Pretty sure some of the advice indicated the cough would not bring up phlegm if covid.

Aye, I think that's right for the virus itself but it can then develop into a chest infection with phlegm etc.

The big problem of couse is that the symptoms of covid-19 are so similar to other standard viruses, nobody can really be sure if they've got it or had it previously.

28-03-2020, 08:22 AM
Aye, I think that's right for the virus itself but it can then develop into a chest infection with phlegm etc.

The big problem of couse is that the symptoms of covid-19 are so similar to other standard viruses, nobody can really be sure if they've got it or had it previously.

Ok yep as you say very similar to the common cold, flu and chest infections.

28-03-2020, 10:04 AM
I think I might have it. Gutted if I do as not been out the house since Saturday night except a doctors appointment on Tuesday. Other than doctor I've only been in contact with my wife and kids so had hoped it had passed me by. I've a weak immune system along with heart and kidney problems so if this is what it's like on day one, I could be in trouble.

28-03-2020, 10:42 AM
I think I might have it. Gutted if I do as not been out the house since Saturday night except a doctors appointment on Tuesday. Other than doctor I've only been in contact with my wife and kids so had hoped it had passed me by. I've a weak immune system along with heart and kidney problems so if this is what it's like on day one, I could be in trouble.

I hope you're ok, mate. 🤞

Jay
28-03-2020, 10:56 AM

With your issues should you not phone 111 for advice?

28-03-2020, 12:40 PM
With your issues should you not phone 111 for advice?

So basically I've to wait a day or two and if symptoms get worse, have to phone back. No wonder folk just turn up at the doctors/hospital. My wife is here incase I need to get wherever it is I need to get to sharpish.

28-03-2020, 12:46 PM
So basically I've to wait a day or two and if symptoms get worse, have to phone back. No wonder folk just turn up at the doctors/hospital. My wife is here incase I need to get wherever it is I need to get to sharpish.

Hope you're ok fella

stuart-farquhar
28-03-2020, 12:52 PM
Both my wife and myself displaying most of the symptoms. I had no idea that mental confusion might be experienced! The other day trying to make coffee I inexplicably threw out the coffee pod and put milk in the water holder. Was pretty weird.

I've almost totally recovered. My wife however partially recovers and then suffers other symptoms.

It most definitively feels like a novel virus. If you eventually catch it you will understand.

It's like its probing at all an individual's weak spots in a bid to gain control.

28-03-2020, 01:39 PM
Both my wife and myself displaying most of the symptoms. I had no idea that mental confusion might be experienced! The other day trying to make coffee I inexplicably threw out the coffee pod and put milk in the water holder. Was pretty weird.

I've almost totally recovered. My wife however partially recovers and then suffers other symptoms.

It most definitively feels like a novel virus. If you eventually catch it you will understand.

It's like its probing at all an individual's weak spots in a bid to gain control.

Are you suggesting your brain's your weak spot? :greengrin

stuart-farquhar
28-03-2020, 01:56 PM
Are you suggesting your brain's your weak spot? :greengrin

Lol. Has been recently!!

28-03-2020, 05:48 PM

Hopefully things will pick up for you soon. Hang in there.👍

Jay
28-03-2020, 06:20 PM

Take care. Keep us posted as you can.

I seem to be 99% over whatever I had. So much better today, just a rough throat like I need to clear it . All.other symptoms gone

28-03-2020, 06:26 PM

Take care, DH. Hopefully it eases pretty quickly and you either don't have it, or only experience a mild version!

We've got a family friend who's 10 days post-diagnosis (confirmed, as she was in hospital getting bloods done for something else and presented two of the symptoms). We were all pretty worried, as she's severely immunocompromised (undergoing chemotherapy for the nth time, prone to fluid on the lungs). She was utterly hellish with it from days 1 to 8, but is slowly starting to improve.

Jay
28-03-2020, 06:49 PM
Take care, DH. Hopefully it eases pretty quickly and you either don't have it, or only experience a mild version!

We've got a family friend who's 10 days post-diagnosis (confirmed, as she was in hospital getting bloods done for something else and presented two of the symptoms). We were all pretty worried, as she's severely immunocompromised (undergoing chemotherapy for the nth time, prone to fluid on the lungs). She was utterly hellish with it from days 1 to 8, but is slowly starting to improve.

It's so good to hear that it looks like shes beating it. We never hear these stories, especially from someone with really serious health conditions. Because of the reporting it's easy to assume if you have underlying conditions you won't survive it. I hope she continues to improve, shes sounds like a tough one

28-03-2020, 07:04 PM
It's so good to hear that it looks like shes beating it. We never hear these stories, especially from someone with really serious health conditions. Because of the reporting it's easy to assume if you have underlying conditions you won't survive it. I hope she continues to improve, shes sounds like a tough one

She's similar to a former poster on here (sure he won't mind me naming him, as his story was in the papers when we did the Hibs.Net longest day of golf charity event) - Lawrence (I haven't seen him in a while on here and can't remember his username, shamefully!). She's had cancer in excess of 12 times now and keeps fighting back and beating it. She said at the start of being diagnosed with this, that she was more scared of this than any of her previous cancer diagnoses, partly because of the unknown and partly because of the media hype.

We feared the worst post-diagnosis, but it's great to see her turning a bit of a corner in the past few days.

Jay
28-03-2020, 07:13 PM
She's similar to a former poster on here (sure he won't mind me naming him, as his story was in the papers when we did the Hibs.Net longest day of golf charity event) - Lawrence (I haven't seen him in a while on here and can't remember his username, shamefully!). She's had cancer in excess of 12 times now and keeps fighting back and beating it. She said at the start of being diagnosed with this, that she was more scared of this than any of her previous cancer diagnoses, partly because of the unknown and partly because of the media hype.

We feared the worst post-diagnosis, but it's great to see her turning a bit of a corner in the past few days.

I remember Lawrence well from his posts. I've had cancer twice now, finished chemo at the end of last year, ended up with multiple blood clots in both lungs and really struggled to breath but I have to say I'm more scared of this virus Her story has really given me a boost and hope.. Thanks for sharing it .

vein
29-03-2020, 04:50 AM

His username is houchy, top guy that I have sadly lost touch with. He’s not been online here for a good while.

29-03-2020, 05:42 AM
I was really poorly since early sat morning. Started off woke up with a cough, was then sick. Temp was roasting one min to cold and shivering the next. Fatigue set in with aches all over, by last night I could hardly walk the stairs to bed.

Managed to sleep for few hours, feel slightly better. Still got cough and feel as if I have been hit all over with a small hammer but the can walk about better.

If this is a different illness and the virus is worse I do not fancy getting it.

29-03-2020, 10:02 AM

Lawrence Stewart. I saw him a season or so ago at a game. Still around:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Just_Jimmy
29-03-2020, 12:46 PM
I've had a tacky throat and today I woke up stuffy and glutty. I've not other symptoms and I'm healthy. My issue is I'm a key worker and I really don't want to take any chances of compromising others but at the same I don't want to go off now if I don't have.

What I have I wouldn't normally even think about as more than a tiny bit sniffles.

Crap dilemma to be in. I'm off til Tuesday anyway so I'll see how I feel tomorrow.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

29-03-2020, 05:31 PM
My cough was not constant had it for 3/4 days now with phlegm and runny nose no temp so for me just a run of the mill job.

Tobias Funke
30-03-2020, 01:21 AM
I’ve posted about my mum and her diagnosis on the main Coronavirus thread in this sub forum. Please read if anyone wants more info on this virus, I think it’s important people know this illness has different ways of affecting folks.

Jay
11-04-2020, 05:48 PM
Hows everybody doing now?

patch1875
11-04-2020, 06:37 PM
My 80yo uncle was admitted to hospital with a fever, confirmed he had Covid19. That’s as bad as it got paracetamol kept the fever at bay and no other symptoms materialised he was told today he no longer has it and will be going home.

Strange how much it affects different people he has many health issues but not lungs or heart.

11-04-2020, 06:59 PM
My 80yo uncle was admitted to hospital with a fever, confirmed he had Covid19. That’s as bad as it got paracetamol kept the fever at bay and no other symptoms materialised he was told today he no longer has it and will be going home.

Strange how much it affects different people he has many health issues but not lungs or heart.
Great to hear, and thanks for sharing

Bangkok Hibby
28-04-2020, 03:17 PM
This thread has gone quiet. I sincerely hope anyone who posted and had symptoms is OK/recovereing

28-04-2020, 07:18 PM
I ended up in hospital spent some time on a machine but managed to beat it. Came home couple of weeks ago.

Funny enough I can't even remember my post above but I did reply on another thread.

When I think back I was so lucky.

28-04-2020, 08:28 PM
I ended up in hospital spent some time on a machine but managed to beat it. Came home couple of weeks ago.

Funny enough I can't even remember my post above but I did reply on another thread.

When I think back I was so lucky.

Glad to hear you are in the mend buddy.

One of the girls who works for me list her Gran last weekend to COVID-19.

She was in a care home, felt a bit crook on Friday, tested, went downhill on Saturday, admitted to hospital and then dies on the Sunday.

Pretty rapido.

29-04-2020, 08:16 AM
Glad to hear you are in the mend buddy.

One of the girls who works for me list her Gran last weekend to COVID-19.

She was in a care home, felt a bit crook on Friday, tested, went downhill on Saturday, admitted to hospital and then dies on the Sunday.

Pretty rapido.

Just after I got my positive result I want on to the ward. A few hours later I went downhill and ended up with a mask over my head quite quickly. Luckily I came round a few days later and was back on oxygen through my nose before they got me off it.

29-04-2020, 08:57 AM
Not sure I've had / have it, as I've not been tested. This week however, I have had the strangest illness Monday and Tuesday.

Started with severe fatigue, stomach issues, nausea on Monday morning. Progressed into a headache and chills later on with palpitations (possible anxiety) and stinging eyes. Paracetamol seemed to help big time and then rarely, a dose would do nothing. It felt like this hit me in waves throughout the day (maybe the painkillers did less of a job than I thought)

Yesterday, same symptoms except cold and flu tablets did their job in the morning and I was fine until 3pm, then had to go for a lie down. Sweats, freezing hands and feet, a pain in my kidney sporadically, my throat was getting sore and felt swollen, along with my lymph nodes.

Felt convinced I had it by last night when all of a sudden, I just started to feel better.

After a sweaty, broken sleep I feel ok today but still have a slight stomach ache. I may even stretch to no paracetamol and a home cooked meal instead of freezer food after work (from home).

Clearly, it's been a strange and worrying couple of days and this may be related to an entirely different bug / made worse through the anxious times we're living in, but I thought that I'd contribute here just as a way of sharing the experience for anyone possibly going through the same.

I still feel like I might cycle again through symptoms but today is a definite improvement. There will be no walk or workout again for me; but tomorrow is a possibility if things continue to improve.

No cough and only a scratchy, swollen throat. There's a lot of US based folks on reddit claiming a similar mixed bag of symptoms.

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

29-04-2020, 09:08 AM
Scratch that, I probably shouldn't leave the house until the 7th day!

29-04-2020, 09:15 AM
Not on here, but that chap Johnson's had it. Left him unable to answer questions in public.

Jay
29-04-2020, 09:35 AM
Scratch that, I probably shouldn't leave the house until the 7th day!

Yep 7 days isolation. Might be worth a call to the helpline as they may test you.

29-04-2020, 11:58 AM
Not sure I've had / have it, as I've not been tested. This week however, I have had the strangest illness Monday and Tuesday.

Started with severe fatigue, stomach issues, nausea on Monday morning. Progressed into a headache and chills later on with palpitations (possible anxiety) and stinging eyes. Paracetamol seemed to help big time and then rarely, a dose would do nothing. It felt like this hit me in waves throughout the day (maybe the painkillers did less of a job than I thought)

Yesterday, same symptoms except cold and flu tablets did their job in the morning and I was fine until 3pm, then had to go for a lie down. Sweats, freezing hands and feet, a pain in my kidney sporadically, my throat was getting sore and felt swollen, along with my lymph nodes.

Felt convinced I had it by last night when all of a sudden, I just started to feel better.

After a sweaty, broken sleep I feel ok today but still have a slight stomach ache. I may even stretch to no paracetamol and a home cooked meal instead of freezer food after work (from home).

Clearly, it's been a strange and worrying couple of days and this may be related to an entirely different bug / made worse through the anxious times we're living in, but I thought that I'd contribute here just as a way of sharing the experience for anyone possibly going through the same.

I still feel like I might cycle again through symptoms but today is a definite improvement. There will be no walk or workout again for me; but tomorrow is a possibility if things continue to improve.

No cough and only a scratchy, swollen throat. There's a lot of US based folks on reddit claiming a similar mixed bag of symptoms.

Dont mean to worry you but thought I would add my thoughts.

When I was ill, some days were better than others so I would feel alright again and then the following day it would be back very poorly. Just keep an eye on it.

29-04-2020, 12:04 PM
Dont mean to worry you but thought I would add my thoughts.

When I was ill, some days were better than others so I would feel alright again and then the following day it would be back very poorly. Just keep an eye on it.Thanks for the advice. I'll keep an eye on it.

That certainly falls in-line with the waves / cycling of illness that I've been feeling.

Was there anything in particular that pointed you towards requiring hospital treatment? I live alone and have been trying to balance being realistic about my chances of a decent and quick recovery with not wanting to leave something too late to ask for help.

29-04-2020, 12:31 PM
The two things I would say where you should take it really serious are breathing issues and if you cant string a sentence together. If either of them it's 999 no worries.

We called 111 three times and it took a while and no actual decision was made. Wish we had known as we would have called 999. I was poorly for a week before I went in. So glad I did in the end.

I struggled getting to toliet and it was really close towards end before I went in.

29-04-2020, 12:32 PM
The two things I would say where you should take it really serious are breathing issues and if you cant string a sentence together. If either of them it's 999 no worries.

We called 111 three times and it took a while and no actual decision was made. Wish we had known as we would have called 999. I was poorly for a week before I went in. So glad I did in the end.

I struggled getting to toliet and it was really close towards end before I went in.

That rules out half of .net! :greengrin

29-04-2020, 12:34 PM

You what oan aboot?

29-04-2020, 12:35 PM

Haha.

A guy in my ward was told by 111 an ambulance was on it's way one night but it never turned up so he went to bed. His wife had to phone 999 in the morning as he got even worse. He ended up on a machine linked mine. Better to be safe than sorry.

Jay
29-04-2020, 12:45 PM

Not corona related but it's so easy to just keep going and not want to bother anybody more than you have, I was in a bad way last year, mentioned it to a few nurses over a number of weeks and it was brushed off. I eventually called an emergency number and was told to go to the hosp right away. I was seriously Ill by that point and could easily not be here. . The one thing I've learned is to be a pest if your worried .

29-04-2020, 04:07 PM
Thanks for the advice. I'll keep an eye on it.

That certainly falls in-line with the waves / cycling of illness that I've been feeling.

Was there anything in particular that pointed you towards requiring hospital treatment? I live alone and have been trying to balance being realistic about my chances of a decent and quick recovery with not wanting to leave something too late to ask for help.

Definitely call the helpline. Tell them you live alone. Personally I would lockdown for 7 days now. Is there someone who can bring you food?

Remember some people have no symptoms at all. Some just feel a bit rough, some have some symptoms and not others.

The sudden fatigue and the waves of feeling terrible seem to paint a picture.

29-04-2020, 05:00 PM
Definitely call the helpline. Tell them you live alone. Personally I would lockdown for 7 days now. Is there someone who can bring you food?

Remember some people have no symptoms at all. Some just feel a bit rough, some have some symptoms and not others.

The sudden fatigue and the waves of feeling terrible seem to paint a picture.Just did it there.

They pretty much just reiterated what had already been advised by another poster -

Any sharp increase in breathing difficulties and chest pain, call back right away.

Being young(ish) and with no major health concerns that I know about, I should recover by myself. Might be covid, but could just be a different bug. I haven't ever really had a bug like this before though, but you never know.

I'm on day 3 right now and have plenty of food to keep me going into day 8 when I'm allowed back outside again, so long as symptoms are away.

If it comes to it, a mate lives a few minutes away who can pop to the chemist etc.

29-04-2020, 06:47 PM
Try keep calm. I panicked which made it a lot worse.

Frankhfc
29-04-2020, 07:02 PM
Try keep calm. I panicked which made it a lot worse.

Excellent advice.

Panicking tends to inflame the airways which will extra shorten breath. The best thing to do, imo, is to keep pressure off your back which is where most of your lung area resides to prevent unnecessary restriction, keep calm/relaxed with deep breathing helpful and take paracetamol. Sleep on your front or at least on your side to again prevent restriction of lung capacity. If breathing problems persist or gets worse phone for an ambulance or at the very least 111. Personally I'd seek help sooner rather than later as with most serious illnesses the quicker you get medical help the chances of surviving increase dramatically.

30-04-2020, 08:32 AM
Day 4 and I'm pretty much convinced I have it. Fever and fatigue has increased to a stage where I'm now just resting and not working from home.

I'd suggest that if anyone thinks they are getting a weird stomach bug, to assume that it could be covid.

30-04-2020, 09:24 AM
Dinky, in hospital the guy next to me the day I went in had no symptoms we know of. The only think wrong with him was he had not ate any food for a week.

Not sure how he ended up in hospital but he tested positive for the virus. Just so odd.

30-04-2020, 01:14 PM
Dinky, in hospital the guy next to me the day I went in had no symptoms we know of. The only think wrong with him was he had not ate any food for a week.

Not sure how he ended up in hospital but he tested positive for the virus. Just so odd.I've certainly not lost my appetite yet, having to slow down a bit to ensure I have enough to sustain myself!

The comment someone made above about the virus probing for a weakness is probably how I'd describe it so far. Lots of symptoms, thankfully none getting particularly worse, but maintaining the same crappy intensity with each wave. For an hour I'll be fine, for another I'm shattered.

Bored of the process already!

01-05-2020, 08:35 AM
Just wanted to update that this seems to have left as quickly as it came on.

Maybe it was a mild dose of coronavirus, maybe it was something else, probably my anxiety of having it due to the wall to wall coverage we have right now hasn't helped at all.

Definitely going to continue taking it easy for a while but today I feel like I'm dealing with the aftermath of something rather than being ill. Today would be day 5.

01-05-2020, 06:24 PM
I’ve been fine myself but know a few people who have been unfortunate to contract the virus. One was particularly badly affected and spent a while in ICU. He posted this online and I’m sure he wouldn’t mind me posting it here.

Well here I am at home after 19 days in hospital with the virus.
Rollercoaster of an illness but luckily came out the other end and now happy to be back home.
I would like to thank all staff in ICU, CV 2, Ward 5 and Covid HD, I owe you my life, it's difficult to express just how much admiration I have for you all from Consultant to Cleaners, you put your life on the line every single day you attend work, there is a choice there but I never once felt that you considered there was that choice, duty to you patients was always foremost, I have hugh respect for you all, thank you very very much.
One little problem I have is that because you all wear your PPE while in the ward I have absolutely no idea what any of you look like without it, so if you come across me on the street in the future please make yourself known to me so that I may thank you in person.
I would also like to thank the many hundreds of well wishers for their words of encouragement, I did read every comment which kept me going through the long days and nights.
Still a bit weak but with ******’s help hopefully back on the road to fitness very soon and with luck will bump into you to thank you personally for all your encouraging words.
Keep well and stay safe.

It really strikes home when it’s someone you know.

02-05-2020, 06:24 AM
Just wanted to update that this seems to have left as quickly as it came on.

Maybe it was a mild dose of coronavirus, maybe it was something else, probably my anxiety of having it due to the wall to wall coverage we have right now hasn't helped at all.

Definitely going to continue taking it easy for a while but today I feel like I'm dealing with the aftermath of something rather than being ill. Today would be day 5.

Read you were feeling better, good to hear.

02-05-2020, 06:57 AM
Read you were feeling better, good to hear.Plot-twist. Probably just been the sickest I've ever been for 12 hours. Felt fine all day and then feverish for a significant period of time. On the verge or over-dosing on paracetamol and not quite sure how I'll cope if this gets any worse.

02-05-2020, 07:18 AM
Think you need to get back on the phone to 111 at the very least.

Any breathing issues or problems with talking ring or get someone to ring 999. Not worth risk. Try stay calm.

02-05-2020, 08:11 AM
Plot-twist. Probably just been the sickest I've ever been for 12 hours. Felt fine all day and then feverish for a significant period of time. On the verge or over-dosing on paracetamol and not quite sure how I'll cope if this gets any worse.

Any breathing issues or problems with talking ring or get someone to ring 999. Not worth risk. Try stay calm.

Yeah definitely give them a phone, I'm sure they'll be more than happy to be called out and for you to be negative, compared with the alternative of continuing to get worse without any treatment.

Even if it's not Coronavirus, we keep hearing every day that the NHS continues to operate and "if it's urgent, it's urgent" so I'd definitely phone them and get someone to check you out.

02-05-2020, 08:23 AM

Any breathing issues or problems with talking ring or get someone to ring 999. Not worth risk. Try stay calm.Would the problems talking be fatigue to breathing related? I'm a but slurry today but I can breathe

02-05-2020, 09:34 AM
Would the problems talking be fatigue to breathing related? I'm a but slurry today but I can breathe

Really sorry to hear the troubles you are experiencing. Do you have any friends in the medical profession that you can talk to? Perhaps they might reassure you one way or another.

02-05-2020, 09:42 AM
Really sorry to hear the troubles you are experiencing. Do you have any friends in the medical profession that you can talk to? Perhaps they might reassure you one way or another.Yeah, I've chatted to a couple and it's just really the same message. Impossible to tell without a test, would be reluctant to take me in unless I was severely breathless or experiencing persistent chest pain due to the fear of me catching it if I have something else.

I mean, I have it. Unless there's another episodic super flu going around [emoji849]

Can't get tested according to an Out of Hours doctor because I've had symptoms for 6 days already now

02-05-2020, 09:51 AM
Yeah, I've chatted to a couple and it's just really the same message. Impossible to tell without a test, would be reluctant to take me in unless I was severely breathless or experiencing persistent chest pain due to the fear of me catching it if I have something else.

I mean, I have it. Unless there's another episodic super flu going around [emoji849]

Can't get tested according to an Out of Hours doctor because I've had symptoms for 6 days already now

A lot of the symptoms you are describing sound similar to what my fiance had. She had fatigue and a general 'feeling crap' that came and went in waves. Add to that she had a headache that 'felt like a migraine' and periods of sweating then feeling freezing. The only difference was she had a cough that got gradually worse. She called 111 on the 7th day as she wasn't really getting better and was told the same, we won't test you unless you are struggling to breathe or if you start getting rapidly worse.

On the plus side the fatigue and crap feeling lifted after about 9 days and the cough gradually eased. She checked and was advised it was OK to return to work on the 16th day even although she still had a lingering light cough.

Thankfully I've been OK and we are about 30 days on from her first symptoms now. I did have a far milder flu like illness that lasted a few days in very early March (about a week after a work colleague who had been in Rome for the rugby had similar) so who knows.

02-05-2020, 10:00 AM
A lot of the symptoms you are describing sound similar to what my fiance had. She had fatigue and a general 'feeling crap' that came and went in waves. Add to that she had a headache that 'felt like a migraine' and periods of sweating then feeling freezing. The only difference was she had a cough that got gradually worse. She called 111 on the 7th day as she wasn't really getting better and was told the same, we won't test you unless you are struggling to breathe or if you start getting rapidly worse.

On the plus side the fatigue and crap feeling lifted after about 9 days and the cough gradually eased. She checked and was advised it was OK to return to work on the 16th day even although she still had a lingering light cough.

Thankfully I've been OK and we are about 30 days on from her first symptoms now. I did have a far milder flu like illness that lasted a few days in very early March (about a week after a work colleague who had been in Rome for the rugby had similar) so who knows.Your fiance's recovery is reassuring. I guess what I'm struggling a bit with is feeling like hey, maybe I just exaggerated all of that yesterday (like right now) to feeling like yep, the symptoms are definitely getting rapidly more intense. Seems to occur at around 4pm onwards although up until yesterday it was small waves whereas I'd been bed bound and feverish all evening until now.

I've probably not been the best social distancer as my gf and her kids did have a one day stomach bug (I'd been staying half the week there and half the week at mines) which I assumed I was getting on Monday. It's definitely not been a stomach bug!

And before I get lynched [emoji6], I'd been going between my (empty) household and hers, nowhere else. If I'd have moved in properly, I still would have caught it by the looks of things.

02-05-2020, 10:10 AM
Your fiance's recovery is reassuring. I guess what I'm struggling a bit with is feeling like hey, maybe I just exaggerated all of that yesterday (like right now) to feeling like yep, the symptoms are definitely getting rapidly more intense. Seems to occur at around 4pm onwards although up until yesterday it was small waves whereas I'd been bed bound and feverish all evening until now.

I've probably not been the best social distancer as my gf and her kids did have a one day stomach bug (I'd been staying half the week there and half the week at mines) which I assumed I was getting on Monday. It's definitely not been a stomach bug!

And before I get lynched [emoji6], I'd been going between my (empty) household and hers, nowhere else. If I'd have moved in properly, I still would have caught it by the looks of things.

All I'd add is that you know your own body. If you believe you are getting worse then call for assistance again. Even if it doesn't lead to a test a GP or NP might be able to chat with you and offer some advice and reassurance.

02-05-2020, 11:19 AM
Would the problems talking be fatigue to breathing related? I'm a but slurry today but I can breathe

Any speech issues they ask you questions and send an ambulance if they feel the issue is serious enough.

I reached day 7 before going to hospital, I reckon I should have gone from day 5.

02-05-2020, 11:45 AM
Any speech issues they ask you questions and send an ambulance if they feel the issue is serious enough.

I reached day 7 before going to hospital, I reckon I should have gone from day 5.Cool. Day 6 for me. Certainly don't feel unwell enough presently to be hospitalised. Able to shower, make breakfast, watch tele - e.g. a normal 'sick day'.

I hope that means I'm a more mild case but I can absolutely see how things could deteriorate quickly. It's like my body suddenly fires up an immune response and I struggle until it passes, which could be hours.

Fingers crossed I'm getting to the tail end of it and god forbid anyone else on here has something similar, they can read through for some validation, comfort and perhaps advice.

We'll see what later brings.

02-05-2020, 04:50 PM
How you feeling now?

Jay
02-05-2020, 05:27 PM
Dinkydoo dont second guess yourself, make the call for advice if you need to, make it ten times if you need to. Your obviously ill and going downhill at times. Day 7 seems to be a turnaround for many so hopefully tomorrow you'll feel better but dont doubt how bad you've been. Go with your gut

02-05-2020, 05:36 PM
Today I have had more energy and felt more positive than I have all week.

5pm rolls round and typically, I started to feel crap again but I feel like I just have a low grade fever and the other symptoms are more manageable. Keeping a close eye on things but hopefully (****ing hopefully!) I hit the peak throughout the night.

03-05-2020, 11:28 AM
Hope you feel a bit better today if not it may be time to get some further help.

03-05-2020, 11:37 AM
Really fatigued today and feeling a bit sick / sore head, but not much else.

Yesterday I felt almost normal all day and at night I only had a mild fever

03-05-2020, 12:27 PM

Many GP surgeries are open tomorrow, think it would be best if you phone your own GP and get a telephone appointment. They may get you in for other tests to rule things out and maybe give you medications to help.

I work in a GP surgery and this is the advice I would give one of my patients. Hope things start to settle soon for you

04-05-2020, 07:30 AM

Dinky as above I really hope you seek advice as soon as possible.

04-05-2020, 08:31 AM
Feel like I'm turning the corner. Saturday was a good day, yesterday I had a couple of bad spells and started to feel a bit tight chested and congested. Feared the worst after seeing the better then worse pattern that severe cases tend to follow but

Touching ALL the wood! I feel alright so far this morning. No fever last night. Chest is no worse today. Not the quick deterioration that my anxiety was on hyper alert for, at least.

I might be getting there.

06-05-2020, 12:01 PM
Hope all is well Dinky?

06-05-2020, 12:56 PM
Hi mate.

Struggled on for another couple of days. Really I felt that the worst of it was Friday night with that horrendous fever, however I did get progressively more breathless, fatigued and chesty (with a bunch of light headed symptoms thrown in just to mess with me) since Sunday.

The past two days have been a couple steps forward, one step back. Some worrying symptoms like mega low temperature and palpitations, but intermittent enough for NHS 24 to not want to bring me in yet.

Cleared to go back outside due to no fever or cough, but grabbing some groceries has taken it out of me and I'll be on my arse for the rest of the day.

Baby steps. Feel like the funny turns are getting less and perhaps over, so long as I take care.

All in all, a ****ing horrific 10 days but I'm cautiously positive that this is post viral stuff I'm now dealing with.

AugustaHibs
06-05-2020, 01:22 PM
Hi mate.

Struggled on for another couple of days. Really I felt that the worst of it was Friday night with that horrendous fever, however I did get progressively more breathless, fatigued and chesty (with a bunch of light headed symptoms thrown in just to mess with me) since Sunday.

The past two days have been a couple steps forward, one step back. Some worrying symptoms like mega low temperature and palpitations, but intermittent enough for NHS 24 to not want to bring me in yet.

Cleared to go back outside due to no fever or cough, but grabbing some groceries has taken it out of me and I'll be on my arse for the rest of the day.

Baby steps. Feel like the funny turns are getting less and perhaps over, so long as I take care.

All in all, a ****ing horrific 10 days but I'm cautiously positive that this is post viral stuff I'm now dealing with.

Good to hear you are slowly starting to feel better, having read your symptoms it surely has to be coronavirus.

06-05-2020, 01:37 PM
Yep, a real mixed bag of crap. Felt like my body was trying to put out 10 fires at once when a wave came on.

Some of the NHS 24 doctors were brilliant, others terrible.

Don't want to say too much since I'm in early recovery but I wouldn't be surprised to hear of people living themselves dying due to a deterioration and the near impossibility for medical examination or test.

If you're not having a heart attack or stroke and can speak in a sentence, you're not getting an ambulance or someone out to the house. I rang one once due to how bad I was feeling and was papped off to the covid support team. The NHS is not open, no matter how many times that is being said.

The support for people in the middle ground of waiting to either get better or worse is simply stay at home until you need to be ventilated.

06-05-2020, 02:16 PM
Yep, a real mixed bag of crap. Felt like my body was trying to put out 10 fires at once when a wave came on.

Some of the NHS 24 doctors were brilliant, others terrible.

Don't want to say too much since I'm in early recovery but I wouldn't be surprised to hear of people living themselves dying due to a deterioration and the near impossibility for medical examination or test.

If you're not having a heart attack or stroke and can speak in a sentence, you're not getting an ambulance or someone out to the house. I rang one once due to how bad I was feeling and was papped off to the covid support team. The NHS is not open, no matter how many times that is being said.

The support for people in the middle ground of waiting to either get better or worse is simply stay at home until you need to be ventilated.

I am actually based in England and I feel the support here was decent mostly.

Glad to hear you are ok though as we had not heard from you in a few days.

Funny enough every nurse in the hospital was amazing except one which is really odd as she was awful to me twice on different days. I guess they are really stressed.

06-05-2020, 02:29 PM
Thanks. Your support really helped in some of the tougher moments, by the way.

I've not really got beef with any of the people I've spoken with over the past week other than one Dr who asked if I had anyone to check in, every couple of hours, just to make sure I wasn't dead (ha ha ha). The approach to care could be improved though, I feel. Although I appreciate it's a new and changing landscape.

I'd encourage anyone living alone that goes through that level of illness to at least put a wee message on here.

Staying positive that I'm past the point of severe relapse.

06-05-2020, 04:35 PM
Thanks. Your support really helped in some of the tougher moments, by the way.

I've not really got beef with any of the people I've spoken with over the past week other than one Dr who asked if I had anyone to check in, every couple of hours, just to make sure I wasn't dead (ha ha ha). The approach to care could be improved though, I feel. Although I appreciate it's a new and changing landscape.

I'd encourage anyone living alone that goes through that level of illness to at least put a wee message on here.

Staying positive that I'm past the point of severe relapse.

In all seriousness if people don’t have anyone and they are happy, post your area and if you are happy just to chap on someone’s door or make contact through DM.

A girl on my street posted her number through our letterbox at the start of the lockdown and we have all got a local WhatsApp group now.

I have picked up prescriptions and checked on people on my street that I would never have done before this.

06-05-2020, 06:55 PM
Good idea.

Whilst I did have family and friends checking in on me, dropping off supplies etc. It was also nice to sounds things off with people who'd also had coronavirus. The symtpoms are so varied and unpredictable that it gave me a bit of comfort and I felt more in control.

06-05-2020, 06:58 PM
When I was going through it I felt like I was never in control even when I was well some mornings by afternoon i was all over the place.

The symptoms are very odd and i think i have posted before one guy lost his appetite and was positive for the virus. Let's hope it ends soon.

07-05-2020, 02:19 PM
My partner lost appetite, had a cough, no smell and a burning nose, headaches and no energy, she's very fatigued. Just going to the toilet is a chore and she needed a rest afterwards.

She was tested positive 8 days ago, she works in a care home and nursed a man the week before who died of covid 19 on the thursday, and then nursed his wife that weekend who subsequently has died of it after my partner went off ill on the Sunday.

I on the other hand, have only had the headache a slight cough and burning nose, with slight taste loss. I have been doing the garden and washing the car with no problems so far.

She's doing much better and is nearly a fortnight into this. :pray:

07-05-2020, 04:17 PM
My partner lost appetite, had a cough, no smell and a burning nose, headaches and no energy, she's very fatigued. Just going to the toilet is a chore and she needed a rest afterwards.

She was tested positive 8 days ago, she works in a care home and nursed a man the week before who died of covid 19 on the thursday, and then nursed his wife that weekend who subsequently has died of it after my partner went off ill on the Sunday.

I on the other hand, have only had the headache a slight cough and burning nose, with slight taste loss. I have been doing the garden and washing the car with no problems so far.

Hopefully it continues to improve for you both.

07-05-2020, 04:39 PM

Your partner sounds like me in the first week. Glad she is two weeks in hopefully near the end of it.

Eaststand
07-05-2020, 05:01 PM

Speedy recovery to you and your partner 👍

07-05-2020, 07:11 PM
My partner is scheduled to go back to work next tuesday, i find this difficult to understand. Even if she is well enough to go back, she's had the virus and reading about it, it says she's still liable to carry the virus for a while yet.

She works in a care home, even though she is probably not going to catch it again, surely she could infect the residents?

Or am i not understanding this right? :confused:

07-05-2020, 07:16 PM
My partner is scheduled to go back to work next tuesday, i find this difficult to understand. Even if she is well enough to go back, she's had the virus and reading about it, it says she's still liable to carry the virus for a while yet.

She works in a care home, even though she is probably not going to catch it again, surely she could infect the residents?

Or am i not understanding this right? :confused:At least 7 days since first symptoms began, a cough that has improved (or no cough) and 3 days without a fever or the sensation of fever (cold/hot/shivery where the thermometer doesn't back you up).

Heard it today from a Dr working in a covid assessment centre

That's to go back outside and maintain social distance. Not sure quite how practical that is in a high risk, close contact environment such as a care home!

07-05-2020, 08:25 PM

I think it can depend on how bad you’ve had it and if you get a nastier “post-viral” fatigue spell afterwards.

That’s no job to be doing if you’re running on empty.

11-05-2020, 12:18 PM
Hope everyone is doing well that were poorly. 👍

12-05-2020, 11:58 AM
I've been mostly feeling back to normal for a week now. Really just re-adjusting to a full schedule again. Managed a run today although did feel a bit chesty and lethargic. All in all, not bad considering how I felt 7-10 days ago!

Hope Blackpool and the family are doing ok.

12-05-2020, 01:45 PM
I've been mostly feeling back to normal for a week now. Really just re-adjusting to a full schedule again. Managed a run today although did feel a bit chesty and lethargic. All in all, not bad considering how I felt 7-10 days ago!

Good news 👍.

I feel like that after running but I’ve been doing it for years and I’ve not had covid afaik😀

13-05-2020, 06:39 AM

Glad you are feeling much better.:aok:

We are good, i have only had very mild symptoms and it has not stopped me doing anything other than leave the house.

My partner is much better after suffering all the headaches, cough, lack of taste and smell, but worse was the aching body and fatigue.

She is much better now, and talking about going back to work next Tuesday.

13-05-2020, 07:34 AM

We are good, i have only had very mild symptoms and it has not stopped me doing anything other than leave the house.

My partner is much better after suffering all the headaches, cough, lack of taste and smell, but worse was the aching body and fatigue.

Good to hear.

13-05-2020, 07:35 AM

Good to hear G. 👍

13-05-2020, 09:22 AM
Glad everyone seems well.

13-05-2020, 09:39 AM
Glad everyone seems well.

How are you feeling a few weeks down the line?

Any lasting effects that you are aware of, either physical or mental?

13-05-2020, 12:46 PM
How are you feeling a few weeks down the line?

Any lasting effects that you are aware of, either physical or mental?

Still ache a little bit every now and then but overall seem ok. My speech when I came out was a bit bad but that has returned to normal too.

13-05-2020, 01:02 PM

Has she not been tested again?

There are lots of people who are asymptomatic, but testing positive. Equally, there are people who have tested positive for Covid, been unwell, recovered but remain positive.

13-05-2020, 05:24 PM
Has she not been tested again?

There are lots of people who are asymptomatic, but testing positive. Equally, there are people who have tested positive for Covid, been unwell, recovered but remain positive.

No, not been asked to test again?

And she goes back to work next week, back into a care home full of elderly.:confused:

13-05-2020, 06:10 PM
No, not been asked to test again?

And she goes back to work next week, back into a care home full of elderly.:confused:

PM sent.

13-05-2020, 06:52 PM
PM sent.