View Full Version : Let’s see you defend that performance

GoalsMcGinley
03-03-2020, 08:21 PM
Disgusting. Absolutely disgusting. Every single player should be ashamed of that. 3 league wins this season and 2 of them at ER.

sean04
03-03-2020, 08:24 PM
Disgusting. Absolutely disgusting. Every single player should be ashamed of that. 3 league wins this season and 2 of them at ER.

Disgrace. Doidge, McNulty, Allan, Docherty, Stevenson
How can they all be so bad at the same time

03-03-2020, 08:27 PM
No one is defending that. No one.

Who's going to defend it?

I’d say unacceptable disgrace, but I feel that absolutely disgusting already tops it?

Anyhow well done for starting another thread, literally no one was discussing this game before you did that.

03-03-2020, 08:28 PM
Never going to win a game when almost all your players put in a performance like that. Sickening. Just pathetic. Should be fined a weeks wages for that abject pish

Greenio
I don't understand that performance at all.

Just don't understand.

Not a lot you can say about this really. 0-3 says it all.

GoalsMcGinley
Disgrace. Doidge, McNulty, Allan, Docherty, Stevenson
How can they all be so bad at the same time

Let’s be honest out with his goals Doidge hasn’t been that great. Allan has been an empty jersey for weeks now and still seems to get a start.

That team will not win the semi final and is in real danger of finishing in the bottom 6!

AL-Qaholik
Reaping what we sow for another dreadful transfer window. Two recognised senior strikers at the club and the worst defence in the league. But it’s ok, we’re getting digital ribbons...

03-03-2020, 08:29 PM
I’ve never, and I mean never, been so disgusted with a Hibernian non-performance as that.

bordergreen
03-03-2020, 08:31 PM

Hunger and Desire, they showed it from the start all over the pitch. We showed none.

JammyDoidger
03-03-2020, 08:31 PM
Be another seat of empty seats at hampden after that. Don't think we can take much more.

03-03-2020, 08:32 PM
I’ve never, and I mean never, been so disgusted with a Hibernian non-performance as that.

That felt worse than either of the Hampden games. Literally no excuses. The widest Derby winning margin of the recent era, after everything, still belongs to them. Shameful.

03-03-2020, 08:33 PM
Bigger difference was managers. They had a plan. We had jack Ross.

03-03-2020, 08:33 PM
Bigger difference was managers. They had a plan. We had jack Ross.You again?

03-03-2020, 08:34 PM
Terrible performance. In a strange sort of way actually think we are more likely to beat them in the semi final now.

03-03-2020, 08:34 PM
You again?

Is he wrong? We were totally outthought for 90+ minutes.

03-03-2020, 08:35 PM
It's Hibs all over, always ALWAYS bottle it against them.
Bottom of the league 6 points away to their city rivals.
That's worldly unique.
Absolute *****

Exactly. Like the last game when they beat us at Tynecastle.

Same.

I not long ago, got the bug back and Hibs TV, spent a fortune with Club Shop and what not.
But now... pretty much all set to kiss goodbye again to Hibs. Not that I expect them to win, but I dont expect to be humiliated.

03-03-2020, 08:36 PM

That’s garbage. Anybody who puts Stendel above Ross needs a brain transplant.

03-03-2020, 08:37 PM
That felt worse than either of the Hampden games. Literally no excuses. The widest Derby winning margin of the recent era, after everything, still belongs to them. Shameful.

Surely to **** no actual Hibs fan thought that was going to change even before kick off today? :confused:

Absolutely dismal, so disjointed like they'd met up for the first time 2 minutes before kick off. Should have been down to 10 after 15 minutes although tbf Mcnulty was so ****ing gash that might have been a mercy.

Hearts were comfortably better than us in all departments tonight.

03-03-2020, 08:37 PM
The cracks showed on Friday against a piss poor Inverness side. We played amazing according to some. We played the whole game tonight like the first three quarters against Inverness. No hunger or appetite. ****ing ****.

03-03-2020, 08:38 PM
Defense is utter *****. Hanlon and Stevenson can gtf.

rotherhamrob
Spineless, gutless, cowards.

Why?

Disgusting

absolutely no defending that ****ing *****. absolutely gutless.

supermcginn
Surely to **** no actual Hibs fan thought that was going to change even before kick off today? :confused:

Absolutely dismal, so disjointed like they'd met up for the first time 2 minutes before kick off. Should have been down to 10 after 15 minutes although tbf Mcnulty was so ****ing gash that might have been a mercy.

Hearts were comfortably better than us in all departments tonight.
McNulty is incredibly out his depth. Joker of a player

03-03-2020, 08:39 PM
Big questions of a recruitment team that did nothing about an already leaky defence that lost 2 players to injury and a misfiring attack in need of depth which is probably in a weaker state now than it was in December.

Then you get to Ross who, well. You can’t preside over that ****show and not have questions asked about your skills as a manager.

McNulty is incredibly out his depth. Joker of a player

100%

No sorry cant defend that.Better team won.

Exactly. Like the last game when they beat us at Tynecastle.

They pissed all over us tonight. They are bottom of the table. Absolutely ducking brutal.

coldingham hibs
03-03-2020, 08:40 PM
Totally underestimated the Hearts press. Should have changed formation after about 20 mins. Scott Allan needs dropped absolutely hopeless for weeks.

We turned up thinking it would be a doddle. Hearts turned up like their survival depended on it. Midfield non-existent.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

skyehibee
Hearts better team all game. Pathetic spineless performance not one pass mark

We looked disorganised and lacked any fight. Incredibly lacklustre performance. We were well beaten by a team who were bottom of the league.

03-03-2020, 08:42 PM
Disgraceful

gutted i cashed in on a heartz win too early

Totally underestimated the Hearts press. Should have changed formation after about 20 mins. Scott Allan needs dropped absolutely hopeless for weeks.

Why would you pick on Allan when the rest can’t pass a ball five yards and Hanlon seems to have been instructed to launch at every opportunity?

coldingham hibs
Hearts better team all game. Pathetic spineless performance not one pass mark

Paul McGinn & Jackson tried.

03-03-2020, 08:43 PM
Believed our own hype after pumping a shocking Inverness managed by John Robertson

Sergio sledge
One of the worst derby performances I've seen. At least we seem to have had some fight over the last few years even when getting beaten. Tonight we didn't even have that.

Why do we always bottle it against hearts? 22 points this season and 6 of them have been against us.

The worst thing is that it was 3 going on 5 or 6. We should have been down to 10 men for most of the game as well so it could have been so much worse.

Horrible, horrible performance. Jack Ross has some serious thinking to do before the semi final.

I think that sort of performance will pretty much put an end to any hope of selling out our allocation for Hampden.

PH91

Outfought. Manager has absolutely no chance if 7 or 8 players are just not at it. Unacceptable from the players tonight. Theres a lot of making up to be done at hampden.

We were unlucky.

Scotty was harshly adjudged to have handled and they scored 2 break away goals. The ref gave them everything and Halkett should have had a 2nd yellow.

How's that, OP?

Well, you did ask.

Why?

You’re not stupid enough to expect a serious answer to that. For months we’ve laughed at the guy, while, for the main part, enjoying where we’ve gone with Ross. Now, on the basis of one bad result, the tables are turned. Nonsense.

Paul McGinn & Jackson tried.Trying isnt enough when you give the ball to a midfielder with 3 players around him and it results in an opposition goal.

Lot of no shows tonight

We turned up thinking it would be a doddle. Hearts turned up like their survival depended on it. Midfield non-existent.

Strikers non existent also and defenders bullied.

How a 17 year old wee spotty laddie can harry the ball from grown men the whole game is baffling.

heid the baw
03-03-2020, 08:44 PM

I take it the recent era means since since boxing day

03-03-2020, 08:45 PM

He made him look daft tonight. I've only seen us outclassed twice that bad by hearts and both were at Hampden. That was a disgrace.

You’re not stupid enough to expect a serious answer to that. For months we’ve laughed at the guy, while, for the main part, enjoying where we’ve gone with Ross. Now, on the basis of one bad result, the tables are turned. Nonsense.

They’ve just hammered us away after putting the huns out the cup. It’s not one bad result either, we’ve not been very good for a wee while now.

There’s no case for the defence, a bit like our back 3.

That ranks up there with the worst derby performances of all time.

03-03-2020, 08:46 PM
We were unlucky.

Scotty was harshly adjudged to have handled and they scored 2 break away goals. The ref gave them everything and Halkett should have had a 2nd yellow.

How's that, OP?

Well, you did ask.

I hope thats a wind up

cabbage_88
Worst performance against them since the 5-1. Absolutely abysmal to a man every player subs included. Although I left before Hallbergs goal. Hate to say it but they just seem to have am edge over us and always have done. Pathetic performance and every single player should be having a hard look at themselves tonight. Shocking shokcing stuff

We were unlucky.

How's that, OP?

Well, you did ask.

2/10.

I take it the recent era means since since boxing dayI'm assuming he thought it was still 3-0

03-03-2020, 08:47 PM
I hope thats a wind up

Of course it is. Why you would want to troll the support on this forum tonight after this **** should be a banning offence. Of course nothing will be said.

They are going to beat us in the semi too if we play like that

Jack Ferrigan
Why did Mark McNulty try to get himself sent off? 🤔
Now there's a puzzler. Anyone heard rumours.

I take it the recent era means since since boxing day

It was 0-3 when I posted that. The point still stands, for all we have 'dominated' the derby in recent years I'd struggle to think of a victory as humiliating as that. Maybe the 3-1 v Cathro but that was partially expected.

He made him look daft tonight. I've only seen us outclassed twice that bad by hearts and both were at Hampden. That was a disgrace.

Hardly outclassed.

03-03-2020, 08:48 PM
I hope thats a wind up

I was merely obliging the OP.

I'm kind that way.

cabbage_88
We were unlucky.

How's that, OP?

Well, you did ask.

You're having a laugh mate you really are. Did we even have a shot on target? Embarrassing performance

What were the tactics tonight? Bar the first 5-10 where I thought we looked good running for the the bye line etc... We looked the same old Hibs (bar the Lennon years) against them. They always make us look a pub team. Embarrassment.

Indefensible. Absolutely shat it from them.

03-03-2020, 08:49 PM
Hardly outclassed.

Literally outclassed in every position. Utterly shat on us.

1 8 7 5
Some of you need to step back from the keyboard FFS.

Hardly outclassed.

You don’t think we were outclassed?

A lot of papering over cracks at ER. We have a very very average squad. If we try to sign McNulty I'll seriously question renewing ST. He is very average. Hanlon and Stevenson are really poor now. Jackson, James and Horgan need to go for a start.

Big screen and digital ribbons are on their way. Everyone ready for the big wow next season?

You're having a laugh mate you really are. Did we even have a shot on target? Embarrassing performance

Maybe the one we scored with?

03-03-2020, 08:50 PM
And... McNulty with his yam style stamp. 🙄 Defo a retrospective.

DetroitHibs
We have no leaders and a soft as ***** captain. It’s no wonder we wilt against teams that put us under pressure.

cabbage_88
Maybe the one we scored with?

1 then

03-03-2020, 08:51 PM
All the players came across as scared to get hurt. Didnt want ball and as soon as closed down just kicked the ball anywhere.

Sorry to say but we bottled it.

A lot of papering over cracks at ER. We have a very very average squad. If we try to sign McNulty I'll seriously question renewing ST. He is very average. Hanlon and Stevenson are really poor now. Jackson, James and Horgan need to go for a start.

Big screen and digital ribbons are on their way. Everyone ready for the big wow next season?

Full houses, doubling income, a plans a plan! 🤣

Whoosh

03-03-2020, 08:53 PM
One of the most pathetically cowardly performances I’ve seen in a derby, and that’s ****ing saying something.

Hibs4185
03-03-2020, 08:55 PM

Get yourself to *uck. I have never called out a fan for their opinion but you Sir are a disgrace. Go and revel on kickback

Lee Marvin
03-03-2020, 08:55 PM

Me neither. Utterly despicable. As bad as I can remember when you consider where both teams are. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Totally bossed tonight. We looked like a team of under 10s.

Zero desire. Zero passion. Zero effort.

03-03-2020, 08:57 PM
only consolation is it wasn’t 1-5 again. Or 0-7.

Get yourself to *uck. I have never called out a fan for their opinion but you Sir are a disgrace. Go and revel on kickback

Where's he wrong? Tactics were non existent. That was a hope the team can play a certain way and if they can't, they're ****ed. Tactics were absolutely non existent and as always we do not have an opposite to the technical side of the game (if we even have that!)

As pathetic a performance as I have witnessed in s Derby. That defence is shocking, FFS I'd replace them all.

03-03-2020, 08:58 PM

Aye, our manager wasn’t outsmarted by theirs then.

03-03-2020, 08:58 PM
They’ve just hammered us away after putting the huns out the cup. It’s not one bad result either, we’ve not been very good for a wee while now.

I agree we’ve been far from perfect, but the main point I’m making is that there is no way that, as you suggested, Stendel is the main man between Ross and him.

cabbage_88
03-03-2020, 08:59 PM
Whoosh

Hilarious mate my sides are splitting

WestStandMoaner

Not out classed out fought, gutless performance, midfield run over , Ross set them up so he needs to shoulder the blame. We have been a soft club for a long time and hearts have it in their DNA to roll up the sleeves and get stuck into us.

We have some good players but not enough hard men when we need to fight . Not sure we will get the top 6 if not I don’t want ribbons and screens I want the one million spent on the team

I agree we’ve been far from perfect, but the main point I’m making is that there is no way that, as you suggested, Stendel is the main man between Ross and him.

I don’t think so either Jim, but in the context of this even German lad outsmarted Ross massively unless the players threw Ross under a bus because from start to finish they where better.
Has there ever been a derby at home before ever that we didn’t have a shot on target until the last five minutes?

Chorley Hibee
One of the most pathetically cowardly performances I’ve seen in a derby, and that’s ****ing saying something.

My thoughts exactly, and like you I've seen enough of them to last a lifetime!

03-03-2020, 09:00 PM

No, Hibs are the disgrace tonight.

I'm the furthest thing from a yam you'll actually find mate. Bore off.

ionahibby
03-03-2020, 09:00 PM
Seen it all before, hibs consistently let you down. Been like that for years.

03-03-2020, 09:01 PM
As pathetic a performance as I have witnessed in s Derby. That defence is shocking, FFS I'd replace them all.

Hamlin wasn’t at fault, Lewis was okay, etc etc.

Weegreenman
03-03-2020, 09:01 PM
You could tell within five minutes that we weren’t at it.
They were by far the hungrier side and that’s not acceptable for me. Add to that the present Scotty gives them ( great penalty btw ) and the writing was on the wall.

How many ****ing times are we going to go into a Derby and not expect to battle for every first, second, third and fourth ball??? Before you try and play football. School boy stuff and for that Jack Ross your on a ****ing shoogly peg for sending this lot into battle.

A ****ing embarrassment.

03-03-2020, 09:02 PM
They are going to beat us in the semi too if we play like that

We will and they will and people will still defend Stevenson and Hanlon cos they've played 300 something games for us but would never get in the Aberdeen team.

HibsGW
03-03-2020, 09:03 PM
Strikers non existent also and defenders bullied.

How a 17 year old wee spotty laddie can harry the ball from grown men the whole game is baffling.

This was one thing that really frustrated me the amount of times we let Hickey stop our players winning headers and hold people off the ball etc. Credit to him but simply shouldn’t be happening, need to be more physical

03-03-2020, 09:04 PM
Spineless, gutless, cowards.

If I was asked to sum up tonight's game in 3 words, that would be it. The entire team let us down,

03-03-2020, 09:05 PM
I can’t defend that.
Hearts thoroughly deserved their victory.
Afraid when it comes to explaining derby defeats, I’ve run out of straws to clutch at

Hilarious mate my sides are splitting

It wasn't meant to be funny.

You just missed the point. Mate.

Ok, not all 11 players in a team will be on top-form every game but how do we regularly (especially in derby-games !) have, like tonght, TEN off-form at the same time ?? Wtf goes on behind-doors at ER - does no-one at ER know exactly how much the derby means to the fans ??

Keyser Sauzee
03-03-2020, 09:09 PM
Stevenson’s time is up, Hearts knew he offered **** all going forward and gave him all the space he wanted while shutting us down on the right hand side, Ross should have changed it at half time. We **** ourselves the way Hearts closed us down quickly and never recovered. Pathetic performance, not one player matched their fight, motivation and hard work which is the bare minimum u ask of professional footballers.

ozhibs
03-03-2020, 09:11 PM
Ok, not all 11 players in a team will be on top-form every game but how do we regularly (especially in derby-games !) have, like tonght, TEN off-form at the same time ?? Wtf goes on behind-doors at ER - does no-one at ER know exactly how much the derby means to the fans ??

That to me is the problem they keep trying to say it's only 3 points the same as any other game but it's not it means so much more to the fans.:-(

Gloucester Hibs
03-03-2020, 09:13 PM

Because our players are more than a wee bit soft and when they come up against a hearts team who are up for it and press us they’re taken aback. Like they’re expecting it to be a run of the mill SPFL fixture. It shouldn’t happen as often as it does. You’ve also got to ask who’s got the fire in their belly to motivate the rest of the team.

03-03-2020, 09:14 PM
NO defending that performance tonight. Needed a Bartley type figure and we haven't got one. Soft as *****.

Bangkok Hibby
03-03-2020, 09:16 PM

I don't think we were outthought at all. Hearts were crap, we were ****ing awful. Nobody could control the ball, passes going astray the whole game. We just didnt turn up!

03-03-2020, 09:17 PM
It's Hibs all over, always ALWAYS bottle it against them.
Bottom of the league 6 points away to their city rivals.
That's worldly unique.
Absolute *****

It was much worse than bottling it. Bottling it implies being overawed by the occasion. We looked much more like we were playing just any old league game - badly, disjointedly, lethargically.

This was a derby where we could have been threatening Europe with a win, putting them deeper into relegation trouble and cementing our dominance. But forget all that, much more importantly it's the derby so more than at any other time every single player should have been playing for the jersey. Instead they were gutless, feckless, clueless, energyless and shapeless.

I left at 81 minutes which is literally the first time in around 40 years of supporting Hibs that I've ever done that. Ghosts in green shirts - **** off.

1 8 7 5
03-03-2020, 09:21 PM
It wasn't meant to be funny.

You just missed the point. Mate.

Your wasting your time radge.... the place is mental tonight.

Max_Shah
03-03-2020, 09:22 PM
Who's going to defend it?

Certainly not our lovely nice guys Paul & Lewis.

A stunning and brave performance.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Seriously, is it not time to bin the Birthday Caird Pish surrounding certain players because of what happened in Twenty-Canteen.

It is a seaside-league mentality holding us back as a collective support base and blinding us to obvious flaws within the team on the park in 2020.

Anyway:

According to Tomato Sauces, JR is NOT ****ING HAPPY with our 2016 HOF medal holders.

This is common knowledge or will be soon enough thanks to journos sniffing round the directors hospitality.

And before I get flamed/banned/bored by Mrs. Hanlon please bear this in mind:

I AM ****ING HURTING AFTER TODAY - my hubby is more philosophical and that is because he is a better person than I :not worth

WE WILL BEAT THEM AT DUMPDEN AND WE WILL QUALIFY FOR EUROPE.

JR is a good guy but can only pish with the cock he has in his trousers.

WestStandMoaner
03-03-2020, 09:22 PM

Not out classed out fought, gutless performance, midfield run over , Ross set them up so he needs to shoulder the blame. We have been a soft club for a long time and hearts have it in their DNA to roll up the sleeves and get stuck into us.

We have some good players but not enough hard men when we need to fight . Not sure we will get the top 6 if not I don’t want ribbons and screens I want the one million spent on the team

03-03-2020, 09:28 PM
You could tell within five minutes that we weren’t at it.
They were by far the hungrier side and that’s not acceptable for me. Add to that the present Scotty gives them ( great penalty btw ) and the writing was on the wall.

How many ****ing times are we going to go into a Derby and not expect to battle for every first, second, third and fourth ball??? Before you try and play football. School boy stuff and for that Jack Ross your on a ****ing shoogly peg for sending this lot into battle.

A ****ing embarrassment.

This a million times over.

And whether or not Hanlon is good enough to play for us he is in no way a captain. From the get go and throughout the game - even after they were 3-0 up - they were time wasting at every dead ball, particularly throw-ins, in to slow the game and stop us from playing with any rhythm. Hanlon should have been all over the referee for that right away but instead it was the usual invisible captain routine. Not his fault, he's just not that guy. But **** me it costs us dearly over a season.

03-03-2020, 09:30 PM
McGregor was outstanding against them last time and he’s a leader.

Gray is finished - injured - another leader.

We don’t have another leader in the team and it showed when things weren’t going our way.

Allan has been poor for weeks - your hoping he can set something up but in a way we should have started Hallberg to win the battle 1st.

McNulty and Allan felt like playing 2 players down.

Hallberg also played well last Derby.

We simply can’t line up same in the game at Hampden.

To only have 3 strikers is also coming back to bite us.

Overall a terrible performance tonight by a distinctly average midtable team.

London Hibs Supporters Club
03-03-2020, 09:36 PM
Stevenson’s time is up, Hearts knew he offered **** all going forward and gave him all the space he wanted while shutting us down on the right hand side, Ross should have changed it at half time. We **** ourselves the way Hearts closed us down quickly and never recovered. Pathetic performance, not one player matched their fight, motivation and hard work which is the bare minimum u ask of professional footballers.

Stevenson is akin to playing with a man short. He'll get pass marks in the match thread, though.

03-03-2020, 09:38 PM
Lewis end product is frustratingly bad

Whodve thought we would be missing Joe Newell as much? He gives us a much better balance and his set plays are excellent

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

03-03-2020, 09:41 PM
We were poor, but it was Allan and Jackson who gave away the first 2 goals.

There's no recovering from that.

As soon as the penalty was given I knew we were sunk.

03-03-2020, 09:42 PM
Be another seat of empty seats at hampden after that. Don't think we can take much more.

ltjf

03-03-2020, 09:44 PM
https://www.hibs.net/image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAABIAAAALCAMAAAB FyS02AAAAmVBMVEVzc3P///9zc3Nzc3NEaYJzc3Nzc3Nzc3NEaYJzc3Nzc3Nzc3NEaYJzc3Nz c3NEaYJQbH5zc3Nzc3Nzc3NEaYJncHdEaYJEaYJeb3pEaYJEaY JPa35EaYJEaYJFaYJKaoBEaYJIaoFHaoFEaYJEaYJKbodMcYlP c4xXepJZfJRbfpVcf5ZfgplihJtpiqFqjKJtjqVxkqiWtMh7yD 1RAAAAJHRSTlMAAAkMEBMVGiAqKy8wNj9AQVJZaXB8gI Pn6 9v8/T2d/j7O9HaaNBAAAAjElEQVQI1yXIyw6CMBRAwdP2IrQpC2Mk/v/XmeBC0CKlLxfMcpSCyav9HczkCHMBgfvVMUh4jJaOJwiMrnEZb t42bAI0KKBprYHGWRlI25qAPZwVD8ryiqmQl/msz0GOgW/kCAUwcFykZ62bF6nrWezO6OFnyiBiAhjtvM0N6HWm1U6Kgk5AC VAq1MgfV5o88Zy5mnEAAAAASUVORK5CYII= Originally Posted by JammyDoidger https://www.hibs.net/image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAAAwAAAAMAgMAAAA rG7R0AAAACVBMVEX///8AZgLs7Ow5pdhMAAAAAXRSTlMAQObYZgAAACBJREFUCNdjEA0N YQgNDYXgVCDOBOIoKJ0aipADYqBaABpDC8AAKR0gAAAAAElFTk SuQmCC (https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=6105944#post6105944)

ltjf

Yes, but firstly translate tjf.

The Tubs
03-03-2020, 09:45 PM
McGregor was outstanding against them last time and he’s a leader.

Gray is finished - injured - another leader.

We don’t have another leader in the team and it showed when things weren’t going our way.

Allan has been poor for weeks - your hoping he can set something up but in a way we should have started Hallberg to win the battle 1st.

McNulty and Allan felt like playing 2 players down.

Hallberg also played well last Derby.

We simply can’t line up same in the game at Hampden.

To only have 3 strikers is also coming back to bite us.

Overall a terrible performance tonight by a distinctly average midtable team.

Some good points.

Is Gray really ******ed? I’m waiting for an Ali like comeback.

GRA
03-03-2020, 09:48 PM
Can't defend that performance. Night and day from other games in 2020. Couldn't cope with the Hearts high press. Ross needs to find a solution by April or we are screwed. That was arguably our strongest team as well!

MinceAndTatties
03-03-2020, 10:00 PM
Can't defend that performance. Night and day from other games in 2020. Couldn't cope with the Hearts high press. Ross needs to find a solution by April or we are screwed. That was arguably our strongest team as well!
Nailed it

03-03-2020, 10:01 PM
We were poor, but it was Allan and Jackson who gave away the first 2 goals.

There's no recovering from that.

As soon as the penalty was given I knew we were sunk.

There IS a way to recover from 2-0 down in a derby

It takes leaders. It takes guts.

We had that with bartley, Henderson, Cummings & the class of 2016

We didnt have any leadership tonight

03-03-2020, 10:04 PM

Agree. Seems Hearts really knew what their plan was and executed it with a lot of energy and passion added in. From our side the passion and motivation seemed lacking, and our 'plan' clearly failed, the players wilted and basically became disjointed. Next game (against anyone, but in particular the Semi Final) we need to go into it fighting and pumped, and with a strong plan - and in the case Hearts - using a well thought out effective counter strategy to the high press.

I think maybe the club/players/fans were beginning to believe that we could just turn up and play well without really thinking or trying.

An aside, I think Hearts had a proper reason to win the game, whereas for us there isn't as much at stake. If the team (including lots of new/inexperienced personnel) had really understood the Derby, then they would have known that winning this game was a 'reason' in its own right.

Max_Shah
03-03-2020, 10:16 PM
Agree. Seems Hearts really knew what their plan was and executed it with a lot of energy and passion added in. From our side the passion and motivation seemed lacking, and our 'plan' clearly failed, the players wilted and basically became disjointed. Next game (against anyone, but in particular the Semi Final) we need to go into it fighting and pumped, and with a strong plan - and in the case Hearts - using a well thought out effective counter strategy to the high press.

I think maybe the club/players/fans were beginning to believe that we could just turn up and play well without really thinking or trying.

An aside, I think Hearts had a proper reason to win the game, whereas for us there isn't as much at stake. If the team (including lots of new/inexperienced personnel) had really understood the Derby, then they would have known that winning this game was a 'reason' in its own right.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

This times infinity: :top marks

A reasoned and thoughtful analysis amidst a black sea of despair [especially my posts!]

Thanks for putting things in perspective and for restoring my faith in our "online" fanbase.