View Full Version : Hibs v Inverness

Pages : [1] 2 3

28-02-2020, 05:34 PM
Starting XI: Marciano, McGinn, Jackson, Hanlon, Boyle, Whittaker, Docherty, Stevenson, Allan, Doidge, McNulty.

Substitutes: Bogdan, McGregor, Hallberg, Slivka, Omeonga, Horgan, Gullan.

5 man defence with Whittaker DM?

28-02-2020, 05:36 PM
Porteous, Gray, Naismith, Mallan, Murray, James and Newell are tonight’s inactives.

Lee Marvin
28-02-2020, 05:36 PM
Ross doesnt appear to be a big fan of Stephy!

28-02-2020, 05:38 PM
Starting XI: Marciano, McGinn, Jackson, Hanlon, Boyle, Whittaker, Docherty, Stevenson, Allan, Doidge, McNulty.

Substitutes: Bogdan, McGregor, Hallberg, Slivka, Omeonga, Horgan, Gullan.

5 man defence with Whittaker DM?

3-4-1-2 by looks of it

28-02-2020, 05:39 PM

Bit disappointed he doesn't start tonight with Slivka being dropped, although Whittaker was excellent against United so maybe that was the deciding factor.

MacGruber
28-02-2020, 05:43 PM

Yeah seeing that. What's a tad strange is that he has been good in the game time he has had. Also think Halberg hasn't done a lot wrong. Came in to the team when we were poor and for the main was one of our better performers playing out of position.

To be fair it just shows how strong we are in the middle of the park. Whittaker has been excellent when played and we still have Mallan to come back. With Scott Allan and Docherty it's very solid.

28-02-2020, 05:44 PM
It’s just our now usual 352.

crash
28-02-2020, 05:58 PM
The game last Saturday was crying out for a player like Omeonga with the energy he gives us. The guy has done nothing wrong, very disappointed he is not starting tonight, team selection is poor, hope we can win regardless but not happy.

JXM73
28-02-2020, 05:58 PM
Nae left side again...

cameronw-hfc
28-02-2020, 05:59 PM
Might just be the lack of game time hes had this season, trying to let him get up to speed rather than chucking him in. Hope it's this anyway

28-02-2020, 05:59 PM
The game last Saturday was crying out for a player like Omeonga with the energy he gives us. The guy has done nothing wrong, very disappointed he is not starting tonight, team selection is poor, hope we can win regardless but not happy.

I think if you play whitty you give the wing backs real freedom to attack. Tricky decision for the gaffer.

28-02-2020, 06:00 PM
Might just be the lack of game time hes had this season, trying to let him get up to speed rather than chucking him in. Hope it's this anyway

That's a good shout. Took him a while before he was starting every game for us last year too.

28-02-2020, 06:02 PM
That's a good shout. Took him a while before he was starting every game for us last year too.

Tbf we have about 8 players trying time get 3 positions now.

shamo9
28-02-2020, 06:03 PM
Whittaker is turning into the cup specialist :greengrin

28-02-2020, 06:03 PM

How does he get up to speed by sitting on the bench week in week out?

28-02-2020, 06:05 PM
How does he get up to speed by sitting on the bench week in week out?

By coming on every week and starting against BSC. More game time than he had previously.

28-02-2020, 06:10 PM
Who plays on the right for Inverness? Our left hand side is criminal.

28-02-2020, 06:11 PM
By coming on every week and starting against BSC. More game time than he had previously.

Not everyone can hit the ground like Ambrose I suppose.

28-02-2020, 06:11 PM

But he spends hours a day working out and running and has been here for weeks.

Sparky had no game time and has been an ever present.

If he’s good enough, start the guy.

28-02-2020, 06:13 PM
Siiiiii senor give the ball to doidge and he will score.

28-02-2020, 06:14 PM

Anyone attacking our left side won’t get much joy out of Stevenson and Hanlon. I accept we’re a bit limited in an attacking sense by Stevenson’s reluctance to take a man on, but he’s more than capable of putting a decent ball in if he finds himself in a decent area.

I’m happy with the team, for a number of reasons.

28-02-2020, 06:14 PM
But he spends hours a day working out and running and has been here for weeks.

Sparky had no game time and has been an ever present.

If he’s good enough, start the guy.

It's probably down to demand in each position, as mentioned by underscore. I'd be starting him FWIW, but it did take some time for him to start for us in his last spell too, was just highlighting that.

28-02-2020, 06:26 PM

The same left side we’ve had for years?

28-02-2020, 06:28 PM
It's probably down to demand in each position, as mentioned by underscore. I'd be starting him FWIW, but it did take some time for him to start for us in his last spell too, was just highlighting that.

I think it’s the strongest we’ve been for a long time in that part of the park. Hallberg did nothing wrong before the new signings. Slivka still does a good defensive job. Stephane has loads of energy. All 3 would be playing in most teams in the league.

28-02-2020, 06:29 PM
Is it just me or have the walls inside the West been repainted dark green?

Just_Jimmy
28-02-2020, 06:30 PM
Thought it was supposed to be on BBC one Scotland? Whys it not showing up on sky???

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

28-02-2020, 06:30 PM
Thought it was supposed to be on BBC one Scotland? Whys it not showing up on sky???

BBC scotland channel

28-02-2020, 06:31 PM

Sent from my Pixel 3a using TapatalkOn 115 now

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Green Reaper

Channel 115 on sky

Just_Jimmy
Not in England it's not. Even on the BBC Scotland channel it's not on? How come?

HibeeHibernian4
28-02-2020, 06:34 PM
Not in England it's not. Even on the BBC Scotland channel it's not on? How come?

Found this out for my Dad who’s watching down there. It’s channel 162 on Virgin Media, 457 on Sky. Hope that helps!

Just_Jimmy
28-02-2020, 06:35 PM
Found this out for my Dad who’s watching down there. It’s channel 162 on Virgin Media, 457 on Sky. Hope that helps!Legend. Saved me buying a new telly tomorrow [emoji23]

007 Mickey Weir

You sure you are on the right channel. It’s not BBC Scotland.its the BBC Scotland Channel. Two different channels.

Porteous, Gray, Naismith, Mallan, Murray, James and Newell are tonight’s inactives.

Strong looking bench considering that’s the quality of player sitting out.

28-02-2020, 06:36 PM
what a beautiful stadium

Just_Jimmy
28-02-2020, 06:38 PM
You sure you are on the right channel. It’s not BBC Scotland.its the BBC Scotland Channel. Two different channels.I didn't know there was a difference but thanks to everyone it's on. Hopefully worth the effort.

At what height on plane will the iPlayer stop working? Asking for a friend.

wallpaperman
I know it will fill a bit, but me and my daughter have just about got a row to ourself in the back row of the West Stand.

28-02-2020, 06:39 PM
If Whittikar signed in January everyone would be delighted with his performances and expect him to start based on these.

Iv no problem with him starting and think he deserves it

28-02-2020, 06:41 PM
We could have got away with just opening the east and the west tonight.

28-02-2020, 06:42 PM
We could have got away with just opening the east and the west tonight.

Bit harsh on the Caley fans though

28-02-2020, 06:44 PM
Bit harsh on the Caley fans though

Eh?

We are stronger defensively on the left than right by a good margin. Allan mostly comes 8n off the left so we usually have attacking options both sides. Whitts is in on merit imo. He is miles better on the ball than Steph and we should have plenty off it. If we need subs home Ross does a bit better than Saturday and feel a bit for Slivka. He always gets dropped after a game or two out of form. Not the same for others

Tunnel looks good

28-02-2020, 06:45 PM
Tunnel looks good

Agreed. Mon the Hibees!

28-02-2020, 06:45 PM
gie the baw tae reily

mon the cabbage

28-02-2020, 06:47 PM
That's annoying... iPlayer on my comp is about 2 mins in front of the iPlayer on my tv... and I'll take a wild guess that the comp iPlayer is a bit behind real time. Gonna have to avoid the forum for spoilers :brickwall

28-02-2020, 06:48 PM
Pitch looks suspect

ICT started brightly

GaryOsCheerios
28-02-2020, 06:52 PM
Why is the pitch such a mess?

Just_Jimmy
28-02-2020, 06:53 PM
Hibs playing well. Unlucky to not be Infront.

Just_Jimmy
Why is the pitch such a mess?Weather's been **** for weeks. It's taken a battering.

SJNB Hibby
Pitch looks suspect

ICT started brightly

Yeah looks a bit threadbare

28-02-2020, 06:54 PM
Shocking from the ref

Was that dive? Mental if so. He was round the keeper

Boyle booked for diving

Just_Jimmy
How is that not a penalty? Ridiculous

Keeper caught his legs as he went past IMO

28-02-2020, 06:55 PM

Why would he dive? He had an open goal!

Mad from the ref

Just_Jimmy
Why would he got down? He's running at pace and the slightest touch takes him down. That's a ridiculous call.

Why would he dive? He had an open goal!

Mad from the ref

I agree. I was screaming for a penalty.

Ludicrous decision.

28-02-2020, 06:56 PM
That is 100% a pen

Doesn’t look like any contact after watching it again.

Would need to see it again but think the ref called it right!

I’ve watched it again and again but not sure

Hope we appeal that booking for diving

Camera angles were poor. I'd say probably a pen based on what I could see.

Green Man
Ridiculous from the referee. Boyle was about to score, why would he dive?

i think he left his leg in

i'l need to see umpteen replays of it, the ref doesnt have that option tbf

bringbackbenny
Scandalous decision 100% chopped

I chose my username kind of ironically but that was as clear a penalty as you’ll see. Contact on Boyle’s trailing foot and it was easier to score than to ‘dive’. Shocker!

28-02-2020, 06:57 PM
That's a ****ing penalty.

Scandalous decision 100% chopped

100%?

Doesn’t look like any contact after watching it again.

Would need to see it again but think the ref called it right!

Easier for Boyle to score there than from the spot, he wouldn't go down unless he was taken out

HibeeHibernian4
Looked like he went down too easily to me. Not a penalty, maybe not a free kick to them either.

28-02-2020, 06:58 PM
We'd probably have missed the penalty anyway

28-02-2020, 06:58 PM
Looked like he went down too easily to me. Not a penalty, maybe not a free kick to them either.

Definitely no yellow.

I still think it was a pen. You are allowed to drag your foot.

28-02-2020, 06:59 PM
We'd probably have missed the penalty anyway

Very true

percy veer
Deffo pen, small man syndrome got previous against us . Celtic at home

Easier for Boyle to score there than from the spot, he wouldn't go down unless he was taken out

Not necessarily the pace he was going at. I agree it was but it wasn’t and he went to ground

28-02-2020, 07:00 PM
Trafford yellow for bad foul on boyle

28-02-2020, 07:00 PM
It was a pen.Keeper chopped Boyle down. Ref should have sent the keeper off.

28-02-2020, 07:01 PM
Not sure if it was a penalty, could Boyle not have shot rather than going round the goalie, and was he going to get the ball after he decided to go round the goalie.

Hibs doing well here, poor tackle on Boyle.

HibeeHibernian4
It was a pen.Keeper chopped Boyle down. Ref should have sent the keeper off.

I’m not ruling out that there was slight contact but “chopped Boyle down” is not what happened there.

That should be red. Studs up, leg fully extended.

28-02-2020, 07:02 PM
co-commentator changing his mind and thinks it was a penalty

28-02-2020, 07:03 PM
Not sure if it was a penalty, could Boyle not have shot rather than going round the goalie, and was he going to get the ball after he decided to go round the goalie.

Hibs doing well here, poor tackle on Boyle.

i think the ball had ran away from him

SJNB Hibby
We're dominating this...need a goal

Camera angles were poor. I'd say probably a pen based on what I could see.

Watched it about 10 times now and still can't decide. Ref would have had a better view but why would Boyle go down with an open goal in front of him?

They’ve targeted Boyle and taken him out there. Shocking challenge. The boy had the audacity to miss about the booking.

co-commentator changing his mind and thinks it was a penalty

We will find out at HT hopefully.

28-02-2020, 07:04 PM
That's their game plan, kick Boyle

Another shocking challenge

carson yellow card for foul on boyle

28-02-2020, 07:05 PM
Keep running at them, someone will get sent off soon enough

28-02-2020, 07:05 PM
Unsurprisingly, Robertson’s team are deploying the standard Jambo tactics of kicking Hibs players

28-02-2020, 07:06 PM
Boyles gonna get a serious injury one day gets no protection.

28-02-2020, 07:07 PM
Referee is a total arse.

And another.

They seem to be taking it in turns to boot Boyle.

i think the ball had ran away from him

Looked like it.

Another Caley player booked for a trip on Boyle

They seem to be taking it in turns to boot Boyle.

That's exactly what they've been told to do.

28-02-2020, 07:08 PM
3rd caley player booked for a foul on boyle, they aint finishing with 11

OtleyHibs
Having watched replays I’m still not sure if it was a penalty or not to honest. If contact didn’t send Boyle down it makes no sense as he had an open goal.

Looking ok regardless, come on hibs!

At least the ref is booking them.

If we were playing Aberdeen nobody would be carded yet.

Need to keep feeding Boyle the ball here

28-02-2020, 07:09 PM
Nothing wrong with using Boyle to draw second yellows.

28-02-2020, 07:09 PM
Inverness are not going to finish this game with 11.

28-02-2020, 07:10 PM
Why Hearts didn’t go for Robertson is a mystery - their identikit agricultural anti - football manager was sat staring them in the face.

Pilrig_Sauzee
28-02-2020, 07:10 PM
Nothing wrong with using Boyle to draw second yellows.

Not sure Boyle’s shins would agree!

28-02-2020, 07:11 PM
That's exactly what they've been told to do.

**** tactics from the wee fat Jambo.

jakedance
28-02-2020, 07:11 PM
Boyle has to run at them every chance he gets.

I’m not certain it was a penalty. The camera angles aren’t great for it.

28-02-2020, 07:12 PM
poor from rocky

28-02-2020, 07:12 PM
Went a wee bit flat for me

28-02-2020, 07:13 PM
Rocky just doesn't cope very well with pass backs to him.

28-02-2020, 07:14 PM
Why is mcnulty playing so wide?

28-02-2020, 07:14 PM
Need to make some of this pressure count at some point.

28-02-2020, 07:16 PM
Penalty hibs

Aw naw we have a penalty!!

Mctattie gives it away

Penalty hibs

Aboot time

FFS

****ing unreal.

Ffs.

28-02-2020, 07:17 PM
Bloody penalties

Hanlons saved, wtf is it wae us and penalties

Why is Hanlon taking a penalty?

I'm on the next penalty.

Next

MikeyS
Who is next on the pens then??

Unreal.

Why is Hamlin taking a penalty?

Because everyone else has tried and failed

Jackson should have done better there.

Why is Hanlon taking a penalty?

He's usually very good.

Allan should have taken it.

Well that's the Hanlon for penalties shout over.

jakedance
**** me

Well all wanting Hanlon to take pens, think again.

28-02-2020, 07:18 PM

Boyle

Sure we decided on here it should be Hanlon or Newell

Shouldve scored 2nd chance to be fair

McNulty next [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

We'd be as well just turning penalties down. That was shocking.

Deary me Hibs.

Tomsk
Name of ... is Hanlon doing taking a penalty!

Where did we get Hanlon as the penalty taker?? Sparky surely??

is rocky any good at penalties

taking them

jakedance
Ok. Let’s put Marciano on penalties.

F****** unbelievable

hibee62
That was McNulty’s fault, he argues with Hanlon. That should never happen!

Rephrase it: never argue with the penalty taker.

Ooft

murray26
It’s becoming a joke

Lendo
So we getting Marciano on penalties next?

28-02-2020, 07:19 PM
This is ****in ridiculous now 😂😂

We've been so dominant, really, really need to take one of these chances.

thebausburst
Hanlon WTF is he doing taking a pen, bizzare

Get Doidge back on them.

hibee
I thought the keeper has to stay on his line for the penalty.

Hanlon WTF is he doing taking a pen, bizzare

Until that point he's never missed

supermcginn
I've never had less belief in anyone scoring a penalty for hibs. Ever

Docherty should be on pens. Doesn't seem the type to get fazed easily.

28-02-2020, 07:20 PM

Back to Allan. One missed penalty shouldn't mean you're off.

I thought the keeper has to stay on his line for the penalty.

One foot on the line

Normally takes a great penalty.

How many has he taken?

Forgetting the 'dive' and the missed penalties it looks like menv boys. We are streets ahead of them.

Making heavy weather of this.

Hibees1973
28-02-2020, 07:21 PM
Has anyone else got the same feeling as me here that this is not going to be our night.

Tomsk
That was McNulty’s fault, he argues with Hanlon. That should never happen!

Rephrase it: never argue with the penalty taker.

Sprays coffee all over screen.

Tell me you're kidding.

Allan misses his 2nd pen; not even 2nd in a row and we take him off them? Load of pish.

PS: McNulty didn’t help matters. He’s ***** as pens and should be nowhere near them so stop arguing with the taker.

MikeyS
How many has he taken?

I can only think of 1 vs D Utd.

tis scrappy noo

28-02-2020, 07:22 PM
caley hit the post

Save rocky

Inverness hit post

WTF is Whitaker going there.

Cmon tae **** get a grip.

Just_Jimmy
What

A

Save

That was either a great save or the ref is a clown.

hibee62
Sprays coffee all over screen.

Tell me you're kidding.

I’ll caveat it by saying it depends on who the manager has nominated. But you should never publicly argue that choice, piles pressure on the taker.

Save Rocky

Just_Jimmy
That was either a great save or the ref is a clown.Outstanding save

Montford
This is f****** turgid

thebausburst
28-02-2020, 07:23 PM
This has a one of those nights feeling about it

Fantastic save. Wee bit of luck too. Hopefully that's the signal to get the finger out the arse.

Awful from Whittaker there

jakedance
Phenomenal save.

I'm getting a bit worried now...

HendoDelivered
This has a one of those nights feeling about it

Inverness defence looking chin strapped. Think wee Robbo has been holding training sessions in Johnny Foxes.

Allan misses his 2nd pen; not even 2nd in a row and we take him off them? Load of pish.

PS: McNulty didn’t help matters. He’s ***** as pens and should be nowhere near them so stop arguing with the taker.

Agreed, though Allan didn't even try to get it - maybe not confident right now.

McNulty shouldn't ever take a penalty for us again.

jellybean
Brilliant save from Rocky

Just_Jimmy
He's got to go there.

28-02-2020, 07:24 PM
Oh my god ****ing finally

jellybean
Yaaaasssss!

OtleyHibs
Yaaassss!!!!!

1-0. Well deserved

Thank ****

pheeewwwe. 😀😀😀

And relax

Montford
This is f****** turgid
Right on cue

HendoDelivered
Booooom!!!!

OtleyHibs
1-0. Well deserved

100%

Big Jacko!

Get him on the penalties!

What a finish

What a goal

Thank Christ...now c’mon Hibs, settle down and do this.

That was quality

Just_Jimmy
That's a superb finish

chasitup
What a finish that is.

Have any of the Hearts strikers scored more goals than Jackson this season?

jellybean
28-02-2020, 07:25 PM
Good time to score. Lets go Hibs!

Again, why is that not a red?

Goal!

What a terrific goal, skill or what ��

It's a pretty good cup tie

Is that James McFadden co-commentating? Very good.

What a finish that is from Adam Jackson!

28-02-2020, 07:26 PM
Hopefully we score again before conceding

I'm getting a bit worried now...

Keep the Heid.

We are absolutely street's ahead of Caley here

Cracking goal that is

Mon the hibs

Very well deserved. Great finish. Streets ahead of them all game.

cameronw-hfc
Hanlon having a stormer after his pen miss

28-02-2020, 07:27 PM
Poor from Scott there

HendoDelivered
Get jackson on the pens :wink:

I'm starting to really like Jackson.

Another Hecky gem 😉

Just_Jimmy
28-02-2020, 07:28 PM
Again, why is that not a red?

Goal!Correct. The goal glossed over it but Trafford was booked early. Why bother with the early booking if you're not following it up by allowing him a few free fouls before the second yellow.

28-02-2020, 07:28 PM
I thought the goal was a bit of a lucky one, maybe I'm going to need to check highlights later

28-02-2020, 07:29 PM
Absolute hammer throwers.

I thought the goal was a bit of a lucky one, maybe I'm going to need to check highlights later

No luck. Brilliant touch and finish.

Nah great finish.

jellybean
Another Hecky gem 😉

Thank god for Hecky😂😂

I thought the goal was a bit of a lucky one, maybe I'm going to need to check highlights laterWonderful finish according to Faddy

sean04
28-02-2020, 07:30 PM
Paul Hanlon is having a disaster

28-02-2020, 07:32 PM

Disagree.

HT 1-0

No

28-02-2020, 07:33 PM
Disagree.

Been like a man possessed after that penalty miss

Apart from the penalty he’s having a good game

He’s having a good game imho. Poor pen but playing well

CloudSquall
Happy Hibee draw can now be for the next penalty taker.

28-02-2020, 07:34 PM
Apart from the penalty he’s having a good game

Where about? He’s all over the place. Whittaker has been terrible too. They seem to want it more also. Thank fk we are ahead.

How did their 24 not get sent off? Absolute hammer throwers.

Where about? He’s all over the place. Whittaker has been terrible too. They seem to want it more also. Thank fk we are ahead.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI think you're watching a different game from me.

28-02-2020, 07:35 PM
Nah great finish.

It wasZlatanesq

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHave you checked that your facing the pitch?

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

murray26
Half way there been a really good game so far

Thought Whittaker has been solid, nothing spectacular, but then he's not there to do that

I dunno what you’re watching but it’s not this game. So many things wrong there.

You can't be serious. They want it more? By kicking Boyle all over the park and losing?

Hibs are miles ahead of our opponents today. Clear as day. Whittaker has been more than handy too.

Strolling it. Utterly strolling it.

ICT cannae live with the pace of Boyle

Wee Robbo probably told his players to crock him for Tuesday night

28-02-2020, 07:36 PM

They want it more? Are u just trying to wind people up?

Is there a person in the stadium that thought Hanlon stepping up was going to end well..? He’s been outstanding as well so far IMO

Have to say mate. I must be at a different game.