View Full Version : Most Overrated Player in the League

hibby rae
08-03-2020, 03:04 PM
Who does your vote go to?

Mine would be for James Tavernier. Granted he can be good going forward, can put in a good ball, but he's not a good defender at all, obviously for us that worked well in 2016.

The Huns, and media, constantly have stories about them not inviting bids etc. Yet, I've never heard of another club actually being interested. Now there is a story saying they are willing to slash their asking price to 4m for him (I know we're a smaller club but John McGinn was 500k less than that and was twice the player back then, and he has only got better since). That. Is. Mental.

08-03-2020, 03:05 PM
Soutar

08-03-2020, 03:06 PM
Kamberi

08-03-2020, 03:07 PM
Simunovic

hibby rae
08-03-2020, 03:08 PM
Kamberi

Who's he? 😂

08-03-2020, 03:11 PM

Mine would be for James Tavernier. Granted he can be good going forward, can put in a good ball, but he's not a good defender at all, obviously for us that worked well in 2016.

The Huns, and media, constantly have stories about them not inviting bids etc. Yet, I've never heard of another club actually being interested. Now there is a story saying they are willing to slash their asking price to 4m for him (I know we're a smaller club but John McGinn was 500k less than that and was twice the player back then, and he has only got better since). That. Is. Mental.
I saw that too about the 4M. Genuine lol moment....

08-03-2020, 03:13 PM
Pound for Pound?

McKenna Aberdeen

08-03-2020, 03:13 PM
Moreles, Allan and Souttar and Rocky for me, Forward, midfield, defense and Keeper

08-03-2020, 03:17 PM
Ryan Kent

pontius pilate
08-03-2020, 03:18 PM
Forrest

08-03-2020, 03:18 PM
Never been too impressed by Ntcham.

08-03-2020, 03:22 PM
Soutar

08-03-2020, 03:23 PM
Pound for Pound?

McKenna Aberdeen

Nah, the majority of Scotland can see he’s a Granite Jack Hendry. Souttar is proclaimed as a Rio Ferdinand Sergio Ramos clone, when in reality he’s a **** Gary Caldwell.

08-03-2020, 03:26 PM
Nah, the majority of Scotland can see he’s a Granite Jack Hendry. Souttar is proclaimed as a Rio Ferdinand Sergio Ramos clone, when in reality he’s a **** Gary Caldwell.

Jack Hendry was my original first choice but he now down under

Got the fear every time he was rumoured to be coming here 😁

08-03-2020, 03:38 PM
Barasic was ***** for rangers today

08-03-2020, 03:40 PM
Jack Hendry was my original first choice but he now down under

Got the fear every time he was rumoured to be coming here 😁

😁

08-03-2020, 03:41 PM
Soppy Soutar

08-03-2020, 03:43 PM
Scott brown?

08-03-2020, 03:58 PM
Scott brown?
No danger.

08-03-2020, 04:13 PM
Ryan Kent

08-03-2020, 04:15 PM
A year or so ago I said Edouard. Now I have egg all over my face. He's a cracking player.

hibby rae
08-03-2020, 04:17 PM
Barasic was ***** for rangers today

Rumoured to have a 22m asking price today on the BBC gossip page. I mean, get in the sea.

08-03-2020, 04:17 PM
A year or so ago I said Edouard. Now I have egg all over my face. He's a cracking player.

hibby rae
08-03-2020, 04:32 PM
Ryan Kent

He's a shout. Maybe needs another season to prove his unworth 😂

Craig Fowler said on Terrace, or View from the Terrace, that he has went a full year without an assist. For a winger that is pretty special.

JXM73
08-03-2020, 04:34 PM
Scott Allan

08-03-2020, 04:34 PM
Paul Hanlon

08-03-2020, 04:35 PM
Dylan McGeouch 😉

08-03-2020, 04:53 PM
Paul Hanlon

I could be wrong, but I understood the players in question were ones being highly praised but didn't deserve it.

I don't think it's just a list of players you don't like.

08-03-2020, 04:55 PM
I could be wrong, but I understood the players in question were ones being highly praised but didn't deserve it.

He was being sarcastic.

Sgt. Hartman
08-03-2020, 04:55 PM
Scott McKenna and it’s not even close

08-03-2020, 04:56 PM

Whoosh 😁

08-03-2020, 05:10 PM
Steven Naismith. Nasty wee scrote too.

supermcginn
08-03-2020, 05:18 PM
Scott McKenna and it’s not even close

He would stroll in to our team so what does that say about our defenders......

08-03-2020, 05:19 PM
Whoosh 😁

It's maybe a whoosh moment if the humour was obvious.

I still have no idea what point he was trying to make.

Sgt. Hartman
08-03-2020, 05:21 PM

Truly worrying ain’t it

hibbydog
08-03-2020, 05:22 PM
Never understood the fuss about Scott McKenna.

Donkey

08-03-2020, 05:42 PM
It's maybe a whoosh moment if the humour was obvious.

I still have no idea what point he was trying to make.

He’s a poster who rates Hanlon and rightly defends him continuously when he receives unfair criticism

NC1875
08-03-2020, 05:50 PM
He’s a poster who rates Hanlon and rightly defends him continuously when he receives unfair criticism

Depends what you class unfair ? He defends him no matter what

08-03-2020, 05:54 PM
Depends what you class unfair ? He defends him no matter what

I don’t think he does, he admits when Hanlon has made a mistake, he just doesn’t go along with mass amount of nonsense that is directed towards Hanlon on many occasions. Anyway back on track I name...... Souttar

NC1875
08-03-2020, 05:56 PM
And I agree. Souttar would get it worse than Hanlon if he played for Hibs. He’s garbage

08-03-2020, 06:00 PM
Somebody somewhere said Connor Goldson was good[emoji23]

08-03-2020, 06:01 PM
Morelos

08-03-2020, 06:36 PM
I don’t think he does, he admits when Hanlon has made a mistake, he just doesn’t go along with mass amount of nonsense that is directed towards Hanlon on many occasions. Anyway back on track I name...... Souttar

Correct. Thank you sir.

08-03-2020, 06:56 PM
You could probably name a full XI and subs from the tarts who have been praised to the heavens and then been total dug*****. They have a few just now again.
At the moment though McKenna at Aberdeen takes a bit of beating, £10m FFS! The Hun have a few at the moment too, Kent £7m, taverner apparently reduced to £4m😆, Baresic £22m.

08-03-2020, 07:25 PM
You could probably name a full XI and subs from the tarts who have been praised to the heavens and then been total dug*****. They have a few just now again.
At the moment though McKenna at Aberdeen takes a bit of beating, £10m FFS! The Hun have a few at the moment too, Kent £7m, taverner apparently reduced to £4m😆, Baresic £22m.
Kambarry 10m By the way

08-03-2020, 07:28 PM
Kambarry 10m By the way

While that's all tounge and cheek. The really did spend £7 million on Kent lol.

08-03-2020, 07:41 PM
While that's all tounge and cheek. The really did spend £7 million on Kent lol.

Hard to believe

No assists for a winger but one life saving goal today which was a deflection

Life saving because I had the Hun in my acca 😁

08-03-2020, 08:43 PM
Two punters on this thread have picked Scott Allan. That's nice.

Hibs4185
08-03-2020, 08:49 PM
McKenna.

Although any sevco player who has 2 decent games automatically becomes worth 20 million

08-03-2020, 08:58 PM
McKenna for me too, all the Aberdeen supporting pundits on Sportsound have always talked him up but I've never seen what all the fuss is about him. He's not bad, just nowhere near as good as they make him out to be.

HFC93
08-03-2020, 08:58 PM
Ryan Jack. Don't get it.

davym7062
08-03-2020, 09:08 PM
Ryan Kent

yep

BegbieHSC
08-03-2020, 10:33 PM
Toss up between McKenna, Morelos and Kent. Genuinely can’t decide between the three.

Hibs4185
08-03-2020, 11:46 PM
Kambarry 10m By the way

July 1st worth £500k. July 2nd Rangers sign him permanently and worth £10 million. Hun and mini hun economics

08-03-2020, 11:50 PM
Easiest thread reply ever.

Ryan Kent.

The huns are raging (nothing new there) that they spent £7M on him lol.

08-03-2020, 11:53 PM
McKenna.

Although any sevco player who has 2 decent games automatically becomes worth 20 million

Correct. Turns like the Titanic. Canny believe Aberdeen turned down £7m+ for him. A younger Grant Hanley.

Widhibs
09-03-2020, 05:42 AM
McKenna
Kent
Souttar

There's yer top 3 in that order.

09-03-2020, 05:45 AM
I'll add Liam Boyce to the list. Not exactly justifying his 7k per week

09-03-2020, 05:52 AM
Soutar and Allan

Bangkok Hibby
09-03-2020, 06:13 AM
I'm not sure how Rocky is judged by other fans. Maybe quite highly because of his shot stopping ability? Could be wrong there but he gives me the fear!

09-03-2020, 06:21 AM
I'm not sure how Rocky is judged by other fans. Maybe quite highly because of his shot stopping ability? Could be wrong there but he gives me the fear!

09-03-2020, 06:21 AM
Soutar and Allan

Make that 3.

09-03-2020, 06:27 AM
Allan has the third most assists in the league behind Christie and Forrest. He's also scored 5 league goals all while being out of sorts the past month or so.

Granted he's not playing well of late but I definitely wouldn't say he's overrated.

09-03-2020, 06:28 AM
Allan has the third most assists in the league behind Christie and Forrest. He's also scored 5 league goals all while being out of sorts the past month or so.

Granted he's not playing well of late but I definitely wouldn't say he's overrated.

Exactly. He is not at his best but is still our best chance of creating a goal.

sauzee=legend
09-03-2020, 06:30 AM
McKenna or Forrest for me

09-03-2020, 06:34 AM
The answer to the thread question in my eyes is Souttar, Kent and Fraser Forster in my humble opinion.

09-03-2020, 07:06 AM

Jim Traynor has moved on to spinning Barisic as a £20m + player...

09-03-2020, 07:33 AM
McNulty ....

09-03-2020, 08:48 AM

Ryan Kent.

If he was over rated then the huns wouldn’t be spewing. He’s been found out more like it.

09-03-2020, 08:59 AM
Kamberi

09-03-2020, 09:31 AM
I maintain Ryan Kent is an excellent player.

If we were to do the “take one player from another Scottish club” thing, he’d possibly only behind Edouard for me.

By all accounts his stats aren’t great but he dug his team out of a mess yesterday with an important goal.

09-03-2020, 11:30 AM
Ryan Kent has to be for the price tag alone. He’s a decent dangerous player at SPL level but he was hyped up beyond reason last season and failed to justify the investment. Like I say, he’s decent enough but not as good as other SPL players like Ryan Christie and Martin Boyle.

09-03-2020, 12:07 PM
Jim Traynor has moved on to spinning Barisic as a £20m + player...

I loved that. Genuinely hilarious stuff. They'd be lucking to get 1/5 of that.

09-03-2020, 12:27 PM

Ryan Kent.

Read somewhere recently he had one assist this season. Incredible if true.

09-03-2020, 12:31 PM

I think the point is that no one thinks our defenders are worth £6,000,000. ?

McKenna
Forrest
Kent

All massively overrated in my view

09-03-2020, 01:35 PM
I loved that. Genuinely hilarious stuff. They'd be lucking to get 1/5 of that.

Gerrard would be personally offended if any club were to offer less than £40m for Morelos too.

09-03-2020, 02:25 PM
Dylan Bykey

09-03-2020, 02:28 PM
Ryan Jack. Don't get it.
This . I’d prefer Docherty

09-03-2020, 02:57 PM

OK, cheers

👍

09-03-2020, 03:06 PM
This . I’d prefer Docherty

Jack is easily better.

dmc1875
09-03-2020, 03:46 PM
Kamberi is a good player - as much as we don’t like him anymore we can’t just hide from that fact.

There’s two who are massively over rated - Souttar and McKenna. Just look at how much of a difference Hearts defence has been since he got injured against Rangers early doors. McKenna is nowhere near as good as Porteous IMO he’s just a big lump.

09-03-2020, 07:16 PM
Kamberi is massively overrated for me. Just a bang average Premiership striker with a bang average at best goal scoring record.

09-03-2020, 07:20 PM
Kent is pish.

09-03-2020, 07:20 PM
Kamberi is massively overrated for me. Just a bang average Premiership striker with a bang average at best goal scoring record.Tries some good flicks though, was getting fed up of watching his show pony type prancing around before his dream move so yours is a decent shout.

I'm Spartacus
10-03-2020, 11:13 AM
Scott brown?

No danger. Possibly the greatest player of the last 15 years in the SPL, he could have played in any team in the world IMO, easily slotting into a Man U, Chelsea, Juve, Madrid or a Barca in his absolute prime. Only team I couldn't see him is in the current Liverpool team, but again in his prime he'd be Henderson.

For me there's Kent at £7M and then Alfredo at £60M. McKenna with his £7M price tag is also a great shout.

My old man
10-03-2020, 11:31 AM
ryan kent

this 100%

mcohibs
10-03-2020, 11:33 AM
No danger. Possibly the greatest player of the last 15 years in the SPL, he could have played in any team in the world IMO, easily slotting into a Man U, Chelsea, Juve, Madrid or a Barca in his absolute prime. Only team I couldn't see him is in the current Liverpool team, but again in his prime he'd be Henderson.

For me there's Kent at £7M and then Alfredo at £60M. McKenna with his £7M price tag is also a great shout.

May be biting here, but I assume that first paragraph is a wind up?

supermcginn
10-03-2020, 12:10 PM

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

I'm Spartacus
10-03-2020, 12:11 PM
May be biting here, but I assume that first paragraph is a wind up?

Nope! I genuinely believe if he'd moved to a major club he'd have played a real part in that starting XI, he's a total class act, he's strolled games at the top level at Celtic while surrounded by some huddies, imagine he was surrounded by proper European class. Anybody who doubts he's a great player needs their heid seen to!

I'm Spartacus
10-03-2020, 12:12 PM
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

Oh jeez! Why am I taking pelters for this??!!

10-03-2020, 12:18 PM

I'm finding it hard to disagree with you. Who has been better than Brown in the last 15 years? Guy was and probably still is the complete midfielder and captain. He repeatedly schools us for fun.

MikeyS
10-03-2020, 12:33 PM

Whilst I agree the Brown is different class the funniest part of your post is suggesting he'd get in teams that had Scholes, Carrick, Xavi, Iniesta, Busquets, Pirlo, Vieira, YaYa Toure, Lampard, Sneijder etc.. but he wouldn't get near Liverpool with Henderson & Milner! 😂

mcohibs
10-03-2020, 12:33 PM

Just to be clear, you're saying that Scott Brown could have played in any team in the world in his prime? And would have easily slotted into Barcelona's starting eleven? (I assume in place of either Xavi or Iniesta...)

I've no intention to give anyone pelters but I do think that, rather ironically, you have overrated Scott Brown to almost galactic proportions.

10-03-2020, 01:02 PM

:faf: in his prime he's get a game ahead of the likes of Pirlo, Vidal, Xavi, Iniesta, Kroos, Modric etc?

Not even fit to wipe their *****.

10-03-2020, 01:14 PM
I get what he's saying to an extent. I don't think it's too far fetched to say Brown would have got a game for the likes of Man United who had Darren Fletcher and Carrick in their midfield. Playing with better players in a better league would have brought him on as a player.

10-03-2020, 01:22 PM
I get what he's saying to an extent. I don't think it's too far fetched to say Brown would have got a game for the likes of Man United who had Darren Fletcher and Carrick in their midfield. Playing with better players in a better league would have brought him on as a player.

Both of those players are miles better than brown.

10-03-2020, 01:26 PM

I've seen Brown regularly more than hold his own in the Champions League and for Scotland against some real top class midfielders. I think it's a real shame he didn't go down south when he left Hibs as I think he'd have ended up at one of the top clubs down there.

10-03-2020, 01:42 PM

No!

All about opinions I suppose

Scott Brown is the reason someone like Ryan Jack only has 3 Scotland caps

Past his best now I agree but in his day he was quality

You are talking about someone who was Captain of Scotland and Glasgow Celtic against run of the mill Man United players

Dearie me!

10-03-2020, 01:49 PM
No!

You are talking about someone who was Captain of Scotland and Glasgow Celtic against run of the mill Man United players

Dearie me!

There's no such club as Glasgow Celtic and being Scottish Captain means nothing these past few decades. I would have chosen Carrick and Fletcher, both Champions League winners, over Brown any day of the week. Technically both were way ahead of Brown. He would have been found out down south and shown for the clogger that he is. He might have been able to play at Burnley or Bolton or the like....Man U, Chelsea etc...nah.

10-03-2020, 02:05 PM
There's no such club as Glasgow Celtic and being Scottish Captain means nothing these past few decades. I would have chosen Carrick and Fletcher, both Champions League winners, over Brown any day of the week. Technically both were way ahead of Brown. He would have been found out down south and shown for the clogger that he is. He might have been able to play at Burnley or Bolton or the like....Man U, Chelsea etc...nah.
Who knows?

The young Scott Brown I remember the box to box midfielder with lung busting runs and tenacity driving on his team just think the Sproule game at Ibrox the win at Dark Heid the League Cup Final

The world was his oyster when he left us

We sold him to The Celtic Football Club too cheap imho but I suppose a fair price at the time

Carrick and Fletcher are good players without a doubt but if they were both Scottish and I was Scotland Manager a young Broonie would be the first name on the team sheet

I keep saying though it is all about opinions

10-03-2020, 02:11 PM
Who knows?

The young Scott Brown I remember the box to box midfielder with lung busting runs and tenacity driving on his team just think the Sproule game at Ibrox the win at Dark Heid the League Cup Final

The world was his oyster when he left us

We sold him to the Celtic Football Club too cheap imho but I suppose a fair price at the time

Carrick and Fletcher are good players without a doubt but if they were both Scottish and I was Scotland Manager a young Broonie would be the first name on the team sheet

I keep saying though it is all about opinions

Yup. Life would be boring if everyone agreed. For me, Brown was, in his day (a good decade), easily in the top 5 British midfielders. Easily.

10-03-2020, 02:12 PM
Yup. Life would be boring if everyone agreed. For me Brown was, in his day (a good decade), easily in the top 5 British midfielders. Easily.

Thank you mate 😁

10-03-2020, 02:21 PM
If Brown had went down south he would likely have developed differently and from what I thought of him at the time he was more than capable of playing at the very highest level. IMO mixing it with the best of them in EPL no worries.

10-03-2020, 03:28 PM
No!

Dearie me!

2 European cup winning run of the mill players. Brown isn't in their league at all. Carrick especially miles better.

10-03-2020, 03:34 PM
Did Fletcher win EC? I get what the poster meant about Brown. I too think he could have been superb and improved massively if he had gone to one of the big clubs. I think he is definitely one of the best Scottish players I've seen

10-03-2020, 03:49 PM

2 European cup winning run of the mill players. Brown isn't in their league at all. Carrick especially miles better.

Dearie me!

Did you see Broonie play?

No way are Carrick and Fletcher MILES better

Scott Brown was by far the better footballer by a country mile

A goal scoring midfielder that could play DM sold for 4.4m back in 2007 other possible destinations for a young Brown at that time were Rangers Spurs Everton and Middlesbrough so no doubt in my mind he would have progressed his career down South

Would go as far to say at that time he was better than SJM as was nearer the finished article and a full Scotland international

10-03-2020, 04:02 PM
Brown is a quality player who I’ve always liked and rated.

He did have a couple of problems early in his time with Celtic - a troublesome ankle injury and the death of his sister. Playing at a lower level and being closer to home he was able to come through these things (and tailor his game to becoming an effective DM, something I never thought he’d be). He might not have had the time, luxury or support network to manage all of this had he gone down South.

Ability wise, he had everything to make it as a top player.

10-03-2020, 04:05 PM
Brown is a quality player who I’ve always liked and rated.

He did have a couple of problems early in his time with Celtic - a troublesome ankle injury and the death of his sister. Playing at a lower level and being closer to home he was able to come through these things (and tailor his game to becoming an effective DM, something I never thought he’d be). He might not have had the time, luxury or support network to manage all of this had he gone down South.

Ability wise, he had everything to make it as a top player.

Agree

Still see him when we go to Hampden

He always makes the effort

JammyDoidger
10-03-2020, 04:09 PM
Scott McKenna

Tomsk
10-03-2020, 04:20 PM
Did Fletcher win EC? I get what the poster meant about Brown. I too think he could have been superb and improved massively if he had gone to one of the big clubs. I think he is definitely one of the best Scottish players I've seen

He was a non-playing sub in 2008.

10-03-2020, 04:23 PM
Dearie me!

Did you see Broonie play?

No way are Carrick and Fletcher MILES better

Scott Brown was by far the better footballer by a country mile

A goal scoring midfielder that could play DM sold for 4.4m back in 2007 other possible destinations for a young Brown at that time were Rangers Spurs Everton and Middlesbrough so no doubt in my mind he would have progressed his career down South

Would go as far to say at that time he was better than SJM as was nearer the finished article and a full Scotland international
Scott brown wasn't the far better footballer. If he was he would have actually went and won the big titles that those guys did.

You think he is better because he was linked with Spurs who were gash at the time? Carrick not only actually moved to Spurs but then moved for big money to United and won the CL. Brown actually couldn't lace the guys boots, Carrick was an excellent player.

I seen Brown play many times. Good player who liked to be the big fish here but had no bottle to go to a real league because he would've been back up here quicker than Barry Ferguson.

10-03-2020, 04:33 PM
Scott brown wasn't the far better footballer. If he was he would have actually went and won the big titles that those guys did.

You think he is better because he was linked with Spurs who were gash at the time? Carrick not only actually moved to Spurs but then moved for big money to United and won the CL. Brown actually couldn't lace the guys boots, Carrick was an excellent player.

I seen Brown play many times. Good player who liked to be the big fish here but had no bottle to go to a real league because he would've been back up here quicker than Barry Ferguson.

You talk so much rubbish at times.

Scott’s decision not to go to England had nothing to do with ‘bottle’. He do didn’t want to move away from his family and his sister, who was seriously ill and subsequently died.

Whether or not he would have succeeded in the EPL is a hypothetical question. But he is a very good footballer who has had a very good career. To pronounce in such a categoric fashion as you have is ridiculous.

10-03-2020, 04:44 PM
You talk so much rubbish at times.

Scott’s decision not to go to England had nothing to do with ‘bottle’. He do didn’t want to move away from his family and his sister, who was seriously ill and subsequently died.

Whether or not he would have succeeded in the EPL is a hypothetical question. But he is a very good footballer who has had a very good career. To pronounce in such a categoric fashion as you have is ridiculous.

Yeah, he had a good career in Scotland. Carrick has an excellent career in a very strong premier league.

Why did no one ever bid for Brown while he was at Celtic?

10-03-2020, 04:50 PM
Yeah, he had a good career in Scotland. Carrick has an excellent career in a very strong premier league.

I’m sure there will have been plenty of interest in Brown over the years - if he’d wanted to move on, I don’t think his agent would have had to work too hard to drum up interest (I’m sure I read something about interest in him over the years in a fairly recent interview).

Can we agree on one thing - Scott Brown’s name has no business appearing in a “most overrated player” thread?

10-03-2020, 04:52 PM
I’m sure there will have been plenty of interest in Brown over the years - if he’d wanted to move on, I don’t think his agent would have had to work too hard to drum up interest (I’m sure I read something about interest in him over the years in a fairly recent interview).

Can we agree on one thing - Scott Brown’s name has no business appearing in a “most overrated player” thread?

I agree on that, he isn't the most overrated. Although if folk think he walks into the Champions league winning United team from 2008 ahead of Carrick and Fletcher he is definitely close to the most overrated.

They got to 3 CL finals in 4 years. Brown would be a ballboy if lucky.

10-03-2020, 04:53 PM

Where exactly would he go, given he had made the decision to stay in Scotland?

I notice you have not addressed your ludicrous claim that Brown lacked bottle.

10-03-2020, 04:56 PM
Where exactly would he go, given he had made the decision to stay in Scotland?

I notice you have not addressed your ludicrous claim that Brown lacked bottle.

Had he made the decision to stay purely in Scotland? I mean England is hardly Peru, he could've moved and still taken care of his family surely?

I think he liked a comfortable, easy life. Which he is quite entitled to do.

10-03-2020, 05:11 PM

You would think this would be obvious - especially on a Hibs supporters forum.

10-03-2020, 05:12 PM
I agree on that, he isn't the most overrated. Although if folk think he walks into the Champions league winning United team from 2008 ahead of Carrick and Fletcher he is definitely close to the most overrated.

They got to 3 CL finals in 4 years. Brown would be a ballboy if lucky.

Aye, we’re talking about Champions League winners, folk who made hundreds of appearances for Man United after being bought and played by Alex Ferguson.

Top, top players.

Brown might have reached that level but he never tried so we’ll never know.

MagicSwirlingShip
10-03-2020, 05:14 PM
Brown wanted to win trophies, and play in the Champions league. Done not too bad at Celtic, AFAIK he could end up as one of their most decorated players ever?

He will go down as a legend of the Scottish game.

10-03-2020, 05:14 PM
Had he made the decision to stay purely in Scotland? I mean England is hardly Peru, he could've moved and still taken care of his family surely?

I think he liked a comfortable, easy life. Which he is quite entitled to do.

You just cannot accept when you are wrong, can you?

It wasn’t my decision, nor was it my family.

Scott made the decision that he wanted to stay in Scotland for family reasons. Realistically that left him a choice of two clubs when he left Hibs.

I cannot believe I am even bothering to discuss this with you. You accused him of a lack of bottle, and now you are too cowardly to admit your mistake!

Oh the irony.

10-03-2020, 05:49 PM
You just cannot accept when you are wrong, can you?

It wasn’t my decision, nor was it my family.

Scott made the decision that he wanted to stay in Scotland for family reasons. Realistically that left him a choice of two clubs when he left Hibs.

I cannot believe I am even bothering to discuss this with you. You accused him of a lack of bottle, and now you are too cowardly to admit your mistake!

Oh the irony.

I think you need to relax mate. Calling me cowardly? Try having a conversation without resorting to personal insults.

I do think he is a bit of a bottler, mainly because of his big tough man attitude when he is backed up by the best players in the league. He should've went to tough it in England.

Try replying to the post, not the poster.

10-03-2020, 06:10 PM
So can we just agree that Brown:

Was a fantastic player in his prime, and is still playing to a pretty high standard.

Didn't leave Scotland (for legitimate reasons), so we'll never really know how he would have fared if he'd played for Man United/Chelsea/Spurs

Would probably not have strolled into the midfield of Barcelona or Real Madrid...but that's hardly a condemnation of any player

Definitely does not deserve to be on a list of the most overrated players ever.

10-03-2020, 06:43 PM
I think you need to relax mate. Calling me cowardly? Try having a conversation without resorting to personal insults.

I do think he is a bit of a bottler, mainly because of his big tough man attitude when he is backed up by the best players in the league. He should've went to tough it in England.

Try replying to the post, not the poster.

You’re just embarrassing yourself now.

10-03-2020, 06:53 PM

You’re just embarrassing yourself now.

Okay. I don't feel embarrassed. Why would I be embarrassed? You are literally incapable of having a conversation without being a child. Thats embarrassing.

10-03-2020, 07:00 PM
Scott Brown is the highest rated Scottish player of his generation and playing all his time in our league. Admirable. His name shouldn’t be anywhere on the thread. Suggesting otherwise would point to that old ‘attention seeking’ number.

mcohibs
10-03-2020, 07:02 PM

Have you read the thread? Folk saying he's 'a country mile' better than Carrick and would have slotted easily into Barca's team FFS.

Brown in his prime was a fantastic player. Certainly capable of playing EPL but some of the comparisons in this thread are ludicrous.

Based on that alone, it would appear he is vastly overrated and this thread is literally the place to discuss that.

mcohibs
10-03-2020, 07:04 PM
Scott Brown is the highest rated Scottish player of his generation and playing all his time in our league. Admirable. His name shouldn’t be anywhere on the thread. Suggesting otherwise would point to that old ‘attention seeking’ number.

His name should absolutely be in the thread if people are saying he could have played for Barcelona in his prime.

By that logic, he is overrated. And this is a thread discussing overrated players.

10-03-2020, 07:09 PM
His name should absolutely be in the thread if people are saying he could have played for Barcelona in his prime.

By that logic, he is overrated. And this is a thread discussing overrated players.

Was the purpose of the thread to commence with wildly over rating random players? Scott Brown with his truck load of caps and medals has no Scottish league parallel in our current game.
I reckon Ofir Marciano would walk into the Man City squad. Is that the continuing logic for the thread?

10-03-2020, 07:12 PM
Have you read the thread? Folk saying he's 'a country mile' better than Carrick and would have slotted easily into Barca's team FFS.

Brown in his prime was a fantastic player. Certainly capable of playing EPL but some of the comparisons in this thread are ludicrous.

Based on that alone, it would appear he is vastly overrated and this thread is literally the place to discuss that.

Aye.

Post #18.

Clearly some folk rate Scott Brown higher than others, I'm struggling to accept that he should have been dislodging Xavi or Iniesta from the Barca team but I'm also struggling to accept Scott Brown being overrated in any real sensible use of the word.

The Fletcher/ Carrick part was interesting, both highly decorated players who played at a very high level under the best manager of all time. As a player, was Scott Brown miles behind those two? I don't think so, he could well have been their equal and they were good players.

We'll never know as he never tried himself at that level, but it's not crazy talk. Comparing him to some of the world's best midfielders in a generation certainly is though.

10-03-2020, 07:24 PM
Okay. I don't feel embarrassed. Why would I be embarrassed? You are literally incapable of having a conversation without being a child. Thats embarrassing.

I’m done. You are too tedious.

mcohibs
10-03-2020, 07:52 PM
Was the purpose of the thread to commence with wildly over rating random players? Scott Brown with his truck load of caps and medals has no Scottish league parallel in our current game.
I reckon Ofir Marciano would walk into the Man City squad. Is that the continuing logic for the thread?

I get what you're saying but in this thread alone there's several posters overrating Scott Brown.

Its not just one person that's made an outlandish claim. By that logic, using the posters in this thread as a sample, it would seem he is overrated.

A great player and one that will go down in Scottish football history in terms of his legacy and success. But if there's people ready to say he'd walk into Barca's starting eleven or that he's miles ahead of Carrick, then I'm afraid it's hard to deny that he is overrated.

10-03-2020, 08:43 PM
I get what you're saying but in this thread alone there's several posters overrating Scott Brown.

Its not just one person that's made an outlandish claim. By that logic, using the posters in this thread as a sample, it would seem he is overrated.

A great player and one that will go down in Scottish football history in terms of his legacy and success. But if there's people ready to say he'd walk into Barca's starting eleven or that he's miles ahead of Carrick, then I'm afraid it's hard to deny that he is overrated.

First sentence third paragraph. That’s his rating.
The exaggeration being applied on this thread makes it no different from every other ****ing thread.

TrinityHibs
11-03-2020, 12:41 AM
Not replying to anybody in particular but it’s fair to say that Brown , Fletcher and Carrick would not have got a look in in the Xavi Iniesta Barcelona team. Sir Alex used Fletcher and Carrick for very specific tasks and they fitted in well. I think Brown could also have found a role in the ManU team. All 3 players have been successful with Fletcher and Carrick having played at a higher level. Scott Brown has been a more influential player for Celtic than Fletcher and Carrick at ManU. Given the choice I would have taken Brown at Hibs before Carrick or Fletcher although it would have been nice to have had the choice. Anybody suggesting that Brown is over rated is just wrong.