View Full Version : Semi-Final Draw - Hearts v Hibs
KSA Hibee
01-03-2020, 04:40 PM
Baws! Wife is due on the 7th. Some serious persuasion is going to be needed to get to this one!
dinney sweat it .. just talk to the bairn before hand .. my first born was due on the day of the Sunday final v the sheep in 85. Which also happened to by the wife’s birthday.. sorry I mean ex wife .. also had tickets for George benson at the Edinburgh playhouse on the Monday night .. had a wee chat on the Saturday to the bump and out popped my daughter on Tuesday morning..
mind you that was probably the last time she listened to me .....
Cataplana
01-03-2020, 04:40 PM
I’ve seen it written loads on here but where did this peg selling thing come from ?
They used to call us Pikeys which is slang for Gypsy Travellers. They took it further by saying we sold pegs round the doors, and tarmacked driveways.
01-03-2020, 04:42 PM
They used to call us Pikeys which is slang for Gypsy Travellers. They took it further by saying we sold pegs round the doors, and tarmacked driveways.
Hey some of us still do an nothin wrong wi that. Helps pay for the silver spoons.
01-03-2020, 04:42 PM
Wonder what day we’ll get. Common sense would put Aberdeen on the Saturday purely for transportation reasons but common sense rarely means anything to the SFA
It'll be what suits TV, not what suits the fans.
01-03-2020, 04:43 PM
We’ll be the Sunday lunchtime kick off.
HibsGW
01-03-2020, 04:44 PM
Anyone know when the days will be announced? Saturday 🤞🏼
01-03-2020, 04:44 PM
That's a class draw, should we expect a sellout for a derby at Hampden?
Not a chance. The Yams will boycott it if they’re still struggling. We’ll rarely get a better chance of getting to the SCF.
01-03-2020, 04:46 PM
...then they took it a stage further and went 'in-house' with bake sales, selling plastic owls, and face painting to bail themselves out :greengrin:aok:
01-03-2020, 04:47 PM
Not a chance. The Yams will boycott it if they’re still struggling. We’ll rarely get a better chance of getting to the SCF.
Utter rubbish. Sold out easily from both fans.
coldingham hibs
01-03-2020, 04:47 PM
Played behind closed doors due to corona virus 😬
Cataplana
01-03-2020, 04:48 PM
Hey some of us still do an nothin wrong wi that. Helps pay for the silver spoons.
How else you meant to keep a caravan on the road? I'm not sure whether Docksiders or Pikeys makes me prouder to be a Hobo.
See you at the needle exchange.
01-03-2020, 04:49 PM
When are the tickets on sale?
HC?
:-)
I think he's at Wembley just now watching his third team.
hibbydog
Buzzing.
Desperate for revenge.
Bring it on
Cataplana
...then they took it a stage further and went 'in-house' with bake sales, selling plastic owls, and face painting to bail themselves out :greengrin:aok:
True, not to mention a big plastic cow on the forecourt, I mean Plaza of course.
HibeeEmma
01-03-2020, 04:50 PM
When do we expect the game to be played?
01-03-2020, 04:51 PM
Utter rubbish. Sold out easily from both fans.
Can’t recall us selling out a semi final allocation, including against them.
The respective positions probably enhance our chances of selling out this one. Maybe lessens it for them.
So in 2016 we beat Hearts, Dundee United and Inverness on the way to Final along with beating a Robbie Neilson managed side in a replay after a 2-2 away draw. 🤔
Prices for last years semi finals
Tickets are priced as follows:
- North and William Hill Stands - £30 for Adults and £15 for Concessions*
- East and West Stands - £20 for Adults and £10 for Concessions*
*Concessions tickets include Under-16s and Over-65s. Under-16s must be accompanied by an adult. Upgrades for concession tickets are not available for this match.
When do we expect the game to be played?
Sunday would be my bet.
01-03-2020, 04:52 PM
Literally cannot wait..........they are utter lilian gish...........bottom of the league for a reason :greengrin bring them on :aok:
01-03-2020, 04:53 PM
Prices for last years semi finals
Tickets are priced as follows:
- North and William Hill Stands - £30 for Adults and £15 for Concessions*
- East and West Stands - £20 for Adults and £10 for Concessions*
*Concessions tickets include Under-16s and Over-65s. Under-16s must be accompanied by an adult. Upgrades for concession tickets are not available for this match.
Wouldn't be surprised to see an extra £2-4 added to each of those tickets this time round.
gazzag70
01-03-2020, 04:56 PM
A couple of Hampden derby ghosts that need laid to rest, and we are in a prime position now to do that.
Bring it on.
Totally agree, we will probably never have a better chance to get a bit revenge. Bring it on!
01-03-2020, 04:57 PM
Can’t recall us selling out a semi final allocation, including against them.
The respective positions probably enhance our chances of selling out this one. Maybe lessens it for them.
This is different. It will easily be sold out.
hibsquaker
01-03-2020, 04:59 PM
Wouldn't be surprised to see an extra £2-4 added to each of those tickets this time round.
Aye, to pay for the broken goalposts!
Liam978
01-03-2020, 04:59 PM
Please PLEASE be Hearts
why? Although I feel quite confident, do we really need the disappointment we all felt the last twice at Hampden. Plus there is no way in hell we will match their support bottom of the league or not. Let's get Tuesday out of the way first, then we can compare.
01-03-2020, 05:00 PM
why? Although I feel quite confident, do we really need the disappointment we all felt the last twice at Hampden. Plus there is no way in hell we will match their support bottom of the league or not. Let's get Tuesday out of the way first, then we can compare.
Stop being a *****bag.
Aye, to pay for the broken goalposts!
[emoji23][emoji23]
Wonder how many of them are wishing Rangers had put them out
That's the spirit 🙄
01-03-2020, 05:01 PM
Pish.
01-03-2020, 05:01 PM
:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:
TimeForHeroes16
01-03-2020, 05:03 PM
How many are we expected to get around 20k?
1875Hibees
Wait what? Wont match their support? We have had bigger crowds than them for 3 years now. And while they have been struggling to sell out their away allocation at Easter Road, we have been selling out about a month to 6 weeks in advance for games at Tynecastle and selling out Easter Road weeks in advance aswell.
Looking forward to this. We should have enough to see them off if we are on it. Need to get it done in the 90 though. Can’t afford to risk it going to penalties.[emoji51]
01-03-2020, 05:04 PM
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious:rotflmao::rotflmao:
Away ye go ! Bigger stadium and bigger support that's a FACT :cb
:faf: :faf: :faf:
How many are we expected to get around 20k?
Minimum 20k each.
🤡🤡🤡
Ooft. That really is a crock. Try comparing league positions and the 19 point gap and the 19 goals better off in gd.
01-03-2020, 05:05 PM
Docherty and Allan spreading balls through to Boyle on that nice wide pitch. Love to see it.
mcohibs
01-03-2020, 05:08 PM
Docherty and Allan spreading balls through to Boyle on that nice wide pitch. Love to see it.
Pitch has the exact same dimensions as Easter road
01-03-2020, 05:09 PM
If you look at the thread over there, they were all desperate to draw Aberdeen - in fact one of them wanted to draw "either Aberdeen or Celtic". Soon as the draw was made it was an ideal draw for them and what they wanted etc. etc. etc.
Be under no illusion - they're ****ting bricks at the prospect.
01-03-2020, 05:10 PM
Interestingly, the Hampden pitch is exactly the same size as Easter Road. :cb
01-03-2020, 05:10 PM
Which is a big wide pitch.
01-03-2020, 05:11 PM
Beat me:greengrin
hibeerealist
01-03-2020, 05:11 PM
J ffs stop panicking.
We will sell out our allocation 50% of Hamdump and maybe some of theirs as I think a number of them might not fancy it this time round (no financial doping now), hopefully we can give them some idea of what will happen in the semi on Tuesday.
Give them them a right gubbing on Tuesday and we might get 40,000 tickets GGTTH
mcohibs
01-03-2020, 05:12 PM
If you look at the thread over there, they were all desperate to draw Aberdeen - in fact one of them wanted to draw "either Aberdeen or Celtic". Soon as the draw was made it was an ideal draw for them and what they wanted etc. etc. etc.
Best quote was 'every team in the draw will want Aberdeen'... Eh naw! Think you'll find we all want you lot!
Bring it on.
01-03-2020, 05:14 PM
No replays at semi final stage right?
01-03-2020, 05:15 PM
Hahahaha
01-03-2020, 05:16 PM
Nope, played to a finish. We played in the last ever SC semi final replay v Dunfermline.
Let’s hope our match the previous weekend v Celtic, is on the Saturday
mcohibs
Short memory 😁
01-03-2020, 05:17 PM
Correct.
01-03-2020, 05:18 PM
Think about the year we won it :greengrin
01-03-2020, 05:20 PM
Who could possibly forget, whatsisname, you know, thingmy, erm...............
Conrad Logan
01-03-2020, 05:20 PM
Think about the year we won it :greengrin
Oh yeah 🤭
01-03-2020, 05:21 PM
Much as we are by far the better team, they will look at it as a one off game that everyone expects them to lose!!!
But reading on here, it could be worse than before to lose to them!!!
We are far too confident at this time, we need to steady up and there is still a long way till we play!!!
They could maybe even improve their league position before the game, unlikely, but last nights result could turn their fortunes!!!!
01-03-2020, 05:22 PM
Much as we are by far the better team, they will look at it as a one off game that everyone expects them to lose!!!
But reading on here, it could be worse than before to lose to them!!!
We are far too confident at this time, we need to steady up and there is still a long way till we play!!!
They could maybe even improve their league position before the game, unlikely, but last nights result could turn their fortunes!!!!
Like it did the last time they won against Rangers? :greengrin
01-03-2020, 05:23 PM
Number of times we've played each other in the cups the last twenty years: 9
Number of times in the twenty years before that: 1
What happened?
mcohibs
Let’s hope our match the previous weekend v Celtic, is on the Saturday
Don't think will make any difference tbh. If it was midweek then I'd get it but Sunday to Saturday (or the following Sunday) is more than enough recovery time
Which is a big wide pitch.
Compared to Tynecastle the Pitz at Sighthill is a big, wide pitch.
mcohibs
01-03-2020, 05:24 PM
Number of times we've played each other in the cups the last twenty years: 9
Number of times in the twenty years before that: 1
What happened?
We started drawing them in the cup more often
Some of those 9 games will have been replays as well
hibeerealist
01-03-2020, 05:27 PM
J ffs stop panicking.
We will sell out our allocation 50% of Hamdump and maybe some of theirs as I think a number of them might not fancy it this time round (no financial doping now), hopefully we can give them some idea of what will happen in the semi on Tuesday.
Give them them a right gubbing we might get 40,000 tickets GGTTH
01-03-2020, 05:34 PM
Let's put this 5-1 pish to bed !
They can't spend everyone else's money this time...
Suspect Hibs v Hearts will be on Saturday 12:15 live on Premier & BBC and Celtic v Aberdeen will be Easter Sunday at 2 live on Premier only
01-03-2020, 05:39 PM
At least Craig Thomson won't be there this time to basically make sure the Yams win the match.
Is it too much to hope that Hibs will get a fair crack of the whip this time?
01-03-2020, 05:43 PM
it was us v them in the practise draw as well :)
Piffle!
Why o why would you post this sort of guff and be all negative about our support!
What are we comparing btw, support.
It is FACT that our support has been bigger than theirs fir last few seasons. Wouldn’t be difficult mind given we have the bigger stadium!
01-03-2020, 05:46 PM
At least Craig Thomson won't be there this time to basically make sure the Yams win the match.
which is a shame because he's went out of his way since that final to give us everything against them in league games, he might just have fancied "righting another wrong" 😉
HendoDelivered
01-03-2020, 05:50 PM
We were always going to lose that day I’m afraid, regardless of who the ref was. That team was an utter shambles.
Hoping for some sweet revenge this time though!
01-03-2020, 05:50 PM
Message to referees- please do not allow the opposition to kick lumps out of Boyler over the matches between now and then. Not to mention that game and the following ones.
01-03-2020, 05:54 PM
500 miles on dancing on ice good day for it ggtth
CloudSquall
01-03-2020, 05:56 PM
Plus there is no way in hell we will match their support bottom of the league or not.
I mean this in the nicest way possible but get yersel directly tae **** with that patter.
Hearts could roll up with a Clerie Inn XI and we'd still have a section of the support ripping the tap aff it over how inferior we are to them.
01-03-2020, 05:58 PM
We were always going to lose that day I’m afraid, regardless of who the ref was. That team was an utter shambles.
Hoping for some sweet revenge this time though!
At 1-2 Hibs were still in with an admittedly slight chance until Thomson's intervention. After that, they had no chance.
I agree the Hibs team that day was very poor in so many respects, but Thomson made things virtually impossible.
01-03-2020, 06:03 PM
I'm not looking at this game the same way I did 14 years ago. They were at the height of their financial doping back then and paying players massive wages and win bonuses.
We are 20 points above them these days
01-03-2020, 06:03 PM
I'm not looking at this game the same way I did 14 years ago. They were at the height of their financial doping back then and paying players massive wages and win bonuses.
And we had about 8 players out injured or suspended
01-03-2020, 06:05 PM
Exactly. That was a very good Hearts side (cheating *******s) we faced in that semi. And like you say we were depleted.
2012 we just avoided relegation
Liam978
01-03-2020, 06:07 PM
[QUOTE=hibeerealist;6103274]J ffs stop panicking.
If only Bert, canny use the ticketing excuse for the last embarrassing support against them. If Hibby's wanted to have been there, by hook or by crook they would have been GG2TH.
Hibeesforever
01-03-2020, 06:07 PM
I am confident we will win but the two recent games at Hampden stand as 9-1 so we have some making up to do!
01-03-2020, 06:08 PM
I am confident we will win but the two recent games at Hampden stand as 9-1 so we have some making up to do!
Nae Romanov these days
01-03-2020, 06:10 PM
Please for the love of god Hibs don’t lose this one
01-03-2020, 06:12 PM
We are 20 points above them these days
I seem to remember their players had to chase their wages for most of that season - and the SFA still let them sign players.
01-03-2020, 06:15 PM
I seem to remember their players had to chase their wages for most of that season - and the SFA still let them sign players.
I can't remember to be honest but Paul Hartley said recently they were on 5k a man win bonuses for league games. Mental!
01-03-2020, 06:17 PM
I've made my peace with the 5-1 and whilst the semi at Hampden hurt, there were so many mitigating factors that day I can't really say I was bothered about it for that long.
The "Wayne Foster" game still gives me nightmares and is probably the most painful derby defeat in my time following Hibs. The collective of the results against their kids the year of their administration was also abominable.
If Hibs lose this one - it will be right up there with our most agonising results.
We MUST win this game.
MUST. MUST. MUST.
01-03-2020, 06:20 PM
I've made my peace with the 5-1 and whilst the semi at Hampden hurt, there were so many mitigating factors that day I can't really say I was bothered about it for that long.
The "Wayne Foster" game still gives me nightmares and is probably the most painful derby defeat in my time following Hibs. The collective of the results against their kids the year of their administration was also abominable.
If Hibs lose this one - it will be right up there with our most agonising results.
We MUST win this game.
MUST. MUST. MUST.
The Wayne Foster game was my first taste of Hibs induced hurt at the age of 7. Didn't do me any harm luckily. Quarter to six I think. Beans on toast.
01-03-2020, 06:23 PM
And sold Big Gaz.
01-03-2020, 06:24 PM
We MUST win this game.
MUST. MUST. MUST.
This. 4-4 riles me more than any of the games at Hampden. We must win this. There’s absolutely no excuse at all.
hibeerealist
01-03-2020, 06:26 PM
[QUOTE=hibeerealist;6103274]J ffs stop panicking.
If only Bert, canny use the ticketing excuse for the last embarrassing support against them. If Hibby's wanted to have been there, by hook or by crook they would have been GG2TH.
There is a different attitude now, out with our absolute core of 7-10k who will turn up whatever, and I cannot see us NOT selling out.
As many have pointed out already, no inflated wages that they can’t afford, no Thompson to hand them penalty, they will be bottom or maybe second bottom and possibly relegated before we play them. Don’t be fooled by their two results against the Huns, the Huns have been the best team at ER and played superb, as the Hertz can keep any game tight on the five a side tiny mega cost pitch but how well have they done away from their s h it hole??
Hampden same size as ER and we will rip them we have had numerous opportunities to do so over the years and failed to give them what they deserve, Tuesday and the semi will give us what we have waited for and they are sh it t ins themselves don’t let them kid any of us they are sh I ting severely.
Steve88
A little something to help vanish those semi final nerves, even if just temporary :wink:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PbHjCYEMCA
Time to send a message of serious intent on Tuesday before this one
01-03-2020, 06:29 PM
Time to send a message of serious intent on Tuesday before this one
This. We won fairly easily at Tynecastle. If we can win convincingly, again, the players will go in to the semi final with total belief.
We simply have to win.
01-03-2020, 06:31 PM
So we’re winning 8-0 :)
See all this ,, they will take more than us crap . Away and throw hearts at yourself.
Aberdeen would have been a better draw for them . We should rip them a new one and it’s long overdue.
01-03-2020, 06:33 PM
Time for heros mark 2
DaveSo
01-03-2020, 06:42 PM
The SFA are desperate for some positive PR after recent shambles so could go for 5.30pm ko for Aberdeen game on the Saturday to give them time to get a decent support down for kick off and us Sunday mid afternoon as public transport to and from Aberdeen on Easter Sunday will be limited.
Travel for Edinburgh fans on the Sunday shouldn't be too troublesome as cos it's a holiday weekend the M8 might be quieter than normal with usual traffic.
Either way, it's going to be a difficult choice as it whatever they decide it won't please everybody.
01-03-2020, 06:46 PM
The SFA are desperate for some positive PR after recent shambles so could go for 5.30pm ko for Aberdeen game on the Saturday to give them time to get a decent support down for kick off and us Sunday mid afternoon as public transport to and from Aberdeen on Easter Sunday will be limited.
Travel for Edinburgh fans on the Sunday shouldn't be too troublesome as cos it's a holiday weekend the M8 might be quieter than normal with usual traffic.
Either way, it's going to be a difficult choice as it whatever they decide it won't please everybody.
Tottenham v Everton is on at 5.30 on the Saturday and I don't think Premier Sports will want to go up directly against that.
Both will be earlier kick offs on Saturday and Sunday IMO.
Currie Hibee
01-03-2020, 06:47 PM
Would seem entirely sensible so the SFA will do the opposite!
01-03-2020, 06:48 PM
Over on leveinsstillincharge - they seem to think it`s a shoe-in for them. One poster said that they had by far the better squad which explains the league table lol
01-03-2020, 06:49 PM
Would seem entirely sensible so the SFA will do the opposite!
The cynic in me would also say Premier Sports will want Celtic in the final so won't be too unhappy if it means fewer Aberdeen fans at the semi.
01-03-2020, 06:49 PM
I would be really disappointed if we lose this.
At least if we do somehow lose it'll be fair and square.
Unlike the last two financially doped, bias reffed encounters at hampden which we can never accept.
DaveSo
01-03-2020, 06:54 PM
Tottenham v Everton is on at 5.30 on the Saturday and I don't think Premier Sports will want to go up directly against that.
They were up directly today against Everton V Man United and it didn't make them change kick off time it's going to be an interesting decision.
MacGruber
01-03-2020, 06:58 PM
For everyone giving the bravado - both hibs and hearts fans - fact of the matter is it is a one off cup derby game, it's 50/50 and could easily go either way on the day.
The difference this time round compared to the last 2 hampden games is this time we absolutely have the better team and a number of match winners. Hopefully we make that count on the day.
Someone earlier mentioned covid-19 and that got me thinking, Saturday Scotland play France at Murray Field, France has closed down multiple venues because of the virus in France, you can safely bet a number of infected French supporters will pitch up in Edinburgh, watch for the first Scottish cases in the week or so following the rugby. Could well affect the semi final.
01-03-2020, 07:05 PM
Someone earlier mentioned covid-19 and that got me thinking, Saturday Scotland play France at Murray Field, France has closed down multiple venues because of the virus in France, you can safely bet a number of infected French supporters will pitch up in Edinburgh, watch for the first Scottish cases in the week or so following the rugby. Could well affect the semi final.
First Scottish case announced earlier.
Superfurry72
01-03-2020, 07:09 PM
At 1-2 Hibs were still in with an admittedly slight chance until Thomson's intervention. After that, they had no chance.
I agree the Hibs team that day was very poor in so many respects, but Thomson made things virtually impossible.
Especially as Ian Black should have been red-carded after 8 minutes. He’s admitted it himself since! He wasn’t even booked. But yes, the point stands that we were rubbish anyway.
First Scottish case announced earlier.
Missed that 👍
01-03-2020, 07:26 PM
That was the final season not 2006 which most are talking about.
The dalmeny
01-03-2020, 07:31 PM
Sunday
Sunday
Right, that makes all the difference 🙄
Tug Wilson
01-03-2020, 07:39 PM
Personally I would like the game to be on Easter Sunday as I have commitments on the Saturday that would need rearranged. Which I don't want to do. But understand why others want 3pm Saturday.
Prefer Hampden to Murrayfield for the game. I am (in more ways than one) a big rugby man as well as a Hibby for all my many years, bar one misguided glory hunter year following Celtic (I was 10!). Although a crap stadium, Hampden is for football and Murrayfield for rugby.
Was at both the 4-0 semi and the 5-1 final. Am I scarred for life?
Nah, was there on 21 May 2016. All scars erased.
Neither of these bad results will have any bearing on the upcoming semi final. The teams are totally different.
Even the recent Scottish Cup ties we have beaten them mean nothing.
Although we beat Hearts, ICT and Dundee United on the way to the 2016 final it is not really an omen for how this game will go.
Even a resounding win either way on Tuesday will not decide how the semi goes. Admittedly it might give the winners a sort of psychological edge but there will be lots of games between Tuesday and Easter for form to go up or down, injuries to take a toll and all manner of other factors come into effect.
Hibs current style seems to be all out attack. Maybe concede goals but simply score more at the other end.
Not sure Hearts have a style. They will raise their game for Tuesday as they did yesterday but as long as we are not as bad as The Rangers then I am reasonably confident of a win.
Worry about the semi final nearer the time.
01-03-2020, 07:43 PM
Personally I would like the game to be on Easter Sunday as I have commitments on the Saturday that would need rearranged. Which I don't want to do. But understand why others want 3pm Saturday.
Prefer Hampden to Murrayfield for the game. I am (in more ways than one) a big rugby man as well as a Hibby for all my many years, bar one misguided glory hunter year following Celtic (I was 10!). Although a crap stadium, Hampden is for football and Murrayfield for rugby.
Was at both the 4-0 semi and the 5-1 final. Am I scarred for life?
Nah, was there on 21 May 2016. All scars erased.
Neither of these bad results will have any bearing on the upcoming semi final. The teams are totally different.
Even the recent Scottish Cup ties we have beaten them mean nothing.
Although we beat Hearts, ICT and Dundee United on the way to the 2016 final it is not really an omen for how this game will go.
Even a resounding win either way on Tuesday will not decide how the semi goes. Admittedly it might give the winners a sort of psychological edge but there will be lots of games between Tuesday and Easter for form to go up or down, injuries to take a toll and all manner of other factors come into effect.
Hibs current style seems to be all out attack. Maybe concede goals but simply score more at the other end.
Not sure Hearts have a style. They will raise their game for Tuesday as they did yesterday but as long as we are not as bad as The Rangers then I am reasonably confident of a win.
Worry about the semi final nearer the time.
The game can’t be played at 3pm on the Saturday
Hibees1973
01-03-2020, 07:49 PM
I’m of an age when I saw the Tornadoes, but can’t remember many games. I saw plenty in the 80’s and 90’s when, apart from a couple of small runs against them, matches against Hearts were difficult.
Their most recent Scottish Cups were all won with escalating and mounting debts which almost destroyed them. This has given most Hearts fans I know an inflated opinion of themselves. They hadn’t won anything for around 40 years until the Scottish Cup win in 98’, and this period of time can be traced back to when they started to amount millions of pounds of debt. There is no chance they would have had the players to win their last three Scottish Cups without this huge debt.
Which brings us to our semi in April. Hearts finances continue to be clouded in mystery due to an unknown benefactor propping them up. Without this, they would be mired in debt again due to miscalculating the cost of a new stand and paying out fortunes to a massive playing staff.
However, it had been said on here that finally, we do have a level playing field. Romanov is long gone now and probably in jail.
There is no doubt now that we are better than them. The league table over the last 4 or 5 years proves this. We have been the better club for several years now.
I have watched Hibs for nearly 40 years and hope we can win the semi final.
01-03-2020, 08:03 PM
I plan to enjoy this day out and the game. Yes it will be tense, but in an exciting rather than despondent way.
I didn't enjoy the 0-4 and 1-5 outings from the very start. The poor management decision to sell Go'C and Riordan's injury left us without a recognized strike force in that semi, and at the game itself there was the goalkeeping disasters we had come to expect. In the final we had a poor Hibs team against a financially doped Hearts, and of course the Thomson phenomenon. So there was a pervading air of despair before a ball was kicked in both fixtures.
However, 2016 got that monkey off the back big time, and we've since had confirmed that Hearts are a very different animal on the level financial field. Moreover, I can't see the victorious fans of either club being so euphorically crazy beyond bragging rights, as the victors will probably face Celtic in a final which doesn't seem very winnable, given the financial discrepancies between both of us and them.
So looking forward to it very much, and with a quiet confidence that I didn't have on our last Hampden encounters. I think that'll be a widespread view and reflected in the ticket take up.
01-03-2020, 10:15 PM
Think it’s very likely that, first out the hat, Aberdeen v Celtic game will be on the Saturday. Meaning that the winners of the derby semi will already know who their final opponents will be. A little added incentive perhaps
01-03-2020, 10:42 PM
May have already been mentioned on the thread but Edinburgh v Benetton Treviso on the Friday night probably means that the game could only be played at Murrayfield on the Sunday (if indeed Murrayfield is an option). While they regularly switch the Stadio Olimpico in Rome from rugby to football in about 20 hours, doing so in effectively 17 hours on your first go at doing so might be a bit tight.
HibeeHibernian4
02-03-2020, 12:35 AM
May have already been mentioned on the thread but Edinburgh v Benetton Treviso on the Friday night probably means that the game could only be played at Murrayfield on the Sunday (if indeed Murrayfield is an option). While they regularly switch the Stadio Olimpico in Rome from rugby to football in about 20 hours, doing so in effectively 17 hours on your first go at doing so might be a bit tight.
It isn’t an option.
02-03-2020, 06:22 AM
It won't be played at Murrayfield.
The dalmeny
02-03-2020, 06:29 AM
If the Treviso game goes ahead
Panda
02-03-2020, 11:57 AM
The lunchtime kick-offs were generally due to Sky Sports, who wanted to protect their bestleagueintheworld games.
Premier won't have the same scheduling issues.
Would expect the Sunday game to be an afternoon kick-off, especially if it's Aberdeen.
Saturday could well be an early evening kick-off.
The lunchtime kick-offs were generally due to Sky Sports, who wanted to protect their bestleagueintheworld games.
Would expect the Sunday game to be an afternoon kick-off, especially if it's Aberdeen.
Last year Hearts v ICT was on Saturday with a 12:15 kick off live on the BBC & Premier and the Celtic v Aberdeen game was on the Sunday with a 2:00 kick off live on Premier only.
Premier will want the Celtic v Aberdeen game exclusively live with them as they look to increase subscriptions and won't want to share it with the BBC.
The BBC game has tended to be a lunchtime kick off on the Saturday as it was in 2016 against Dundee Utd.
02-03-2020, 12:20 PM
I would be very surprised if our game was an early evening kick off.
02-03-2020, 12:36 PM
Last year Hearts v ICT was on Saturday with a 12:15 kick off live on the BBC & Premier and the Celtic v Aberdeen game was on the Sunday with a 2:00 kick off live on Premier only.
Premier will want the Celtic v Aberdeen game exclusively live with them as they look to increase subscriptions and won't want to share it with the BBC.
The BBC game has tended to be a lunchtime kick off on the Saturday as it was in 2016 against Dundee Utd.
Yep, I'd be really surprised if ours isn't Saturday at 12.15.
02-03-2020, 01:13 PM
I just can’t see them arranging it for an early evening kick off - despite that if if you asked anyone most people would say that would be their choice.
02-03-2020, 01:24 PM
I just can’t see them arranging it for an early evening kick off - despite that if if you asked anyone most people would say that would be their choice.
Hibs v Hearts won’t be an late Saturday KO.
Bank Holiday long weekend with 40,000 fans coming from Edinburgh. Lots of them all day on the Pop. Na.
Saturday won’t be 15:00 as 15:00 games are legally not allowed to be broadcast.
Premier will want Celtic exclusively as the OF is their market.
My gut is -
Us v Hearts - 12:00, 12:15 or 12:30 KO Saturday. Live on BBC and Premier
Dons v Celtic 14:00 Sunday live on Premier Sport only.
That is also what I want as it’s doable to get up from Heathrow to the Weedge for me on the Saturday. No flights on Easter Sunday. Also there’s family stuff on Easter Sunday.
Another consideration into the mix is I presume the Huns will be scheduled to be playing away that weekend. That said, this is the SPFL and the SFA we are talking about.
02-03-2020, 01:26 PM
The weegie polis will be doing everything they can to stop us drinking. So expect sat 12ish kick off
02-03-2020, 01:32 PM
I doubt if the police would be too delighted with a 17:30 Saturday kick-off. This would give all afternoon for the supporters to get drunk beforehand.
That would make the journey back on the train even more hazardous.
02-03-2020, 01:35 PM
Factor in the re-scheduling of the postpone Rangers v St Johnstone game, which will now be on the same day and a different time and TV company as our Semi Final and you are set for carnage in Weegieland.
02-03-2020, 02:00 PM
Factor in the re-scheduling of the postpone Rangers v St Johnstone game, which will now be on the same day and a different time and TV company as our Semi Final and you are set for carnage in Weegieland.
Rangers game won’t be on TV
02-03-2020, 02:32 PM
That was my thinking
HibeeHibernian4
02-03-2020, 03:25 PM
The weegie polis will be doing everything they can to stop us drinking. So expect sat 12ish kick off
We say this like we didn’t just play a semi final in November at half 5 in the evening?
02-03-2020, 03:29 PM
Wanna bet? Sky and BT aren't covering the SC and have air time to fill. No April picks have been published... yet
(Edit..apart from our game v Celtic just announced)
The Rangers game can be played the midweek before the semi finals as they'll have been knocked out of Europe by Bayer Leverkusen
HibeeHibernian4
02-03-2020, 03:59 PM
Wanna bet? Sky and BT aren't covering the SC and have air time to fill. No April picks have been published... yet
(Edit..apart from our game v Celtic just announced)
Sky and BT between them can only show up to six of any side’s home league games. They were probably saving Ibrox games for the title run in that now isn’t happening. I think St Johnstone at home would be a stretch to be honest but never say never.
02-03-2020, 06:56 PM
Rangers home League matches are never on TV unless they are hosting Celtc.
Liam978
03-03-2020, 11:03 PM
We've drawn the weakest team in the draw.
Let's give them a real doing.
Thank god we didn't get a stronger team after tonight's effort.
03-03-2020, 11:03 PM
Thank god we didn't get a stronger team after tonight's effort.
Mixu1875
03-03-2020, 11:05 PM
I hope after tonight the chat of some on this thread subsides. The semi is on a knife edge and could absolutely go either way. No more of the pumping chat, it’s too complacent.
03-03-2020, 11:11 PM
I only hope this stings the players into a reaction and the bad feelings caused by tonight spur them on to actually fighting for the Jersey.
K-Zazu
03-03-2020, 11:14 PM
No chance we sell out now
03-03-2020, 11:18 PM
It's probably irrelevant whether or not Hibs (or Hearts) "sell out" for the semi-final. Whoever wins will get hammered by Celtic in the final.
03-03-2020, 11:50 PM
It's probably irrelevant whether or not Hibs (or Hearts) "sell out" for the semi-final. Whoever wins will get hammered by Celtic in the final.
That's the spirit. Might as well not bother.