View Full Version : Hearts won't get relegated.

MacGruber
12-03-2020, 08:55 AM
There, said it. Hearts won't get relegated this season. Sorry to disappoint

12-03-2020, 08:55 AM
Look at me

12-03-2020, 08:56 AM
Cool story

12-03-2020, 09:01 AM

Indeed you said it. Uri Geller has spoken.

hibeerealist
12-03-2020, 09:04 AM

Sauce?

12-03-2020, 09:08 AM
If we all say ut it will happen.

allyh1bs
12-03-2020, 09:09 AM

Ut.

12-03-2020, 09:10 AM
That's what I like to see, a nice uncontroversial thread topic

12-03-2020, 09:10 AM
Ut.

I'm not sure I get it but I'm in 😁

Ut

12-03-2020, 09:11 AM

Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut Ut

Just making sure.

Barman Stanton
12-03-2020, 09:12 AM
Great insight. Would read it again.

12-03-2020, 09:23 AM
Great insight. Would read it again.

I wouldn't. The lack of a full stop at the end of the sentence made me feel sick.

12-03-2020, 09:24 AM
If we'd have beat them at ER this season they already would be.

12-03-2020, 09:27 AM
Ut too infinite and beyond.

badabing67
12-03-2020, 09:28 AM
Mon the Sainties :na na:

12-03-2020, 09:40 AM
Yawn.

I think they will.

UT.

12-03-2020, 09:46 AM
You better believe ut.

12-03-2020, 09:49 AM
How many teams in Hearts' position at this stage of the season have found a way out of it?

12-03-2020, 09:49 AM
I hope they go down.

12-03-2020, 09:56 AM

I’ve been thinking the same for some while, but reality is now sinking in. They really are poor and struggling and I am now convinced they will go down. They’ve had one or two unexpected results (to our embarrassment) but they can’t hack it against the teams they are in direct competition with.

12-03-2020, 10:02 AM
They will.

12-03-2020, 10:05 AM
yawn.

I think they will.

Ut.

ut utb utb a hibby

12-03-2020, 10:07 AM
ut utb utb a hibby

HA! very good

12-03-2020, 10:15 AM
Let's get relegation done

MacGruber
12-03-2020, 10:22 AM
They won't. They'll scrape out of it, luck out of it, fluke out of it. They'll stay up by a goal, by a team unexpectedly going bankrupt - by an uhearlded season ending virus pandemic. A meteor strike, a natural disaster, a nuclear disaster of some sort. The season does make it to the end but lo and behold, league reconstruction to two 16 team leagues. I don't know how they'll manage it but they will.

Barman Stanton
12-03-2020, 11:07 AM
They won't. They'll scrape out of it, luck out of it, fluke out of it. They'll stay up by a goal, by a team unexpectedly going bankrupt - by an uhearlded season ending virus pandemic. A meteor strike, a natural disaster, a nuclear disaster of some sort. The season does make it to the end but lo and behold, league reconstruction to two 16 team leagues. I don't know how they'll manage it but they will.

You talk like they have never been relegated before. The worst team in the league normally gets relegated. That would be Hearts by some distance.

12-03-2020, 11:11 AM
ut ut shame on you all

12-03-2020, 11:21 AM

Really dont think it would be wise to put money on that.

12-03-2020, 11:23 AM
Look at me

That's what I thought too!

12-03-2020, 11:24 AM
Nothing to lose I suppose.

Ut.

12-03-2020, 11:44 AM
They won't. They'll scrape out of it, luck out of it, fluke out of it. They'll stay up by a goal, by a team unexpectedly going bankrupt - by an uhearlded season ending virus pandemic. A meteor strike, a natural disaster, a nuclear disaster of some sort. The season does make it to the end but lo and behold, league reconstruction to two 16 team leagues. I don't know how they'll manage it but they will.If they're trailing against Hamilton watch out for 25 minutes injury time.

12-03-2020, 11:45 AM

I like the reverse phycology thing

12-03-2020, 12:01 PM
1 win in 14 against the bottom 6 teams this season. Doomed.

12-03-2020, 12:06 PM
Spawny as anything that lot. I’ll believe they’re doon when it happens.

UT UT UT

12-03-2020, 12:18 PM
The internet was made for posts like the OP.

Strange times indeed. Lots of twists and turns to come. Although world events have taken such a turn Probably taken out of everyone’s hands and whatever is decided is decided.

12-03-2020, 12:23 PM
How many teams in Hearts' position at this stage of the season have found a way out of it?

None in the last 10 years.

St Mirren were bottom after 30 games last season and eventually overtook Dundee and won in the play offs but they were only a point behind Dundee after 30 games whereas Hearts are currently 4 points behind Hamilton.

They're gone.

12-03-2020, 12:35 PM
None in the last 10 years.

St Mirren were bottom after 30 games last season and eventually overtook Dundee and won in the play offs but they were only a point behind Dundee after 30 games whereas Hearts are currently 4 points behind Hamilton.

They're gone.

Great reading. :thumbsup:

Groathillgrump
12-03-2020, 12:45 PM

Maybes aye, maybes naw but personally I think they're Donald Ducked.

Sorry to disagree. :na na:

12-03-2020, 12:45 PM
It seems that Jambos are starting to accept their fate, they see how bad their side is week in week out and the ones I have spoken to this morning have all said they are gone. They know they are battling sides with experience of relegation fights every year, they cannot see where they are going to make a difference against those sides. One I spoke to this morning said, 'the only points I can see us picking up before the break is against Ross County, then we have to play the bottom 6, all of whom we cannae seem to beat'
The OP may have this opinion, a lot of people who watch hertz every week disagree with them though.

Yorkshire HFC
12-03-2020, 12:48 PM
Great reading. :thumbsup:

I don't think anyone knows what will happen tomorrow, let alone in two months time. But my guess is that this season will just be cancelled and that this weeks games will be the last ones played - if they are played. No one will be appointed champions, no promotion or relegation, Europe will be based on last seasons standings.

And they will hope that things have sorted themselves out so that next season can start as currently planned.

But things are changing so quickly now that anything could happen.

12-03-2020, 01:04 PM
Saints Twitter account knows the score.

(click to view)

KingPat4
12-03-2020, 01:14 PM
I don't think anyone knows what will happen tomorrow, let alone in two months time. But my guess is that this season will just be cancelled and that this weeks games will be the last ones played - if they are played. No one will be appointed champions, no promotion or relegation, Europe will be based on last seasons standings.

And they will hope that things have sorted themselves out so that next season can start as currently planned.

So Liverpool would not be champions?

All hell would break loose.

Yorkshire HFC
12-03-2020, 01:18 PM
So Liverpool would not be champions?

All hell would break loose.

Liverpool won't be champions.

The fans will be upset, Klopp and the players will speak sense and the fans will calm down and accept it.

This is now far too serious - football doesn't matter.

12-03-2020, 01:30 PM
Liverpool won't be champions.

The fans will be upset, Klopp and the players will speak sense and the fans will calm down and accept it.

This is now far too serious - football doesn't matter.

Current league standings would be kept. It would financially cripple major football sponsors otherwise.

hibbie02
12-03-2020, 01:49 PM
If we keep playing the way we have been playing it is not outwith the bounds of probability that we could end up in the bottom 6, meaning a probable away game at the Rustbowl. It's set up for a Hearts win and safety or a Hibs win and relegation for Them. You just know which way that would go!

12-03-2020, 01:54 PM
Would miss the Derbys but its comedy gold last week daniel was the saviour now back to reality a deluded bunch

Barman Stanton
12-03-2020, 01:58 PM
If we keep playing the way we have been playing it is not outwith the bounds of probability that we could end up in the bottom 6, meaning a probable away game at the Rustbowl. It's set up for a Hearts win and safety or a Hibs win and relegation for Them. You just know which way that would go!

Or we could beat them at Tynecastle... like we did earlier in the season.

Is there a more pessimistic support anywhere than Hibs?

green with envy
12-03-2020, 02:00 PM

Who give's one RE: what you're saying. There said it.

12-03-2020, 02:02 PM
Maybes aye, maybes naw but personally I think they're Donald Ducked.

Sorry to disagree. :na na:

No your not!!

12-03-2020, 02:04 PM
Saints Twitter account knows the score.

(click to view)

Ha ha

hibbie02
12-03-2020, 02:49 PM
Or we could beat them at Tynecastle... like we did earlier in the season.

Is there a more pessimistic support anywhere than Hibs?

50+ Years of supporting Hibs does that to you!

12-03-2020, 03:31 PM
I hope they go down.

If Hearts stay up then we can genuinely say that our club played a significant part in helping them stay up.

That lot have won a mere 4 league games this season and 2 of them (50% of their sum total victories) were at our expense.

Reverse those defeats and the Jambos would be all but certain to go down.

I'm still fuming from that recent insipid display against them at Easter Road.

:fuming:

12-03-2020, 03:57 PM
If Hearts stay up then we can genuinely say that our club played a significant part in helping them stay up.

That lot have won a mere 4 league games this season and 2 of them (50% of their sum total victories) were at our expense.

And if they go down we can say we played a part in that by beating them at Tynie

Barman Stanton
12-03-2020, 04:00 PM
50+ Years of supporting Hibs does that to you!

Oh I get that. But I think going into these games with our fans s***** it does us no favours. A wee bit of bravado never hurts.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-03-2020, 04:02 PM
Current league standings would be kept. It would financially cripple major football sponsors otherwise.

This could be the event that brings down the house of cards that is the EPL imo

12-03-2020, 04:04 PM
This Tom English article has aged really well I think :wink:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/51093823

Praising Stendel for taking a tough line on Berra, because he’s too old to play the Gorgie press.

Now that the tactic’s been binned, maybe they need to recall Berra back to Hearts??

12-03-2020, 04:20 PM
**** them and their deluded supporters

That is all

😏

JammyDoidger
12-03-2020, 04:21 PM

Bet ye they dae.

12-03-2020, 04:23 PM
This could be the event that brings down the house of cards that is the EPL imo

It’s exactly why it won’t happen. Can you imagine the champions league and others paying prize money based on last season? Euros postponed, Europe delayed until over the summer and league paying prize money based on current league positions.

12-03-2020, 04:34 PM
And if they go down we can say we played a part in that by beating them at Tynie

One victory at Tynie is not significant. Beating them 3 times (which was my point) would be significant.

12-03-2020, 04:46 PM
One victory at Tynie is not significant. Beating them 3 times (which was my point) would be significant.

Took a point off them in 1986. It was just enough.

Piqué
12-03-2020, 04:48 PM
Stendel ut

12-03-2020, 04:56 PM
Hertz'd ut.

12-03-2020, 05:40 PM

If they get relegated by 3 points then I will be taking it that we relegated them so it would be significant

12-03-2020, 05:51 PM
If they get relegated by 3 points then I will be taking it that we relegated them so it would be significant

If they stay up by 1-6 points it’s our fault.

12-03-2020, 06:06 PM

I prefer my more positive outcome thanks

Hibernianinc
12-03-2020, 06:10 PM
Point is, post split it's really, really difficult to change things if you start off adrift.

All the teams play each other, every week. So even if herts get a result, so will some of the teams they're chasing.

Since start of 2020 herts have played 9 games and have 10 points.

Same period, the worst team is Ross County - 10 games and 8 points.

In December when Stendel arrived and herts had 20-odd games to go, they were 5 adrift but had time to change it. Now with just 8 games left they've cut the gap by a whole point.

I'm saying they're toast.

12-03-2020, 06:14 PM
I’ll play.

Ut

12-03-2020, 06:48 PM

i'd love it if our late consolation goal was the one that put them down.

12-03-2020, 06:52 PM

Took two points off them at Tiny on NYD 1965. It was enough.

12-03-2020, 07:28 PM

As plenty of others have said already, it’s not as simple as that.

It’s infuriating that they have got six points off us, but had we won last week they might have won last night.

12-03-2020, 07:41 PM
They will be relegated

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

12-03-2020, 07:55 PM
.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200312/8f8e0a8207b11c931de8eb2384537537.jpg

12-03-2020, 08:12 PM

Me too. I remain bewildered by our performance that night. And deeply frustrated by the fact it had a knock-on effect on our mentality at Pittodrie.

Mind you, it's extraordinary how deep Hearts often dig when a derby comes around. The fact they turned in such a lifeless showing last night in what was a far more important game would seem to prove where their priorities lie.

12-03-2020, 08:18 PM
I have to agree with the OP .... You just know that somehow they will spawn their way out of it. Mind you, I am often wrong :greengrin

Skol
12-03-2020, 08:19 PM

Sandy Clark missed an open goal late on.

Sioux
12-03-2020, 09:17 PM

We should have a new song.

If it wisnae for the Hibees
You'd be doon
If it wisnae for........................

12-03-2020, 09:30 PM
Me too. I remain bewildered by our performance that night. And deeply frustrated by the fact it had a knock-on effect on our mentality at Pittodrie.

Mind you, it's extraordinary how deep Hearts often dig when a derby comes around. The fact they turned in such a lifeless showing last night in what was a far more important game would seem to prove where their priorities lie.

Exactly; They live, breathe and die by the Hibs result

12-03-2020, 09:34 PM

If only we had that attitude. The derby is the most important match in football.

12-03-2020, 09:42 PM
Look at me

Can't see you are you hiding :confused: :confused:

12-03-2020, 09:45 PM
If only we had that attitude. The derby is the most important match in football.

You’d swap positions then?

12-03-2020, 09:49 PM
Hearts are 5\2 to finish bottom and 4\5 to finish bottom two

Probably about 7\4 to relegated so bookies don't think they will go down there are not many poor bookies ask the Bet365 lady :wink:

12-03-2020, 09:53 PM
You’d swap positions then?

I would like us to have the same attitude. The Derby means everything to me.

hibbybob
12-03-2020, 11:19 PM
Hearts are 5\2 to finish bottom and 4\5 to finish bottom two

Probably about 7\4 to relegated so bookies don't think they will go down there are not many poor bookies ask the Bet365 lady :wink:

They were also the bookies favourites to beat St Mirren!

13-03-2020, 12:06 AM
Last year after the split, four of the teams managed 8 points or more. The other two got 2 and 3 points. Hearts need to close that gap before the split or they are going to struggle big time when all their rivals are sharing points amongst each other.
And I doubt anyone has ever survived being 4 points behind at this stage of the season before.

13-03-2020, 12:31 AM
They're going down. Open grounds or closed grounds they're getting pumped.

13-03-2020, 12:33 AM

I agree to a point but I'd rather not be bottom of the league. That doesn't excuse the nonsense against Hearts and Aberdeen.

13-03-2020, 06:47 AM

It doesn't really help if you can't win any other games. Huge question mark over the mentality of the players if that is the case. They were as good as we were poor in the last one and was similar to Boxing Day game in reverse where we skooshed it. Personally don't see anything hugely different in approach in recent years when more of a level playing field than in their financial doping days.

13-03-2020, 07:23 AM
They will survive somehow ...dodgy decisions, playing as much extra time as refs can sort of justify to give them a chance to score, sending off for other teams, some divine intervention, Nicola Sturgeon ( not Alex Salmons ) intervention, etc .etc .....

13-03-2020, 08:19 AM
When the league season finishes, hearts will be bottom.

Whether they actually go down or not, I'm not certain.

13-03-2020, 08:28 AM
I hope they do survive. Derby games are the best games of the season.

13-03-2020, 08:30 AM

Hysteria.If a season can be just cancelled then what happens to the future of football?
Whats the point of going to watch at all if it can just all br cancelled when its almost finished?

13-03-2020, 08:31 AM
Hysteria.If a season can be just cancelled then what happens to the future of football?
Whats the point of going to watch at all if it can just all br cancelled when its almost finished?

What’s the point of living when you can just die?

13-03-2020, 08:34 AM
I hope they do survive. Derby games are the best games of the season.

I hope they go down, and I hope the festering resentment about being relegated without the season being finished makes it more painful.

When they come up, hopefully they’ll be weakened to an extent that we can roger them silly for a few years (a bit like Celtic did to Sevco until recently).

13-03-2020, 10:13 AM
I hope they go down, and I hope the festering resentment about being relegated without the season being finished makes it more painful.

When they come up, hopefully they’ll be weakened to an extent that we can roger them silly for a few years (a bit like Celtic did to Sevco until recently).

Even when they are completely and utterly abysmal and are pish/weak, they always still manage to beat us

13-03-2020, 10:22 AM
Even when they are completely and utterly abysmal and are pish/weak, they always still manage to beat us

They were utterly abysmal and pish/weak on boxing day and the last time we played them at tynie.

broondog
13-03-2020, 10:26 AM
there are to many moving parts to know for sure but it apears thatHearts will not go down due to Cronavirus. it is only going to get worse and there will end up being so much oa a baklog that the league should be cancelled

it would be the most disgraceful way of staying up, but when you are used to cheating your way out of every difficulty you face pretty standard for them.we should lobby against this though as they shoujld not be allowed to get away with it

13-03-2020, 10:39 AM
there are to many moving parts to know for sure but it apears thatHearts will not go down due to Cronavirus. it is only going to get worse and there will end up being so much oa a baklog that the league should be cancelled

it would be the most disgraceful way of staying up, but when you are used to cheating your way out of every difficulty you face pretty standard for them.we should lobby against this though as they shoujld not be allowed to get away with it
Itll be postponed not cancelled.
It has to start up again and when it does we’ll simply carry on from where we left off.

13-03-2020, 10:41 AM
Itll be postponed not cancelled.
It has to start up again and when it does we’ll simply carry on from where we left off.

I wonder if the English sides will do a mid season, pre season tour of Asia?

13-03-2020, 10:45 AM
There’s been enough games, with a clear lead at the top and a clear gap at the bottom to surely just call the league complete...

13-03-2020, 10:47 AM
They were utterly abysmal and pish/weak on boxing day and the last time we played them at tynie.

And there was our 9 in a row.

13-03-2020, 12:17 PM
There’s been enough games, with a clear lead at the top and a clear gap at the bottom to surely just call the league complete...

Totally agree but I think the SPFL will ***** it and null and void it rather than a million statements from Newco and Budge blah blah blah.

Should be as is and everything stands.

One up one down no playoffs

13-03-2020, 12:18 PM
Totally agree but I think the SPFL will ***** it and null and void it rather than a million statements from Newco and Budge blah blah blah.

Should be as is and everything stands.

One up one down no playoffs

I think the biggest club in the country might have something to say about that.

13-03-2020, 12:27 PM
Dundee United could go to the wall if they are not promoted, i imagine all sorts of legal problems if this happens.

13-03-2020, 01:33 PM
The key to this is UEFA and the direction they give for NEXT season European qualification.

They need be clear on who will qualify for Europa and Champions league which start in June. They also need to give European leagues a set of principles and guidelines re how to finish the season.

SFA/SPFL will likely follow these guidelines.

UEFA meet on Tuesday. If they take a null and void approach then who plays in Europe next season? It has to be either stop now with place as they are or try and play them June and delay European games.

13-03-2020, 01:41 PM
The key to this is UEFA and the direction they give for NEXT season European qualification.

They need be clear on who will qualify for Europa and Champions league which start in June. They also need to give European leagues a set of principles and guidelines re how to finish the season.

SFA/SPFL will likely follow these guidelines.

UEFA meet on Tuesday. If they take a null and void approach then who plays in Europe next season? It has to be either stop now with place as they are or try and play them June and delay European games.

Good points. UEFA should have the final say and all governing bodies should act accordingly. That way, any accusation of connivance by individual governing bodies will be avoided.

bringbackbenny
13-03-2020, 01:52 PM
Good points. UEFA should have the final say and all governing bodies should act accordingly. That way, any accusation of connivance by individual governing bodies will be avoided.

I 100% agree :agree:.

as long as Hearts are relegated as a result :flag::flag::flag:

13-03-2020, 01:59 PM

Spot on. It’s the SFA and SPFL get out of jail card. “UEFA guidelines are....”. Legally takes them out the loop when Anne Budge threatens legal action 😂

Makes Stendal lack of ambition on Wednesday “we need to avoid defeat” look like the own goal of all own goals.

13-03-2020, 02:01 PM

some of us fans might not like it but i'm absoutely certain our club would prefer heartz stay up

13-03-2020, 02:01 PM
Spot on. It’s the SFA and SPFL get out of jail card. “UEFA guidelines are....”. Legally takes them out the loop when Anne Budge threatens legal action 😂

Makes Stendal lack of ambition on Wednesday “we need to avoid defeat” look like the own goal of all own goals.

He’s either going to get two clubs relegated in one season or none.

13-03-2020, 02:38 PM
Stendel on his way out

13-03-2020, 04:26 PM
Deluded Jambos celebrating because they think the Coronavirus will save them. :greengrin

It is just as likely the current league positions will stand meaning on Wednesday they just blew their chance of survival by securing the playoff spot.

More likely that games will be behind closed doors or delayed until it is safe for crowds to return so their demise will be slower and more painful.

13-03-2020, 04:39 PM
Saw this on Twitter - no source for it so could just be rubbish:

Season means the period of the year commencing on the date of the first League Match in a Season and ending on the date of the last League Match in the same Season or otherwise as determined by the Board and which excludes the Close Season

13-03-2020, 04:48 PM
Saw this on Twitter - no source for it so could just be rubbish:

'Or otherwise as determined by the Board' maybe allows them to change it.

13-03-2020, 04:48 PM
Extending the season into June/ July would be a problem as some player contracts will expire at the end of May.

13-03-2020, 04:51 PM
Extending the season into June/ July would be a problem as some player contracts will expire at the end of May.

Extend them a month or so?

13-03-2020, 04:54 PM
Stendel on his way out

Stendel is a down and out.

Rumours of his sacking as yet unconfirmed.

13-03-2020, 05:00 PM

What if a player is on loan?

13-03-2020, 05:04 PM

Aye because players getting an extra months contract are really going to commit to that.

13-03-2020, 05:04 PM
What if a player is on loan?

Ask for an extension? If not then there’s not much can do.

13-03-2020, 05:05 PM
Aye because players getting an extra months contract are really going to commit to that.

Why no? It would put them in the shop window to try and get a contract elsewhere especially if registration to another club is cancelled until the league season is over.

13-03-2020, 05:07 PM

Insurance also if players aren’t contracted.

13-03-2020, 05:25 PM
Why no? It would put them in the shop window to try and get a contract elsewhere especially if registration to another club is cancelled until the league season is over.

There contract would be up, and they would be free to find another club. Who in their right mind would want to commit to an extra month or so, knowing they could get injured and not get a contract at all.

13-03-2020, 05:48 PM

13-03-2020, 06:46 PM
There contract would be up, and they would be free to find another club. Who in their right mind would want to commit to an extra month or so, knowing they could get injured and not get a contract at all.

100s of players without a team for the next season and forgotten about just now. I can’t think of any out of contract Hibs players that would refuse as a professional to do so? Same could be said if a player signed a pre-contact.

13-03-2020, 07:21 PM

Hearts won't get relegated.

Probably not if it is a political decision. They will, if it’s left to their own resources.

13-03-2020, 07:25 PM
A possibility could be to finish the league at 33 games. That way everybody has played all other teams thrice.

13-03-2020, 07:50 PM
A possibility could be to finish the league at 33 games. That way everybody has played all other teams thrice.

The huns wouldn’t have that. It will go one way or the other. Why would the huns and all there “everyone hates us etc etc” agree to four more games with no chance of anything? It will be full on one way or the other.

13-03-2020, 08:32 PM
The huns wouldn’t have that. It will go one way or the other. Why would the huns and all there “everyone hates us etc etc” agree to four more games with no chance of anything? It will be full on one way or the other.

If it was tight at the top, Sevco would now be in full on Trump mode, claiming Coronavirus was a papist conspiracy.

As it is, with nothing bar an unlikely comeback v Leverkusen to look forward to, I think they want this season done.

13-03-2020, 08:44 PM
If it was tight at the top, Sevco would now be in full on Trump mode, claiming Coronavirus was a papist conspiracy.

As it is, with nothing bar an unlikely comeback v Leverkusen to look forward to, I think they want this season done.

True.

Perhaps they will shut up completely because they won’t have to pay any sort of league bonus to the players even when it comes to Europe if it all becomes null and void? 50,000 there last night, 50,000 tickets paid for Sunday. No bonus fees to players. Jackpot. Celtic don’t have to pay league winner bonus to their players, the rest get shafted apart from hearts, of course.

13-03-2020, 08:46 PM
They were saying on sportsound this evening that you can't have football without the fans. Also that there is no integrity in a title win if you win it without playing all games.

You surely cant allow a transfer window to reopen- that way wealthier clubs (or reckless) could buy their way out of trouble.

Very much depends on length of delay.

There is no good answer to this.

If it was my call, I'd play behind closed doors to (potentially) a pay per view audience in an attempt to recoup some money and get the season finished. And then delay the start of the new season as long as required.

This would clearly require teams and staff not to be in lockdown. Which remains to be seen.

Frankhfc
13-03-2020, 09:05 PM
They were saying on sportsound this evening that you can't have football without the fans. Also that there is no integrity in a title win if you win it without playing all games.

You surely cant allow a transfer window to reopen- that way wealthier clubs (or reckless) could buy their way out of trouble.

If it was my call, I'd play behind closed doors to (potentially) a pay per view audience in an attempt to recoup some money and get the season finished. And then delay the start of the new season as long as required.

This would clearly require teams and staff not to be in lockdown. Which remains to be seen.

This isn't about the 'integrity' of a title win.

Its about finding a solution to a force thats outwith normal parameters.

Ending the league now with league positions intact is a pragmatic fixing to a very serious pandemic problem.

13-03-2020, 09:09 PM
100s of players without a team for the next season and forgotten about just now. I can’t think of any out of contract Hibs players that would refuse as a professional to do so? Same could be said if a player signed a pre-contact.

Player gets injured and doesn’t have a club / insurance to sort his career ending injury...

Players / agents aren’t going to be stupid and wouldn’t risk it.

Also agreed you couldn’t open transfer window or allow new players in - has to be registered players for the current season only.

13-03-2020, 09:13 PM
Hearts won't get relegated.

Probably not if it is a political decision. They will, if it’s left to their own resources.

They could do with help from an upstanding hearts fan/politician......like Alex Salmond. 🤭

Logie Green
14-03-2020, 06:43 AM
Deluded Jambos celebrating because they think the Coronavirus will save them. :greengrin

It is just as likely the current league positions will stand meaning on Wednesday they just blew their chance of survival by securing the playoff spot.

More likely that games will be behind closed doors or delayed until it is safe for crowds to return so their demise will be slower and more painful.
They could play the 'Coronavirus card'. Announce that a player feels unwell so they all have to self isolate for two weeks then once the two weeks are up announce that another player feels unwell etc etc. They played the 'administration card' to their benefit.....

14-03-2020, 06:55 AM
They could play the 'Coronavirus card'. Announce that a player feels unwell so they all have to self isolate for two weeks then once the two weeks are up announce that another player feels unwell etc etc. They played the 'administration card' to their benefit.....

Are you insinuating they may bend the rules AGAIN away and wash your mouth out with soap if it’s not been sold out or stolen

14-03-2020, 12:34 PM
They could do with help from an upstanding hearts fan/politician......like Alex Salmond. 🤭

Mr Salmond is too busy writing his new book. It’s a self help manual called

A GUIDE TO FLIRTING FOR JAMBOS

16-03-2020, 09:25 AM
Has anybody prepared the Bath Of Beans for the OP yet?

Lendo
16-03-2020, 10:12 AM
Hearts accepting relegation could be the thing that saves them from the potential financial armageddon that football clubs will be experiencing soon enough.

An opportunity to trigger Relegation Release clauses on their high-earners and get them off the books. However given how happy Levein was with handing out three-year deals to aging players like Berra and Naismith who knows if they actually have a clause in their contracts.

16-03-2020, 10:17 AM
Hearts accepting relegation could be the thing that saves them from the potential financial armageddon that football clubs will be experiencing soon enough.

An opportunity to trigger Relegation Release clauses on their high-earners and get them off the books. However given how happy Levein was with handing out three-year deals to aging players like Berra and Naismith who knows if they actually have a clause in their contracts.

Means they can get their prize money sooner as well.

Gloucester Hibs
16-03-2020, 10:25 AM

Yep. Publicly: furious, threatening legal action and suchlike. Build up a sense of injustice and a siege mentality for their march back to the premier league :wink:

Privately: Happy to get the prize money in and possible ST money for next season. Happy to get the high earners off the books via relegation clauses.

MacGruber
16-03-2020, 11:21 AM
Has anybody prepared the Bath Of Beans for the OP yet?

Lol - if they do get relegated I'll self-isolate in a bath of beans for a week:greengrin

However, still can't see it - they'll squirm out like they always do

16-03-2020, 11:36 AM
You would have to think that there is no relegation clause in Boyce’s contract. Given they were adrift at the bottom of the league, he should sack his agent if there is.

ben johnson
16-03-2020, 12:30 PM

Alex has his hands full at the moment and not for the first time allegedly

16-03-2020, 12:35 PM
Lol - if they do get relegated I'll self-isolate in a bath of beans for a week:greengrin

Make no doubt about it, if they escape relegation they will go from the poor victims, everyone out to get them and using this to relegate them to all of a sudden being classless as anything celebrating this pandemic.

Gaz
16-03-2020, 12:38 PM
I think they will call the league as it stands and relegate hearts but also give them a wee sweetner to accept it. This will be cheaper than the legal cost and penalties faces if they call it void from the TV companies and supporters demanding money back

16-03-2020, 12:46 PM
You would have to think that there is no relegation clause in Boyce’s contract. Given they were adrift at the bottom of the league, he should sack his agent if there is.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIndeed, maybe they're paying him by the goal?

16-03-2020, 01:02 PM

I've already started a collection of tins of beans

16-03-2020, 02:22 PM
That's them officially come out and said they will take legal action if they are relegated.

Lendo
16-03-2020, 02:27 PM
That's them officially come out and said they will take legal action if they are relegated.

Good, a long bitter court case will cost them a fortune.

16-03-2020, 02:29 PM
Good, a long bitter court case will cost them a fortune.

And all the bad publicity in the world when Budge has spent five years building them up from their shameful and shameless past.

Relegate then further when they lose the case too for bringing the league into disrepute.

16-03-2020, 02:29 PM
If UEFA make the announcement that all national leagues will be terminated and present league positions ratified, the Jambos might find they are taking UEFA to court and not the SPFL and the SFA, whom they might see as soft touches.

16-03-2020, 02:30 PM

I think their current predicament proves that there’s a lot more to football than the Derby.

16-03-2020, 02:31 PM
I wonder if she knows the obvious outcome and this is a really a oh look we are making threats to look like were doing everything we can

16-03-2020, 03:30 PM
I wonder if she knows the obvious outcome and this is a really a oh look we are making threats to look like were doing everything we can

She is just making a fool of herself.

16-03-2020, 03:34 PM

Then by Friday she can tell the minions they can’t appeal despite looking into it as much as they could and how shocking she feels the club has been treated.

P.S “season ticket sales for the Championship go on sale on Monday morning #ourhertzbeatasone”

16-03-2020, 03:46 PM

I give you the case study of Saracens in the English rugby Premiership.

Relegated yet continued to act as a wrecking ball in the English league.

Alternating between fielding weakened teams and full tilt teams chock full of internationals they couldn’t afford.

Teams that played them before the relegation decision had a tougher ask compared to teams after the event.

Sport can make things up as they go along.

16-03-2020, 04:02 PM

And The Rangers have said they won't accept it either.

Two of a kind.

16-03-2020, 04:24 PM
And The Rangers have said they won't accept it either.

Two of a kind.
She isn't saying that on the BBC - will take legal advice is what she is saying.....

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/51914718

16-03-2020, 05:31 PM
Instead of thinking about the real issue facing the world Budge is spouting self interest. Shocking! I’d be embarrassed if the was the CEO at Hibs making such a statement.

Budge clearly needs someone to advise her on PR. World pandemic and she’s out bleating that Fridays closure has cost Hearts as if they were the only ones effected. Maybe if she hadn’t grossly overspent on their main stand she’d still have some of the Foundation of Hearts money to be able to ride this sort of thing out. The financial mess that Hearts got themselves into with the Pieman and then Vlad should have taught them that to run a club (just like any business) in this age you need a cash reserve. Banks don’t lend to football clubs so it’s all about working within your means now. Instead the Queen of Hearts has just followed her predecessors and overspent......again.

Think we all really want Sporting Integrity and the team that ends up last after 38 games relegated but there’s a way to go about it and her lack of professionalism in spouting this to the BBC shows that the pressure of her failures are starting to catch up with her. Hearts statement on their website on Friday asks for patience until a decision is made on the remainder of the season. Maybe she should listen to those words and button it until after the decision is made.

16-03-2020, 05:54 PM
Partick in 10th are 19 points behind Inverness in 2nd and have 9 games left so it is still mathematically possible for every team in the Championship to finish 2nd. Budge is arguing that Hearts can get to safety because of the number of points left to play for so using her argument then it is unfair to just promote the current top 2 in the Championship when so many other clubs could get to 2nd (or actually just into a playoff spot).

16-03-2020, 05:56 PM
Absolutely gobsmacked at the two clubs spouting about sporting integrity, you couldn’t make it up!!

16-03-2020, 05:58 PM
Don't know if this is legit but if it is then wow wow wow 23087

16-03-2020, 05:58 PM
Absolutely gobsmacked at the two clubs spouting about sporting integrity, you couldn’t make it up!!

This......gotta laugh eh..

16-03-2020, 06:11 PM

So if, as expected, this continues for about 3 months then there will only be 3 Scottish Premiership clubs left?

16-03-2020, 06:14 PM
So if, as expected, this continues for about 3 months then there will only be 3 Scottish Premiership clubs left?

Financially it appears so but this will affect all Scottish clubs I would think unless the SFA come up with a master plan :rolleyes:

16-03-2020, 06:16 PM

jeez look at rangers numbers!

i suppose we won’t have to wait long to see how accurate it is for them or hearts!

16-03-2020, 06:17 PM

No, that’s not what the table says. It’s just a measure of the cash reserves of each club in last years accounts against the monthly outgoings. Clubs may still have some money coming in. But it just shows how vulnerable some clubs may be.

16-03-2020, 06:17 PM

Budge told them at the AGM they were £400,000 in the red in December yet they go out and buy Boyce and pay him mega wages.

Once again they are relying on others in order to survive. Level playing field ma arse.... mind you look how it’s all panned out!

She also says that they are unable you use their facilities for events and that was a source of income yet months ago she said it wasn’t a viable option.

16-03-2020, 06:21 PM
No, that’s not what the table says. It’s just a measure of the cash reserves of each club in last years accounts against the monthly outgoings. Clubs may still have some money coming in. But it just shows how vulnerable some clubs may be.

Could be the case and there is a chance however.....

I think that given her comment about staff maybe taking unpaid leave, asking fans to donate and players returning wages to help them out is an indication they maybe struggling.

16-03-2020, 06:23 PM
Budge told them at the AGM they were £400,000 in the red in December yet they go out and buy Boyce and pay him mega wages.

Once again they are relying on others in order to survive. Level playing field ma arse.... mind you look how it’s all panned out!

She also says that they are unable you use their facilities for events and that was a source of income yet months ago she said it wasn’t a viable option.

She is brazen, two-faced, bend with the wind b***h.

16-03-2020, 06:25 PM
She is brazen, two-faced, bend with the wind b***h.

Sitting on the fence there Jim??

Could be the case and there is a chance however.....

I think that given her comment about staff maybe taking unpaid leave, asking fans to donate and players returning wages to help them out is an indication they maybe struggling.

I’m almost certain they are in financial trouble after watching that today.

Sure the St Johnstone chairman/owner was on radio a few weeks ago saying they were skint, had no money and were running at a loss. Think it's one of reasons that the rangers and celtic get the 3 stands now. If so, then no way that table is right.

16-03-2020, 06:30 PM
I’m almost certain they are in financial trouble after watching that today.

Yip. They or she has mismanaged millions upon millions yet they are potentially in financial trouble yet again.

16-03-2020, 06:31 PM
Sure the St Johnstone chairman/owner was on radio a few weeks ago saying they were skint, had no money and were running at a loss. Think it's one of reasons that the rangers and celtic get the 3 stands now. If so, then no way that table is right.

No, he said that they were running at a deficit and that it was only because they had cash reserves that they could keep going but that could not go on and they had to cut costs soon.

16-03-2020, 06:33 PM
She isn't saying that on the BBC - will take legal advice is what she is saying.....

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/51914718

"We would challenge [relegation] on the grounds of sporting integrity …..'

Yeah, ignore the fact that your team has been ***** for one whole calendar-year ??

16-03-2020, 06:41 PM
"We would challenge [relegation] on the grounds of sporting integrity …..'

Yeah, ignore the fact that your team has been ***** for one whole calendar-year ??Like the sporting integrity they showed towards Dundee when they delayed their announcement of administration.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

16-03-2020, 06:48 PM
Sporting integrity/integrity are words I would never ever associate with that mob!

16-03-2020, 06:51 PM

She said they were £400k behind revenue targets which isn't the same as being £400k in the red.

16-03-2020, 06:53 PM
Sporting integrity/integrity are words I would never ever associate with that mob!

Is it just me or does the sporting integrity line only get spouted out by the clubs/support who have generally been the worst at shafting the leagues, clubs, businesses for their own benefit over the years?

The only irony missing in this all that it’s not Dundee (who they screwed over before) sitting top of the championship about to take their place. If it was, and if Robbo wasn’t sitting in second with ICT him and Neilson would be on the bbc/media every single day saying how shocking it was if hearts went down.

16-03-2020, 06:57 PM
She said they were £400k behind revenue targets which isn't the same as being £400k in the red.

Read it wrong. It was some time ago (my poor excuse) that on top of the monies due to budges bro (£750k) starts to add up though.

16-03-2020, 06:59 PM

We should be able to qualify for Europe then.

16-03-2020, 07:11 PM
We should be able to qualify for Europe then.

On the bright side, we might get invited into a British league. How funny would that be if after all their years of crying about it, the huns went bust and we got in lol.

16-03-2020, 08:38 PM
Read it wrong. It was some time ago (my poor excuse) that on top of the monies due to budges bro (£750k) starts to add up though.

😀 You never know with that lot when it comes to money.

16-03-2020, 08:45 PM
On the bright side, we might get invited into a British league. How funny would that be if after all their years of crying about it, the huns went bust and we got in lol.

Hibs get a free pass into the EPL and everyone will call Ron a genius

17-03-2020, 05:59 AM
So lets just say hertz,huns and St.J go into admin, what would happen with them, relegated to where, how would it effect the leagues?

17-03-2020, 06:19 AM
So lets just say hertz,huns and St.J go into admin, what would happen with them, relegated to where, how would it effect the leagues?

Would come off next season - Hearts would have larger deduction as second occurrence. Rangers a new team.

Gloucester Hibs
17-03-2020, 06:40 AM
Would come off next season - Hearts would have larger deduction as second occurrence. Rangers a new team.

Starting next season in the championship with a 15 point+ deduction sounds fair to me.

foxy
17-03-2020, 06:53 AM
Unfortunately there does seem to be a clause in the SPFL Rules & Regulations that clubs could use to get out of a points deduction

E8.3 the Deductible Insolvency Event, which resulted in the points deduction or deductions against which the appeal is made, arose as a result of a Force Majeure Event.

I'm sure any club being forced into administration now due to the suspension of the football season could claim it happened as a result of Force Majeure Event.

17-03-2020, 07:03 AM
I would definitely give the clubs a pass on the points deduction given the circumstances. If they survive long enough to be part of the league, then I think that's fair enough.

17-03-2020, 07:48 AM
I would definitely give the clubs a pass on the points deduction given the circumstances. If they survive long enough to be part of the league, then I think that's fair enough.

If it’s only one or two clubs then you have to look at why those clubs went under? Were they overspending to achieve sporting success at the expense of other clubs? If so then the point penalty must apply.
No point being a cautious club like Hibs and then giving those less cautious a free pass when they go under.

17-03-2020, 01:54 PM

I disagree. They know the score and if they have been there before there is little or no excuse. Teams should be cutting their cloth accordingly and building in some sort of contingency in case of emergency.